(2008/09) Sep 2008

storeberry: yes! bf-ing still.... you're right, when bb slept thru the night at 6wks, i woke up very engorged!!! but sleeping thru the night was such a luxury for me, i didn't want to wake up to pump! what i did instead was that i decided to tandem pump in the morning to make up for the lost feed. While bb latch onto one side, i pump the other side. It's like 2 feeds at one time! Bb gets his feed, and on the other side i still get 170ml.

<font color="119911">Immunisation schedule:

Mommies, want to check with you all - have u brought ur babies for their 2nd dose of Hep B jab? Just realised that there is suppose to be one at 1 month. The PD clinic gave a date but didn't arrange a time and i think we missed it. Can the 6-in-1 be done at the same time as the Hep B jab?</font>

Flos,
i was told that many Myanmar maids are degree-holders and stated that their English is very good.. BUT the good English is on paper only. ie, they can read n write, but they can't speak at all and it's very tough to communicate with them. i have heard that some are, to the extent that every instruction, u must write down in English words.. then they can read and understand what you are trying to tell them. Not sure how true..

re: Daddies in the thread
So nice to have some daddies join the thread! Good to hear from the daddy-perspective.

storeberry (storeberry) – u delivered on Friday 29th Aug right? Then its 6 weeks and 4 days. And yes, I think it’s a growth spurt. I am BFing Kieran every 2 hours or so now during the day, but for shorter periods of about 20 minutes each (rather than his usual 30-35 minutes)

Mommies - how many hours of sleep does your baby get during the day (i.e. between 7am-11pm)? I know they need on average 16 hours per 24 hour block, but i think Kieran sleeps at most 12 hours.

l'l cy: yeah, i mean longer paternity leave in addition to the childcare leave. bigtoes is my wife.

ava: yeah, having a daddy support group will help the weary dads know there're more diligent dads out there doing more and make themselves feel better. also, those bummer dads can buck up and learn that being a mum/housewife is actually not easy at all, especially when the baby is cranky too. your hubby seems like a really great dad, i gotta thank him for guiding me on where to go and what to do outside the operation theatre.

i must admit that it's very tough pulling myself outta bed in the middle of the night, especially when i think about having to go to work without any rest the next day. but actually if i think about it, my wife also doesn't rest at all the whole day. at night, she wakes up sometimes to help me warm the milk so that i can do the feed, and she does frequent expressing of milk. in the day, she has to breastfeed, singlehandedly pacify the crying baby (which in my opinion is the toughest!), do some housework and occasional office work. further, i become cranky sometimes in the middle of the night and she has to tolerate my crap. she's a really strong girl, although i didn't think she would be before the baby came. i totally take my hat off her! again, this confirms that mums are always the strongest when it comes to their child's well-being.

agapebaby: you're on TBF, so how do u tell if the 11pm last feed is one good full feed vs the rest of the feeds?

My previous feed before the 3am is around 12mn. Currently, it's 130ml, but this morning, the intervals are getting shorter 2hours, and I need to carry him 3-4 times to soothe him. So just 10min ago, we tested with 150ml and lo &amp; behold! he gulped down the whole bottle within a few minutes! My CL wanted to try 160ml but I stopped her cos 130-160ml is too drastic.

I'm monitoring his sleeping internal now. PD advised me to stick to 3hr, so based on 3 hr interval, I'll adjust the milk amount. My BF ss cannot catch up liao!!!

bigtoes: when was the 1st Hep B jab given? at birth?

Isaac din take any jab last Sat. My PD said he'll take it all (6-in-1) at his 2nd mth visit in Nov.

Oh dear! I just strained my abdominal muscles by lifting up two heavy boxes to look for my handbags! I'd better go and wear my binder now...

P3,
I think Kyrie &amp; I share the same model (2008). Sunray's model could be the pram type hence the cover is able to clip both ends. The cover that comes with my model is rather short..it doesnt cover all the way to the front handle hence sometimes it is too bright in the mall or under the sun for Newborn. Kyrie, since they dont have the extension we are looking for, I am using a cloth to cover or buy other brands of cover (i tried those in mothercare but they look ugly!)

