(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bacon&Egg

I intend to get one playpen but no idea what to buy.. same as you , mmy cot is too big to move.. you any idea which brand you buying?

Lok (lok): the iPamper seems to help with my blocked right breast leh! But it's more useful for my backache, due to carrying the heavy boy! keke

bacon&egg: oh, I was going up the escalator yah?
wow, you did really well to cope without a CL manx! I'm having my first day on my own, without any help. So far so good, but not easy lah.

<font color="119911">sunrays (sunrays) - heh, Charlotte looks so happy in her float!
So she is not scared of water at all? Is the water temperature regulated?
I am thinking of getting one of these floats myself and bringing Kieran down to my pool to swim! Do you know where they sell them?

dseptkon (dseptkon) - wow! Jonathan is kinda heavy for a 6 week old! Kieran would be about 5kg by next week as well (6 weeks), so he is also another chubby boy. I am trying to make it a habit not to carry him too much to sleep!!

FM - have you mommies tried the FM you are feeding your baby? I tested mine, and it tastes horrible!
I already don’t think BM tastes nice, but at least it is sweeter then FM! makes me wonder why babies actually like their milk! hehe

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - how was the celebration for Kaiden's 1st month last Sat? Did you guys like the food from ecreative?

My CL left last Friday, and it has been an exhausting couple of days. Think mainly cos we have been out with baby everyday - Sat for the 1st month celebration (he didn’t sleep from morning till like 5+pm, poor thing), Sun to visit people for Hari Raya, and today to the bank to open his own bank account with all the Full Month angpows and to grab somemore stuff from Kiddy Palace. Thank goodness hubby took a couple of days off work to help out.</font>

Bigtoes (limay): they're selling the floats in the Bulk Purchase threads, can check it out.

FM &amp; BM: I'm using Nan 1 HA, tasted both before and they're tasteless! BM is slightly more milky though

shazz,

That's great! Go easy on the carrying. Watch your wrist and tendons. A couple of my friends (myself included) ended up with tendonitis from our overly enthusiastic carrying.. And Joshua wasn't even that heavy to begin with..

LC / Bacon&amp;egg,

My playpen is from Lucky Baby. Think it's $100+ (but we got it as a gift). So far still functional after 1 yr+. The other popular and sturdy brand is Graco (but more ex, ranging from $200+ to $300+). Kiddypalace carries the cheaper ones while Robinsons/First Few Years would hv the higher end models... I'm sure the bb hyperstore/kingdom carries a variety as well.

bigtoes,

that's nice of u to open the bank a/c. I "embezzled" Joshua's angpows all the way till he turned 1 YO! heeheehee... Well, my excuse is that it goes into his Insurance premium payment. *wink*

Lok (lok): same here! Eamon's angbao money that was collected went to payment for the CL's pay and the party's food. We still have to top-up, cos no point depositing the money in the bank, and then going to ATM to withdraw money right! Will makeup for it with the baby bonus top-up scheme by setting aside $6k and getting him insured, which is another big lump sum every year.

Hi im from Nov thread
Just wanna check if any1 here has a confinement lady name Bi Hua? If yes, did she also cancel her bookings with you last minute and try to recommend her friend to you?

rachel lim..

me too.should be ordering by this week for starting next week...really not many co do tingkat lunch...only afew do...hope the food's good..

sunrays

very cute...i saw before at the harbourfront branch...will go try afew months later..haha..babies love water!

shazz,

no CDA a/c or dollar-for-dollar matching in Joshua's time. FB not much incentive then..

GATHERING:
Any more mummies/bbs joining us?
Ok to squeeze in my apt or u want me to book the function room as well?
What finger food (need to be halal for Sri_leo)? Ok with pizza/KFC?

