(2008/09) Sep 2008

bigtoes, i had also signed the SCBB consent form yesterday. donors need to have a blood test done too but it's on the day of delivery. after they draw the cord blood, they will also draw 30ml of blood from the mummy to do blood test.

Flos.. no, no.. what i meant is that if i popped in school, then i would be the first teacher to physically deliver (or whose water breaks) while still in school...

cloud
here's hoping you dont start a new milestone for the school

<font color="119911">Grace Toh (rain_toh) - you can contact them at: http://www.scbb.com.sg/
No test required, just need to do a 5 minute pre-screening phone call, followed by a 30min face-to-face appnt. As Jessi mentioned, blood test is done on the day of your delivery.

J&amp;SMum(AletheaT) (arielyn) - u used ur binder from day 2 after a C-section? Your gyne was okie with that? I know the cut is at the bikini line, &amp; the binder is for the tummy, but is that advisable? If so, then i want to bring my binder to the hospital as well!</font>

hi flos,
adopt adopt! can save money most impt!!!!

bm:
i think it was not colostrum leh. coz it wasn't yellowish in colour. a bit like barley water colour but lighter. in any case, i'm not gonna squeeze it again. i had to squeeze quite hard to get that one tiny drop... i hope i get more bm later. coz really wanna breastfeed for the first six months... cannot imagine having to buy milk for newborn and my two todds... pok gai ah!!!

j&amp;smum,
i'm also bringing my binder into hospital. when you had your c sec, you only used the binder on the second day? i was in the binder immediately after surgery. i have two binders. so that i can change everyday, else i'd itch like crazy!!!

flos,
the binder we use is not the binder that massage ladies use when we have the massage. it's elastic and also has velcro to secure. it is a must to use the binder for c sec coz we need it to secure the wound and make sure that it's not 'wobbly' or something like that. very uncomfy to use. i always get heat rash from using the binder so never very disciplined in using it.

fellow teachers,
totally understand how busy this period must be... if i were still in school, next week i'd be going out for 'o' level oral already. can't imgaine sitting there for 3 long hours listening to the same thing over and over again... so those of you still out teaching, jia you ok?? salute all of you.

Thanks for reminding! I forgot to pack my breast pump, just in case of engorgement! Re. the FM, I'm not sure. Cos' they gave me samples back in Jan-Feb 2007, so maybe things have indeed changed. But the FM they gave, courtesy of my gynae are those glass bottle types, as per what the hospitals gave out.

Flos, trust me, w.o the binder, the pain would have been worse. Imagine a paper cut on your finger, but multiply that by 100 times or more.

j&amp;smum,
which hospital are you delivering in? is it better to bring our own breast pump there? the last time i was in hospital for delivery, i was able to use the one in the hospital so i didn't need to wash/sterilise it myself.

J&amp;S/alabone: Then what brand of binder did u buy? Medela? I am going for natural (touch wood no need for e-c-section)!

Ava: Oh, Carina is it? She married a Vietnamese Aussie I believe
What happen to this principal now?!! I didn't care about her very much then
I was a notty student who skipped tutorials, played truant, feigned menstrual cramps, and highlighted my hair. hehehe!

cloud: but that is hypothetical right? You won't be the first to pop in school lah...

Jamu: Do u think $450 for 8 postnatal massage sessions is reasonable?

Breast pump: My SIL mentioned that she used the breast pump provided at the hospital when she delivered (Mt E), and the suction was so strong (even at the lowest setting), she ended up with bleeding nipples!
Am not taking any chances and already packed a Medela pump. Can always just get the nurse or hubby to wash/sterilize it before use.

yes, the hospital pumps are very powerful for first time moms I heard.

what brand of sterilising tablets will u all buy?

Flos
Yeah Carina. Last I saw her she (carina) was working at OCBC...dunno what happened to her mom. I could not avoid her cos we were first batch LEP students so she was always trying to talk to us about something or other...

Sterilising tablets...can't remember brand. will just get whatever guardian sells.

Massage: i think $450 for 8 sessions is quite cheap leh...

So we do not need to bring formula milk on day of delivery right in case we do not have enuff BM ? I was thinking not to bring along own breast pump (cos so bulky) and applied the latch on method..

