(2008/09) Sep 2008

LC faint
Congrats to u... remember to post a pic of yr bb ya. u gave birth @36 wks n bb is almost 3.2kg? wow thats a v big sized bb. I had my appt this afternoon... bb onli 2.2kg at wk 35. Doc says on the small side, ask me to eat MORE.. but i eating like theres no tml liao still like tat. End up i become fat.

Alabone
Hope u are feeling better. Jia you and talk to bb to stay put in you longer.

Flos
I ever stayed in the labour ward so i know... THERE IS A BIG DIGITAL CLOCK RIGHT INFRONT OF THE BED... hehe

Got one qs... if the company is a big MNC organisation and reputable one, they are more likely to acknowledge the implementation date on 17 Aug 2008?? Or not necessarily they will do that?

mrs yap: dun worry abt the bb size
LC FAINTZ once mentioned she is 1.72m tall and her DH is tall too.

I hope my labour ordeal will not be so long!

<font color="0077aa">LC (faint): Wow so exciting, your bb wants to see the world before his EDD!! Congrats!! So you are doing full BF?

Mrs Yap: Gal are usually smaller in size so it ok... Don't woory too much. MNC should be more likely to acknowledge the maternity benefits but having said that its better to check with your HR?</font>

Oh wow... mummies are popping one by one.

LC
Congrats.. do post a picture of your bundle of joy when you can!

Sasa
Very happy for you! Take care!

now walking seem to be a bit pain every morning when wake up. leg swell hand swell. finger pain when bend. omg hope that my baby come out next week le haha .

by the way if need to induce anyone know how much will it cost in tmc

Hi, Ladies

Many thanks for the kind words.. I was quite confused at the last stage when Gynae came in to deliver the baby with my last push.. so when baby Jayden was out and "thrown" onto my boobs, I was like "Huh? What's that???" cos he was sticky and warm and crying away
when I turned to my hubby next to me, his face turn pale.. hahaha.. later the whole thing, he confessed that his stool nearly also come out when he pushed together with me.. goodness..

Hi, Mrs Yap
No worries abt the size of the baby so long she is healthy. Thatis more important.. drink plenty of milk and eat more fish to get ready your milk supply if you are breast feeding so that when you baby is here, you have enuf to feed her.. dun be surprise that you wun have milk flow but continue to request for the nurse to bring the baby to you for latching.

Hello, Flos
Am I the first to pop? Tot Shazz has delivered too? My baby came just 2 days earlier to enjoy teh extended maternity leave
And, You har, really have a super duper memory!!! Yes, both myself and hubby are tall and bigger built.. I am now having reflex and speech problem, my memory is failing too... and what i say and what I think differs.. now my memory running at a 286speed.. they said it is common after birth but I hope to be back my normal self soon cos now really can feel stupid stupid at times..

There is a 24Hours clock in the delivery room cos they will base on the timing of that clock for your baby birth time.. I remembered looking at it to time my contraction, every odd minute, I would have to get ready to breath in for the contraction..

Hi, Storeberry
Yup, I am doing BF now, feel like a mobile cow and tell you something, I am addicted to breast feeding.. hahaha.. cos it is a great relief to engorgement...

Mount A - anyone delivering at Mount A?? I enjoyed my stay there and the confinement food is better than I expected...

Hey LC, congrats on the arrival of ur bb Jayden.... must rest well &amp; eat well...

Do post some pic for us to C..

Shazz must be bz updating all the infro... cos sept mummies or popping 1 by 1..

LC, congrats!! Must be enjoying ur new role as a mummy and errrm cow (heee) like sasa and sunrays now... This is really getting very very exciting!

Alabone, hang in there. Jia You! Its tough but dont think abt it too much lest it brings up ur bp further.

Mrs Yap, as long as melody healthy can liao. You can feed her heaps and to ensure she plumps up when she's out in a few wks time. Just dont overfeed and end up way too chubby.. hee

Who's next??????

