(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi dseptkon

yeah, tt makes sense
if dun jettison, can ask them keep for me then can collect b4 flying back to sg. they actually kept my aunty's bak kwa for her to pick up b4 her flight back to sg! haha!

Hello everyone!!!

Need to check with mummies who bought Cot Beds for their baby. Are Cot beds generally larger in dimensions compared to regular cots? I thought of buying the mothercare cotbed which is on PWP promo price $199 since we have vouchers to use up. But noticed that the cot bed dimensions are 70 x 140 cm slightly bigger than the usual 28 x 52 inch. Want to know if bedding for the 70 x 140 dimension is easy to find other than at mothercare

Crayon, pumping every 3hrly is abit pain. also will get v little. like less than 100ml each time. somemore at work ....

but weekends i do try to pump 3 hrly if possible lah

Thanks for all welcome.

I just let my baby to try on the walker just for a while, she is very happy in it. But heard that it is not good for their spine, so dare not let her sit long.

HI ladies,

Jus realise that HB's birthday is two days away!!!

I was so busy with my boy till I forgotten all about it!

Does anyone has any good suggestion of a place for a nice dinner?

Thanks so much!!

going back to work:

i've gone back to work on 31st dec. hiaz. super sianz. now at least getting used to it.
But i miss my girl. at times, i take my hp out to take a look at her photo. hiaz.
and i cannot wait for 6pm so that i can go see her and latch her on.

<font color="119911">Babies sleeping during the day:
Mommies, how many hours sleep does your baby average during the day? Baby K now sleeps very little - like 1-2 hours in total, or less! Most are just quick 15-30min naps then he wakes up...sigh...don't leave me time to do my own stuff

the busy bee (thebusybee) - u should be able to get non-standard cot bedding at places like Kiddy Palace - but these designs would be more limited. Best to get the standard size, then you have a wider selection of bedsheets to choose from.</font>

back to work:

I started work on 5th dec. First one week very miss my bb, but after that is all right le. Now I prefer go to work rather than stay at home the whole day, cos can chat with my colleagues and have time for myself. But when reach 6pm, I will rush back home to see my bb.

bigtoes... mine slp quite alot in the day leh... he catch a few naps.. normally his nap last abt 1 hr or 1.5 hrs... den at night he slps ad 11.30.. wake up ard 8am in the morning for milk...

crayon/green baby: i'm also pumping 4/5hrly cos per session already taking v long to get 100ml. also need to feed &amp; play with baby plus find time to eat/bathe/wash bottles/feed &amp; walk furkid etc so it's quite hard to squeeze in more sessions. sigh. but i'm really determined to up my ss so will try and adjust my daily routine. really so tired rushing to do so many things but dunno why my weight is still the same!!!

pampers promo

sianz...

sent my hubby yest to cold storage at compass point, oss.

my parents helped to buy today @ ntuc and guess wat! they bought the pampers seperately at original prices....arrrgghh
apparently oss also, so they mix-match M size with XL....

tried the new papers on my boy, within 1 hr he POOed! gosh, i tell him must not waste a good diaper like that...

so all of you managed to stock up?

qqq
So envy. Can go USA. My furthest country is bangkok only. Hahaha...

Baby naps
My baby also sleep alot in the afternoon, sometimes 30 mins to 2hrs per nap. At night sleep at 10pm, dream feed at 12am. She wake up at 7.30am for the next feed.

Diapers
I haven't tried Fitti yet. I find that Mommy Poko is the best, still feel dry after so many pee. In the day, I use huggies dry comfort, at night use Mommy Poko.

Baby naps

mini miow good friend with baby k. sleep very little during day time, if add together, will be less than 3 hrs (broken down as a few
30 min/ 45 min power naps)

jo, good luck with your stock up.

Greenbaby: fenugreek - I took 2 pills at one go per day. Re: pumping.. if you find it a hassle to pump every 3 hourly, can try to latch on instead? Then you wont have the hassle of washing and sterilising the bottles... but yeh.. I think I've to do bottles again, as I'll be returning to work in Feb! Tried feeding bottles last week, and yes, my baby just refuse to drink, and keep pushing out the teat with his tongue!

Big toes - 1 to 2 hours nap during the day is very very little!! Does he sleep well at night? Wont he be very cranky? Mine naps about 30mins each time, and usually when he's awake for about 1.5hours, I'll put him to sleep again. On good days, he can nap for 2-3hours after his shower.

Fitti diapers - just received a call from them and they will be delivering it to me tomorrow morning.

Jo,
Me and Sri will be sharing a cab. Sri stays at AMK, and me at Bishan. PM ur hp and we liaise on the timing when the date is nearing!

