(2008/09) Sep 2008

Xmas Gathering:
Mei (meie) - okie, noted with thanks.
So alabone I add you into the list (no. 11)?

Mommies who signed up – can you pls confirm that you can make it?
Waitlist - Millie (millie22), Jaymickey (jaymickey)

PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV
Tentative date: Sat, 13th Dec
Tentative time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes & Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
1) Bigtoes & Dracwy & Baby Kieran – CONFIRMED 2 adults
2) Bacon&egg, Baby Kaiden & hubby – CONFIRMED 2 adults
3) Ava & Hb & kids - CONFIRMED 2 adults
4) Preggie & HB & Bb
5). Cloud & BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs & 2 kids
7) Lanolin & HB & Declan
8)Autum & 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)
9) storeberry & Zane & hubby - CONFIRMED 2 adults
10) Flos & BB (maid and/or hubs)
11) alabone (alabone) + baby + ??
12) sunrays,HB & Charlotte - CONFIRMED 2 adults
13) Jas(mobilesuitegal)+ HB + Rachael
14) lilboymum + CY + CH + HB confirm 2 adults
15) Jojobar, Hb & Marcellus – TENTATIVE on hubby
16) KymKym, HB & Scarlett - CONFIRMED 2 adults
17) Evan_gigi, HB & BB - CONFIRMED
18) Angeline Goh + BB

<font color="119911">Springz (springz), Angeline Goh (angeg) – on backache, I did an epi also, but don’t have any after effects. I suspect that the back ache is more from posture (stooping to carry baby up, to change diapers if that is done on the bed, to breast feed etc)…I realize that I was stooping more at the beginning and had some back/neck ache, but now that I make a conscious effort to sit/stand upright, the pain is gone.

Mommies who log in and pump at the wee hours of the morning – how long does it take to pump, and are you using a hands-free strap or something?

xuanting (xuanting) – try Browhaus for your eyebrow shaping? I haven’t tried them, but supposedly quite good.

wingkei (wingkei) – hang in there and just focus your energy on girl okie?
At least she can bring sunshine and laughter into your life even if your hubby and his family are a pain in the neck.</font>

ava, what are your plans? perhaps it's divine intervention... i think it's the best time for u to stay home; can bond with the girls plus spend more quality time with adan.

ava (avalyn)
thanks ava.. i'm the one asking. hiak hiak!!!
I never go back to my gynae le. Next appt is 6mths later. haha! Guess shld be ok to do clutches liao.

ava
must have missed the post. what happ? you decided to stay at home liaoz?

xuanting
yes browhaus quite good. some of their what-you-call-that-job...are very professional and skillful. have a package there.you should try the threading service. go for the full facial ones..ouch!!!

Shazz,
Last nite was the worst nite ever..I act smartie and woke Kaiden up at 12 midnite for a feed(last feed was 8ish), hoping he can sleep thru the nite...guess what!! We woke up a super duper crying machine! He cried sooooo loud and soooo long...almost an hour non-stop with in between sobbings...it nearly bought the whole hse down..we have to comfort and cuddle him to sleep..Lesson learnt - NEVER wake up a sleeping bb! We resigned to our fate of waking up at 4ish for nite feed..

Travel
Just booked a trip to HK for next year. Jetstar having anniversary sale..$650 return trip for 2 adults and 1 infant..feeling excited..first time travelling as a family..

Backache
Try those off-counter deep heat cream, it helps. Exercising also help to ease the aches.

Hi, Angeline

Thanks for the photos of the flash cards, have some idea now.. but baby jayden dun seems to enjoy those I bot from " your baby can read".. not colourful enough?

Hi,Mandy

E-mailed you today. this thursday not possible.

hi bacon &amp; egg,
got sale for tix to hkg??? hb and i planning to trip to hkg with the two todds. where to get that? and it does not include hotel stay is it??

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) ,
My flash cards are those pictures one with words at the bottom.. dunno if it is too complicated for zac .. hmm ..
Self made cards : u need to buy special flash cards materials for that right ? anyway PM u about when u free .. i am serious of bringing zac to play with Cy .. hope dun mess up your house ..keke ..

