(2008/09) Sep 2008

Ava, my bed is a platform bed, so no matter where I change the baby, I would still have to squat up and down. It's the thought of having to keep squat up and down that really dreads me. Even though I am going for natural delivery, but I don't think it would be too good for me to keep squatting up and down, right?

Ava,
Mine's a boy. The bb is now 32 weeks 5 days i think (sorry poor memory), though i shld be now 33 weeks.

Lok,
I am aiming for 3.4 or 3.5kg at birthweight.
Hopefully i can meet that.

Ava, that's why I think having a cot is important cos I'm thinking of putting the mattress at a higher level so that I don't have to squat to get to the baby, etc. But I don't think guys think of that!

wingkei
get a changing table babe. i just keep thinking that if u change on the cot, what if the poop/pee accidentally drops onto the bedsheet...Bleaggghhhh!

Ava, I'm gonna put a changing mat on the cot so no worries on that. Well, I think getting a changing table is out of the question too, cos according to him, CANNOT get any baby furniture during this time. Actually, I do have a changing table given to me by someone, and he didn't want to use it, says it clutters up the place. Maybe now I can force him to set it up!

wingkei:

why nt buy bb cot 1st but don assemble it yet? I did tt.. but nt yet assemble it... mum don allow..same reason as wat ur HB gave.. collect DUST! hahaha... everyday when i see the box, so tempting to assemble it.. haiz.... nvm.. i tahan... soon will assemble it... kekeke..

why tis time cannot get any bb furniture? Gt pantang behind it izzit?

Millie (millie22): head down doesn't mean engaged. Means, he can still move around freely. Engaged is when baby's head drop into the pelvic opening, and he can't change his position, and is ready for birth.

Hope this article helps!

http://www.drspock.com/article/0,1510,6135,00.html

l'l CY (lilboymum): can't help but laughed out loud when I read what you have to say about the baby cot pantang thingy!

Bigtoes: yeah, Eamon and Keiran's growth is almost the same. DUn worry, I read that by week 36, their weight gain and ours will kinda stop, unless you load up on durians and beef like some mummies who need to increase their baby's weight before they deliver.

wingkei (wingkei): poor thing! I think whatever we say won't change your hubby's thinking. It's already hungry ghost month, so I don't think he'll allow you to set up the changing bay. If you're seriously concerned that your bb has no where to sleep in case you deliver, why don't you just buy and arrange for delivery and then inform him? If they're concerned that you should not be around when the delivery man come and set up the cot, you can perhaps step outside or go downstairs for a walk when they do so. Not sure if it'll help, but seems like nothing we say can help also, so can just try lor!

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn)- hah, actually, hubby wants a bigger baby (fat and chubby = cuter according to him); I don't really mind so much either way, since mine is a C-sec, no need to pass thru the passage way. Just don't want to end up with a huge huge belly, SM and alot of excess skin! Anyway, 800gm in 2 weeks is not normal - think most prob his weight will taper down to about 300gm a fortnight for the next 2 fortnights &amp; I will end up with a 3kg baby (which is a 'just nice' weight i think)

wingkei - u are really very nice to put up with all ur hubby's quirks, u know that? Don't think there are many women like u left!</font>

Wingkei,

Agree with Bigtoes that you are very nice to put up with your hubby's nonsenses throughout the whole pregnancy period.

If I have such a hubby, I would have gotten into countless fights with him and not be a pushover!!!

Bigtoes (limay): baby can come out small and compact, but grow bigger and fatter as we feed them!
I would prefer that actually! hehe

Ava: I just saw your replies ... that's a darn good one manx!

So today's topic is wingkei's difficult DH?!!!

Aiyo, wingkei, after weeks of bickering with him, u still didn't get down to buying the cot? How to buy one now as the 7th mth will only end on 30 Aug?!! Poor girl u...your DH is really unreasonable!!!

Lanolin: night calls? u mean conference calls with overseas rep offices is it?