LC:thrown onto your boobs? You were wearing the hospital gown when they threw Jayden onto you right? Did they change that soiled gown for you later?

Sorry I'm asking so many silly questions cos I dun intend to shower during my hospital stay. All that slime and blood on my arms? eeewwwweee...

Hey, did your gynae invite your DH to witness the crowning and snipping of the umbilical chord? Did u videograph the whole process? I am so worried my DH won't be able to take it. He was cringeing the other nite whilst watching a plastic surgery procedure on Discovery Channel!

Did u need to borrow the hospital breast pump? I dunno if I wanna pack it into my cabin bag.

Yeah, I was told we'll all hv mommy's brains after giving birth!

shazz hasn't popped yet, but she has popped by sunrays' ward to take Charlotte's pic! hahah!

LC
When did your milk supply come in?

Flos
You can request for the nurses to 'throw' your newborn baby at your breast immediately after birth or to clean up baby first before handing over to you.. it's all up to you.. you just need to tell them your preference.

Flos
At my antenatal class at KKH, they told us we can tell them our preference for that after the birth of baby. That's how it's practised at KKH.

xuanting, nope, not yet. My HB is strictly against it and his mom is supportive of it. It's funny cos his mom can say that her friend is very pantang and yet, she still follows her friend's idea. Anyway, I've made my HB order the cot already and deliver it on 1 September. So I hope there is still time to prepare.

Mei: KKH's being very customer-oriented. I wonder if TMC will ask me for my preference!! LC gave birth at Mt A I think.

Anyone in contact with SarahMay? Dun tell me she birthed already?!!

congrats LC ...
I will be delivering in MT A as will since my FB is there too .. the nurses and food is nice there ya ?
Flos ,
i just spoke to sarah may in MSN yesterday .. she has not pop yet

Your theory about the family business thing is true .. haha ... that way can earn more than the bb cash bonus 4 k govt is giving, especially stay at home mummies .... guess a lot of people will start to register "online " companies .. keke

Wingkei , ask your company to advertise for replacement la , why do you need to find oen yourself ?

hi all... i oso just came back from my check up... nw 35 weeks... bb abt 2.5kg.... bb's head dia ard 9cm.. Dr. says it's abit big leh.....

hey hv u all heard of "the laughing gas" thingy to relieve pain? is it useful? any side effect???

Jo, i am not sure.. i wish so.. hahaha.. cos I have been having sleepless night.. but have to wait till next visit, see what gynae say...

wingkei, ur company still haven't manage to find someone to replace u. Me too, boss had been put up advertisiment since july. Still can't find one. me still got sometime left, cos my edd is 24/09, but i think u can't wait anymore. did ur boss try the agencies?

Jaymickey.. hw cum sleepless? your baby moves alot? or always wake up go pee?

u pack all ur stuff already? bet aget ready loh...

Jo, all positions seem uncomfortable. Wake up to pee and change positions also need lots of energy..

Stuffs all packed already.. just waiting for D day to come now..

<font color="0077aa">Jaymickey: I am in my 38 weeks le... Will be seeing gynae on Mon again... Think mine will not be early, have that feeling.

LC: Yeah, continue BF-ing!! Its the best for bb!

Sarahmay is doing good, think she is out shopping after the previous house arrest! Hahah!

Jasmine Yeo: Think you missed my post, You work in Balestier? Whereabout? Yah is the job market very good? My boss is looking for Personal Assistant and no many people turn up for interview.

Jo (gwee): Laughing gas, some say its helps but it will make you drowsy &amp; high so might not have the strength to push.</font>

storeberry, gynae already say i wont be early.. mine will be very closed to my EDD.. hopefully if Gynae induces her, she will get engage.. then at least i can still have a natural birth..

