(2008/09) Sep 2008

Kyrie, sorry sorry.. my msg is meant for qqq..but you are nomal to value your personal time and space.. I feel I have lost almost all my freedom and was feeling sad abt it.. came here and pour out my unhappiness.. and i realise I am not alone feeling that way
.. now I am slowly adjusting my mindset..

sarahmay
tried a different hold. it might work. ergo dun work too well for newborns unless you have the infant insert. for bb bjorn, not as lasting as ergo, which can be used up to toddlerhood..

sleeping on tummy and SID
the fear most parents have on sleeping on tummy is not actually SID. even though the cause of sid is not known but most researchers thought it has to do with bb's neural networking determined even before birth. when a bb cannot lift up their head and is buried in their blankets, it is suffocation, not SID. in fact, in most SID deaths, bbs are sleeping on back or side.

think it was the American healthcare that first propgated the used of sleeping on back. something with 'back to sleep' slogan...but before the federal govt started the campaign, there had been NO studies done at all to determine if SID is caused by sleeping on the back...

if you ask any paediatrician, they may off hand rec sleeping on side or back, but probe a bit further you can make them reveal there is actually no study done to support such statement. they are just echoing what parents want to hear...

problem with sleeping on back
research has shown it will affect the development of brain...the back part of the brain (Whatever that is called)..bb';s brain growth is the fastest in the first year, and putting pressure on this part of the skull will affect growth in certain areas of development in the bb...

shazz: it's a relief to hear from you that the food is good!!! small portions are fine with me cos i only invited 30 pax thereabts. Is Lavish good too? I am not familiar with caterers in SG. Only based on recommendations from my friends who are in the training & devt business.

sarahmay: But ergo and bjorn are for old bbs rite? I got the BB Air. I dun think my bb can snug inside as yet.

sunnysunny: I think the sling can be a mess if not tied properly, esp the dangling loose ends! So untidy.

bb grunts and snorts: mine makes that kind of noises too. Since ur babies are also like dat, I shan't get too worried.

kyrie: ok, I'll secretly go check on my avent pacifier to see if that's the same one u r talking abt. dun want my CL to know i hv, cos she will definitely shove it into his mouth when I'm asleep.

Lok: "Just room temp water in his milk bottle (if using FM)"

DO u mean u mix the FM before leaving your home, then just add a bit of hot water at the restaurant?

qqq: my CL just made hue and cry abt my boy staying awake for 5 hrs out of 24 hrs ytd. Is that not normal? Thot it's quite ok for a 22 day old bb?

lanolin: how did u manage on your bb's manyue? also one FM feed, or amid your chatting with your guests, you BF your bb? I'm hoping to feed bb with FM in the hours before and after the party, else I hv no time to repeat my birth story to inquisitive guests!!! (shazz: i know what u mean, i sounded like a broken record at the hospital already...that OUCH OUCH story was repeated several times until I got so thirsty...)

Baby carriers
I am using the Infantino baby carrier for my 6-week old gal, as her head is still not strong enuff for normal carriers, and I am also not into using the sarong-type. The Infantino is gd cos it is secure and suitable for 3.6kg to 9+ kg. Will upgrade her when she is older to the other normal carrier that I initially bought for her

BF baby when out
How long do you mummies nurse ur BB when out at shopping centres? I tried to BF for around 20 mins when I am out, and she falls asleep after that, but gets hungry again less than an hour later, and cries for milk again..

Flos
What strange practices that ur MIL has that you fear? MY MIL actually says that BM is bad for BB?? And she say CANNOT BF for more than 6 months, if not it will be bad for the BB! WTH?? How to leave my BB with her? Think she will throw away any EBM that I leave in the fridge when I go to work! That's why IFC is the best way out, even my HB supports it

Lilboymum
I leave my baby sleeping on her back, but tilt her head to the side (either left or right). Is it ok? My CL also puts her to sleep this way, so I just continue with it after she has left last week.

Flos,

No, I do not pre-mix. FM powder is still in the container. Just water in the bottle cos I don't know what type of water the restaurants will give! At least for hot water, I can be pretty sure it has been boiled before (not tapwater etc). If I bring out EBM, will put it in a cooler bag, then ask for hot water from restaurant to warm it up.

jas:

MIL's strange practice/belief/value = BM for only 1 month will do cos can't make her grandson plump and chubby!

Lok: oic. for once, i thot u premix!

