(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos: Huh? Your MIL is a MJ queen and your FIL is a tv addict! Yikes! Should really consider your options. Will you be taking your 3 mths ML? If yes, that may give you a bit more time to work through your options and hire a maid too if need be. What about your parents? And infant care options?

Bigtoes: You mean if bb rooms in with us they will charge less? They will prob still charge for cot and incidentals used for bb right?

Wow ! one facial and haircut back...there are so many posting to catch up.
Bigtoes, I think you are right... MT E, Gleneagles, Thomson are all about the same price.... In fact even the class A in KK is also in the same pricing range with the private hospital based on my friend feedback....
Anyway, i guess when the bill come we just have to deal with it loh... hopefully govt incentive will come handy next week

<font color="0077aa">crayonshinchan: I also have not look at the hospital bills, guess everything will be in placed then!! Haha!!

I also cannot remember my gynae fees for delivery but I guess its reasonable...

Shazz: Already started to lay the waterproof sheets beneath my bed sheets! Me Kiasu! My hubby also has the habit of scratching himself &amp; sometimes I have to stop him when I see him scratching!

Bacon&amp;egg: Wow, junior is of a good size!! And long too!! I have decided to donate my bb cord blood &amp; I was in a dilemma previously as well. But I prayed about it &amp; gotten confirmation from our LORD that I should go ahead with the donation so which is why I did it.</font>

Hi Sept mummies,

I'm also a end- Sept MTB.

I've been following this thread quite regularly but never really got round posting.

For those who are contemplating whether to donate or to privately bank your bb's cord blood, you might want to consider the following (taken from the SCBB brochure):-

If your child is diagnosed with leukemia, there's no point using back his own cord blood cos it's already pre-disposed to leukemia since childhood cancer is normally genetic. Therefore it will only make sense to privately bank the cord blood if you're gonna have more than one kid. This is probably why SCBB doesn't charge a fee for you to use back your child's cord blood but a fee is levied if it is used for a sibling etc.

Just take note that when you read the private bank brochures, they are completely silent on this issue.

Thought i should highlight this to you girls before you take the plunge to store your bb's cord blood privately. My hubby is in the life sciences research line and is therefore more for donating the cord blood.

Hello Everyone!

Stiff &amp; numb fingers
I have been suffering this from way early on in the pregnancy, due to water retention... I can't bend my fingers at all &amp; I have problem writing. Even unscrewing a bottle I have problem.. lol.

Waterproof sheet
Hubby just laid a thick towel &amp; waterproof sheet on our mattress on Sunday. Need to standby already..

Goldfish &amp; Bigtoes
I think we can't take the OCP while breastfeeding.

Just came back from my checkup.. at 35W4D, baby is 2.7kg, up 300gms from 2 weeks ago. Thank goodness I did not put on any weight. His position is also head down, no changes from the last checkup.

I was also hooked to the CTG to monitor baby's heartbeat as it was shown that the umbilical cord was around his neck during the 3D scan &amp; I opted for this just for peace of mind. Everything is ok.

Ava
Think should be ok lah his weight..

Yup.. my crab claw hands irritates me big time.. I wanna scratch my back also problem, cannot do the scratching action.. lol.

I juz went for checkup.. only consist of hearing bb heartbeat &amp; measure my tummy... Doc said I maybe be due within 2wks... And I weigh 79kg! whahahahahahaha.. but doc nvr comment anything on it... hmmm..

I agree wit wat shm125 hv said.. tts wat the lady frm SCBB KKH told me...

jen kate

yikes. major abruptio means the entire placenta was tearing away? thank goodness your bb was delivered safely. guess you doc is being conservative this second time around just in case. but good also that you can see #2 soon!

hello everyone again ,
Flos ,
yes , my hubby just got back late night on 07/08 /08 .. then contractiosn started in the afternoon of 080808 // so he was the one who drove me to hospital ..
I suggest you decide on maid or infant care during your three months ML .. keke ...howver if u seriously want a maid , then better get before u pop so that u can properly instruct the CL to train the maid up in taking care of bb .. at least u have a trained person and feels secure even if MIL is not there all the time .

Jen ,
U are right about feeling safe with Dr Ho .. hmm .. i feel safer when he is ard too ... and yes .. he does have lots of theory to back him ...
Contractions are like stomach cramps in periods .. but will be regular ..

