(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">Is the PIS any good? I am using a smaller Medela electic pump, and haven't even unpacked my sister's PIS from the storeroom. The pump I am using already has a strong vacuum, not sure if the PIS one would be even more painful!

Cheap diapers - think get Pet2? I have that and also bought Nepia during their promo, but these are S sizes, think from 5-6kg onwards, still too big for NB. Kieran is using Pampers NB now, but even this is too big for him! But yah, the diapers doesn't get very soaked up, so no point buying expensive ones for now since these get changed so often!!

Meanwhile, baby has gained 500gm since discharged - he is now 3.3kg, up from 2.8kg when he left the hospital last Tuesday!

Shazz - maybe its all that heaty food we are consuming? My lochia stopped already, thanks to Dr Tan cleaning most of it out
Also realised today that my C-sec wound doesn't hurt anymore when i sneeze! yippie!</font>

Monoko: My case same with u, I started since Wed mid night, the cramp and pain on and off, no surge pain now..really don't know when the regular contraction will coming...today the V area have sharp pain also...arg!

Cloud: I checked with my gf,her gynae also up to her to decide want to induce or not..she decide to wait another2-3 days and that time her baby arleady 3.5kgs+ -.if you feel ok then can wait, if not induce at tomorrow also alright wan..

Koras: My mum also help me when I confinement, I think will be very tiring to take care baby at mid night..I was thinking want to order confinement food to lighten her job but my mum said the confinement food cook with MSG?

Bigtoes: your boy 3.3kg now can wear S size diaper? too big for him?

Isabelle: TMC air con very cold? have to wear jacket to sleep?

blackberryB (blackberryb) - he is still on NB diapers (up to 5kg). S diapers are usually 5kg and above.

Koras - the bikini line scar from C-sec really depends on the skill of ur gyne and how your own body heals. Some people end up with a faint line over time, others may develop angry raised keloids.

The linea nigra (line down the belly) is also suppose to fade away in a couple of months I think.

Bigtoes (limay)- o the gynae got give mi a cream to apply call Erase gel for scars. hope it will fade off soon.by the way what is keloids

Hi hi.. Just wanna update my labour story. I've been MIA for a while cos I actually delivered on 3 September. I checked myself into the hospital to induce labour. At 39 weeks, I still wasn't dilated at all and showed no signs of it. My gynae suspected that I won't dilate even if I wait till week 40, and since I keep complaining that baby is sluggish, she suggested inducing. She thinks waiting for a week more will make baby bigger and even harder to deliver virginally. So after much deliberation, I decided to induce. I had 3 tablets inserted and felt the contraction pains and after 24 hours, only dilated about 3 cm. I was even running a fever by then. So she gave me the option of waiting for another 3 hours while giving me more medications to speed up contractions or do a c-section on the spot. In the end, my hubby pushed for the c-section on the spot since there is no guarantee that I will dilate more 3 hours later. So... there... I never even thought that I would have to do a c-section.... as I was all for natural delivery. I was rather disapointed at first but luckily, all's well ends well. Baby can get rather cranky at night but luckily, my mom is around to help.

But I think I am starting to get post natal blues already, cos I find myself crying over the slightest thing, though I try not to let my mom know. And it's all caused by my hubby. My mom has been staying over since I delivered and my HB has been complaining to me since the start, saying that she's so dirty.. can't keep the place clean, etc... I'm so stressed out by him! I don't have enough sleep at night breastfeeding, and he still gives me such rubbish. In order to make sure things run smoothly now, I even had to step in to help clean the place! Imagine that I had to clean up the place while doing confinement. I had to keep asking my mom to clean this and that, and I felt so bad. She even called me 'mum', like she's the maid now, and didn't dare to watch TV before washing the dishes at night. I feel really guilty about it. He keeps telling me to tell my mom to go back, on the excuse for her to rest. Nowadays, he will just shut himself in the room when he returns from work. I try not to let all this bother me, for fear of getting post natal blues... but it can get really depressing and stressful.

But my mom has been a really great help to me. My HB really knows nuts abou taking care of a baby and I suspect his mom too. Whenever baby cries, they will only tell me that baby is hungry and pass the baby to me to feed. There was once when my MIL passed the baby to me cos she's crying and my MIL told me she's hungry and to feed her. Yet, the moment I carried her, I could tell that the baby has pooed and both my HB and MIL who had been carrying her before that didn't know it at all! I really worry about my MIL taking care of my baby now. Haiz....

I also feel that they are both more concerned about the baby than me now.
My HB can take leave to bring the baby for her review check at the PD and tell me to meet him at the gynae's clinic for the checkup, expecting me to take the bus by myself. Arrgghhhh.....

Hurricane Adan is back!! And wants to carry, feed, buy dresses for and play with his sisters. here are a couple of photos:
1709296.jpg

1709297.jpg

Isabelle
How was the massage?

