(2008/09) Sep 2008

wah ...i had an eventful nite! baby was awake every hour!!! And i was so tired..didn't quite know what he wanted so just stuffed my nipple into his mouth. not sure if he ate anything. ahhaah... but then this morning when i woke t 7+am, there he was happily looking at me with his big eyes. Until i decided to pick him up..and he wanted a feed. so latched him on for 10 mins. he KO for abt 2 hours before waking.

Baby Sleeping on TUM: Anyone of you laying bb to sleep on tum at nite? I do it in the day and he sleeps so well...but of cos he needs cuddling in that foetal positon before he drifts off to sleep.

xuanting: Phew! Am glad I'm not the only one having the feeding issues...mine is 15-day old...and the past 2 days's gotten a bit more 'erratic' in his behaviourre: feeding and napping. But my exp mummy frens say not to fret abt putting him on any routine and that every bb is different.

Alabone: Thanks for the info on grunting and weird noises. Is it normal also when they drink. Sometimes my boy can't decide if he is sleepy or hungry or wants to stretch. He seems to want to do ALL three at one time!!!! Ah!!!

Bathing BB and CAring for bb: Thank Godfor my dad! If not, i dunno how i'm going to manage bath time alone!!! Really wondering how i'm going to survive and be a good mummy when i return to macau at the end of Oct/early Nov. My dad doesnt mind going w me for a month to help...but eventually i have to do it all by myself...laundering..cooking etc. Any tips from exp mums here?

MIM Sling; Mine is a MIM sling, but i still dun dare try it with my 15-day old bb. Is he too little or small to be put into it? I trid that day...wah..so scared he will squirm out. His legs are super strong. In the bath, he can kick himslef out of the bath tub if he is in a foul mood. Tips for learning to use this sling effectively?

Isabelle: How soon can we put bb into Bjorn? read that the shdn't be put into it too long a stretch cos it causes their legs to be spread apart. True? I m thinking of getting the bjorn as well. Seems easier to figure out than the sarong sling man.

Work duing Confinement: Anyone doing work during confinement? I itchy finger took up work. Now seriously wondering if i'm ever going to get started, let aloe finish the writing!

Babysafe mattress: Do you know if the bbsafe mattress makes it safer for bb to sleep on tum at nite even? The pinholes make it well-ventilated enough? thinking of investing inthis for peaceful nites.

talking abt slping on their tum tum on our own tum tum.. this was wat my nephew and niece loved in the past... haaa....i do this all the time and they slp super soundly..

1760067.jpg

1760068.jpg

Sleeping on Tummy at Night:

I don't recommend that at night. There is a risk of suffocation as their neck muscles are not strong enough yet. During the day, u can easily check on bb but at night, you will probably not want to check on bb too frequently and disturb your beauty sleep.

It is normal for bb to get startled easily. It's part of their primitive "self-defence" reaction (btw, it's called startle reflex). This reflex will disappear when they are ~4-5 months old.

isabelle,

totally agree with u. I think looking after Jonas is a breeze compared to his kor kor who is always running around/climbing up & down or up to some mischief.

haha.. wonder if u girls watch the new 9pm show on channel 8.. Is it dawn or something? ahha.. she was made to wear "poncho" and I think we do look something like her! haaa...

isabelle, ok I go kiddy palace look see look see. In that way, I can try to bf Reyes in public. Bringing out thermal flask and the metal tin mug and the EBM very ma fan..

lanolin.. i think thats the best way to handle in laws ba.. heng my hb is SBC - simply bo chup abt my parents..

Shazz!!! YES!! my MIL LOVES to wake reyes up from his slp!!!! She keeps saying that we must not let him slp so much in the day but he's only less than one month old! Then when he stays awake for so long, its VERY VERY difficult to make him slp again.. bah!!!

sarahmay, cook simple one dish meals. If u dont mind, u can cook more for lunch and eat the same thing again for dinner. Prepare all the ingredients whenever he's slping. Do all these things in the morning. Then in the afternn and evening time, u can nap together whenever he slps. I guess thats wat i will be doing next wk onwards when I'm alone.. like Shazz.. haa.. We can hug each other and cry..

