(2008/09) Sep 2008

bacon&egg (baconegg) - mine also decreasing and my boobs is getting softer
and also getting smaller

as for sterilising of bottles - normally need to sterilise how many time per days

milkmilk, I thought of doing that, but not sure how angry he will be.

qqq (missheng), he will only be too glad to ask his mom for help, which is one of the things that I can't stand. He will go.. "My mom will do this and that later, etc." For a grown man with a kid, I think he is still heavily dependent on his mom. Even my mom can tell that he is rather sticky to his mom! So I don't think he will beg me for anything.

LC, his temper can get really bad.
I know, now I'm like trying to tell myself that I have to be strong for BB. But sometimes, when I'm alone in the house, and I look at her, I would feel so sad and the tears just drip uncontrollably.

After my mom left, my HB got his parents to clean up my whole place like my mom has some kind of virus. She was so insulted. Now, my family don't wanna come visit me anymore in case they need to be "disinfected". Makes me feel sadder still, like I'm all alone.

How do you know if you should supplement your BM with FM? My mom keeps telling me that I need to supplement my BM with FM but I am refusing to do that. Yet, I am also worried that baby will not get enough milk.

JABS:

I prefer to do it at the PD cos can ask her questions on other stuff at the same time. Polyclinic jabs are done by the nurses right??

Note that for rotavirus, u need to do both jabs b4 they turn 6 MO. After that, it's no use anymore. Pneumoccocal --- the older they are when u jab, the less jabs to take. However, the risk of serious infection is of cos when they are much younger, so to be safe, start them young.

I am taking all the optional jabs (chicken pox, rotavirus, pneumoccocal) cos the kids go to IFC/CC. The PD told me if the kids are being cared for at home and not exposed to crowds often, then maybe not required.

GATHERING FOOD:
Neo Garden has a subsidiary providing Halal catering. They have high-tea menu at reasonable price.
http://www.delihub.com.sg/index.php?CODE=03b&lang=en&menu_type=menu_type2&menu_id=7

Any comments or objections?

I will PM the mummies my address / directions nearer the date.

MUMMIES WITH OLDER TODDLERS:
Anyone also going for the TMC JAC outing to Hay's Dairies and Bollywood Organic Farm on 8 Nov?
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/junior_angel.htm

Also, anyone going for the Disney Live show (18-23 Nov)?

Hi mummies, just to share...

re: 5-1, 6-1 vaccinations
for my elder boy, i did all his vaccines at polyclinic. It's the National Healthcare Group (NHG) poly.. I believe the other poly-chain (Singhealth) should offer that too. The poly I went to offer both 5-1 and 6-1, I took the 6-1. My friend who is a nurse advocates going to the Poly to jab, because that's all they do there (ie. specialised).. so the nurses there are very experienced (jab by nurse not doc) and the vaccines are very fresh. Price wise, it's abt the same if u go to a GP outside. If u go to PD, it's very exp, because on top of paying for the jabs, u have to pay PD's consultation fee ($80 - $100) each time. If your child is ok, doesn't need to see doctor, then can just go to Poly to jab. Call them to make appt, don't need to wait long (like 15mins wait).

Poly also gives free MMR jab for all Singaporean kids.. next time when our babies are 15mths old, need to take MMR.

re: Rotavirus, Pneumoccocal
These 2 are not available in Poly.. need to go to either GP or PD. And different clinics charge different prices. For Pn, some clinic can charge as low as $140 (per jab), some $190.. so the range is in between. For GP, they usually don't charge u consultation fee, but for PD, they will charge u consultation fee..

Hi Lok,
Just to share, I ever ordered from Delihub for full catering, The food is very very nice.. the mutton curry n chicken curry are really good! And the good thing is they are halal.. i catered that cos i had muslim friends over for party.

koras,

U either opt for 6in1 or 5in1. Not both... The vaccines are the same. 6in1 has more in 1 jab, so 1 less visit to the clinic (and 1st jab starts at 2MO vs. 1MO for 5in1)..