Greenapple
I popped 2 Fenugreek a day and after taking it for a month or so, I feel my supply increase abit lo. Oh yah, I realized it is cheaper to order from those drugshop spree leh!

Qqq
Congrats to u on becoming a SAHM! Envy leh!

I am helping me BEST friend to look for a GOOD massage lady. The one that I have is SO SO nia. Anyone out there hired a damned good one huh? Share leh

xuanting/green baby, if going by the rule of the thumb then demand = supply. So if u pump every 4-5hrly, ur body will only produce tat amt in 4-5hrs. Maybe u'll want to be patient and wait for abt 1wk to see if ur supply increases after increased pumping. And yes, I totally HATE washing and sterilising!! My hands have bcome rough! bah!
If not, then supplement with 1/2feeds of FM lor. Dont be too hard on urselves.

Jessi, I went to http://www.rent-that-toy.com/
Quite fuss free. Hee and my boy can have a differnt bulky toy monthly.

Bigtoes, the number of hrs my boy slps depends on his mood. Sometimes can be a short 20-30mins nap and sometimes like today, he slpt from 1.45pm to 440pm, with a 15mins break to drink milk.

But I'll usually make him slp 1.5-2hrs after he wakes up and he slps by 830pm every night.

Rachel Lim (rac_lim)
i have alr started working since nov. so cant latch on that much.

then at work i can pump regularly but lazy to wash bottles n pimp too ... hahah

i m drinking a herbal tea which is supposed to help increase SS too. hope my SS will increase soon .... frozen milk running out soon ....

if really cannot meet dd, will bobian. but will put in effort b4 too late now. anyway has gotten a tin of S26 from PD just in case.

<font color="0077aa">Today was my 1st official work day, so far so good. Time passes quite fast so didn't miss baby as much. But when i got home &amp; see his cutie face, cannot stand lo! LOL!

Yah man, washing &amp; sterilising is such an hassle! But luckily now have helper to wash.. kekek... But lugging my laptop &amp; all the barang barang is no joke!

Fitti also called me today, they will be delivering tomorrow.</font>

Bigtoes
R is also sleeping like K these days, in fact for quite some time, very tiring for me. I think they go through a phrase. Now that they are bigger, they are much more aware of their surroundings and just want to play. They will get into a routine again.

Rachel
You can try to get someone else to bottle feed baby. It's easier for another person apart from you to bottle feed him. My mum is able to bottle feed my boy but he will push out the teat and cry like no tomorrow if it's from me. Why settle for rubber when you can have the real stuff in front of you?

Baby's sleeping habit: I think GuniBoy is a little piggie lor! He sleeps alot! He can sleep for up to 5 hours in the day time and then still sleep thru from 8pm to 8plus or 9am the next morning! Even on his bad days, he sleeps for at least 2-3 hours during the day and still sleep thru from 8 plus till 8plus the next day. I'm thankful for this sleepyhead though, cos it means he's growing and mummy gets free time! hahah ... but I hate it when he takes cat naps, sleep for 10mins wake up, need to be carried, then sleep again and then repeat the process ... that's super tiring for the caregiver

Storeberry,
Think not ordering Fitti liao since they increase price for my order despite me emailing them last week. Anyway, I bot 2 M &amp; 2 L Pampers Active from NTUC &amp; Cold Storage

Milk Supply
Am worried that Alston will be getting more formula milk feed as I saw on the Enfalac milk can mentioning that milk intake for 4-8mth bb should be 150ml. I understand this is just a guideline and every bb differs. He's drinking 100-120ml every 2 1/2-3hrs and i din really try to increase his intake, so am not really sure if he can drink more or not. Currently he's taking 1-2 formula feed in the day when i am working, the rest is BM.

Gunibabe,
Ya agree wif u that if he's growing if he's having a longer sleep. Happy for u too. Alston's sleep time can be erratic at times, sometimes he can sleep 2hrs, sometimes he will cry whenever he's being put down and thus needs to be carried....urgghhh....

crayon

ya.i oso hate the washing parts man..always at the end of the day,got lots of bottle to wash, not to forget my FB's oso..really a chore..

millie

i should be able to give u alift there since my hubby going as well..but have to go at 3pm coz ours a OPC..u going alone with bb?

gunibabe- good that guni boy is sleeping thur. mine boy only sleep the most 4hrs the 1st sleep, the constantly 3 hrly.

