(2008/09) Sep 2008

So sad, most US MNCs only give 2 days CCL per yr, regardless of the # of children you have. If ML is upped to 4 months, I will be overjoyed! More time to spend with my kids. But think my boss and colleagues would curse silently *haha* Feel damned paiseh, cos' joined in June then end Sep go on ML, then return, probably in Jan-Feb '09 (if 4 months ML). FWAH! My 1st yr appraisal surely gone with the wind.

LC(faint) - same ler watch the superband my baby also dancing inside like that haha moving about sia. talking about watching movie i seem like cant sit long, backache and need to go toilet often

<font color="0077aa">J&amp;S &amp; Ava, both your employers are good man! I guess thats the difference between local &amp; MNC...
So Ava, are you bringing the manual pump or electric one?

Aiyah, tomorrow 7:45pm will not be at home for the news, hopefully will be a good one!</font>

Mei, for The Best Time to Call field, how should the info be keyed? I followed the eg. 6:30 but each time I submit, they prompt me to re-enter....

koras
You dont shave yourself...they do it for you!

Storeberry
Bringing manual one cos dont need PIS for those early days i guess.

J&amp;Smom: 4 mths is really too much liao...we're not Sweden nor Norway...For natural delivery, one would be up and running at the end of the 2nd mth ML. Some moms even secretly go for job interviews in their 3rd mth ML!

Jovial: But I guess public sector also got difference...civil service vs stat boards...

storeberry: it's broadcast live on Friday 080808, not Thurs. i bet many people are out of town, given that it's a wedding banquet hot date, and given that it's a long weekend when everyone's off on holiday. Just read the papers or log on to PMO website afterwards lor.

For me, I prefer to watch the live Olympics opening ceremony.

<font color="0077aa"> thanks Mei for the link!

J&amp;SMum(AletheaT): You must click am or pm below the time. For Thomson just write TMC.

Ok, understand Ava! Thanks!

Flos; Yes, I wrote wrongly, thot tmr is fri!</font>

i can't wait for them to announce the new bb incentives too. perhaps we might have the 4th mth maternity at half pay only? i do hope they up the number of paternity leave though. it'd be really useful.

bigtoes,
excited?? 3 more weeks to see your little darling!!!

ava,
did they shave you completely?? coz i didn't remember being shaved completely. they only shaved a lot off the top coz that's where the incision would be. also, the last time they shaved me, the nurse cut me leh... painful. but couldn't kick her... so this time round, i think i'll go do a full wax off before my op.

Flos,

I can't wait for them to announce the incentives too! My company grants 2 days Childcare leave and 5 days of Child sick leave.

Packing Hospital Bag:
I haven't done it yet cos due end Sep. But definitely not bringing sterilizer or pump cos don't remember having to use it as milk supply doesn't kick in so early. Anyway, my place is just 15 mins fr hospital.

bigtoes,

Must be very excited now!! Though it's my 2nd time, don't think I'm that prepared yet!

Jaymickey: 17th? really? Then what is the National Day Speech on 080808 going be on?

This year, it's really weird that he does it prior to NDP. Previously, it's one week after and on a Sunday... I suspect it's cos he isn't attending the Opening Ceremony in Beijing with his daddy, so he'd better deliver his speech on the same day.

My fren was saying he's snubbing the Beijing IOC for bypassing SG for the torch relay month ago. So he deliberately reserves all the local media channels for his exclusive NDP speech!! hahhaa!! Conspiracy theories...

Hi Flos.. yeah, I think Jaymickey is right.

If I remb correctly, the National Day message (which is b4 National Day)is a chop chop one, whilst the National Day rally (which is after national day) is the one which is long &amp; detailed &amp; where most goodies are announced..

I'm also excited to know what are the goodies that we are gg to enjoy! I sure hope it will be applicable to our babies who will be born in Aug / Sept 08!

Flos, that's what my hubby told me. I think he either heard it on the news or seen it in the papers.

National Day Speech will be the typical ones..

Bigtoes,
I was thinking that popping in 3 weeks time is so fast! Then I realised that I myself turn 36 weeks tmr and so I'll be popping in 4 weeks time or even earlier! Sheesh! I'm not prepared yet!!!

