(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0077aa">Jas: I want to go to the library but no time leh! I am sure there good collection of board books! How much did you get the hungry catepillar for? Paperback or?

Kymkym: Fri sale is CASH only?? Hmm.. so must prepare lotas of cash? LOL!</font>

So many of you have got books for your bb already! i haven't even got one yet. Only bought some flashcards for baby, but i hardly got the time to flash to him yet!

Bigtoes, saw from your facebook that K have flipped! He is progressing very well! Mine can't even hold his head up during tummy time, and i'm getting a bit worried with his slow progress.

I also wanna go to the sale on Friday. Was tinking if i should apply leave or not. go sale in the morning and bring baby for jabs in the noon.. Still must find time to get xmas presents too... Haiz...So much to do, but yet so little time

Just wanna rant over here.. Have an arguement with hb last night, over money issue plus MIL...HB is now giving MIL about 1.3k for taking care of baby, home allowance and mother's allowance, which i personally find it's a bit ridiculous. His family is staying with us, and on top of that, we gotto buy the groceries, baby necessities, pay the utilities bills, etc. I told him it's really a lot as most of the things, we are the one paying, so i don't see a point in giving her that much. Hb said that his mom had given up a lot of her personal time to take care of baby and housework, which is very 'xin ku' for her, so it's only right that we give her more. It's not that i'm trying to be calculative, but his mom would just throw baby to me, whenever i'm back from work. I'm working from Monday-fri, have to rush home everyday to take care of baby, tends to baby night feed. During weekend, i have to take care of baby and do the housework, which his mom seldom do it coz she said weekday take care of baby, got no time to do. So i weekend took care of baby, i got time to do??? And the thing that make me boils is that when she is doing the laundry, she can just wash everyone clothes, except mine! So during weekend, other than doing housework, i got to do laundry and take care of baby too which my HB don't find that it's very taxing on my part! And the thing is that HB only plays with baby, and he hardly help me take care of him. I don't understand why he can be so sensitive to his mom's need, but not mine! Only his mom is made of flesh and blood, and i'm not lah.

Jessi.. i'm ok with that timing since my boy also wake up around tt time for shower and poo poo...

Storeberry ... you stay at west also issit??
how are we going down?? cabbing or driving??

by the way.. is the warehouse very dusty and non-aircon? coz i will need to bring bb.. nobody help take care... so if it is dusty.. might give it a miss... any idea??

Jas - I think it is great to go get books at the library for the kiddos. I am hoping not to spend too much on books and treat the weekly / fortnightly outings to the library as family time and I think it will be fun to bring the baby along so he/she can experience more things! I'll let u know when I get to doing it. hahaha..maybe this saturday?

Springz - thinking of bringing discussion on FB here...re getting back into the groove for work. ha ha ha. I am only waking up once to pump during the night after his last feed but I still feel rather tired as it is interrupted sleep btw 1230am and 7am. R u thinking of dropping the night pumps altogether? I'm just afraid that my SS will dip a lot. Hoping to tahan BFing him till when he turns 6 months though I am really wondering how I'm going to do it when I start travelling for work in Feb.

Ade. $1.3K for ur in law is a lot leh!!! Indeed, it is not easy for our inlaws or parents to look after the little ones cos it is so TAXING, bt erm, $1.3k is too much I feel. Keke.. especially u dun feel so off-loaded from the household chores! And opps.. it is quite ehem that they choose not to wash ur clothes leh!!! Aiyoh

I took leave on the 19th liao.. intend to CHIONG the warehouse sale leh! Anyone wants to meet at Tampines MRT and we share a cab down in the morning???

Hihi miow,

URL for the sale.. nope, grabbed the ad off a friend's blog only

Hihi yobaby,

Are you are a september mummy? The bras basah bookstore i went to is called the children's book store, forgot which level already, maybe you can check the directory, with regards to the nanny, where do you stay?, yes the nanny is from china, but was recommended to me by another mummy friend, and how old is you baby?

