(2008/09) Sep 2008

Autumn
my boy is coming to 2 end of this month!!! most likely celebrating his bday and then later on his sister's baby dedication in church. not having the traditional manyue...

wow, you went hospital oredi fully dilated?i was only 4cm dilated and i just went there and say i dun care what, i wan epidural. they put in the epidural and i was fully dilated. the epidural took 15minutes to work. by then i delivered the bb oredi. could feel teh epi kick in after my delivery...so a bit wasted lah. but receive the first bill theres a 300plus waiver, wondering if it's the anaesthetist waiver or not...kekekeke...

flos
haha..sorry, but barney's 'i love you, you love me...' to drown out the tibetan chants?kekeke...

lok
hang in there. im sure little jonas will pass the tests with flying colours. you must rest well too. dun get too stressed up over fm feeding now. both your kiddoes need you to be happy!

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: Congrats on your EBM!!! Happy for you! My bb sleep in his cot but when he get cranky in the early morning like 5-6am, I will carry him &amp; lay his tummy on my tummy to sleep cos if I put him in his cot, he will make alot of noise.

Autumn: Congrats to your NB!! Welcome! I also gotten a few bargains from the Want to Sell thread!

Lok: Take care! Hugz!</font>

Autum: yep, I served/gave the ang ku kueh and red eggs too. But I dun hv a cake cos cuppamomma cldn't deliver my orders due to Hari Raya Puasa.

lilnboymum: Dun really fancy Barney either, but it's better than those repetitive-sounding chants u probably hv heard before...

storeberry: ur cot is in your bedroom? When my maid comes in 2 weeks time,my DH wants my cot in our masterbedroom...aiyo...he doesn't want the maid to jaga my bb in another room.

btw, what bargains did u get from the WTS thread? I also want to sell something there, must I pay to sell my stuffs there?

lilboymum,
ok la, u got a waiver, so not so bad.. else u pay so much for epi!

storeberry,

flos,
u ordered the red eggs or u make them yourself?

flos,
i see. thanks. cos I dun have CL. so i was wondering how to get the red eggs. but then again, i may not be doing a manyue party. :p

Sri leo- i done mine at ica. it take very fast. the moment you get all the document signed, thenthey will print the cert on the spot

Flos, I mentioned I used 'Milderm' to clean my boy's face yesterday? Seems like it's better today.
Keeping fingers crossed. Will bathe him later and try it out again. If it's okie, then I'll skip the visit to the PD.
When's your CL's last day? Gosh, she's really one of a kind. Your hub is right to get the bb out of the room! So did she still sleep with your bb last night?

Autum, will your bb wipe his mittens all over his face and then put it into his mouth? I'm worried about applying anything on his face cos he has the tendency to do that.

Thanks mummies for your encouragement!
I overslept last night and pumped after 8 hrs (total ~150ml). Not even leaking. Think it should be relatively easy for me to stop this time. On the positive side, at least, it means I can bring kiddoes out and go for my HK holidays without worrying abt latching or pumping every few hours.

Ade(littlepea),

Jonas is 24 days old now. He went from jaundice-free upon discharge to a level of 20.4 on day 6 and then 11.1 on day 9 (after treble phototherapy). It shot back up to 27 (day 21) after I resumed TBF. Seems to be doing much better on FM and putting on some weight. I don't think it's mecomium as he poos very regularly (at least 5 times a day and it's yellowish). As PD says it's uncommon for the jaundice level to go back up (and to such high level), the tests were done to rule out abnormalities. He has to go back for another round of bilirubin test tomorrow.

Kyrie: it's really strange...this morning, my boy's face was so red. After his bath, it's ok...IT's been like this 'on and off'. Wondering if I shd tahan until his scheduled PD visit on Sat?

Where did u get MIlderm?

Storeberry: how"s the jin yin hua on Zane?

sri-leo: mine also done at ICA @ Lavender, cheaper ($18) and faster. 20min settled. depends on your convenience...

flos,

It is common for the acne to come on and off. If u see PD, most likely they will give steriod cream which is very effective but will cause thinning of the skin. I always think baby smooth skin is a fallacy. It only happens when they are much older (5-6 mths for Joshua)!!

Lok: thanks for the assurance. Just that everyone's asking me abt his milk rashes at his manyue ytd. A bit concerned if it's eczema.