20 Oct (monday)
Lok's place near Bishan Park (1-5pm):
1. Scarlett + Kym Teo
2. Jonas + Lok
3. Janelle + Jaymickey
4. Kieran + Li May (Bigtoes)
5. Reyes + Crayon
6. Marcellus + Jojobar
7. Sharmaine + stef&amp;seanbabes
8. Gabrielle + isa_belle
9. Rachel + Kydric
10. Dina + Zane
11. Devon + Mei
12. Ava + Hubby + 3 kids
13. Eamon + mummy shazz
14. Shauna + Springz
15. Jonathan + dseptkon
16. Carine + Angeline
17. Alabone + Cadence
18. Laurent + twendy (+hubby &amp; FB?)
19. Nur Shadiyah + Sri_Leo
20. Kaiden + Mommy Bacon&amp;Egg
21. Zenneth + Qiuling mummy + maid
22. Cayden + Momoko

Lok..
get your fb another bed in the same bedroom
...thats what we did...

you still have the play yard set up?Joshua still appreciates it?i dismantled mine sometime ago.waiting for sis to grow up a bit before setting it up again....

tendonitis?
That's me! I kenna it, though it wasn;t exactly tendonitis but some other similar condition. Was horrible. Went on for months! At one point I couldn't turn on the faucet easily or even hook my bra!
Went for acupuncture, occupational therapy, saw specialist (useless btw cos all they do is give steroid jab or recommend surgery) and finally was cured by homeopathy. So now am very careful to prevent relapse.

bigtoes
saw ur teddybear jelly. Wah ur hubby made it? Cool! So nice of him

lilboymum,

my bedroom has too much junk plus the layout = No space for toddler bed or mattress unless I shift the tv or bedside table out. I'm very happy with the current arrangement where he sleeps on his own.

Yes, the playyard is still there... he still plays in it during the weekends.. Our little play corner.

tendonitis: yes, my sis got it too! spend a lot of $ on acupuncture and massage at the TCM. Better be careful when bb gets heavier by the week! My son is currently 4.4kg at Day 26.

storeberry: Just curious, do u hv a lot of valuables in your bedroom? I dunno if I want to lock it up too. My cot can barely get thru my bedroom door. But is it a waste to buy a playpen while leaving the cot idle?

Full-mth angpow: I also 'embezzled' the $ like Lok and Shazz!! LOL. In fact, I already used a couple of hundreds on some repair works at my place last week!!!

Lok/shazz: What is an iPamper originally for?

sarahmay: can u just use the digital cam at home to take a shot of the bb and email to ICA? What is the validity period for bb passport? how much did u pay?

LC/storeberry: me too! I can still hold him on one arm and type on my laptop using the other free hand! Not sure if I can still do that once he reaches 5-6kg.

DIAPER USAGE: I posted this some time back but no one answered my question. How many pcs do u use per day? My CL used up 12 pc /24 hrs. Is that too many?

lilboymom: do u mean if the bbs are not done with the compulsory jabs, they can't go swimming? And what's the diff between Huaxin's swimming programme vs Marsden or Aquaducks?

shazz: hey, why dun u walk to the kitchen to dispense the warm water and make the FM there and then, instead of doing it in your bedroom? I mean, u still need to walk to the kitchen to wash and sterilise the bottles right?

I find feeding takes a longer time than mixing the FM. That's what going to make me lose my beauty sleep.

WHEN TO CHANGE BOTTLE TEAT? FOr those whose bbs hv reached full-mth, do u still use the Size 0mth teat from Avent or other brand? Can we change to 1 Mth now, or the hole is too big?

CHANGE BOTTLE SIZE? And hv u all upgraded to the bigger size milk bottle? The smallest size bottle is 125ml, and my son is already drinking 130ml now. Dun wanna make the FM twice and disrupt his feeding.

spammed by neo garden

well, my guess is correct. got spammed by neo garden twice today on their promotions, their new susidiary company, not sure anymore.

my guess, prior to emailing my boy's BC, was that they would spam me when my son turns one yr old (that's still a long way), spam me on my b'day, spam my DH on his b'day, etc.

I expect to receive some flyers in my mailbox soon! hahaha.

flos,

The ad suggests it's good for back/shoulder massage. We just found alternative uses for it *wink*

Jonas poos after every feed (despite being on FM). So minimum 8 pcs per day. The recommendation is to change every 3 hrs, so I think 8-10 per day is norm. 12 pcs means changing almost every 2 hrs... Does Isaac poo/pee a lot?

I think u shld change the bottle size. I'm not using Avent teats, so no comments..