<font color="0077aa">Sarah: Yah lo, IL r'ship sometimes very hard to handle. My MIL is staying here now, sometimes also cannot stand her but don't know how to tell her. Like she don't wash her hands when she wipes my bb buttocks then carry him after that... Haiz.. Don't nother so muc about your SIl's comments ok? Really CMI, don't they know that a new mummy faces alot of stress &amp; new responsibilities?

Sling: I am still trying to get used to the sling, really not that easy to put bb in.

I just lay my bb on his tummy to sleep &amp; its true that he didn't stir much. Can sleep for 3 hours!

I went out a few times to nearby NTUC to buy things during confinment, even had taco balls at the Pasar Malam! Keke..

Brought bb out when I cut my hair yday, thank GOD he was sleeping throughout when hubby carried him at the salon. Then brought him to my grandma &amp; parent's house. My nephew was so excited to see di-di again!

My sis uses this pacifiers (donna which brand) that is transparent &amp; the whole pacifier is rubbery, will ask her to get one for me.</font>

Koras, yah i'm staying with my ILs till my place is ready latest by 2010. So my bb will be under their care. Yup studying and taking care of bb is certainly tough. I'm really kinda stressed out thinking about it. Esp with exams round the corner in Nov. I just can't wait to get it over and done with.

LC, no prob. Just that I don't quite understand myself. I don't have problems with them. But problems with myself I suppose. Anyway just waiting for confinement to be over so that I can go back to my mum's place to stay over Fridays and also spend Sundays with them. I dunno why but I just want my son to spend equal time with both sides so that he doesn't feel closer to one side. I'm very close to my family so perhaps that's why I want my son to be as close to them.

Flos, I just gave him the pacifier just now. Before he started wailing for his milk, I placed it into his mouth and he took it. I just feel bad pulling it after that.

Bathing bb:
What do you all think about bathing bb in the evening or about 7+? I just told my dad-in-law that I was going to do just that to try it out and he insists that confinement babies cannot bathe at night! Is it really that way?

I find he usually sleeps well after bath so I thought of trying it out to see if he'll sleep earlier tonight instead of the usual 12+am almost 1am the last two nights.

Sigh.. here goes again. If I had my own place, I wouldn't be placed under such 'restrictions'. I know it's for my own good or bb's good when they do things but somehow my stubborn streak is acting up.

My mom has gone back and I really missed her company and her pampering.
I wonder if I should suan my HB. His mom came over to cook for me, as my mom asked her to, and when my HB asked me what his mom is cooking for dinner, I told him my confinement food, he has to share with me. And he agrees immediately. When it was my mom who cooked, and he heard that it is confinement food, he would always refuse to eat at home. Really double standard leh.

BTW, what do you all think about 'yao lan'? I am rather keen to get one but again, my HB is against it.

qqq,
if baby dun latch, how often do u pump ur milk out? I worried that my milk supply will drop... Well, at least ur girl still latch for 15-20mins.. my girl doesn't even wanna latch! even if she latch, it's oni for 5 mins! ANyway, sigh... I already gave in to bottle fed tis afternoon.. i can't bear to see her so tiny and still not taking in milk! Btw, currently wat type of pump are u using now?

flos,
i will try that! But dunno if it will work for mi...

Shazz - u really have many people to invite huh?
Glad one out of three are down!

Flos - I BF most of the feeds during man yue. Women are invited into the room while I BFing (I heck care liao) but not the men. I remembered BFing 3 times and the last one, I couldn't take it and did FM. Whatever time I had btw feeds, I talked to the guests but my hubs did most of the entertaining together with my parents la. (it was at my parent's place adn IL-s came over...). I also kept it very small. Family and only a few friends (60 pax) so it was more manageable. People could "view" the baby between feeds but had to come into the room which he was resting in. He only did a "grand tour" around the party once! I didn't want him to be overly stimulated and get cranky.

kyrieleison (you must be a christian .. God have mercy!) - my CL also says it is better not to bath baby after dark during confinement as they can catch a cold easier.
I am sure that ur dad-in-law meant well. I think u might really be suffering from cabin fever - trapped in a house too long and not being able to do as u wish, esp when it concerns ur own child. Maybe u can try to see if there's anything u REALLY want to do for the baby and tell ur hubs to tell his parents to "close one eye" with ur top 3 on that list? Give and take. IL-relationships r tough for every one. That's why I stay far from my ILs. heh heh