Hope Jonas is getting better
Do u hv a CL, in addition to your maid?

Flos, yah it seems to lighten sometimes but at times it just comes back so furiously. Sigh. I'm also confused. His acne is like ALL OVER his face and even his scalp. And yup everybody asked about it during his Man Yue too.

Milderm - I don't know if it can be bought from pharmacies but I got it from my gynae last night to clean my nipples to get rid of the 'hardened colostrum'. It's very gentle and can be used on baby's skin. Can be used with or without water in fact.

I'm trying to hang on with the PD visit first. Waiting to see if it will work on him. Will bathe him with it later instead of using Mustela.

Lok, do take care. I know how it feels seeing your baby undergoing so many tests and pricks on his little heel. The blood test for the liver was taken from the back of his hands somemore..

Lok: No lah, am just curious, that's all

kyrie: I know what u mean. When he gets flustered and hot, it's really red. After his bath, he is ok.

MIA for few days cos since CL left, life has never been the same again! My boy could sense that his fav caretaker is gone and wants to be carried all the time now! When CL was around, we dun carry him much, usually leave him alone in his cot to play (punch air, kick air) and he's ok with it and would only make noise after 10mins or so. Sometimes, he would even drift off to sleep on his own. But since CL left, he needs to be carried till he sleeps and when I put him down, he'll wake up! It took me a while to find his fav position to get to sleep and how to put him down without waking him. Things are much better now.

Angeline: Sorry, I don't have any spare Calendula Cream from the spree, it was over-subsribed too! haha, I already spared one to my colleague.

Baby Acne: I was told this will be on off, no need to worry and apply anything. Just use sterile water and cotton pad to clean face and make sure to use a seperate piece of cotton pad for the mouth area.

Shazz/Flos, but my boy's acne has even gone to his scalp. That's why I'm pretty worried. For the past one week, it's been 'on', 'off' meaning it subsides a little and doesn't look as red. Doesn't totally go off.

<font color="aa00aa">hi mummies
been a while since i posted..cos been busy bringing bb out everywhr i go.. trying to let her get used to noisy malls and strangers,haha!!

yst brought her to her first swimming experience, it's so cute!! took pics and vdos, cos her expression super blur(juz up frm nap)..i think all babies love to swim!! My gal hates bathing but yst in the pool, she was smiling! can swing her hands and kick somemore... their head is abv water cos of the special float, so hands and feet can move freely in the water...chk out the website..

www.babyswimming.com.sg</font>

1766214.jpg

kyrie,
my baby does wipe her face a bit with her mittens.. but all these cream that doc gave is safe and even if they do put in their mouth, i think it's very minimal so should be ok.

sunrays: char looks so happy in the tub! hard to believe she hates to bathe! keke

kyrieleison (kyrie): my boy got pimples on his scalp too! CL said nothing to worry about.

Shazz, really ah? I was so worried when I saw it spreading to his scalp. I knew it wasn't cradle cap cos it's exactly as the ones on his face. So are you intending to bring him to the PD or just clean him with water and see if it goes away?

Autum, I actually have this cream from PD but he advised me not to apply on his face in case he eats it so i'm quite apprehensive when it comes to applying anything on his face.

Sunrays, your little one looks so cute! The smile on her face is priceless.

Sunrays,
your baby looks so cute!

kyrie,
oh, but my PD asked me to apply! he didn't specifically mention the face, he said can apply on all these little dots (cos initially she had a few dots on her body as well).. hmm.. and last time with my boy, same PD, he also asked us to apply le.

kyrieleison (kyrie): have no intention of bringing him to PD cos I was assured by many of my friends who're experienced mummies that they'll clear up on their own. Now I'm keeping him as cool as possible, CL did'nt let him use air-con and fan, so he was sticky and hot, hence the rashes and pimples. But it seems to be getting better since I took over the job of caring for him.

sunrays: char is adorable in the pool!!! u opted for the 4 sessions one or 7? Will they piss immediately after the swim? I am tempted to take Isaac to Huawxia too, cos mom and dad are sea-lovers and beach bums! We can't wait for him to grow older to take him to Bali to wade in the shallow waters!!!