I'm really tired carrying my bb twice this morning. Am one of those who will spoil my kid next time. He slept on his tummy on my tummy the whole morning

Oh dear, so I need to put those shawls over my head and BF at the malls. Then better get a nicer one.

MIL: too much criticism on how we handle bb. No Action Talk Only.

Neck itch: My neck has been really itchy. Ain't sure if it's the 10-mth old Clarins super restorative neck serum that's causing the itch!!! oh dear...scratch scratch...

MIM sling.. once again, to put reyes in, we had to make use of both hb and myself! Die lar.. we really need lots of practice..

We even searched youtube for the video.. but even though he looked comfy inside, its the parents who felt he looked uncomfy..now waiting for our bjorn carrier.. hopefully its easier to use..

crayon: incidentally, that 9pm show on channel 8 is quite nice to watch leh!!! Singapore version of CSI.

Sarahmay: ur dad is really capable! I wish my dad and DH would bathe my son! So far my FIL has been MIA thruout my confinement. I wonder if he is really 'sick' or he is trying to siam confined women, thanks to his wife's (MIL) pantangness. tsktsk.

My CL has been wearing red underwear! Maybe it's another pantang thingie again?

Baby Bjorn carrier: I also hv that, but I believe bb is still too young and small to be placed inside the carrier, no? I also think it'll cause bb's legs to be wide apart (bowlegs?) if we use it too often, too long.

flos, i find tat show quite funny leh.. esp the lead actress... haa.. but hb was commenting from next wk onwards, its either I get to watch or he'll get to watch.. we wont have the luxury of sitting down together to watch liao..

<font color="0077aa">Flos: I also not sure how much Zane is drinking but the most he drinks 10mins then stop or fall asleep. And when I try to shove my breast into his mouth, he will squirm it tight.

I want to buy nursing shawl but thinking if I have the sling, can also use the sling to BF right? Just that need practice.

Thanks Shazz! And seem like a hectic man yue for you!

No man yue for me, think will do a 1st yr party instead.

<font color="0077aa">MIM sling: I also have that, need two person before I can get bb into the sling! Haha.. And I saw the video, you need to flod bb's legs for the upwards position, won't bb's legs be cramped? Cps I tried once &amp; was sop worried that his legs is all cramped up.

Crayon &amp; Sarah: I believe need lots &amp; lots of practice!</font>

Lanolin, sigh his relatives are those sensitive and will talk behind your back kind. You know.. it's like those 3 gu 6 po.. literally.. For my side I'm not so concern because I can simply voice it out too.. but his abit difficult leh. Yah will take my time to breastfeed and hopefully he sleeps right after that so that he's 'untouchable' in the cot.

Shazz, nope no CL. My ILs are taking care of him. They'll be very busy with the guests on Sunday so guess my hub and I will have to 'fend them off' ourselves hee. It's nice to have sometime alone with your bb and having ILs and parents as standby only when you need help.. I wish I had that too.
I also dread the day I have to leave him all alone with them too. I'm very afraid the 'routine' or habits that they inculcate in him will be different from mine (of cos nothing bad, but just not what I want).. By then, jialat liao.. dunno how to change anything when I only get to see him in the evenings and nights.

Yah crayonshinchan, ILs issues are very sensitive. I'm trying my VERY best to be as guai as I can. Though behind closed doors, I get very frustrated and exasperated at times. I think the best way is the close both eyes when I don't agree with what they are doing. Btw, I love crayonshinchan too! Hee =) I find his antics very endearing and funny and I love watching the cartoon. But I refrain from doing it during my pregnancy cos I didn't want any chance of my boy turning out like him! Hahaha

Isabelle, so have you arranged your bb's baptism yet?

