(2008/09) Sep 2008

lanolin: u shd just hop by parkway parade to grab the weighing machine. It's my motivator. today, i skipped my morning tea break and afternoon tea break! I also ate porridge for lunch! I can't believe I'm putting on weight together with my bb!!!

I won't be suprised TBF moms of the same period will more or less be buying/wearing the same designs!!! hhahahaa!!!

Sarah, my bb is sleeping on his tummy lo. We discovered that bb cannot sleep for long if he sleeps on his back cos he is easily ‘frightened’ by his own actions and startle himself. So by putting him to sleep on his tummy, there is a less tendency for him to scare himself while sleeping. But i know MANY PPLE disapprove tat cos i just had my first month celebration and many many guests chided me for letting the bb sleep on his tummy. AIYOH!
Bt the cute ting is tat my bb can automatically turn his head to the other side once he finds that he feel uncomfortable with his head on one side. Kkeke

Talking at nursing room, i went to the one at Taka last sat to express my milk. Erm, perhaps i am mountain turtle, but i managed to find a nursing room with electrical socket. So i went in, and draw the curtain. And then guess wat, shortly after that, another mama came in to express milk. And den another mama came in to BF the child. It was kinda of a culture shock cos i thot the room is meant for me alone nia?? kekek.. and i think i look dumb cos i literally expose my breast lo cos i dun haf wat nursing cover or shawl lo as i thot it is safe since i am in the room bt alas.

My CL is leaving tis coming Sunday. I hope i will be able to control my tears. I will not be able to sleep till like 9am+ liao loh! Sobz Sobz... and i cannot imagine myself coaxing the bb to sleep at wee hours... Oppz...

Goldfish: "Bt the cute ting is tat my bb can automatically turn his head to the other side once he finds that he feel uncomfortable with his head on one side."

How to turn from left to right with his tummy facing down? Wouldn't his face get jammed midway as he is turning with him lying on his tumtum?

u lugged your electric pump with u to Orchard? whoa...how many sockets are there inside? is it a cubicle of a large nursing room?

Shazz - can you pass your contact no. of your CL to me? a good friend of mine is delivering in April next year, thought i pass it to her since you had a good one, unlike the rest of us. so envious :p

Last night while i was surfing facebook , my CL started probing, who is that? what they do etc etc. And when i surfed to find caterer for bb's manyue, she asked when huh? what you order? is it buffet/ how much etc etc.

So i just walked away, not answering her. Basically, i got irritated entertaining her. This morning, she confronted me saying if both parties not happy, she can leave, just pay her up to the day she leaves. She say she does not want to be treated like a servant as she is pei yue.

Kitchen mess
yes, my kitchen is not the same. My rubbish chute is never closed properly, resulting in ants galore and a big fat lizard lurking behind my washing machine. when i gently told CL to shut the chute, she got all sensitive that she did not deliberately leave it open. But night after night, i am shutting it.

I guess the moral of the story is that if we all dont need CL, we would have been happier. Sometimes, i believe they contribute to post natal blues. Who do they think they are? like they say they are only pei yue. sigh.

Manyue
Kyrieleison & Storeberry - was about to order buffet and cake from melrose. no good? then i will go with sweetest moment.
Lavish Dine is fully booked in the month of Oct. Am planning to do the manyue on 12 Oct. But in real dilema with caterers - i want good food but its always subjective.

If any of you have melrose buffet this weekend, give me feedback - what i like is that as part of the menu, red eggs are provided, then i dont have to rely on CL to prepare.

Need to ask if there is a good baby barber in the east? anyone to recommend

Hi breadmum, am doing my bb's Man Yue tomm with Melrose. Both cakes and buffet. If you can wait, I'll update you on Sunday after I've tried it out. =)

BB Weight Gain :
How much weight should bb gain at 3 weeks old ?

