(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0000ff">poppy tay
i did b4 i went back to work. but i pump at every 4 hrs interval coz i take 45min-1hr to finish pumping.. so effectively my interval was like (1, 5, 9 am &amp; pm)

I muz admit and agree with u tat it's really tiring. every time i wake up for the 1am and 5am pump.. i feel like shit. den while pumping n staring at the wall.. i will think of giving up already. but come nxt day, i forget abt it n the cycle continues...

Now coz i'm back to work, i pump at 6 hrs interval. still wake up to pump lor.. coz i slp early at 11+ so wake up at 1230 to pump. nxt pump at 7am.. den can prepare to go to work le</font>

<font color="0000ff">l'lCY
wow.. good tat u finally have some private time for urself.

No point telling them tat coz they have been telling mi, "Kids MUST (I dun see y it's a must lor) sleep in Yao Lan de. Last time all of them slept in YLs... bleh!!!"</font>

poppy: sorry actually, I'm not TBF! I'm only pumping 3-4X daily

800+ml was about my boy's intake at 4 weeks too. But mine is now 6 weeks old.

Jaymickey: Rabbit girl? That's soooo scary! I picked mine based on her "cosmic compatibility" with my family members. She is the only child and her mom cooks for her in the Philippines, and is single. So she appears at this point to be a goody-two-shoes kind who is very diff from those streetwise filipinos who left their homes at an early age to work in big cities like Manila. u can tell from her wardrobe and fashion sense she is a conservative gal. Her English is also half-past-6, unlike other urban dwellers from Manila.

Though she is never a mom, she used to work as an aupair in her hometown. She likes to tease todds. Based on my observation of her personality and attitude towards babies, she will make a good nurse if she studies nursing.

Ava: Did u go buy Toto or 4D after your consultation with TKY? My DH struck lottery (3rd prize) ytd after his session

Hi Hi...

re-posting--- is this better?

Added mummies into my facebook acct... Flos can add me pl? [email protected] :)

Shared with some of you that baby has been rejecting EBM at nights.. most of the time drinking only 40-50 ml of the 100ml I give her! So much wasted!! So last night decided to let her latch.. super frustrating man!! She can cry cry cry but will not take in nipple or gag on nipple.. and I get irritated coz I'm pressing the nipple to resemble a narrow teat and it starts leaking.. argh.. sticky hands and sticky baby's face! Dunno how you mums seem to have such an easy time yesterday!!!!!

Quick question.. when latching, are the feeding times regular and predictable? Do your babies feed at regular intervals as with EBM? Also when do you switch sides? Is it 15 min on each side? Btw, do u all use shells to collect milk on the other side while breastfeeding? I find it very lei chey...

Sunnysunny - i'm trying to piece together a collage/ storyboard of the romance hee hee.. showcase of raph's prowess in getting a gal!!!

East gathering - I'm on! Actually I live abt 5 min drive from Parkway.. can come over my place after that if mummies want.. just that no helper now so house quite messy... :-(

Hi Lok,

I have transferred $12.50 to your POSBank a/c (transaction ref 1940039818) this morning. Pls confirm. Once again, thanks for having me at your place..

<font color="119911">Lok – thanks again for opening up your place for our gathering!
I have transferred the food $ to your account - Transaction Reference 1940059940

FUTURE GATHERINGS
Meanwhile, for future gatherings, if mommies don’t mind coming to Seng Kang, my place is also open anytime. Our apartment has a pool, so when the babies are bigger (think 3-4 months onwards), can also come by for swims during the afternoon cos its usually quite empty. Weekends would be preferred, cos i am sure some hubbies would like to join in the gatherings as well (I know mine (dracwy) would!)

Have also added some mommies to my FB, pls accept my invite!

Springz (springz) – on your question, I latch during the day and feeding times are very regular at about 2.5 hours intervals. Kieran is like an alarm clock, will definitely wake up for feeds when the time is up, unless he is ultra tired. Feed on the 1st side for about 15-20 minutes, then switch to the other for 15 minutes. You need about 15-25 minutes on the 1st side to make sure that the baby gets to the hind milk (which is higher in fats and more filling).
Am not using shells to collect the leakage from the other side – usually just stuff tissues to soak up the mess.

