(2008/09) Sep 2008

yan, i can understand that u must be feeling v sad and worried now. i hope that this slow growth is only temporary and that we simply have petite babies, that's all. i hope your scan goes well. hugs.

Taslyn, he didnt scream at me. just scolded me and start to blame me lor.

Flos, when i drink cold drinks, he also keep nagging. but now no growth for baby, he put is blaming me for drinking cold drinks. and since baby is in my tummy, i nothing much to say!

thanks xuanting. now going to bed and see how the scan goes tml. haiz~ pray that the report is normal.

flos, i also had the impression she was referring to lochia initally. can't remember how i found out that it was really the liquor level she meant; could be from my doc or the sonographer at radlink or perhaps the doc at the scgs talk. still don't understand why they call it the liquor level and worse, pronounce it as "lai-qua" lor.

think my doc wants to see what happens next week. she said that if bb continues to grow at snail pace, she'll want it out by 39wks or so, so that i can start feeding it with milk.

<font color="0077aa">Just read thru Supernatural childbirth again... Going to sleep soon.

Koras, my gynae is Dr Adrian Woodworth, yours is Dr Adrian Tan? Yes, I received your sms!

Shazz: Its ok, no prob.. Was affected abit just now but hubby wake me up from that..

Flos: Jus check with Koras, boo-boo lah.. not the same gynae!! Hers is Dr Adrian Tan.

Hi alabone,
I'm from Feb09 MTB. Happened to see pics of your lovely Cadence Faith that you've posted above. She is fearfully &amp; wonderfully made by God. She will grow stronger &amp; well. Be strong &amp; bless that you will have a smooth &amp; speedy recovery from ur c-section &amp; high bp. Enjoy ur new bundle of joy &amp; don worry abt the bill (The Lord provides)!

i'm officially "off-loaded" at work today! supposed to go for my 39th wk check-up today, then ML starts next wk. then hor, this morning realised i got "bloody show" liao. dunno issit psychologically, but i feel i'm getting contractions?!?!? i actually wanted to go shopping today before my gynae appt - for baby &amp; for mooncakes AND also have a great feast w my hubby before i get grounded for a mth. will still proceed and see how it goes. hopefully what i'm feeling is BH &amp; not the real thing. am still targeting for 1Sep delivery, just like shazz.

btw, jaline has popped on 25th afternoon.

flos - storeberry will be giving birth 1st.. her appt at 7am.. mine induce at 9am. thou both is Dr A but different sir name.. today wake up kinda of excited but scared of the pain also lolz. last nite seem my boy is very active again moving about

Hi mommies, i've popped yday, b4 my c-sect on 7sep. Baby arrived on 28Aug @ 1553hrs, weighing 2.740kg. The PD just came to to tell me she detected a little something abt baby's heart n i'm so worried now even though she said it may not b serious... I really pray hard its nothing serious. Storeberry: r u in TMC now? Dr woody just came to see me n i guess he's seeing u too? Btw, maybe we can meet up, i'm on level 6

Congratulations to Eve, Storeberry and Koras!!

Hopefully i'll be able to pop by your beds on Sunday to see your bundles of joy!

Wow! So many more have popped!

Congrats to Eve and Jaline!

Alabone: You have access to laptop now? See you can type a lot more. hehe. Your Princess Cadence Faith is beautiful!! And she is doing very very well isn't she? You named her Faith as well...so let her remind you to have faith for all your needs. Don't worry abt the bill at all. Govt ang pow and all will cover tt. What is impt now is that you rest. You need to 'yang tai' now!

L'l CY: Hehe. Knew I can count on the doc's wife to shed light on the mercury thingy. I'm not tt fussed abt it as I trust that SG Gov is pretty stringent on such things. I will definitely not do 5in1. Dun want to subject poor bb to so many jabs. Ouch!

And Flos is right...that little bit of alcohol in the mooncakes won't hurt. Some preggers still drink DOM which has much higher alcohol content wor. If in doubt, check w your hubby n see if he lets u indulge. hehe.