Ava - awwwwwwwwww so cute!!! Hurricane Adan will be of great help I'm sure. :D he can wake up for the night feeds! :D the photos are sooooo sweet! He's gonna be a protective big bro!

Koras - I think the tablets from different manufacturers will have different compositions and therefore the dosage recommended is different. Mine's actually a liquid capsule - not a solid one!

Preggies - I got Mdm Sharif and will start tomorrow!!! Thanks so much. Will tell u the results. Not used to being massaged on the floor but whatever works !!

<font color="0000ff">Momoko
I put on a total of 15kg wor.. of coz 3kg is Max lah.. the rest.. dunno gone to where le, haha
still got 3-4kg to go before I reach my 51kg again wor but hb expects me to drop my weight to 47kg, duh!!!!

but den again, the tummy is still there.. n so flabby.. yucks!!! n i hate to bind it, coz it's already so warm everyday. perspiring like nobody's biz and with the binder, I perspire even more, making my tummy so itchy. den i'll scratch and now i've got so many scars on my tummy..

lanolin
hey.. u can manage 50ml and onli supplement one FM a day????? I'm supplementing FM on every feed that my boy takes. today it's every 2 hrs.. omg... think its not enuff for him wor...

u are latching on isit? den on top of that u oso pumping the excess out?? I'm not latching at all.. so watever I pump is watever i have in my little breasts wor..

Lochia
oh manz... its already day 24 for mi.. n i still got lochia.. damn!!!

Wingkei
congrats!! try to think positively k. the last we wan is to fall into PN depression, which I did awhile back. juz have to snap out of it, else u would fall into deeper worries.. jia you!!!</font>

Hey girls! Could I check with you how often do you bathe your baby? For me, I bathe her once a day but I'm not sure if I should still give her a wipe down at nite? Any advice pls? Kinda regret not getting a confinement nanny, am so lost with many other issues as wel!

dmbb
Bathing once a day and a top n tail (wipe face and bum) at night would be enuf.

Lanolin
He still has a dangerously frightening habit of walking around near their heads when they are lying on the bed!!! Need to train him to stop doing that!

Sasa
I supplement every feed too, most times. around 20ml on top of whatever i bf one baby and the other has a full feed of eBM or FM...so same same as u lor.

Thanks sasa de mouse. I try to think positively, but it's really difficult when you don't really have a supportive HB and complains over everything. I really feel so bad for my mom. He doesn't let her use the aircon and when I lent her my shampoo, he gets all black face and raised his voice at me. All this are realy contributing factors to making me sad.

He even gets angry when I refused to breastfeed infront of his mom! Can you imagine that? Yes, I breastfeed infront of my mom, but it's different.

I can't sleep whenever my MIL is here, as she would walk into the room where I'm sleeping with baby every 5 minutes to check on her. I've developed the habit of sleeping lightly now.. so whenever she walks into the room, I get shocked awake. So how to rest like that?

One thing is even scarier. She told me that babies' nails are so soft and delicate that we can just peel them off, no need to use nail clippers or scissors to cut. I'm so scared that she will really do that when I am not aware!

Sorry for the many posts but I really need to vent somewhere.

lanolin,
hahahhahaha!!! i also just noticed it from the updated table yesterday!! i was in ward 4B i think. anyway, my room was 4425. the ward with the chinese nurses. which room were you in? if only i knew. we could have visited each other!!!!

momoko,
waaaah, you know me rather well already ya?? i agree with you. i think hygiene is more impt to me than anything else. if i suffer from aches and pains in future then i'll know it's my own doing, then good also. coz i can let my daughters know about it and tell them not to follow in my footsteps.

shazz,
you're not the only one... i also detect horrible smell from my lochia. and i'm still having my lochia!!!!

C SEC MUMS:
those of you who had c sec, are you still having lochia?? for a while my lochia was getting light, then suddenly, it got more. not heavy but you know. so weird!

who's addicted to being pregnant?? i know i'm not. and i know l'lcy also won't be!!!!

ava,
so endearing!!!! adan looks like he's gonna be the protective brother to his sisters! how sweet.

COLD COMPRESS:
bfg mummies, please, like bigtoes said, don't put cold cabbage on your breasts unless you need to relieve engorgement. cold compress decreases supply of milk.