Flos - Lavish dine is good. I had them for my wedding reception after church! :D

Frowning / kicking - does ur baby frown /kick while u are BFing him? Mine frowns quite a bit and I told his dad that we'll have to save up money for BOTOX! hahaha

I think I'm the only one of the thread whose baby takes 1 hour per feed. On a good day, 40 mins will suffice but nothing under 30 mins! That's why I don't dare to bring him out. What if I am stuck in a nursing room for 1 hour while my friends are happily eating their lunch??? *wail*

qqq : yeah i start bathe lor, everyday , except for the stay during hospital nv bathe at all, body too tired to even think of bathing. my confinement not like confinement de la , initialy wanted to hire a confinment lafy , den MIL say dunwan , say too expensive , say she know all the things , but in fact she knows nothing at all , cook the stuff for me is those normal days we ear de , not confinement food at all , never even help me take care of baby at all , I'm a 1st time mum and i'm doing everything on my own , so i dun care le , eat those illegal stuff , drink cold drinks , bath ... haha

But lucky baby quite obedient , everytime slp de , except when need feeds or diapers change den she cry if not will jus slp. but at nite have to wake up every 2-3 hrs to feed her and sometimes to change diapers for her , so actually not enough slp also. MIL did'nt even do anything.

flos

my kitchen oso a mess aft all those intensive cooking...got so many ants invaded

lilboymum

dun tink i will venture out with a tot n bb anytime soon...no courage yet..it would be nightmare 4 me...

lanolin: no lah, when I latch, it's also one hour. 30min left, 30min right, with some fussing, grunting, snorting frowning, kicking, boxing in between... That's why I'm soooo hesitant to take himm out to the malls.

I wonder how storeberry can squirt out her BM in 5-10min and satisfy Zane!! LOL.

kyrie: yep, cannot bathe him after sunset during confinement. not sure when can resume, but i'll bathe him at 6-7pm in the future.

lanolin,
sometimes my BB will also feed for about an hour, sometimes 30mins on one side or both side.

Sometimes 10mins left side and then another 10 mins rite side and he'll knock out le. So mine is not fixed lor.

I understd how u feel. Imagine we nursing for 1 hr and our hubby or fren have to wait for us 1 hr...sianz

kyrieleison,
yes i'm teacher but a sec sch teacher. last week, my hod again called me up under instructions from the P apparently, to ask me if i was gonna take childcare leave for next year. said they need to ask for manpower already... i'm also undecided as to whether i wanna take a whole stretch at one go or to break it up...

flos,
i know my uterus is back/almost back to normal coz i went to see my gynae abt this pain i had near my c sec wound. so she was slightly worried therefore, she did a scan for me to check for any blood clots (which i didn't have). then she told me during the scan then (3 weeks ago) that my uterus was almost back to normal size liao. so i gather by now, it shd be alraedy normal.

FEEDING OUTSIDE:
what i did previously was to bring out pre measured amt of FM, then bring along room temp water and a flask of hot water. asking for room temp water outside is not safe coz they can give you tap water. asking for warm water suitable for making FM is also dangerous coz they can give you tap water mixed with hot water!! so i just lugged my own around. then after that, i decided it was toooo heavy to carry, so i just brought one thermos flask of pre mixed 60 degrees water suitable to make FM.

jas,
i do not bring cadence out when i go out. she is a premature baby and to date, has not had any injection yet. so when i go out, i bring her over to my mum's place, which is just a 3mins walk away. then i will happily go jalan jalan with hb and two todds, then go back to my mum's and exchange children. hehehehehe. you are right that it is not good to bring bbs out to crowded places at this age.

bigtoes,
i did not start natalie with the pacifier till she was about 3/4mths old. because before that, she was an angelic infant to take care of. i hardly hear her cry like 3 times in a day kind. even when she was hungry, she'd just go 'heh heh heh', kinda like a little puppy panting away. but once with the pacifier, she is really quite attached to it. when she sleeps now, she has to have the pacifier and is now capable of asking for it and going to take it herself. i'm slowly trying to wean her...

shazz,
wow! 100 people. not easy and you have three batches??? all catering food from neo garden??

GRUNTS/WEIRD NOISES:
it's quite normal for them to grunt and make all sorts of odd noises. cadence grunts and stretches a lot. which is actually good coz they growww.

