(2008/09) Sep 2008

Millie (millie22) & Flos: I gave up on the Skip Hop spree cos the webbies requires payment via US credit card cos they dun accept international cards. Tried so many sites ... in the end I gave up. At First Few Years, with the discount, it's about $10-15 more than what I get from the webbie. But the BP that was over, the price is really good! So for those keen on Skip Hops, think just wait for the BP or just get from First Few Years.

Sunrays: so excited for you! yes, your gynae is not used to delivering big babies, that's why she wow wow wow at 3kg baby. Your weight gain very efficient leh, and Charlotte is absorbing so well.
my gynae also said she'll induce me at week 38 if Eamon is too big for natural birth, so it's normal bah. ;) so excited!!!!

Bacon&eggs: yes, baby is not kicking much but squeezing his butt and limbs around. quite entertaining to see the big buldge moving, especially when I'm in church or in a meeting!

an article on BH for you:
http://www.babycenter.com/0_braxton-hicks-contractions_156.bc

flos, my doc asked me to start finding out about paediatricians during my last visit too. if i don't have someone specific then she'll recommend someone from tmc. anyone got feedback/recommendations for pds?

anaesthetist
this one also can pick? my doc hasn't mentioned this but will try to remember to ask her next visit.

contact lenses
storeberry, troublesome wor, got to wash and all. u expecting lots of visitors?

low placenta
anyone still got this? mine moved a little but doc said she'll need to order another scan at 36wks (didn't clarify whether to be done in her office or if it's a special one) to find out its exact location before letting me know if i can have a natural delivery. keeping my fingers crossed!!

<font color="119911">Flos - Paediatrician: Dr WK Tan asked if i had one yet, and when i said no, she assigned one from TMC to me. Supposedly quite famous (i.e. more expensive also!). Think she asked cos the baby will be examined by the paediatrician right after delivery? Experienced mommies - is that right? I intend to switch to one closer to home after that thou - just more convenient for follow ups.

She has also assigned me an anaesthetist - think the anaesthetist would be the regular one that your gyne usually operates with.

LC (faintz) - think the discharge is normal, unless it is painful, smelly or a weird color? Think the medical term is leukorrhea - See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leukorrhea
Not sure if a panty liner is a good idea though, unless you keep changing it throughout the day...the dampness might cause infection? (read that somewhere).</font>

<font color="ff0000">Btw --- Next lunch gathering - mommies in Tanjong Pagar area - is anyone up to meeting up for lunch one final time before we pop?
Incase anyone is up to it

Hi, Flos

I bot the one-side carry one (can’t remember the actual term), with side pockets to holds the milk bottles.. But it is really bigggggggggg, much bigger than I expected.. You have so many?? Hahaha… nevermind.. can rotate use..

Hi, Bacon&amp;Egg , Jen kate

What is muscus plug? What will happen if no more this plug?

Hi, Sri Leo

Mine is not yellowish leh.. yellow was a few weeks back.. now it is like our usual white discharge, just that it is much watery..

Hi Sunray,
I will be delivering in Mt E. My doc keep assuring me that nature has it way of delivering the baby...So i am not very worried. But i told him if it drag too long, I will go for C section.. Since he is monitoring me weekly, i think I am in safe hand...

Hi Yan,
I read some where week 36 onward, the baby will be considered a full term. Based on gynae, if deliver in week 38, the baby is almost fully develop except for the lung. But he mentioned at week 38, the chances of the baby having lung problem is also low.

ava: ah, pls ask for Sunnie. She is really skilled on both shoulder/neck and feet. She is off on Wed. I also SNORE everytime I go to Kenko. realllllllyyy Malu, boy!!!

bacon&amp;eggs: they will avoid the two sides of your ankle. Those spots correspond to your ovaries and uterus, as I found out in China. Anywhere else and with considerable pressure if good enuff.

