(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jessi (jessi) : yes, it's a good idea to induce before baby gets too big! When's your check up next week? your gynae may be in a better position to advise if it's still possible to induce if baby is not engaged yet. If baby is really too big, and you don't think natural is possible, I think it's better to opt for c-sec instead of taking the risk of going thru the induction, labour and agony of pushing!

bfg and calorie counting...
eh a good news for bfg mummies. do you know you lose around 700-900 cal a day just by total bfg alone? you imagine, sit there and doze while your bb suckle away and you lose as much calorie as long distant runner...

no wonder hb used to complain about the unfairness of it all when he came home sweating from his jog, and i went, "o, im also exercising..." lazily from the couch..kekekekeke...

but of course, no muscle accumulated lah. flab will still be flab..haiz...

dseptkon, u r so lucky to get a replacement. i hired direct so no replacement n got to waste $$ to get rid of a lousy CL. paid $900 for 5 days of lousy work .... so not worth it

shazz, my next checkup will be next thurs. gynae said that he will do VE to check on the cervix and also CTG but never mention anything about natural birth or c-sec. hope that bb won't be getting any much bigger cos i'm hoping for natural birth. i'm quite afraid of going thru c-sec :p

Jessi: I totally understand how you feel, was feeling the same way just last week! Not sure if it'll encourage you, but you've seen my size, I managed to deliver a 3.88kg baby boy naturally with epi.
Think you're taller than me, so should be ok!

shazz, ya it's really encouraging from your case that you managed to deliver your boy naturally given your petite size. so for this week, i'll have to talk to baby to engage herself. hehe..

Storeberry n Shazz
I really wonder how u mummies can express so much milk!!
Me v v sad... today is Day 7 le and my milk supply is soooooooooooooooooooooooo miserable. Using breastpump is such a wastage of milk cos the milk supply soooooo little n some even stick unto the funnel of breastpump and some leakage n end up even lesser B.milk in the bottle. I am talking abt only less than 5ml per pumping session... so little right??????
I took fenugreek yday and today. 2 tablets 2 times a day. No improvement. So sad...

When u pray, pls thank God for yr good supply and when u did tat PLS remember me in yr prayers. Thks Thks

Jessi: just keep an open mindset, you never know what will happen next week! Sometimes everything just happen super fast! *hugs*

Mrs_Yap: Do you latch Rachelle on? my son is getting patient to be latched on these days so I had to pump. But I'm not very dilligent, just pump 2-3 times a day. ;) Maybe that's why the supply sounds good cos it's all compressed into one pump or two! keke ... try taking lots of fluid, I drink alot of soup, red date tea and milo.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl)- mi also take fenugreek seem my supply more at night ler don't know y. now when my boy suck (using nipple shield) can see that the milk auto flow out a lot till i faster tell my boy dont waste the milk

Shazz
Ya i do latch her on... its so tedious for the both of us... My supply no good... she sucks nothing... somemore her mouth so small... always miss the nipple and i need to latch n re-latch and re-latch... end of B.feeding session we both end up in sweat... SO jialat

mrs yap

drink more more hot fluid n then pump more frequently to stimulate more milk flow...especially in between latching...how abt the papaya fish soup?

Jessi: Check with your gynae, if you don have any problem with your sugar level I think you can still wait for the baby to get engage and go naturally with epidural, not necessary will be c-section.

As for me, due to my high sugar level, I've to induce on this Sat after the CTG check. My girl is already 3.2kg as per last Sat. Hopefully baby don get too big, if not I might end up with c-section.

mrs yap,
i think your milk hasn't come in yet. before you pump, put a basin of hot water beside you. then take a towel and soak it in hot water, wring dry, then put it to your breast. after that, massage your brests before you start pumping. i'm sharing with you what i did when cadence was in hospital and i had to express my milk and bring to her. also, drink lots of fluids. i hope your milk ss increase soon.

chantelle,
i know what you mean. when i was pregnant, i was saying the same thing!!!