Autum,

Thks for feedback on delihub.

Is there any truth that babies prefer to be hugged by FEMALES, than males? My hubby claims that bb likes my smell and whenever bb wails, he will pass the bb to me. He even said cos’ i smell of milk!?? I told him he can take some of the milk and apply on his chest to get similar effect! LOL

However, the bottom line is that i dun wanna the bb to be accustomed to me only leh. Do u all experience similar favouritism problem as well? I feel that the bb is not pacified by him cos’ of the way he carry the bb or whatsoever leh

Goldfish,
Yes! My boy prefers me over my hubby too..my hubby says he pian xin..hee..

Shazz,
Thanks for the tip...will monitor..

As the bb grows, they seems to identify their caregiver..and always v "sticky" to the caregiver..anyone share the same view?

wingkei
you dont have to supplement with FM if ur baby is growing well. I believe the books always mention a range of 180-250g a week. So as long as baby meets this growth range she's getting enough. Why don't you get What to Expect The First Year...they cover a lot of info for the 1st year.

shazz: i'm trying to find an expedient way to make FM too when my CL leaves. But I've not place to put all those stuffs u mention, so I will walk to the kitchen anyway

6-in-1: shazz, has eamon taken this yet? i wonder if mine is taking his this weekend when we visit the PD.

I prefer to take it at PD cos I can ask him other matters regarding my boy's facial rashes and his feeding amount, etc. etc. The nurses at the polyclinic won't entertain my long-winded questions I'm sure. Nor will they provide me with credible answers.

bacon&eggs: do u hv fenugreek. I find it very effective. I'm only feeding my BM like 4 times a day. I supplement with FM for the rest of the day. My very limited BM is merely his 'essence', whereas his FM is his 'staple' that can quell his hunger pangs. In between those feeds, I also carry Iassac and let him latch 'for fun' (cos I'm not using pacifier so need to let him suckle)...

Goldfish: then u need to let him carry Ethan more. My boy has gotten rather accustomed to my hubs now, after resisting him at the beginning. It takes time to bond. Let him feed a few rounds first

Flos (flos): I just place the 2 bottles and the stacker of milk powder and place them on a tray and leave them on my sofa in the room! hehe

Eamon will be taking his first 6-in-1 jab at 2mths old, in early Nov.

My boy's rashes has cleared up a fair bit since he started sleeping in air-con and I clean his face more often than CL! Also applied SebaMed Baby Facial Protection Cream after I wipe his face now. Seems to help leh.

Goldfish,

What flos said is true. NBs have very very poor eyesight, so they recognize caregivers by the smell, voice, the way you cuddle etc. Your hubby just needs more bonding time.

<font color="0077aa">Hi Ava, you are back!
Yes, I highly recommend What to expect in the 1st year, its a good book!

I am still having some discharge, can I still go back to do pad smear or postpone?

I would most likely take the 6 in 1 at polyclinic or at the GP near our place, highly recommended by my SILs.

Flos: I thot you have good supply of BM, you not pumping out to keep for future?

Can we apply california baby on baby's face to reduce the rashes?</font>

bacon &amp; egg

Hmm...i still havent order yet.btw,u koe if they do makeup of the meals unlimited or 2x only?

koras

i whole day been washing &amp; sterising bottles..coz i do EBM so lots of bottles to wash..so tiring..latch-on more easy...

lok...

u going for the disney show? when tickets go on sale? i am still tinking..coz not sure if my hb can handle my bb alone...

Dseptkon

hihi..thanks alot..where u stay? if convenient i go take from u, if not,will deal by post....how much shd i pay u?

hello all!

re decreasing MS - I'm wondering if u latch coz usually if u latch for at least 6 feeds a day (from what I read), ur supply should be pretty constant. I know that when I pump, I am not able to pump everything out so my breast may be sending wrong msgs to my brain saying "this is all the baby needs" ... that's why I try to latch whenever I can. I pump out for his 2 night feeds though

Re baby routine - spoke to a friend who successfully trained her baby to a 11-7pm routine by 3 months and a 7-7pm routine by 5 months. She used the Gina Ford method but only started at week 10. Any mummies here have any idea when is a good time to start with instituting some "discipline"?