It seems that a couple of bbs here have gained 1kg. Are u all using ur home weighing scale to measure their weight ?

hi Kyrieleison - ok will wait for your update. thanks heaps:)

Millie - usually i do it at the PD. more accurate this way. BBs grow really fast.

anyone with a Baby shower template, i can use to email for manyue?

been MIA a long time, but has been reading the postings.

it's 'interesting' to hear some of your CL stories, didnt know there r such CLs around cos my CLs for both children are fine. Anyway, my confinement is long over cos baby Ting is coming to 6wks now, so i'm on my own fighting e war:p

Re: baby crying all the time
any1 of yr baby is like that? Ting has been crying every hourly from her sleep the past few days, its very tiring, n only mummy's breast can calm her down. so i'm practically feeding every hour. and whenever she's awake, she'll wan to be carried, any good solutions to this?

millie, my baby gained 1.2kg at her 5th wk. we checked it when she went to PD for 1st mth vaccin. otherwise u can weigh yrself + baby, n weigh yrself to get the difference. more accurate if u hv a digital scale.

for manyue buffet, we used YLS. Food average (some dishes good some so so),but portion is big.

rachel - ok ok. mine did too and I'm wondering if it was abnormal! hahaha... I think it is not advisable to let them breastfeed when they are hicupping?

lanolin - mine hiccup a lot too. i remember a post earlier to look for a solution. So "heart pain" when seeing them hiccup. My mum says give a bit of water, but i am afraid he gets choked on the water.

milkmilk -yup, occasionally, my bb also suckle the breast than falls asleep. My lactating consultant says its best to drench a t-shirt with breastmilk, then put it near bb, so that they go to sleep easily.

Like to ask when Baby is awake, what do you do with them, besides playing music? Mine seem to be looking everywhere but believe he cannot see far. CL has a theory that strong lights blinds the eyes of the growing child

Hi breadmum, I've heard pple say not to give babies water till they are 3 mths and above. My ILs tells me to give him water but my PD says only as a last resort. Hence I would bottle feed him a little bit of EBM to stop the hiccups.

flos
our bbs are more resilient than we imagine they are. dun think Goldfish bb's face will get jammed lah, they are able to lift up their heads and turn..a bit awkward but they can do it.

giving bb water...
better not. their kidneys are sitll too immature to handle excessive water well. especially if they are already on fm. enough water in it...

hiccups
just leave it. not comfortable but they'll survive...in fact..i love it when they hiccup...heee...so cute...hahah..meanie mummie...

Kyrieleison - my PD says sips can. aiya. but my previous and current CL, have been feeding my little darling water, on the quiet. The other day then i stopped the current one.

l'l CY^^l'l CH - oh dear, so is BM not as much water as FM?

Flos, my bb can amazingly ‘roti-prata’ his head when he get uncomfortable lying at one side of the head. I actually do not believe it when CL told me he can roti-prata his head until i see it with my own eyes a few times. However, i m still cautious and constantly check him out in case like wat u said kena jammed lo

I lugged my PIS to orchard last sat cos i am so KEEN to do shopping with friend. I was conned that the nursing room at Paragon comes with electrical socket when it isn’t loh. Waste my time queuing for the nursing room and i looked like a fool when parents see me queuing for nursing room when there is no bb with me.
The one at Taka is quite big wor. It is at level 3, near the lingerie section. Still got a staff assigned to the nursing room one leh. There are a few cubicles but accordingly to the staff, onie one room has the electrical socket which is the curtain-drawn version.

KITCHEN MESS
My kitchen and kitchen cabinet has been in the mess since my CL is here. I guess it is probably me that is a neat freak lo. So once she leaves on Sunday, i will be scrubbing my kitchen entirely.

LIFE AFTER CL LEAVES
How do u all cope with the nite feeding once the CL leaves? Are u all coming up with a duty roster with hubby on the nite feeding schedules or u gals are going to ‘bao-gao-liao’?
I have tried to look after my bb for ONE NITE and AIYOH, i practically did not sleep at all for the whole nite lo and the following day oso continue to look after the bb and it is a definitely NO JOKE. How do u all ‘overcome the hurdle’?

seem like my boy one day only poo onces a day le even thou he did drink BM. Doc say its normal. Kinda of worried. Now he poos only at night around 10+. my mum and dad and i was worried. told my HB about it he seem doesnt even bother
so sad. even after i told him that i will be bring him to see a doc he din even ask me how was it

koras: pls buy watermelon and eat a few slices this weekend. then your bb will sure poop. my SIL ate that ytd and her daughter poop a lot!