SLEEPING ON TUMMY:
i must clarify that when i put bb to sleep on tummy, i meant she is sleeping on her back on MY tummy. she doesn't sleep on her tummy. i don't dare to put her on her tummy.

flos
he now sleeps in the bouncer cos its way too hot in the cot but we will try to figure something else out soon.re spine development-the bouncer thing is definitely not the long term solution. right now while he is still not that heavy there does not seem to be as much curvature

sling
my maid brought back two batik sarongs on her last home visit and she has been so excited about showing me how to use them. quite impressive really, the sling doesnt even have the ring like the MIM kind, its all just tying- so i've been using it to take bb on walks around the neighourhood and as a cover when i breastfeed outside of home.

shazz
thanks for the tip about using desitin. works like a charm.

dseptkon: how abt a playpen?

alabone: oic. anw, i did ask my dr if my cervix had closed during my post-partum visit one week after my delivery. he said "u dun want another VE right?!" funny...

littleger - hang in there. u just started your journey. we all started the same way.

Flos - yup my antibiotics is safe for breastfeeding.

Today in fact, after my massage, bb latch on both breast very well. yipee..now he sleeps like a log. Last night, when he got cranky, i took him from CL and he slept with me on my bed as hubby is down with the flu.

Shazz - did they provide red eggs and ang ku kueh?

feeding
mine takes forever to feed too. 30mins to over an hour with her latch-suck-spit-root-latch-spit-scream-latch routine. i just weighed her on the new digital scale dh bought and she is still 300g below her birth weight at day 12. have decided to relax with the latching and give her more ebm so that i can monitor her intake. there's just no way i can tell if she's been getting enough with direct latching.

hihi mummies
just came back not long ago from centrepoint! Just baby and me. I really miss this time when I brought #1 out with me. Babies this age r so easy cos she's so light and sleeping most of the time!
Realised u mummies have been talking abt going out with baby. BF is really easy outside. Just find a place, sit down and use nursing shawl/cover if u buay pai sei like me. If not, at centrepoint u can use the mothercare bf room! I din use nursing top, din even wear nursing bra out. And my 'diaper' bag was just a small harrod's bag: 2 diaper's, TMC change mat cos it's so portable, 2 packs wet wipes, mini diaper cream, small towel, nursing shawl and small blankie.
Baby slept in Maclaren XT for a while, then when she woke up I "baby bjorn-ed" her and she slept again. LOVE my baby bjorn!
In short, gg out with bb now is easy peasy. So all u muumies out there, go kai kai with ur lil' ones soon!!!

BF mothers and EBM outside
FOr #1 I brought out a Tiger Hot Water Flask (350ml) and a metallic mug from Daiso (those olden type in the kopitiam where they softboil the eggs). I keep my EBM cool with cool pack and when I need it I warm it up. I'm not too sure u can warm up EBM beforehand and keep it that way for a few hrs till u need it. Seems to me that this might encourage bacterial growth!
For ice pack, it's real bulky, so when my cool pack leaked, i cut it open and poured some of its contents into a medela milk storage bag. I moulded it into the shape of a small ball and it fit my Allerhand milk carrier bag perfectly. After which my bottle of EBM goes on top of the cool pack. This can keep it cool for hours!

Or if u dun want to bring the flask out, u can ask for hot water outside.

FIRST MTH CELEBRATION
finally over! Was so busy entertaining guests I din eat much and MS dropped! But it came back after a hearty dinner!

Ava
had a great time catching up with frens. But standing for a long time in my heels made my legs ache like crazy. Was looking forward to Mas's massage this morn but alas she cldn;t make it. Hope everything's okay with her!

Meie
Will post photos here and more on my flickr account when hubby uploads pics onto comp. But they're not beautiful lah. Hubby kept saying the cupcakes look so ugly and unprofessional. My spirals not symmetrical, dots not equal size etc. I said thank you for ur honesty. I appreciate it. But he kept criticising my poor cupcakes until I complained to my frens and I told them (he was there too) okay, gimme the money and I'll order from The Patissier! Cos I love their cupcakes and if I had the budget I wld have ordered fr them and not made myself!

Bigtoes
hmmm, guess the cupcakes were edible? Hee hee. Think the older folks found the icing a tad too sweet! Oops!
Teddy bear jelly to match teddy bear theme. Nice! Looks like we same pattern. I also did the cupcakes to match my cupcake theme invite!

hi lanolin, i'm a catholic. You know what? I think you're right. I'm prob suffering from that. I just teared in my room just now cos as much as I didn't want to give in by bathing him early, I did so at 6pm when my FIL said so. After that, my boy got soooo comfortable that he fell asleep in my FIL's arms. I got really fed up with that.. cos I know it only means it's a long night again tonight.