Mrs yap,
Your description of maid sounds gross ... but if you can tolerate her attitude , then think just treat the rashes and see if it goes off within another week , else check with doc if rashes will spread ??? esp infant care requires very clean and hygenic person to look after .. that is my thoughts .

cant really have a good sleep recently. baby keep pressing onto my bladder.. even at night when he move i can feel that my urine is coming out
hand also feel the soreness, whenever wake up in the morning feeling my finger very sore and pain to wiggle

bigtoes, i hope we'll be charged the lower of our interpretations too. the hosp really should present the rates in a clearer manner but i guess like ava mentioned, they perhaps do enjoy making it so complicated that we won't feel like probing further.

flos, can get your sil to split the costs of hiring a maid and register the maid under your mil's name since she's going to be based there anyway?

mrs yap, have you heard from the agent yet? hope they can come up with a good solution for you.

mahjong
really shouldn't have these sessions going on with a baby in the house right? how is it ever going to sleep with all that noise?

sarahmay: yeah, really unreliable inlaws. I might take over, if need be...

wingkei: i'd told/'consoled' u before that your in laws are not the worst of the lot! mine disappears to play MJ. though there is no noise from the tiles to disturb bb, it still makes me worried cos she is physically not at home to jaga the bb right?

qiuling: good to hear that your DH is home!! Mine too.

BH: feeling a lot of BH these days...

Mei/Ava: my fingers are stiff too...I play with a stress ball everyday at my desk...

Jenkate,

May i know how you found out that your placenta was bleeding? Was there pain or it just happens that you went for the gynae check?

Felt a sharp pain near my ribs yesterday night, and i remember gynae told me that my placenta was near the top of the uterine wall somewhere around ribs.. am worried :X

<font color="0077aa">Hi mummies! Had a haircut today, felt so refreshed!

Just iron some of hubby's clothes &amp; felt abit tired &amp; giddy.. Guess I stood too long liao.. Had abit of headache now, gosh!</font>

Grace,

I juz signed up with stemcord few weeks back. That time I still pay more. Reg fee is abt $1100 +, first annual fee 0, second year onwards is S$250.and No extra charge for gynae who help with the cordblood storage.

storeberry (storeberry): wow, you're still doing ironing! I stopped doing ironing since I was preggy cos my iron is darn heavy! Take the cue from your body, time to stop doing ironing! hehe

storeberry, agree with shazz, heard Iron and Microwave got very strong of radiation. Me also stopped ironing since preg.

Koras, Me also vr frustated of my baby sometimes as he keep pressing my bladder, feel full but end up a bit of urine only.Then an hour later, i got the urge to pee again..sianzzz

yun (cutieyunyun): i can pee up to 5 times within an hour leh! my friends thought I very kwa zhang, till they went out with me, and I was going to toilet very often then they believed me! And the thing is, when I go, it's not a few drips, it's really splashes!

Flos
Stressball will be good to have during labour as well for squeezing during contractions! I should get one too...! dunno where my old one has gone to!

hi all, me now in my 37th week.

sleeping at nite not that fun...i sleep sideway and the baby will wriggle inside me to get himself comfortable also. Aiyo, maybe he's trying to stretch to get to sleep. And the moment he stretch his leg (now head down le), my stomach felt like bursting! Painful...

Though I do not get up in the middle of the nite to go toilet, the weight of the BB is really making me walking with a bit of difficulty le. How about the rest of the mommies here?

morning ladies

going for my 32week checkup later. wonder if bb's weight has increased and if my bp is any better...

mrs yap,
the description of your maid is really scary. if you wanna change a maid, better to do so before you pop coz still need to wait for maid to come, then train her. not much time liao.

shazz,
my hb also has the habit of scratching his legs and his blood also always stain my bedsheets... and i so love buying the nice, high threadcount ones... very sim tia when he stains it and never knew how to remove the stains. coz by morning i see, it's become dried blood.

dseptkon,
i'm delivering in mt e. my gynae is dr pat sim. yours?

hi alabone,

i know of a stain remover very good,it work well for removing stains caused by baby food, chocolate, blood, grass, eggs... just put the stain remover in water with your laundry powder in water and soak.

hi snowwhite,
the pain below is the tummy area or where? for me is the tightening of the tummy. my fren says that's braxton hicks, only when the tummy tightening become painful and regular then it's contraction. I'm not very sure, maybe can ask the mommies who have given birth b4 to describe the feeling?