For EBM, hubby does the night duty between 10pm-7am, and this is usually at 10+pm, 4+am, and 7+am.

poppy tay (popcorn_tay) – your boy has an excellent appetite for a 4 week old baby! I think Kieran's total intake for 24 hours is about 1 liter (7 weeks old), and that is considered quite abit already.

On waking up to express, I am expressing about 3X as well (11+pm, 3+am, 6+am), usually get about 120-180ml per session. Thank goodness the flow is fast, so I am usually done in 5 minutes, washed up and back in bed within 10 minutes.</font>

NEL gathering
Let's organise this for two weekends from now. Say 2 Nov, Sunday afternoon (3-5pm)?

1. Ava + 3 kids

HI Springz, I latch, and I dont really express, cos I find it too troublesome, as I'll be feeding my baby myself, even if I express. So it's double work for me. My baby is a small eater.. so I only latch on 1 side, and when I offer the other side after 15mins, he refused to take it already. I latch on demand, so, sometimes it's a bit difficult to predict the time.

<font color="0077aa">Rabbit: My boy when I put him on his back in the morning or afternoon to sleep, he always wakes up like 15-30mins, but on his tummy, he can sleep for about 2-3hours.

Shazz: I missed my boy terribly when I went out for an appt near my house for 2-3hours! I am like thinking whether he will be well taken care of &amp; whether he is taking his milk well... Can totally understand how you feel!

Seems like a enjoyable outing!! Would want to join when bb is older, I don't think I can handle him now! Especially he don't like to be in a sling &amp; stroller not here yet.. My hands are aching from carrying him!

Sasa: Yah, sometimes really have to give &amp; take with Il's issues.. Maybe you can give in to the pacifier but not yaolan? At least there is something you agree with them liao. Sometimes I talked to hubby on this, he also not very responsive &amp; like I am kicking a big fuss over something small! Haiz! Like the pacifier issue, my MIL insisted &amp; b was crying alot so no choice gotta get one but glad that Zane is not very dependent on it. Hugz!</font>

Hi Bigtoes and Rach.. tks for replying! Whoa Bigtoes good for you so regular! My fear is the unpredictability of latching.. and Rach you confirmed it!!! haha.. actually I'm alone too in feeding.. dun want to disturb hubby at nights.. and helper not in yet.. so I express and feed and wash by myself.. tiring..

sasa - are you using manual pump or electric? for me I bring the pump everywhere.. to comp, to tv etc.. esp night pumps.. at least got those super old tcs shows or comedy to occupy me.. how I wish can be like Bigtoes.. so much in such a short time! But whoa was super happy today.. after 1 nt of latching, the morning pump was a record 250!!!! Never before!

Btw.. any mummies got menses already? My lochia was still abit daily but two days ago it was like full on period type.. and I suspect it is period.. but not even 2 months!! normal?

Springz,

My lochia was also tapering off but today there's fresh blood again and feeling a bit crampy. I'm also suspecting my menses could be back. At least easier to prevent accidents once the cycle is back and stable!

GATHERING PAYMENT:
Confirm receipt from:
1. Jaymickey
2. sunnysunny
3. Sri_leo
4. Bacon&amp;egg
5. Rachel
6. bigtoes

By the way, just to clarify, I only did simple calculation and it's $12.50 per family. So even if more than 1 adult came for the gathering, just TT same amt...

Flos,

Thks for sending the pics. Your funds not in yet (maybe due to different bank).

l'l CY^^l'l CH / Flos, that maid was weird cos she walks up and down the house like model.. don't know what to do.. and everytime u ask her to do something, she goes "yes, yes mum" then never do. Sometimes, she walks up and down, and then talk to herself and laugh out loudly.. SIL and i looked at each other.. "is this woman crazy or something" then after we know she was an "entertainer" we know why she behaves like that.. she wanted very much to work for us because there are lots of food whereas her previous owner didn't really give her food (she claims)

Springz, me.. i think i got my menses 1 mth after i have gave birth. I am waiting for the next one to come to confirm..

