(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi av8d~

Going for my 34+4 week scan tomorrow! Little girl's been making big waves lately, can't believe that we're going to see her in 25 days!

And with you ladies talking about your bloom portraits, we went to take ours too, would encourage all mummies to go get a set done too~ have a fun day with hubby and get to doll yourself up!

1612536.jpg
1612537.jpg

j&smum,
i see. i'm delivering in mt e and the ones they use is medela pis i think. coz i remember i was pumping with two and i managed 60ml of colostrum on second day. very satisfied. but before i pumped, there was a lot of hooha coz the staff nurse refused to let me use pump coz she said it will overstimulate and i'll get too much milk and end up getting engorged. but i wanted to pump coz my nipple was already so sore and cracked... so i hope this time round, i won't encounter the same thing.

present from babies,
it worked initially for jared. but then soon he was back to his normal naughty ways. when he's in a good mood, he sayangs her, else he screams at her. i think it's only natural lah. hardly think it's got anything to do with whether we get presents for them or not. but i'll still go ahead and do it anyway.

mrs yap,
i got the set from aussino for my son when he was born too. i never washed the quilt coz until now, it has not been used. not save to cover bb in quilt anyway coz they might suffocate. just swaddle them. so to save yourself from any hassle, you can just wash the bedsheet and cot bumper. my maid handwash it i think. but if i were to wash, i'd probably just chuck it into the washing machine. takes more than a day to dry i think.

l'lCY,
think it's difficult to teach such things until he is older. for jared's case, he understands now that he will definitely not get anything if he has been naughty. just yesterday, he was mischievous and hb told him when we go out, he cannot ask to be carried. so he asked me to carry him. then when i told him to get his daddy to carry him, he reminded me and said 'papa say cannot carry today.' i was impressed. hehehe.

flos,
i don't think the binder is of any brand. my hb said he bought it from hospital's pharmacy. very orbit looking and costs 40+

kym,
nice pics. can't wait for my turn to take it!

anyone knows how sarahmay is now? she hasn't been posting for a while...

alabone: when is your photoshoot with marianne?

mrsyap: I got 2 sets of the Aussino bedding set. Like Abalone, I didn't wash the quilt cos I dun intend to use it for safety reasons. I only washed the bumper and bedsheets. I have a top load machine and I put my bumper into 2 seperate netting bags before I washed them with Kodomo liquid detergent. I left it there for 2-3 days to dry completely before storing them.

Kym Teo (pebblez): thanks for sharing your bloom shots! you're a radiant looking mummy!
where did you do your photoshoot?

Morning, Ladies..
I went for my check at my gynae yesterday. Baby is 2.6kg at 34weeks5days.. I gained 2.7kg in two weeks and baby only gain 500grams!!! Goodness!!!!!

Want to check if any of your babies are facing inside? Meaning can only see the head and back side and the spine only? I have not seem my baby's face since 26weeks or so when he headed south and inwards..

I have also checked with Gynae on the watery discharge. She said its normal, and especially it is only 50cents size and no smell.

She told me NOT TO attempt pressing the nipples to test if there is milk or not. it will cause contraction!!

LC- my last scan on mine 33 weeks he is facing downwards and showing his spine and butt only . then my gynae say might give birth early one week early b4 my EDD which is on 7th sept.

last night worst got few time feel my tummy tightening. duno y also

FLOS
Happy Birthday to you!
Not sure you will be on leave to celebrate yr birthday or not... keke
Hope to see u in forum ya

Springz, Alabone and Shazz
Thanks for sharing on the way you wash the bedding set. In that case i think i will not wash the quilt first. Wah even the bumper take so long to dry ah... hmm i better hv it done soon : )

KymTeo
Thanks for sharing your bloom pics. Nice Nice

Yun
I will be going for c-section so i dun mind a big baby... felt its easier to care for them then small, tiny and fragile looking babies. I dun even dare to carry lor.

Ya... where is SarahMay?
Hope she is doing well...
She havent been posting since her bleeding episode.

Kym, you look great in those pictures. Can I know which studio you went to and how much did you pay (if you don't mind me asking)?

Springz
Wow.. u seems beri detailed in ur analysis. I have yet to meet up wif my agent on the health/hospital plans for bb. BT I did heard abt the Aviva healthshield yet.. bo no information as yet!