Morning everyone,

Dear snowhite,

Don't feel pain below, but feel pain around the pelvis area and ribcage, especially after a night's sleep.. sometimes the whole tummy will tighten for about 5-10 mins and standing up to walk will make the tigtening go away..

Sleeping at night:
Not fun at all! Waking up middle of the night hungry.. needing the toilet... backache and ribcage pain due to sleeping on sides.. pelvis bone ache and worry!

PREGNANCY CHECKUP
I went for my regular checkup yesterday. ONie do the ultrasound scan and can onie see something ‘circular’ nia leh, similar to what we saw few visits back. Issit wat u gals see oso since head down liao? Last time can see the ‘shrimp’ effect…

Asked abt contraceptive methods and gynea told me he will discuss tat after delivery! *diaoz*

MIDDLE NAME
LASt nite my hubby told me that perhaps we can do away with the ‘middle name’ leh.
Issit a ‘norm’?

For example: Andy Liu De Hua
But to remove the middle name, it will be: Andy Liu
So birth cert to reflect: Andy Liu + Chinese Name
Anyone has similar experience on the above?

Storeberry
I am oso doing ironing for hubby clothes. Aiyoh.. like a lot rite? How I wish they can just wear shorts and singlets to work!!! I wonder how I can balance ironing and bb care next time since hubby SWEAR tat he cannot iron as ‘nice’ as me. (like real)

Mandy
Wat brand of ‘stain remover’ are u recommending??

Flos
your mil sound like a taitai
...you mean you are willing to leave your career to take care of your lil one??wow..but then again, you will never know the turn of events when you have your lil boy nxt to you...

ILs
i guess im lucky in that my ILs are dying to take care of their grandson..not sure if they are as willing to take care of their granddaughter though..kekekek....

they are not that fantastic. i mean they feed him outside food (fish soup stuff but i still dun like it...), they let him watch tv sometimes...(until i show black face), and they practically dun do anything much else with him the whole day...i feel he is wasting his life away when he is there...hahaha...but i should now count my blessings. so occasionally can rest when CY is there. though he comes home really cranky, thinking ive abandoned him

shazz
thanks for meeting up yesterday! sorry to keep you waiting. coz jam lah...(*excuses excuses*)

sleeping
mummies...take heart and try to have as much rest as possible. the aches and pain will be there, but at least you can have some rest!! can you imagine if the lil ones are creating such commotion when they are in the womb, what will they be like when they are out!??!?!???! then really NO rest liaoz for at least a couple of months, some even longer!!!

storeberry, goldfish
yesssssssssssssssss.....the ironing of men's clothes can kill!!! sometimes i just look at him and ask him why he isnt a PE teacher or an engineer? then i dun have to iron all these shirts and trousers!!!!!!

but you girls should really hire someone just to iron the stuff. else it will really kill you when the bb comes!

goldfish
my sister's children dun have chinese names too. they dun even have hanyu pinyin or dialect names. on birthcert it is just
asher enoch khoo
then the name in chinese character...

anything is possible lah...

xuanting, I'm also of the opinion that how can a baby sleep with all the mahjong noise in the house but my HB says he wants to train the baby to get used to that. *bang head*

Flos, yes, you are right. But then again, even if my MIL is playing in the house, with the noise of the mahjong and being too engrossed in playing, u think she will really bother to get up to check on baby frequently?

Thinking about it already makes me frustrated. Imagine next time they all come to my house to play, and while they are playing happily with my HB, I have to jaga my BB and who knows what the noise will do to her. She may not sleep, etc.... Frustrating!

hi goldfish,
my mom recommend it to me one, from Amway. U heard of it? Not bad leh... i just put some together with the laundry powder and soak, the stains will come off easily. My hubby also like to scratch leg until got blood and stain the bedsheet.

Their pre wash spray also good. my hubby spray it on his collar and cuffs and no need srcubbing, can just throw straight into the machine to wash. my hubby say good n convenient. haha, good for busy people like us.

