(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi mummies!!!
so many posts..dun have time to catch up all...

millie..
you have to do repeat scan? coz bb is small izzit?

gynae visit today
==============
went for my 32 weeks scan and visit today. i missed one appt a three weeks back so from last visit till now )around 1.5-2mths) ive gained 300gms.i was secretly quite happy...

then the scan showed my lil girl getting more little..kekeke..i always said i wanted a small girl coz i got my preference lah...but gynae was like...hmmm...weight on the smallish side...and since drop from 75th to 30th percentile..must do a repeat growth scan to check growth...

haiz...actually have been controlling diet and meals since last visit. partly coz im so busy with kiddo but also scared i will have a big bb...now like no point dieting liaoz. have to eat three meals...sianz....

btw, at 32 weeks, she is only 1.89kg. even less than my son who was born 38weeks at 2.75kg.he was 2.1kg then....

frankly, just as long as she hits 2.5kg, i dun mind having petite bbs. but i have only 6 more weeks to go to make sure she hits that..(assuming sh eis coming at 38weeks like bro)

hi l'lcy,
if your girl is small, then mine is smaller. at 30weeks, she's 1.43kg. anyway, you've got your wish liao since you dont want any big babies. i also have six more weeks to go coz delivering at 37 weeks. i really can't wait! very excited! wah. even your cy was born heavier than both my kids...

flos,
i see. it's very generous of you to give cards and cakes to those who come to buffet. in my case, i only invite those who gave pressies or angpows to the buffet. then those who gave pressies and cannot come for buffet, i give them cakes and such. this time round, i hardly think i want manyue celebration. maybe just make it a family affair with close friends...

breastmilk,
last night, apparently, i did something stupid. i thought of squeezing my breast to see if i had breastmilk and i had like two tiny drops. was so happy i showed hb but he was grossed out. then my friends today told me i was crazy to go and squeeze coz it'll stimulate early contractions... so ignorant after having two kids...

Hi, Alabone

Got milk now? I dun have.. my breasts still like the same, just that nipple is bigger and aerola is darker.. I dun see any milk coming out.. is this normal?

alabone
hahah..yah lor, but gynae not very happy coz it dropped from 75th to 30th percentile. it's the drop that worries them i guess..,

yeah dun wanna big bb. small bbs easier to manage...cuter also..kekek..dunno why have a penchant for small bbs and kiddoes...

you delivered quite early for both kids? that will affect their birthweight. every week is around 200gms gain. so you wanna big bb, should deliver later...

got milk now? must be colostrum. dun worry lah, it causes as much stimulation as sex. so no issue even if you start bfg now...hahahahha...

alabone
hahah..how come hb was grossed out...shouldn't he be used to seeing breastmilk by now? my massage lady says if i squeeze should have milk already...but even after bf-ing Adan, i'm still icky about squeezing my own breasts (hence i never learnt to express by hand) so have not tried...

I still remember our earlier conversations on this thread about how breasts look after pregnancy...with someone describing theirs as dried prune or raisin...hahah! I guess ours should all be looking like that now (or soon)...I had a dream last night that my nipples inverted tho...aiyoh..

<font color="119911">Morning mommies! Working from home today

Wow, I see that so many people have already taken their maternity leave. I am planning to work right till the end (Friday) - surgery day on Saturday. Fingers crossed that baby doesn't have other plans!

Okie, so no make up, nail polish and jewellery during delivery.

Ava - breast looking like prune/raisin? Argghh..no lah, not so soon. Wait till we start BFing and the baby sucks us dry...then maybe

Mommies who need PD recommendation from TMC - mine is Dr AT Ang, and the anaesthetist is Dr BH Kwa</font>

ava, flos
cos i gotta type remarks for reprt book for my students as form teacher. Otherwise who will do it? It's hard for other ppl to cos they dunno my students as well.
Now I'm trying to finish them up just in case and do up my SOWs!
Getting kan cheong now. The last time I was 2cm dilated at 38 weeks plus and baby came at 39 weeks. So now I'm a bit paranoid my second one will come even earlier! I really panicked on sun nite!

alabone,
is it colostrum? I can squeeze out colostrum too. Me "chiu jian" just try to squeeze for fun every now and then. Bo liao rite?