I also just went to visit my gynae and somehow his "aggaration" is really befuddling me. Just two weeks ago, my bb was 1.864kg. Two weeks later, mommy puts on 1 kg and bb is barely about 2kg thereabouts. Wonder if it could be due to my nightly puking in the last 2 weeks. Hv not been eating a lot and sleeping very well. Gynae kept saying it's fine, heads down still, today on the left, strep B test is fine, etc. "YOu don't want an obses bb, do u?" so on and so forth...

Oh well, dun really care about his aggaration anymore. He usually takes only the FL and AC anyway, not very 'zun' to begin with...as long as I can "Tung Chu" (persevere) until Sept, I'm happy with the progress of bb

Ava: u must be joking abt that SM picture right? It's really severe!!! I dun think StriVectin can help that u know! There is another brand by Dr NV Pericone which I buy from HK that is very good. It apparently can help to erase spider veins...

On MC but actually SHOPPING at Orchard!!! LOL...After my visit, I went to shop again!! What's new??? Bought a BURBERRY tee-shirt for my boyboy!!

stef&amp;sean: I am not very sure abt what transpired in 2004 when they changed the BB bonus scheme as I was already not living in SG then. Just cross our fingers that it'll be applicable to us all here!!!

Millie: u mean ur bb's head is already Engaged? can't be right? None of ours are engaged yet. Still early.

sasa de mouse: Nurse said we'll claim the $450 medisave upon admission only. So no need to bring those prenatal receipts to hospital. Only need the antenatal package receipt one will do.

bacon&amp;eggs: Awfully Chocolate only sells choco cakes right? I prefer fruit-based cakes leh...I'll hv a good look at The Patissier menu again. I find their cake designs very tasteful and hopefully, tasty too. Tks!!

Ladies, i juz ate durian..hehehe.. nt bad la..but i'm sure at geylang ones more nicer... n i oso damn sure, if i were to fart, it'll be damn smelly...whahahahahaha........

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY (lilboymum): You are corny!!! Haha.. But its a good one!! :p

Aiyoo.. Wingkei wingkei.... No point arguing now &amp; you most prob won't want to buy the cot now right? Let your hubby be gan cheong lor if you give birth earlier. Relax!</font>

Agree wit storeberry... U juz write a list of items tt need to buy, whr to buy.. so easier for ur HB to shop.. Cz during confinement u shld rest at hm ma.. so HB is the one need to go shopping spree...

hai.. duno what wrong today.. morning went for an early breakfast with HB, ate prata and tea. he off to work i went home upstair then 'waterfall' le.
dinner went to buy satay during bath 'waterfall' again
sob sob today feeling so awful

Sorry that I have not logon for a week..was busy studying for my exam..finally it is over. Just hoping for a pass

Sarahmay, LC, storeberry: thanks for your concern and advice.

Sarahmay: Thank you for your advice..will try out the exercise. I have been lazy and did not exercise. Hopefully bb will turn…

Storeberry: hope you can have a better sleep.

Mrs Yap, Sasa and sarahmary, hope you are feeling better.

Wingkei: ya, I agree with Sri and storeberry.

Koras: what is waterfall? hope you feel better. maybe have an early night...

I had my 1st appt with Dr Loh today.
He look thru my case and says mine is a high risk one. I dun even hv to beg for extented hosp leave. He says i am not suitable for work until i deliver. Baby is head down since week 29. Now 32 wks 2 days le... and he says bb head has already engage and somemore the head v low. I will be having caesarean and he says for my case might be a fast dilation since bb head already so low. So there is a possibility tat i deliver natural be4 he even got time for caesarean. I am not prepared for natural... v scared lor.
Since i am already 32 weeks, normally he will ask pp to come every 2 weeks.. but for my case need to come every wk. He says from the look of it, baby might come out in 4 weeks time... meaning i will onli be 36 weeks by then.
He really entertained my qs well... i ask if i am shedding my mucus plug bit by bit cos i always hv V discharge with blood stain. He says i bleed so much and mucus plug might be gone long ago... Anyway.. my bb's weight is soooo disappointing. Only 1.6kg at 32 wk 2 days. Was 1.3kg at 29 wks. I wonder why she is growing sooo slowly. Besides eating durian, wat else can i eat to boost bb weight???? Pls help me

mrs yap,
try taking alot of carbo, sugar, meat eg. rice, cakes, beef, milk. Can also take more bird nest &amp; pao shen to strengthen bb.. dont worry too much..rest well..

