(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - heh, my hospital bag is also almost all packed, except for last minute items like my make up, specs, etc.. that I can only pack on the day itself. Also have a check-list of items outstanding. This is like packing for my overseas work trip, just that the hotel (hospital) room is more expensive at $500+!

yan (bbfam) - u aren't planning to get a car seat for when baby is discharged? I guess there is no regulation in S'pore, but for some overseas countries (like Aust) - they don't allow u to drive home from the hospital without a car seat.</font>

LC

ya...my fren told me my gynae ever deliver a 5kg natural before n my fren baby is already 4.5kg...so he shd be able ba...haha..anyway,still long way to go..I am using the pigeon steriliser..yup,just pour as per instruction tts 1 cup..its enuff.

Ava

i Just went today. my next visit is 18th monday also.yours same? mine 3.10pm slot..shd be going for the TMC 2pm hospital tour again...i wana see their new 1 bedder room lei n oso to get in touch again...but my hb lazy to go..haiz..men..for #2,he seems not tt interested liao...Paul said i wun be anytime soon n bb's not engaged also tts y i still on fortnightly visit..

Oh I almost forgot - Chicken essence.

For those deliverying naturally, I heard by drinking chicken essence, it helps in having the energy to push the baby..
So pls pack 1 or 2 bottles in the hospital bag

<font color="0077aa"> I packed about 80% of my hospital bag last sat! Still left some neccessities like specs, comntact lens, make up, mu removers...

Yah car seat will leave it to hubby. but I think I will try &amp; set up the steriliser 1st..

So exciting we are in Aug now!!</font>

shazz,
I kiasu
ease my mind to know stuff are all ready..

Yan,
I had all the numbers stored in my hubby's phone so that I dont have to scramble to look for numbers esp when in pain or panic mode...

SkinnyPig,
My mom said the same thing too! Drink chix essence..

bacon n egg
how many weeks u in now?
if the feeling is so unusual
better to call gynae to check

oh ya my neighbour delivered her bb in wk 33
she experienced cramp in thighs... so thot its not an issue but it is labour sign

Angeline Goh, so do you eat them now you are pregnant? or i'm the only one here indulging in them almost daily basis. hehe! i eat at wang cafe cos every morning my hubby send me there. but eating the 2 soft boiled eggs already will make it very difficult to plan wad to eat for lunch and dinner, have to avoid eggs already cos 1 day try not to eat more than 2 eggs.

chicken essence - have never drank chicken essence before. dunno if i can tahan the taste or not.

bacon&amp;egg, i'm the admin/finance/housekeeper at home. so i have to set up all the emergency numbers, and draft up a sample sms and list of ppl to inform for my hubby liaoz.. yes, another thing to do ASAP. lol!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) : is your whole tummy hardened? if it is, it's likely to be Braxton Hicks. If you're not sure, just call gynae for peace of mind!

During my last checkup, hubby asked gynae if I'll deliver when he's away, gynae was kind enough to assure us that at the rate that my baby is growing, head not engaged etc, my chances of pre-term labour is very low, less than 20%. She also advised me not to walk too much and overwork myself if I don't want to dleiver when my hubby is not around next week! So those mummies who have yet reach 37 weeks, please do not walk too much unless you're ready to give birth! I actually read that walking and doing squats helps in delivery! So better play safe now!

THE CHINESE VERSION OF NATIONAL DAY SPEECH BY DPM WONG KAN SENG will be telecast on 8 Aug 08 (8.45pm) Channel 8. It'll clash with the Beijing Olympic Opening Ceremony on Channel 5...

bacon&amp;eggs: ook, I'll already placed my soft toys in the cot

sasa de mouse: nevermind, your picture shows that you bump is no smaller than mine leh!!! I'm already quite sian with my pregnancy...just counting down day by day...

Big toes: I've already eaten 'softboiled'/runny half-cooked eggs in my porridge a few times. I will take Yakult to kill the germs after that

LC: nursing bras. Yes, I already got a total of 6 bras from Mothercare, Marks &amp; Spencer and Thyme. Just need to grab some nursing tops cos I dun wanna pull up my tee-shirt at home to BF, in front of my MIL and CL. So unsightly!

skinny pig: does chicken essence help? I just drank cordyceps soup. I hv paoshen soup too...You're already in week 37?!!! WOW!! Earliest to pop leh!

Steriliser: I haven't even read the instructions manual yet!!! I have the AVENT IQ24 one...and the warmer is by Avent too...

BB Monitor: I'm quite sad that I bought the cheapest lower version of Philips bb monitor. My bro told me it's very fuzzy and noisy!!!! SOB...

Was watching the new parents discharged from TMC at the valet pick up point. Saw 6 couples hand-held their NBs...I think I won't strap my bb up either...It's only a short drive...

Shazz: nice bloom shots!!!

Flos
"I'm already quite sian with my pregnancy...just counting down day by day... "

Pls dun say tat
you know the day i was admitted to hosp, i msn my colleague with the same sentiments...