My hospital bag is not packed. SO many things not done. Jiat lat. Think I'll pack when I get home!

Insurance
I got AIA Shield for myself, hubby and my first kid. Yes gotta pay deductible. But we also got some other policies from AIA (e.g. Pink of Health, Surgical Rider etc) that covers the deductible so that we dun have to pay anything.

storeberry,
you mentioned malayheritage kept PM-ing you is it? they are 'pestering' you to sign up for their package or what? are you deciding to sign up with them??

pebblez

u look nice n happy in ur pics! =)

Have never thot of doing studio shoots for myself when preggy cos for me I dun think I wanna rem myself looking fat and out of shape... I can't wait for my tummy to be flat again! Esp now that I can even lie down on my back to sleep!

isabelle,
i'm also 36 weeks tmr
Hv not washed any baby's stuff or setup the cot. hv not packed hospital bag too. Basically, hv not done anything yet.

Think this weekend will do all the washing and getting baby's things ready, setting up the cot and taking down my breastpump from cupboard, packing hospital bag. This weekend is long weekend for hubby and me as Monday is National day off-in-lieu for us. So most probably will use this long weekend to get all the stuff ready.

dmbb: u could be right...the pre-NDP could be the blabber-this-blabber-that speech, while the 17th one will be the ultra "cheong hei" one

Anyway, I'll be super glued to the Olympics opening ceremony cos I am just curious see how spectacular the Zhang Yimou-directed show is really like. The most expensive ever Olympics opening ceremony it is...

Hello Beautiful Mummies!

Sorry MIA for a while cos haven't had access and plus have had to rest. Bleeding was one time only and contractions stopped the day after. Thank God!

But now, still cannot go out. Doc wants to play safe and wants me to rest.... and continue with my meds for another 2 weeks. :-(. But by then, bb is good to pop out...though hope he doesn't cos hubby comes back only on 10th Sept. My photo shoot and all have to postpone. :-( On the bright side, at least i'm stuck at home so i m 'forced' to get organised and ready for bb's arrival.

How have all of you been? So many posts to catch up tt i'm completely lost.

I can't believe that we are all going to be able to cuddle our little ones soon! Really excited abt how my bb is going to look like! My hubby just told me he's been dreaming abt our bb for the past 3 nites. Haha...i dun even dream of him. My DH described the bb as feeling 'soft like a gecko'!!! Ew!!! He also mentioned tt in the dream he was terrified of dropping him!

BREAST PUMPS: I see this is something some of you are taking along to the hospital. If we need to use the hospital's cos we didn't bring, must we pay? How much?

Will try to post as often as i can. Thanks for all your concern!

stef

i'm so behind cos I stay at my in-laws on weekends so can't really use weekends to pack...
And plus now that I'm gonna do my first week of confinement at MIL's place, I'm even more confused as to what to pack! Can't really think straight these days, as I'm also rushing work... Geez...

sarahmay
Hope u're better. Yep, better rest more.

I'm not taking my breast pump cos I intend to latch baby on only. But I would reccommend that u bring in case u kenna sore nipples or worse bleeding nipples, then u would need to use the breast pump if u wanna do tbf. And please go buy nipple cream.

But to avoid all these unpleasant situations totally, just hire a lactation consultant, unless u're one of those lucky mummies who have no pblms bf. It's worth the money. U dun wanna be like my colleague, her nipples bled so badly during confinement, the milk she pumped out was bloodied. And her baby drank pinkish milk...

breastfeeding/pump in hosp
to echo some of the moms here...def latching is a priority over pumping in hosp as latching is more effective to stimulate milk flow...i'm bringin pump as a standby for engorgement and to stimulate in between latches...

stef&amp;sean/isabelle/lok: me neither
I'm still taking my own sweet time...

sarahmay: i got a feeling that we need to pay for the pump rental, at least for TMC...