Fri is his 2nd 5in1 injection,hope that doc dont say anything mucha bout his weight. now when carry him up to feed his milk , can feed the weight there

Bigtoes: My boy sleeping habits depends on his mood too. The most i let him stay up for 1.5hrs then i put him to sleep. sometimes he is so curious with his surroundings that he fights his sleep. When he naps, it can be 10mins-3 hrs, depends on how quiet the house is. In order to let him sleep more, i have to watch 'silent' TV, reading the subtitles instead so that he could get more sleep. His sleeping time is 11pm the latest, coz if he sleeps early, he wakes up early. He can only sleep through 6/7hrs the most. I don't want to put him to sleep at 9pm and have to wake up at 3/4am to entertain him. So no choice, let him sleep later.

Rachel,
Sunnysunny is right. Ask someone else to feed K rather than yourself cos bb can recognise your smell.

crayon,
I just leave it for my helper to wash up after each session

Ade,
I used to create a quiet environment for my FB to sleep. Resulted in him waking up at the slightest noise. For #2, he has been constantly exposed to background noise (TV, his korkor's screaming, our talking etc). Noise doesn't faze him too much (he can even sleep through fireworks). So something for u to ponder...

busybee,
70cm X 140cm is the same as 28 inches by 52 inches right? The conversion is 1 inch = 2.5cm.

bigtoes,
J takes 3-4 naps totalling 6-7 hrs between 7am to 10pm and then sleeps thru the nite from 10pm till abt 7am.

stefseanshar,
long time no see!

Lok: Initially, we did let him sleep in a noisy environment. But as he grows older, he even wakes up when his daddy sneeze. But it's not a problem to bring him shopping lah, even though it's noisy, he can still sleep through.

BB TONGUE STICKING OUT
My bb lately has been stucking his tongue out, like a dog liddat. Is that also a syndrome of teething?
Anyone experienced tat oso?

COAXING BB TO SLEEP
I am still rocking bb to sleep leh! Anyone has achieved to let bb to sleep on its own liao huh??

goldfish - same me also rocking my bb to sleep.sometime once put him down he wants to be carried to sleep again
shoulder aching like hell. sometime i try to put him down on the bed and pat him to sleep, one or twice its work when he is too sleepy. but often need to be carried to sleep

Goldfish,
J sleeps on his own. Unless he's super cranky, we don't need to rock or carry him to sleep. The trick is not to get into the habit of rocking him to sleep in the 1st place!

Goldfish / Koras - same same!!! Mine also needs to be carried and rock to sleep!!! Somemore, mine sometimes, sleep halfway through will wake up, then got to carry and rock again! Next month he's going infant care, sigh.. dont know the caregiver will have so much patience to rock a not!

Bottlefeed - err... there's nobody at home during the day.... so unless I wait till hubby is back (usually 8pm or 9pm)... but can only do bottlefeed for last feed... hee.. wouldnt want to wait up in the middle of the night to bottlefeed.. would prefer to latch on, then can do without expressing, and washing in the middle of the night. Somemore, mine still wakes up twice a night for feed, usually 2am and 5am!

lok,
yeah. long time no see. was busy with house reno.. and now shifted in and settled down already and back to work too. miss my girl terribly.
she had not started drinking from bottle when i sent her to infant care 3 weeks ago. now at the infantcare, she drinks v little. only like <100ml per feed every 4 hrly. sometimes her intake is only 30ml per feed.
and she cries whenever she has to drink from the bottle. at home, i just latch her on direct and she can drink on and off from 7pm to 10pm and sleeps thru the night till abt 630am. i feel so sad that she is drinking so little at the infant care. and at home, she only wants me to carry her. doesnt allow anyone else to carry her.
her weight gain this month was not too good too.. only 400gm. Her weight gain in the previous months were like 600gm. sigh.. she is only 5.1kg at 4 months

Baby's sleeping habit: dunno abt weekdays as have to bring dd to my mum's place every morning. But on Sundays, she will sleep thru to the afternoon with her daddy. Both of them going to bed before 12am, then morning 9.30-10am i feed her already, she will go back to sleep again w daddy and officially wake up with him after 12pm. Her average night sleep without milk is ard 8-10hours. I think she knows when its night time cos usually her daddy brings her to the room to sleep before 12am, sometimes i make milk for her at 12.30-1am wanting to dreamfeed her. But she dun drink and screams! in the end i wasted 4 scoops of milk powder...

Ade, i let dd sleep with the tv on or us talking loudly etc. So she usually sleep thru. we even brought her out for new year countdown and she slept thru all the commotion once i put her bean pillow to half cover her face. Then when the time comes have difficulty waking her up to watch the fireworks! Once when dd is ard 1.5months, my aunt even comment my dd sleep like a pig even when mummy is watching war movie on tv so loudly then i realised the volume is quite high.

