(2008/09) Sep 2008

sri:thanks for the links. I won't drag beyond 42 days. My DH and I were trying to fix a dialect spelling for the name we pickd. It's really tough accepting a Chinese name picked by a third party (we use a master). Once u hv been told that it's 'auspicious', u'll hesitate to replace it with your own chocies

alabone: actually, the maid is an extra pair of hands only. do the household chores, cook, jaga, carry heavy stuffs, run errands for me...the actual bb sitting duties will still be managed by me. If need be, wake up with her lor...I hv no webcam at home.

Really hate to hire a maid...my SIL is really chao kar, park her son with my MIL and doesn't hire a maid for her. Now my MIL pressurises me to hire a maid (with my$) so that I can place my Isaac with her (plus my SIL's 12mo old son) in the weekdays...HAizzz...she's very good at 'abacus'.

It's all a ploy. I realise the agency owner is my MIL's long-time friend. She wants to pass the biz to her own lobang! Anyway, out of desperation and under subtle duress on Fri when my Cl left me in a lurch, I signed the application papers, as MIL watched on in glee...

Bacon&eggs: r u going to find a replacement? I only got a replacement becos my DH is gone for next week, and I dun want to eat normal meals. Otherwise, the other bbsitting chores are manageable by me.

<font color="0077aa">Flos: I weigh Zane &amp; myself together &amp; minus my own weight.. Keke..

Aiyoo.. Zane is perpetually latching on one breast &amp; falling asleep during night feedings then by 2nd feeding my other breast would have felt so engroged that I gotta to pump out. Yday had to do pumping twice!

blackberryB: Am doing total BF, if your bb feels contented &amp; fall asleep after feeding &amp; have 5-6 poos a day then your bb is feeding well. In the begining I only pump once a day (when I feel breast is still full) cos I am feeding on demand so don't want a situation whereby no milk after pumping. I am using Ameda pump.</font>

Hi everyone.... finally it's my turn to announce on the arrival of my junior, Matthias.

Jessie, can you pls pdate for mi...

wgt: 3755gms
lenght: 54cm
head circumference: 35cm

emg c-section

Jo

Storeberry
Like you, I am also feeding on demand, but wish to have EBM on hand as well in case of any unforeseen circumstances. I just started pumping once a day a few days ago but can only yield about 80 to 90ml after feeding baby on one breast. Hope to build up my EBM supply as my baby seems to be drinking even more now.

Congrats Jo!!!

Mei, my supply cannot meet up with her demand.. she is taking 120ml.. in the day, i can only express 300 - 360ml to meet 3 feeds.. night have to go for FM.. if not, i think she will cry non-stop..

<font color="0077aa">Mei: One breast can yield 80-90ml is good! You can start once a day then slowly increase to twice. But I don't pump more than 3 times unless breasts are engroged then I pump out 1st cos bb can't suckle well when breast is engroged. Don't worry about storing, I was also afraid that I don't enough EBM then slowly slowly the EBM build up, now not enough space in freezer to store!

Congrats Jo!! Another heavyweight champion!</font>

<font color="119911">Woke up this morning to a puddle of milk on my bedsheet! Think I turned sideways to sleep about 20 minutes before that and milk started leaking from the bottom booby. Argh….and this was just after 3 hours from the last feed at 6.30am.

Meanwhile - hubby and I are counting the days till my CL leaves.
Last night, Kieran couldn’t sleep and she fed him FM at 2.30am, then when he cried again at 3.30am she gave him EBM. He was still restless and crying at 4.30am when I went to check and she quickly trusted him into my arms (mentioned something about "bottle milk cannot, he wants to drink from the breast"…so I Bfed him again at 4.30am and returned him to his cot. He cried again at 6.30am and she gave him more FM and about 50ml of my EBM (which she said he regurgitated - obviously he would since he has been feed at such regular basis). Then at 9+am, she made me BF again, and fed him FM at 10+am cos "babies need to drink milk before they can sleep".