Friday Chiong Session:

Yes!! Cash only!!! Please bring loads of hundred dollar notes hahahahah!

Yes goldfish, can you imagine how i felt when i find that she choose not to wash my clothes?? And HB can only side her when i complain to him about this... Haiz...

KymKym, after the FP episode, I can expect you to be the big spender at the warehouse sale again!

Ade... $1.3k sia!!.. I did a mild calculation.. you can hire a good nanny + a maid to clean your house already!!!.. Seriously.. yes, it may be hard.. but (in my perspective) if it is really that taxing.. why don't you give them some rest (no need them to take care of baby, let the nanny and maid take care, they'll just supervise.. better right??.. not so xin ku....) and use the money for better use? .... sorry, maybe i am a bit insensitive .. but thats what i feel since i have a bit of MIL unhappiness.. so i urged my husband to get a maid, and we'll get a nanny.. nanny @ $750, maid at $450, in the end its $1,200 only... and of cus we pay for the groceries, bills anyway so...

Me and hubby gives $300 a month to his mother only, since I am taking care of baby mostly, even after discussions, we initially wanted to give $200 extra if she were to take care of baby full time, since we'll be paying for all other amenities and utilities (which is about $500 a month).. giving $1.3k.. what other money do you have left for other things? and you still need to pay off bills and loans.. what about baby next time?.... =(

kymkym
hey, since you are so creative, you can make your own cloth books mah!!!! a story on scarlett!!!! that will be so sweet!! on ongoing story of her life!!! then can be keepsake in the future!

mandy
just flash dun need to explain, bbs arent so patient yet. explanation comes after that if you want...

jas
i went to the library too when my boy is very much younger. then got a bad experience with one book that i think came with some mucous on it...eeeeeeeeeeekkkkkk dun remind me of that...

lok
you got the edventure books too!!!!hahaha, yah i got it from them the nat geog series and sunshine in the sales before that. din even tell my hb!!!!just brush it off when the cc bill came :p

ade
dun worry about bbs no lifting head. think some bbs just dun like it. i put my little CH on the crawling track and she will lift up her head high, freeze there and cry...then her bro will come along and exclaim "meimei crying" then start plucking out her hair (yes he did that!!!)

my fb didnt have much tummy time. coz as first time parents, i didnt dare to turn him over and hb's busy at work, so do it like maybe once a blue moon (think we put him on his tummy less than 5x throughout the first few months)..but he managed to crawl by 6mth..so dun worry too much k?

ade
wow! just read 1.3k???eh, you can bring your bb to my place, and pay me 1.3k. i sahm, and maid can take care :p..

seriously, that is a lot of money even if your hb is earning 5 figure

Yinyin,

Cloth book!! thats an idea!!! but i think my previous project- pieces of quilt blanket for scarlett is still lying around somewhere.... and i started the quilt blanket before i gave birth.. now still in pieces.. hahahehe .. i am just good at thinking about all those 'ghost ideas' ... ahahaha cannot be deemed creative laa

and babe, where do you stay! I wanna see the crawling track!... you are so pro... your house is prolly a living library!!

Ade, the house is under u n ur hb name? how come his family is staying with u all? Shouldn't they help to pay if they r working too. even rent a rm out, have to paid for rent n some might don't even allow to cook in the house.

l'l CY^^l'l CH,
Yup, I went to the recent sale. Didn't mention the price to hubs, just told him I bought 100+ books for the boys. Of cos, he gave me the "huh?? Is it necessary" look again. The NatGeo ones are so nice right? Josh hasn't started on those yet, only doing LetterGetter and Joy Readers now.

Ade,
How much did he give his mum before the baby came along and how old is she now?

<font color="0000ff">Wah.. envy envy.. u ladies are cheong-ing sales again!! haha.. the Sept thread is becoming more like a sales thread

Ade
woops.. that's ALOT of $$ for MIL. agree with Kym. U can get a decent nanny and maid.. den MIL and u can 'kiao kar' already lor. MILs are always the cause of trouble.... sighz...</font>

lanolin
Once baby started sleeping through, so did I, so I actually missed latching for 8 to 9 hours. I think so long as you make up for it in the day by latching/pumping more, your supply will be there.