Lil boy mum,
Think ur baby is ok. Cos mone was only 2.06kg at 34 weeks.

lok/Jo

ya..Ong Ek quite good..just that his queues can kills.must wait for around 2/3hrs type..tts y i only use him at hospital when NB got priority..after that i change to another PD outside..Dr Low kah Tzay...

Bigtoes

ya..i going for vbac this time..hopefully successful..coz i find c-sect recovery v long..even until now, somtimes can have a bit of dull pain? itchiness at the wound area..dun tink i wana that again..

cloud

i tink for baby insurance is after birth about 1 mth...but can start looking now...coz by that time u b bz wif full month n taking care of bb..

any of u got hose dark pigmentations? last pregnancy n current i got lei...look so ugly n like 'so dirty' i got especially on my neck,armpits,legs etc...so darken..haiz..how to wear sleevesless next time...? dun tink it go away that easily..

Haiyo
i think the pregnant breasts really look disgusting. Dunno if those dark pigmentation will go away soon after delivery or not.

Isabelle
I dun even dare to squeeze my breast... i heard colostrum is v good for the baby. So dun wan it to flow out so early else bb gonna be deprived of it.

Cant wait for national day rally... hope they really got goodies for mummies and daddies.

ya lor...so ugly the dark patch..haiz...was tinking if aft birth mus go do those scrubs a few times...hehe

Flos,
Yes my detailed scan last week is to check the growth of the bb, adequacy of amniotic fluid, etc. which is almost similar to the DS at 20 weeks.

<font color="0077aa">Morning mummies!! Yah my armpit is quite dark now, I usually wear a cardigan or with sleeves...

Feel like going for facial, haven't been one for 9 mths already!! But lazy...</font>

my poor armpits, also got some area darkening! so ugly, me dun dare lift my arms now! haha

Birthing with Contacts
I hope they allow that manx! Cos I get a headache when I wear specs for too long! Was planning to do Lasik this year then fell preggy ... can't wait to do it after delivering ... but think have to wait till next year, let the hormones stabilise.

alabone: "it's very generous of you to give cards and cakes to those who come to buffet. in my case, i only invite those who gave pressies or angpows to the buffet. then those who gave pressies and cannot come for buffet, i give them cakes and such."

Hey, why didn't I think of that?! actually, I shouldn't give those who can make it to my buffet anymore cake cards right? I'll give those who CANNOT make it but who GAVE me pressies/angpows those cards... GOOD SUGGESTION! I'll adopt it

isabelle: when do u need to type report cards? thot it's around Oct? u r giving birth in sept right?

Lok/jo/angeline: didn't know PD also got 'famous' and 'popular' ones! What's the benefit of getting a famous and popular one? Are they more 'caring'? Do they hv better machines?

Mrs Yap: Sa your wedding pics! u looked grrrrreat!!!

For bb incentives: Just tune in to Channel 8 this Fri (8.45pm) to listen to Wong Kan Seng for his Mandarin National Day Speech lor...Otherwise, buy Sat papers to read the press releases lor...

PIGMENTATION: Absolutely! I got I got! Sooooo ugly! i really kow tow to those who still dare to wear tubes and sleeveless!!

COLOSTRUM: yes, got some clear liquid coming out but didn't dare to squeezeeeeee...

storeberry: me too, I want to go for facial too. I got complimentary voucher!!! hehehe!!

hi all mummies! i also have dark armpits! it's so ugly when i wear sleeveless top, don't dare to lift up my arms and must always wear a cardigan.. :p

went for my checkup yesterday, bb now ard 2kg at 32weeks. i'm surprised that the weight increased so much, must be the durians that i ate the past few weeks. but my haemoglobin count dropped from 12.3 to 9.3 so i have to take a stronger iron pills. next checkup will be 2 weeks later and my doc giving a talk about delivery on that day. does any of ur doc also gives talk about delivery to you before you popped?

i'm also feeling so tired lately, back ached badly and feet swelled till got difficulty to walk. haven't even start washing bb's clothes and bedding sets, not even unpacking all the bb's stuffs that i had bought. kept procrastinating till now.. :p

Flos
Thanks... I took several months to learn where to click on to upload photo album on FB... plain stupid lor.