Flos: I'm doing all my 2 and 4 months jabs in SG for sure. Just uncertain abt the 6mth instalment - pack vaccines over, go HK or return to SG. SG more reliable than Macau u see. Plus i can use BB Bonus for it. Why not? Hehe. And eating more protein really helps bb grow grow grow. Anw your cordyceps has already helped ' bu' him a lot. So dun worry la.

Shazz: No la...You are really v good at all the bb research. Can ask you where to get stuff and how much and where got good bargain... you have info at your fingertips. Hehe.

Yan: Don't worry so much. Sure everything will be great! Update us! Does your hubby go with you to the gynae? Maybe can ask doc why bb's not putting on weight while he is there so he can hear that it is NOT your fault?

Eve: We will pray for your baby and his heart. Do update us!

Xuanting: Dun worry abt bb's weight. Just eat more protein? And depending on when you do Strep B test, it may be repeated. However if you do between wk 35-37 ,it's once off. Have you done yours?

Wonder how Storeberry and Koras are doing!

I'm going to see the doc later at 1145am...So excited. Wonder if bb is getting into position and what his weight is now.

Alabone
Congrats! Baby Cadence looks gorgeous and cute!

Congrats to eve too!

And koras and storeberry, u gals can see ur little darlings soon!

taslyn
win already lor, blame the school. This kind of irresponsible parents...
But i'm not surprised, parents nowadays can have really warped values. Cos one of my students spoke to another friend during a test and i called the mother to say i'm gonna give zero. The mother actually had the gall to ask me to "do her a favour" and give another test for her daughter! And told me how good her daughter was when she was in pri sch, just that now her frens are influencing her.
Excuse me, I'll be so embarassed if my daugther did such a thing! How can still ask the tr to "do me a favour"?!!!

sarah may
yes I'm a tr, as u can see...

Alabone - your little fighter resembles you
glad that both mommy and little one are doing well.. must take care of yourself and eat well when discharged..

Flos - BF should not take coffee or stuff with caffeine..

INFANT CARE - Any one putting baby to infant care?

Hey Congrates to all mummies who had gif birth... as for mi.. i still got 1 mth to go.. edd 27.09.08 ... still hv to drag......... myself to work.. hee hee

LC.. for BF, can take those rice wine? from what i knw those rice wine beri "bu" 1 leh....

Congrats to all moms who's given birth to God's wonderful creations! How does it feel? The most beautiful thing that you've set your eyes upon, RITE?! =)

Flos, saw tat u r asking if we can drink copi when BF-ing...

Points worth remembering when breastfeeding

• You are still eating for two so it is important to pack in about 500 extra calories a day of healthy fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins.

• You also need to up your fluids - 10-12 eight oz of glasses a day in the form of water, juice, soup, and milk if your baby is not sensitive to dairy products.

• Not every food is problem causing so it is not that perplexing. It is good to be aware of foods that commonly cause reactions. A gassy reaction in baby means you have to eliminate.

• While exercising is good, it promotes the production of lactic acid in the milk and hence makes the milk a little sour. Exercise after you nurse and not before helps to prevent this.

The Wait-and-See Approach
Your baby reacts to flavors. Some babies react to onions, garlic, others to green beans or broccoli. Gassy reaction very commonly happens if breast milk doesn't suit the baby. It has a lot to do with what the mother ate. A distressed baby reacts by pulling her legs up to the stomach, a sign of gas pain. Some babies scream in agony. Others do not sleep well. Take the trial and error approach since you cannot predict what suits and what doesn't. For example drink a cup of beverage and then watch how your baby reacts. A screaming baby or one in discomfort tells you that you should skip or limit beverages for a while. Here are some foods to watch out for and temporarily eliminate:

Caffeinated foods.
Chocolate, coffee, tea, sodas and even some medications all contain caffeine in varying proportions. Limit your coffee to a cup or two if you absolutely must have it.

Spices.
Chili powder, garlic, curry powder, cinnamon are some spices that produce a reaction.