Robinsons having toys sales .. just received thrie brouchure .. leapfrog learning table only $69 .. Hmm thinikng of investing again for Zanneth although have one leapfrog exersaucer at hoem already .. keke ..

Xuanting .. i went for browhaus threading ... not the eye brow picking .. have package with them and nt so expensive after the package .. my package expiring in 6 mths time .. have to utilise by next march

Liboymum: Yes, I want to drop by your place if possible! You stay in the east? Can PM me your addy &amp; your FB as well? But do we use flashcard on baby now or wait till they are older? Your flashcards is made or buy one?

Ava: Oh dear, so its confirmed? Thot still not confirmed yet.. Yah agreed that it might be a blessing in disguise!

Just went to confirm maid in the morning with BIL. Spoke to maid over the phone in English but she don't seem to understand me! And when I asked her how many children she has, she answer in some malay &amp; then I heard the word "satu" which means one. Doesn't she knows how to say "one"? The agent said that most Indon maid english standard is like that. Haiz.. jia lat, next time don't know how to communicate with her.

MIL has been bringing my nephew downstairs daily, I told her don't bring him downstairs daily else he will be accustomed to it &amp; will fuss when you don't bring him down. She claimed that once maid comes, she will not bring him down. But I am still afraid that she will secretly do this when I go back to work and I DEFINITELY DONT WANT TO LEAVE MY BABY ALONE WITH THE MAID! How do I broach the subject to her again to make sure she understand? And she likes to close the door to play with my nephew in another room, also claimed that she don't want my nephew to disturb me &amp; baby. But if she locked themselves in the other room then leave maid alone with baby outside? Am I being too paranoid? Aiyoo!}

Bigtoes (Limay)

Here's my confirmation for the gathering.

PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
1) Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy &amp; Baby Kieran – CONFIRMED 2 adults
2) Bacon&amp;egg, Baby Kaiden &amp; hubby – CONFIRMED 2 adults
3) Ava &amp; Hb &amp; kids - CONFIRMED 2 adults
4) Preggie &amp; HB &amp; Bb
5). Cloud &amp; BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs &amp; 2 kids
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan
8)Autum &amp; 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)
9) storeberry &amp; Zane &amp; hubby - CONFIRMED 2 adults
10) Flos &amp; BB (maid and/or hubs)
12) sunrays,HB &amp; Charlotte - CONFIRMED 2 adults
13) Jas(mobilesuitegal)+ HB + Rachael - CONFIRMED 2 ADULTS
15) Jojobar, Hb &amp; Marcellus – TENTATIVE on hubby
16) KymKym, HB &amp; Scarlett - CONFIRMED 2 adults
17) Evan_gigi, HB &amp; BB - CONFIRMED
18) Angeline Goh + BB

Sasa .. no scanner here .. but seems a lot of toys on sales .. cos the booklet shows a lot.
Jas .... Card members have special price for some items only .. but most items are sale for public ..

Storeberry ,
best is to communicate with maid what u want for bb and ask her to record bb things like meals , daiper change , poopoo , bath , sleeptime .. ext .. and make sure she follows your expectations .. hmm , u are the employer ..her boss

Lanolin: that's a good ideal! but hor, the love bite has faded! haha ... no more evidence! Will take a photo if he strikes again! haha

bacon&amp;eggs: oh dear! I guess Kaiden treasures his sleep more than milk! For us, we've been doing it since eamon was 1 mth old, feeding him while he's still asleep! But that is only if he's mouth is moving and he missed his usual feed by about an hour.

Sleeping thru the night: mummies, no need to be envious cos by the end of the 3rd mth, more babies should be sleeping thru! I think my boy slept thru cos he's one of the bigger babies here, I read that bigger babies are able to sleep thru earlier.

Flashcards: what is the best age to start on this? looks like I'CY got to have an openhouse on flashcards! keke

LOOKING FOR NANNIES!