Storeberry... my gynae was asking mi hw i want to relieve the pain leh... i was like ??? ??? cos i nv reali think of it...

so he told mi abt the laughing gas.. .he says not so good... makes u "knock" off ... den pain again... den "knock" off again.. he reco epi... he says abt axp.. bt quite good... wow this morning like having lesson with him like tat... den he ask mi abt breastfeeding.... got go read up anot.. etc... den he keep asking mi got question to ask him? i realli dun knw what to ask leh... so normally u all ask ur gynae wat questions???

the epi injection was quite painful right? i scare needles!!!!

my next check up will b in 2 weeks time.. den the nurse told mi that next check up.. have to monitor and listen to bb's heartbeat for abt 30mins.... and i hv to pay $40 for that.... u all got do tat oso??

storeberry: yup i worked in balestier.
as my company is doing renovation, so we need someone can speck chinese and english, end up a lot of other races turned.

Yup... ard 30-45 mins.. depends on whether doc wanna do a long test for u.. mine was 45mins &amp; i cant even move.. back pain seh..

<font color="0000ff">Eve
Applying the nipple cream le.. but doesnt seem to help. I'm afraid bb might not be latching correctly. But den each time he sucks, got whitish thing leh. tat means got colostrum / milk leh...

BlackberryB
oohh.. I standby kotex maternity pad leh.. and bot the sofy super long pads. guess wat.. i didnt end up using them, coz my lochia not alot lor. didnt stain my bed and my flow is macham my 4th / 5th of menstruation leh. that little

It's a MUST to get breast pads i will think. I'm using them now. can't be helped. When i latch on now.. while bb sucking 1 breast, the other will leak like mad.. didnt noe initially, until finish 1 side of breasts, my shirt wet the other side le. now i resort to putting a bottle at my other breast, haha, so tat nothing is wasted

Xuanting
I'm latching on only in the day. Nite time i give FM wor.. so tat I can slp.. day time he cries for milk abt 2-3hrs interval lor.. so it still can last him for this time duration. Nite time, he onli wake up once to drink FM.. hehe.. good boy!!!
while in hospital, think 1st nite already the nurse managed to feed him 30ml of FM..

l'l CY
Painful leh.. till now i dread each time my boy cries for feeding.. already latch correctly leh.. but nipples are super painful. Tried to pump last nite oso.. coz was quite engorged and my boy so sleepy dun wanna suck.. pump till bloody leh... in the end i poured all away.

Alabone
Hope u are doing OK!!!

LC
wah LC.. u 1st to pop.. hehe.. n i still tot i was the first

Flos
yeap.. there's a big clock in the labour ward wor.. haha. anyway, LC Cheng didnt rush down to see mi in the middle of nite lah. he come oso no use. but the nurse did call him to inform that my waterbag burst when i admitted at 130am. haha.. hb say he super no life. gotta ans phone call middle of nite. I onli saw LC in the morning abt 8+ n he did a VE for mi...</font>

wah quiling... $50 bucks!! OMG!! i stayed in hosp for 3 days.. n each day they do for me CTG twice! wonder hw much they cut my mum medisave..

HELLO!!!! Eh...sorry ah.... since I've been off 'house arrest' I'm like a free bird. Taking every opportunity to go out. And then when I'm online, a bit lazy to post. Hehe.

Flos - I haven't popped yet. Choy choy choy! Cos Hubby not back yet. Though my little Elisha is good to come out. He is mini heavy-weight champ la. I was in shock on Mon when doc said he's already 2.9kg at 35w5d. I only wanted a 3 kg bb at full term. So now i have to watch diet. How are you?

LC - Congrats! Your baby is BIG at 36 wks. Good thing you popped earlier right. If not might be a 4 kg bb at 40 wks! Hehe. Post photos of Jayden soon. Btw, I love the name Jayden! I'm going to pop at Mt A. Were you in a 1 bedder? I booked 1 bedder. But not sure if shd change to 2-bedder. Did you get the Lady's Ward?

Alabone: Don't worry. God's in control. You just take it easy and dun stress.

Storeberry: Have faith ok! Your baby will be in the perfect head down, anterior position come Mon so no need for C/section! Update us with good news on Mon!

Sasa: Hello! Wah ! Got a lot of energy...can come online. How is life with Max? Can you get a lactation consultant to do house visit to help you with BF if you feel that he's not latching on properly? Think it's worth the money.