Fenugreek pill - When is the best time to take the fenugreek pill? Will it be too late if I only start taking tomorrow and going for induction on Sat?

chantelle sun (chantellesun): I actually miss being pregnant! I miss the kicks of the little one and how one body part will jut out! Enjoy your pregnancy while it last!

MrsYap: I know what you mean! I had the same problem with my boy intially, till now he cries when he latches on cos he's too used to the faster flow from the bottle of EBM. I've since resorted to full time milk cow cos the little one is impatient. Yes, do try the hot towel compress and massage which alabone mentioned. I always do that before pumping.

Sorry MIA for a really long time.. to cut long story short, baby Shauna arrived on 5 Sep via epi c-section (after 2 days of monitoring and fetal movement still irregular). She was 2.9kg at birth, Hd circumference 34cm, length 49cm.

Why MIA? Coz CL took ill on day of discharge!!
Cried quite abit at hospital, was overwhelmed with uncertainty.. Anyway, have been reading up on ALL the posts, am amazed at Kim, Ava and Shazz's ability to pump so much! Will share more later and hopefully post pics

For now, Mrs Yap, keep trying ya? This sounds silly but the cold cabbage technique worked for me.. somehow was able to pump more after the cold cabbage plus massaging of course
Thank God my hubby bought the correct veg - My bro-in-law bought lettuce for my sis during her confinement!! Jia You, drink papaya soup, longan cum black date tea (heard better than red date).. will pray for you!

hi all mummies,

seems like i am not the only one with breastfeeding woes ya... i am at day 8 already but supply is MISERABLE... worse thing is my girl is too impatient to wait for the richer milk(hind milk issit?) to flow out... so she is always hungry and to stop her from wailing... i have to give FM..
i tried pumping last night with my avent manual... after both sides of pumping action of 20 mins... i could only cover the base of the bottle! which is <10ml... i really feel like giving up... i even cried a couple of times blaming myself for the low supply... sigh.. then hubby will keep consoling me said will come one.. dun be too stressed... hopefully la..

jus to share a bit on the inducing of birth since i saw some posts regarding this.. my girl was also overdue and i chose induction on 3rd sept 3pm. but my cervix was completely closed... so gynae said might need 2 tablets.. or even c-sect if the cervix doesn't respond well to the pills...

basically ur gynae will insert the tablet to ripen and open the cervix... go home and wait it out for some contractions to happen... for mine it did not at all.. so i went back to TMC to check and induce again at 12am... finally 2nd tablet worked and contractions started at 5am... my cervix dilated very slowly.. but depends on individual.. finally ard 6.30pm i could start pushing... and my girl was delivered at 7+.

i would suggest inducing if ur baby is overdue and really getting too big cos it is very strenous on ur body and back. inducing may be a longer and more tiring process... but once i saw my bundle of joy being placed on me... everything that i have gone thru is worth it.. those mummies who haven't popped yet... don't be too anxious k? keep positive mindset and enjoy your sleep while you can!

Grace Toh, my gynae never mentioned anything about my sugar level, also never send me for any glucose test. just the normal urine test every week, so i guess my sugar level should be ok. just read online that walking and squatting will help in baby engaging, so i'm gonna do more of those these few days.

<font color="0077aa">Jaymickey: Aiyoo.. the 1st CL is terrible!! Its good that you ask her to go!

Alabone: I think so too but am not sure whther my latch is wrong so thot of going to see LC to check. But this morning, Zane seem ok with my right breast again...

Shazz: Congrats!! 120ml is alot! Glad that you perservere!

dseptkon: The CL is so incompetent!! Wonder how she get by?? And the agency also cannot make it hor..

Mrs Yap: DOn't get discourage ok? Shazz also didn't have much milk in the begining &amp; she is seeing results now! Will pray for abundant supply of BM for you!! Or is getting a lactation consultant to see if you have latch properly?