Sterilising Tablets
The sterilizing tablets is to sterilize wat one huh? Issit sterilizer?? I got some sterilizer tablets tat is hand-down from brother.. bt it is for Avent’s bt mine is NUK. So not advisable to use at all mah?

Baby Laundry Detergent
I use the PUreen ABN for my front load machine. Dunno whether issit suitable for front load bt so far, after 3 washes, no overflowing of bubbles or whatsoever wor.
Bt I din use softener… issit good to haf softeners huh?

Kym
U look nice in the pix leh.. beri ‘gentle’ feel leh!!!

Kym Teo, your bloom shots very nicely taken!

Goldfish, when you use the Pureen ABN for your front loader, how much washing powder u used per load? did you use a netted laundry bag or just place all the bb clothes in to the washing machine?

hey mummies!

I think this class of mummies to be are doing so great!
Was pouring thru other threads and noticed that some mummies pop 1 mth ahead of their EDD or even earlier, especially those having twins. But the mummies and babies in our thread are doing great! Really thank God for protecting us and our babies!

Jia you! We're gonna graduate in 3 - 6 weeks time! ;)

Hi, Koras

My baby position also like that..your tightness is it because baby has no space and is trying to move? Sometime I also feel that tightness, especially after meals. and I can feel baby's leg at the end of my left baby bump..sharp protruding out.. can be quite abrupt..Went to watch movie yesterday for the first time sinceI got pregnant. Maybe it is too loud, baby dun seems to be comfortable in me though I try to reduce the sound by covering my baby bump :p but this is not as bad as i watch the channel U - superband contest. baby will also play drums in me when music rolled...

Hi, Mei

Thanks for the link.. feel more comfortable reading about it. just a pity I can't get to see baby's face since 26weeks or so..

Public Cord Bank
I finally signed up yesterday. The person said it is free if donor uses it own cord but usually the donor wont use his/her own. For siblings to use, it would cost between $2k - $5K++. To use others's, would cost $26K. The public bank is open to all even if you are not a donor.

Dark Armpit
I spotted dark armpit since 1st trim. Nothing i do can lighten it..and better not over-scrub cos it has certain nerves connecting to the milk duct. It will fade off by itself after birthing.

EDD
I am due on 5 Sept. If there is no indication of contractions of any, will be induced on 5 Sept. Looking forward..

KS diaper bag,
Bought mine yesterday!! finally..KS giving 30-50% discount storewide except for diaper bags..

Sterilisation
Thot Mrs. W said we could use bb detergent to wash without using sterilisation tablets? or for those mommies who bought steriliser, no need for the tablets? Did i remember wrongly? forgetful...

Mrs Yap,
Do you have a dryer at home? I used dryer to dry the bumper and took two cycles to dry it completely. If not can consider washing it yourself and sending to a laundrymat to dry it?

btw,
The bb shop at Paragon (5th floor)...cant recall the name of the shop...they are selling medela PIS advanced at $599 with freebies and 15 mths warranty! I kicked myself for getting my pump earlier at $680..
They are also having 10-20% on skip hop and GRx8 diaper bags!

Jessie
The pureen I bot comes with a spoon inside. I follow instruction lo.. 1 full spoon for 1 full load liddat wor
Bt my 3rd wash is half load.. I oso throw in 1 full spoon liddat

I got put netting only for delicate bb clothes and throw in those washing machine balls inside the net for a better scrub.
Bt I did not put softener.

And as wat other mama suggested, do a rinse of the washer first and I oso pull out the detergent compartment tray to rinse off any remains of the adult detergents etc etc

Mei,
Thanks for e free gift link. I signed up liao bt abit skeptical cos the bb son name and hospital field keep kena error.. I ended up keying in ONE alphabet and it went through… strange.. :p

<font color="0077aa">Kym Teo (pebblez): Agree that you look really pretty &amp; radiant!! Great shots!

shazz: Yah man, I think we are the blessed lot! BTW I think I need to get more laundry nets...

Mrs Yap: You not trying for natural? You doctor says it would be a fast one right? I hope mine is a fast one!

LC: I haven't been able to see bb's face cos the scan always so dark.. Haha!</font>

Hey Mummies, all your babies are in cephalic position aldy? Mine was in the 29th week, but last week (32nd week), he was in a sitting down position. Think he's still sitting down inside me. What can I do to make sure he turns, besides talking to him and praying abt it? I'm terrified of another C-sec!!!