Nanny / Babysitter - I remember reading that someone's confinement nanny who is good wants to only baby sit from now on. If so, would u pls let me have the contact? Thanks.

Flos - I'm also doing what Shazz does in terms of jabs...doing it at about his 2nd month. Doing a 6-in-1. So we need to go for jabs every 2 months only.

Hi Goldfish,
yea, some babies recognise the smell of their mothers. what u can do is to take your own unwashed shirt.. then drape it over your hubby's shoulder and let your hubby carry your baby.. that can give u some rest time.. but it won't solve the problem of smell recognition.

<font color="0077aa">Did something funny to Zane, I put the bloster on Zane head &amp; he looks like those Koreans going to Sauna look.. Kekek...</font>

1770012.jpg

sarahmay/ l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum)
thank u for the info on the play yard. will go by kiddy palace to take a look. where is this chong choon place?sorry, am very mountain tortoise la

lok
ya good for me to see the play yard in use before i get one

bigtoes
i don't think Jonathan is very chubby. perhaps he just has heavy bones?! hehe

6 in 1 jab
we took the jab yesterday at the PD tog with the rotavirus and everything cost over $300. i guess the good thing was not having to wait and this is the same PD as for FB so she could even remember the FB's problems and ask after them. if not for the long waiting time- i waited 1.5hours at polyclinic for FB's 1 month jab and swore never to go back- i think the poly is just as good. now just waiting for the fever from vaccination to subside. see the bb like that so sim tia

angeline
my tubs are still with shazz cos i can't meet up with her. do u want to contact her or can wait until the gathering cos that's when she's passing the stuff to me.

lanolin/shazz: ok, maybe mine is also to be taken in his second month. I'm not even sure why my PD 'booked' us for the first mth...what is done during the first mth visit?

shazz: sigh, i'll let my future live-in maid do it. too tired to wake up

storeberry: my milk ss is no longer matching up to Isaac's rising intake. It's kinda plateaued of late...Also, like lanolin had said, once u programme yourself to pump a specific amount, ur amount will listen to your brains! Now my boy drinks 130ml, so my ss is 130ml max. However hard I press and squeeze my breasts, no more will come out! Also, becos I dun think of pumping at certain hours of the day, my milk will not leak uncontrollably. I'm not a TBF Nazi to begin with. I'll feed until my fenugreek pills are finished and feed until I hv no more ss...I'm 'weaning off' papaya fish soup and red dates/longan drinks this week.

wad the meaning of GP? anyone roughly know the charges in polyclinc for those jabs? cause thinkin if got baby bonus den which one will be better. poly can use bb bonus?

GP: general practitioner u hv at your outpatient family clinic?

dseptkon: CHEONG CHOON
34 Up Cross St
#03-132 Singapore 058340
Tel/Hp : 65323855

storeberry: what's that thing on Zane's head?? LOL. farnie!!!

Angeline,

The Disney tickets are now on sale. Early bird discount of 10% if u purchased by 9 Oct. I'm thinking of going with my FB and colleague on 21 Nov. Jonas will stay home with daddy/maid.

flos,

As far as I know, 1st month is for 5in1 jab... Did u ask the clinic? My ss has long plateaued too. So now I'm slowly stretching the interval to stop bfg.. A bit sad but at the same time looking fwd to the liberation from bfg (can indulge in my caffeine/chili, no more lugging of my PIS, more beauty sleep etc..)

BB Jaundice:
Jonas is looking less yellow after 5 days' of FM. Also growing fatter. PD's conclusion is I have been "starving" him when latching him on (despite 50 mins of feeding!!!).... Even when I give him EBM, his wt. gain is very slow, dunno why maybe low fat milk as i noticed the EBM is quite watery....