Nelc: Don;t be too stress yah? Jia you!!</font>

thanks storeberry... now i jus keep telling myself to relax cos my girl will thrive jus as well on FM.. once i relax maybe the milk will flow in faster... hehe..

btw, are there any lactation consultants who do home visit? what are the rates like?

cos it is quite troublesome to go back to parentcraft centre...

thanks all for yr encouragement
ive been drinking lots of fluid... mostly red date + logan + black date drink... old folks says cannot drink plain water cos got wind... other then tat i drink Frisomum...

However i did not use hot towel method. Will try later... i pop 4 fenugreek per day... am i overdosing? cos i read on the bottle, 2 per day... opps...

HICUPP
Anyone with bb who kept having hiccups? Mine had it like 4 times a day... wats the cause of it?

try the hot towel and massage your boobs.

i did that while in hospital to get colestrum coming. was scared that it will block the milk from coming.

also got the help of the nurses n lactation consultant. got the nurse to wake me up every 2 hrs to try feeding. and got them to show me how to massage.

you may want to get someone else to massage for you. becos we do not hv the strength to do it. also we will not massage if it gets pain. the nurse's massage was so painful but its worth it ...

like what the rest said, have more intakes. it really helps to increase the supply. i drink a cup of anmum for breastfeeding every nite before going to bed to help with supply at nite.

most impt, dun be too stressed out over it. just keep trying and you can do it ...

mrs yap
my bb also got hiccups. so i start to burp her ( i never do it last time) i think it helps.

my mum will give her some water too. guess small amount of water is fine. my sis's 3 kids also took water when they were a baby. if we do not start giving water, the baby might not like to drink water next time (according to my sis) ...

don't be discourage with the BM... keep trying and be positive..

i do give Janelle water in after milk to clean up her tongue and mouth.. usually hiccups, just leave her alone.. she will be fine after that..

water feeding below 6mths
think there was a report sometime back warning parents against feeding bbs below 6mths water. singapore water contains quite an amount of flouride which is harmful for the human body (can ask your dentist if you dun believe). long term exposure will increase risk of cancer etc. so the advice is to start water feeding only aftger 6mths.

when you bf, you do not have to feed water. the purpose of feeding water is to relieve the kidney of extra load cause by feeding FM. bm is the perfect food and therefore easily digestible. no need for water.

hicups
quite normal. it's harmless though irritating...but most bbs wont mind, it's just parents who dun like it...

small yield of bm
how do you determine the yield of bm? if you pump, it may not be the right gauge coz not all pumps are suitable for all boobs and pumps are defintely not as powerful as your bb's suckle.so if your bb is full after each feed (no. of wet diapers, etc..bb crying after feed may bot be reliable gauge, some bbs are just cranks lah...), there is no need to suspect your own bm output

Cloud,
My cervic was never open oso then leh! It was my garang gynea who decided in my last visit to poke his whole ‘hand’ (I feel lah) inside me and ‘open’ the cervic for me. It hurts big time!!! And then, gynea told me triumphantly that I will deliver within the week. And oh yes, it reallie did loh! Maybe u can ask ur gynea abt this option??? :p

Isabelle,
U can still wear ur jeans!? (minus the zip part) I dun even bother to try my jeans and those evening gowns.. I think my hips or whatever is too huge liao!! Anyone out there know whether this expanded hip will ‘shrink’ or not?? I dun mind exercise it away bt if it is something ‘structural’, I wanna to be mentally prepared now… :S

Mrs Yap
I was at ur stage of dismay when I realized my milk supply is low. For me, I can see milk trickling in after my massage lady massage my breast. Have u tried massage ur breast? I was told to use ur fingers and start to stroke ur skin from the ARMPIT area and slowly go down towards ur aerora something liddat. I was told the milk supply is from the armpit area?? Eh.. I dunno how true issit lo.. so I start stroking hard from my armpit and pull it towards aeora. Then, I start ‘abusing’ my breast by massaging it circularly, with a hot towel. And den, slowly the milk starts coming in.. I know it is hard to comprehend, but perseverance is the way to go. So dun give up as yet!!! And drink more like wat the rest says!

