(2008/09) Sep 2008

Koras - your baby dun poo alot? drink Yakult, it might helps.. My baby poo alot when I drink Yakult and if I anyhow eat outside food. so far, even after confinement, I cook my own meals to make sure no MSG cos breastfeeding..

<font color="0077aa">Flos: aiyoo.. your Cl really CMI! You must be so fustrated! But she will be leaving soon right?

I am thinking of buying a bigger cot so that in future can be converted to a toddler bed...</font>

Finally celebrated Kaiden's manyue today! Ecreative food was well received (some commented that this caterer is one of the nicer one they ate) and portion huge! My guests could tabao after the party ended.

Ordered a cake from Awfully chocolate too..banana choc...my guests love it...will post pics soon..

Shazz,
I was at vivo late too...trying to get a dress for my manyue party..saw u outside burger king

<font color="0077aa">LC (faintz): yes, my current cot is from my SIL, can only last till 3-4mths old only. I don't have a playpen, I don't intend to get one now.

bacon&amp;egg: Wow, sounds like ecreative is good! Shall keep them in mind for future!</font>

I guessed right. Today, I broached the topic of bringing BB to my parents' place for a visit and it was downright rejected viciously. Reason as what I have stated before, the dog and their house is unhygienic! My HB says unless the dog is not there, otherwise, we canot go over till baby is older, at least 6 months old! That is so ridiculous. And if my parents want to see the baby, then they will have to come over. I argued with my HB, telling him he is being ridiculous since he wants to bring BB out everywhere now, in the crowd, where there should be more viruses flying around. As BB's grandparents, it is not wrong for her to go to their house. Imagine if my parents are not able to come over, they can only see her when she is 6 months old! My HB scolds me for crying but I can't seem to stop my tears from flowing.

I feel so miserable. Now I know how hopeless feels like. I know you gals have told me before this is a vicious cycle. But I still can't seem to get out of it. No matter how I argue with my HB, I still seem to lose.

Wingkei - let ur hubby bring the child out alone, u can shake leg and wait for his phone call. Let him feel the hardship. He will beg u, and u can officially bring ur child to ur parent house.

Manyue - anyone can enlighten me the need of getting a cake? Do u all conduct a cake cutting ceremony with baby? I being to fren's manyue .. only eat buffet and see baby.

LC

drink yakult helps? keke..will try..my bb still haven poo lei today...shes on bm lei..today 2nd day liao...me bought a papaya..tinking of eating 2morow to c if it helps

qqq

i got order a big cake but i didnt conduct cake cutting ceremony..the cake was just put on the buffet table so tt the guest can eat it on their own..

Hi all mommies, just to find out, the brand for Lansinoh milk bag n the nipple cream, and California Baby are not avail in singapore's retail shop rite?

Today will be my Ryan's Manyue aka full mth celebration.

we have engaged Neo Gdn for caterer n The Choz for the fruits tarts n red eggs etc for our relatives.

So will MIA for today. will update you all the food from neo gdn n The Choz.

I wish Ryan will be good today..... *cross fingers*

>__<

just bought my son to c doc again. he insert a bullet kind of medicine into his anus and after we bought him back, not long he poo. doc say could be due to the milk powder(smiliac) that cause the constipation. so recommand we try another brand of milk powder and use it alt. the thing ishard to change to the new brand as my dad that time saw cheap at my house nearby petrol station,now left with 4 tins.

koras - i do take vitagen/yakult once a day as well, but i think it contribute to my own poo and not baby.LOL.

Hope your son poo soon. what you can do with the unopen cans of milk is sell them online. see if there are any takers.

Hi, Angeline

u can try and see... seldom baby will constipate if on BM.. do u use formula? If so, better let baby drink a bit of water after the feed..

Hi, Wingkei
Your hubby is hopeless!!!! He need to work right? If yes, then you just bring baby to your parents place..book a taxi and off you go.. if your hubby is angry with you for doing that,you can just stay with your parents. Pls take good care of yourself and think positively, dun slip into depression.. only when you are healthy, you can take care of yourself and baby and wun be under the mercy of your hubby..