Hi Sunray,

I am also bringing marcellus to swimming this wednesday ! Hopefully he will enjoy it...
Like you, I am bring Marcellus to the mall and massages... Now i am trying to bring him out alone.... Quite a challenge for me...

swimmer bbs
you guys can wait for bbs to turn 6mths, when they are done with all their compulsory jabs, then bring them for swim cls.

There's Marsden or Aquaducks. You guys can also arrange for trial for mummies in this thread. they teach water safety as well as getting the bbs accustomed to water. by the time they reach two, most can swim a few strokes already..not those conventional strokes they learn at adult swim cls, but enough for them to survive a few mroe seconds in case they fall into pool...(they teach them how to turn around and kick to the nearest ledge too!!!)

icic.. thks koras!

9 oct morning wanna go make birth cert den quickly rush to KKH.. so muz plan the time carefully..hee..

Autum/Shazz,
If PD says it's all right then i'm sure it's fine. Perhaps its the type of cream. Yah I also noticed that the spots are better when he's kept cool.

lilboymum
is aquaducks expensive? I thot of letting my girl learning swimming but i'm afraid she'll like swimming so much later next time turn into joscelin yeo's physique so scary!!! If i had a son i wld have sent him to aquaducks long ago!

sunrays
ooh charlotte looks sooooo adorable! And she's so happy too!

LC (faintz): my boy also! and he's like 5kg, so my wrist hurts after 1 day of carrying him! I resorted to using Pupsik pouches and MIMs slings, it helped sometimes. But he refuse to be in it for too long

<font color="0077aa">Flos: My cot is in my room now, but if the maid comes, most prob I will shift the cot out &amp; lock my bedroom cos I don't want maid to have access to it.

I gotten things like the Avent warmer &amp; MIM sling. But we can't sell yet cos you need to be SMH member for at least 1 yr then can sell.

We bathe Zane with Jin Ying Hua, seems like the rashes got better but today came back agin on the cheeks. The chest area also got a few...

Sunrays: Charlotte looks like she is enjoying herself!</font>

<font color="0077aa">LC &amp; Shazz: My boy also like to be carried till he fall asleep! Sometimes so tired till not put my arms on the cushion to ease off. And sometimes I can muti task by carrying him &amp; sufing the net! If not super bored!</font>

Hi, Shazz
My baby boy also abt 5kg and I need to put on wrist band earlier cos not use to carry baby.. now the wrist like "adapted"..I used the MIM sling but he rejected.. he can cry until like tearing the roof and got tears somemore.. help help!!! is your baby on his back with head to the side? or is he sleeping by the side?

Hi,Storeberry
I am doing the same thing when reading the postings.. I carry him with one hand and the other typing or strolling

For the rashes, I do not if you wan to try this mtd. to bath baby with half a can of stout with warm water. as for the face, continue to use the cotton wool in cool boiled water to wipe, expecially after feeding..

Hi, Lok
My baby had jaundice on day 6 and have to be admitted for phototherapy for two nights.. do you want to try to bath baby with the rice water (that was used to wash the rice) added to warm water. Alternatively, you can give your baby some slip of the jin ying hua water.just soem suggestions which work for my baby.

Hi,Lilboymum
Is it ok for baby to sleep in playpen? tot the surface is softer than the cot? would it be unhealthy for baby spine? I wan to get a playpen too but was confused on the suface if it is very soft..can advise?

LC (faintz): my boy is sleeping mostly on his tummy now, cos he loves it and he knows how to change sides once he gets tired of facing a certain direction. His neck is pretty strong already.

LC
the playpens come with a top layer now where the kiddoes can sleep. not soft leh, it's hard cardboard...if you lay a mattress on it then soft i guess...

isabelle..
hahah..same fear as hb for my girl lah. he doesnt want jos yeo physique in his daughter...

aquaduck and marsden $25 per half hour. anyway, each lesson is only 1/2hour, the tods cant last that long. CY started with marsden when he was 8 mth old. now can paddle a bit so am thinking of taking him out and putting him in safra coz distance too far for us...somemore he's starting mandeville next year so am 'cutting back' a bit...kekekeke....

hey, wanna start isabelle in mandeville? then she and cy can be classmates..kekekekek...