Bigtoes: I heard the anaesthetists rotate from hospital to hospital, according to my Parentcraft nurse Chong. Once u request for one, they will page for him/her to come down to jab u. They could be coming from another hospital sometimes

May I hv the name of the one recommended by your gynae?

I hv a fren who is an PD, so I dunno if I can pick her?

LC: mucus plug will not drop out unless there was some trauma right? Mrs Yap's Dr Loh said hers might hv dropped out a long time ago, but she may wanna confirm this...I know!!! I've soooo many diaper bags that I dunno what to do with them...

My discharge is still whitish and lotiony. Nothing unusual. My strep B test shows everything is normal, so I didn't bother monitoring my discharge...

flos,
which kenko branch is Sunnie working at?

LC,
mucus plug will shed but it doesnt mean labour is near...it could still takes days or weeks for the real labour to kick in...thats what i read in the book.

jay,shazz,yan &amp; kate,
when bb wriggles from one spot to another, it is v painful..but it is assuring to feel him wriggles..sometimes i would exclaimed "ouch ouch ouch when he makes his way from left to rite"

Bigtoes
I'd go for lunch if i'm still in the office on the day. trying to be at home more from this week. lemme know.

Flos/bacon
next time will ask for sunnie. she is at the south bridge road branch right? the one near my office.

Anesthetist/PD
I just used whoever works with Dr Paul.. I think the anaesthetist i had is his brother and my PD was Dr Ang Poon Liat also based in TMC.

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: Think I walked too much yesterday liao, went to Taka, parked quite far away &amp; then went to Toa Payoh central to buy somethings with my mum. After I reached home, felt that my below there very "sng" &amp; pain, &amp; when I sleep also felt uncomfortable. Have learnt my lesson, next time cannot be so "gung ho"!

Yan: You are so organised!! Think I will do the sms-ing myself, doubt hubby have all my friends numbers... I haven't give him CL's no yet!!

Millie: My friend bought the Skip Hop Spark, its really cool with lotas compartments &amp; zips. And its the cheaper version compare to Dash deluxe. (Got it at Target) She go me a dark grey one with circle prints. I can't seem to find the pix online...

Bacon &amp; Egg: Yes, bb is moving &amp; pushing alot more, more ripples effects now!! I also want a sept bb!!

Flos &amp; xuanting: Yes, contact lens is a must!! MY specs is spolit now &amp; I am wearing an "obiang" one!!! So nobody is going to see me in my "obiang" specs! Haha!!

Sunrays: BB charlotte is Sept thread champion baby!!</font>

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - let me go back and check on the admission letter - can't remember the name of the PD off hand, just that the PD is a lady. If you are comfy with your friend, better to just get her for your PD instead?

Ava - okie, lets see if there are more mommies keen for lunch
If i have no meetings, I am also working from home on Tues &amp; Thurs starting this week.

storeberry (storeberry) - yah, am equally vain
Bringing my contacts and make up to hospital. Want to look presentable in photos and when friends &amp; relatives come visit!</font>

storeberry,
i think i will wear my obiang specs..but will put on some lipstick and light makeup..dont want to scare my visitors! hee..

Diaper bag
Yet to buy one...still eyeing the kate spade one..will buy it later when bb is born cos figure out i wont bring him out so soon..

makeup/contacts
Wah you guys can be bothered...i didnt bring a dash of makeup last time and doubt i will this time either...just cleanser and moisturiser
and a hairband!

I've just finished packing my hospital bag on saturday.. didn't bother with my makeup kit... hopefully can scare away some visitors who linger for too long.. lol.

Sunrays
Charlotte is growing very well... don't worry so much!

