(2008/09) Sep 2008

springz - no prob. hope you like the photos.
oh okie..thanks. we thought that that should be the way to bring the stroller down the escalator as well. i guess it takes some getting used to thats all.

Mei,
I am using the Fisher Price Rocker (one Sunrays posted), however I have not try the vibration function cos it is battery operated and i wonder how long can the battery last? Any idea? (if i use it daily)

Piggiebearie,
Welcome! Join us for the Westerner gathering at Lot 1, MOF on 22 Nov (next sat, 2pm)!

Flos,
Am sure those legwarmers will come in handy. I also bought from the Jap LegWoo BP - Amy. She is good with her dealings...v prompt.

Stimulation for BBs,
Wondering besides singing, reading, gym mat, rocker, swing - what other activities can we do?

Jaymickey,
U so fast stock up on books liao?

Springz,
Usually those tingkat deliveryman will ring your doorbell once food is delivered, you could then pick up the food. For me, i told them no ringing of doorbell, just leave it outside. My hubby usually pick it up when he returns from work...which is couple of hours later after delivery...so far, we have no problem.
But think your MIL meant well...

Pumping Milk,
I have changed pumping by machine to hand-pump..ease the hassle of washing, cleaning the pumping equipment. Still wake up at 3-4am to feed..maybe we can form a chat group for those nite shifts mommies..

<font color="0000ff">Rocker
I have the rocker too.. hehe
Agree that it's a worthwhile investment

Oh, I heard the Fisherprice warehouse sale will be here again in December 2008. But dunno about the details wor. Anyone has news on it???

Sighz... Tollyjoy sale so far away in Changi. I will have to give it a miss.

Mandy
So sweet of ur hb to wake up to help u prepare the EBM. Mine juz sleeps thru. Prob will juz wake up, sit at his side of his bed and talk from there to soothe my boy. Den the moment I come back in with the milk, he goes back to sleep. duh!!!

Flashcards
I'm oso keen in getting some. Got cheap ones available??</font>

Hi Aloysius,

Ya..everyone commented on his full of hair and "curry pok" hairstyle. That why i cannot bear to shave it off. Autumn shared with me durig the gathering that in fact babydo not drop hair, is just that their head grow and there are spots where the hair have not grown..so we thought baby drop hair...
I am keeping my finger cross his hair will be okay...

sasa
No lah, cos i "force" him to do the feeding at nite. Day time i'm too busy with Ryan and felt he should do something, haha.
If FP has warehouse, pls update us! I also wanna go...

jo jo - haha..ya its really nice! can put gel and style already. hehe. really? hmm..didn't know that. thanks for the info! im sure his hair will be ok.

<font color="0077aa">I am not spumping now le, just latch on for baby even though he feeds only one breast per time. Think my breasts alr tune to that...

Date: Sat, 13th Dec
Time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Attendance:
1) Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy &amp; Baby Kieran – CONFIRMED 2 adults
2) Bacon&amp;egg, Baby Kaiden &amp; hubby – CONFIRMED 2 adults
3) Ava &amp; Hb &amp; kids - CONFIRMED 2 ADULTS
4) Preggie &amp; HB &amp; Bb
5). Cloud &amp; BB
6) Isa_belle, Hubbs &amp; 2 kids
7) Lanolin &amp; HB &amp; Declan
8)Autum &amp; 2 kids (+ maid or hubby)
9) storeberry, hubby &amp; Zane CONFIRMED 2 adults
10) Flos &amp; BB (maid and/or hubs)
11) Mei, hubby &amp; Devon
12) sunrays,HB &amp; Charlotte - CONFIRMED 2 adults
13) Jas(mobilesuitegal)+ HB + Rachael
14) lilboymum + CY + CH + HB and/or maid
15) Jojobar, Hb &amp; Marcellus
16) KymKym, HB &amp; Scarlett - CONFIRMED 2 ADULTS
17) Evan_gigi, HB/or maid, BB
18) Angeline Goh + BB</font>

lilboymum - LOL!!! Forgot to add my hubby also does that! He'll pat his pillow and mumble 'Shauna, good girl, daddy is here'.. the other time he was patting the mattress!! sighz...

ok la I know my MIL means well.. haha though I def do not have tins of cash stashed away under some mattress! B&amp;E - ya my tingket doesn't ring the bell too. But I collect before I eat...