Travel Cot,
I bought mine at Mothercare - they only carry Graco or Mothercare in house brand. I got the Graco Deluxe Contra - $359. It is quite useful for me and good for those who need to place bb at in-laws, mom's etc..Graco is able to take up to 14 kgs of bb's weight. Flo, the travel cot is definitely smaller than my cot bed (which i cant even move out of the room's door unless i dissemantle the bed)

Robinson sale
Shazz is rite, need the letter and has to be platinum cardholder to enjoy 25% disc. Not sure if it extends to brands like pigeon but still gg down to look see..i enjoy shopping for Kaiden's stuff more than my own these days

Agapebaby ,
I also slept throughout the night and only pump early in the morning ..but mt supply max can only hit 150 ml .. keke ... and bb doent drink yet ... low ss ...

Flos ,
every bb is individual .. My first born wakes up 4 times at night till 1 year old for feed .. no matter what i do .. keke .. tucking him in bed , giving him a warm bath before bed , or even feeding FM ( not BM ) , he will still wake up to check on me ... my little zenneth is better .. till nw , wake up only twice at night for feeds ... MY last CL for zac was grumbling about my bb for one whole month saying how bad my little zac was and she never seen such bb over her working stint for 10 years .. saying that zac refuse to sleep even if he is full ( she even overfed him - zac threw up lots of milk at night - till i stopped her and scolded her that bb has too much milk) ended up she has to change bb clothes , her clothes in teh middle of night then she stop .. yet little zac still continue to "fan" her till full month .haha ..

any mummies planning to bring little one for gymboree lessons , i bought zac for lessons on sunday and they told me that i can bring my little one for a free trial lesson if bb is below 6 mths old ... if possible we organise a private trial class ??? keke

lilboymum,
Yes, mine's a filipino maid. Before i delivered jonas, she volunteered to help me take care of him (she's a mother of 3 young kids). Then when the CL is still around, she was joking and asked me to have #3. Anyway, after discussing with hubby, we decided that to do a few things:
1. let her sleep earlier (around 8+ to 9pm) after my FB goes to bed
2. I will then take care of Jonas till mid-nite
3. She takes the graveyard shift (mid-nite till abt 6am).
4. She needs to wait up earlier (6+am) to help get all of us ready for work/school etc.

Jas(mobilesuitegal),
Saw your post in another thread. I'm trying to see if J is willing to take my EBM. If he's still rejecting it, then I'll give away the EBM. U still interested? Tink i hv abt 15-20 packs (120ml - 150ml).

flos,
u can manage without your maid and keep the bb away from her but I cant lor because I hv 2 kiddoes. During the day, I can manage all by myself. But when Joshua comes home at night and during the weekends, I REALLY need an extra pair of hands. My hub would hv been the perfect pair of extra hands but unfortunately, he can't carry heavy things (i.e. J&amp;J included) and often feels tired cos of recent health challenges.

This is also the reason why I'm keen to get a good bb carrier. Can strap Jonas and grab Joshua at the same time! His CC teachers calls him Flying Joshua cos he's so busy running and "flying" around!!

bigtoes, that's v useful info for us here! thanks.

sarahmay, mine won't sleep after her diaper change either. she ALWAYS poops after a feed (or during) so i have to change. would've loved to change before her feed cos she's usually smiley and sleepy after drinking and will kuai kuai doze off but cannot. sigh.

tingkat
i'm currently ordering from first cuisine and am thinking of cancelling to try out another one too! but unfortunately for me, most of the recommended tingkat caterers don't deliver to my area. i hear meihao99, four seasons and jiale are not bad. there's this other one that has a really nice looking menu but charges twice as much as the other caterers so it's out too. a friend has recommended empire food so i'm going to look them up online and see if they've included a menu.

drawcy, must post more abt how else u help out. i'm going to make my dh read them!