Jo: How many weeks are you? How come must pay money to monitor and listen to bb's heartbeat? Isn't that like part of the package?

Lemon: When is your actual EDD - next week? I also feel that my fingers feel achey or painful when i bend then. Is that what is called 'crab claws'? cos of water retention is it?

L'l CY: Was great meeting up with you yday. I didn't eat dinner cos i think lunch was just a lot. Haaha. But i ate some buns. I started reading the Shichida book. Certain bits like ESP and training for the mathematical skills sounds quite convincing. DO you use any of the Shichida methods with CY?

jasmine &amp; wingkei
For part-time admin basic duties, you can actually try the community development council. I got a few temp staff from them before. You just need to download the form &amp; fax/email to them &amp; they'll find a match for you.

http://www.cdc.org.sg/

jo
It's better for you to have an idea of your birth plan like the kind of pain relief you want, etc.. so you can let your doctor &amp; nurses know. When we are screaming in pain, we may not be able to think straight.. hehe.

Yup.. that's the CTG.. they are charging you $40 for that? KKH charges me $18 for a 30 to 45 min CTG.

LC, I haven popped yet! The pictures I posted are lovely pictures of Prince Max and Princess Charlotte of Sasa and Sunrays.

Like the rest of the mummies, I can't wait to see my baby too. But I'm enjoying every min of my pregnancy as I love his movements in my tummy and how I'm still so mobile and agile.

Storeberry: I'm also seeing my gynae on mon, then we'll see how heavy Eamon is and if he's engaged. But I have a feeling he won't be out so soon. In the meantime, mummy is still eating as usual, haha ... big big lah, fat fat lor. haha ... already put on 17kg, just let it be liao.

anyone bot disposable panties aldy? know which brand is good &amp; where to get it? i only know it's best to get those 100% cotton wan.

I bought @ kiddy palace... $4.50 but too bad i cant fit in sia... i tot my waist is ard 24-42 but to my surprise NO... nw hv to buy new ones...

Congrats to those mummies who have popped !

I'm also looking forward to seeing my bb soon. Now my pelvis area is so painful that i hv difficulty walking. It hurts the most when i try to stand up after sitting down and oso more painful at nite. Anyone has this prob ? My gynae say may hv to endure till birth wor....

Sarah,
Wow ur son q of good weight ya ! How much weight hv u put so far ?

Sorry Shazz... I tot you have popped cos I did not really run through the postings well.. kekeke.. Yup, enjoy the pregancny cos it will be soon over and entering into another phase...
I enjoyed my pregnancy and felt the glow I had during the 36weeks..

Hello, SarahMay
My gynae already warned me at 28weeks that baby will be big at full term, ard 3.7kg or more and with a big head circumference..I am glad that he is that heavy at 36weeks.. initially I tot jalet premature, the weight must be very light but turn out to be good.. but then, baby still kanna jaundice and got to stay in for two days for phototherapy and I have to rush to hospital twice a day to BF him and to bring him EFM..yesterday he discharged already with a good reading
I was in two bedded. my neighbour dilated till 7cm then admitted hospital and she din even know she is in contraction.. goodness... her baby is born at 38weeks and when the nurse pushed her baby and out side by side with my baby, it is like one "M" size and one "S" size..hohoho.. actually it would be good to get one bedded one even though your hubby is not sleeping over as there will be quite a disturbance if your room mate has a lot of visitors and it you are light sleeper..

Hi, Jaymickey
Dun get worried abt the engaging part.. my gynae say some babies dun get engaged..but still can delivered.. you can try do half squat (40times), it will aid in the engagement..

Hi hi, Quiling
The confinement food is good, at least in my opinion.. the nurses are really supportive when come to breast feeding.. And thanks for the link..I am writing to MCYS to appeal.. hopefully I can get it but I am also worry that my boss cannot take it.. hahaha.. I haven tell her that I am doing appealing.. there is a petition going on for Jan -Aug mummies in the forum too..