I dare not anyhow say things now

Shazz, i dun have a choice in walking... have to walk to the mrt everyday after work. and walk to the carpark every morning, and climb 2 or 3 levels. this morning my office lift spoil again, i climbed up 4 storeys. the lift is like breaking down once or twice a week. sianz lo...

How to see if its braxton hicks? my tummy harden, but its at the area of bb's legs cos head is down already. feels like she is stretching her legs.

Storeberry,
Which style did you buy for the Skiphop bag ?
I mean Dash Delxue Edition , etc. ?

Anyone organising Skiphop spree ? I am thinking of buying one also.

Sorry was not able to log in over the weekend. Anyway, thanks all for your suggestions. I think I will follow most of what you have suggested, just relax and don't think about anything. Let my HB do the worrying if BB decides to come early and let him run all the errands!

Yes, 37th week. I can't wait for it to get over soon, especially I got serious water retention problem.
I already put on 21.5kg so far and it's still counting on..

I missed my pre-pregnancy figure and weight leh.. sob sob

Later check up still need to do CTG scan.

Millie,

I guess so. My package @ NUH includes up to 2 CTG scan - To monitor the baby heartbeat, water level and contractions.
Normally they would do it during the last month of the pregnancy.

<font color="119911">Millie (millie22) - are u with TMC? I checked with my gyne and she said there is no more detailed scans within the package for the rest of the pregnancy (unless high risk ones).

Jo Jo (jojobar) - so no more weight gain for u, but baby is the gaining weight rapidly? Wow, thats not a bad deal actually. Just hope delivery is not too soon!

skinny pig (skinny_pig) - u must have been very light to begin with? Like shazz has gained 15kg, but she still has a terrific preggers figure! I have gained 10kg, but I think i am starting to look fat!
Thank goodness the weight gain seems to have tapered off...

Softboiled eggs - i guess at this stage shouldn't be a problem cos the baby is already fully developed. Just had to be more careful during the 1st trimester.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">I juz went for my Week 35 chkup, Charlotte is alrdy 3kg..doc estimated her weight at birth to be 9lbs, which means she's gonna be a 4kg baby!! Likely to induce in 3 weeks time...looks like i've to pop arnd 23 Aug.. I gained 300gms in 2 weeks but Charlotte somehow gained 500gms in 2 weeks! So my doc said weight gain ALL going to the baby and she is absorbing really really well..in fact too well,hehe!! Am told to do squats or walk/exercise to speed up the engagement.

So looks like i'm gonna be in the 'pioneer' list of Sept thread to pop...having mixed feelings abt the delivery now...3 weeks to go..all i pray for is a smooth NATURAL birth..am so worried now that i knw she is a BIG baby...</font>

yan

yup..i still eat them as n when my craving comes..haha..cham..my weight gain for the last 2weeks+ is 2.5kg...but gynae did say it might be partly due to water retention..haha.

sunrays

ur baby champion liao..hehe..your hubby must be feeding u with good n yummy food everyday..

Bigtoes,
I'm with Gleneagles. I juz had my last detailed scan to check on the growth of bb last week.
It seems that no one here needs to go for detailed scan at this stage ???

sunrays (sunrays) - so ur gyne wants you to deliver by week 37-38 cos Charlotte might be too big for natural? Thought they would deliver depending on maturity (weeks) rather than baby weight? Wow, so if you walk alot (or have sex..hehe) u might end up delivering in 2-3 weeks time!

skinny_pig - u were light to begin with
As long as not feeling the aches and pains then shd be ok

Hi Bigtoe,

Yah, it is not a bad deal for me but it is getting very tiring for me. Especially at nite, it is very bad to even turn and toss in bed....Cannot walk far as well, as I get breathless a lot... To be frank, I can't wait to pop... since this is week 36, the baby is already consider full term....
Sunray, my doc also suspect I might pop around week 38 which is 23rd Aug week as well. For all you know, we might pop together
I remember both our EDD is 4th Sept.

Ladies, I nw in my 34 wks.. recently my leg aching so badly incld my feet till i don feel like walking.. Hw to cure it?

haiz....feel so fatigue!

ladies i need some advise esp from existing mummies.
I hv yet to buy baby's body wash and bedtime lotion. My qs is... which body wash do u recommend and for bedtime lotion is it necessary to apply? wont it be v sticky?

For laundry detergent
Better to get liquid form or powder form?

thanks thanks

<font color="aa00aa">bigtoes
Doc encourage me to be induced at Week 38 so that natural delivery will be easier but still it depends whether she is engaged or not by then. So i guess i'll hit the gym again this week since doc encouraged me to exercise!! Have to do squats too!! I think intercourse is almost impossible for me at this stage,am feeling too clumsy!! haha!!