Vegetables
Not all vegetables but some vegetables such as broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, cabbage, onions, peppers, turnips and cucumber cause gas.

Citrus fruits and juices.
Grapefruit, lemon, lime, orange, pineapple, strawberry, kiwi are examples of citrus fruits your baby can be sensitive to.

Dairy foods.
Be aware that milk, cheese and other dairy products can cause an allergic reaction in your baby.

Laxative inducing fruits
Cherries, prunes are some examples.

Alcohol
It is okay to enjoy the occasional drink but remember to wait at least 3 hours before feeding baby.

Allergens
Nuts, peanuts, fish, eggs, wheat and soy are some allergens which contain proteins traces that can be absorbed into mother's bloodstream and into her milk.

Nicotine
Stay clear during your breast feeding days as tobacco can get into breast milk and affect milk production. It can also create a consequence of vomiting and restlessness in baby.

for those first-time moms who havent popped yet!

Signs of False Labor

• Contractions are at irregular intervals
• There is no change in the length or pain of the contractions
• Pain is primarily located at the lower abdomen rather than your lower back
• Your show (the blood tinged mucus) if any, is brownish (likely cause is an internal examination or intercourse within the previous 48 hours)
• Contractions subside when you have two large glasses of any nonalcoholic beverage
• Walking makes you feel better
• Lying down on your side makes the pain stop

Signs of True Labor
• Contractions come at regular intervals and increase in length and duration (they are coming at 4-5 minute intervals)
• Pain moves from front to back
• Walking has no effect on the pain or makes you feel worse
• Contractions continue if you lie down on your side
• Contractions don't subside despite two large nonalcoholic beverage
• Show is present and either pinkish or blood streaked
• Your membranes have ruptured

Sri Leo,

I went for my checkup on tue as well, doc din really say anything about bb though, did the usual hear heart beat thingy &amp; said he is healthy. Did ur doc scan you that's why know bb big enough to deliver? My appt too 1 week once liao, should be a standard thing for them to say if bleed or waterbag burst to go to delivery suite. I haven booked any ward yet, when i asked them about it, they just say on "that" day then do everything including the admission form.. sigh.. everything also last min..

Hi mommies &amp; MTB. Sorry to interrupt, have some extra Lucas Papaw 25g ($10 inclu normal postage)&amp; 75g ($19 inclu normal postage) available. Pls PM me if interested. Tks!!

alabone
ahhhh...candence soooooooo cute...think she looks prettier than jared leh...wow, so much hair!!!!im hoping i dun get a botak girl.

and she is pretty alert looking huh! defintely a good sign!

flos
the worries for caffeine is that 1. it makes bb hyper coz bbs take longer time to flush out caffeine from system.2. it affects milk ss, coz caffeines diuretic mah...if you wanna have coffee think it's ok just as long as you gulp several glasses of water after that...

sarahmay
aiyoh...im defintely going to get my champagne truffle this time round, but after seeing flos' post on the different mooncakes...aiz...they all sound fantastic.

alabone (alabone) : Cadence is definitely a Great fighter! U take good care of urself! She will be going home with u soon.

wow.. so many mummies popping one by one. my EDD is 4 Sept, but still no signs yet..

very happy today as it is my last day at work before i start my Maternity Leave!!

Alabone,
Cadence is so cute!!!

aloevera/lilboymom: Tks for your advice on caffeine. I'm a coffee lover and cannot imagine how long I can stay away from my expressos after I've popped. Already I'm starting to hv cravings for coffee.

SarahMay: I had stopped taking cordy for quite some months already. I was told it's too potent for bb
I am still taking birdsnest though.

Hv u started stocking up on fall/winter bb rompers etc? It can be rather chilly in Jan-Mar in Macau...Your receiving blanket will hv to be thicker I suppose?

Any news from storeberry, koras yet?

COngrats to eve and jaline!

Ava: Hv u popped yet? R u aiming for natural or c-section?

I'm thinking of going to COMEX tomorrow, but not sure if it'd be too crowded for a pregger like me?

Hi LC, yes, I'm putting my baby into the infant care center once I return to work (after 4 months or so).