Jessi
Due to my intensive read up on premature labour, low blood count is one of the cause. So do take yr iron pills diligently.
Me also yet to wash bb clothes... BUT I bought the baby laundry liquid yday!!!
But my hubby spoiled the washing machine cos he jerk it so hard to chase the cocktoach out from beneath it... arghhh

I oso find it beri ‘taxing’ to give out freebies (cakes/cake cards) for pple who is attending the buffet liao… too much $$$ liao…
Bt I tink friends will nt mind whether got any freebies or nt. Somehow I feel relatives who will mind if they go back emptyhanded??

Btw, besides BENGAWAN SOLO that has cake cards, is there any other lobangs?

BLACK ARMPITS
There is this ‘solution’ in the market that helps to lighten dark spots in armpit area. It is available in SASA
It is called wat wakikiki something liddat. I am using it since long time ago to lighten my armpit wor. It does not reallie lighten the dark spot bt I feel good when I see the cotton pad turns abit black black after I rubbed it over the armpit area

Wow ! I am surprise that most of you are going on leave soon. I intent to work all the way...envy you guys.....
I am dragging myself out of bed daily....
I am also very excited with the upcoming policy to be announced by the government..hopefully more baby bonus !

Mrs Yap, yup started to take the iron pills since yesterday. didn't know my blood count dropped, maybe that's why i always see "stars" especially when i just get out of bed. does the baby laundry detergent u got able to use on front load washing machine? the pureen ABD one that i got i think cant use on front load.. mean i have to hand wash all my bb's clothes! :p

flos,
i am typing it now at this very moment. For CA (continual assessment, in case u've forgotten
). The Oct one is for exam.
Nowadays the std is very strict. Gotta be politically correct (cannot say they r lazy, gotta sugar coat... sianz. And cannot state the obvious like they r weak in English, which is fair enough cos as a parent i can see that for myself too) and the remarks have to be vetted by the higher ups before we give out report books for term3.

I have a very stupid question to ask. For the experienced mommies, do you know if we can wear our spectacles in the delivery ward? I am very short-sighted and I worry if I can't wear my spectacles in the delivery ward, and when they first place my baby in my arms, I can't see her clearly. hehe....

Giving up seats in trains:

I can't wait to share my encounter in the train yesterday. I was standing infront of these seats that are all occupied and this lady was acting blur in front of me, refused to give up her seat. Suddenly, this guy tapped me and asked me if I need a seat. As he was also standing, I was rather shocked and didn't know how to reply him. He asked me a couple of times before he went to tap a student who happened to be sitting on the 'needy' and asked him if he saw the sign behind him and then pointed to me again. So the student had no choice but to give up his seat to me. I was SOOOOOO touched...... We need more people like him in Singapore!

Hello, anyone here experiencing difficulty in sleeping at nite, im in my 35wks1day now, stomach got so heavy, and werid, while sleeping, my left side of tummy keep having those movement like baby's heartbeat, but then again, it's not those continuous kind, is there something wrong?

isabelle, u are keying in your remarks now?? aiyo.. haa.. i haven done anything on that yet..i'm cheonging my marking esp compositions.

I have the dark pigmentations oso.. at the armpit. And the other day, one of my pupils actually said," teacher, ur there got hair." while pointing to my armpits.. DUH!!!

Squeezing of nipples.. heee. i did that a few times oso to see if anything will come out.. but bo leh. got nothing...

wearing makeup and contacts.. haa. ever since i got pregnant, my makeup and contacts have been in cold storage.. Might have turned mouldy liao! hahaa..

yingflo, it shd be the baby's hiccups..if its continuous and there's a momentum going... usually stops after a while.. read that they get hiccups bcos they are learning to suck their thumb or something along tat line..

and yup.. i also have difficulty sleeping at night. I'll wake up due to the sheer pain of trying to turn my body. Arggh!

storeberry

same lei..my last facial was since CNY..tink i shd be going to 1 next week soon..my nose all blocks..yeee...but hor,i feel that my nose for dis pregnancy round like swollen lei..dun koe y...hormones?