SOS!
Okie, i just came back from a pee and to my DISGUST, i realized that my pantyliner has a piece of 'particle' on it.

My lochia is clearing off or in fact, i am not having any lochia for the past few days, onie ABIT nia.

And today, i saw this 'particle' that looks like a piece of erm... placenta meat liddat leh!!!

OMG... am i having a womb prolapse??

Anyone has similar problem before?

flos- thought watermelon is too liang . u mean your sil ate le then her daughter drink BM poo alot. mine when poo the smell like sour smell

yes, very liang, therefore eat A FEW slices. She BF her daughter later and she poop a lot. U can try eating 3 slices and see how first? Sour smell? dunno...u hv to check back your own diet.

Bigtoes,
Kaiden's manyue party is on 4 Oct too..ecreative says they will setup by 11am, i suppose they either have two teams or they will setup yours first before coming to mine cos their kitchen is near to the east..

Shazz,
Hey! saw you at vivo on friday..but didnt wave cos you were busy eating!

Hiccup
My boy gets it quite often too..PD says we just have to let it subside by itself..no need for water or whatever..anyone has different opinion? My mom says we should give water...

Manyue cakes,
I ordered mine from sweetest moment..they were very prompt in delivery. Cakes tasted good too..except the swiss roll which were too dry for my liking...overall good!

Milk Supply,
I managed 70ml today for one pump...really motivated
not sure if its the result of Mac fillet o fish! hee

Going out with bb
I am enjoying it...bought Kaiden out from 1pm to 6pm today..went to distribute cakes, cut hair and to facial...verdict is hot water is essential...i must remember to bring a flask of hotwater the next time..

Flos,
I finally got my dress at vivo, plus sandals to match!

Hi....

CL just left yesterday...damn tired man n my backs breaking from all the carrying...whole day was feeding milk, burping, change diaper, making her zzz...bz till i 4get to go toilet until evening..too long nv handle newborn liao n i am too comfy with my current FB timing/sleep routine..haiz..

BB weight

today got abit of shock..bb gain almost 2kg..shes 3kg at birth n now was almost 4.9kg! she gets hungry very fast esp if shes awake man..daytime can be 2hrly...

Breastshield...

just bought my bigger breastshield today from TMC parentcraft..cost $13.75....
lanolin

my bb hiccups quite often as well..sometimes when she zzz,oso got hiccups..end up she will kena woke up..

bacon&egg (baconegg): you saw me just now? I was there pretty late, ate at Coffee Club at Habourfront. Wanted to go to Spizza but it closed down liao! My first outing with baby and hubby.
Went very well cos baby was sleeping most of the time after being cranky the whole afternoon after CL left! He seems to know his fav auntie left, cos he kept crying and refused to sleep even though he's tired. He was so unlike his usual self. Sigh, hope he gets used to me real soon.

Breadmum, will PM you CL's contact.

I've been so busy with baby that I got no time to inspect my kitchen and baby's room! CL packed my stuff and now I'm not too sure where to find my stuff! but at least my kitchen is clean ... no lizards! hehe

yday nite my BB is gog to sleep le. then when my hubby carry him, he cried. cry n cry n cry. but when CL take over he immed fall asleep! n my hubby feel so dejected....

flos- i still eat per normal ler. previous even i BF him he will poo. But now poo once onces. last night did not poo again, worried about him.

hiccup- previously given him water or a bit BM. Doc say better don't give baby water as water have no nutrient.

mandy- my baby also cry then pat him he doesnt want to sleep. give him milk at 12.25 90ml doesnt want to sleep cry for milk again 1.45 60ml dirnk finish. doesnt want to sleep again. 2.15 cry and woke up my mum. i use my hand to ta his lips guess what he push my finger into this month to suck( i was like luffing away) end up 90ml for him but still no poo