Yay - i'm not alone pumping? Din log on at the 4am pump was just sleeping over it.. hahaha

Mandy! We gotta talk! I also feel that hb should do something coz I tend to Shuana the whole day already. Yesterday at 9pm she was wailing non stop. I was pumping and hb was happily playing his guitar!! I snapped. I mean I put up with her crying alone the whole day already! But to his credit, he plays with her alot and tells me what to watch out for in her behaviour. Also does the 7am feed. But this morning I started to feel bad coz he kept asking me why I don't latch..
do you feel bad esp coz they have to deal with work in the day and need the rest?

Nov gathering - Mandy sure can add your hb in! I think my place can accommodate more.. (btw starting to regret that we made our rooms smaller for larger living area) Anyways, mummies who are interested invite is still open

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)
Time - 2pm onwards to evening
Venue - Near old airport rd, 3 bus stops from Sun Tec City
Food - Catered High-Tea finger food

<font color="0000ff">Mandy
if onli I can force too... haha. at 1 pt in time, i tried to hint to him that since I'm doing the nite shift, he should at least help mi with the 10pm feed so I can rest early. I oso go to work mah... so felt that we should share the load.

He seemed to have got the hint (at least for a few days), den after that, back to usual. he will juz stare at us or lie down n rest when i'm doing the feed. sighz...

Yea... i wanna cheong the FP warehouse sale too.. hopefully it's on and in Jurong again. If at Changi den sianz already wor</font>

sasa: ya lo. last time when there's sale, i think i'm only few mths preggy so i felt the toys are none of my biz but now i REGRET! haha. shld stock up few toys haha.

sasa &amp; springz: after i go bk to work, which is 24 nov, i'll be latching on for the nite feed le. Cos i wanna bond with ryan and to provide "fresh" milk for ryan haha. but i'm thinking maybe weekends he should resume back to nite feeds lor, if not i'll be very tired.

springz: i know he'll be tired from work but im thinking im not idling at home either. when i go back to work, i'll be more shag than him bah since i'll let ryan latch on at nite. then maybe my hubby need to do the housework already.

<font color="0077aa">piggiebearie: Come join us next sat gathering! Yan, you are at Yew Tee right? I don't think I will drive there cos I still cannot figure out how to fix the car seat! Tried yday but still not stable.. So you want to share a cab there? I am near Yew Tee MRT, st 62...

Sasa: Yah lo, Tollyjoy one is so far away!

Finally settle on the maid, went with MIL's choice cos she feels that the maid is honest looking, it will be with Nation &amp; gotta wait for 4-6weeks.. Wanted another one but MIL say she look too smart, so no choice..</font>

<font color="119911">Pumping and logging on in the wee hours of the morning - hehe...you mommies so "on". I usually pump at 3+ and 6+, just sitting on the floor outside by bedroom...want to get it over and done with ASAP and usually back in bed in 5-10 minutes and back to la-la land! Hubby does the bottle feeding on demand during the nite.

LC (faintz) – sitting upright - Kieran can sit upright from quite a while back (think about 1 month old?), but of cos with cushion support behind. He used to slide down slowly, but can now sit upright for quite long and enjoys it cos he can see alot more things that way! Just try propping up your baby with some cushions? Shouldn’t be a problem!

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) – Kieran's hair is like that cos we don’t comb it! Just wash it and let it be. He has an oily scalp though, and the hair gets oily by the end of the day! Yucks.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Xmas Gathering:

PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV

Tentative date: Sat, 13th Dec
Tentative time: 5-8pm
Venue: Bigtoes &amp; Dracwy's place (Seng Kang, one LRT stop from Seng Kang MRT)
Food: Kriston - http://www.kriston.com/index.htm (Buffet Menu A - $25/head)
Gift exchange: Please bring along a gift per mummy (cap at $15) and we will do a random draw on that day

Attendance:
3) Ava &amp; Hb &amp; kids - CONFIRMED 2 adults
5). Cloud &amp; BB
9) storeberry &amp; Zane &amp; hubby - CONFIRMED 2 adults
15) Jojobar, Hb &amp; Marcellus – TENTATIVE on hubby
16) KymKym, HB &amp; Scarlett - CONFIRMED 2 adults
17) Evan_gigi, HB/or maid, BB
18) Angeline Goh + BB