Mummies, I was advised by my PD against sending my gal to infant care, as the tendency of her falling ill is very high. However, my hubby and I don't want to keep the maid, cos still worrying..It seems that engaging a nanny is the best choice. Does anyone has a good nanny to recommend? I stay @ Bt Panjang, and teach in a pri sch in Serangoon. I can't remember if there are any previous discussions in this thread regarding nannies, so will appreciate if anyone can recommend me one at the area convenient for me. Many thanks!!

<font color="0077aa">Bacon&amp;egg: Zane also did the same thing as Kaiden concurrently for two days!! I gthot he is hungry when he make noise &amp; is munching on his "drumstick" so I pick him up &amp; want to latch him, he suckle for 2 seconds &amp; start to wail! And its those super loud one &amp; today cry until his eyes are red &amp; can see his eyes is wet also. Aiyoo, so heartpain leh!</font>

Qiuling, when did you get the brochure? I'm also a Robinsons card member.

Jas, you also a primary school teacher? When are you going back to school?

xuanting, mine has 8 different speeds, I use the lowest speed but I find that it still swings quite fast.

Pupsik sarong sling - those of you that bought this, what size did you get?

FP Aquarium Swing on the Go - I saw quite a number of these at Toys R'us in United Square this morning so anyone that wants to buy can go there and check it out.

cloud: I got the Pupsik Pouch in Size 2, think I'm in between sizes cos 1 is too tight and 2 is abit too loose, so baby was hanging a little too low. You can refer to this sizing chart for reference. http://www.pupsikstudio.com/pages/sizing.php

You may want to check out MomsInMinds sarong slings. I use that more often then the Pupsik one, now I'm loving my Ergo baby carrier more than the rest!
Those on my FB, can check out a picture with me using the Ergo carrier.

I'm totally lost...leapfrog, bumper mats, slides, activity walker! Is this the season to buy all these toys now? Can I wait till Isaac is a bit older when he is able to crawl and walk?

I only know browhaus! keke. I tried its sister joint STRIP for waxing, but never its eyebrow threading svcs. It must be good I guess...

jetstar and tiger hving promo? But they dun provide bassinets, do they? Maybe SQ, TG and CX have promo too? Sometimes, SQ can be cheaper than budget airlines.

Is Sarahmay leaving for Macau today?

ava: but dun they need you to pitch for new biz for 2009? Look for another job then.

DISRUPTION to sleep routines: after our outing last nite to my fren's place, Isaac's sleeping patterns have been disrupted. He woke up a few times cos the shuffling of MJ tiles was too deafening...plus, the heat in the living room was just tremendous...

backache: I agree with Bigtoes that it's the way we squat, stoop, bend, etc. I make it a point to squat like an AH SOH when I bathe Isaac in the bathroom. I'd open my legs wide (like 站马步)before I lift him up and stand up. Really Ah SOH, but nec cos the shower tray floor is wet.

I also change Isaac's diapers on my maid's bed (I've no changing station) which is in his room. After bending forward 2X a day for a week, I got a terrible backache and decided to let my maid take over the task.

Now, my BBjorn AIR is causing me to get those lower back aches again. I need to go to the masseuse this weekend.

Qiuling: Robs is having sale again? Metro as well...I really feel like getting rid of my maid. She finishes the upsize loaf (18 slices) of NTUC bread in 4 days, 2 bars of FAB soaps in 3 weeks, 1 pack of Pigeon BB detergent in 3 weeks, just to name a few... Adding costs to me only...Feel like dumping her at my PILs to take care of Isaac so that I dun hv to watch her waste my water and electricity everyday. I'm still angry that my PILs forced me to hire a maid whose job my MIL doesn't want to do!