Koras,

then it must have been hard for you to stay awake for so long le...
sometimes my boy also like tat but juz that now got CL to coax in the middle of nite while i sleep. just that if CL left, dunno wad to do. so my hubby volunteer yday to coax him to sleep but he wun!
he cry n cry. i thot he's hungry again. until CL took over n carry him, my boy immed fell asleep in her arms! then my hubby exclaim, "wa lau, like that after you leave how to put him to sleep.."and he look so dejected that his own son rejected him... toking abt man's ego! :p

lanolin
when we reached centrepoint gabbie was sleeping so i put her in my maclaren xt. When she woke up she busied herself surveying the bright lights of robinsons till she got bored and cried. Then i "baby-bjorned" her.

NOTE TO MUMMIES BRINGING BABY OUT IN PRAM/STROLLER
check that baby is not looking directly at the ceiling lights. Too glaring!

Wah all the manyue parties todae! Mine supposed to be todae too but pushed forward to 1 Oct. All u mummies n babies have fun!!!

Finally hubby will upload my manyue pix onto my comp todae so i can see them clearly! Yay!

Today I took my darling to the PD cos his belly button was crusty. I panicked, needless to say.Doc says no biggie. Just a bit of skin irritation. So se gave me antibiotic ointment which she says is better than the powder the previous PD gave me.

Bb has gained 600g since last Thurs, 500 g from birth weight. Not sure if that is a lot. But PD says he's a healthy bb. It gives me a sense of satisfaction too that he's put on weight just on my BM. Hehe.

Storeberry: I'm also very tempted to buy MIM nursing tops. But rber we went down and the sizes like dun really fit. So i'm a bit wary...but i soooo need nursing tops!!!
Strange Noises by BB; PD says perfectly normal for them to sound like they are grunting or as if they have phlegm in their throat cos sometimes they regurgitate the milk and it gets up their throat...or seomthing like that. anyway, nothing to worry about!

Milk Rash: asked PD abt this. She said it is actually eczema! My bb neck has these little pimply bumps...i thot i hadn't cleaned him up properly. Turns out it is cos he's gotten chubby and it is hot under those folds of skin. So just have to keep that area dry. Phew!

Today I shall have to manage a few hours all on my own. I hardly slept much. Cross fingers and hope i can manage!

Lanolin: My bb hiccups a lot! more than once a day. He used to hiccup almost after every meal when he was in my womb!

Flos: Dun worry abt your weight la. I am sure u willlose it all very soon! Your isaac must have put on a lot of weight from your nutritious milk!

Catering
i catered from Mum's kitchen. Food tasted good. My uncle who usually shuns buffet food had a second helping! I liked all the dishes and Pan Seared Dory Fish w/ Dill Cream was esp delicious!Will post pics of the yummy food when i can.
Thx sunnysunny for the recommendation! Shall cater fr them in future!

<font color="0077aa">Coping without CL: Goldfish, definitely difficult, but will get used to it. Didn't draw up any rooster for hubby as I am not working now, but he helps out in the morning like 6plus 7pm when bb is cranky &amp; not sleeping, he helps to rock bb to sleep while I get abit of beauty rest...

I wanna go shopping but still don't feel good leaving bb at home &amp; don't feel like bringing bb out to shopping mall yet.

Hiccups: yah, I just left it &amp; I quite enjoy his hiccups too!! Sometimes I find it so funny!

Koras: Are you overfeeding your bb? Cos overfeeding may caused discomfort &amp; end up your bb too full don't want to sleep?</font>

breadmum: Oh dear! I understand your CL blues. That was why i fired mine after 3 days. She really contributed to my blues. I just came back from hospital...and BM ss hardly kicked in. and there she was stressing me abt me not havig enough milk,and to feed formula. I really wanted to scream at her. I fired her two days too late. that is my only regret. How many more days of her do you have to put up? Hang in there! If you can find alternative help, may be good to let her go. My dad has been a great help to me...better than the CL.