Her solution to crying seems to be to shove a teat or nipple into his mouth regardless of whether he is really hungry or not (though he does drink anyway)!!!!!!!!</font>

Flos, don mention it.. me too gt probs regarding my DD name... mum &amp; the rest somehw disapprove it cz DD name is somehw similar to my name (radiyah).. DD name is Shadiyah.. but i insist on tt name cz its combination of me &amp; my ex name (Sharizal).. Meaning of Shadiyah oso nt bad.. Knowledgeable &amp; full of manners.. Nw i contemplating between Nur Shadiyah or Nur Shadiyah Ayuni.. hehehe...

Mei, ic... i hate taking pills.. will forgo tt la..hehehe...

Congrtas Jo!!

Hi Goldfish,

ya no CL.. tt's y can hardly find time to log on. And there're so many posts to catch up on so I usu juz quickly run thru..

I've juz confirmed bb's 1st month, will be held at Globetrotters.. hopefully service &amp; food are ok. Have not eaten there b4.

Am also thinking of hiring a nanny into my pl to take care of bb when i go back to work cos I'm afraid my mom can't cope. Anyone has any recommendations? The agency quoted me $1.5k! tt's even more expensive than infant care!!

Mummies!! ur NB gt white spots at the head or nt?? its like if pressed gt water come out.. my bb hv it... so worried...... i tink due to hot weather..DD perspire alot...

Sri_leo
not sure if we talking about the same thing. my bb got "pimples" all over her face. initially only her cheeks. now even her forehead. so poor thing. anyone else encounter this? is there any cream for it?

Hi Ade, so did the PD say you should continue breastfeeding? Mine didn't mention anything about blood group incompatibility till I asked him but he said it's highly unlikely. So I am still continuing to breastfeed.

Alabone, my boy only pooped once the whole day for the last 2 days. This morning he had diarrhoea.
Dunno if it's due to the ridwind medication which I added into his EBM.

He has been crying for attention today and refused to go to sleep despite being fed and all after he woke up at 8am today. Sigh.. although I know it's normal for babies to behave this way, I still feel a tinge of helplessness everytime he cries.
Sometimes I really wonder how to differentiate between hunger cries or whether it's due to other reasons (like this morning when he was having stomach upset) Don't wanna just feed him everytime he cries and assume he's hungry.

Sri and green baby, my boy also has this pimple like thing on his neck and chin. I think it could be due to the heat. Anyway will check with PD tomm.

Do you girls switch on the air-con? My boy semms to tend to 'snort' when the air-con is on. He doesn't seem to have blocked nose though.

Frozen EBM
For frozen EBM, how do we defrost it? I have tried taking it out of the freezer and then placing it in the fridge area for a day but it doesn't totally defrost. How do we go about defrosting it the fastest way without wasting the remainder in the bottle?

green baby, yes! we talking abt the same thing.. poor bb..

those after checking wit PD plz feedback here.. i wonder why do bb hv such pimple.. thks alot..
if there's a cream, will send bb to polyclinic..

Kyrie, my bb recently keep crying.. due to wind in her stomach..sometimes i do feel so helpless...

**BM**

I pump but i nvr store in the freezer..i store it in the fridge &amp; once bb awake for nxt feeding, i'll reheat BM using microwave oven.. izzit ok to do tis??

<font color="0077aa">Sri Leo: Never microwave your milk! Cos it will notheat evenly &amp; may burnt your bb. Its better to heat with a cup of warm water, remeber warm &amp; not boiling water cos if not it will kill the nurients!

My bb also have bumps on his face due to the heat....</font>

Sri Leo - just need to put bottle of EBM in cup/ bowl of hot water to warm up the milk.. no more microwave ya.. test drip on your inside wrist. It should not feel too warm or cold. Just nice.