Babies sleeping on tummy.. So it's baby sleeping on his tummy on Mummy's tummy right? I tried.. but my boy doesn't seem to quite like it. Thought they should leh.. esp when they can hear our heartbeats..
Crayon, they sure look darn comfortable!!!

crayon: who is the lead actress? the goofy Piglet, Tay Ping Hui's partner? I suspect the Surgical Maniac is the pretty surgeon, correct?
Why can't u buy a bouncer and place Reyes on it in the living room and watch the show together?

sasa: your nursing cover is really bohemian looking

lanolin: thanks for your maternallove link. I just bought some nursing tops from mothers en vogue and maternallove!!!!!!!! U influenced me! I'm not even sure how long I'll nurse, but what the heck, shop first then think about what next! I might end up selling pumps, warmers, nursing tops, milk bags, storage bottles to other moms later

Shazz ,
I am ordering the buffet from neo garden , not the high tea ... but i feedback to them that their portion is noit standard size .. haha .. hope they get the message ..

flos ,
Y a, i am getting 15% off from them ... email them the BC ... you can try to ask if u can fax them the BC but u blanco the confidential things u want to hide .. just let them knoe the BC no and the name is correct ...keke .. that can save u some money ? they cannot do anything with BC no right ?

Nursing cover , i have two left from First born .. keke ..

Ergo carrier ... or Bjorn .. me still thinking of buying cos will be difficult to bring two little one out .. I have MIM sling .. but cannot carry for long till 6 mths ,... bb will move out ..

Saray may ,
There are so many domestic helpers anuties u can employ ... even confinement aunties dun cost too much i think in Macua ... just employ one maid at home to do the laundry when u are in macau and another confiment lady there to train the maid ?

Hmm ... I am still thiking of whether to head to shanghai a not ... after the Sanlu Milk scare and all other associate products .. I discuss with hubby just yesterday when he come back that i might still choose to stay In singapore with the two kids rather than exposing them to the " dangers " of china ... hmm ...but wonder how am i supposed to cope with two kids .. and MIL is leaving in January next year to australia to join daughter and younger son there .. hmm ...my parents place are opened for me to move back so wondering if i should just move back to mums place .. stop working and become a full time Stay at home mummy ..so much thinking I have to do ..

haa.. storeberry, practice makes perfect but hor, our kiddo must be cooperative. Else will be difficult..anyway, with the legs curled up inside the sling is ok rite?

kyrieleison, haa.. ya, like u, i did not touch/see anything related to crayonshinchan. Just in case boy turns out notti and cheeky like him..

ya flos, its that piglet.. she's adorable. And as for why, we have this strong feeling that reyes will be crying and not sleeping during that time.. haa..

qiuling, can blanko the parents' details? Will I get promotion flyers from them every other month?

I believe u still can get nestle milk powders in China. my DH's boss' asking him to go to ho chi minh, faint! i say go to shanghai anytime man, or HK. macau's also better than vietnam.

Lanolin and Flos,
Hey!! I also just bought some tops from Maternalove. All thanks to lanolin for posting the url here. Hahahah.. my 1st online shopping experience btw! I'm also quite apprehensive how the tops will look when they arrive..but what the heck. Buy first.. retail therapy.

Slings.. I also have an MIM sling. Haven't even taken it out to fiddle around yet. Seems like slings are not easy to use..
Been reading alot about baby bjorn carriers. Where can we get it? I was thinking of it cos that way my hub can use it too. Hee it'll be awkward and ugly to get him to use the sling.