<font color="0000ff">dmbb
yeap.. like wat Ava mentioned.. bathe once a day is sufficient. clean up at nite

Ava
u have 2 leh... haha, seems like i keep telling u this :p

Wingkei
ur hb is weird.. how can refuse to let MIL use the aircon and give black face when u lent ur own mum shampoo??? aiyoh.. sorry lah.. but i seriously think there's something wrong with him.

about breastfeeding, tell u frankly, every women in my family have seen my breasts (mum, MIL, my sis, maid). in fact, i think even hb's bro oso saw it.. WHY!!! coz maid stupidly went to open the door without checking who was knocking at it whilst i was pumping / bf-ing outside at the hall. duh!!!!!!!

oh.. my MIL said the same thing abt bb's nails being soft n delicate and dun need watsoever nail clippers or scissors. juz peel them off can le. i juz ignore her. den when auntie came over and asked if i've bot either of them, coz it's easier to cut bb's nails, den MIL realised there's such things.

u noe.. they tend to live in their own worlds and olden days, so they aren't aware there are such things. they juz do / say things based on wat happened LAST TIME!!!

noe wat? my MIL exclaimed when i told her there's such things like sleeping bags for babies, receiving blankets and baby binders. She resorted to sewing them coz unaware there were such stuff</font>

Hi ava / sasa
just to check, when u mean wipe, isit use warm water (with or without soap?) &amp; small towel to wipe then must use dry towel to wipe dry? sori if my question sounds silly.. :p

Ava
ur Adan is such a handsome lil' boy!!!
Massage was not bad, liked her massaging my back and legs. But the binding not tight enough. I have to put on my own binder on top of it! Will tell her to do it more tightly next time =)
Are u using the lemon grass oil or essential oil?

Wingkei
sorry but ur husband is very self-centred. How can he complain when it's just shampoo??? And everthing is abt him.

sasa
poor u. I'll be so embarassed if even the men saw it!

Addicted to being pregnant
Hmm, i do miss my baby bump a little. I actually tried to turn my baby upside down (i was sitting down of course) to see how she ever fit into my baby bump! Hee hee. But i certainly dun look forward to the first trimester!!! Yeek...
And i actually missed the time when i was so looking forward to birth my baby. The day after i came back from TMC, I felt kinda emotional, like all the highs (preparing for birth, birthing, staying in TMC) were gone and yep, but feel better now. Think her stay in TMC again for jaundice kinda distracted me and after all that aircon and aches, i dun want to stay there again for now!

blackberry
yes, for me it was cold... I'm afraid of cold type. I actually shivered till my teeth chattered and i cldn't even walk to aircon to turn it down. Felt embarassed but i had to bell for nurser to do this simple thing!

lanolin
i know wat u mean. At TMC, i snuck out just to go to nearby church at 630pm. When my mum found out, i was scolded. Hubby asked me to go to Hort park this eve with him and i just looked at him. Like u want me to kenna scolding again??? ANd i so want to go shopping!!!

BAthing
I must be the dirtiest mummy here. SInce 4 Sept, I have only bathed and washed my hair TWICE... Cos I beleive in the wind thing... My hands kinda ache after washing them in normal water. And since i got the headache fr TMC air con I used the herbal water to wash my hair though I said i wldn't do it... Haiz...

Perspiration:
I perspire a lot also lor! Even after a bath, i come out with perspiration coz the bath water is so damn hot. then after each meal, because of the food, i also perspire. I've smelly armpits and breasts everyday!!!! damn gross!!! i really can't wait for confinement to be over.

wingkei,
congrats to you on the arrival of bb. your hb up to tricks again huh?? i really dont know what other suggestions/help to give you but come online here to rant or vent ok? or go online to 'da xiao ren'. maybe that can make you feel more balanced.

sasa - I latch him on for almost every feed except 2 out of 10. for the 2, 1 is EBM (whatever I can squeeze out is usually good for 1 meal) and 1 FM. I think must continue latching coz baby's suction is most effective way of telling boobs that they need to produce milk!! Plus I think he empties the breast better than pumping. The fear I have is that he is not getting enough hind milk and so he gets up even more often coz hungry.

Maybe u can try latching more often? I hope it helps coz I know how frustrating and helpless u feel!

Ava / Sasa - what brand of FM u using? My hubs bought Similac.

Alabone - I was in 4B also ... room 4434. Did u ever go for the 9am breastfeeding classes? I think I would have recognised u if you did.... hahahahaha.... I think Ava told me u delivered in Mount E but I can't remember u real name so I couldn't go to counter and ask "Erm, which room is ALabone huh?" hahahahaha.....

Wingkei - u must really let ur hubby read about POst natal blues. Not play play one leh. He must back off!!!!

isabelle - hahahaha....u live near Hort park? I also want to go but I thought, let's try as hard as possible to be good la. Maybe I will really go to Parkway tomorrow (I stay in the east). Like what I told Ava, my nursing bras all not very comfy leh. Either too loose or too tight.

Alabone - I think we are all smelly mummies together la. I wonder if my boy dislikes my salty breast coz I perspire so much!!! hahahahaha.... wear sleeveless also perspire like mad!

No one doing one-month ah????