For me, I have been doing that but nt feeds are terrible. I'll take out the bottle half an hr before feed (e.g. 230am if feed is supposed to be 3am) and start the warming the milk in hot cup of water only when baby cries... coz I don't want to wake her up for a feed at night. This way I can still put the EBM back into fridge if baby does not wake up to drink. [read that cannot reheat warmed milk]

BUT the horrible thing is that she'll cry her lungs out for that 10-15min before milk is warmed!! Am seriously contemplating the Avent bottle warmer.. claims to warm 125ml in 2min!!

thks Springz for the advise... i promise nt to use microwave oven..

yalor... my DD oso like tt.. tts y i use microwave.. faster.. maybe i shld buy tt too.. hmmm...

how much is the milk warmer? I'm using a mixture of avent and pigeon's milk bottle. Any warmer that can fit these 2 brands of bottle? My boy also cries until like very cham like that every time we warm his milk. He even cry until he got to suck in air to breathe... and when finally he got his milk, he will let out a "sigh" sound...
So dunno to laugh or to feel heart pain...

Hello everyone!

I am Alexis and a new mommy
My bb gal Alby arrived on 26th July. She's now close to 2 mths old.

anyone know where can get milk bag to store milk. coz weekday i putting my boy with my parents so thinking if can pump milk in my freeze then next day bring to my mums plc

The avent warmer is very efficient...since it fits the larger Avent bottle, it should also fit the narrower Pigeon bottle. It fits my Bfree bottles fine too.

Hi Kyrie, I started out storing EBM in the exact amount so CL can heat up and feed baby. But I got kan cheong when baby cried for more milk and started pumping more. Then the happy problem started - more MS but not enough bottles! So now I mix the EBM and store it in full bottles. More tedious as I have to pour out the EBM for next feeds for CL.. and hard to pour out without spilling!

Hi Mandy - I'm also not sure how much the warmer is.. think it is about $100 and can be used for most brands.. ya I know what you mean about crying for milk! It is like dead in the night 3am and baby wails so loudly, face all red, body arched and the milk takes 10-15 min to warm!

mei,
cadence's one hour latching thing was perhaps a one off. she's not repeating it. now at night, she can sleep for 2/3 hr stretch. i think her day and night is still mixed up though. yesterday, she slept from 1230pm to 730pm without feeding. bathing her, changing her, rubbing her cheeks and such didn't work at all... then at 730 coz i was having dinner, my mum gave her my ebm which the hankie had more of than her coz she was sleeping... so my breasts were like sooooo heavy with milk. only latched her at 1030pm. but still i didn't leak milk...

flos,
hiring a maid is a hassle!!! moreover, if you're the kind who is not used to having a stranger at home, or likes to do things your way, then having a maid can be such a headache! i hope you can get a good one.

kyrie,
oh dear! hope bb is fine. are you bringing him to see the PD?

SPOTS ON BB:
it could be the hormones from our pregnancy days. say when you were pregnant and had lots of pimples or such, it could be passed on to the newborn. happened to me for my first kid. he had spots all over his cheeks and forehead. so went to see his PD and had to apply steriod cream. however, we have to use the cream sparingly coz it thins baby's skin.

by the way, never attempt to break or squeeze the spots on bb's face ya!

kyrie,
for thawing frozen ebm, you can put it in tepid water or run in under tap water. then separate the amt that you need and keep the rest in the fridge. the one that you keep in the fridge has to be used up in the next 24hrs.

avent iq warmer:
i like it! it's easy to use and uses very little water and definitely a lot faster than puting the milk in hot water to warm up!

bigtoes,
is kieran ok with the amt your cl feeds him? doesn't mean everytime he cries means he's hungry. maybe diaper needs to be changed, maybe he's looking for a cuddle, maybe he's too warm/cold... some cls are just looking for the easy way out.

Hi Ava - you have the Avent milk warmer? Does it warm small amounts of say 70 - 80ml well? Have not seen the product but the Avent website seems to indicate that starting is 85ml..

Mummies - just to share, I checked some online reviews and most say the Avent milk warmer is good but does not have auto switch off mode. So once ready have to take bottle out if not too hot. Some also wrote that they under declare the amount in the bottle as the temp gets too hot.. i.e. if it is a 300ml feed they programme that it is 200ml...

<font color="119911">dmbb (dmbb) - yes, Kieran is 3 weeks now and going thru a growth spurt...hence demanding to be fed more....but still, every hour or so is not normal! He most prob just wants attention (since the CL carries him alot)...

alabone (alabone) - like u said, my CL is just looking for an easy way out. I think he cries cos he was overfed last night and had too much wind in his tummy (alot of farts). And the more he cries, the more 'pek chek' she becomes, and the more she feeds him = vicious cycle!! Of cos, she thinks she knows best, so we are just letting it be and not wanting to make a big fuss out of it.