<font color="blue">hi all, sorry for interrupting..i am a mummy from the june thread. i have 2 packs of brand new fitti size S diapers for sales. It's suitable for babies below 7kg. I am selling at $12 each. Please pm me if you are interested.</font>

Flos ,
Dun think so ... neo garden not so free la ... it take them two days to confirm back my orders ... and they are shortage of manpower.. just save some money for bb lor .. Shanghai is good meh ?????? I went there so many times and still negative about it ... nothing is good there .. maybe i have not really stay there for long .. only short trips of one month each ... any forum boards / mummies / tai tai u know there ? PLus , i will be super lonely with two kids there ... so stay with my parenst might be better option .. still negotiating with hubby ..

qiuling: okoko, I just emailed my boy's BC to them and ask them to give me 15% discount. I blanked out parts they dun require (they only need BC No. Name, DOB). THanks thanks!!

SHanghai is very good and cool...i know many moms there, i can intro some to u. go to the s'pore int'l school to teach lah... i intro my cousin to teach there, she is an MOE teacher at a primary sch here.

kyrie: u too?!! hiak hiak!!! I need to hv some nursing tops, else I can't step out of the house. I also dun hv milk powder dispensers. Which brand is better? Only seen Farlin and Pigeon's.

baby bjorn carriers can be found everywhere. i got mine at the Taka Baby Fair before i popped. Only $168 for the BB AIR.

sarahmay
if you buy GD method, they advocate sleeping on tummy and that bb should be on tummy 90% of their waking time...actually if you rem, bbs can crawl and search for nipple just as newborns?bbs necks are not that weak. they can lift it up and yelp if anything goes wrong...

regarding bathing...
ok it may not be the best solution..but this was what i did with fb. he stays in the room with me while i bathe. if he is not mobile, easy, just leave the door open so you can see him, he can see you and be reassured mummie hasnt disappeared...

when he is more mobile but not walking yet, leave the door open and get one safety gate in case he wants to join you in the slippery toilet...

when he is walking, bathe together...bonding time..kakakak..quite nice actually...

Slings: I got MIM one too but have yet to figure out how to use it. I've carried baby in my Pupsik pouch and it's pretty easy to use but I wonder how long my boy can fit in it. He's already 5kg at 1 mth old.

Quiling: wow, so many things for you to consider indeed.

Flos: They'll have your address if you're doing the manyue at home. I have vouchers for $100 off ($300 &amp; above) valid on weekdays only and $50 off ($300 &amp; above) valid for 60 days only. I think the 15% off will be a better deal, so just scan in your baby's birth cert and edit the info you don't want them to see like Quiling said. ;)

Flos, hehheeh yah lor.. spent 100 bucks in mins! Faster than going shopping in town! I have two nursing tops which I bought - 1 from Spring, the other from Kiddy palace but not enough lah. Can't be seen in just these two tops day in and out. Hahaha
Still wondering if I'm actually going to BF him when we're out or bring EBM. Kinda troublesome hor. But I'm worried if I BF him, sometimes, he just gets cranky and doesn't want to suckle properly though he's hungry. Then cham liao lor.. if I have to go find alternatives.

As for milk dispenser, I got the Avent one during the Taka baby fair. It doesn't stack up like those I usually see. The container is circular divided into 3 parts but also removable.

Talking about Man yue buffet, I ordered mine from Melrose. Thought might as well cos I got the cakes from them too. Had them when during my Guo Da Li years back so just use them again. Haven't tried their buffet, keeping fingers crossed they're okie.

How much milk will my baby need if I pump breast milk for her?
If you pump your breast milk for your baby, you can follow these guidelines to know how much she'll need:

Up until a month of age, most babies will take 2.5 to 3 ounces of breast milk in a bottle, feeding about eight times a day, for a total of 20 to 24 ounces in 24 hours. After that, the average amount of breast milk until 6 months of age is around 26 to 28 ounces per day, divided into six to eight feedings. If solids are started earlier than 6 months, the amount of breast milk a baby takes will decrease.

Keep in mind that these are just rough guidelines — by no means do you need to try to get your baby to eat 28 ounces each day if she doesn't want to. (If your baby is exclusively breastfed, she should take in at least 25 ounces a day, though.)