LC
Thanks for ur reply. I seriously din know patients nid to bring their own clothes one leh

I know we have been talking abt 1st mth celebration tingie etc etc. I was having a conversation with my auntie colleague just now. She was asking me whether do I intend to have 1st mth celebration and I said most likely will have bt see how. And she reminded me to standby red egg and stuff.. I said ok.
And den she asked me ‘if pple give me red packet, I nid to give something in return cos it is kinda of bad luck if I take something and din return the gesture’
Den I was abit puzzled liao leh. I thot if I invite guests to buffet, I thot the something in return to guest is the buffet itself? Or issit reallie must give something extra one huh?? Si bei luan leh

Mei
If no-makeup doesnt work...threaten to breastfeed without clothes on! or just use post natal depression as an excuse...seriously tho, i was very adrenaline driven after birth last time and was happy to have visitors all over the place, anytime...maybe not this time tho! with two babies to feed!!! GAAAH!

Long time no see.

PD:
They will assign someone within the same hospital unless u specify. Feel free to switch after that, though my preference is to have the same one for medical history.

anaesthetist:
I just take whoever is available upon request. If u insist on someone and if that person is busy or at some other hospital, it might be too late for administering the epi as it take a while for the person to arrive and for the effect to kick in.

haven't come onto the forum these couple of days... too tired to do anything at all.

shazz,
saw the pics your hb took. very nice, very sexy! and that reminds me, i better book my bloom shots soon too.

mrs yap,
i know you've been reassured many times, but i shall do this again coz i think i'm reassuring myself as well. at week 28, my bb's weight was only 1.1kg. then at week 30, she was 1.4kg. not very big also. but she's been rather active and all so i don't worry unduly. also, all my bbs were born weighing 2.6kg but after they are born, they grow quite ok. in fact, my girl is rather bah bah. not my boy though...

sunrays,
wow! aren't you excited that you are meeting bb charlotte soon??? i can't wait to meet cadence. this pregnancy is getting more and more troublesome...

<font color="0000ff">Jo Jo
"...my constant weight could be a sign that i am be popping sooner than my edd".. now i'm getting scared. My weight has been constant for the past 2 wks too. But when I saw gynae last wk, he didnt mention anything.

Flos
Wah.. abt to ask u leh.. if Dr Cheng asked whether u have a PD in mind already anot? He didn't ask mi so i presumed it's not time to bring it up yet tho he passed me the admission letter already. But my mum has been bugging mi to tell him that i've got a PD already, so tat he wont get his fren

Sunrays
Wow Wee... Charlotte is really champion of Sept baby!! hehe.. so excited for u. u might be amongst the earliest to pop wor.. unless mine can't wait till Sept..

LC
do check with ur gynae if u are unsure of the discharge. but from ur description, it does sound like what i've been getting for the past few weeks. another thing, i can almost always feel it flowing out and there's somewhat like a burning sensation. So far haven got any call from clinic saying that i've got infection so i presume it's normal.

Mine's oso white and alot of it wor. gynae has mentioned that it's natural esp now we are almost due.. it's the body's way of moisturising the whole area there..</font>

Goldfish,
I think the buffet itself is a "return of goodwill gesture" for those who bought gifts..if you want to add in eggs/kuehs/cakes...should be fine too. I intend to throw a buffet lunch for relatives &amp; frens (nevermind they bought me gifts or not) and boxes of cakes for colleagues whom i am not inviting. Too chaotic to have frens, relatives and colleagues all together...entertaining the guests is v tiring..plus we still need to bf, change diaper during the party!

goldfish,
ya lor. for all my two kids i also had buffet and that was it for the pple i invited leh. i only prepared red eggs and ang ku kueh. so they eat there. never gave them anything to take away also. buffet still not enough still must give somethign?? then i shall not have full mth celebration then. so troubelsome.

i'm also not packing any makeup. think the pain will take over my vanity.

bigtoes: My gf is working at NUH I think. I'll use the one LC Cheng recommends I suppose

Who are the pp wkg at TP again? Bigtoes, Ava, me, not many I think? I hv a Kenko session tmr.