Alabone, m delivering in Mt. A. They've the breast pumps, but it's looks like the industrial type. Was so huge! Anywayz, I', more used to my Ameda, so I will take that along. And yes, think better to get sterilising tablets too. Think these are sold at all baby section in dept stores. Brands are Pigeon, Tollyjoy, etc.

For massage, I'm using back the same Malay lady who did it for me last time round. It used to be $45 per session but she's increased it to $50. As for its effectiveness, guess it could have been much more so, but as I had just undergone C-sec, and my super KS gynae only recommended that I start my massage after 10 weeks, I did mine in the 9th week, which by then, was too late aldy!!

<font color="119911">My breast pump used up 1/2 the luggage bag space! But i rather just lug more stuff to the hospital than use their industrial pumps - wonder if they charge rental fee as well?

On sterilizing the breast pump - can't we get the nurses to do that for us? Also, if we do express milk, i assume the hospital will provide free glass bottles to contain them ya? Don't have to bring so many items to hospital!

Baby movement - are ur babies still very active? Mine is still wriggling alot!! Its not painful (yet) but the "belly waves" are really strong now!</font>

Hi Hi mommies!!

Sigh really hard to keep up with this thread!

But I am so comforted to know that I am not alone feeling so incredibly tired, even after a night's sleep! Me also teleworking today and just woke up from nap!
hee hee...

Also comforted to know abt darkening of armpits! I have been frantically scrubbing armpits while showering thinking I had missed that out in previous weeks!! (u know forgetful during preggers) now it is 'ahhhh.. phew.. normal'.

I'm surprised about nurses asking to remove nail polish.. my sis and church friends all did up their toes so that when they push can look at something pretty.. no problems encountered

About health insurance... hubby and I spent weekend comparing and did up some tables.. anyone interested? Can PM me, I try to make it into a sensible package.. only looked at shields (i.e. hospitalisation for baby).

Ava
I think 'present from the babies' is really a good idea. Adan would be very pleased. Which kid dun like presents? Anyway, i think it will make Adan dote on his sisters more. So sweet. Hmm u shd consider if its A present from the sisters or A present each from ths sisters.

Jessi
I bought Tollyjoy laundry liquid. Shd be able to machine wash bah... i didnt check lor... didnt know got this kind of constraints. Anyway my wash machine is a Top load

Hi Springz, can you please share the hostpitalisation insurance plan with me? Which insurance compaany did you go to? My agent (From Prudential) told me that it's better to purchase the plan 1 month before we deliver, so that the baby is covered the moment he's born... Any idea??

Springz - can u share with me too? Thanks! U can PM me.
Rachel Lim (rac_lim) - I am most prob getting from my agent (AIA) or hubby's agent (Prudential). Was told that we can only sign up after birth (with the birth cert &amp; when they make sure that baby is healthy), not before. My company insurance coverage for the baby also only starts 15 days after birth.

Presents from babies
Haha...i told Adan once a few weeks ago that his sisters would buy him something when they were born...he said "where would they have money to buy me present mama..." so that's why I'm not sure if this method works for him

It took me 3 laundry load to wash all the bb clothes esp have to wash the bumwear inserts a few times
And the best part is that not enuff bamboo sticks to air-dry all the little clothes.. it is quite a disaster.. so u gals better plan to wash the clothes early wor!

HOSPITAL CLOTHES
Seems like it is a must to bring button-pyjamas to hospital?? Aiyoh… so orh-bit leh… I din know nid to provide own clothing during hospital stay. Thot wear hospital clothes one leh

Bigtoes,
Haiz.. I went through the pre-screening call and opps.. I failed at the pre-screening lo. SOBZ!

J&amp;S
I will be delivery in Mt A as well.. Issit reallie necessaryu to bring breastpump since I heard that no milk until 2 or 3 days later?

ava: Carina was in LEP meh? I'm not sure where she went...I met her briefly once at someone's house after graduation. Saw her beau then

millie: it was ava who mentioned about sterilising her pumps at the hospital. So i asked which brand.

yingflo: it's my SIL's masseuse. She has not lost much weight leh...despite undergoing 8 sessions with this malay lady liao..

springz: does scrubbing our armpits help? I should try scrubbing tonight!!! LOL

Goldfish: yeah, Parentcraft nurse also told us the bb has a natural reserve of nutrients inside their stomach for the first few days so they will sleep more than they will drink milk in the hospital.