"Don't hold back if your baby still seems hungry," says lactation consultant Jan Barger, "but don't stuff your baby because you think there's a certain amount she should be getting."

It's easy to overfeed a bottle-fed baby (with formula or breast milk), says Barger. While a breastfed baby can comfort at the breast while getting just a minimal amount of milk, or drink just enough to quench her thirst, a bottle-fed baby doesn't easily have that option. If your bottle-fed baby wants just a little milk, says Barger, she usually winds up getting much more because of how fast the bottle flows and the fact that it's hard for her to stop taking it.

To help your baby get just the right amount of milk, feed her slowly and take little breaks to give her a chance to let you know when she's had enough. In fact, if your baby seems to be gulping the breast milk quickly, help her catch her breath by taking a break every ten sucks or so. This is especially important during the first couple of months, until she learns to pace herself.

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - my CL just left today and we did a major clean up of the house. She left so many things in a mess.
For instance, pulled out my spice tray to clean underneath, and found bits of the red dates WITH A FUNGUS FARM around them!! Gross. We had to take out all the plates from the pantry and "inspect" them as well, cos some had bits of food still stuck on them, and a lot were wet when she placed them in, leaving a funky smell. No wonder the lizards and cockroaches started coming….

Bacon &amp; eggs- what time is your 1st month celebration tomorrow? Florence from e-creative said yours is also on 4th Oct. they are coming by to set up mine at 10am. Hopefully the food and portions are decent.

Anyway, am so exhausted without the CL around. Kieran refused to sleep the whole of this morning and wanted to be carried. We relented and used the pacifier, but he is not too keen on it also. Think mainly cos the orthodontic version is abit small and flat and hard to grip.

Baby's weight - Kieran put on 600gm the last week. Was 4kg last Friday, and 4.6kg today!
He was about 3kg at birth and 2.8kg when he left the hospital, so he is gaining a lot! Milk guzzler!!

BABY's LENGTH - Does the PD measure from head to sole, or head to feet with the toes extended?</font>

Flos: Yeah. I also think my dad is very amazingHe coks, cleans and cares for the baby. In fact i think he does a better job than the confinement lady. I think men can be very good carers. my hubby is also very good at calming the baby when he wails...and he learnt to change the diaper and swaddle baby even before i did. Hehe.

qiuling: Join your hubby la. It is so impt for the family to be together I think. I can't wait to go over to macau even though i know i will be away from family and friends. As for the milk scare, just import your milk powder from SG over lor. What to do? That is waht my frienddoes in Macau. My hubby just brought back a couple of tins for them.

Crayonshin: Yup! Me thinking of cooking simple meals ...but right, i'm a bit lazy and undomesticated type. Hehe. So it will take a lot of retraining for me.

L'l CY: So u lay your bbs on tums to sleep at nite too? And during waking hours, if they are on their tums, what can we do with them? I agree that even NBs have strong neck muscles. When will they start learning to turn their heads?

1 hour latch-ons: Phew! I am so glad to find some mums here with the same challenge. My little darling also has an erratic schedule. Sometimes, drink 10mins on one boob then can sleep so sweetly. Other times need 1 hour. Thank God I don't have sore nipples yet.

MIM sling: I tried it out on him. Did the lying down position and the kangaroo one. Was better than i expected tho my sarong cloth still a bit the messy at the back and he fussed after a while. Think he needs to get used to it.

Anyone whose babies hve little pimple like rash around neck? Is it prickly heat? can i put calamine? I think my baby is the 'heaty' type...gets warm easily. And when he fusses , puttiont of air con vent cools him down pretty quickly. Wonder if i consumed too much dang shen , pao shen etc durng preg.