flos,
yes, they specialise in choc cakes eg. choc fudge, choc banana and choc rum. really nice choc cake.. patisser has this gingerbread man for manyue...i received it once from ex colleague..cute!

bacon and egg
doc says i shd rest more n sleep on left side to help bb grow. BUT hor, i already eat all i can, i sleep all i can, sleep on the left side till my hand become numb and yet bb still so small.
I am so confident today that my bb at least 2kg cos for the past 3 weeks i sleep n eat onli!
I drink milk everyday. I eat rice for every meal, I took lots of fish, i indulge in cakes yday, and yet still low weight. Doc says my bb on the low weight side. Heart pain

Lasik,
Think my ex colleague's case is just a one-off..i will still consider lasik when i have the spare cash

wingkei,
i got my cot setup long ago..since end June..should be quite dusty by now, just clean it with dettol. Plastic wrapping the mattress still intact..will remove closer to date. If scare pantang, place some teddy bears or toys in the cot..dont leave it empty..anyway if your hubby really furiously object to getting the cot now..then get it after aug.

Mrs Yap..
Just continue doing wat u have been doing.. you should stay on bed more to Yang Tai.. ok.. EAt more.. if you wan bb to be bigger than eat more sweet.. kekeke.. sugar intake higher lah.. i mean..
Thank God that this time round ur doc is good.. take care ok..

mrs yap, glad to know your new doc is so much more attentive and taking no chances. do rest well as advised. hope bb's weight will catch up next week. take care!

<font color="0077aa">Koras, your reply no comma or full stop, I thot you buy satay during bath!! Hahah!!! I thot you mean crying leh... Oh dear, eat less oily stuffs? Take care!

Thanks rabbit!

Mrs Yap: Don't worry so much about your bb's weight yah? And cos your is a gal so gal usually are smaller in size. Really happy for you that your doctor is so kind to you! BB engaged liao?? I must pray for bb to head down &amp; engaged by end Aug.

My nephew is only 2.7kg at birth but look at him now! So chubby &amp; cute!!

Just now as I was getting up from the sofa, felt a very sharp pain on my lower right tummy &amp; it lasted for a while. Don't know what happen???</font>

storeberry - kkeke.. i also think so its the oily food that cause the vomiting. lunch i drink soup and rice still ok

hi mummies!!!

bought junior to the flower fest today. quite nice but was disappointed that they didnt label the different species of flowers, so boy and i could only go 'wah wah wah'!!! then look at each other clueless...

mrs yap
what did dr loh say? did he prescribe any multi vits or give you any advice? if not, most prob ok...

my boy is also very small (ok but he became small after 8tmhs...) and i know many girls all petite and smart. so dun be too unduly worried if he didnt raise any cocnern...

l'l CY
Your boy is cute. Maybe boys are not as affectionate as girls. Is the flower fest worth a visit with the little one? You can bring him to the museum, they are conducting a series of workshop with different themes, very interesting. We went for the Mozart one.

Bigtoes
Your body's way of weight distribution is very good, most of it goes to baby. I gained 2 kg in 2 weeks, hope it goes to baby. For my first one, I gained weight about 1 kg a month, a total of 12+ kg. Now, I don't even dare to count.

Wingkei
Tell hubby if don't think about it nothing will happen, the more you think the more paranoid you get, the more something will happened to him. It's now 2008 not 1908, no 'pantang'.