flos: cos it's TBF, apart from timing how long each feed is (about 10-15mins each side), i won't really know how much he is taking in. At 12mn, if you give him the 130ml, does he finish it all? perhaps you want to up the intake a bit more? but not so drastic from 130 to 160ml! maybe try 150ml tonight and see? sometimes bb wakes up may not always be hungry... see if you can soothe him without feeding him first?

qiuling: hehee like me you wake up to pump! sleep is too important! ;p ss low can try supplements? im currently taking lactate support from vitakids. checked with my pd about this and she said ok to take. not bad, did boost my milk ss!

xuanting
I was using swing initally, i find it good but bcos it's a single pump, abit time consuming to switch breast. While i pump 1 breast, have to use milk shell to collect the other leaking breast... Now I switched to using PIS, after using PIS, Swing machiam no power,hehe!! But must say Swing still served me well lah...

Tingkat Catering - My tingkat just started yesterday lunch..hmm...not really tt fantastic..will give it a few days to c how...bigtoes,is your food cold when they reach u? or is it suppose to be like tt?

lanolin

so sorry..i just managed to see your email now..hows the meeting with the CL? i was going to ask u abt $1700 can go infantcare liao when i saw tt u need only for 2 mths only...where u stay? u got a helper at home har? maybe can ask her to teach her how to care of bb...

Her CL skills i tink is quite ok lah..compared to the 1 tt my mil got for me (which we ask her to go on the 1st day)...i got her from TMC's pool of CL services..her baby caring,bathing is still good..

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) – yes, 1st HepB is given at birth. Anyway, the 2nd dose is included in the 6-in-1, so no need for a separate jab. Just called the PD and they said baby can get the 6-in-1 done anytime between 6 to 8 weeks.

Qiuling (chewy_ring) – if you organize a private trial class for gymboree lessons, let me know!

xuanting (xuanting) – I googled for tingkat and came across First Cuisine earlier – their food is not that good? Their pricing is about the same as the one I am ordering from Lexin (which I find too oily and fatty – all their pork dishes are fat meat!). how about http://www.houseofcatering.com/tingkat.htm ?

Angeline Goh (angeg)- yes, the food is lukewarm when it arrives at about 11am. It doesn't matter to me cos i microwave the food when i want to eat anyways.</font>

Dear Mums, good noon to you all!I came in to seek help for my research as my friend, Sophia who is an active member here said that there are many pro-breastfeeding mothers here and suggest that perhaps i can try to get help here.

Allow me to intro abt myself..
I am Yiping, a postgraduate student in NUS..I am currently doing a research looking for a particular type of cells in breast milk.

This is my thesis for my Ph D actually and I am trying to culture cells found in breast milk and identify this group of cells. If our hypothesis is proven true, it might open a potential use of
breastmilk and its benefits for the breastfed infant might thus be more than what is already known.

With that note, I would like to seek your help to participate in this study by donating about 30 to 50ml of breastmilk (an amount that you are
comfortable with, at a frequency that you are confortable with) and I can go collect from you at your place when you are convenient. As I am using the cellular component, I would actually require fresh breastmilk (of not more than half a day old) for study and as freezing is detrimental for the cells, the milk should be kept at room temperature or at best 4deg such that they arent frozen, upon which cells that I am interested in would most likely be lysed.

Please feel free to contact me at 93826595, or email me at [email protected] if u have any queries. Hope you would be willing to help and hope to hear from
you soon. I would appreciate to start milk collection as soon as possible, with immediate effect, actually.

Hope to hear from you all soon!

P/S: i have been doing this for the last 3-4 years and there are promising results presented in various symposiums/ conferences and also published in a peer-reviewed journal..Study has also been approved by a local hospital's ethical review board.. So, neednt worry tt its weird study or wat, k....

Really hope to hear from you especially if you are able to express more than your baby's demand!! And u aint committed or obliged to help me for very long... that is to say, you can stop anytime you want.. If you have questions, please drop a line too! I will try my best to help!

bb sleeping though. eih think i agree with Qiuling. different bbs differ. my fb slept through from 8 weeks onwards. from 11pm to 7am. he was a typical text book bb. do anything recc by text book, it works on him. but of course, he has all the textbook problems too...colic, crankiness etc...

for this girl, im not so sure.