BB passport:

If u want to make passport for your bb, do it now when they are less mobile and will not struggle much. I made Joshua's passport too late when he's abt 15 mths old. It was extremely difficult to get him to pose for passport photos at home. Went to photo studio and he was fussing. In the end, we went to ICA --- the dimensions are correct but the expression was totally wrong (his mouth was wide open)! The passport is valid for 5 yrs, though the officer can request for a change if the photo does not resemble the actual person as they grow older!

flos

its possible to use up to 12 pcs...or even more than that..Carine been pooing whole day..can change n change..shes still using the 0 teats..seems ok to her now...usually change when u find that they are taking a longer time to finish sucking...for bottle size,shes using the pigeon + avent..sometimes i still give her the 125ml bottle for her 130ml feed..haha..lazy to change yet...but i find my ger like the pigeon teats better...

lok..

BB passport

tink go ICA take photo for bb better..they more experience n they koe the 'rules'...if i not wrong,less than 1 mth can dun open eyes...after that the eyes must be open...tts wat they told me for my FB 2yrs ago...hehe..my FB still using her bb photo for her passport..hope the immigration officer wun stop me yet...now cannot change photo only lia..must change the whole passport..waste $ man..will do my SB passport jus before i want go travel..

flos
i guess that's cos little issac doesn't sleep with u on the bed? If he does, u just turn over and bf him. No need to fully wake even. that's how i retained my beauty sleep! Hee hee
And for teat, i changed to the next size when isabelle turned 2 mths old.

I just took my first proper bath since the day i popped! Feels so shiok!
And am still binding on and off to this day!

seem like after giving birth memory getting worst sia.
BB passport normally how old then we start doing?
when can we start to go swimming again if we had c-sec? cant wait to go back swimming again.

flos- regarding pampers issue my boy can used up to around 8-10 if i not wrong per day

Hello mummies..

I saw some of you need to carry baby alot.. now my baby also like that.. but my baby still very newborn.. i see most of you have babies around 1mth or even bigger. Did you all buy those netted-type of rocker? can use that to rock your baby.. can be quite effective.

Flos,
teats n bottles no need to change so often.. around 3-6mths. But your Avent bottle is abit too small. I m using Pigeon and the smallest size is 250ml.

diapers usage: ok, so 8-10 is the norm. Some of u might recall I bought 8 packs of Pampers NB from the Motherhood Fair a few months ago. Then TMC gave me another pack so that makes it 9 packs. I was astonished the other day when CL told me I'm left with 2 packs! I shd've kept the Pampers in my cabinet and only take it out when she uses up the current ones.

BB passport: Unlike SarahMay who is going to use the passport in Nov, I will only use it next yr (as and when my DH travels abroad). I am sure my boy's face will change by next yr...

I'm still waiting for my nursing tops to arrive, else I dunno how to pacify him in the public.

Autum: my CL told me those netted type of rocker/bouncer can flip when ur bb gets heavier.

isabelle: my bedsheets are kinda dirty I feel
I need to change them liao, else bb's facial rashes are going to get worse if I lie side y side with him on my bed!!!

I was binding my waist on and off last week until I felt some pretty unusual abdominal discomfort. Do u feel that way?

Can PIGEON TEATS fit AVENT bottles?

BB passport

told mum i wanna do it together wit birth cert.. she said i'm CRAZY!! bb so young cannot go overseas...danger...juz stay in singapore... hahahaha... Mum Oh Mum...........

flos - you could use a cloth like the diaper cloth to lie on the bed then at least when your boy head sleep onthe side is still clean. bt the cloth better to change it everyday

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg)- for playpen i bought is graco brand. kinda of big also
now got problem to place it inside my bedroom le. maybe going to let my boy sleep on the bed.

<font color="aa00aa">Flos
Looks like u gonna train Issac to be a surfer dude,hehe..I didnt sign up the package cos juz wanted to try it out. I had a voucher for 1 free session so I used that yst. By the way, Issac alrdy doing 130ml?? Charlotte can only drink 70-85ml only!! She can't drink much but she is still fat lor..hehe.. PAMPERS- Char is alrdy wearing the S size!! gonna upgrade to M size for Huggies Ultra soon!!

lilboymom
i didnt knw it's not advisable to bring bb swimming without doing all those jabs... she's been going everywhere with me since she was 3weeks old!!! Gosh...

Bigtoes
i think they sell the float, not sure... can try calling them to find out. www.babyswimming.com.sg

Angeline
They have a new outlet at Plaza Singapura..just opened only.