So actually, no need to feed/pump so frequently. For those second-time moms, I heard u'd lactate quicker, like my SIL. Second day at TMC got milk liao, so she was BF-ing in the hospital, compared to her first birth when she didn't lactate till she got home on day 4-5.

Did u all need to indicate on the preadmission form whether you want the nurses to feed Formula Milk or Breast Milk during your stay at the hospital? I selected BM.

Hi Hi,

Actually we put all the benefits tables together for comparison.. so still quite draft. Will bear in mind your requests! Just to share some findings:

Offhand, I was told that can buy only after baby is born. Very competitive now, so quite same same for most (such as 'as charged' features, premiums etc). Really depends on what you want. For e.g. only GE and Prue cover confinement in community hospitals. NTUC is for 45 days max. Only Prue covers stem cell transplant..

I was very attracted by Aviva's shield plan coz it is free for all kids up to age 20 if both parents are with Aviva Shield. But after comparing I'm undecided. Aviva does not have pregnancy complication benefit and congenital abnormalities benefits like NTUC and Pru. (GE also dun have).

Biggest catch is that Aviva does not cover deductibles (i.e. the 1st $1K to 3K of a bill is paid by you.) In other words, if deductible is 3K, means if bill is under $3k not claimable at all. Also, the free kids coverage is only for restructured hospitals of B class I think (have not read details).. so it depends whether you want to save on premiums and claim from Big hospital ops that run up to thousands or to buy other shield plans and pay for the premiums (abt $40-$130 annually for 1-18 yrs per child) and get back some $$ for even short hospital stays etc..(if you buy the rider to cover deductible la)

Any views? Have not even gone to examine pro-ration and co-insurance.. keep falling asleep!

Flos - NO! Scrubbing doesn't help at all!! Sorry was not clear.. that was why I was so happy to read it is pigmentation! hahaha

<font color="0077aa">I bought this Ameda Breaspump from US &amp; just checked my citibank bill. They are charging me $1.40!! Exchange rate so high now? Anmyone bought recently was charged the same?

I have a Avent manual pump &amp; a electric pump, which one should I bring to hospital?

http://malayheritagejamumassage.blogspot.com/ keep PM-ing me.. Very irritating!</font>

ava: how come?!! she always targeted at u all?!! she targets at the theatre folks too!!! carina is adopted right?

wingkei: yeah, me always cannot see my DH in the dark bedroom one...unfair!!! he sees all my physical flaws, i can't see a thing

sterilizing tablets

hey, these will discolour your milk bottles and caps. I wouldn;t recommend it. ANd for the avent pump, it will discolour the rubber parts. I have two pumps. The one which has never touched the sterilising tablet is still clear. The other one is a disgusting yellow... ENough said...

Goldfish, the one I was given at Mt A was quite huge, Didn't find it user-friendly. I tried to BF the twins but was very engorged, no milk came out, so breast pump still came in handy.

As for insurance, for those delivering at Mt. A, GE has a complimentary plan which covers BB for the 1st 6 months. Tawt it was quite good, cos it leaves you some time to contemplate which policy to get and from which co. yet BB is still protected during the period. Think GE has some tie-up with Mt. A exclusively.

Baby Laundry Detergents

Forgot that front-loaders need less foamy detergents till I read some of the posts! Oh no.. I happily put in baby bedding and put kodomo in earlier.. no wonder the machine was foaming and foamy water spilled out!!

I threw away the pack and put the detergent in a prettier bottle.. anyone has a Kodomo detergent? Can tell me if suitable for front-load please? Also not sure how much to put.. hee.. too excited about washing and threw away instructions!

Btw, found on the other forums for front loading machines: In addition to the extra rinse (delicate wash), try adding some plain white vinegar (in the "fabric softener dispenser), which will help get more of the detergent out of the clothes. They will come out really soft!

Flos
she basically targeted all the "selling points" sections of the school, the groups that made the school "special", ie TSD and LEP!!!

sterilising tablets
What isabelle said is right...about the yellowing...so do note, 1st time moms ...that i'm using them only for breast shields and my OLD breast pump and for hosp use only...they also smell bad. very chlorinated.