Sorry, just to add. in fact the latest dietary guidelines for children and adolescents released indicated that water should not even be fed to FM bbs. since the amount of fluid is measured and included in FM oredi....

JTS

Anyone can help?? this morning at 3am.. for about 1 hour plus I had this continous pain like menstrual cramp feeling.. and I can't breath properly.. At first I thought yeah.. I gonna give birth soon.. but later no more.. and there's no show of blood or anything like tat...
Of coz rite now.. I'm feeling ok.. and nothing happen.. sign~ wat does it mean??

Momoko, i had similar sign as u.. then i had the show the next day.. so u wait and see how tomorrow..

Abt drinking water, i have checked with PD and he said is okie to give some.. just don't give too much as baby will be too bloated with too much water..

<font color="119911">Jaymickey (jaymickey) - argh, how come so unlucky, so many unsuitable CLs? Since you have help from MIL and maid, can just do without a CL and all the hassle?

Dseptkon- ur CL from the agency must be on her 1st CL job ever!

chantelle sun and other mommies who haven’t pop - enjoy ur last couple of weeks of good uninterrupted sleep! Once baby comes, its hard to get more than 4-5 hours of restful sleep without being woken up!

Shazz - me too, I miss being preggers and feeling Kieran's kicks in my belly!
Even miss my big hard tummy….now its smaller but flabbier! I hope the malay jamu massage helps!

l'l CY (lilboymum) - 700-900 calories from TBF? Hehe, I thought it was 'just' 500 calories! No wonder I have lost 10kg since delivering Kieran less than 2 wks ago…if I go on BFing, maybe I might even end up losing the additional 5kg I told hubby I wanted to lose ever since we started dating years and years ago!!

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - jia you okie, I am sure your supply will kick in soon.
Like the mommies said, drink more water, soups, massage your breast before you start pumping etc… if its just 5ml, then don’t be too insistent on TBF as well.

Springz (springz) - are u sure the cold cabbage technique works for you? I read numerous articles that mentioned cold cabbage is to be used to REDUCE breast milk flow! Like when you have engorged breasts and want to treat them, and when you want to wean baby off BFing. Mommies - Don’t use cold cabbage unless you intend to stop BFing!

Meanwhile, I am still leaking milk - the leak gets quite bad especially when baby cries for milk - which triggers my milk like a tap! Hubby seems to find it amusing, but my T-shirt and the breastfeeding pillow is stained with milk all the time!!

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - baby's hiccups = normal, so don’t worry about it. I think babies are used to them as they hiccup a lot inside the womb as well!</font>

Jaymickey,
Really ah..the blood show will come only later?? hmm... my HB so excited and thought tat maybe today today.. anyway, he go to work lah of coz.. but well.. not easy.. just by waiting already make me sian already..lol
ok.. will wait for the action!

Bigtoes and Shazz,
About missing your tummy.. hehehe.. I ever heard from my friends who have 3 children now that been pregnant can be addictive one..haha.. now I think tat's quite true.. especially for us who have 2.. I think for those first time mummy.. soon less than 6 mths time.. u mummies will be planning for No. 2 already.. lol

do you bathe every day? i feel so sticky if i do not. with or without aircon, i still sweat. but trying not to wash hair everyday.

anyone here wear socks as it is supposed to stop wind from entering ...

Bigtoes.. my MIL is working.. so usually only left with the maid at home.. and she already so busy with the cleaning up.. if i asked her to look after the baby as well, i think she can go crazy..

Momoko, that time i had super painful pains then diarrhoea on sunday.. then monday morning got show, monday night admit myself and tues morning pop liao.. so u pray hard...