Meanwhile, i got my "contented little baby book" from the library earlier and was just flipping thru. Alot of useful nuggets
....might get a copy to keep. Hwr, not sure if i can stick to their daily routine cos its to detailed and regimented!

kyrieleison (kyrie) - ridwind = gripe water? According to my CL, we cannot give gripe water till baby is 4 months old...not sure what her logic is.</font>

qqq missheng : i choose 2 bedded. also my 1st child but hubby cannot accompany mi throughout the nite and i scare of slping alone in a not familar place. so hopefully beside me will have another patient when i check in. if not will be the same as 1 bedded le. actually wanted to chose 4 bedded but friends told me that it will be very inconvenient and noisy de. I still have 2 days to go if baby these 2 days dun come out den 23th morning go hospital for induce le. so scare and anxious. u leh? still dunwan give birth? and realise most of the mummies here all give birth earlier den their due date. so envy wor. always see them talk bout the milk milk things. haha , so left out wor.

Springz, me too. I try to store the bottles to the max so I have trouble with the frozen EBM. Have tried today to warm it (by putting the glass bottle into a cup of hot water) and then pour out what I need, the remainder I placed it back in the fridge. Like what Alabone mentioned,
it can be there for 24hrs I read. But I'm quite apprehensive about the warming beforehand and then putting back into the fridge. Wonder if nutrients and such are lost in the process. But I know that we cannot put it back into freezer though.

Alabone, yup I'm bringing him to the PD tomm for his follow up. Sure hope everything's fine with his jaundice too. No sun again today. Sigh

Bigtoes, it's not the gripe water that we get off the shelves. Apparently it's "ridwind baby drops". PD told me to put about 0.5ml into his milk. But i dunno if it's the cause of his softer stools this morn.

Baby Burping
Do your babies burp after every feed? Mine hardly..
It's hard to burp him most of the times. So everytime after his feed, I've to hold him upright for bout 15 min before putting him down. Even then, i'm worried that he'll just regurgitate everything.

hi koras,
i saw some mommies selling their avent milk warmer for about $30+. but i wonder is it ok to get milk warmer 2nd hand and is it very difficult to use.
Like wad Springz says, look like qte complicated to use like tat...

alabone: yes! I noticed our similarities in confinement rules and milking ourselves! hehe ... guess wat, I also had cravings for Coke, so I sneaked in a can into the fridge and consumed it when my CL went to bed! lol. and she still doesn't know that I've been secretly taking showers and washing my hair, cos she thought when I have massage, I'll have the binding on. ;)

Flos: my CL also made me take this chinese pill called "Su He Yuan" that helps to expel wind. It made me fart alot but made my tummy alot flatter now. The worse thing she made me drink was ginger juice double boiled with DOM, but that was supposed to be very good for expelling wind and contracting my uterus. CL put in alot of effort to pound the ginger and all, so I took it. Her hands were stained with the yellow ginger, and when she handwash my baby's clothes, they got stained as well! My bottles got the yellow stains too! But I don't blame her, cos she's really nice and apologetic about it. Plus she was doing it for my sake.

<font color="0077aa">Springz: Yah man! Sometimes at night when need to heat up the EBM &amp; bb is screaming away! I bought a 2nd hand Avent warmer @$30, its definitely faster than putting in water! But I think its about 3-4mins. Once frozen EBM is thawed under running water, you can only keep it in the chilled compartment &amp; it has to be consume within the next 24 hours.

Mandy, I bought my Avent warmer for $30, it has serve me well. But I don't think mine is the IQ warmer. Its not difficult to use.

Shazz: These few days I have been secretly drinking the Pepsi &amp; ice lemon tea in my fridge when CL goes to bed!! Tsk tsk!! Acting like a thief in my own house! Haha...</font>

hi storeberry,
i saw a mommy selling her avent warmer for $30 and it was taken up already, was it you? haha. I saw another mommy selling for $32.
My boy is taking like around 60-80ml, will it take long to warm? Need a lot of water? Will it notify you when the milk is warmed or do i still need to use my own hand to test temp?