Hi mummies, today's the 3rd session for baby's Man Yue celebration. Can't wait for this one to be over!!! Had two sessions yesterday - lunch and dinner and hub and I were really shagged by 9pm!

Breadmum, I agree with storeberry. Their butter cake was really quite dry. Not very good I find. But their buffet was not too bad. Their curry chix, fried rice and black pepper pork chop were good.. but they screwed up during the setting up process. I had lunch and dinner with them but when they delivered dinner, they didn't bring enough 'stands' for the food trays. Supposed to complete setting up by 5.30pm, they only came back and complete setup by 6.30pm.

Giving bb water.. yah sometimes I'm also tempted to give it to him when I see him having hiccups. But told myself to hang on till 5 months if pos. My PD says can.. but as a last resort. Milk will do just fine.

Koras, sometimes my boy also poops once a day and he is also on full BM. Usually when he only poops once a day, it's alot. So I'm not too bothered liao. Could your boy be undergoing a growth spurt? He's drinking rather much in such a short period. My boy's coming 4 weeks and I've started giving him 100ml every 3 hrly yesterday. Apparently really can last him 3hrs or even longer (like last night) when I fed him at 9 plus and he didn't even wake up for milk till I jumped out of bed suddenly at 1plus wondering why he hasn't asked for milk yet. Even then, he was sound asleep but I fed him all the same.

Storeberry/Sarahmay/Flos, my boy has those pimple like rash on his whole face and even on his scalp now!! Going to bring him to the doc tomm.

Jaymickey, the food was enough but the lunch wasn't as good. Perhaps wrong choice of dishes cos it ended quite dry. Yah for 40 pax they only provided 4 warmers too. Dishes during dinner was different and more pple and they didn't bring enough warmers! Told them straight off that they have to settle it quickly!

LC, I'm also planning to take flight very often after my confinement next thursday. Hee tuesdays to my granny's place for dinner, then fri night staying over at my mum's and sunday night for dinner at my mum's too.

Btw, am thinking of getting a baby bjorn baby carrier. Any comments on that? And any idea where I can buy it from?

Hi Koras, yup that's what the PD gave me too when I brought my boy to him 2 weeks back. he didn't pooped for one day but I waited for another day before deciding if I should insert the bullet like thing. Luckily he pooped the next day.

Hi wingkei, have been reading about you and your hubby + ILs. I can imagine how hard it is for you to handle a newborn and to deal with such nonsense at home. Your husband is amazingly MCP (hope you don't mind me saying that)!

BABY SLEEPING - Wan to ask how many of your baby is sleeping alone in the baby cot in his/her own room? Is it too early to do so? My baby refused to sleep in the baby cot alone in his room after confinement lady left.. he can sense that he is alone..so now he is sleeping with us which I feel it is not healthy. can anyone advise?

<font color="0077aa">LC (faintz): MY bb is sleeping in the same cot but shifted to our room cos last time its in the other room with CL. So far he never reject the cot. So why not you move the cot to your room, easier for you to feed &amp; change him also.</font>

Can I join your thread? I have just given birth to my girl last Sunday on the 28 Sep. She is my 2nd child. Her name is EV, born at 3.58kg, natural without epi.

I see that this thread has many mummies, and hope that I can learn and share with all of you here. I m quite active in my FB's thread in March 07. My elder boy is now 19mths.

Hope to join u all for activities some times.

co sleeping or not
my fb was sleeping in his room in his own playpen since day 1 of birth. i may be wrong, but that may have contributed to his crankiness in his early days..heh heh heh...he was fine and managed to sleep through early (by week 8).

we started co sleeping when he was older coz he was losing weight and the doc suggest i do night feeds since he refuse the bottle in the day...

im bought to the idea of co sleeping oredi. i think it contributes much to the psychological well being of the child.bbs need to be close to humans especially their parents...night time can increase their sense of vulnerability, and they sense it readily.

there will be a time when both the kids will want their personal space and wont even want us in their rooms. really when you co sleep, you will have the sweetest memory of many rituals and moments that your kids will rem when they are older. a bit inconvenient for a while but entirely worth the effort...