<font color="0000ff">Hey mummies, i need some help here.

Rem u all mentioned there were 2 baby shops around Ubi and Balestier isit? What are the names of the shop. Think the one at ubi is Baby Hyperstore ah?

I found a car seat suitable for my boy and able to last him till abt 4 yrs. so need to check how much they selling. Brand name is Safety Fits. Able to recline to 3 positions some more.

Checked with Cheong Choon, they selling for $145 so wondering if anywhere else cheaper or any other brands just as good and cheaper???

Dear Sasa,

Baby's HyperStore Pte Ltd
69, Kaki Bukit Ave 1, Shun Li Industrial Park
Ph : 6844 1123 ; Fax : 6844 1189

Baby Avenue Pte Ltd
520 Balestier Road #01-02
Leong On Building

SpingZ ,
last year , there is an outside area (dusty) and an inside area ( aircon and cleaner) that is where the cashier is ...last year i bought zac there and station him indoor .. then i pick the clothes ... and yah the clothes prices are so low that u habe to bring a box .. not those plastic bag like fox sales ... keke .. just throw whatever clothes u like into the box and sort out later ...

Ade ,
Same case .. keke .. we gave a lot to MIL and the whole family lived with us for some years already .. utility bills and whatever we are payg for it ..but i can say that my MIL helped a lot and never require me to touch the housework initially when i have no maid .. and she is understanding : the groceries she will pay when she goes to NTUC .. cos she knoes after paying the bills and allwance plus maid plus classes + bb miscellaneous fees (there are a lot of things to pay for ), there is little left..keke... nw she is leaving for better life in Australia emigrating there with hb little brother to the sis to help her look after her little one .. I dunno if it is gg to be nightmare (cos i dun cook and have to stay at home temporaily to look after 2 little one) or blessing to me that I might not have MIL issues anymore.
Sometimes the root of quarrels betw us started when zac misbeheave.. and Hb is not ard to mediatate. Nevertheless, it is good to have a grandparent around to guide us in certain things ( although what they say might not always be true) keke ...So far MIL is a great help and we only have conflicting views when it comes to kids upbringing.. no sense of control over my little one once she interfere..

Ade, 1.3k is ALOT if they are staying with you and u are paying EVERYTHING from housing loan, groceries, utilities, etc. Its as if she doesnt need to spend any money when she living with u all n looking after baby, and why she dun wan to wash your clothes? not as if u are asking her to wash ur underwear too rite?? maybe can try be blunt lo, go 'MA! why my clothes you never wash for me one??' hehe! nowadays i v blunt w my MIL if she suddenly go biase against me. Cos treating her quite well and dun wan to keep everything inside, be blunt and straight away say things out will save all the unhappines. but better to be blunt when your hubby around and he knows wad u'r sayin, otherwise later MIL go complain to hubby behind our back. lol.

My mum not livin w me yet i only gave like $1k, better months will give abit more. she can take care of baby, clean the house, wash clothes, cook dinner for us, and the next day early early morning prepare n pack breakfast n lunch for me to bring to work. and sometimes when i dun have time to wash my bedsheets, i bring to her house in the morning before work, at night when i go back for dinner, its clean, dry, folded and ready for me to bring back home! FAST eh?

I just made a big big SMS quarrel with hubby. or should i say for my part only? hubby was in a meeting, so i think he heck care all my @#$#%$??
he treat me like i'm shaking leg in the office ar, he busy then i very free? URGH! i'm doing everything especially last week on leave, the whole week at home taking care of baby, have to do housework also, arrange with contractors for my MIL's renovation, and also my hubby's paperwork, and he requested for me to cook dinner for him since i'm at home ETC. like i have several pairs of hands. ytd night when i'm doing his paperwork even till 2+am, he was WATCHING TV. I told him to count the salary rates for me to input, he can tell me that he wan to watch the movie on tv. i replied saying he need the work to be done, cannot delay already, he should switch the tv off n concentrate in counting the salary rates, he say 'BUT, i like to watch this ninja movie leh!!!' *FAINT*

(PS for all the rantingS!)