Nursing Tops: I need to get these! I am so tempted to go out already...and I have barely finished 2 wks of confinement. Aiyo. I wet my tee shirt last nite trying to nurse in the dark. So bothersome not to have proper nursing attire. I feel very unglam and stinky. When will we ever stop perspiring so much while nursing?

shazz: Thanks for your offer!!! But mine is this weekend leh...actually, for me, i dun mind faxing them the BC, it's my ah lao...showing the addy is a must for delivery's purpose, only that he doesn't feel good revealing our NRICs to private vendors.

kyrie!!!!!!!! i spent almost $300 this morning in a few clicks, without even touching and trying on the nursing tops. I hope I can fit into them if the size chart is not misleading

Bigtoes: my kitchen will need to be cleaned when she leaves. I was quit mad when she used a not so clean cloth to wipe my stainless steel fridge door, now there are some scratches on them.

sarahmay
it says from 3.5kg onwards. My girl is abt 4kg now i think. she was fine in there. There is a special in built insert to support the new born's neck. Abt the legs being apart part, i dun think this is a pblm since I'm not gg out everyday and at most she's in there 2 hrs max while we're out? So i dun think this is gg to make her bow-legged or anything like that.

kyrieleison (kyrie)
yep. Baptism is this sunday at risen christ. U arranged urs yet?

ava
mas said my womb was a bit low when she massgaed me today. And indeed, i have been carrying isabelle the last two days! looks like no carrying her till 40 days!

lilboymum
isabelle was at class when i took gabbie out! So no prob! Anyway i already promised to take isabelle out for sushi and her 'aircon playground' when i can carry her. Just me and her.

bigtoes
Ur CL is so gross! I know wat u mean. MIL's place din use to have a drying rack and they wld put the crockery back into the cupboard when it was still damp. I'm like Yeek!!! HYGIENE!
oh i thot ur celebration was on the actual day of the manyue! Oops. Anyway do post pics of ur teddy bear jelly!

SLING
I dun like sling cos i put #1 in it when she was abt a mth old and i din like the way it contorted her poor lil neck. Like so awkward. And it's quite hard for me to put her in. So no more sling for me. Also, i feel insecure as the sling seems to be slipping off. mebbe i din wear correctly. But bottomline is, difficult to use compared to baby bjorn!

Baby Bjorn: So where is the best place to get a good deal for this? Cheong Choon? I know bb hypermart at kaki bukit has but thik their prices a bit steep lei.

Kitchen mess

Yes, yes, mine is also in a real BIG MESS! I nearly fainted when my MIL cooks the first day at my place, and she does not clean up, saying what's the point of cleaning up when she has to cook everyday! Furthermore, mine is a open-concept kitchen, no doors to close, and all the smell and everything gets to my living room, bedroom, etc!!!

I had to tell my husband that we had to tell his mum to stop cooking 2 days before we hold the buffet at our place, and we have to specially ask my part time helper to come and clean up the place before we do the manyue!!

What a nightmare!

sarahmay,
when cadence was in the nicu, there were also a lot of other babies who were there and they were like 4/5 days on, having phototherapy. the nurses had to 'suntan' their back and i saw with my own eyes how this baby lifted up his head and turned left and right. it wasn't a smooth move but he did change position several times. even cadence who is premature, was able to do that when put on her back. it's just that i'm a really paranoid mother so i'm not putting her on her tummy to sleep with/without supervision.

my girl does make noise when she drinks milk. she'll gulp milk then 'ng ng', gulp then 'ng ng'. something like that.

HANDLING THREE KIDS:
my parents have gone back to msia to visit my grandma who is very ill. so since this morning at 9, i was stranded with two fighting toddlers and one hungry newborn! and that's after surviving on like 4 hours of sleep coz cadence refused to sleep from 5-7am... super tired. the whole morning cadence refused to sleep and i was nursing her the whole time and silly jared kept coming in and out the room to look at me breastfeed. so by 12, i gave in and shoved 60ml of formula to cadence and she's sleeping till now. the two todds are sleeping now too...

i really hope my mum comes back soon. so difficult to jaga all and still have to cook. okie. shall nap too before anyone of them wakes up!