Hi autumn
welcome!!!why your fb and sb have very close age gap!! they will bound to enjoy each other's company as they grow up..so fun!!!

Kyrie: I also want to get the Baby Bjorn! Need to find out where has got the best deals. Which model u thinking of getting?

Belly Button: Any of your bbs got reddish inflamation of the navel? My poor darling has...sigh...and I did all i cld t care for his cord. Anw, i was a bit worried tt it cld blow up to somthing serious.

Storeberry: So goood your bb can sleep in his own cot. Mine doesn't really like his playpen. Only slept there like 2 nites! then moved him to my bed to try side lying position for nursing at nite...since then...aiyo...cannot put him back. Then when he discovered the prone sleeping position, he wakes more often at nite cos cannot sleep on side. How?

LC; I also want to train my darling to sleep in his own room...on his own mattress/cot.

FEEDS: Mine is 18 days old. But now slowly stretching from 2 hrly to 2.5hrly feeds. But at nite, seems to wake more often. How do you know how much EBM to feed if you do BF? I BF and haven't fed him much EBM cos can't seem to express much. But today, so happy! Managed to express 80ml at one go. Not a lot compared to many of u...but for me it is a miracle!!!

Autumn; Wow! Congrats! You are amazing! Big bb but no epi! How did you manage?! Well done!

Hi lilboymum,
I m having some difficulty adjusting my boy now. He is ok with his baby sister, but many things have happened all at once, so I think he feels abit insecure.. Cos I just changed him to a new CC, I got a new housemaid, and then the new baby.

You are also a 2nd time mummy.. how old is your boy?

Hi sarahmay,
my birth for this baby was super fast.. that's why no epi. when i went to the hospi, first thing i told the nurse is "I want epidural".. nurse say must check my cervix first but i kept saying i want epi.. haha.. then after checking, nurse told me, "you are fully dilated, u want epi for what?".. so end up i used the gas mask. LOL..

my firstborn was induced with epi.. so it was quite different.. the 2 births.. my FB was slightly bigger than my 2nd baby.. i think i m destined to have big babies. :p

LC

i seldom feed Fm unless my ebm supply running low...i fed her once FM n then after tt she nv poo liao..its friso lei..should be quite allright as i use it on my elder gal last time...anyway, she finally did 1 big big poo last night...phew..will try to c if friso the cause when i try it again....

Hi Sarahmay, hee I just baby bjorn carrier air from ebay. I think we can get it from mothercare but it's retailing for $200++ I think. I also heard that baby hypermart also sells it. So hub and I went surfing the net and decided to get it off ebay. Paid S$123 for it.
Another online purchase. I got my Medela PIS from ebay too.

For feeding, I usually give my boy EBM during the day and latch on in the evenings. When I give EBM, I give 100ml every 2.5 to 3hrly. As for breastfeeding, I give on demand in fact.

Hi Autum, welcome!
Wah natural w/o epi. I took epi cos I was induced so I thought I'd take very long but becos my labour was soooo short - 3.5hrs, the 'happi-dural' didn't work AT ALL. Sigh.. wasted money on the doc's fees and epi!

kyrie- he drink once the FM(Nan)and really did poo sia.now even he drink 100ml when i start to give him, he still asking for more. just nnow ow heat up 110 BM for him he also not enough. mine just now insert the medicine, not long he poo le when doc say he will poo in next few hours

Kyrieleison &amp; Storeberry - thanks for the feedback. I'll go with ecreative then, since feedback is no good for melrose. wow so many parties. Actually , its true, one session cannot accomodate all. What i plan to do is invite some and the rest i will order cakes to be delivered.

Would like a hassle free celebration as hubby is working in the morning and i have to cope by myself for the setup. My mum and dad will come over to help with bb.

hey, how do you tell someone whose mil passed away that she cannot come for bb's manyue, she is a close neighbour and she keeps asking. I have told her she cannot come but i think she does not get the hint. My mum, dad and CL are really at my back on this.

Sri Leo - b cert took only an hour at the hospital. everything is scanned, yours and hubby's i/c. Even if you include chinese characters, its computer generated.