Actually, SG is soo small. If u forget to pack something into your hospital bag, just ask DH to drive home to bring it to you. I'm not concerned at all, cos I know one can get some basic stuffs from Novena Square opposite. If I wanna eat Burger King, or Wee Nam Kee chicken rice, just ask DH to walk across to buy lor...

hey xuanting
sorry i didnt say bye just now...hurrying to get out of office

eating during labour is allowed if not on epidural. i ate like mad. if on epi or going for c-sec, probably not. bring honey sticks. or horlicks sweets as recommended by lanolin's sister.

xuanting
yes. If you specify and ur gynae says yes.

flos
oh yes, happy belated birthday!

I am typing out my to-bring list now. For hospital and for 1 week stay at MIL's. Otherwise all this info is too much for my little pregnant brain...

packed my bag but not complete yet... am just worrying about whether i can get to the hospital in time cos i didn't know how to time my contractions the last time and ended up at my gynae office 6 cm diated already ;P anyone want to tell me how the contractions should be timed? and when should we leave for the hospital (about 20 min away if no jam) in case i need to call for a cab?

hey ava, don't worry about it! was nice chatting with you.

eating during labour
isabelle, ava: am so glad to hear that! i cannot don't eat and certainly can't imagine if i have to go for long hours without food. ava: your first delivery was like 76hrs right?

relaxation cd for birthing
what sort of music would be best? the kind with birds and streaming water in the background or plain music?

xuanting
about 72 yes...i remember the pasta with roast duck i had at TMC...yumm...
Music: really depends on your own taste. e.g. if metallica works for u..why not
hahha

Dseptkon
If u had quick dilation first time round, better go the minute u have regular contractions (as in lasting about 1 min and coming every 3-5 mins) cos faster the second time round usually!!

hi sarahmay,
nice to hear from you. rest and rest ya. whenare you postponing the bloom shots to? i used the breastpump i borrowed from the hospital and didn't need to pay. but i'm not sure if it differs from hospital to hospital.

isabelle,
i was in the exact same position was your colleague was. i was also pumping bloodied milk. but i threw it away and didn't offer it to bb. and i also developed mastitis when i was breastfeeding nat. so am very very worried it'll happen again. apprehensive yet want to breastfeed. if possible, it's still best to latch than to pump.

ava, was that what the hosp fed you with or you had to tabao from somewhere? no need to send hubby out to buy food right?

alabone: think someone mentioned that we can start applying the nipple cream to avoid sore/cracked nipples already.

alabone
my lactation consultant said even if the milk is bloodied u can still feed baby cos bm is from blood anyway. And can still bf even if u get mastitis. It's ok.
Make sure u check regularly for lumps this time to prevent mastitis. Hope it works out well for you!

ok ava
so the contractions last one minute from the time they start and be 3-5 min apart. got it. just worrying cos my DH is sometimes uncontactable at his workplace so may end up going to hospital on my own . er... i don't suppose its a good idea to drive myself there? hehe.

alabone
when i got mastitis the breastfeeding support group people said to bf all the way through it. in fact it alleviates the condition and you recover faster.

packing hospital bag
actually agree with flos. singapore too small, home too close and shops nearby. if forget anyting, just go buy new set or ask hb go home and get...easy peasy.

bf woes
think all second time mummies here rem their first bf experience. and i think all have their horrid bf moments.

think what carried me through is the sheer determination that i MUST bf my son!i have no fm at home and tell myself if i dun bf my boy will starve. i was a little crazy then..maybe post natal madness or something. but i was practically obsessed with getting it right! but of course it helps when hb is knowledgeable in this area.

one note on fm. i know many bbs are healthy and smart having drank fm all their bb lives. but it is still not the best!if we can spend money to buy the best cot and bedsheets for our kiddoes, let's try our darn best to provide the exact proportion of nutrients to our lil ones thru bm!!!!(kekeke..sounds like an advocate/activist hor...)

bigtoes
I delivered in TMC. I have a birth plan so they can't force me and I guess op is different from delivery too. I wore my own clothes and did not have enema. I have interval monitoring so I moved around, in fact too much till the midwives were complaining that I messed up the bed.

L'l CY
Same thoughts on BF. I have no FM at home and told myself that I'm giving the best to my girl. I just ignored what people are saying that I should supplement BF with FM or whatever. The amount of pain and suffering that we went through is definitely worth it, right?