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: Yah, I remembered! I bought a normal t-shirt top from MIM, abit big for size M but no choice lo... Mine also have little bumps on his face &amp; chest...</font>

shazz

the nite b4 my CL left, she esp dun want to zzz..keeps waking up...n make the auntie tired...haha

koras

carine oso nv poo since yesterday noon...after i fed her the fm...after which she was on ebm...hope she poo soooon..i feel uncomfortable knowing tt she nv poo so long...

breadmum
bm has the exact amt of nutrients (water, sugar etc) that bbs need. so dun worry. with bm you dun have to feed anything...the foremilk will quench bbs' thirst adn the hindmilk fills their stomach with fats...okok..and other nutrients lah...

goldfish
think it's ok just as long as it's not those 10cm kind...

CL, CL, CL? Haiz. I almost want to fire my CL last nite when we found out she, without checking, threw my bb's first hairs we kept in an angpow away with the trash! My DH lost his cool, I lost my temper, and there she was...just stunned by her own stupidity, and began chanting her %&amp;%#^ Tibetan prayers with her eyes shut in guilt.

We were really fuming cos my MIL had deliberately picked an auspicious date and hour to cut her grandson's birth hairs. Here, this kampong CL who claims she's got 8 yrs of experience can throw customer's stuffs away without asking for permission and without even checking.

I mean, if u are a maid, u see an unsealed, flat and featherlight red packet, will u peer into it to see, or if u r not kaypoh and won't peer, will u just leave it there or ask M'am if she still wants it?!

She offered to go retreive it from the chute but it was already past 12.30am, so we reckoned the rubbish truck had already left, if not she needs to go rummage thru the collection chute in the wee hours of this morning. Even if she found the angpow, it'd be stained,dirtied and wet from the rest of the garbage.

That's just one of the many blunders in the past 24 hours.

This morning, I woke up to express my BM cos I was leaking like mad in my sleep. I didn't even eat breakfast or brush my teeth! Then from 9am-10am, my son wanted to latch so I BF for an hour, which she saw cos she was mopping around us. But later at 10.15am, bb cried again and we decided to bottle feed him cos my nipples were already quite sore from the pumping and latching. She without using her brains went to warm up all my 130ml EBM in the fridge and shove it to the baby.

By the time I saw it, it was too late! Obviously, my bb can't swallow 130ml at one go after having latched on my breasts for one hour lah! In the end, 50ml was wasted!

I nearly strangled this stupid CL for not segregating the EBM into two bottles and warming only a portion of it, despite seeing that I was BF-ing for an hour. No commonsense at all! She didn't use her brains!

In the end, my DH poured 10ml of my EBM into his morning coffee to drink, so as not to waste 'too much' of my efforts! PISSED PISSED PISSED!

I can't wait to fire this nimkumpoop! My BP is really rising again...counting down to my 28th day next Wed! Or if she resigns on Mon, I'm fine, cos my party is tomorrow.

Irritation No 3.: she takes forever to prepare lunch and dinner. I'd never seen my mom, my MIL, or myself prepare meals for so darn long. <font color="ff0000">Over 2 hours</font> for one meal (excl tonic soups) that are really rather straight-fwd to prepare in my opinion. Becos she is so obsessed with cooking, she wastes lots of time to carve tomotoes and carrots into interesting shapes (I dun need beautiful veggie-cuttings as my garnish!). Ends up one or two dishes always cold cos she would be too busy preparing the third and neglected the first two. She really can't multitask! So angry with her.

sarahmay: Mine also has those pimples on his face and neck!!! how???!!! Did your PD prescribe any cream to apply? I heard it'll go away on its own. Applying cream on his face is not advisable cos he might eat the cream accidentally when he rubs his face with his mittens...

no cream for thos rashes. she just said to keep area dry. haiz...ur l v silly. was she rec by someone???? i will never hire a cl again in my life.

typing w one hand. carrying bb...on my own w him today.