Angeline Goh - my bb had colic after my 1st CL gave Friso Gold, so PD advised that we give bb Friso Comfort and i think that helped. but that was only 1st 6 days. thereafter, my breast milk kicked in and my darling have been having BM since. no FM at all. My aim is to try as much as possible to give him BM.

kyrie: So you got a second hand Bjorn Air? Your epi didn't work? When you say your labour was short, what do you mean? You mean from time u were induced to bb coming out was only 3.5 hours??? That is super fast lor.

Autumn: Wah! Fully dilated and no pain ah? Pei fu! I was induced and while the labour for first stage was looong. My second stage was ok for me. I didn't take epi. Used the gas only. My nurse didn't let me take the epi cos she said i shd try the gas since she thot my pain threshold was high. I think the gas made me feel realy sick. I used the gas when doc was stitching me up...she told me to use it. Haha. The midwife scolded me for using it when I was being stitched cos she said i was addicted to it. But my lovely doc told her to let me use it...cos she knew my third degree tear was bad

hi kyrie,
3.5hrs is good! my firstborn was induced n the labour was from around 8+am till 1pm.. with the epidural, i didn't feel any pain at all.

sarahmay,
I was in pain of course.. but somehow it wasn't that bad. i think i m lucky.. but i was very surprised to learn that i was fully dilated. after doc stiched me up, doc told me if i have another kid, must go hospi earlier else i would deliver in the car! i reached hospi at 9am n baby came at 9.58am.

you looking for a Baby Bjorn carrier? actually u can try to look under the Want To Sell thread in this forum. I got my 2nd hand one from a mummy here last time when I had my boy.. very good, i paid only $60. and I really highly recommend it. It's really one of the best carrier around.

hi koras,
i think for baby who can't poo, u all must really trial n error the different brands of FM. it's not any particular brand. my boy was on Similac last time n he was ok, but my friend's kid can't poo.. now my girl on Friso n she is also ok. *touch wood*!

yeah! my manyue is finally over today!!!

Qiuling/Shazz: neo garden is really good
My guests, incl some fussy eaters, commented that the food was yummy
I'm glad I picked them. I also got the vouchers, which will expire in 2 months time.

my dear son was really well-behaved throughout the whole afternoon
I am so proud of him!!! Even when everyone was talking so loudly and passing him around from aunty to aunty, he didn't bat an eyelid! Very sociable kid indeed

I didn't drink a drop of beer or wine. Only took a sip of coke and coffee.

I'm rather concerned with my son's facial acne. Wonder if we shd take him to the PD tomorrow.

lilboymom/goldfish/storeberry: yep, the CL is really CMI! She almost applied my Desitin Creamy on my bb's face until I stopped her! She was really ignorant! This morning I found out she has been recyling my bb's bathwater to mop my floor all this while!!! I was shocked beyond words...told her no need to save water until like that. I might hv mentioned to her that utilities bills have gone up but I didn't tell her to use dirty bath water to mop my floor. We only found this out after my DH commented that the floor is always sticky and not squeaky clean...

dseptkon: maybe there will be some buyers in the Dec onwards thread, who knows? My boy hates his cot at times. I had to turn him around so that he can look at new scenery!!! It works...it's called changing the FENGSHUI... I also place a bubble mat over the mattress so that he feels cooler lying in there.

koras: try eating something with more fibre?

sarahamy: maybe u were to gentle with the wiping of the stump? I saw the CL was quite 'daring' and 'rough' as she cleaned the stump with the cord spirit...Better inform the PD if it's infected.

Kyrie:let me know what your PD said. Can we apply calamine lotion?

I'm still monitoring the situation. Already told the CL to use sterile cotton pads to clean face. I dun always watch over her int he bathroom, so I won't know if she skips a few steps or two. Maybe sometmes, she uses the face cloth that she washes the head and body to wipe his face too.

My poor little J has been subjected to a battery of tests (thyroid, urine culture, liver function, metabolic and like serum bilirubin test for the 6th time). Unlike most of u, he hasn't been thriving on my BM --- put on only 250g after 3 weeks. In addition, i have to stop bfg for now cos my BM is causing his extreme jaundice.