Storeberry: but wouldn't u be bleary-eyed in the first 2 days/nites? Still can wear contact lenses wor...I am now wearing glasses to work daily. Everyone totally understands why I look so nerdy/geekish becos I'm pregnant what...how to wear lenses in the morning, when I wake up to pee so many times in the middle of the nite?!!

However, I'll surely groom myself for the manyue bash!

bacon&amp;eggs: yea, that Sunnie is at the south bridge rd/upp cross st one. but I guess every outlet has an experienced masseuse that does preggers, no need to come all the way to Chinatown for Sunnie
There was another lady I tried at this branch, but she was quite rough with my lower spine (a no-no spot!) and buttocks last time. Hers was the hardcore Chinese technique, really too much for preggers liao...

Ava: does it mean once u commit to using Ang Poon Liat, u need to travel all the way to TMC always? Can I switch to my GP?

Hi Mrs.Yap,my last scan on 31week+4days, my baby boy weight also at 1.6kg. My gynae said is normal at 50%. Even before that, on my 29 weeks, baby weight only 1.2kgs.Your baby weight is alright. I crave to eat durians but I not dare to take it because I worry my baby will be too big ...

Hi Sasa,

Do not worry lah. My gynae just keep telling me do not read too much into things like baby weight as such... He just keep telling me to relax ... Don;t get worry ... I am sure your gynae will prepare if he/she think you will pop earlier...

<font color="119911">Wearing lenses during delivery - experienced mommies, can we keep our contacts/specs on during delivery? Am wondering if contacts/specs are allowed, and if i even want them on at the first place! Am going for LA for C-section, and dont need to see the gyne cutting me up (reflection from metal surfaces)! Then again, without my contacts/specs, I won't even be able to see my baby clearly when the gyne shows him to me for the 1st time!

Need to check with the nurses, also if we need to remove finger &amp; toenail polish.

Flos (flos) - i am still dressing up to go to work...honestly, being preggers is going to be a breeze compared to the post-delivery period! Hence 50-60% of mommies end up with post-natal blues

Lunch at Tanjong Pagar area: So tentatively, Flos, Ava, Bigtoes....? Anyone else care to join us?

sasa: I suppose he'll recommend to you eventually. Those are the blanks u must fill in on that preadmission form

I agree with Lok; use any anaesthetist who is available. The one u picked could be at NUH adminsitering another mommy's epi, when u need him most at Mt E on the actual day!

The Nurse did tell us we must give lead time for them to rush to your hospital, in case of traffic jams, etc. So dun wait until dilate until so big and cannot tahan liao then order for epi, by then, it might be too late for this preferred anaesthetist to come to you!

However, each anaesthetist will invariably hv a partner to cover his/her when he can't come to u at the last minute.

Bigtoes: Yeh, u r still looking pretty in this stage. I can't be bothered anymore!! I'm just a mumsy mum-to-be now! Maybe becos my DH is seldom around to give me any incentives to doll up!!! LOL

bacon&amp;egg, yah, i only go ouch ouch ouch last sat when playing majong w friends. cos she keep stretching her legs, then i cannot take my tile properly. lol~!

storeberry, its known to all my hubby's friends that i am the one doing all the admin,finance,housekeeper and maid job. so they know all the emails and contacts i have full set. my hubby dun even record his frens contact number. its all in my hp. even his elder sis de hp number also dun have, i'm the one to keep track of it. so by the time i give birth, i will just pass him my hp. lol!!! I'm making my hubby super duper dependant on me (not financially, financially i am dependant on him!) so he cannot live without me or do anything without me, minimising his chance of finding a second wife!!! hahaha!!! =X

Jo Jo, my gynae told me not to read up too much stuff in the internet too! he says that it will only make me have more worries and more paranoid. cos once i asked him about illness 'thaselmia' (dunno the spelling)

<font color="aa00aa">Hi,

My friend’s colleague is also selling socks but Jazzytoes brand only… she mentioned if can hit 50 boxes can get 5% discount but collection point – raffles place and tanjong pagar only. If want to go by post, must add in $1.50 for 1st box and subsequent boxes @ $1.00 per additional box if registered mail another $2.25.