Storeberry/Jeraldin,
Jeraldin u also staying in the west? CCK area?
Let's go together??? cos if i have to wait for hubby to bring me down, it will have to be on saturday already. Think go by cab alone will be quite pricy all the way down to tampines. Not worth it lo..

haben been posting for quite some times...there's so many posting....

u all get bummer mat for ur bb already? can anyone adv.. where to get cheap bummer mat?

my son haben poo for 2 days... is it ok? and.. hw to make him poo huh?

Lok/Lilboymum
I've been browsing Edventure's site, very tempted to get the Nat Geo set and a few others. Hmm... I'm just thinking how my hubby's eyes will popped out when the delivery man is here with the 100+ books and the credit card bill at the end of the month.

My boy is flipping rolling all over the place now. So the moment he starts calling for attention, I have to attend to him, if not he would have rolled and crawled to a corner and start wailing.

yan.. i'm staying at bt panjang.. very near to cck... if jessi, storeberry &amp; both of us go together... issit ok to cab??? but jessi can only go after 10.30am.. you ok with tt???

if not i can drive... just dunno my little monster can tahan the ride from cck to tampines although he seems to take the ride quite well when i went causeway point yesterday...

Jeraldin, oh, jessi is also staying bt panjang or cck area? Timing wise, its better to be as early as possible(i'm the super kiasu type lol!). but then after 10.30am is ok for me too! i can make it either cck or bt panjang as i need to drop baby off at my mum's place in bt panjang. not bringing bb there, btw, can help look after ur bb in the car if u're driving.

Jeraldin/Goldfish/Storeberry/Yan, update me after you gals go to the tampines sales,ok? I can't on leave this friday because I planned to take leave on next monday when my boy having jab..really wish I can join you gals ...

Sunnysunny, how old your son?

Ade
I can understand fully how u feel. We are also the flesh and blood of our mums! You definitely don't deserve such treatment, the worst part is, ur child is following their surname! No fairness I would say..Sorry for being so blunt and traditional, but have u talked to ur mum abt this? You certainly need the support of someone close, moreover, ur hubby is supposed to take care of u for the rest of ur lives! We don't take marriage vows for merely words, and no action! Be strong, do something to protect urself. Remember, no one owes anyone a living. Sorry if I sounded too straightforward..

Lok, Lanolin
Yeah, like what i mentioned in my previous post, borrowing frm the library is better than buying the wrong books for bb. There is more variety, and outing to the library can be a gd family time together on weekends
Most of the time, I will read for her, and she seems to enjoy it too

Storeberry
I bought the board book @ $16.05. So after 20% off, I got it for $12.85. I dunno if it's a good bargain, but at least the books there are in excellent condition, they have quite a few titles too like The very quiet cricket, and The very busy spider.

<font color="0077aa">This is getting exciting!!! Haha..

Jeraldine: Can't seem to PM you.. Can you Pm me your contact?

Yan: Sms you...

Jo(gwee): My smallberry also never poo for 6 days liao.. I will wait till another 2days &amp; see how.. Try limay's method of cycling your baby's leg, can aid poo-ing..

Lanolin: I am afraid to bring baby to library in case they cry there?</font>

xuanting, lol, but then looking after baby, cleaning n cooking all at her own house. btw, i did buy yaolan for her to use and also pacifier. but she dun use the yaolan often unless when she needs to cook dinner and baby is v clingy/cranky. Anyway, she's the best mom that I can ever wish for!!! LOVE HER! Its great if mums can be like our very best friend, and my mum is such. anything that my hubby made me angry or MIL did that made me go crazy i will confide in her. cos sometimes there are private things that is not convenient to tell even ur close friends and u really need to get it off ur chest.

storeberry, received ur sms. my dd also poo strike often but she is on fm. last mon late afternoon poo, then waited until last sat afternoon another poo. nearly bring her to see GP. then again until today haven poo yet. ytd night exercise her legs, only got smelly farts! lol!