Maybe I should just get out of the house. If I don't, I'll prob undergo depression pretty soon. Trying to hold myself together now.

Just spoke to my hub. Let out everything. Feelin much better now. Just hoping that after confinement, everything will be better.

Hi alabone, I haven't decided actually too. But my supervisor just msged me and told me to email him a list of my duties and performance this year. Wonder what for..

Hi all. I'm a beautician. Now i'm currently providing post natal body trtment. I do a whole course of post natal inclusive of 2x facial. Whole body massage. Breast trtment,specialising in abdomen trtment, etc.
I can be reached @ 94366767

kyrieleison
u know what? When i saw ur nick, i was thinking to myself u r prolly a catholic!

qqq
ur MIL sounds SCARY!!! Think u better just yes yes to what she says and just do what u like behind her back. Cos no pt arguing with unreasonable ppl!

Sarah may
glad u seem better now!

Bigtoes,
100ml is ok? Thanks for the reassurance..

Flos,
I am determined to get a new dress or tee or whatever..wearing maternity clothes makes me feel down
I think i will just go to vivo again tmr and try my luck!

Shazz,
Wow you have a huge crowd at your bb manyue..hmm..how many pax did you cater? Do caterer give more eg. u order 50 pax, and they give abt 60 pax? I ordered from ecreative for 50 pax..crossed my fingers it's enough..but i have supplemented with cake, kuehs and red eggs..v excited...even ordered balloons to fill the function room (one of my fantasy since young..haha)

breadmum (breadmum): Neo Gardens dun provide the eggs and ang ku kueh. My CL helped me prepare the red eggs.

Lanolin, alabone &amp; Flos: I had more than 100 pax yesterday.
Lunch - my relatives from dad and mum side (40 pax)
High tea - church friends, colleagues and our friends (slightly more than 70 pax)
coming sat lunch - hubby's relatives + neighbours + some friends

Alabone: I only catered from Neo Gardens for the high tea group cos hubby wanted finger food instead of the full lunch/dinner spread cos it's in between meal time for our guests. Am glad the guests like the food.

I also ordered extra sugar roll and yummie cheese tarts from Dino, super yummy!

Isabelle: you're fantastic! I'm not sure if I can handle baby well on my own, so have not tried bringing him out yet.

EOC: End of Confinement! Today marks the end of my 28 days confinement period. It wasn't that torturous for me as I got to rest very well, thanks to my CL. Will definitely miss her yummy food and the way she can soothe my boy. It's her last day tom and she'll leave after lunch.
Then it's time for me to be a full time mummy and take care of bb on my own.

Had my first experience of bathing baby today. CL gave me 60 marks, cos i panicked when baby started screaming cos he was hungry! But he loves it when he's in the water! He loves taking his bath but once he's out of the tub, he screams! haha ... clothing him was a challenge when he's hungry though, had to use the pacifier to stall time when I dressed him!

Flos: my Avent pacifier is the transparent one that came with the Avent IQ steriliser, so it should be the same thing.

Bacon&amp;egg: For the lunches, I'm using my in laws' contact. They gave me more food than what is catered for. Catered for 30 pax, fed 40 and still had some leftovers. For Neo Gardens, I catered for 75pax cos I read that their portion is small. Again, I had leftover for some food, popular items like yummy wings are all gone by the time the caterer came to collect the trays.

Angeline
hahaha...yah i dun dare, but dying to get back into action soon. haiz..

today brought my MIM sling out to laundry. CY, my fb, saw it and got all excited thinking it's time to go out soon!!! wonder what will happ when he sees it's not him going into it but meimei...

flos
my sis' breastfed bbs are all 90th percentile bbs. it is in the genes lah...if your boy turns out skinny, blame it on your hb genes...

my fb was quite chubby until i return to work at 5.5mths...coz he refuse his bottles and refuse his solids...

isabelle
you went out with gabbie wo isabelle????how did she take it???

bacon&amp;eggs: no, not to wear maternity clothes. I wasn't wearing maternity clothes in my first trimester. I can't find into my jeans anymore. Really sad. I just weighed myself on my new scales. I've put on weight!!! DARN! Anyway, nice to know my bb is now 4.2kg at Day 22.

isabelle: where can I buy a nursing shawl? Do u mean u pull up/pull down your tank top or tee to BF in public?

shazz: i ordered the full lunch spread. Maybe I shd buy a cake too...hmmm...I already got ang ku kueh, but haven't started dyeing the eggs.

lilboymom: yes, my breast-fed nephews are also very "toa jiak". It's cos my sis is 1.7m tall, her hubs is 1.8m. It's really in their genes...