Good afternooon mummies!

Anyone like to bring baby swimming today? I am planning to bring my little girl to harbourfront/ plaza ~

flos,

Hope your helper stays guai all the way. My helper was also very guai and automatic when she first came. Now that she's more familiar and longer in the job, more pattern will be out..

<font color="119911">Jaymickey (jaymickey)- am bringing Kieran to Punggol Plaza for his swim on Sat. Went by to check it out that day - just a simple shop with about 3-4 deep bath tubs. Wonder what happens if baby poops/pees in the tub??

NEL gathering @Ava's: 2 Nov, Sunday afternoon (3-5pm)
1. Ava + 3 kids
2. Bigtoes(limay) + Dracwy + Kieran</font>

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
haha.. i dun see y i should give him the pacifier coz he hasn't been screaming his lungs out.. juz some usual eh-eh-ehs... does this warrant a pacifier?? dun think so bah.. :p

Springz
Am using an electric pump lor.. but takes so long to squeeze tat few drops out wor. I oso wish i can be like Bigtoes. Express wash n be back in bed in 10min.

I think i'm starting my menses wor. Have been clear all these while. Suddenly today started spotting. Just went to the loo to check, like got more le. think this should be it. Sianz.. kinda miss the days when NO PERIOD!!!!

Jaymickey
I brot Max to the Punggol Plaza branch

Bigtoes,
That question came to my mind too when Kaiden had his 1st swim last weekend..n the staff was doing dangerous stunts when the bbs were swimming in their tubs (they were pouring and taking out, transferring water with their pails from tub to tub)..i was thinking what if they drop the pail onto the bb in the tub??!!

Lok: Yes, cos I transferred from OCBC to POSB. Need 3 working days for new beneficiary to be approved.

MAID: Yep, like all newbies at the workplace, they will be very hardwoking at the beginning. The horns will show up after a few months, let alone someone who is locked under the same roof w/ u and enjoys no day-off 365 days/yr. They will get 1) cranky, 2) horny, 3) homesick, 4) bored.

If she is eventually bored with my family/repetitive tasks and deliberately acts cranky to make us post her back to the agent, it's fine with us. No maid is indispensable. I can always make do w/ a less elaborate meal and a dirtier house...after all, I can cook/cut faster/better than her...Ytd, I cooked dinner in less than 15min. Kekeke! Today, I'll teach her how to cook sweetNsour pork &amp; teriyaki chix.

Jmickey: u got your menses one mth after u gave birth? Was that lochia? Mine lasted for 4+ weeks.

Baconegg, Bigtoes
I brought Rachael to the outlet @ Harbourfront. The staff there is really nice and professional. They were v. gentle in putting on the float for her b4 bringing her slowly into the waters. Rachael totally enjoyed the swim, and had a great massage session after that!

Flos, my lochia was almost cleared in the 3rd week.. then suddenly in the 5th week, it was flowing heavily and it went off it a week's time. so i pretty much guess it was my menses. I will have to wait till the beginning of Nov to confirm it..

1. Ava + 3 kids
2. Bigtoes(limay) + Dracwy + Kieran
3. Mei + hubby + Devon

Hi Storeberry/Rachel,
How much are your nursing shawls ?

Bigtoes,
Wow 200ml at one shot is a lot ya . You have a lot of milk ya, so envy wor...

Wow u all hv a great time yest. A pity i cannot join u gals yest.

Jaymickey, I'm also planning to bring Kydric to swim + massage on Sunday @ Punggol Plaza! I called them, and they said that weekends are usually quite crowded, and it's best to arrange for an appointment.

Millie, I bought from someone from Motherhood forum and paid $30.