MrsYap: So glad you and Melody are in good hands now. Not bad, at least can tahan till week 36 very good liao, so long as Meloday's organs are all fully developed, weight is not the issue. Just rest well and eat well and think happy thoughts!
Am sure your new gynae knows what to do for your case.

I finally succumbed to SMW durians! haha ... ate 7 seeds! oops, haha ... dun care liao, not gonna eat anymore.

Hubby borrowed his uncle's pro SLR and DIY bloom shots at home! Quite fun but tiring! Posted some pictures on my facebook, will load more tom if got time to take more.

Mrs Yap, the nurse from my prenatal class said that taking bird's nest will help BB to pile on weight because its made up of protein. Are you attending the private suite at KKH?

Flos - yah, I have global calls which only happen at night in Asia coz it is morning in US (east coast) and afternoon in Europe. Very sian one coz this means I am kan cheong during dinner and can only relax and stop thinking about work at 10pm.

Mrs Yap - hi hi - is ur Dr Loh at Women's Specialist Clinic at Mount E? I am going to the OTHER gynae in that clinic (Dr Selina Chua) and was there yesterday (Friday) at about lunch time. Were u in the same clinic around the same time?

They do say eating beef and carbs will help with baby's weight and drink FULL CREAM milk. Like Shazz and what the others say, best thing to do is to have positive frame of mind, speak to your baby and make sure she's comforted by you.

Bacon and egg
I have been taking chicken essence and birdnest (those bottled ones from Yu Ren Sen)every alternate day. Pao shen wise quite lazy to cook but i think i shd do it more diligently now.

Momoko
I scared i kenna gestational diabetes if too much sugar intake. But fortunately i pass my urine test yday. Will up my sugar intake now.

Xuanting
Yes, SF Loh indeed v detailed. When I talk, he listened, I ask qs he answers all patiently and in details. At least i dun feel like a fool. He even talk to my hubby about my previous surgery and baby's progress as though they are good frds. Its really a different experience from the EX. He is v assuring and make me feel more at ease. At least he nv tell me he dunno why and he v busy.

Storeberry
Before doc do the scan, he says 32 wks shd be around 2kg liao... and i was so excited. Then aft the scan, only 1.6kg... i can see from the mirror reflection that my hubby frowned. keke
Ya i hope yr bb's head can be engaged soon!

lil CY
Yup, Dr prescribed Utrogestan, that same medicine which i took to support pregnancy during my first trim. He says i need it
He also gave me more Adalat to continue till i deliver.

Shazz
Talking abt organs being fully developed or not i didnt check with the dr leh. Forget to ask.
I also ate about 7 seeds of durian last night. I wake up this morning with pimples on my face... gosh

Cloud
Besides Bird nest i also make sure i eat eggs for protein. Yes, I went to private suite at KKH

Lanolin
My doc is SF Loh from KKH. Not the one at Mt E.
Haha i am drinking full cream milk daily cos my MIL stockup for me. But I am the one who put on weight. :p

mrs yap
yes more eggs good for you. it is the total food for developing fetus and bbs!!! more eggs will also make bbs smarter....

Hi! Just to let you all know, Maternity Exchange at Marina Square is having a special promo for its nursing bras - 15% off when you buy two or more. (1-24 August). There's is a good range so it's worth it to check it out! All for World Breastfeeding Month

There's also 15-20% off designer beansprout pillows and baby carriers. You can visit www.maternityexchange.sg for more
details.

morning, Ladies..I have just take out all the cloth nappies and white baby clothes to wash.. goodness, i run out of bamboo sticks.

Wingkei - Go get a baby cot, I feel.. guess you can get the person to assemble without your presence, it should be fine.. you never know when your baby is arriving so better to get the essential cot ready. I have ordered mine awhile ago and will have it delivered next week when i am away at work and hubby attending to it..