My milk supply has also been constant (not going beyond 100ml even in the wee hours of the morning). This despite taking prescriptive drugs from gynae, fenugreek and goat's rue. Such a different experience from my FB where bfg was so much smoother. I will probably stop soon and get some rest to spend more time with both kids...

breadmum

tink u tell her straight that ur mum 'pantang' n that sorry that she cant come since she still doesnt get the hint...i oso told my fren tt she cant come as her fiance grandma pass away coz she got go to the wake nightly..me too try to give BM as much as poss but sometimes i too bz with her tt i got no time to pump etc..my milk supply little oso..

tingkat lunch

any mummies going to order this? tink i will be ordering for 1 month at least to c..coz dun tink i will have the time to cook/prepare my own lunch at home when alone at home after husband go back work...making her zz is a chore n tiring man...

any recommendations?

Hi Lok

Hang in there, dun worry, I'm sure Jonas will get better under the care of his PD. I suppose if your BM is causing his jaundice, then dun stress yourself to produce more milk at this point. Yeah, better hv a good rest yah? *HUGS*

breadmom: agree with angeline. We're quite upfront with the invitation. Today 2 aunties skipped my manyue party cos their MILs passed away recently. Another pregnant gf also didn't turn up "for her own sake".

Hi Flos,
Ur BB's manyue is tdy also? mine is also neo gdn!

i think we order for too many pple. hubby's side some of relatives din come and in the end 5-6 aunties from my side one can "da bao" the rest of the food for their family lor, haha. but it's still better to cater for more as my mom say it's not nice where guests come and no more food to eat.

neo gdn is nice, esp its choc eclair n curry chicken. but i find tdy's curry chicken a bit too spicy...but overall i'll gv 8.5/10!

Koras, glad your boy pooped! Mine hasn't today..
Hmm, will try to 'induce' it with the 'ng ngggg' sound later cos his Man Yue celebration still on now. Hahaha it really does work to my surprise! After poop they usually get hungry quite easily.

Sarahmay, it's a brand new carrier.
Things bought from ebay is always like half the price. Downside of course is no warranty. Like the medela pump i bought.

Labour
Yup I was induced cos of my high BP at the clinic during my routine check. Was 1cm dilated so gynae told me to go right in. Pill was inserted at 1.27pm.. Was fully dilated by 4.40pm. I took epidural at 3.45pm but apparently it didn't work cos dilation was so fast I dilated my last 5cm in 40min! The urge to bear down and push was sooo strong despite epidural so when nurse checked, I was already 10cm and baby's head at the entrance. So although doc not here, she told me to listen to my body and just push when contractions came.

I waited for my doc till 6.15pm before he came in and with just one BIGGGGG push and the help of the forceps, I delivered my boy at 6.19pm. The 1 hour plus while waiting for gynae was sheer torture. I could have given birth by 4plus. And yes, I could feel it when my gynae was stitching me up that I went 'ouch'.. and he immediately apologised! Hahah that also despite being given a jab at that area before the episiotomy.

Yup, that's my birth story. Hee.. labour was short and intense. Was not given any gas etc throughout.. wonder why.

Breadmum, yup think you shouldn't.. my hub's grandma almost choked when she ate the butter cake today cos it was too dry!

Flos, is the rashes only on the face? Mine is also on the scalp! It's not cradle cap cos it's not flaky but it's pimple like too. I just cleaned his face with 'Milderm' - a gentle wash this afternoon. Will see if it's better by tomm if not will bring him to see the doc tomm evening. Will keep u updated.

Lok, so does ur bb still have to be hospitalised for his jaundice?