How long did you BF your little boy?

Food
You can eat and drink if you are having a natural drug free birth. When I leave for the hospital, the only thing that I keep reminding hubby to bring is my 'goodie bag'.

<font color="0077aa">Alabone: They keep PM-ing me to sign up their package, I am not planning to sign up with them...

Isabell &amp; stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg): I will be 36 weeks on Fri! Have to rely on my pregnanct calender to know the number of weeks i am in!

Experienced mummies: Do we need to pay the lactation consultant? I know we can can the lactation consultant from TMC but is it chargeable?

Totally agree with you l'l CY (lilboymum)! We defintely want the best for our bb!

*Waves to Sarah!** Hope to see you more in forum! Take care my fren!</font>

sunny
eh, i just weaned my boy this week. after second tri not much more milk, but it was comfort for him. was thinking he might ask for it again when he sees his sister latching on. maybe he can then help me un-engorge then...kakakakaka...

quite surprising how i managed to wean him. no fuss or unhappiness. he took it like a man!!!oopppsss

storeberry
the LC will usually make their rounds in the wards right? think it should be the same in all hospitals. so if you need help, they will pop by...

l'l CY
Wow! Champion. I weaned my girl when I was about 4 months pregnant. Took me a week, I almost melt from her tantrums. Can maybe ask him to help if you have excess, no need to store and stimulate supply. Hee..ee

Storeberry
My paed actually asked Mrs Wong BB to help me when I had problems with BF. There is no charge. And the LC will normally drop in if they know you are breastfeeding exclusively.

I have the following items for sales.

1) Bumbo seat @ $45. Very good condition in box and used less than 10X. Color: Aqua.

2) MomsInMind baby sling @ $10. Good condition

3) Hanging mobile for baby cot @ $8.

Self collect at Punggol MRT. Interested buyers, pls text 96510417. Thanks.

1615927.jpg

storeberry,
i also not planning to sign up with them. quite ex. found a cheaper deal.

shazz,
i was planning on having the bloom shots next monday. but they are not available. the other time slots they gave me, hb not free. so haven't quite decided on date yet...

my friend who just gave birth recently, was told by mrs wong bb that we can give colostrum to our todds if we have excess after feeding our newborn. it is the best food to give our kids! so those with tods don't forget that.

Alabone, Isabelle,
when i was breastfeeding my #2, i suffered from mastities 3 times and also cracked nipple that took abt 2 months to recover. i pumped blood out too, and my milk looked like strawberry milk. I still gave my son the 'strawberry milk' cos i couldn't bear to throw the milk away! There was also big blood clots in the milk due to the mastities. Horrible and terrible experience from mastities and cracked nipple.

As for blocked ducts, the most effective way to get rid of blocked ducts was to let your baby suckle on you
but when my baby stopped latching on, i had difficulty clearing my blocked ducts, which developed into mastities
hiaz..

Nevertheless, i will still breastfeed my #3 for at least one yr.

stef&amp;seanbabes,
oh dear. i totally understand what you went through. i was also still breastfeeding too when i had mastitis coz it was best solved with baby emptying the breast. and lots of hard, painful massaging to clear the blocked ducts. But my #2 then was a really sleepy baby and just slept mainly and didn't feed much. at one point, i was soooooooooooooo desperate i actually asked my hb to suck. to which he totally grossed out and refused to. Needless to say. so i had to see my gynae and was on medication for a while to clear the mastitis. i was so afraid it was going to lead to abcess...

But like you stef, I'm gonna persevere this time and breastfeed exclusively for at least the first six mths. just last evening, it was reported in the news that by breastfeeding exclusively for the first six months, we can save at least $700!! So all mummies, jia you!

alabone,
haha.. when i had blocked ducts and when my son was totally weaned off, i asked hubby to sucked for me too.. but he refused.
I tried to clear the blocked ducts by pumping (took hours), but it was of no use. You know wat i did, i tried to suck the blocked ducts out myself
but of cos, it was of no use too.

I breastfed exclusively for 1 yr for my #1 and 2 yrs for #2. for this one, i will try to breastfeed for at least a year or 2 years..