goldfish: where does ur bb sleep at nite? wat matress u using? i also tempted to let bb sleep on tum at nite.

flos: change diper every 2 hrs?!saac pees n poops so ften? guess it is possible if u r feeding v freq.

speaking of diaper change, he pooped all over the changing table n i almost kena in my face. my mistake....never change immed after feed in case they wanna poop/

flos

ur CL really jiat liat...mine still ok..she will chop chop prepare all the ingredients including for dnr n then afternoon she will nap with the bb..but her cooking norm soo soo only lah..

shazz

by any chance u got order extra for the california baby cream? me looking for aloe vera &amp; calendula...mine finishing soon...

kyrieleison (kyrie) - i just tried melrose buffet last weekend.. food wasn't fantastic.. and i ordered 2 sets of 40pax.. surprisingly, for 40pax, they only gave like 4 warmers, so imagine how little the servings are.. i basically dun have much left and some of my guests didn't even eat.. end up, we order some other food to top up..

**Birth cert**

Mummies, we get the birth cert on tt day rite?

Usually hw long it takes for the birth cert to get ready? 1hr?

Flos flos... goodness me! your CL is fr which kampong one? can be so de lok..you hubby bery empathetic.. if it is my hubby, he wun even dare to taste a drip of my BM..

GOING OUT - I want to complain!!! i saw some of you mommies are bringing baby out.. Me too but it is only after confinement..and my MIL is questioning why am i bringing my baby out so often.. which is abt twice a week at most to my mum place and occasionally is out for MacDonalds breakfast with husband too..piangz!!! she said she never go out when she had her 2 sons. wa kao!! different era lar..

Hi, Desptkon

when I go out, I always bring baby along.. not that I dump baby with hubby.. just feel why she so concern about me bringing baby out..as long as I can cope, i think it is fine.. can't possibly cooped in this house 24/7 right?

I am thinkin gof getting a playpen too.. I have a cot but baby dun wan to sleep in it cos in his baby room. he wants to sleep with us so thinkin gof getting a playpen which is moveable. the cot I have is too big to be moved around.. and have to dismantle it before it can be set up in another room.. so playpen is another way out and he can play in it when older,..

SarahMay &amp; Flos - am glad we can emphatised with each other's CL plague. Lets count down to end of their stay.

Flos - mine too, took my 160 ml of EBM and fed baby at one go. She keeps saying baby is hungry, her reasoning is that if i pump out 160ml, then baby must have it all. gosh..don't know if they ever think. In the end, my baby was like a merlion, puking out the EBM all over the floor.

Seeing baby in the state got me worried totally. So now i tell her, please pour out only 80ml and feed on demand. This merlion episode happen twice already and she blamed it on the milk teats. sigh.
My mum keeps telling me to bear with it and it will be over soon.

Jaymickey - that bad huh. will see what Kyrieleison's one turned out to be. will confirm all my catering on Monday. But i have decided that cakes, i'll go with sweetest moment cause hubby loves the packaging.

Goldfish - am also a neat freak. I just told my hubby, now i found the perfect excuse to renovate my kitchen. I initially wanted to do it this year, then i found out i was pregnant, so now with the kitchen mess and 4 months ML, i think the kitchen can be brand new in a week. will see i have time to plan for the revamped.

koras - to make baby poo more frequently, eat more vegetables. apparently, it helps

breadmum- i did ate a lot veg le. now just give him a bit jin yin hua my boy surprising drink happily when we feed him in when he was drinking his milk 1/2 way

Flos, ur CL reallie cannot make it leh. Shld send her to dig out the red packet in the rubbish chute to punish her.

Ll’CY, u have similar experience on the ‘unusual-discharge’ before? I dropped an email to my gynea with the attachment of the pix of that discharge. Haha. Waiting for his reply lo

Sarah, i let him sleep on those cheapbo mattress wor..

koras - emm..no la. mine just poo everytime he drinks BM. I have not given him jinyin hua though.

what i meant is that after every feed, if digested well, bb will poo.