Hi Lok,

How old is Jonas now? My Ethan nearly went through these tests too as his jaundice is not coming down even at week 3. The funny thing is that he is on FM most of the time &amp; PD just find it puzzled that his jaundice is not getting any better. I told PD to give me another week before putting him through the torture. Thankfully his jaundice went down at week 4 and he escape all the tests. I'm not sure if you believe in chinese med. I brought my Ethan to the chinese physician recommended by a friend during week 3. Chinese physician said it's the meconium (1st stool) that is still in his body causing it. Hence, he gave me this powder med for him to eat, and true enuff, the very same night, he passed out the black stool and after that, he look so much better and had a better appetite. Gave him the med for 3 days and on the 7th day, i went back to PD for his jaundice. PD said it's really a surprise that his jaundice went down so fast and immediately discharge him from jaundice.
I can understand your pain now. MIL initially kept saying indirectly that it's me who caused his jaundice as i ate a lot of durains during pregnancy. i kept blaming myself initially. I'm sure Jonas will get better soon. Don't worry too much.

re: jaundice (old-wives method)
hi mummies, just to share, i m not sure if it's really effective or not, but i followed n use this method for both my kids. both my FB n this baby has some jaundice n it came down.

Take 8 red dates, remove the pits (must remove pits).. just put enough water to cover and boil this for a while (like 10mins). after the water is cooled, just use a teaspoon to feed a few sips to baby (like 3 or 4 teaspoons). Do this on ALTERNATE days. So far i have fed my baby about 3 times (ie 6days) and her jaundice has come down. In between we sun the baby also..

re: rashes on the face
my baby also has this pimple-like rashes on the face. my PD gave a type of antibiotics cream to apply. i only started applying today. last time for my boy, PD also gave this cream.. so maybe you can ask your PD to prescribe this cream. It's not exp.. only about $8 I think, for the cream.

Hi Lok,
take care. hope your boy gets well soon.

No offence to those with the same religion as my CL...but I"m really really upset that my CL was humming those Tibetan Buddhist tunes to make my boy fall asleep 10 min ago! My DH is very mad that she did that and went into the room to carry the bb out! We are not believers of Tibetan Buddhism, so we dun like it when she imposes her religion on our son. Who is going to sing this kind tune when she is gone?! What if my boy only wants to listen to this kind of music? Who noes, she might be singing those tunes to make him sleep eery nite when we're snoring in the other room... I need to buy Barney CD soon!

Autum: what's the name of this antibiotic cream? I'm only going to see PD this weekend, so will it be too late by then?

Mandy: thumbs up for neo garden man! It's not those atas angmoh type of buffet but something that can please a lot of elderly relatives
My curry is PERFECT!! The butter prawns are HUGE too... I didn't order the eclairs, I picked longan almond jelly which has too much ice. They are also very punctual.

I got leftovers too and da pao for my guests and for my dinner just now!! hhaah...

Immunisation

Anyone's baby took Hep B injection already? Or 5 in 1 or 6 in 1? How does this really works? When do we have to start taking, and how many jabs are there in total?

Flos,
the cream's name is Supirocin Ointment. hmm, i think it's ok to wait a while bah? I actually got the cream on Thursday but i waited until today then open to use.. cos i initially wanted to monitor if her face will get better, but it got worse so i started to apply today :p

erm, i read that u were very angry that your CL wanted to put Desitin on your baby's face. erm, for face maybe not so good, but if baby has rashes on the neck or other areas, actually can use Desitin. It works.. not kidding.

Lok - will pray for your little one. you hang in there. we are all here for you.

With so much good reviews on neo garden - now my heart is wavering. LOL.

Angeline Goh - am going to take tingkat after CL is gone as well. agree with you that it will be too much to cope.

In fact, am looking for a part time cleaner as well. Ah mas on wheels do not service the east so am quite disaapointed. Just relax - need 2 months of commitment- sigh. just when we need all the help possible. anyone has good recommendations? am a neat feak though ;-P

I told her already, but she keep saying she is Christian. Actually, she came to see me in hospital as well, cause she bumped into another neighbour and words got around. I did not even tell her i gave birth for fear my mum will object.

Now my mum is saying that she will bring bb upstairs if that neighbour turns up. My other guests will be deprived of seeing baby. sigh

re: Baby Full Month party
mummies, can i check something.. if u do a catering of buffett for your baby's manyue party, then do we still need to give ang-ku-kueh and red eggs or cakes to the guests? And during the party, must we prepare red eggs?