Goldfish/Koras, my dd also sleeps on her own. unless she v cranky, we will pat her to sleep. otherwise will just turn her to either her left/right side, bolster between her legs, and her hands half hugging the bean pillow and half covering her face + a pacifier(the pacifier will auto drop out when she's sound asleep. Sometimes she will play by herself, and tired already, just give her the pacifier and bean pillow, she will pat her bean pillow herself(for the sound i think) and fall asleep.

We dun carry her alot at home, unless for feeding and burping. The most is when we go out shopping etc, majority is carrying as she usually gets bored sitting in the stroller.

Mummies who sent their babies to Infant care, do you spend the first few days with your baby at the infant care center? Or do you just leave her/him there alone?

Stef, so sad!! But is she alert and happy? Maybe her appetitite is smaller? Can ask the IFC to feed 50ml every 2 hours (break it into smaller feeds) instead?

Rac,
i just leave her at the infant care. cos she cries the moment she sees me and wants me to carry her. She is alert. she is happy when she sees me.. but start to make noises when others carry her.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Sleeping Habits</font>
Max's sleeping patterns are not fixed too.. tho they are somehow fixed on the weekends. Think coz he knows mummy stay at home to look after him, so dun wanna bother mi much.. haha

Weekdays, sometimes maid will tell mi he nvr really sleep. And somehow it doesn't affect his sleep in the nite leh.

<font color="ff0000">Babies sleeping thru the nite</font>
Oohh... wanna those mummies whose babies are sleeping thru the nite already. Do they 'wake up' in the middle of the nite (around the same time every nite) den start tossing n turning n falling back to slp? Max does it from 3+am onwards. juz sleeps wake up, toss den sleep.. very disrupting... I suspect it's bcoz he's hungry but he juz doesnt wanna wake up for milk so tries to force himself to sleep.

In fact, these few days he can onli tahan till 6am den muz drink milk le.. else he cannot sleep le. He doesn't cry out for milk, but juz cannot fall back to sleep. The eyes will open n start looking around.

He's hungry coz gets so excited when i start feeding him, den once he finish he will fall back to sleep. Am so worried that this sleeping pattern will affect his sleep coz its interrupted already.

Anyway, he's back to waking up for nite feeds, ok i mean early morning feeds like at 5+ or 6am. Am already feeding him cereals once a day, so mayb should increase more le.

<font color="ff0000">Feeding bb cereal</font>
Those who have started giving bb cereal, how often do u all feed and how much do u give? I'm onli feeding max once a day (coz i dun wan maid to feed him so gotta wait till i go back home den feed) unless on weekends den i'll give him twice a day. Each time 1 tablespoon. But after tat he will still finish the remaining milk.

<font color="ff0000">Babies Flipping</font>
oohh... let me be proud of Max. He finally flipped last nite. Actually he flipped on New Year's Day already.. but tat was a one-off thing coz he didn't flip again after tat. Last nite, he flipped twice.. both times for daddy to see (I was bathing, duh).. n after i came out dun wanna flip le. Think he did it on purpose lor... hmph

<font color="ff0000">Dad vs Mum</font>
Anyone of ur babies have got a preference between the both of u? i'm beginning to realise and feel that my boy doesn't like me as much as his daddy. He will smile and talk to his daddy all the time. yet when i play / talk to him.. he rarely smiles. so much so ratio can be 5 smiles to daddy onli 1 smile to mummy... sighz.. am feeling sad abt it.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Rachel: mine also wakes up at 1am &amp; 5am to feed. I wish he can sleep longer! And today he wakes up at 730am &amp; started talking so I just leave hime on my bed &amp; continue my sleep but can't sleep long...

Smallberry naps about 2-3times a day, his 1st nap at 10am will usually last about 3hours then the 2nd one will be @3pm will last about 1-2hours then the last nap is depending on his mood sometimes 1/2hours only...

I also let smallberry sleep with noise &amp; music. Cos my house is near mrt &amp; everytime will have MRT tracks running noise but sometimes when I make some sound in the room, he will stirred abit then fall back to sleep.</font>

lok

normally i will play lullaby/music in the room during her sleeping time..so tt she wont get frighten if theres any sudden loud noise..

<font color="0000ff">yan (bbfam)
my baby like urs... has this special liking for the beansprout pillow leh. think got his smell lor.. coz when he's tired.. give him the pillow and he will auto turn to his side and sleep de. dun even need to do anything. Of coz he muz be super tired.. else he will start crying le.

Oh... 1 thing i realise is.. he likes to sleep on his left oso.. turn him to the right and he can't fall asleep de. He will auto turn himself to the left to sleep oso</font>