<font color="0000ff">dmbb
yeap.. warm water.. i didnt use soap wor..

isabelle
exactly lah.. sighz.. imagine how paiseh i was after tat. already got caught in a few situations. now i pump in my MBR with the door closed. bad thing is.. i dun have cable tv inside..
oh.. i miss being preggy too.. haha.. n like u, i often try to wonder how my boy was inside me last time

lanolin
oh no wonder lah.. u are latching on, so it's no wonder u onli can get 50ml. imagine i dun even latch on, n tats all i get leh...

i'm giving my boy Nan HA

blackberry,
My herbal bath is from those chinese medical hall, they call it "Da Feng Yi"

Koras,
I am doing better with my pumping now. Could pump 70ml in 30 mins. I think Fenugreek and fish soup help..

Fenugreek,
Those mommies thinking of popping fenugreek before birth, should go for it. My lactation consultant said it is ok to take up to 6 capusles a day.

Being preggie,
i DEFINITELY miss being preggie. Getting withdrawal symptom..feeling a little lost..feel like a great party has ended..a little weepy too..Hubby has been encouraging..giving me massages, buying me mooncakes to cheer me up. The thot of him returning to work next week makes me sian..

Wingkei,
Stay positive..watch some tv with your mom after your bb is fed. Are you getting a massage lady? The one hour massage will give you a good break. Just concentrate on your bb..dont worry abt in-laws..they can be quite interfering at times, i have learnt to speak my mind towards them when it concerns bb. Take care

isabelle,
me too! only bathed once since 4 sept! Tmr will be my second bath..i also believe in "wind" entering the body if we bath without herbal water..

sasa - I also using MBR. My confinement lady, maid and mom have seen my boobs exposed in their full glory. I got no shame liao! hahahaha...

He is getting enough nutrients - don't worry and whatever BM u are giving him has the antibodies and all. don't stress!

WAh - sunday ah? so soon? hahaha...I am only researching on the cakes and stuff today. Mine's gonna be on 27 Sept. Got caterer already. I am trying so hard to limit my guest list coz I really don't want to be too tired. Are u having a lunch / tea /dinner thing?

lanolin,
I am also starting to do my research for full month celebration. Already booked a function room. Now thinking which caterer to use? any good recommedation? Going to make red eggs myself and probably order ang ku kueh..have them placed at the buffet table for guests to take home. For colleagues, will be ordering cake for them. Considering Patisser, Sweetest Moments and awfully chocolate. U?

Alabone - i still having lochia, but i gave birth later than u. yah, since 2 days ago, the lochia became very thick and abit jelly like. before that was just blood.

lochia - i was asking my mum how come the lochia smell so bad. the 2nd day i get to the toilet on my own, i can smell the horrible smell! haha! my mum said of cos it would smell, you havent been having any menses for nine months!

wingkei - my mil also walked in once when i'm breastfeeding and i gave a really big 'wah lao!!!' then try to cover my breast with baby(and hubby was beside me) so i made it very clear i do not wan to let her see me breastfeeding. i heard her going out and telling my mum that we are all girls nevermind, so i immediately told my hubby that i dun like and i dun wan! i can only breastfeed infront of my mum and hubby.

dmbb - i also bathe baby in the morning and wipe her using warm water without soap at night before bedtime.

<font color="0000ff">lanolin
yeah.. supposed to be 19th. but it being a friday, i get to cheat a little.. haha.. n have it on 14th instead. good day lah.. it's lantern festival leh..

muahaha... i tried to limit my guest list oso.. but no choice. my boy is first grandson for both sides of family and 1st great-grandson for my paternal grandparents. will be doing buffet dinner. alrady booked function room for that. but god knows how the room is gonna accomodate 100+ ppl.... aarrrgghh... i dread to think of the situation on Sunday.. haha

Cakes, i ordered mine from KYO. Have to budget a little lah.. coz order so many boxes wor..

hi all mums/mums-to-be here, sorry for barging into this thread. i'm a dad who just welcomed his first newborn son, and who is still trying to get used to not having peaceful uninterrupted sleeps. my wife is a regular contributor in this thread (but i shall not reveal who she is!).

let me congratulate all of you here for getting to this stage. glad to hear that most of you have enjoyed the pregnancy stage and are enjoying (at least most of the time!) the new company.

i read this thread occasionally, and my wife knows i do. it helps for a guy to learn the 'torment' that ladies have to go through during pregnancy, and it sure helps me to appreciate my wife more.

i'm writing this because i've been reading wingkei's entries here. i'm very glad to see that many of you have been trying to console, support, and help her to go through her difficulties.

wingkei, i'm sorry to hear that your husband is such an unsympathetic and insensitive guy. it is very unreasonable of him to treat you and your family in such a disrespectful manner. he ought to learn that there is a possibility that his son-in-law in future might treat him the same way he is treating your parents now. i'm strongly encouraging you to let him understand this, and that you deserve at least his respect for having to bear his child. let him understand the emotional abuse he has been putting you under all this while. let him know that his behaviour is not allowing you to be in your best form to take care of his child. i would suggest you say all these to him in a firm, and if necessary loud, voice. do not let him interrupt you when you tell him these, by telling him firmly to shut up and let you finish what you had always wanted to say. (yes, do learn to use the word "shut up" to him when necessary!)