Qiuling
GOGOGO!!! *envy envy*shanghai nice place.

Lok
think your maid will demand more and more as time goes. be prepared for htat.

Qiuling
you game for TRIO instead of gymboree? they do some physical activities for the young bbs too. but theirs more of right brain stuff including flashcards, IQ games, memory games, and physically superb activites. am waiting for my girl to turn 3mths before enrolling her.

Fathers in the thread.
anymore fathers in the thread???

<font color="0000ff">Flos
oh manz... Isaac is taking 150ml already???? wow, that's alot. I'm hesitant to force Max to finish his 120ml each time coz there were a few times he regurgitated alot while feeding.

For the first time last nite, Max slept till 430am before waking up for his feed. His last feed for the nite was at 10pm. so am hoping like wat agapebaby mentioned, gradually this interval will be longer and he will no longer wake up in the middle of nite for feeds</font>

Goldfish (goldfish1395, no, he said that in an angry tone.

Then now he says that I am under the 'jiang tou' (black magic) of my mother because I keep defending her. He told me to wake up or else nobody can help me. But how I can not defend my mother when he keeps slamming her and blaming her for everything? So because I defend my mother, he says I am under her black magic. He blames my mother for my current state of health (my caesarean wound is not fully healed yet), for the state of my fingers, etc.

BTW, I woke up yesterday with my middle finger bent and I can't unbend it. I had to use my other hand to unbend that finger. The same thing happens when I tried doing that again. What is happening? I'm so scared but I can't tell my HB as he will blame my mother for this again.

Lok/lilboymom: My maid is here finally. Just finished showing her around my place and the switches and appliances, etc.

The CL is trying to kaypoh by closing the bathroom door and chatting with my new maid inside the bathroom, as the latter washes her clothes. I opened the door to scold the CL for being so talkative (ji zha). Tonight, they will be sleeping together. I hope the CL doesn't brainwash the newbie. I'll turn on the bb monitor. hiak hiak...

Feel like firing the CL cos two maids r idling at my place now. Super uncomfy. My place's just been cleaned, and baby's asleep, hence they are very free.

Lok: I'm taking care of my bb myself after CL leaves. I'll be bathing the bb myself, bringing the cot into my bedroom like bacon&amp;eggs, bringing in thermal flask and FM into my room to mix at nite like shazz.

bacon&amp;eggs: I think u might be right. Lanolin, Sunrays and I are using the 2007 P3. There are two clips by the sides. It can recline up to 180 degrees I think...

GYMBOREE: what's that for?

xuanting: r u a serious TBF mom? If yes, a PIS is the solution for u. If not, use the Mini Elec Plus like me, no massage function like Swing/PIS, and more noisy!

agapebaby: yes, he finishes 130ml everytime. I think 150ml is quite ok lah. My CL said he has been drinking 130ml for 2 weeks already. It's about time he demands for more.

Oh, they are now chatting inside my boy's room now. I gotta give the maid some work to do...

wingkei
My fingers were like that for about 2 weeks before giving birth and 2-3 weeks after. It's water retention. Try not to use too much cold water on your hands. Use rubber gloves when washing dishes and use "hot" arthritis medicinal oils and rub your fingers before bedtime (dont use if handling baby cos will be too hot for their skin)...your hubby is quite the siao lah...

wingkei
haha..i think your hb also kena jiang tou lo!!!

hey, why not join us at the outing? just you and bb!! a bit of respite for you too mah!!

flos: ok jia you on the training for baby to sleep longer! btw you have two maids and a CL in your house? wow!!

xuanting: just to share, i've used both medela swing and PIS. once you tried PIS you'll know the diff - can never use any other pump! the motor for the PIS is much stronger and allows for let-down effect. i'll def recommend PIS instead.

Wa~ Our thread runs really fast..