Jaymickey,
Like tat according to wat u say.. I will give birth on Sunday than.. hahahah.. Full month leh.. good day yeah.. lol.. thanks for giving me hope.. better than seeing gyna on tue to retain me.. lol

green_baby,
to bath or not to bath is quite individual one.. for me.. my first born .. i usually bath almost every day.. hmm.. think quite same with Alabone type one.. kekeke.. I believe in myself.. as in to me.. it must be justify scientifically lah.. by not bathing.. think it's not hygiene for me.. no offense.. wearing sock if your floor is marble lor.. lol too cold..

Just now, i sound out my CL to use cloth diapers and she was telling me my bb poo alot of 'yellowish water shit'. It will not be ez to wash off even with nappy liner and suggested that i use 'cheap diapers' instead cos i am using pampers now.

Haiz.. abit sensitive lo.. cos she is a nice lady and i feel like telling her to use cloth diapers loh cos' that is her duty mah. Erm... u gals are using cloth diapers in the day time rite?

IF use cheap diapers, what brand is cheap and good? Household brands meh?

hey ladies,

i planning to get a helper soon. any suggestions on what i should look out for since i need her to help out with bb when i go back to work.

Bigtoes &amp; Momoko: yeah, I enjoyed my pregnancy so much my hubby was kidding that he should make me preggy all the time! he thinks I look more beautiful when I'm preggy! *bish*

Goldfish (goldfish1395): how big is your baby now? cos most house brands like NTUC, Carrefour and Giant's diapers are usually S onwards. For newborn, cheapest would be Drypers, Pet Pet starts from S if I'm not wrong.

I"m also using disposables now but CL said can try the cloth diapers when he's about 2 weeks old.

The cloth nappies we have are being used as pillows, to swaddle him instead of wrapping his bums!

preggie: you can look at this website set up by a fellow mummy on this forum on maids. She got some information which is really useful. Go through and adopt what you think is reasonable standards and expectations. There are some things I wouldn't adopt though ;)

http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - today my mother triedusing cloth diaper. end up after he poo my mum use back drypers again.but today strange my boy drink not long FM poo 3 time sia.not sure isnt tummy tomuch wind le

<font color="0000ff">Weight
haha... i've still got abt 3-4kg to lose before I get back my pre-preggers weight. still I think it's a mean feat to have lost so much le.. jia you!!!

BM SS
My SS is slowly increasing I hope. Can now manage 70ml and on good times, 80ml (which is once onli lah). Massage really helps but abit painful leh. and my hb keep asking me y i keep massaging my breasts. Realised I can oso pump more at nite leh. day time, sometimes I can only pump out 60ml, at every 4 hrs interval.

Gosh.. not enuff to feed my boy with it. feed him 100ml of ebm.. n he's hungry 2 hrs later. another 50ml of bm n he falls asleep onli to wake up 1 hr later searching for food....

Fenugreek Pills
I'm taking 2 pills 3 times a day.. as according to instructions on the bottle. Find that it does help a little. at least milk starts shooting out.. rather den trickling down.

Hiccups
my boy gets hiccup on a daily basis oso. and 1 thing i realised.. it always happens after his bath.. which I still cannot figure out how come. abit poor thing to see him hiccup for so long but leave it alone n it would go away somehow. haha, but quite heart-wrenching to see him struggling to fall asleep (the eyes close le) den hiccup and he gets a shock n wakes up again. the cycle continues till his hiccup goes away</font>

shazz,
wat's the pump in pal like tat u bought?? it is suitable for PIS user as well??
Sasa,
So good.. only another 3-4kg?? How much was ur total weight b4 u gave birth?? i mean u put on??

Take it slowly k for ur BM.. good job on the increase.. I still waiting for my PIS to arrived..

For those mummy who r using the PIS, anything else we need to standby? like wat valve or membrane thing?? see tat we might need extra or standby some of the parts rite??

sasa - good for you!!!!!! I can only manage about 50 ml still and it is day 17! will jia you. I am still supplementing one feed with FM! My friend told me her supply only really came in during month 3 so will persist and try to latch him. He's doing like 10 feeds these few days (instead of the norm of 7 - 8). I do drink the hot drinnks / papaya soups and all ... different people different la

Perspiration - do all of you perspire A LOT? Every time I have a meal (hot soup included), I am like a tap and I feel so yucky! sigh. it's like dripping!
That's why I HAVE to shower every day and what I do is wash my hair etc etc with heater water and then do the last rinse with the herbal water. Hope it works!