Sarahmay
Charlotte is alrdy 5.2kg and that was last week's weight, i'm sure she's heavier now...can feel it when i carry her! She have my heavyweight genes,oh no!!</font>

Lok - would really love to join u gals but its my ROM anniversay with hubby. So maybe the next meet up instead.
At lest your CL helped you made red eggs and ang ku kueh. mine tells me to throw party in seafood restuarant. She thinks i print money.

Today, hubby bought a bombebe stroller for my darling. I hope to use it at the manyue party this Sunday.

My bb was a merlion last night and just now. Its really due to feeding too close and i ticked my CL off. With all these happening, i wish i was back at work.

im from Nov 08 thread. My confinement lady just cancel my bookings.. My edd is 13 Nov, any CL to introduce this very last minute
Thanks in advance

sunrays: I am very puzzled too how bb isaac can 'guzzle' 130ml every 3 hours. He is 4.5kg this evening. I think he is undergoing a'growth spurt' as the textbooks have pointed out. When he hits 5 kg, I'll change to the next size. Thanks!

Hv u received your Petunia diaper bag yet?

breadmom: mine also thinks I print money! She wastes a lot of my pampers, wipes, cordy...I wonder when my Filipino maid is going to arrive...When she is here, I'll be more confident to take Isaac out to the malls.

Lok,
Thanks for the recommendation. I intend to go down to bb hypermart to look see this weekend. Checked with Mothercare..their playpen out of stock!

Bigtoes,
ECreative catering was good..portion wise big too..my guests could tabao..but my mom said the jap toufu probably went back cos it was covered too long..overall good..

Party was great..will post pics when free..

Shazz,
Yeah not easy for the 1st week when i take care of Kaiden on my own..but u will get the hang of it v soon..soon u will know how to identify his diff types of crying..
Watch you back though..i am already nursing a backache due to carrying, cuddling and lifting him in n out of the cot...but it a joy when u know the bb is close to u..my hubby commented that only I can pacify the bb...hee..

Flos, sunrays
Think huaxia's pools are small pools for single bbs. they change their water after every customer (i rem they said so) so it should be ok for very young bbs.

Aquaducks and Marsden use normal pool (chlorinated) though some are heated pools.there are other bbs in the class so its better for bb to complete his/her jabs first...

the difference is that huaxia use float and i think their main aim is more for water therapy. not so much for bbs to learn how to swim. you put the bb in the tub and let the bb waddle himself...the swim schools however dun use floats,parents go down to the pool with the bbs, guiding them along their swim clss.

A few examples of what they do in swim class...
1. Get dunked..hahaha..get used to the feel of going under water...
2. saftey entry - entering the water safely from the side of the pool, and then to turna round and paddle back inside the water...
3. Paddle a short distance from mummy to intructor vice versa
4. Retrieve objects in water...etc...

they do these thru songs and games suitable for todds...quite fun lah...start them early so they wont be scared of water. usually more difficult to start once they hit a year old...

bb passport
can make anytime. think bb can travel from three day old onwards. correct me if im wrong.

first brought cy overseas when he's four months old. yeah quite easy to take photo for him at ICA.

if you wanna take at home, you have to make sure there's no shadow eyes open etc...you can use photshop to correct any flaws...but the dimension thing is troublesome lah...

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: Can apply bb's passport online? Want to apply for Zane also..

My baby also can turn his head when he lay on his tummy but sometimes he does get stuck for a while before turning. Keke..

Teat hole size: I didn't bottle feed my boy much in the 1st &amp; this mth so do I need to change the teat hole? Or just leave it?</font>

Flos - at lest yours waste diapers. mine spoilt my scanpans. the base is burnt till like charcoal. So you can imagine only 3 weeks, what my cookwares have gone through.

can turn around and say, "these not $10/$20 type like M'sia? most family use cheap pans " i totally give up.

bacon &amp; eggs - is their wheat prawn any good? and dessert? what did u pick?

Hey - anyone breaking out in rashes? am breaking out in heat rash..legs, and tummy

can finally get a breather from the kids. i had my worst night and day ever ever yesterday and today. all three cried at the same time, all three wanted to feed at the same time! after i breastfed cadence, she decided today, she didn't want to sleep, and cried and cried. so i had to carry her and at the same time, feed jared his food! arrgh! and last night, nat cried from 5am to 630am!!!! wanted the maid to carry her to sleep. put her to sleep on her own and she'd cry. then cadence decided she was super hungry, kept wanting to feed and feed, then after that, vomitted on my bed!!! arrrrrrgh!!!

thank goodness this little nightmare is over coz my parents are back!!!! sent the two todds back to my parents. hiak hiak.