Hello, Sasa
are you having sore nipples?Try to apply some of your breast milk onto the nipples after each feed, it helps for sore/crack nipple.. there is a saying of applying cold cabbage too but I never try.

Hello, Jo
My EDD is 12 September 08 and baby came exactly 4weeks earlier. I was suppose to be on leave that day to do my haircut but early morning, waterbag burst liao so have to deliver..For laughing gas, the "high" effect can last till the next day. My room mate has the laughing gas and it did not alleviate her pain and in the end she request for a jab at the thigh which only reduce 50% of the pain and after delivery, she still feel high even after 5hours or so when I was pushed into the ward to rest. next morning, she said she still feel high.. goodness!!!

Hi, Flos Flos
Ya, the gynae "threw" the baby onto me (with the hospital gown on of course) and then get my hubby to cut the ambilical cord.. he was too shocked to see the baby (with the sticky whitish mucus) on me and just cut according to gynae instruction.. afterwhich baby was carried to the other small baby bed to clean up, weigh and so on in the presence of hubby..we din video it down cos I dun want my hubby to go in front to see so he just stand beside me to elevate my neck for pushing.. but he was tall so he could see quite a fair bit from the angle he stands.. he even told me the needle and long thread used by my gynae to sew..goodness!!!

I did not bring breast pump there cos can latch on the baby and milk dun come in so fast so no point bring so many things there.. my hubby kanna suan by the nurse when he bot 3 hospital bags for me..

I requested for the baby to be wrapped and passed to me when I am in the delivery suite, to try latching baby to my breasts but of course no milk..

Hellow, Mei
My milk flow came in abt few hours after deliery but bery little, the first that came is colostrum, yellowish thick discharge from the breast..you can tell the nurse that you wan TBF and they will send the baby to you whenever baby is hungry and they wungive formula milk unless you say so.. and also no worry if milk does not come in when you are hospitalised, continue to latch baby on to stimulate the flow.. Mount A nurses are good support when come to BF as they really go all the way to help me latch..

sasa de mouse: glad to hear from you...I also intend to give FM at night cos I wanna sleep. I'm a lazy mom, before turning into one, actually! This Dr Cheng stays next street, Chancery Lane, only. He can rush down anytime lah...

You didn't use the SOFY pads in the end? I bought the 40.5cm ones from Watson's last night cos my MIL told me I'll leak and leak and leak! So scary...Actually, my normal menses are not a lot, by Day 3, the flow is quite light. I only use Ultra slim before I got pregnant...I also hope I dun hv that much lochia like u.

Did TMC shave u?

LC: I packed my OIOI bag but it was too small! So I hv transferred everything to a cabin luggage! YOu're lucky to lactate just hours after the delivery. Do u think it's cos you've been taking cordyceps and birdsnest diligently? It could be attributed to the good "M" size of your bb!

Qiuling might be right: There was a 2004 mom who appealed with proof of her EDD and got approved by govt to get the grant. I think u hv a case to fight...

SarahMay: oh! I thought your DH is back...so many days haven't heard from u!!! U got everything in the end? I'm fine, thank you. My DH is back

Mei: I got my disposables from an ulu optical shop. They didn't bother to check my eyes...

wingkei and Jasmine Yeo: I'm surprised to hear that you're obliged to look for temps on behalf of your employer! YOu're not resigning; you're pregnant. They should go find a temp way before u go on your ML. aiyoo...

flos

i haven't even emailed her my account number yet! Will do that soon. Oh well, guess it's just too bad... Luckily i'm not desperate for a stroller and it isn't such a big sum like some mummies who transferred hundreds of dollars!

sasa
Think ur baby is not latching on correctly. BF is not supposed to be painful at all, just gentle tugging when baby suckles.
U can go to the hospital LC to check if ur baby is latching on correctly.
And dun put cold cabbage leaves any old how. At most 30 min to relieve engorgement. Otherwise ur milk supply will decrease drastically!