Lactation COnsultant:

Someone was asking about this? I really think it helped me a lot even though my boy isn't latching 100% well. Still need to relatch him about twice to three times per feed. Christina Kwek : 93679293 or call Mothter and Child for other recommendations: 68360063.

Fenugreek - the label on my bottle states 4 per day so that's what I take!

I miss being pregnant too ... it's like u have the baby with u all the time but I still had my freedom! I haven't stepped out of the house for 17 days, except the one day to the PD's and all. I'm that kind who cannot sit still one so this is quite a feat.

First Month - have u been planning for this? I am just starting to think about it.

Alabone - hey, we were in Mount E the same time u know? which ward were u in?????

Ava - u must be very happy to have adan back! Hope he takes to his little sisters well! :D :D

Flos - I'm wondering if you have given birth????

Momoko (momoko76): it's the pumpinpal from www.mumsfairy.com their customer service is fantastic! Yes, I'm using Medela PIS and the supershields works perfectly!

Lochia: does your discharge smells? I realised that it's starting to have a smell, when I first delivered, it just smell of blood. But now it's beginning to smell like stale blood. Is this normal? My wound is healing nicely, so I doubt it's infection of anything. Hope I'm not being paranoid! But my nose is really sharp at detecting weird smells! haha

lanolin (lanolin) - how come urs states 4. mine states one or two per day only. seem when i try to latch my boy on my left side he tend to latch shorter.. but on my right side he latch for very long think mayb my left side not enuff milk for him. hard to pump much in the day.

seem like my mum doing confinment for me, yet i still have to wake up in the night to clean his poo and feed him myself. unless my boy cries few time my mum heard it then she wake up help

shazz (shazzerlyn) -same when i pee i could smell it. think its coz of the food we take in ba..

Arrgh! my pump died on me last nite.. so now baby's latching on every 2hrs.. anyone heard of medela freestyle? My hb is going to get me one.

cloud, 3.1kg shd not be a prob if u wait for another wk ba. Stress not! If you are unsure about inducing/ not very anxious yet, then wait for baby to decide to come out naturally.

momoko, he'll be coming out soon and then u'll start joining our in our breastfeeding, CL and bathing woes!! haa.. and I've 4days to go before my CL allows washing of hair! JIA YOU!!!!

deseptkon, I dono wats the good thing abt massage but I do know that they will sort of like push ur womb back into place for you. I think pple are mostly worried abt 子宫下崔 after delivery. My massage lady massages my boobies to help me remove the blocked ducts and my boobies hasnt been engorged since she arrived and of course the wrapping of the tummy part. I walk like robot after the wrap! aha.. it did grow a little smaller lar. But it could be due to my imagination.. haaa..

Isabelle, I lost 9kg on the weighing scale but in real, I still look 5months pregnant and I don dare to try and fit into my pre pregnancy bottoms yet! Top no prob but tummy visible..haa..so i'm not going to be so daring like goldfish to try.

Bigtoes, I think after all the manhandling of my breasts and V at the hospital, I can let my massage lady do anything! hahaaa...

storeberry, is it ur position? as in the way u hold him? Got check his hands and all? Reyes sometimes does that too! And i have no freaking idea why and it flusters me and hb cos when he cries, his face turns sooo tomato red and it scares us shit! haa...

jaymickey, ur CL sounds bad ah! my goodness! I cant imagine having to change so many CLs during confinement. Stressful enough! You must rest more and let others settle the CL issue for u

alabone.. aha.. so ur counting of calories worked! and ur MIL also helped u in a way to control ur weight. hahaa..