Sleeping on Tummy:

I do let my FB sleep on his tum tum in the day under supervision. Just not during the nite. Jonas is so far not easily startled so no sleeping on tum tum yet for him. My aunt (who is very close to me) is dead against me letting bb sleep on their tum tum. Why? Because she lost her son (i.e. my cousin) when he was a NB (died in his sleep). I do not know whether it was SIDS or suffocation. So better safe than sorry...

SEe tat you guys are discussing on Man Yue.. I should be doing mine next sat.. on the 11th too... actually like most of u.. suppose to use Neo garden.. having been using them for most of my celebration like my FB bb shower and first birthday...

but my sis in law had a suggestion.. she just went to our relative bb shower last week too and commented tat the food is nice and her husband went over to collect the catalogue for me as well.. it's called the Delihub... go take a look.. think will go order from them... www.delihub.com.sg

Nursing shawl..
I'm also looking for it.. dun know which one to get.. and dun intend to spent $45 for the shawl... maybe thirty plus max.. any more suggestion mummies.. the one Crayonshinchan recommend one is from states.. cannot wait already.. going out in another 2 wks time..so will not be in time for me to go out.. ahhh.. i wanna go out soon!!

Jaundice,
Thanks Lok for sharing her experience with me.. Was worried too for my Cayden.. we just went for the 3rd round of blood test for his jaundice.. luckily the count already came down to 195.. as compare to the first time is 258 than 251 to 195... for every week.. hmm even thought now he still look very yellowish... but will keep on sunning him... and monitor him..

Bigtoes, where do you order your tingkat food from? Do you order for lunch &amp; dinner, or just lunch? Any idea how big the portion is and how much it cost?

Rachel Lim - started our tingkat from Lexin today. Portions are reasonable - hubby and I are small eaters and didn't finish the portions. They only deliver for lunch (eastern/northern areas). Mine is $195 for 2 pax for 4 dishes(20 days per month).

<font color="0077aa">Online shopping: That's the best way to shop without stepping out from your house! And its addictive!! That day I just bought a nursing top from MIM &amp; two normal tops that I don't know if I can wear! Haha!

Kyrieleison: I also ordered cakes from Melrose after I heard good reviews. But the cakes turn out to be dry &amp; not soft. Yours ok?</font>

Flos / kyrie - me too leh .. I also spent 300 bucks with a few clicks!! hahaha.....I wonder if we chose tops! hee hee hee.... we'll know at the next gathering!

Isabelle - When u brought Gabbie out, how did u carry her? was she placed in a stroller? I note that u don't use slings!

Limay - do u have a weighing machine at home? The next PD appointment we have is at the end of Oct but I am quite curious re how much weight Declan has put on!

SarahMay - mine's a 5.5 week old baby and he is STILL taking an hour. It's suppose to shorten but not leh.... my nipples feel "hot" after he sucks.

Quiling - I think it is better to be together in a family but lived in SH, I also know how hard it is to find help which u can trust. There are many Ah-yis available but it is not easy to find someone who is good ..... re milk powder, my friends also "import" from Singapore....

Alabone - wah - quite a feat!!! 3 at one time. i hope ur mom comes back soon too!!! R u going to get a helper at some point?

sasa - pardon me for asking again - are u going back to work so soon coz u r self-employed?

isabelle..
heee..i guess cy was a sling bb and i guess both of us have good memories of the sling. it was good as a nursing shawl, blankie, security blanket, and carrier for me. i didnt start him on sling until 2 mths coz before that i dunno how to use it..kakakakka...but once i started, it was great!!!

i stopped slinging him at 15mths when i realise i was preggie. the fact that he still remembers it more than his ergo and got so excited seeing it was kinda sweet for me...

online shopping
woooooo...there will be more and more to shop for as bb grows older!!!!!just spent quite a tidy sum so am on a shopping ban now...kakakakakak...