Jaymickey:

I brought Scarlett to the punggol branch too, the ladies there are nice people, will sing songs to my little girl and encourage her to kick around, and the place is actually quite big, very nice =) I was actually thinking of bringing her down today, but its raining cats and dogs now! so i might postpone it till tomorrow.. maybe you'd like to try bringing your girl down on a weekday if it is her first time, at least you could have more peace and quiet to train janelle, since weekends tend to have more parents who'll bring their kids there

Swaddling and sleeping on tummies:

Any mummies let their infants sleep on tummies even at night? My little girl, in fact because she refuses to sleep in any way except on her tummy, sleep on her tummy in the day and in the night..she manage to sleep quite well, and will turn her head left and right on her own so i am not worried, but with so many advocating sleeping on backs, I would hope to train my girl to go back to sleeping on her back.. but with her reflux, its even more difficult for her to go to sleep on her back .. now i find it so hard to make her lie down, even for 1 min!

How about swaddling? any babies here like to be swaddled? Since Scarlett started sleeping on her tummy, i have done away with swaddling.. I think i am going to restart her with the swaddle and encourage her to go to sleep on her back from tonight..

Going back to work:

I am contemplating if I should go back to work or if i should stay home to look after my girl.. don't know if i'll miss her too if i should start work again. My own mother did not take care of me when i was young since she had to work, so i was mostly taken care of by my grandmother.. and now i find that I am not as close to my mother as I would hope

sasa- I know what you mean by pump long long only few dops..

Mummies! I'm getting really frustrated at this latching biz!!!
so unpredictable and tiring! no peace! cry feed cry feed.. how do you cope? sigh.. at a loss on whether should revert to EBM..

Bigtoes-- you mentioned that Keiran feeds every 2 hours... isn't that tiring? practically cannot do anything else! I was recording feeds Shauna seems to be 1-2 hrly feed intervals since noon.. thank God I mentioned to do some laundry, wash up kitchen bit in morning.. but floor and all so messy... so not used to being housewifey.. hee..

whoa from all the posts on menses seems less then 2 months quite normal.. I also want back the no menses days (minus preggers side effects! heaven!)

lok,
hv transferred $12.50 to u

From Account POSB Savings
053-10096-1
To Account POSB Savings
194-25767-8 lok
Amount S$12.50
Transaction Reference 1940334876

Hi Kym... actually Shauna gets cranky in the morning and looks super uncomfortable.. coz lazy mummy wants to sleep so I just swaddle her.. never tried carry or putting on tummy.. she keeps quiet immediately!

aargh can hear the little one crying again.. gtg...

Dear spring.. you're a superwomen la.. can do housework, latch her every 1-2 hrs.. I got a maid to do the work and i feed my girl from the bottle and i still feel fustrated!!

bacon&amp;egg,bigtoes,isabelle,kymkym,momoko,qiuling,rachel,sasa de mouse, springz, sunnysunny:

I've added you into my new Facebook account tt I just registered today! Seeing so many of u in Facebook tempted me to join in too!

Dear all mummies, please add me to FB too!

Bad news.
I brought my bb to PD last evening for the 'red spots' and was told to go KK hospital immediately to go for a blood test. PD suspect something amiss for my bb blood.

And true enuff, his placenta is very very low. His reading is 14, as compared to normal reading level at 100!!!

Haiz.. they are running a few blood tests to gauage whether issit a viral infection or not. And mite even nid to draw samples from BONE MARROW!!

I am so devastated! He nid to be hospitalized for the next few days and i cannot bring myself to see him kena prick for daily blood testing...

So mamas... treasure ur little ones...

gotto rush back to kk now... and kip bb ethan in ur prayers...

kym.. noooooo... shauna was on ebm and drank 3-4 hrly. only tis aft try latching.. seems 1-2 hr. thats y sos oredi!!!! aniway i'm letting her cry now make her super hungry so she can finish her 100ml ebm.. if not have to try your method of 10 ml each time to reduce wastage...

counting down to hekper comin in nov.. she's emigrating relative's transfer over...

Goldfish
Don't worry about Ethan, he's as strong as Mummy! And he's defintely in our prayers..At least you are alert, that makes you a great mummy!
I'm sure baby Ethan will be so proud of Mummy too..