you've been suffering his abuse all this while, and it's time for you now to stand up for yourself, for your family, and most importantly, for your child. if your husband carries on his unreasonable behaviour, you'll very likely go into depression and this is not going to be healthy for you, your marriage, and ultimately your child's development. some guys are just retarded, and need to be shouted at at least once in order for them to wake up.

i know no matter how much we try to encourage you to stand up, it'll be difficult for you, as you've always been in the role of a nice little girl quietly suffering, retreating into one corner whenever your husband belittles you. but it's very important for you now to hammer out of your husband the weak image/impression that you've always been giving him. now that your child is out, it's even more important for you to pluck up your courage, get out of your little corner and fight for your rights and your child's, because you are the only one who can do it.

we can't do much here, we can only be your listening ears.

i sincerely wish you all the best. i'm sure all the nice ladies here hope that life will turn out better for you soon too. be strong. mothers are always strong, especially when it concerns their children's well-being.

hi all, i popped on 8sep 1:03pm..

i was supposed to be induced at 9am on 8sep but i sudd had tum pain at 3am and woke up, thinking i wana shitz so went toilet but nothg came out. so i went back to zzz n the pain came back 5mins later then i sat on toilet bowl again but still nothg.. who knows the 'pain' gets regular n i timed it for 45mins b4 waking hub up.

4am washed up and prepare to go TMC

4:35am left for TMC

5am reached TMC and wheeled into delivery suite, given enema. was already 2cm dilated and contractions 2mins interval (buay tahan!)

7am epidural administered (epi is def world's greatest invention!)

8:15am 4cm dilated

9:30am gynae came to chk on me and still 4cm dilated. pricked waterbag.

11am 7cm dilated

12:15pm 10cm dilated and was ready to practice pushing

12:30pm gynae came by to encourage pushing

1:03pm Baby Adele was out!

wingkei - dun be too stressed over it coz i slipped into post natal blues on 3rd day! i was waiting to be discharged and sudd juz keep crying away non-stop on hosp bed.. gynae came by to chk on my stitches and was shocked to see me crying away! i told her i scared no milk.. scared MIL snatch bb away etc.. coz i let bb suckle on 2nd day, i dun see any milk on me.. juz feel so helpless..

my gynae had a talk wif me and i felt better.. my CL came in the late pm aft i was discharged and she helped massage my breasts and assured me i had milk, dun worie.. so for the past few days, i tried my best to let bb suckle n pump out as well.. ss low tho, sad! both breasts pumped out only 30ml per time.. but i will cont to try harder..

sorie for the long posting but i tink its good to talk to someone or let it out.. dun keep to ourselves ya..

Congrats Springz and Wingkei on popping!Must be so wonderful having your little ones!

I want to POP too! I cannot take it already. Last week was fine. But then suddenly, I feel super heavy . And I put on 1.2kg in a week?!!!! Wah lau eh... I cannot believe it lor. I didn't even eat that much. Not much went to my baby either. Sians.

Today my doc did VE. But it didn't hurt. Just a bit uncomfy but that was it. Kind of wished she pried my cervix open like what Goldfish's gynae did. I'm only 1 cm dilated now.

Momoko: I also had that 1 hr abdominal tightening last nite. HOpe that it was start of labour. NO such luck yet. Sniff. Hope you pop soon too!

Sasa: So fast man yue already?!!! I still haven't popped lei.

Ava: Awww....isn't adan a sweetie?! He makes such a darling kor kor! Who says boys can't have the nurturing instinct!

Hi mommies!!!

I'm home after giving birth on Wed night!!! I got show (bloody discharge after I last logged on on Tues, I think) and quickly called my DH to come home from work to send me to TMC right away. Took my shower and checked in to the labour ward at about 5pm. But upon doing the VE on me (OUCH!!!), they told me I haven't dilated so I could go home. However, at 7pm they informed me my Dr has ordered that I be warded for the night (9 Sep) cos of my high BP!!!!

So I checked in and had a long sleepless night on 10 Sep cos of the half-hourly contractions that lasted till 8am. My gynae popped by at 8+am to conduct a second VE (OUCH OUCH!) on me and told me it's still NOT quite dilated. So he gave me two options: 1) to go home and wait for the cervix to open; or 2) to go for augmentation (which is diff from induction cos I'm already in the early stage of labour). Called my DH and we decided to start the augmentation at about 10am.

At 10am, I left my one-bedded room (YEP YEP, $450 wasted on 10 Sep) and was wheeled to the labour ward at 10+am. Well, one nurse popped by and violated me a third time by shitcking her finger in to examine me (OUCHX3!). Also received the horrid enema at about 11am and sh*t starting leaking from my a** before I could reach the ensuite toilet!!