Breastfeeding: I'm now pumping only once a day. I think I"m going to stop at week 10. I've nothing much to pump these days.

bacon &amp; eggs, qiuling,
i went to the jetstar webbie and they showed $50 and $0. but when i clicked continue, it showed the real price lor. the $50 one became 500 plus and the $0 one became $229!!!

i chanced upon another webbie tt had hkg packages for jetstar including hotel stay. 4d3n hkg disneyland $718 per pax. think will go for tt instead.

ava,
very sorry to hear abt your job plight. like the rest said, this could be a good time for u to catch more rest and stay with the kids.

bigtoes, thanks for adding my name. but if i'm not wrong, millie asked b4 i did. so i think add her first? if i go, i'll be bringing all three kids. you n dracwy scared or not?? hehehe..

storeberry,
you've got a very tricky matter on hand. do you think it's possible after your maid comes, then you take a few days leave to make sure things are going well?

also, if the maid cant understand english, why do you still wanna hire? how will you give her instructions in future? you didnt manage to talk to her b4 confirming her?

Just back from PD, my boy was weighed 7.230kg, length 61cm ..alamak. he is only 9weeks+..

BABY RASHES,
My baby got rashes, according from PD.. that is skin allergy.
Poor boy, the skin is so rough..

1875194.jpg
1875195.jpg

storeberry: I like the way u describe those 'drumsticks'! haha

I think it's hard to police where and what your MIL does when u r not at home. She and your nephew are human too and need to get out of the house occasionally, unless u stay in a megahuge compound like Istana where the toddler and your MIL can run about freely. Your nephew needs to see the world and your MIL needs to catch her breather after being cooped up for hours in your house.

I release my maid to buy newspapers (a task as simple as that) when I've nothing for her to do cos I can see from her face, she is bored stiff at home. Unlike me, she cannot surf my net, watch my cable, or read my magazines or newspapers (becos her EN is not very good and she has 'rejected' a few of my EN books). Before she goes crazy and turn the gun at me and my baby, I'd better let her get the hell out of my under-populated abode...

I also think she's right to play with your nephew in another room becos your nephew might whack your Zane, or disturb his sleep unwittingly. Last nite, my fren's 22mos son grabbed my son's teat when my maid was preparing his milk. I had to change to another back-up sterilised teat. He was also curious about another bb (can't blame toddlers for that lah) and kept disturbing Isaac (grabbing his feet, hands, throwing the remote control near Isaac, tossing the football, etc.) as he laid on the sofa trying to catch a wink. No wonder his sleeping pattern is upset.

Bigtoes (limay), that is what I am trying to do now. Focus all my attention on my baby instead. Luckily I still have her to cheer me up.

wingkei (wingkei): I can tell that you're really giving up liao, the fact that you're hardly communicating with him says it all. Yes, focus your attention on your baby and yourself! The reason I say you should focus on yourself too is to remind yourself that you're a unique individual and you should live for yourself and not for others. With this, you'll be more aware of what you want and what is good for you and stand up for it. Your girl will grow up one day and you can't focus on her anymore. So it's imprtant that you make yourself happy. Doll yourself up, go for massages, facial, anything that makes you relaxed and happy.

Flos (flos): my 23 mths old niece is just like your friend's son! She would jab and poke Eamon's hands, face, legs, tummy etc. Even when we tell her, "didi is sleeping, don't disturb him", she would still poke his eye, then say, didi sleeping. Then when's he's on the FP rocker, she was trying to be helpful but she pushed the rocker so hard, my son almost bounced off the rocker (oops, we didn't buckle him up cos he can't move much yet anyway!)*faint* My in laws soon realised that it's not a good idea to have my niece around my son, espcially if we gotta spend time keeping tab on my niece's movement.

shazz
If my 4 year old can't understand "don't jump on the bed/don't yell, the baby is sleeping" how cana 23 month old?

yun (cutieyunyun): allergy to what? did your PD help you to find out? to cow's milk? or your breastmilk? if it's the latter, you have to find out what you ate that is causing the allergy. Most of the time, the culprit is the common allergenic food which some mummies mentioned sometime back. Namely diary products, peanuts, seafood.