Waitlisted due to space constrain: alabone (alabone), Millie (millie22), Jaymickey (jaymickey)</font>

storeberry, i'm staying at the end of the main road. also thinkin of taking a cab or bus there but dun think i can bring along the stroller unless my hubby can send me over! lol!

breadmum: lilboymom has explained what leg warmers are for. I didn't know initially either, but I tried googling for some pics and hv ordered some for my boy!! The reason being, my DH bought far too much rompers from H&amp;M! I am at a loss as to how to cover those legs of Isaac! I can't possibly be tucking the rompers into some pants like how a gymnast's attire would look, or make him wear under his shorts like Sir Stamford Raffles?! LOL

1870914.jpg

1870915.jpg

jaymickey:
http://itsybitsyme.biz (buy 3, free regitered mail)
www.babybeans.com.sg (2nd-5th pair, 11% discount).
u can get from Supreme Care at Suntec level 3 (near Toy R Us) or order direct from www.supremecare.com.sg

Bacon&amp;eggs: I also like Leg W 'kawaii' designs, but found the 'angmoh' boy designs @ BabyLegs will look nice on Isaac :) The close-up shots of Babylegs' warmers seem to suggest to the virtual shopper that they are of pretty good quality. What's more, they hv the Organic Cotton series which is supposedly good if your bb's legs are allergic to polyester (?!).

Anyway, there are about 3 gorgeous pairs by Leg W that I'm still deliberating whether I want to order from Amy...That will make it to one dozen pairs of warmers in hot hot Singapore!

qiuling: dun hesitate anymore. just go go go! u wont regret, trust me! U can always help your dad in his biz there right? Besides, your kids will become more streetsmart and cosmo than most of his peers in sheltered SG

Dunno or dun like to cook?! Hire an ayi who can cook for RMB400-600 per mth for u...I ordered from takeaways almost all the time when my DH was out of town.

PRECIOUS ONES: I also just heard some bad news about my colleague who aborted her bb 2 weeks ago! I'm still trying to find out what happened cos she text me when I gave birth in mid-Sept that she was 11 weeks then. That means, she aborted the bb sometime in the middle of her 4th mth? So sorry to hear abt that...

aloysius: u r really good in photography. R u running a biz? What camera r u using?

piggybearie: yeah, the babylegs are only selling at 6-10RMB (meaning SGD1-2 only!). U need a proxy in China who has a bank a/c to do the transaction. They also ship domestically only, meaning u need this proxy to provide his address. Then get this fren of yours to bring it back to SG for u when he is home for Christmas, for instance...

I also almost bought the FP Rocker at Kiddy Palace ($99). I'll see if anyone could buy that for Isaac for Christmas!!! hiak hiak!

BABY BJORN AIR: I used that for the first time ytd when I took him out for shopping with maid in the day. Wah piang! My back now aches! I must be: (A) wearing it the wrong way;(B) carrying a really heavy baby; (C) hv walked too much. There are these two front buttons for u to loop but becos Isaac is kinda plump, my maid couldn't loop them at all! I've also fastened the straps to ensure his neck rests securely on the supposedly 'hard' neck-support piece but somehow, isaac's head keeps nodding forward towards my chest! I was really worried my boobs (not that they are that huge!) will suffocate him!

Angeline - I bought flash cards from popular (at auntie's request!!!) and they have this set with both english and chinese words so she can do the chinese ones and I'll do the english ones. I am not a huge proponent of flash cards but actually it is quite difficult to think of thing to entertain a baby who only sleeps like 4 hours in the day! So this is a good alternative.

Smelly pillow / blankie etc - I've got one too!!! She's a red-headed rag doll and I love her to death. hahaha..she was in the delivery suite with me too. HAHAHAHA

Goldfish - pray hard and trust in the Lord. All the best for the tests in Dec. They are in Dec because you have to take a queue?

Springz - I latch him on at the 11pm feed and then wake up once in the night to pump. I used to wake up twice but cannot tahan. Too tired esp when Declan wakes up at about 7+am every morning pretty regularly.

Sunrays - I read in the book "What to Expect in the First Year" that btw 1 - 3 months, babies bowel movements do get less frequent and it is actually a good sign because she is digesting more of what she is taking in and therefore less output! But I think if she doesn't poo for more than 5 days, should see a PD. Declan poos less now too...he went though a 4-day poo strike!