For standard design - $32 per box (0-12mths) &amp; $34 per box (12-24 mths)
For variety design - $34 per box (0-12mths) &amp; $36 per box (12-24mths)

check out www.jazzytoes.com for the designs

If u all want I can help to co-odinate…but must COD...</font>

Bacon&amp;Egg
When u mean to add in eggs and kueh, u mean pack them in boxes or put in the buffet table for them to take home?

Alabone
Ya.. I find tat it is so ‘financially straining’ to prepare gifts for them to bring home on top of buffet!!! But I dunno leh.. tat colleague sound like beri shocked when I say I dun intend to do gifts leh.. wonder issit generation gap?

Gas wat? One of my old friend is 5 weeks preggy and wrote in her blog tat she experienced bleeding and it sounds scary lo.. as in the whole toilet bowl is filled with blood lah etc. She told me it is wat womb neck dilation lah… and quipped tat mothers who delivered before may haf this problem…
DIAOZ!!! Anyone heard abt tis??? I better make sure I take care of myself after this delivery le… now I having 2nd thots of doing marathon in Dec leh!!! Argh….

mrs yap

i am using Lactacyd for bodywash &amp; pureen the ABD powder for laundry coz my elder gal got sensitive skin n the PD tt time ask me to try that...

flos

ya..the clinic people will ask u for any preference..i use back Ong EK for PD but i didnt request for anaesthestist...hmm,during my #1 ,the 1 i had was quite skilled...not sure if wana ask for him...

ava

u mean dr paul brother is a anaesthestist? hmm...didn koe...he good? i heard those not skilled will try a feel time...i scare lei..best is 1 try get it right..

bigtoes

i kept my spects on during my c-sect last time..wun be wearing contact coz dun koe how long it will take...coz my eyes will be dry if in air con room for toooo long..so cant imagine if my labour is more than 12hrs...sure i will take out in the end...

Ava

goldfish, why must give guests gifts to bring home?

just place those red eggs and kuehs with the rest of the buffet spread for them to take only right?

i intend to give the aunties and uncles cake cards to take home. Wonder if they consider me cheapo? after all they will be giving me those anklets and angpows...

For next of kins, like my DH's and my own siblings, they will receive a more expensive cake plus those red eggs and kuehs.

Angeline/flos,

Dr EK Ong is very good and experienced. I used him for J#1. But to continue using him after that is always a chore for us cos the queue is so super duper long!! Don't want to subject my newborn to all the germs/bacteria/virus while waiting for our turn. I know NB has priority in his clinic but after 1st month, privilege is not there anymore.

anaesthestist:
I dun hv preference. Most important is to ask for it early if u cannot tahan. The key is to keep still for them to administer the epi. If u jerk or move (e.g. when your dilation is quite far along and the contractions are very close), that's when things can go wrong...

I'm very glad i went for lasik (no issues with contacts or glasses). I don't recommend wearing contact lenses into the op theatre. U hv enuf to contend with, so whether wearing glasses will make u look nerdy is really the least of your worries.

Dr. EK Ong realli good? cos i saw my letter.. he's also my pd... so.. hw's his charges? exp? everytime long Q?

I just came back from my 37 week checkup.

Baby's head is still half engaged. In fact it has been half engaged for the past 3 weeks. Doc said I won't give birth that soon, definitely after national day.

hi bigtoes,
when you go in for surgery, nurses will ask you to remove makeup, remove contact lenses, remove any nail polish. in your case, i think can bring in specs? i'm speaking from experience of a GA c-sec. yours epidural so not sure if there's any difference. but i know cannot have makeup and nail polish. i even had to take out all rings/chain/earrings.

flos,
so you will have your manyue bash for all who gave you pressies and on top of that, give them cards to bring home is it?

alabone: the manyur bash is the buffet i'll hold at home
they come and see baby, give me the pressies and makan the buffet and eggs. Before they leave my house, i give them the cards to bring home. I might just use Bengawan Solo for these ordinary relatives. Dun want to waste $$ on them...