Storeberry
Yes, have always been lurking around, but no time to read all posts or post much myself! willl be worse next week when CL leaves and hb is on a 10 day trip!!!

Zane is so cute
we used to put diapers (clean ones of course, the pull up type) on adan's head like a hat to take pics (my hb has a weird sense of humour)....the effect was quite cute actually!

Bonding with men/dads
My gals seem to take to their "very enthusiastic, kiss and hug and dance around the room with baby" dad...even tho sometimes he irritates them with his stubbly kisses! I guess once dads are more comfy with the babies and holds them more/feeds more, then they will respond also!

Jabs
Like lanolin/shazz, am going for 6-in-1 at my friend's clinic in Bishan (he is not a PD but speicialised in family medicine or something) when babies are 6-7 weeks. he said not to do it at 4 week mark. I think it's cos the 1st jab in the 6-in-1 jab covers both the 1st and 3rd month jabs listed in the babies' health booklet...

gathering
Ths is still going on right? I forgot it is a Monday...and now hb is going away...so if I do turn up it will be me, maid and twins.

Sorry for the late post for a particular mummy - someone was looking for part time cleaner in the east? I have a contact...pls let me know who u are and I'll PM you!

Hi, Lok and mommies who have their babies vacinated with 6-in-1

Can I check when (ard how old)should my baby go for the injection ie 6-in-1? He is coming 8weeks this Friday. He only had the 1st Hep B and BCG injection when at birth then no jab liao. Last time I asked the PD, he said can combine the 2nd jab of Hep B together with the 5-in-1.

Pardo my typos. A few keys o my lapto gave way !!!

My is gettig a it weird with his sleep ad eat schedule. duo why! he kept me up from 430 am - 7am!!!

storeerry: i did passport applicatio olie via APPLES. hope his pics get approved.

aco &amp; egg: which caterer did u get?

6 weeks? I feel so 'cheated'. why did my PD ask us to go down at week 4? That means I might need to make another trip to TMC to see him for the the 6-in-1 jab at week 6-8 again

SarahMay: SAME HERE!!! A few of my VAIO keyboard keys are giving way too!!! HHAAHHA!!! The keys are falling off my keyboard! Too lazy to repair. Going to buy another new laptop.

Lok: I thot the gathering is 20 Oct? How come it's Nov now? If it's Nov, by which time my maid is here, I might be able to join u guys
Do u hv enuff changing stations and nursing corners? Are we going to bare our boobs to everyone at your place? LOL

Lok, YESH YESH! Coffeeeeeeee! I used to drink expresso daily. I need to get back to the cafe...Can we drink tea if we BF?

<font color="119911">breadmum (breadmum) – we ordered from eCreative and their wheat prawn was apparently not very fresh (I didn’t try cos not a fan of prawns)
. I wrote back to feedback but they didn’t reply me (but of cos).
We also ordered cakes from them and a number of their cupcakes were overturned in the box during their packing/delivery so the icing got squished and we ended up not giving these boxes to guests!!! Luckily there were spares and some no shows so we had enough.

Flos (flos) – that is way too many diapers per day! I think we are going through about 6-8 in a 24 hour period. Just tried the free sample from Goo.N last night. Not too bad, but hubby thinks Huggies are more fitting so there is less risk of leakage from the back/sides.

Lok (lok) and other mommies – any chance of changing the gathering to a weekend? Not sure how easy it would be for me to cab there on a Monday.

Mommies who cab with baby - would you be taking baby out in a carrier only, or a carrier + stroller, or just in a stroller and just handcarry baby in the cab? Am thinking of using a carrier in the cab, but transferring him to the stroller after that…quite difficult to lug around baby + carrier + stroller + baby bag thou!</font>

finally got time to log in...

jessi,
can help me to update ..(am i the last one ??)
Name = xuan-2nd (not name yet heehee)
Date = 28 Sep 2008
Weight = 3.24KG
Length = 50cm
Gender = Girl

me busy since delivered, cos confinement didnt turn up as promised till one week later (and keep 'cheating' me that she will turn up)..then bb jaundice need to admit hospital..
this week alot of better, with cl around..can do more pump (still cant managed latch on

Hi, Dseptkon

Thanks for replying. how much is your 6-in-1 package, excluding consultation and GST?