Lanolin, Kyrie:

I bought it for $412 with GST at baby hyperstore, the color is the exact same one in the picture (red canopy + grey seat with handle), its fits onto the P3 nicely, no need to wake baby if she has fallen asleep on the seat, just remove the seat and chuck onto the P3! The weight is around 3.5kg, quite light actually, but i presume you wouldn't be lugging the seat around without baby right :p.. And since its the 2008 version, you'll be able to find more info about the seat on the peg perego website, personally I have not used it because we already have a maxi cosi, and because i only use the P3 when hubby is around, i don't mind settling baby into the P3 even when she has fallen asleep on her car seat =)

Mclaren/ Combi:

Going to Kiddy palace to take a look at the strollers! I think i might come back with a Combi.. the colors are so cute! Pink!

Vaccine:

Little Scarlett had her 6-in-one yesterday, our PD explained that the 5-in-one and 6-in-ones are in fact essentially the same except for the extra HEP B 2nd dos in the 6-in-one, for one thing both the vaccines are produced by the same company- GSK, he also explain that HEP B is a very old vaccine already, and it is relatively mild compared to the other vaccines like pertusis/ polio in the 5-in-one, so there really should be no concern about the increased risk (or rather, should be no difference) by adding the HEP B vaccine into the 5-in-one, just that it's is an extra choice for parents thats all, little Scarlett was 6 weeks + 1 day yesterday, and she weighs 4.95kg !

Father's United!

My Hb has been secretky following our thread.. maybe i'll get him to join.. then the boys can have their chill sessions while we ladies drool over our babies! One thing i must say.. my hubby is really a saviour.. without him i think i probably won't get thru these 6 weeks.. the night feeds, the diaper change, the bathing.. my hubby is the epitome of the perfect dad-nny hehe.. being the enthu type, he went to start a parenthood.com, and will launch in november! Maybe we can have another gathering during the launch ~~~

BB sleeping through:
I agree too with qiuling &amp; I'llboymun. J also slept through when he's abt 3MO. No special training and nothing magical that we did.

EXPERIENCED MUMMY WITH BB CARRIER:
When did u stop u using it? I'm wondering whether synergy is really worth the extra bucks compared to air. Though synergy can take up to 12kg (wt of my FB now), I can't imagine strapping that wt (using my FB as benchmark) for long..

Angeline - thanks thanks for ur reply. I'm assuming that infantcare means placing my baby somewhere at an infantcare centre? I'd rather have the baby at my place with someone coming in....or am I mistakened?

Met your CL - she's nice and I think fundamentally her principles are sound. So hubs and I will ponder about it tonight.....it is a lot of money but only for 2 months la.

KymKym - thanks for the info. Will discuss with my husband but if anyone gets to you before I do, no probs!

Flos - It is very tiring to train a new maid ... at times I really had nothing for her to do (she arrived 1 week before baby came) ... and I was at my wit's end. Also was really tired that time so preferred to just go nap. Did u give her a schedule on xcel or something? That helps.

sasa - I'm only giving Dec about 90-100ml per feed (that's at night when he is on EBM) so it is even less than urs. Don't know how to "force" him to take more. I think he is happy and can last 2.5 to 3 hours should be right???

Ava / Kymkym - u have very very hands-on husbands la - very lucky. I have to see how mine performs when CL is gone. hahaahahaha....

bacon&amp;egg - travel cot : is ur cot almost like a mini playpen ..ie the base where the baby will sleep on is quite close to the floor? I saw 2 at MotherWorks today (b bjorn and ...something and teds) and both were like that. One will have to bend really really low to pick baby up etc.

Limay - I roughly calculated Dec's total sleepng hours...I think it is about 12 as well, quite far from the recommended 16. But if he doesn't want to sleep more, then so be it...

Bathing baby - do u bath ur baby once or twice? I am starting his evening ritual today so am going to bath him at about 6pm again.

Flos - do let me know if u find a foot reflex person who does homecalls. IF not, I will really have to run to Wanyang at PP to get it done. (Ava - want to join me??