<font color="119911">Ade (littlepea) - yah, 1.3k is alot since she is living with you guys and you are covering all the living expenses. Quite calculative to sort out your clothes from the wash also!

sasa (sasa_xie) - K is flipping already, but only from the tummy time position, not from lying down, to tummy down. He is more of a handful now, don't like to lie/sit still and has his limbs failing all over the place! Arghh...plus he is back to drinking every 3 hours at night!
He is also very chatty, and can go on talking to himself (at the top of his voice), oftentimes till he hiccups. I rather he just sit still and be quiet, and sleep alot more!</font>

<font color="0077aa">Jeraldin: Sure but can you come over to Yew Tee? Cos I am going from home &amp; my boy sleep at 10am only so maybe we can meet 1030am? You cannot receive PM so pls PM me yah? And I will be going somewhere else after the sale so can't fetch you all back, is it okie?

So it will be Jessi, you + bb &amp; yan..

em... think i'll drive myself then coz i wanna bring bb home after the sales as i don't forsee myself taking train with him.. haha so guess we'll meet each other there bah =)

Yan.. since you'll be in bt panjang area... so you see if you wanna get a lift from me=)

Sasa, My bb, now 3 mths 1 week, has start to flip. From lying down and flip herself tummy down. Once she master how to do it, she'll keep flipping, even in the middle of the night *worried*. If we stop her, she will get fustrated.

Lok, you bought so many books! Wow! I only bought a few cloth books and 1 set of board books for bb. I'm too lazy to read to her.

Xmas party must be so fun!!! *envy*
How can I see the photos of beautiful mums, cute BBs and pretty house?

My bb also poo around once every 4 to 5 days few weeks ago. Now getting back to everyday or 2 to 3 days once. PD say it's ok.

Jas - I'm a contradiction. Here I am talking about bringing the boy to the library and the next thing I know, I just spent $100+ on board books for him. ha ha ha.....

Bought 2 esp for Daddy to read to him so they will bond.

Meie - I'm in meetings quite a bit when I go back to work. Hopefully I can find a way to express every 4 hours (sometimes I work through lunch..). Thanks for the advice! How much do you pump out per time now?

Limay / Meie - must be frustrating for ur boys to be up again. My friend who has 2 boys said that realistically they will only sleep through the night consistently after they start eating proteins...maybe at 7 / 8 months?

ade: $1.3k? That's just too much for someone living under the same roof as u. Moreover, she doesn't even do your laundry...

am wondering how much i need to top up my MIL's mthly allowance when we park Isaac there. Already she is getting allowances from all her children + she is working PT (meaning she has CPF) + she is collecting rent. Does she really need more $ from us?! Urrgrgghhhh...

Lok/lilboymom: Edventure series are for how old and above?

Jas: my son hates The very quiet cricket! haha

lok: what do u mean 'not the usual stuff' at Bookaburra? What stuffs do they carry then?

Gunibb: those Minitoon bumper mats are smaller than the BP ones, which I assume are under the brand Parklon/LG rite?

KymKym, lilboymum, Jasmine, Lok, sasa, yan: Yes, it’s a lot of money! That’s why I told him I might as well quit my job and take care of baby. Initially, when baby arrives, MIL urged my hb to get a maid for her. Imagine giving her 1.3k and we still got to pay for maid. This will surely happen when we have #2. That’s is why I am thinking of not having #2 since he don’t bother to help out and his mother expect to have a good life with us. Baby haven’t start school yet. I don’t dare to think about the expenses for the future. The house is under our name. His parents insisted on moving in with us when we bought it 2 years ago. It was really a wrong move sia… When the parents move in, the siblings move in too, and their house which is only a few blocks away from us, is being rented out. Move in with us, never mind, very seldom I get to eat homecook food even before baby arrived. When baby arrived, she said no time to cook. I wonder where the allowance that we gave her goes to.