Just 1.5cm dilated I was told. I surrendered right away and asked for epidural. So they pushed me to Birth Room No 8 and called the Anaethetist. He dropped by at around noon and then, it was a breezzzzzeee and I slept like a baby till 1.45pm when my gynae appeared at my private ward to check on me AGAIN (OUCH X4). Hmm, only 2 cm dilated. So he dug his fingers in to widen it forcefully to 3 cm!!! Also burst my water bag in the process. No inserts were given to meto soften the cervix though...

Drifted in and out of consciousness from then till 5 pm when the nurse came in to conduct yet another VE (OUCH X5) to feedback to my gynae that my cervix had only dilated up to 4 cm. SOOOOOOOO slow! Wondering why they don't induce me??? At 6+ pm, my gynae dropped by my room to do a personal VE (OUCH X 6) cos he said he didn't trust numbers and had to check me himself. Hmm, he told me if by 10pm, my cervix were still so stiff and hard, he would give me two options: 1) natural delivery by midnite or 2) c-section at 10pm. Oh dear...after all the long hours, and after double paying fees for the empty ward at level 5 (my barang were still in the ward while I 'laboured' at level 2) and for the hourly labour ward charges (CTG and all), I had to go for c-section, whcih is obviusly more expensive??!!! I was quite buay ganwan!!!

So I decided to talk to my bb to ask him to be engage by 10pm. Miraculoulsy, at 9pm, a nurse dropped by to do a VE (OUCH X 7) and told me Great News, I'm 8cm dilated!!!! And she would come back again at 10pm to examine me again (WAH PIANG!!!!). At 10pm, whcih was the time my gynae had ordered the nurse to do a formal VE on me, I was told it's 9.5cm dilated!! YIPPEEEE!!!

However, by then I was bent on waiting out for another 2 hours to reach midnite cos my DH had wanted his son to share his birthday (11 Sept). I conveyed to the nurse our wish to have 'double happiness' and I guess she called my gynae to tell him not to deliver so soon...

To my dismay, she returned at 11 pm to tell me I need to birth cos the cervix is already 'ripe' and bb's head engaged. By then I coould feel bb is burrowing out, cos the epidural dosage had be reduced to prepare me for my delivery.

At 11pm, she started asking my DH and I to practise pushing. We did it for like 3-4 times. I couldn't feel my legs and like some of you, I was pushing with my facial muscles!!! But the nurse praised me for pushing very well and even got my DH to look at the bb's crowning glory!

at about 11.15pm, my gynae strutted in and changed into the surgery attire and joked that 8,9, 10 is also a good no. I looked at him and asked HUH? He explained 08-09-10 is a good birthdate too, so no need to aim for 911 which is my DH's birthday. We were disappointed by decided to obey his orders. So in 5 more pushes, I gave birth to my son at 2329h (half an hour prior to 911)!!! And yep, he did a quick episiotomy cut.

Was a nice warm feeling when my son was placed onto my chest. Love his sweet cries...Then, they did the necessary and got DH to cut the umbilical chord. He followed the nurse out to weigh the bb while I remain in the ward chatting with my gynae as he stitched me up.

I got back to my ward at midnight and slept till the morning of 911 8am to have my breakfast. Thereafter I BF my son with my colostrum. Surprisingly, he latched on and suckled instinnctly on both breasts!!! I'm still waiting for my milk to kick in...

Well, will update with more details when I've settled down. I'm now waiting for my CL to arrive tomorrow morning...

Jessi: pls assist to update...

Baby name: maybe Isaac (but to be confirmed)
Weight: 2.945kg
HC: 35cm
Length: 49cm
DOB: 10 Sept.

OKie, I'm going to BF my bb now...

Janf: Congrats on Adele!

Crayonshin: Eh....guess what? Dr Sim today started her diet lecture on me again. I put on 1.2kg in a week la. Nothing seemed to go to my kid. Then she said my bb is BIG for my size cos my pelvis is quite narrow... sigh. When are you going back for your next check-up?

Storeberry: How's little berry Zane? Pls pray for me to go into natural labour with NO probs. Hehe. My doc said my baby is big for my size.

Flos: Congrats on the baby!!! How wonderful!!! Isaac is a great name! Means laughter in Hebrew. My bro's called Isaac and he's a cheerful guy! Enjoy motherhood!

dmbb
Ya, cool boiled water is enuf for night time wipe down.

Isabelle
Yeah, ask her to do tightight.
My binding will only be done next week
cos plaster is still on over the stitches and waiting for that to come off next week.

Sasa
I know I have two...but I only produce enuf for less than 1 baby....like 7/8 of one baby!

thks girls for ur tip!

Sasa, time flies, so fast 1 month approaching.. it seems like not so long ago we were juz talking abt the abbott seminar for mothers to be and now most of us are mothers already! btw which caterer are u using?

<font color="119911">koras (koras) - keloids = raised scars. My wound is still covered by a plaster so I haven't been able to apply any cream yet.

Ava - the photo of Adan and the twins are so cute!!!