Jo, hee.. I'm like you, still have 1 more month to go, as my due date is only 28Sep, and doc said mine would probably be up to 40weeks or even later.. !!! So I'm still dragging myself to work, but I've told my boss that I may work from home 2 weeks prior to due date so as not to "stress" myself too much having to travel to work during peak hour, squeezing on the MRT train!

Hi, need some advise here. How you girls pronunced the name Kaer? Many of my friends don know to pronunce it. Now thinking whether want to change my girl name, don want next time she hv problem with this name.

have you had heartburn before, like ate too much chillies that after each meal, the burning sensation.. How to ease it?

Rachel... i oso hate the morning train loh... got to std... like today.. everyone Zzzzz... i std from amk to city hall....

the new sign in the MRT oso no use... hee hee

Hi everyone, i just came back from my checkup. baby is finally engaged but still no sign of coming yet. Cervix is still very tight.. so gynae says if labour is to start, it will only be late next week. If not, then he will induce me on the 8th or 9th.. haiz.. still have to wait.. hopefully she can come earlier.. (keeping my fingers crossed)..

Jo, ya I know... even when we are so obviously BIG (definitely pregnant!!!), sometimes, nobody bothers to give up their seats...

I was wondering if we do a "buzz" button on all the priority seats, does it help? So eg. if there's really a pregnant woman / old man, we can press the button and that priority seat will actually light up and make the person seated on it embrassed and give up the seat! hahaha. :p

Hi Rachel,

haha, that was such idea lei, at 1st i thought your "buzz" means when you press on that button, it will be vibrated or shocked tat person.. wahaha...

yingflo
Dilation is checked via vaginal examination, where your doctor will use her fingers to check. As for engagement, they just need to press our tummy, they'll know.

LC: I haven't ruled out Infantcare centres yet. During my confinement, I'll monitor closely my inlaws' behaviour and their r/s with me and my bb. It's their 'probation' period!! But infantcare centers will penalise u if u pick up the bb late, rite?

Jaymickey: at least u r engaged. Mine is still in his comfort zone...I think xuanting's logic of 'in utero' cycle is quite true lor. I hv been sleeping like a baby for hours after I started my ML; now my bb also follow mom's lazy routine and sleeping patterns...slow and relaxed...no disturbances cos I only watch tv, read and listen to music.

yingflo: Yes, was having that burning sensation in my last tri. Last few days, it kinda stopped cos I eat less for dinner and more for lunch. I lost 300gm as a result of frequent vomitting at nite. U can ask your gynae to prescribe u with some medicine. I din't want the medicine cos I'm close to week 38 already.

Updates from storeberry:

Little John is finally out at 915am via c-sec. Weight: 2.575kg
head circumference: 31cm
Length: 47cm

Everything is good for baby, mummy and daddy. Daddy keep looking at photos

Mummies, i am giving birth next wednesday. exactly at 37 weeks. Dr just gave me a jab to mature baby's lungs. baby's not too good at taking in nutrients and my left blood vessal's supply to baby is vvv low, and fluid is on the low side.

ooo.. great.. congrates to storeberry.... hope to c little john's pic... soon

Take care &amp; rest well storeberry...

Flos: yes, she was thinking of naming small berry John sometime back, they finally decided on that I guess.

yan: can try taking coconut drink and more water to boost your amniotic fluid level.

Hi Flos,

hmm, im in my 38 weeks le, going 39 weeks on Mon.. eating less will help to stop? good idea...

Mei, no lei, my doc din even press my tummy when i asked if bb is engaged, scully she din knw wat to do, but only measure and din say anything.. haiz...

Shazz, but then baby's not taking in nutrients, not to mention that my right blood vessal's supply to baby is on very low side. monday going back to see Dr, then he will advice if to induce or go straight for c-sect on 3rd sept. anyway, whichever method of delivery, baby have to be out by 3rd sept! haiz!! i'm still in shock. supposed to be 26 days to my edd. now its left with 5 days! i haven washed any baby stuff yet!!!