JoJo
My gynae used the original EDD- 8 Sept..not much diff lah.. r u delivering at TMC too? Doc mentioned frm Week 36 is safe to pop liao so wat i can do now is to 'speed up' the engagement by squatting &amp; exercising.. She wants me to pop ASAP !! I think my gynae not used to delivering big babies, judging frm her reaction when she scanned my tummy juz now,haha!! She was like freaking out!!</font>

skinny pig, i also miss my pre-pregnancy weight n figure!!!!!! especially my hubby! haha! and my face before pregnancy, no breakouts, and slimmer! now look like AUNTIE!
i also have water retention plus swollen feet almost everyday... gained 16kg to date at 33 weeks but was baba to begin with.

sunrays, my fren also got induced when her baby is gaining weight too much n fast. if she wait full term also bb reaching 4kg i think. lol! means your eating very well and baby absorbing really well! grats!!

Jo Jo, its considered full term baby starting from 36th week???

shazz,
no hardening but could feel bb hicupping alot..just crampy sensation..it was quite bad before lunch but ease off after lunch. I am still hoping for a sept bb..

do you feel that bb is wriggling and pushing alot more?

Mrs Yap,
Think BB lotion is not needed. I bought Sebamed (Spelling..cant remember) for BB body wash and shampoo. As for bb's detergent, I am using Pigeon brand - liquid form.

bacon&amp;egg, yes i feel her wriggling when i'm putting my feet up, and the thighs touching the bottom part of my tummy she will wriggle n wriggle until thighs and tummy not touching then she stop. when my right hand/elbow touching my tummy top part while typing or writing, she will also wriggle at that part. like i'm taking up HER space... lol! then pushing me with her legs is when i'm sitting down relaxing, leaning back in my chair or lying down time then she start to stretch n stretch her legs!

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - i could feel mine always hicupping inside. poor him. and my baby always pushing upwards a lot making mi feel uncomfortable. also feeling leg cramp and always tired

bacon&amp;egg, mine wiggles alot these few days.. don't know why..

Mrs Yap,
U can try the avent's body wash and lotion.. as for detergen, i also use the pigeon liquid detergent..

Ladies - just now go toilet and see got a small patch (abt 50cents size) of wetness on my panty.. feel a bit watery and sticky.. anyone has this? Previously, it is more sticky like those white discharge but today its a bit watery.. could it be a leakage??? Worried now
I am only at my 34weeks+..

Mrs Yap: Hehe, was just echoing Lilboymom sentiments...she was also remarking that she was bored...

shazz/Ava: so in the end, which SkipHop bag did u ladies get?

LC: which OIOIbag did u buy from Val in the end? I got the diamond quilted carry all!!! heehhe!! Then my DH bought 3 more from the internet. Now we have a total of 5 diaper bags at home!!! FAINT...

sunrays: Champion Charlotte!! WOW 4 kgs! She is really eating well!

Millie: detailed scan? u mean the growth scan that some gynaes require?

PAEDIATIAN and ANAESTHETIST: Those going to TMC, did the nurse ask u whom u hv picked? It's strange that they asked me in my preadmission form...hmmm.

storeberry: pack contact lenses into hosp bag? Do u want to wear lenses then? I'm skipping contact lenses. Just wear my glasses!!! I dun even bother with my makeup, just bring lipstick will do. As for bb clothes, I thot TMC will give one set for free? I might get him a nice set specially for the historic discharge!!!

Mrs Yap: Buy Lactacyd Baby Wash (the one with green/blue stripes on box) as recommended by my nurse. Lotion = optional. BB washing detergent = I bought the Kodomo one.

shazz: my stuffs are also all over the floor. I've not gotten down to unpacking them yet!!! I'm really laidback...

Ava: how's Kenko today? Did u book Sunnie?

Sunrays
Wow...4kg
hehe...don't worry...i've heard of women having natural childbirth with more than 4kg also...and they were local women not huge angmoh women...

Flos
I didnt book Sunnie..forgot to ask! but reflexology was good...as I smsed, i fell asleep then snored myself awake...so malu! will go back soon for hand massage!

Skip Hop bag? hahahaha after ALL THAT HOOHAH about the skip hop bag, I didnt get mine after all...dont have a diaper bag at the moment. will use the lousy TMC one for a start.

LC, I nw 34wks plus too... I hv it since i in my last trimester... white discharge rite.. ask doc &amp; she said its normal as long as its nt itchy... if the leakage is really alot... den better to go hosp.. So far i wear panty liner to prevent it frm kena my panties...

bacon&amp;egg, mine only hurt on the left side.. i also forgotten to ask gynae.. hee hee but my last visit last sat, gynae said she has gone lower..

LC am also in my 34wks plus, yes whitish to slightly yellowish discharge but if it too watery you might wan to call your gynae clinic and ask. Heard that mucus plug will start shedding slowly over afew weeks when its near delivery...

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg)
Yes my bb wringgling sometime hurts me too. So scared when i can sense that bb is going to move again..cos its really painful and shock me esp when im walking..

bacon&amp;egg, the wrigglings are not painful. only disturbing my work. maybe she is complaining that i'm cutting into her space that why keep wriggling. when i need to pee, she also wriggle. then she stopped once i go toilet lo...