1. Ava + 3 kids
3. Mei + hubby + Devon
4. Isa_belle + Gabbie

sasa,
im foreseeing myself in your shoes soon... sigh

cos my ryan will be taken care by mil till jan 09 then my mom tk over. she already suggest to my HB to use yao lan. even my HB's aunt who is staying with my mil also say why we nvr use yao lan. and also ask why we nvr feed water after i bf ryan. ARGH!

i told my HB no yao lan. then he ask me back, "if no yao lan, how my mom mk ryan sleep" Aiyoo, i faint liao. i told him, she can hold ryan n pat his back till he sleep mah, it's not really considered rocking but yet when my mom tk over, my mom's job wun be too hard mah. my mom's place dun hv yao lan one lor. and i got tell my mum i dun use yao lan one.
sigh, if mil really insist to use yao lan or even pacifier, then i think i might as well ask for unpaid leave n take care of ryan until my mom tk over.
*keeping finger cross*

1. Ava + 3 kids
3. Mei + hubby + Devon
4. Isa_belle + Gabbie
5. Angeline + Carine

kymkym

u kow how much is it for 1 session of the swimming + massage? is it a must to get 1 package from them? my hubby oso dun really but tink i will still bring carine down to try during the weekdays...maybe can arrange a meetup at there...

Angeline
The trial session is $28. For the massage, I'm not sure, cos I signed up a package with them. Add $50 for 5 massage sessions (with package of $112 for 5 swimming sessions).

isabelle,
my admin person was so lazy. didn't explain to me thoroughly about the ML but gave me number and told me to call HQ and ask!!! so irritated. anyway, i'm really not prepared to go back and my mum also scared. so i'll just take NPL for the next two days first. if i wanna take extended ML until nov 14, can or not??

dracwy,
aiyooo, the picture there so tiny and only showed my face, how did you know i slimmed down a lot?? anyway, for this pregnancy, i only put on 7kg and if you have to look after 3 kids, you'll lose weight very soon too!!! i've flabby tummy and arms so not exactly happy with myself yet.

i do think of his merits. else will drive myself crazy being angry. and yes, he is a loving person. just that being a man, he has his insensitive side as well.

flos,
glad that your helper is such a great help!! so sorry i blurted out so loudly abt your maid. didn't think for a sec that she was there. pai seh!!!

l'lcy^^l'lch,
glad to know that you can get some respite from your chaos. is helper really... sooooo cmi. i hope (for your sake) that she gets better soon.

goldfish,
oh dear!!! i hope everything turns out alright for ethan. you must stay strong for him. will keep ethan in prayers. *hugz*

sasa de mouse,
totally understand your frustration. you are working in your mil's home biz right? then quit and take care of bb yourself lor. i don't understand why they must be so insistent. rather inconsiderate.

Facebook...

haha..wanted to see all the pics...so finally went in to the facebook acct that i created sooo long ago..i never went into the acct b4..:p..

abit blur about the facebook usage..haha...
Please add me in...

Jas

thanks!..tink will go alone 1st to try..if carine like it then bring hb go book the package...btw,do they provided anything like towel etc? tt means we need to bring everything tts needed after a bath session?like ru yi oil,etc..?

Mummies...

Just finished adding all those on this page thread...phew..hehe...

flos

u were telling stef abt the linking part...how to link har?

hi KymKym T and storeberry,

my little girl sleeps for less than 5 min on her back during day...then cry and this gets onto my nerves. in the night, we give her formula so that she is full, wrap her up and she is willing to sleep on her back. hope she continues this way.
i do not dare to let her sleep on her tummy at night though she can turn right and left (but occassionally struck in the middle).

hi goldfish,
hope ethan will be alright.

hi sasa,
can understand your frustration cos i also don't want to give. MIL was also telling me to get the yaolan, rocker etc. My friends/sister told me that it is sometimes inevitable to give yaoloan or pacifier to bb but the habits will go off when they are older.

<font color="0000ff">Mandy / alabone / rabbit
yah manz.. i'm actually contemplating of not working so i can look after my boy full time.. sighz.. den at least I can be sure I wont rock him n no pacifier. I'v been training him to sleep with me juz patting him

Goldfish
dun worry.. bb ethan will be fine
hugz..</font>