I am transfering my maid out.. anyone interested? Reason because currently MIL handles all communication with her, and i can't speak much malay (although she can speak some english) so i feel i need to be more in control of how i want things to be done especially when we are going to move house soon.. thus opting for a fillipno, my current maid is quite timid.. has pretty good cooking skills, has common sense when packing my baby bags and when i am bathing baby, although do not yet handle baby hands on, housework wise not super good but can train, does not pick what food she wants.. just eats as we tell her.. anyone interested, can pm me..

Spring and storeberry,

Did you girls get an indonesian or fillipino? I find that there are very few indonesians who can speak english..

Jojo,
Found a pic of my FB when he was 4months old which showed a "bald" space (on the top left portion of his head) which I told u is due to the scalp growing faster than the hair.. and NOT due to hair-loss.

1871082.jpg

Flos,
Since you already have 9 pairs, what is another 3 pairs?? hee...just buy them in case u regret later when the design OOS..

Mandy,
I have bought the bumper mat ages ago! One of the BP thread - mat from Korea...good quality..transaction was a breeze

Pumping at night
me!! around 2-3am or whenever one of them wakes up.

breadmum
we bought a single (adult) bed from Ikea for my son around 2.5 yrs old and put the side barriers so he wont fall off.

Quiling - remember the chinese sayin "sai weng shi ma, yen zhi fei fu" ... you lose soemthing maybe because something better is coming your way! (sorry, don't know how to type in chinese on the forum!)

breadmum

height for single bed should be more or less the same ba...i prefer to train her in her 'final' bed though...tink by the time they r 2yrs+, their climbing skills would be very good liao..haha..i am more concern with them jumping off the bed etc...tts y i choose my bed with those 'headboard' leather type...so tt if they knock into the bed.wun feel pain..i try upload a pic for u to see...

aloysius

for going down,i just do it as normal..but i seen some will turn the opp way,which means the pusher will stand in front of the stroller..not sure how they did it though...my hubby hold it at horizontal level like wat springz has mention..sort of like preventing the bb from sliding down..

bigtoes

saw your blog video..Kieran can lift his head so high..wow..carine still brushing her face against the bed when turning her head...

lanolin

tts good..at least declan gets to 'learn' something n the auntie wun feel bored doing nothing...sleep only 4hrs in day? tts ok..mine went back to her opp body clock again..arrghh..its so hard to wake her up during the day now...

Bacon&amp;eggs, i wanted this set of flash cards cos i have been using my niece's and she needs to use it as well so better get another set. Plus Janelle response to it.. is BIG and colorful..

Sasa, this set was going for S$14.90. As i can't find it, i found it in the US website for US$14.99

hi kymkym,

i face the same situation as you..also thinking what to do with the maid although we are quite pleased with her attitude except can't communicate except mil. Also we may be getting someone else to look after bb instead of mil and maid.
I am also quite into leg warmers, look nice and have joined the BP.

Is there a BP for baby bjorn?

mandy

i oso got the bumper mat during my FB...use it to let her learn to crawl etc..coz the floor hard..at least the mat will be softer..its easy to clean oso..just wipe can liao..its portable..so can bring it anywhere u want..

Mummies who had c-sec

Have you all started doing exercise? Can start doing tummy exercise ma? My tummy is flat but is flabby, i wanna start doing exercise.

Any babies doesn't have tummy time? I don't put my baby on her tummy.

Jaymickey
Where you purchase the headbands? I'm looking for it for my princess. Heard that kiddy palace ones are not good.

Hi Bacon &amp; Egg, Yun and Ange:
Did you all get the bumper mat from the smallsmallworld? They have the BP now...
Can you all comment on the quality or ease of cleaning? Is it worth the price cos its like hundred plus...

Bigtoes
Hi, I will be coming for the gathering with HB but wouldnt be having the buffet coz we have a chinese dinner after that.

Xmas Gathering:

PLS CONFIRM BY 15TH NOV
Tentative date: Sat, 13th Dec
Tentative time: 5-8pm
Food: Kriston - http://www.kriston.com/index.htm (Buffet Menu A - $25/head)
Gift exchange: Please bring along a gift per mummy (cap at $15) and we will do a random draw on that day

Attendance:
3) Ava &amp; Hb &amp; kids - CONFIRMED 2 adults
5). Cloud &amp; BB
9) storeberry &amp; Zane &amp; hubby - CONFIRMED 2 adults
15) Jojobar, Hb &amp; Marcellus – TENTATIVE on hubby
16) KymKym, HB &amp; Scarlett - CONFIRMED 2 adults
17) Evan_gigi, HB/or maid, BB CONFIRMED
18) Angeline Goh + BB

sunrays,
It would be great if u can bring the Bjorn Synergy manual. TIA!