Sorrie for so many qn, hehe.

Shazz: I just got Su He Wan too...I just took one dosage this afternoon. I've been passing gas like mad too, but not sure if it's cos of the pills. I also have quite a lot of ginger in my food.

Coke? It's got caffeine right?

My DH just bought me some JCO donuts. Yeah...

Sri: What? U cannot microwave your BM at all. It's not abt uneven heating. It's abt the microwaves that is harmful to your bb!

Bigtoes/Kyrie: I also got Ridwind from the PD last Mon. Told to drip 0.2ml into the milk, but my CL didn't. I still resort to burpiing him after feeding each breast.

bigtoes: did u try apply Ruyi oil on Kieran after his bath?

BATH TIME: My new CL advocates bathing my bb 2X a day. Is it too harsh on his skin?

Anyone's bb taking Jin(1) Feng(4) San(3)? It's to soothe bbs too apparently...

Spingz: I find that it's not really true that the Avent warmer warms my chilled EBM in 2 min always. If the amt is a lot, we will up the temp.

I'm like u, I express the exact amt that my bb is drinking now. I dun like to have a bit bit balance here, a bit bit there. Mix and warm up...I just I programme myself to stop pumping at 110ml for that session.

Springz: THe IQ Avent warmer's lowest volume is 30ml I think.

i am using the avent warmer ($119) currently. it is useful and fast to heat up the milk. but baby being impatient when they are hungry will still cry even when i m merely pouring the milk and heat it up.

so mummy can juz latch bb while doing all these and waiting for the milk to be ready. if you do not wish to spend this $$. if good second hand one is available, go ahead to get it.

mandy
you will have to get used to using the warmer. it will juz heat up according to the selection choosen and stop.

usually i will depend on bb. my bb drink little bit at a time and take a short break in between. i will feed bb till she stops and leave the remainder milk in the warmer (still hot) then usually after 5 min, she will want it again and the milk is still warm and not wasted.

kyrie,
you cannot thaw frozen ebm by using hot water. you have to use tepid water. coz once heated to any extent, you cannot apparently put it back into the fridge!!!

springz,
any frozen ebm that has been thawed, cannot be frozen again. it has to go in the fridge and be finished in the next 24 hours.

bigtoes,
i know what you mean abt the vicious cycle!!! can be so annoying. maybe you can try to hint hint to her?? overfeeding can cause so much discomfort in babies!

shazz,
sameeeeeeeeee!!! yesterday i drank coke!!! and it was oh-so-good!!! you're good though. can steal baths and such even when cl is in your house. i only do that coz my mum is not here mostly. and i must say your cl is really hardworking ya? pound the ginger for you and all. doesn't sound particularly yummy but what the heck, it expels wind! i'm just eating the medication that my gynae gave me to expel wind. makes me fart like crazy! love it!

flos,
yeah, i've heard of jin feng san. but i'm always apprehensive abt letting bb drink anything other than breastmilk when they are this young. really not recommended...

Still remember me? I'm still lugging my big belly around...EDD 1 Oct. Now 38+ wk.

Going to deliver at Mt Alvernia. Btw anyone delivering there these 2 weeks?

Shazz/Storeberry/Alabone
How I envy u all on ur secret acts of eating forbidden fruits!! My hubby dun allow me to take cold drinks at all! U know, I am a lover of cold drinks. I take cold drinks during my entire pregnancy + during my menstruation days loh! So, now I am being restricted from cold drinks is such a TORTURE!

Kyrie
We tried to burp the bb after every feed. I ever asked my CL does BB always BURP after every feed and she say yes loh. Bt sometimes, no matter how long I burp the bb, no sound leh!

PIMPLE
Btw, anyone experienced having a pimple near the pubic area huh? I just realized I got a pimple lookalike near my pubic area leh! And it is painful when pressed leh! I wonder shld I take a pix of it and send to my gynea or nt wor..
:S