Mrs Yap, why do u prefer C-sec? For me, the pain was unberable and the post-recovery period was long....

Hahaha, Storeberry.. isn't it time your gynae change teh machine? :p

Mrs. Yap - I hand wash the bumper and the comforter cos the person said cannot machine wash, it will damange the material and the size.. very tedious to wash, especially I put quite a lot of the liquid detergent.. butI guess for bumper, can dun wash cos baby dun be in contact that much.

Oh well well, PM must announce the BB incentives concurrently as I'm watching the Beijing Olympics right? 7.45pm on 8.8.08

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/nationalday/message.htm

LC: yep yep! Whenever I am in the cinemas, the baby will kick real hard!

mrs yap: hehe, i'm working still...no special day-off, unfortunately...Life is $%#^%%&amp;...

sarahmay: what happen to you? r u shopping around with Sunrays and therefore hv no time to log on?!!

bacon&amp;eggs: that's First Few Years at Paragon. Their Medela PIS is very cheap. They are also hving a promo on Baby Bjorn. I bought my bedding set from there too

Yes, KS sale has been ongoing for several weeks liao...50% on NON-diaper bags. So I didn't get any

Sterilising tablets to sterilise steriliser? Really? My siblings just wash it per normal...

SarahMay
Have been chatting on and off with her on MSN. She seems to be ok but still housebound...

Presents for older kid
Adan has changed his mind and says he would very much like a Ben 10 watch from his meimeis if they can buy it for him! lol...

L'il CY...the only way to train them to appreciate presents is not to give them too often lor. If other people give, just store it somewhere for later "appearances"

Flos - me also still working.. salted vegetable life lar.. and life over in this office is no any better, in fact it is getting mroe and more political.. I guess I will not go on leave until the very last day, my boss is dropping me hints already. suckz!!!!!!!!

hi all! really hard to keep up with all the posts!

just wonder if anyone sign up for post-natal exercise? i really can't stand to look at myself like a hippo!! gained 13kg so far.but baby only 2.3kg...expect to gain few more kilos before i pop.... worst, was shocked to see my 'pig trotters'. was unable to see my feet these days (block by tummy)...only last night when hubby was giving me a 'pedicure' (not professional one la), he mentioned that my legs were like pig trotters!!!

in regards to dark armpit:
try wipe your armpit with facial cotton/cotton bud with abit of baby oil. can't really help to whiten the area but u will be surprised of what u see! u can use it to wipe your umbilicus and nipple too...

If we work until the last day, then suddenly the symptoms set in while working, how ah? If it happens at night, still manageable. Btw, I havent even done handover of my duties yet. Very paiseh, I only joined my present company 2 months ago, then now have to make plans to do handover....

A bit confused here ....so are the sterilising tablets for breast pump or steriliser ?
I dun remember any of my colleagues/friends bringing pump to hosp cos they normally latch on and they say prob not enuff milk to pump out also.

Millie
the tablets are an alternative way of sterilising your stuff. so instead of a steriliser, u would use the tablets (put in water) and soak your bottle/pump/etc in that solution.

Can bring pump to hosp to stimulate milk production in between feeds or to ease engorgement. but true that it is not likely to pump any milk out...especially first time moms

Bringing breastpump to hospital:
usually, i will latch on instead of using pump. Cos first 1-2 days only have colostrum and in very little quantities. I brought my pump for my 2nd one, but found it to be of no use. So this time, i will not bring my pump. i will just latch on.

Hi Mummies....

Hmm... can i check withu allabt the childcare leave?

from wat i knw .. the childcare leave is based on calendar yr... and cannot b bring forward right?

tat means after our ML we have to faster utilised the Childcare leave? if not will be forfeited?

Any HR mummies to help on the Childcare leave issue?

Sorry to interrupt!
I have a preloved musical mobile that I am selling for $20 (neg). It's battery operated and the condition is excellent (Like brand new).

If you are interested, please email me at [email protected]

Ava/Bacon&amp;egg,
do we have to bring the WHOLE steriliser to hospital to sterilise the breastpump??? they dun have steriliser in the hospital and they cant sterilise for you one?????

i think i will latch on too...too troublesome to bring sterilizer and pump. Heard milk flow will be more consistent 4-5 days onwards. The first 2 days would be colostrum (spelling).

Good idea to start knowing how to use the sterilizer &amp; pump though...i better do that this weekend. Can we use the sterilizer to sterilise the breast pumps, bottles? I know we dont have to wash the tube cos it is air suction operated.