Hello, Flos

Yours on week 4? hmmm... My PD dun wan to give the jab at week 4, instead ask me to bring baby down when he is abt 3month old.. For diapers, my baby has about 8-10 soiled diapers a day.and sometime his poo poo is really watery and a lot alot.. yellowish and smell like salted egg yolk.. :p

Hello, Wingkei

Dun feel sad..Ignore your hubby if he starts his nonsense again and give him cold shoulder. Should stand up for yourself and baby. From your postings, I feel you might be too meek so your hubby can rule over you..

Hi, Bigtoes

It all depend where I am going. If I am going to my mummy place or to a friend place, I just hand carried the baby together with my baby bag. If I am going shopping with baby, I will bring a stroller and the cabbies are quite automatic to help me put in the stroller in the car boot.

EPIDURAL - For mommies who took epidural, do you feel a needle-poke pain at the area where the epidural is administered?

MERLION - This morning, my baby merlion when I tried to feed him. He had his 130ml EBM and after awhile, his mouth is opened again and looking for my boobs.. thinking that he is not full (cos at his age, it should be 150ml as per the Enfa chart), I made some FM for him. Who knows, shortly i gave him the FM, he merlion, throwing out all the milk taken earlier and the milk almost cover 2/3 of his face, except his forehead. My goodness!!! He is still cool about it and din cry! I have to clean and bath him again.. initially plan to put him at my in laws place and both myself and hubby catch a movie.. but with this merlion, we missed the timing and now staying at home, watching TV. Sigh!!

congrats xuanmommy!

bigtoes: me too, am pondering over the logistics... maybe u can carry him in a sling or carrier? Or u can skip the stroller if it's just from Home to Lok's place for 2 hrs at most.

I just bought my milk powder dispenser, my thermal flask, nursing tops, in preparation of my excursion this weekend with my DH and son!!! I'll be liberated tomorrow!!!! YIPPEEEE...

Anyone of u coloured your hair at the salon whilst ur DH babysits your baby?

Anyone know of a FOOT MASSEUSE who can come to my place to service me?

hi hi, feeling rather sad

realised that hub will keep staying in study room after dinner for so long till wee hrs.. sigh.. sad thing is that he will watch on porn..

what am i to do..

btw, do u gals start having intercourse or hv to wait for 4 months?

LC: This is cos my CL has been wasting my nappies. Then again, it could be cos m 4-week-old son is already drinking 130ml every 3 hrs, so he poops and pees more than others? hohohoh!

Watch a movie with DH? How sweet...

But if u take a cab without the car seat, will u be violating the traffic rules? if it's a short distance, it's ok to hand carry lor.

flos, limay
actually if you are going to someone's place, you dun have to bring stroller. troublesome and you find it difficult to park the stroller at someone's house. unless you are going shopping for an entire day, dun bring stroller.

guess im a sling/carrier person. so much easier to get on and off cab with bb. even with bag...then dun have to manoeuvre around inconsiderate singaporeans with your stroller.

yingflo
why are you waititng for 4mths? surely your gynae told you around 4 weeks right?or until the stitches heal.

im not sure wat is your stand on men and porn. but to me, watching porn runs deeper than mere sexual deprivation. so you might wanna talk to hb about this. dun think having sex with him helps alleviate his prob...

ala- yes he is i 3rd week. growth spurt ow?

flos - at least urs ca still type. mie caot spell words properly.

cogrts xua mummy

btw, any of ur babies has lots of mucous? can hear like having difficulty in breathing, made so much sound.. got to go doc to suck out??