WEIGHT GAIN: I think I need to cut down on my in-between snacks. No more pig trotters, no more horlicks and milo, no more sesame oil!!

CALIFORNIA BABY CALENDULA CREAM SPREE:
Our loot is here! Have emailed mummies in the spree on collection and payment details!
Will not be posting details of the spree here as I got a few PMs from people who happen to lurk in this thread, asking me about the spree, how I got it so cheap etc, how to do it. Hmmn, I'm too busy to answer such questions now. sorry hor.

Have u heard of this theory?

That if you want to train ur baby to sleep through the night, u should not feed him/her too much during the night feeds now so that he/she can get used to the slightly "empty tummy" feeling and can sleep through it?

Flos - I also want a nursing shawl. Asking my best friend if she has one (she's passing me a lot of her second hand stuff).... if not, ava sent me a link whereby we can order. http://bebe-et-maman.com/store/

Shazz - good luck .... we first time mummies really need a lot of confidence and strength to manage baby without CL! Are you home alone or is ur mummy helping you?

Kyrielesion : Do do do pop out a little and breath some fresh air. I don't know what u like but for me, even a drive to nowhere with hubs was good.

There are quite a few catholic mummies here!

Hi isabelle, yup am a catholic.
You too?

Lanolin, tomm's gonna be the 1st of 2 full month celebration. It's gonna be at my mum's so it's a chance to get out of the house. Finally... I really need a breather. But Sunday it's back here again and my hub and I both can't stand some of his relatives from his side. I don't mind having people carry him but I know baby is going to be hijacked and passed around like a parcel in musical chairs.

Anyone with any idea how to prevent that? I already made the celebration a dinner one so that the hours are shorter. Think keeping him in the air-con room and saying that he's going to breastfed works? Hee

My bb has been sleeping with me and hub on the bed since he came back from the hosp but we tried putting him on his cot last night. It went well *fingers crossed* and we had a better rest. Hopefully this continues and soon we can start training him to sleep through without waking up for feeds. When should this be done?

lanolin, but the nursing shawls sold by bebe et mama is like a poncho they place over you at the hairdresser's! I won't pay $45 for something I can made myself!! LOL

I mean, can we throw a pashmina shawl over? Do we need to 'sterilise' the shawls all the time? haha!

letting bb go with an empty stomach at night so that he can sleep longer? I hv never heard of that theory. I thot only by feeding him enuff does he sleep soundly?

kyrie - I think keeping in a room (hopefully u can lock it) and saying that u are breastfeeding (which can happen any time for at least one hour each) will help u get some air during the man yue!
Plus hubs and I have no qualms telling people to wash their hands before going into the room. It just depends on how upfront u guys can be with relatives. We just heck care.... :D

Flos - ORH. I donch know how to sew ...hhahaha..I think most nursing shawls are like that. Thing about pashminas is that they can be too warm and the fabric might be too "wooly" and baby might breath in some of the stuff. Also, the shawl has special dimensions so u can see the latch / ur baby while wearing it.

Donch know leh...my sis told me that. Will ask her again. :D

kyrieleison (kyrie): do you have a CL? my CL is so experienced that she just "jaga" my boy all day long during the celebration. And because my boy was sleeping so much, he was in his stroller and the cot most of the time instead of being passed around. Only a handful of people carried him. If you don't have a CL, can perhaps get your mum to be in charge of taking care of your baby.

Lanolin: I want to be on my own first, to see if I can cope, then I'll call for help! hehe, my in laws and my mum are on standby, offering to buy me food and come over anytime I call them. We live in the same estate, so it's very near for my in laws to pop by.

alabone.. my hb is catholic but I'm not. kekeke.. lazy to go RCIA..Maybe in future, I'll go for classes with Reyes..

ya kyrieleison, when I saw ur nick I guess as much u are a catholic.

Aiya PIL issues are very sensitive. Can lun, just lun. For me, sometimes after a visit by my ILs, I'll feedback to my hb abt what his mum had done/said. Then if he agrees that his mum shdnt have done/said those things, we'll rehearse wat he should say to my ILs the next time they do the same things again. So technically speaking its their son who is the bad guy.. heee.. I guess this will not strain the relationshp with my ILs so much..