Flos - My bb is just 12 days old.. So not sure if it is normal. But have brought bb to the PD and it might be the wind in tummy that causes her sleepless night as she wasn't like this b4..

isabelle - Haha ya.. I'm also v scare when she scream and shout at my hubby.. I'll stay in the room with my bb..

LC - Yr CL is much more better than yr MIL at least she know all the hygenic and things that are good for bb.. Am glad too that I'm not alone.. At least still can vent my anger here so I wont kp everything in my heart..

littleger - I will pump every 2-3hrs. I think mayb you shld see some videos on the correct latching as I realise that in the first few days my bb latch for a few min and doze off.. And the video did mention that due to the slow flow of milk, bb will fall asleep. With the correct latching, the flow will be strong and the nipple will not hurt..

If you are afraid that yr milk supply will drop, it will be best to pump every 2-3 hrs even if there's no much milk.. So yr body will know that they need to produce more.. And rem to drink more!! Everytime after breastfed or pumping, I'll be v v thirsty.. Btw I'm using Medela Pump..

Chantelle - Waa.. since yr MIL did't really cook the exact confinement food for you, it will be best if you try to drink D.O.M or Yomeijiu everyday.. It will helps and its v convenient..

Lanolin, yes, my baby do hiccups everyday too! Sometimes more than once a day! He's a hiccup baby, he always hiccup even while I'm pregnant.

Flos/Lanolin, hehehe so that means I'm still quite restrained! Hahah anyway it's my virgin experience so hoping that it'll be a good buy. If so, I'll prob end up addicted too! Got the response from Maternalove.. says it'll take 5 business days for it to be delivered.. which means it'll be on Thursday or Fri? Opted for registered mail. Can't wait for the tops to arrive! Saw their slings too and am so tempted. Lanolin, you bought their slings? Do give your feedback once you try it out k?

Isabelle, nope not yet. Going to call the church to arrange. Can't go for mass yet cos confinement's still not over. Will do so next week when I'm finally FREE!

Storeberry, when I ordered it two years back, their cream cakes were okie. Had good reviews about it. Hmm, i sure hope their standard hasn't fallen. Ordered all my cakes from them..even those to be sent to office and school. I'm keeping my fingers crossed about their buffet. Wanted to order from Neo Garden too but thought i'd give them a try.

Lanolin/Rachel, mine too! He always hiccups in the tummy.. up to 4 episodes a day. Now, he's still doing it very often. I don't give him water but I try to give him BM instead to stop his hiccups.

<font color="0077aa">Kyrieleison: I ordered their butter cakes but not too good lo.

Zane hasn't been sleeping from 2plu till now.. Aiyoo don't know what he wants &amp; kept crying also... Haiz... So tired carrying him.</font>

Storeberry, oh dear.. i also ordered their butter cakes for the full month this time round. Will let you know how is it tomm.

I've the exact opposite prob as you. Isaac has been sleeping the whole afternoon and still is now. I'm really worried about tonight..

sleeping on tumtum: no way, esp after reading abt Lok's aunt's tragic story. Few days back, my CL alreay got a earful from me for telling me she resorted to letting my son sleep on his tummy when he was fussing beyond control.

Diapers usage: Just check how many pieces of diapers your bb uses every 24 hours? I was shocked beyond words that my CL has used up 7 packs*36pc of my Pampers Premium after 21 days (excl my boy's 2 days stay at TMC), that gives me an average of 12 pcs/24hr.

I dun see him poop so many times in our record book, that means he peed a lot. OR, my CL has seen my whole carton of Pampers NB and takes things for granted that this couple 'prints greenbacks' so she can any-o-how draws out the pampers.

I'm contemplating whether I shd revoke those free Drypers/Huggies samples she asked from me to give her 16-week-pregnant daughter.