Mrs Yap, your top load washing machine shouldn't have any problem with any detergent but the front load one must use those less suds detergent. i forgotten to take note of that when i bought my baby detergent. :p

Springz, put vinegar in the washing? doesn't it make the clothes smell "sour"?

Rachel Lim (rac_lim) : Bigtoes is right, for Prudential plans, you can only buy policies under baby's name after 30 days old.

storeberry: I was charged 1.41 for sprees too. My friend just ordered a bag from US last week and was charged 1.41 by UOB as well. Hope that helps!

<font color="0077aa">Springz: I have a front-loader &amp; no problem in using Kodomo. Or you put too much detergent already? My mum told me to put max 2 capful if full load.

For bb's hospital &amp; surgical plans, I would suggest to parents to get the rider to cover for deductible or co-insurance because the tendency of bb going to hospital for a few days stay is very common &amp; it this case you will not be able to claim from companies who do not have the rider to cover for that.

For a 3-4days stay usually it not over $3K. Sometimes maybe max $4k? (Also depends on the tests done...)

Thanks Shazz!! I thot exchange rate would hover between $1.36 - $1.38! Guess it was my wishful thinking!</font>

just want to share

went to see gynae today, baby is weighted 2.4kg in 34 weeks..last check up was 1.9kg at 32 weeks. guess becoz of the durian i hav been eaten that make baby so big... i dun want big baby,so hav to stop eat durian liao...

storeberry

ya..u r right abt the bb's hospotal's plan...my #1 went into Mt A in march n i stay ard 5days..bill size around $2/3k (4get liao) but my hb thought everythings covered by his AIA plan but who koes hes mistaken n i got to pay for the co-insurance &amp; deductible..for AIA is 20% if stay in private...after tt, he did his homwork n we switch over to Prushield n we bought the rider for that as well..better buy early coz if got claim b4 very hard to change over n take v long oso..imagine till now, the prushield was just approved...but the rider abit ex lah n u must pay cash...just that one won't have to worry abt $ if 'touch wood' admits hospital..

yun...
thanks for sharing... i will buy more durians to eat... cos i like big babies.. keke

1612503.jpg

For those mummies who gotten this kind of comforter for cot, how do u wash it? Need to wash or not in the first place? The quilt like so thick lor. Throw inside washing machine and wash with normal laundry powder or bb laundry powder? Or need to dry wash. Wet wash will spoil the quilt or not? Sorry for my many qs... appreciate yr advice

I finally pack my Hospital bag this afternoon! Felt so relieved after that...

Ava, L'l CY
The present thingy works for my friend's son. He was very pleased that his younger brother got him a gift when he visited him in the hospital. And was so chummy with him when he went home, no sibling rivalary.

Delivery
You can wear glasses. Don't have to change into hospital gown, don't have to shave, don't have to do enema too if you don't want.

Hi Storeberry and Angeg

tks very much for your advice! Yup, so seems that for kids, frequency is hospitals stays <3k. Meaning if I take Aviva all these will not be covered...

Tks also storeberry for sharing on Kodomo! Haha my fault la, I put the detergent into a pump bottle and have no idea how much to put! Think I did put too much :p

Btw, I was also charged 1.4 for a recent spree..

Mrs Yap.. Iam quite petite so scare later can't push the baby out.. told gynae to induce me earlier (best in 38 weeks)If my baby is big..hehe...

Hi Mrs Yap.. actually I'm not sure either.. today I just dumped the cot beddings into the machine.. that is the other reason why I think the machine starting foaming!!! It was groaning while 'spinning' as well (was an awfully slow spin.. dun dare to tell hubby) so not sure if I did correct thing!

<font color="0077aa">No prob Springz!!

Thanks Angeline for sharing you bill size!

I ate too much nachos cheese &amp; stomach felt funny.. Haiz... Greedy greedy!!</font>

sunny, ava...
eh, dun think cy will appreciate it yet. he cant seem to comprehend gifts and presents and the value in it.

think too many things come too easily for him. he practically have new toys, books or what weekly and so have little sense of what it means leh...

how to teach such things??