<font color="119911">Dark armpits &amp; pigmentation - i don't think i see any change for me...but i do realise that I have more freckles on my cheeks now (more sensitive to sun exposure), though I don't mind freckles really.

Full month - In addition to the buffet, am planning to give pre-packed cake sets to people who attend the full month celebration....am assuming that their angpow can cover part of the cost. Will also bring a big cake to my office for everyone to share.

wingkei - yah, there are still some kind souls like that around
Just boils down to upbringing really. Think my hubby would do the same also &amp; ask someone to give up their seat for a preggers lady if he is standing himself. He is the type who hold doors open for people &amp; help mommies carry their pram up stairs...have to make sure we impart the same values when we raise our kids.</font>

Giving up seats,
I feel that students nowadays are poor in their civic-mindness. When I was about 32 weeks, I stood in front of 2 lower sec students in the morning train. They just chatted happily with each other and didn't bother to give up their seats to me.

On the contrary, a malay boy - about 8 years old gave up his seat to me last week in the train. I was quite pai-sei to accept the offer but nonetheless still sat down anyway cos leg very swollen and tired leh.
I was impressed with the boy's action...

crayonshinchan

Hiccups? thats so werid, even now they had hiccups so that often? shitty, must be one of the reason of having to drink too much cold drinks (read that somewhere too)..

The pain when turning from side to side, can just ignore them or everyone gets such encounters...

Yingflo, my boy hiccups quite a lot and usually at the same time.. hee.. usually after my meals. He must had been feeling full.. haaa

As for the pain, I think its part and parcel of the 3rd trimester ba. Unless its really exceptionally painful. Otherwise, there shdnt be a cause for worry.

Full month
I think i will not be giving cakes/vouchers to guests invited to the buffet.. Will be taking no pay leave for a few months so I better cut down on costs a bit. Will only give to pple who cant make it/ who cant make it and gave me pressies.

Civic-mindedness. Sadly I'd also encountered JC kids rushing up the bus even though they could see that I was going up also. Ended up I had to give way to them!!!!! But nowadays, I take cab most of the time. Don't want to make pple feel obligated to give up seats to me. (hhaha.. not like they would give lar!)

yingflo
I get the same sort of reaction when i lie on my left, baby or babies will kick furiously or i'll feel an irregular flutter. so i lie on my right. For me, i think it's cos both my babies heads are more to my left so I'm probably squishing them when i lie on my left. Or making them do "headstands" as the gynae said to me...

wingkei
I think I did wear specs when I delivered...

Manyue
Gosh, i havent even started thinking about this!

Ava
wow.. headstands.. sounds cool, i think, more like my baby kana squash by me and was banging for help if i sleep on the right.. Btw, how would we know if baby engaged le?

Hi, I've not been a regular visitor to the thread for some time. How's everybody?
Just went for the growth scan last week. At almost 32 weeks, my Price is 1.73kg. Hope that I can pile on more weight to add to his bulk quickly. So far, put on 6.5kg already.

Packed my hospital bag aldy. 2 x front-open sleep gowns, socks, slippers, toiletries, Sofy 35mm pads, dispoable panties, binder, going home clothes, 2 sets of BB slothes, mittens and booties, receiving blanket. What else have I missed out huh? Think that's about what I'd packed when I delivered my twins last year.

Also wrapped the pressies for the twins plus checked on my Pigeon sterilizer which is still working *phew* What I need to do next is to sign up for the Cordlife promo. Any mummies here wanna buddy me to get the promo at S$1056 each?

And oh, what is the position of your babies now? At my 29th week, baby was in head-down position. But so sad, at last week's scan, he was in a sit-down position, which explains why I've been feeling him kicking me everyday, against my lower part.
M praying hard that he will rotate his position and go head-down again in the coming weeks. I don't want another C-section

J&amp;SMum, my boy is head down but not engaged yet. So far, throughout all the scans from 2nd trimester on, he's owas been head down.. Wonder if he'll get used to being upright when he's out.. haa..