Moreover, I dun hv space in my fridge for all the beautiful cake boxes. Delivering to their homes will be costly now that the petrol prices have gone up quite a lot! As I've mentioned before, some cakes do turn sour and bad when left inside the hot vehicle under the open carpark as u move from house to house to deliver personally!!!

Doing it at a hotel will be expensive becos Sept is the F1 season, right? I haven't enquired...

My DH has many aunties and uncles in SG. He and I have many close mutual friends since varsity days too. We cannot cope. So card distribution will be more efficient.

hi all... just want to check with regards to insurance.. for medical insurance, should it be bought before or after?

applied for my maternity leave today, going to start on 18 August and i'm really looking forward to it. have been so tired lately.

<font color="0077aa">Flos: If I am doing natural &amp; they allow me with contact lens, I am definitely keeping my contacts on!! Aiyah, my specs really CMI!

Cloud: For bb's medical isnurance, you can only take up after bb is born. For shield plans, one mth after, for some its 15days.</font>

skinnypig
i took 1 bottle of chicken essence and milo before i went to the hospital last time. Think it helped.

Yest i had a scare.
Had contractions in the afternoon and my pelvic area felt so tight i couldn't walk properly. I could feel that the baby was pressing down. And i felt like having bowel movemnts too. These signs were still there when I went to bed. Was really worried i might go into early labour...
Luckily by this morn everything returned to normal!
Otherwise my work would be so screwed up and I'll still be working during maternity leave cos I haven't handed over properly!

Flos
You can change your PD anytime...they'll assign one to u if u dont have one before the birth that's all...

Angeline
I sort of remember it being his brother...Philip Tseng I think...shld be brother right? he was able to give me epidural even tho labour for so long already...that part of labour quite hazy...

isabelle: i was in a cab home just now and felt BH!!! the hardening was very uncomfy and got me quite worried! luckiy it went away after a few minutes!

how can u be working during your ML? I've started typing my SOP today and will brief the respective colleagues who kenna arrowed by my boss to cover me!!!

cloud: me going on 15 Aug!! yippeeeee!!! freedom! Got national day-off and MC somemore!!!

Ava: I'll ask the gynae again when i visit him next week. I've two more credits with Kenko: one to be used tomorrow, another next week before I go on advanced ML...

I'm sooooo tired...need to stay at home to unpack my bb stuffs and pack my hosp bag...

goldfish,
can either place egg/kueh next to buffet or pack them in boxes for takeaway. Better to pack in case relatives forget or paiseh to take..end up alot of leftover eggs and kuehs.

ML
I intend to work till birth..but two weeks from EDD will work from home.
Just worried water bag might burst if work in the office..

<font color="0077aa">Goldfish: I am not going to pack for relatives to take away, most prob put beside buffet..

Thanks Isabelle!

I feel tired &amp; lethargic today.. Yawn...</font>

its been busy today so only just got a chance to log n and wow so much has happened

sunrays
congrats on bb charlotte's size. sounds big and healthy (easier to bathe etc) and ready to deliver! my colleague's wife delivered her 4.6kg baby naturally too so i'm sure you can do it.

mrs yap
i used Cetaphil for #1 cos of the milia that appears after a few days.have also bought the pureen ABD detergent, Kodomo and Napisan for nappies

makeup and jewellery
the nurses made sure my nail polish was off and i wasnt wearing jewellery for the epidural with my #1.

congrats to everyone who is going on thier well-deserved maternity leave. take the time to pamper yourself and rest well cos the real work begins after the delivery
heehee