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - hah!! Your hb's bro saw ur boobies! Argh…so weird. I have only exposed myself to the nurses at TMC so far. I close the door when I BF at home, so the CL doesn't see them - and no intention of letting my MIL or mom watch me BF either. Too weird!

Yes, I miss being preggy - especially cos now I am stuck at home for a month and can only go out when I have my gyne appointments! Would be worse when the CL leaves and its just baby and me - wonder how mobile I would be and if I would be able to go out shopping with him in tow?

1st mth celebration - we are planning ours for 4th Oct. Already drew up the guest list, did up the invitation, and decided on the caterers and cakes cos quite bored at home!

Flos and other new mommies who have popped - CONGRATS!!

Wingkei - yes, we will be your listening ears here - whatever it is, don’t go into a depression - your baby needs you! Hang in there girl!!</font>

Flos
COngrats!!! Was thinking u must have given birth since u MIA for so long!

COngrats to Janf too!

bacon &amp; egg
*hi-five*

lanolin
yep. I live near there and kent ridge park just beside my house too.

goldfish
i did go back to 33/34" hips after my first one aso I'm hoping it's not structural otherwise I will faint!!! If it doesn;t i;m gonna blame it on the squatting position that i used this time. Let's keep our fingers crossed!

crayon
get the massage lady to bind ur tummy in!

Here's the link to Gabrielle's birth announcement card (That's her just minutes after birth) and some pics of Isabelle and Gabrielle
http://www.flickr.com/photos/23016755@N04/

U have to copy and paste the whole thing, even the part that's not underlined.

goldfish/crayonshinchan.. yesterday, decided not to go for induction today, wanted to call KKH this morning to tell them.. but got a call from the nurse at 7am. apparently i was supposed to be there for the induction between 6 to 7am and not 6 to 7pm which was what i originally thought. felt so bad because the nurse said that they had already prepared everything for me. going to see my gynae on monday, hoping that i would have delivered by then... wish me luck!!

<font color="aa00aa">Flos
CONGRATS!! Guessed as much u popped since u stopped posting..am wondering too, how cm u can still feel VE aft epi?! Rest well and prepare for the battle ahead!! But then again, u have CL so not much of a battle then, haha!! Think I'm the one here who's working non-stop...day shift &amp; graveyard shift all on my shoulders!! No wonder i can lose 10kg within 1st week!!!!!

Lanolin
Charlotte baby having her manyue party next Sat...exactly 1mth old on 20 Sept, which happens to be a Sat.. Gonna do it at home but with 2 sessions, lunch for relatives &amp; dinner for friends so I guess it's gonna be a long day.. but still no excuse for me to get away with the pumping!! Had a huge scare yst cos i had engorgement on my left breast!! Nvr happened to me before so far so i panicked! I guessed it must be bcos i got lazy the nite before and didnt pump for a straight 6hrs... The contact of the LC u posted, how much does she charge?

Bigtoes
Which caterer u using? I'm so occupied with my baby till now, havn't cfm the caterer!! And it's nxt Sat!! As for the cake, I am super curious wat kind of design is Daddy Pang coming up with...

I can't wait for Charlotte to be officially 1mth old cos I'm not allowed to bring her anywhr except to the PD till she is 1mth old!! So wierd, no restrictions imposed on mummy but baby this cannot, that cannot!! As for me, I've been going out shopping &amp; being my hb's Ahmad...even on rainy nites I still go out!! Am gonna watch a movie tis sun but must time zhun zhun &amp; can't go out for more than 4hours otherwise I'll waste alot of BM!!</font>

btw all mommies - are u wearing indoor slippers / bedroom slippers.....my sis was saying "wind" can also go in that way so have been wearing slippers!

sunrays - I admire you leh! All the shifts u do urself. Very pei fu!!! The LC charges SGD 150 for 1.5 hours including taxi fare. The usual rate is about 80 per hour and then depends on whether the LC charge the taxi or not. Give it a try. THe massage really helps with engorged breasts though it is painful but at least clear it one time!!!

Ur party will be fun yah? I only having 1 session coz I think I cannot tahan !!

Bacon&amp;eggs - I am getting this Penang food specialist to cater. do u like penang food? if so I go ask my hubs for the contact as he is the one organising the food. My apartment have no function room so have to do at my mom's place.... my in-law's palce also got no function room! I will most probably order from Choz. My sis got hers there and says it is quite good and I'm not really the type that need all the fancy stuff lor.

Flos - CONGRATS!! Ur story quite drama....the ouch factor can be felt throughout ur narration! HAHAHA. Isaac is a great name!

Sasa - wah, u really need to have a big party hor? I'm glad both sides grandparents have other grandchildren (though he is the first "internal" grandson from hubby's side but they are not too traditional - thank goodness). :D Enjoy urself but keep pumping!

<font color="0077aa">Ava: Adan is so sweet to his two sisters! Good photography!