Sorry to interrupt!
I have a preloved musical mobile that I am selling for $20 (neg). It's battery operated and the condition is excellent (Like brand new).

If you are interested, please email me at [email protected]

ava
yes..i wish i could restrain myself from doing that. he doesnt even have the urge to open new toys anymore. he can see them in boxes and leave them there where it is...unless of course it is trucks or trains...think i'll just get him a nice complete truck set or something like that...wooohooo...excuse to shop again...

yan
dun need to bring steriliser to hospital lah. hospital has them. dun stress yourself out in the hospital. there be loads of time for you to learn the ropes...

Ava, when were u hired by your present co? yup, I joined when I was 6 months preggers. Didn't expect to be hired, but got the job, with full benefits thrown in. Guess US MNCs are non-discriminatory after all. But then, I've been working like a dog for the past 2 months or so to prove my worth, cos I feel bad to join then go for ML in a blink of an eye.

Re. childcare leave, usually how many days do we get? Oh dear, think I've to check if it's on a per child basis or just a fixed no. regardless. And yes, I believe this has to be utilised within the calendar yr, can't be carried forward. It's like this in my previous companies.

l'il CY
I guess I have my hb to thank for curbing our "gift giving" for Adan...Adan seems very grateful for eveeything we get him on those rare occasions that we do buy something
and we can usually get out of a toy shop unscathed!! Left to me alone, I woulda bought tons more stuff i think!!

J&amp;S
I was hired at about 2 months, with full disclosure of my pregnant status of course
at the time we didnt know it was twins tho, so i figured I'd be able to work till i popped.

l'l CY, ok cos thinking the steriliser SO BIG! how to bring to hospital rite.. lol! first time mummy, so kiasu and many worries. hehe! thanks!

ava
hahah..yes hb will try to curb me too. but when we go out shoppiung together, he will go, hmmm seems ok, buy loh...but cy will not throw shopping tantrums yet.hahaha...maybe soon loh...so far he is ok, i usually just let him hold on to something until we check out and then he is fine with it...

<font color="119911">sunnysunny (sunnysunny) - which hospital did u deliver at the last time? Think TMC is more strict, or maybe it varies from gyne to gyne? The last time i went for surgery at TMC (on GA), I had to remove all make up, nail polish &amp; jewellery, remove specs, change to hospital gown, shave completely and do the enema - no option.

Kym Teo (pebblez) - your photos are really sweet
Very pretty! My hubby bought a new camera lens to take baby photos, so I guess he will use me as a guinea pig &amp; take somemore bloom shots (fully clothed this time) for me as well

Mrs.T (mrst) - i think we won't gain weight for the last 2-4 weeks prior to delivery? My weight gain appears to have tapered off the last 1-2 weeks. Am due to deliver in 3 weeks.</font>

Ava/J&amp;Smom: wow, ur employers are really great and gracious! So you both didn't need to do the medical health screening (incl X-ray) at all as part of your employment prerequisite?

For childcare leave, pte sector is 2 days per child per yr. For public sector, believe it's 5 days per child per yr? Of course, we aren't counting those child medical reimbursements yet. For certain levels and above, u get reimbursed for child medical.

My Wild GUESS for the BB Incentives:
1. IVF subsidy will go up cos last weekend's Lianhe Zaobao reported extensively on a few IVF couples.
2. Paternity leave (maybe add a few more days)
3. Maternity leave (very unlikely to up to 4 mths)
4. Childcare leave (might increase, but whether or not SME and pte sector follow govt std, we won't know)
5. Infantcare subsidy (maybe will go up)
6. Tax rebate (maybe)
7. Baby grants for 1st and 2nd child to increase.

I will not bring my steriliser to the hospital. I also want to latch bb on. What a joy to see my bb suckling direct...He needs to get use to the nipples! hehehe!!

Mrs T: does bb oil really help?

Hi, I'm from Oct 07 MTB. Just to share this free gift information
Congrats !!
http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/mumcentre/

Kaypo a bit,
Breast will produce colostrum for baby the 1st few days. You might not need a pump then although it's good to bring just in case baby have problem latching on. Try to latch asap after birth

Hospital can sterlize for you FREE using their sterlizer.

Childcare leave.
For public sector. You can take 5 days of leave (of which max 2 days childcare leave and the rest is child MC)