Mandy - Where can I get the Amway pre wash spray? My hubby just throw his shirt, polo and pant into the washing machine without any scrubbing, end up as good as never wash ... especially the collar so dirty.

hi mandy,
that's like a msia brand right? think my mum swears by that.

last night, my jared boy came running to me and said 'i love you mummy!'. it was the first time he said so himself. i think i teared... so touched.

just back from gynae visit. leading twin has turned head down...hope she stays that way...the other is still breech, but if all stays can try natural. weights are 2.1 and 2.2 kg at 35 weeks, up 200 and 300grams each. was hoping they'd be at least 2.3-2.4 but as long as they are growing, shall not complain!

Amway
You need to be a member then can go to their warehouse and buy the stuff. warehouse is at redhill area near Ikea. not sure if u can buy online. Amway is actually not Malaysian, altho it went into Malaysia before singapore. Cosway is a Malaysian brand, similar concept.

Alabone
Hehe...*warmed heart* adan also says "I love you" to me...very sweet...how to stay angry at them like that? smart kids!!

Yah like what Ava say, the Amway office cum warehouse is at bukit merah there. My mom is a member so she help me buy with member discount. What I know is Amway is a US company, about 50 yrs liao. Heard their laundry product are concentrated and can use very long, my mom says that also.
So i buy from her and try lor. She say for memeber, can buy online, think buy $150 and above they can deliver to your house. That's what my mom did.

Hi Grace, i think in your case hor, better get a pre wash lor, spray and throw into the machine wash, if not like not very clean leh, like what you say, it's as gd as never wash, hehe.

ava/ alabone

completely agree! when samuel says *i love you mummy* ... I become like melted cream
lagi useless to even think about scolding him.
all mums to be, another milestone to think about when in labour

alabone
my doc is yeoh swee choo on the 13th floor.

hi wingkei,
i can't rem the name in full but it's something call "tri-enzyme pre soak" something like tat. It's added on to my laundry powder to give a even better n thorough cleaning lor. I'm using the amway laundry powder also lah.

Hihi, can anyone tell me what does this means...baby head is not engage yet but is in the correct position preparing for normal birth.

Correct position is what position huh?

Pre wash : Mandy, we can just walk in to buy the products right or need to be a member first? Beside Amway pre wash, is there any other brand to recommend?

Grace
Head down. "Engaged" means head is fixed in the pelvic area - ready to go into birth canal, but once the baby is head down (not nec engaged), already considered in proper position for natural.

<font color="0077aa">Shazz &amp; yun: Yah man, I "gung ho" lo, one short iron 6-7 shirts until I feel giddy!

Goldfish &amp;l'l CY (lilboymum): Yah lo.. but I think my DH clothes still ok cos he don't wear shirts everyday, Phew! Hubby don't iron as well, the other time when he tried, aiyo... still have creases! CMI!

Wingkei: Actually some bb can sleep with all the noises.. There was one chinese new yr where I went to my SIL's house to play mahjong, her gal is only a few mths old &amp; she was slepping all the way beside us! Vaccumm cleaner noise she also don't wake up! Power!

Hi experienced mummies, doing a poll here, if your child is 21mths old &amp; he is naughty, when you try &amp; reason with him face to face he don't listen, do you all beat his hand / backside or use the cane to threaten him?</font>

storeberry
never used cane. only started beating hand recently for Very naughty things. I used the Supernanny Naughty/Quiet corner technique from about 2 years old onwards. place kid in corner/chair and tell them to stay there for 2 mins (no of minutes = age of child). you leave them there and bring them back to the corner/chair if they leave till 2 mins is up. then after time up, u go back and say "u were put in naughty corner because...." then ask for apology and then hug, and thats it. works wonders.

<font color="0077aa">I am asking this because of my nephew but my parents are used to using cane to threaten. &amp; yday he insisted I play with him when I am having my dinner, try to reason with him but he dont seem to understand or listen. He can only speak in one word now, not sentences so somtimes we have to guess what he is trying to say. I wanted the naughty corner but don't know my mum know how to do it or not..</font>

storeberry
yah, i figured it was your cute nephew
try and see lah. not sure if he's too young for it..lemme check the boook when i can find it...will look for it later today.