Wow, u mummies so on with your bbs! Jonas still spends most of his day sleeping and is most awake between 7-9pm but that's the golden hours for Joshua's bonding. So in the end, we haven't been doing much with Jonas.

Jonas went for his 6-in-1 jab today. Now weighs 5.3kg and measures 57cm at 2 mth.

mei and sunrays - where did you get the FP aquarium swing from? if it can put my baby to nap during day time, i dun mind getting it! she has been quite cranky since ytd.. hard to put her to sleep no matter wat position i carry her.. haha

bumper mat - i bought 1 ... really quite good quality and worth the price, also easy to clean.. jus that when first time open got strong plastic smell.. after a few times then ok liao....

Lok: Dun they hv the virtual instructions on the BabyBjorn website? I learnt mine (AIR) via their website.
http://www.babybjorn.com/en-gb/Eng/products/Mobility/BABYBJORN-Baby-Carrier-Air/Instructions-for-use/

Bacon&amp;eggs: hhaha! OKok, I'll see how the 9 pairs look like when I receive them these few days. If I dun like some of them, I'll give them to my fren's sons this Christmas

Sleepy bb: Isaac has been sleeping 4-5hrs continuously after each feed of 120ml. After his 8.30pm feed, he woke up at 1.30pm for his 120ml. Then he woke up at 6.30am for his morning feed and went back to bed again. It was only at 9.30am that I forced myself to wake him up to clean him...otherwise he'd be snoozing till late morning I reckon.

Been MIA from the forum cos was so busy over weekend and I kena a bad sore throat!

Mummies from Drugstore spree: received PMs from some mummies, have PM u my address. Will mail the rest tomorrow when I go to office.

My boy is officially sleeping thru the night on his own!
He still cries before sleeping, think he just need to release the extra stimulation which he dunno how to filter out yet.

Was out with baby over the weekend and something embarrassing happened to me! I was carrying baby with his face leaning on my left arm, when we were in a crowded lift, he suddenly "latch" himself on my arm and started sucking furiously! He was sucking with so much gusto that everyone in the lift heard him cos he was making so much noise! When I pulled him away, I saw that he had left a big "love bite" on my arm! I thought he was hungry, so when we got into the car, I gave him milk but he pushed the teat out cos it was not his feeding time yet.

Mandy, yup..agree with nelc.. good quality and worth the price.
I bought from smallsmallworld..they will deliver the mat within few days
see the mat surface
1871750.jpg

Dear rabbit,

you planning to send ur baby to a nanny? i am also thinking of the same solution... don't really want to leave baby with mil and maid..

shazz,
Congrats! U mean sleeping through without any milk feed? Jonas gave me a love bite on my arm 2 weeks ago as well.

flos,
The mummy whom I bought the carrier from told me that the person carrying should be able to kiss the baby's head. Same comment from sunrays. So I figured this should be in the manual.. Synergy doesn't have an equivalent of your instructions on the website. Active has but there is nothing mentioned abt this..

Swings
Is it too late to get the FP swing now? Considering our babies r like 2mth+ now.

Flos, the bbjorn shdnt give u backaches. HB n I love bbjorn n Reyes is abt 6kg+ now. Prob u can check if u've been using it correctly.

Sunrays, when u mean can kiss baby's head, do u mean bb's head n our lips are parallel? or do u mean when we lean towards baby's head?

Bumpermat is good. Hee I was kiasu n bot it even b4 Reyes was born. He slps on it in the day. Sometimes he n hb will nap on it tog in the afternoon. Cleaning is also a breeze, Just use damp cloth n a bit of dettol.

1871849.jpg
1871850.jpg

Qiuling, ur sch actually gave u a D grading? I PRAY mine wont! My RO hasnt even called me up to do yr end review.

why dont u heed the others' suggestion n head to SH? Since ur hb is there.

Shazz, luckily my boy only gave me a tiny love bite at home n not in public. haha.. n I m so envious of ur Eamon slping thru the night n on his own somemore!! wonders when will be my turn.. hahaha