Lok, my MIL is only 51years old. I don’t really question him on how much he gave his mom. Initially, when we got married, he expect me to give his mom monthly allowance. I told him, if I give your mom, you are expected to give mine too. HB said if 1.3k is a lot, then you ask your mom to look after lah. If I can, of course I will get my mom to look after instead, but she got health problem, so it’s out of the question.

Yan, it’s only throwing the laundry into the machine, I don’t understand why is it so hard for her to do so. I wish I could be more blunt with her, but at times, I scared if I too blunt, Hb will be in a difficult position, so always complain to my Hb behind her back. But he side her instead. That’s why I said own mom is still the best. My in-law stayed with us for more than 2 years. My MIL don’t even bother to make breakfast for me. Even when her youngest son wakes up early for school, there will be breakfast for him, but not even once for me! If my hb work late, next day, sure got ginseng for him to drink. If it is for me, can continue to dream on. My own mother din even treat my hb liddat.

Chewy_ring: At least you find MIL is a great help. I really cannot imagine when my son grows up. Think we will have conflicting views on the upbringing too.

Gunibabe, Hubby knows about this, but always keep finding excuses for her. Why did you give your MIL so much too? Is she living with you?

Lilboymum: Ok, thanks for the assurance. I was wondering if it is normal or he is just simply too lazy… What!? Your son will pluck mei mei hair??!!

Jo, try moving baby leg in a cycling motion. It will help with his digestive system.

lanolin
Seriously I got no idea what's my milk supply as I latch on all the time. Only at the 6am feed when I am latching baby, I'll pump the other side &amp; can get 150ml from one boob.

Thanks storeberry &amp; Ade, i shall go home try the cycling motion on Matthias... hope he poo...

Gunibabe... i oso wondering the mat sold at mimi toon &amp; the 1 u bou at BP izzit the same?

Gosh Ade!
Your MIL is collecting rental and yet get $$ from your HB? Tatz ridiculous.

Sorie i'm also quite blunt.

Actually like wad other mommies say, might as well you quit job and get the 1.3k to look after the BB. Ade you got to stand up for your rights! We will support you lor.

They really "bu zi dong" to move in with you all. Tell you, your baby is now your only shield (even though follow ur HB's surname). Everyday tok to your BB and be close with him. And retaliate if need to. Your HB should stood by your side lor.

Ade: MIL not living with us. Hubby is a very fillial boy, he thinks he spent too much of his parents money when he was studying overseas, so want to give them more. That amount is inclusive of allowance and their petrol bills and the bills on the sup card my hubby gave them, they never fail to charge to it every mth!

Your hubby is so attched to his mum! Sigh, I can empathise with you about not wanting to put your hubby in a tight spot.

Meie - 150 from one boob is v good already. I get that amount from 2! Does he drink from both breasts most times or only 1? I'm starting to latch only 3 meals a day (6pm / 1030pm / 7am) coz I need to coach him to drink when I am not around. Not looking forward to 5 Jan.

Oops, I must clarify --- Edventure resources are more for toddlers rather than babies. They supply books which are commonly used in pre-schools such as Rigby Literacy series, Sunshine series etc. I bought the books for my 2 year-old Joshua, not 3 mth-old Jonas!!! I didn't buy any books for Jonas. Just put him by my side when I'm reading to Joshua so that he hears my reading.

sunnysunny,
Better wait for Edventure's bi-annual sale, otherwise your hubs' eyes will pop even bigger when the bill comes!!! The books are very compact, so can hide them easily. The credit card bill a bit harder to hide hor (but I paid for it myself so no issue with my hubs).

flos,
I only been to Bookaburra once and their titles are not those that I see in Borders/Kino. Even have paperback Eric Carle.

sasa,
Jonas has not flipped yet. Still prefers to sleep most of the time. Now giving him more tummytime as his neck muscle is still rather weak. Moreover, one side is stronger than the other, so his head is slanted to one side most of the time. PD wants us to monitor as it can be a medical condition which requires intensive physiotherapy. *fingers crossed*