PLAYPEN VS COT:
i've a cot at my mum's and a playpen in my house. there are only two positions for the playpen. when bb is able to sit up, will have to lower it all the way. it's not actually soft. if you buy a good mattress, i think it's ok. my playpen can be folded up so no probls bringing it into the room.

flos,
cadence is turning 6 weeks this weds but i won't be in any hurry to change her teat size yet. also, avent teats only fit avent bottles. other teats won't fit avent bottles.

sunrays,
charlotte is sooooooo adorable and chubby!!! she really looks like she's enjoying her water therapy!

can i check with u mummies , anyone brought baby to polyclinic for injection instead of to the baby's doc? example : 6 in 1 jab , rotavirus , pneumococcal? any difference between the jab from polyclinic or private clinic?

hi chantelle,
i'll be bringing my boy to polyclinic.

according to the hosp i gv birth in, they say the diff is tat polyclnic's vaccine is much fresher cos many BB took vaccines from there.
However, clinic's may nt be tt fresh.

Note...

polyclinic sometimes do not offer those 6in1 jabs that private gps/pds do..so check first..they usually give 5in1 somore chances of bb getting fever after jabs...

normally better to let them inject 5 in 1 or 6 in one. my hse clinic here say what 2 mth inject 6 in 1, 4th mth 5in1, 6mth 6 in 1 again. listen till i blur also

isabelle : polyclinic does'nt do? haha cause tat's the expensive one. for the pneumococcal b4 6 mths need 4 jab , and doc say $180 per jab. And just to ask for the bb doc , do the hospital u give birth in refer or u all find one outside urself?

sian now my boy seem to like my mum most. whenever he doesnt want to sleep when my mum carry him not long he will sleep so sad

breadmum,
Wheat prawn ok. My FIL says not bad though not as fresh as those in the restaurant..

I picked bo bo cha cha (hot)...very nice according to my FIL...pineapple rice and mee goreng also good..thai chix and sweet sour fish also v good..i didnt like their tartlet though..a bit soggy..

LeXin catering
Got my first tingkat dinner last nite...portion ok, i had fried prawn, stir fried cabbage, soya chix and fried potatoe..they were v late though...almost 8pm...super hungry..so they tasted v good to me!
It is indeed v convenient to cater...i just had to cook rice.. they promised to be here tonite at 6pm.

Milk Supply
Mine decreased instead of increased over time..i pumped only a pathetic 10ML (both breasts)..i wonder what went wrong...ggrrr...anyone facing the same situation? any remedy to intro?

Catering
Finally 1st month over on sunday and i finally washed my hair... terrible! I ordered from Good Luck, everyone commented nice. I booked from them for my tea ceremony last yr too. Twice i ordered but never tried.

Milk Supply
My milk have already decreased and have been supplement baby with FM (Similac) for few days le. The best way to stop BM is not to latch, only pump.. Slowly drag the hrs of pumping and the milk supply will drop.

Decided not to BM due to gg back work next month. Actually quite sad to stop BM, but luckily to have hubby's console that i have done my best to supplement baby with BM for 1 month.

Water
My MIL commented that i should give baby water at least 40ml in case she reject water in the future. I was angry but still give in. Hubby told MIL off yesterday that not to give baby too much water, a little is ok.

Malay massage
I only had 2 sessions, auntie commented that my body no wind and water retention only muscles are tired. She is good.. Feel so relax after she massage.

Injections
Will be bringing baby to polyclinic for injection tomorrow. My hubby's colleague told him that is cheaper to go polyclinic for injection and all the jabs no difference from clinic.

Tummy
Do you all still have those dark lines? Anyone have a good cream for tightening of tummy?

Flos (flos): I have plenty of bottles! So I don't have to walk to the kitchen to wash and sterilise straight away. I just do everything within my bedroom, in the dim light instead of the bright flourescent light in the kitchen! Make milk, feed, change all in the room, so baby and me not subjected to bright light and we can both get back to sleep easily. ;) Lazy mummy!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) : i record my pump time and the best production for me is usually in the morning and at night before I sleep. Throughout the day, when I pump, supply is not as good. I read that different woman have different "prime" time for pumping. You may want to track that to see which is your prime time.