Hi pebblez, thanks for the info! Think i'll give it a miss. I've checked the website and it can be used up to 13kg so that will mean about a year. So we'll stick to the maxi cosi first and then get a bigger car seat which can last him till bout 4 yrs. Thanks anyway!

So it's over to Lanolin and jojo!

my gosh, i just finished reading yesterday and today's posts! so many!!!

brought cadence for her first injection yesterday... the BCG. didn't knw that it's to be injected into top part of skin only and so during the injection, hb had to pin her down coz she was moving and kcking... thankfully she only cried for a little bit. and i am glad to announce that she is finally 3.255kg! up from her 2.1kg after her discharge from nicu. so happy!

MAIDS:
mine is a filipino and she's really good. takes care of my kiddoes and doesn't complain with doing lots more now since i bring back all three kids...

flos:
think you must set some kinda routine/schedule for your maid. in the initial stages, must really tell them abt everything like all the different cloths for different use or pails and such. else they will soak your undergarmetns with your clothes together one. then the same pail use to wash undergarment can use to wash fruits for example...

GROWTH SPURTS:
cadence is finally off the 6th week growth spurt. back to her 3 hour interval. at night after her 11pm feed, she only next woke at 3am. so happy!

SLINGS/POUCHES:
is anyone here using the lucky baby pouch? i think mine is too big or the bb is too small. can't seem to use it properly.

here's a pic taken of cadence three days ago in her favourite sleeping pose.

1790737.jpg

<font color="0000ff">lanolin
Agree!!! hehe.. I can't bear to force Max esp when he gives me that 'wanna vomit face'.

alabone
oh my!!! cadence looks so lovely. and congrats!!! She's putting on so much weight

Hi Qiuling (chewy_ring),

I am also looking at sending Marcellus to Gymboree classes. I call up the Tanglin Mall branch, they recommend the baby to be at least two months old. Even though in US, i know baby start their gymboree class even at 4 weeks !

Anyway i am keen, please count me in ! I am going to tanglin mall next wednesday for the baby massage class and i will check up the gymboree class. Is the trial classes free ? I thought you need to pay $40 per trial class ?

Flo: refer to the website for more detail
http://www.gymboreeclasses.com/b2c/customer/why_gymboree.jsp

Hello, wow had a hard time reading all the posts.
Was wondering how your choose ur maids?I went searching for maids for two days and collected many bio datas...but mostly are taken up....
heard get younger ones are better, married with kids etc...headache choosing one..

Got degree better?mostly only study till high school...

<font color="0000ff">This is Max taking his bath at my mum's place. had to make do with a small pail, haha.

1790895.jpg

This is my favourite

1790896.jpg

<font color="0077aa">Quiling: Let me know if you are organising the Gymboree trial class!

Flos: Did you give your maid a list of things that she can do and cannot do? Something like a rules &amp; regulations thingy.. So how is she so far?

BF-ing: Do you all get hungry easily when we are BF-ing now? I just ate some biscuit at 3plus, now am hungry again!</font>

Maid : Need advise here..my maid is coming this thursday but I'm still not mentally prepare to welcome a stranger to the home. Still have not decide whether to let her sleep in the same room with my baby or not. Can I go thru her belonging when she arrive my place? How to know whether the maid is trustworthy and sincere?

Flos, can you share with me the time table you have prepared for your maid? thanks.

sasa - ur max is very chubwubs as well and he has quite a matured face!! very cute. I like the photo of him in a pail! hahahaha...

Grace - did u have a helper at ur parent's place? My husband and I also felt very strange at first with the helper at our house (we actually held hands and felt very sad the night before she arrived) but it took all of 1 week for us to get used to it. I send her to my mom's place to be trained so she wasn't alone at home with nothing to do (that was before I gave birth and was still working). Basically I prepared a schedule for her (without baby duties at that time) and also towels/ sanitary pads / shower gel / shampoo / some basic writing material. Got her room ready (bed / old bedsheets etc)....