Wa, Shazz.. your boy is clever.. mine still can't handle changing sides.. neck is not strong though he is older than the babies here.. aiya.. wan to bring your boy to swim? I am tempted leh but dun know this lazy bum will wan it or not cos he is sleeping after milk.. very seldom will be awake for socializing..

playpens
actually for mummies with cots, why are you getting another playpen?

i feel the lifespan of playpen quite short. coz most can be used until bb starts sitting up, and since you cannot lower it like the cot, you have to tsf them somewhere else oredi.

as for playpen being good to lock them up, maybe you can try play yard? i feel playpen too small. very limiting for children. not good for devt too since space too small...

we got playpen coz we didnt know better then. but when he was old enough, we started co sleeping, so no big issue here...

angeline
i ordered a little extra of the calendula from Shazz spree. if u want, i can spare one

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum)
thanks for the info about playpens and play yards. where can i get a play yard?

heavy bbs
went to PD today for the 6 week check up and apparently Jonathan is a bit heavy at 5.46kg...the doc called him "fatty bom bom". no wonder my hands are breaking each time after carrying him for feeding.i totally empathise with everyone who has to carry their bb to sleep!

lilboymum, thanks.. My baby cot is too big to be moved to our room.. and have to dismantle and re-assemble if wan to move into our room.. actually we are thinking of letting baby sleep in the cot in his room but he refused so tot of getting a playpen and move it into our room so that my hubby can get to our queen size bed.. now, he is sleeping on the mattress on the floor..

LC (faintz): thanks! Really thankful my boy is relatively easy to care for. He sleeps really well and I hope he'll sleep thru the night soon. At 4 weeks, he was able to sleep for 4 hours straight, waking up only once during the night for feed.

Coping without CL: am glad I'm able to cope now after getting a hang of what my boy likes, how he prefers to be handled and his favourite sleeping posture etc. I can even differiente his cries when he's cranky and wants to sleep.

Co-sleeping: We pushed his cot into our bedroom after CL left. So far, it has been a bliss cos he can sleep for long stretches. He screams when he wants milk though. So I cheated! Here's what I do, for night feed, I use FM. So I prepare 2 bottles of cool boiled water, a hot water flask, with the milk powder stacker, like what I prepare when we go out. I leave them in my room, so I can prepare the milk quickly when he shows signs of hunger! I noticed that this way, it minimise his crying and he can continue to sleep when drinking his milk. Usually I'm done feeding him, changing diaper and putting him back into his cot within half hour. Sometimes, I even have time to wash and sterilise his bottles before climbing back to bed.

Sunrays! Hello! You MIA very long. Charl is sooooooo cute. How heavy is she now?

L'l CY: Your boy still co-sleeping with you? How old was he when you started co-sleeping? I think my boy already co-sleep with us...but worried abt it affecting our couplehood. Youknow what i mean la.

Dseptkon: Hear the haenim playyard from Kiddy Palace is good. My friend uses it with her strong tot...and can tahan his 'violent' shakes. Jon is fatty bom bom? Wah! He has grown a lot from last visist eh?

Flos; Dun worry la ...i don't think Isaac has eczema. if so, the PD would have told you.

Baby Smooth Skin: Yah...i also realised that it is a fallacy .

dsepkon
your gynae meanie leh....call him fatty!!!

can get from chong choon or kiddy palace (haenim or sumthing like dat)....there was a sale recently...robinson or isetan....also sell..hexagonal one...

Sri Leo; We did bb's BC at ICA. Doesn't take very long. My hubby went down alone. Done within an hour or less. Just fill up the documents before u go. U get cert on the spot.

BB Passport: I just applied for bb's passport today online. Hope his photo is accepted!

LC,
You can go to Harbourfront - there is this shop which provides swimming facility for bb..they provide float, not sure abt the swimsuit..

Btw, did you buy a playpen for your bb to place in your bedroom? I am planning to get one cos cot bed is too big to shift ard...but i want kaiden to sleep with us at nite..how much does a playpen cost in avg?

dseptkon,

I hv the haemin play-yard setup at home. U gauge for yourself whether it's a good buy when u come for the gathering.

My playpen can lower all the way down, so my FB is still sleeping in it. It lasted much longer than my bb cot (only 10 mths).

CO-SLEEPING:
I'm the contrarian again. Affecting couple-life is one thing. I also "dread" co-sleeping with my FB cos he kicks us throughout the night. We always wake up with a headache the next day due to sleep deprivation --- no thanks to his incessant kicking!