Congrats Flos: I guess as much!!

Lanolin: Am wearing slippers now, yah lo.. This is what my SIL said also.</font>

Hi all Sept,
Long time didn't post and check online, so many posts already.

I've given birth on 8th Sept 08, lunar 8th month the 9th, haha. My hubby say easy to remember also.

Baby's name is Cai4 Rui4 Yang2, Ryan. Weight 3.35kg, 50cm long, head circumference is 35cm. Had natural birth w/o epidural. Induced birth cos overdue by 4 days already. Damn painful, use laughing gas only.

8am: Admit hospital and start drip. Already 3cm dilation but dun feel any pain or contractions.
9.11am: Doc burst waterbag. Start having the oxytoxin to create contractions.

In between midwife keep increasing the dosage cos contractions come too slow.

Around 12pm something, start to feel sharp pain but still resist laughing gas.

Around 1pm, pain too unbearable. Used laughing gas.

Around 2pm like tat, feel like passing motion so call midwife, then she say 9cm dilation! No wonder so pain!

In the next few minutes, another midwife came to measure, now 10cm le! So the 2 midwives quickly prepare the equipment and also to teach me to push.

Just around 3pm, think they saw the head already so they ask me to stop while my gynae is on the way le. When doc came, he also surprised i'm that fast. He originally predict i'll gv birth only around 4pm to 8pm. Haha.

At 3.22pm: give final push, (with the help of gynae) and Ruiyang is out!

After tat just feel so shagged...like bones all broken like tat.

And i've been coping with low ss of BM. in the end when we resort to FM, i broke down. Just felt that it's like my fault for not able to feed him full. Luckily CL is very encouraging.

Oh may i ask now after discharged the 4th day, my V area is still in pain. Is it normal? Just wash with plain is enough?

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - i also drinking fish soup and taking 2 caps fenugreek as per stated there. heeh since can take up to 6 caps a day that is good. i need more milk for my boy
wingkei- try to relax when BF like me lo. starting my mum keep asking if my boy got suck or sleep liao, i feel so irrating keep asking.

yan(bbfam)/Winkei- same lo if my MIL were to see, i sure upset de. that day my neighbour say want to see baby when i was breastfeed, she come over see i was so piss off. after few day i told my mum off saying why i BF ask ppl come over.

Wingkei- its a very stressful thing to have such a hubby. how can he treat you in that manner. like what dracwy (dracwy) mention you got to stand for urself. Defintely u need a lot support now from your own family. Think more for your child, try not to bother by what your MIL say or your hubby since they can ill treat you. now i staying with my mother as she is helping me do confinment, but seem a lot things she keep like to compare to last time. and whenever baby cries she like to feed him with FM even 1/2 hr he drank b4. i was like keep telling her don't keep feeding till finish she don't even want to listen. I can only endure now till after confinment.

Flos- seem like you are been 'poke' a lot of time. i could recall someone mention that private part become non private anymore.

Bigtoes (limay) -oic. i now applying the cream everyday twice..but still can feel a slight thighness when walking but still ok.

talking about full month, do we really or is there a need to give cake to friends when they come over to attend?

Sasa
Aiyo... yr maid so blur to open the door while u are b.feeding... I will be damn angry if it happen to me... might sack her straight!!!!

lanolin
I am using similac for my baby too... but she "lau sai" big time... poopoo as often as feeding... too much sai liao and the CL thinks maybe similac not suitable for bb... so now change to Mamex which the hospital used to feed her... she is fine after tat... heart pain to see her bum red red...

Flos
Congrats on yr baby
wah u really dilate quite slowly... wah piang...so many V-check... v v v painful right...

hi mummies, i gave birth on the 9 sept to a bb gal..juz back at hm... will update ltr on labour thingy.. go thru emergency c section..

<font color="0077aa">crayon: Yah man, me &amp; huby are always so fluster when he cry till he is screaming &amp; turn red!!!

Pet pet have NB sizes, I saw before.

Limay: I still have lochia &amp; its becoming jelly like, is it normal? 2 weeks already still haven't clear...

Alabone: Mine too, it was light then became heavier!! Irritating! I smell too &amp; I perspire so much! Today after the rain was so humid, turn n aircon &amp; after a while it leaked!

Wingkei: Aiyoo. your MIL is terrible, how can she peel off bb's nail? GOSH!!

Lanolin: My hubby says its troublesome to do full-mth so we might not do it. Just buy some cakes to give to close relatives / frens.

Sarah: Zane is tormenting mummy.. keke.. But he is such a cutie! Don't worry, Shazz is also very petite &amp; able to deliver Eamon!</font>

Lanolin
I am giving them Nan 1 HA formula. Also wearing bedroom slippers when on tiles and socks at the very least when on parquet flooring.

Depression (...not quite yet)
Had a bit of a breakdown earlier - not sure I can cope with three kids in the house if they are all demanding attention at the same time