hi bigtoes

PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
4) Preggie &amp; HB &amp; Bb - confirmed 2 adults
5). Cloud &amp; BB
13) Jas(mobilesuitegal)+ HB + Rachael
17) Evan_gigi, HB &amp; BB - CONFIRMED
18) Angeline Goh + BB

shazz &amp; flos,
agree with ava. my natalie is like that lor. will go and disturb cadence even though we tell her she's sleeping. then will wanna 'sayang', kiss, carry her even!!! *gulps* jared is more siwen though. will be more gentle but still scary.

ava.
sorry to hear about your predicament...take some time off to recuperate and strike out again...

o yes, thanks..so i know cy wont be able to understand that in the next few years..haiz...

storeberry, qiuling, shazz
no problem..just come by. maybe you wanna fix a day where you can all make it?

bb around 1-2mths still have very primitive vision. can see outlines better. that's why it's better to have cards that show outlines and nothing more. they wont be able to see yet anyway...around three months, you can start the dot cards, and word cards as well as those bits of intelligence cards..

xuanting

i have always wanted to try the shop 'erabelle? those wearing the jap costume...but always b4 i got the chance to go,i had them pluck myself already..

<font color="ff0000">alabone (alabone) - okie, will put in Millie's name unless she can't make it anymore.
Millie?
Btw, my place is really toddler UNFRIENDLY!

Xmas Gathering
PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV
Food: Kriston - http://www.kriston.com/index.htm (Buffet Menu A - $25/head)
Gift exchange: Please bring along a gift per mummy (cap at $15) and we will do a random draw on that day

Attendance:
4) Preggie &amp; HB &amp; Bb - CONFIRMED 2 adults
5). Cloud &amp; BB
11) Millie (millie22) + baby + ??
13) Jas(mobilesuitegal)+ HB + Rachael - CONFIRMED 2 adults
14) lilboymum + CY + CH + HB - CONFIRMED 2 adults
17) Evan_gigi, HB &amp; BB – CONFIRMED (order for 1 adult only)
18) Angeline Goh + BB

Waitlist - alabone (alabone), Jaymickey (jaymickey)</font>

<font color="119911">Ava – yes, perhaps this can be a blessing in disguise. Can look for part time job that allows you the flexibility of working from home and watching the twins grow up….btw, you have only taken 2 months of maternity right, and the company served you the notice. Then what happens to month 3 and 4 that is suppose to be paid for by the govt?

Flos (flos) – I think its too early to buy bumper mats, etc now? I am however, intending to get the Fisher price 3 in 1 rocker swing, only cos it swings on its own (the spider rocker Kieran is using now doesn’t swing, only vibrates), plus it converts into a chair and can take up to 40 pounds, so can be used for some time.
Our store room is bursting its seems – if we get anything else, wont have any place to stuff them.

Meanwhile, we have no changing station – so I also have to stoop to change diapers on the spare bed in Kieran's room. Not the best for the back.

yun (cutieyunyun) – wow your son is 7.2kg+ at 9 weeks!! Champion size!!

shazz (shazzerlyn), Flos (flos): - argh – my sister's son is also like that (3 years in Dec). He would purposely press Kieran very hard when we say "sayang gently"..
the weird thing is, he is nice and well behaved when my sister &amp; BIL are not around, but only rough with Kieran when they are! Just attention seeking I suppose. Think its unique to little boys only – no problems with my niece.
I am wondering how we can handle a 2nd baby if Kieran grows up the same way!</font>

Hi Ava,

what happen actually ? Anyway, take it easy loh... It could be a blessing in disguise..... Take the time to enjoy parenting with the twin girls. Keen to set up play date ?

ava,shazz,
The way you guys describe young toddlers and their behaviours is so funny!

alabone,
$50 is the based price, with taxes and everything its about $227 per pax return trip. Still it is cheaper than some fares i have inquired..usually it cost abt $500 per pax return trip.. The package you booked includes hotel stay? Then it should be worth it.. I usually book my own hotel..me v picky abt hotel's bathroom.

Storeberry,
My hubby says thats the bb's way of saying - dont disturb me when i am sleeping..i had to keep apologizing to my son and rocking him back to sleep after i initiated the midnite feed..*shake head*