Anyway, just something silly for the teachers here.. Say if we are not on leave yet and we are in labour squeezing and screaming away at 6+ in the morning on a wkday. Are we going to pause and call the school to say we wont be in sch cos we're bz delivering?? hee.. something that just popped up in my head..

Crayonshinchan, in my school we send sms to the ones doing relief planning if we're going to be on medical leave. you plan to work all the way? you're not afraid that your water might break while you're in class? i told my P that i didn't want to 'pop' while in school so i want to go for earlier maternity leave.. she laughed and said that, that would be a first for our school..

CORD BLOOD DONATION
<font color="119911">Hi mommies - i did my pre-screening call with the Spore Blood Bank &amp; arranged for the more detailed meeting &amp; to sign consent forms next Monday.
Some info if you are keen to donate:

- Just need to submit the consent form to the nurses on the day u deliver &amp; ur gyne will do the stem blood collection. No seperate blood test required

- no guarantees that they will keep the blood - this will be discarded if their lab discovers that the stem cells are too little. Can ask to be informed if that is the case.

- they will keep the cord blood for an interim period (6-12 mths) during which time, the blood will not be placed in the blood bank for general usage. After they contacted the mum when the baby is 6-12 mths to confirm that both are healthy, only then would be blood be placed in permanent storage &amp; open for general public use.

- fees: no cost if used by the same child. $2600 if used by a sibling. $26,000 if we use another donor's cord blood.</font>

cloud
"first for our school" - the early maternity or the "popping"?

J&amp;S mum
AHHH...sock and slippers...that's what I forgot to pack
and i havent bought a "present from the babies" for my son as yet...does that ploy really work??

Ava, let's do a cross-check. Anything else I forgot? As for the pressies, that's what the Mummies I know practise. Just want to make sure we ease the kids are eased into their new roles and appreciate their baby bro/sis. And oh, remember I told u before to ask the hospital and your gynae for more milk samples (supplement your own BM just in case). The FM milk suppliers are more generous with moms of multiples. I remember carting back like 6 dozens of S26 and Friso last time round.

Hi Bigtoes, I'm interested to donate the cord blood. What is the no. to call? Any website? Do we required to do any test before making the donation?

whooooo, another 'snoring' session at Kenko this afternoon...

isabelle: Ahhh, "CA"...it's been quite a while since I received my CA report card!!! So stressful...must sound politically correct. It's tough being a teacher these day, huh?

Ava: can wear glasses during delivery? Greeat! I'm a mega blind bat!

wingkei: hear that? can wear specs during delivery!! Actually, we can get our Dh to hold on to the glasses for us, can't we?

Manicure: I'm about to go for another session. Wondering if it's alright to wear nail polish for natural delivery. Should be ok rite?

crayon: ur students are sooooo funny! I also thot I got some 'stubble' at my armpits when I looked at myself (without my specs) in the mirror. So I quickly wore my specs to look at my armpits again to verify that those black botches are not my hair!

J&amp;Smom: Why do u want to bring the Binder to the hospital? Can u bind there and then?

Flos, yes, I used the binder on Day 2 after my C-section last yr. Whether I'm gonna kenna C-sec this time round or heng heng deliver naturally, I will still wear the binder as soon as I can, either to alleviate the pain or to just flatten the tummy.

cloud: "first teacher to pop on school premises.."???

You're the first teacher to be pregnant in its entire history?

Your school is really "infertile" wor...

Flos
I dont think they'll allow nail polish, just in case for whatever reason *touch wood* you need to go for emergency c-sec. just get manicurist to buff lor as your edd gets closer..

ehh, you remember our dear JC principal and her never ending lectures on grades...I still remember her saying "If you don't get 3As or more, you are a lousy student" blahblahblah...hated those lectures...and she was always being so mean to Commerce stream...when her own daughter was in Commerce (our year also)...

J&amp;S mum
will they still give samples now? read a while back they dont give infant formula samples now cos of encouraging bf.

Bag: I am buying some sterilising tablets too (for my breast shields) and my manual pump, plus flannels for placing on boobs in case of engorgement.