I am not so ngeow not to let my ILs touch my son. Its just that it takes time getting use to carrying/feeding/burping etc baby after 30yrs of not touching one. My MIL is sooooo garang tat I get stressed seeing the way she handles baby. haaa...And even after my CL told her no need to PINCH the nose and PULL the legs, she's still doing it!!! MY POOR SONNY!!

Turning baby on tum tum..
We try to give him abt 5mins of tum tum time per day and due to our inexperience in doing so, it takes us a great effort to turn him over...both hb and I will go "dear dear dear his hand, careful of his head.. no no lets do it again.. ok ok this way this way.." ahhahaah...but he loves it after we manage to turn him over...then turning him back takes another great deal of effort..

CL is leaving today.. I am going to be so so so so so so so sad ;-(

Shazz, tmr is Reyes' manyue but our CL wont be around and I'm so worried that he will become the baton for the day! My CL told me if i believe, to let him wear some gold to ya1 jin1. Hopefully he doesnt get cranky and hopefully pple will not try to carry him IF they are not sure how to..

lanolin.. u'll get addicted to online shopping once u start.. haa.. Now with the clothes not fitting me anymore, I'm owas looking at sprees and all BUT have yet to really shop yet..temptations..

Flos, I think most nursing shawls look like tat..

Anyone knows where to get the kind with holes so that I can look in and see if my son is sucking on the right thing.. haa.. now he has this habit of tasting the nipple, suckle a bit, push out then go around rooting for it again and i owas have to help him find my nipple again.. I dont think I'll be able to wear nursing top and feed him in the malls, he'll showcase my nipple for the whole world to see!

this site seems to have quite a bit of variety..
http://www.nursingcovers.com/

shazz
thx for california baby!
thx but I'm not fantastic lah, it's cos i'm secondtime mummy, and looking at #2 who can run ard, I realise that new babies r soooo much easier to take care of. I dun even have to entertain baby while i'm out! Can just look at my own stuff! I'm sure u can manage too after trying it out

kyrieleison
yep, am catholic too
ooh, i was so happy ppl were carrying my baby cos this meant i cld move ard and catch up with my frens!

flos
lanolin is rite. the shawl is made with bf in mind. while pashmina will be falling all over u and baby. My bf cover is very cheapo. available fr the maternity section at kiddy palace in toa payoh. but design wise very childish print (imagine teddy bear prints all over you while bf!). I dun really fancy that but my SIL passed to me for #1 and now another SIL also passed to me so i have two. Doesn;t make sense for me to go get a hip stylish shawl now...

I usually wear something with buttons or some top that's easier to lift up or with wide neckline. If i'm in nursing room then i dun care what i wear! hee

ava
i meant that it's quite hard on her to take care of her family with her husband like dat. Poor thing...

Re baby on sleeping tummy : This is actually making me worried. My baby LOVES to sleep on his tummy on the chest of my CL. WAH LAO. Like that how if it continues and he wouldn't fall asleep other wise??? I've told her to put him back onto the cot. She does but when he acts up, she'll pick him up and put him on her chest coz he can sleep better that way. Sigh..

Crayon / kyrie - I also handle my PILs like u. Btw my hubs and me, the golden rule is that if it is his parents, he'll handle (for us) and if it is mine, I'll handle and speak up. easier that way.

Shazz - jia youuuuuuuuu!!! u'll be our inspiration

crayonshinchan: same! my CL also leaving today. about in laws, mine hor, will pop by as and when they feel like it, sometimes screw up my pump and nap time. then when they're here, my CL's fear is when they try to make baby wake up by talking to him, touching his face, limbs etc! They'll bring my niece along as well and she'll go, Didi ... didi .... much to my CL's exasperation cos she believes that you should never wake a sleeping baby.

I dread the day when I have to leave my boy with my in laws to take care of him when I get back to work. I'm very sure they're gonna spoil him, carry him and rock him to sleep, sing songs etc. Right now, after feed and burping, we usually leave him in his cot to play or go to sleep by himself. CL dun want us to carry him too much. So far it has worked. Am so afraid that in laws will spoil market by over carrying him and then when I bring him home, he'll demand the same treatment from me! arhhh .... the perils of leaving baby with in laws ... but what to do, at least it's good problem, in laws will definitely love and care for him well.