Mrs. Yap - Glad you have a good gynae now. Baby girls are smaller in size usually.. Suggest you eat more lady fingers and coconut water (at least once before your delivery). As smaller babies delivered before 38weeks, prone to jaundice. Taking more lady fingers can help a bit. Like what other ladies here suggested, take more protein food.. Sweet stuff, you have to be careful, you dun wan to end up having GD right? Take cereals, soyabean drinks, eggs, beef, dairy products.. You can do some red dates with dang shen drinks to boost your "qi". You will need tis to have the energy level to push during delivery..

storeberry: u r really farnie!!! I also scratched my head when I saw koras typed "waterfall".

Koras: how old r u ah? u sound really young!!! ahahah!! waterfall = vomit.

Bacon&amp;eggs: yes yes! I saw the gingerbread man. But didn't know if it's appropriate for manyue leh. Perhaps it's more suitable for first yr birthday?

Hey, why must we clean the cot with dettol? Can I use a damp cloth to wipe? And why must we place teddy bears and toys if scared pantang? I'll quickly put my mickey and minnie mouse in the cot now. U r freaking me out lah, bacon&amp;eggs...I really hate all the 'dong dong chang' getai and incense burning this month...super deafening!

Lanolin: poor thing!!! I can truly empathise with u lah...last time in China, I also needed to stay up till 12am to converse with my counterparts and clients in US. Sometimes, they compromise by waking up at 7am their time to talk to me lah...Europe ones were always at 5-6pm, African rep offices 7-8pm, South American ones 7-8am (Latinos are #&amp;*%$ lazy to stay back late to talk to you one...).

Raccoon eyes and indigestion all the time wor...sometimes, I dialed in using my handphone cos I wanted to go home. So my ears are usually hot like hell after 1 hour of exposure to radiation, listening to diff accents!!! SO U TAKE CARE, YAH!!!

Mrs Yap: glad to know u r back!!! 1.6kg is not very small for a girl lah...like Shazz said, as long as the organs are ok, u can always feed Melody Fat-fat after she's born...

Shazz: I also ate 4 seeds of MSW last nite!!! I've been vomiting so much in the past 2 weeks that I suspect my bb ddn't absorb any nutrients from me...

U took some bloom shots too? See see leh!!!

Cloud: Yesterday I ate this fabulous Double-boiled Hashima Egg White curd in Coconut shell at Crystal Jade. Really "bu"!!

<font color="0000ff">Flos
huh?? we can onli claim part of the antenatal package ah? What about those extras? like med, my ctg, strep b test, n what-other-have-we-got???

Dr Cheng always does agaration when it comes to bb's weight. so gotta take his measurement with a pinch of salt wor
anyway, u asked him for the weight, or he measured it himself? I'm looking forward to seeing him on the 11th. wonder how heavy little Max would be by den..

Koras
Hope u feeling better today
mayb keep off oily n fried stuff bah..

Rabbit
phew.. finally exams over huh? i dread to think of going back to skl to face exam periods once again
anyway, thanks for ur concern, am feeling better le. resting at home preparing to be a tai-tai.. haha

Mrs Yap
dont worry too much abt Melody's weight k. U are in good hands of Dr SF Loh now. so good tat she's engaged le. hhmm.. how does ur doc check for it? forgot to ask mine if my bb was engaged already. anyway, like the mummies say, n my MIL swears by it.. if u do eat beef.. can try piling urself with beef
it helps, but do make sure they are fully cooked k. Anyway, from ur pics, u are very petite so y do u wan such a huge bb?
v hard to carry n push out wor.. if u do have a natural delivery

In the meantime, continue to rest well at home k... most imptly, muz relax
oh yeah.. talk to Melody. it helps...

Storeberry
U might have pulled something while getting up from the sofa. it happens to mi too... try to get up slowly. dun forget now we are all penguins
muz sway from side to side yeah...

Wingkei
oh yeah manz.. think u are 1 nice lady.. u've got tons of patience leh..
anyway, like the mummies say.. leave the worrying to ur hb if ur bb decides to pop early

Shazz
u juz tempted mi with MSW durians again leh... aiyoh...

ur pics are wonderful, hehe.. tastefully done
if only my hb was into photography.. den can get him to do some bloom shots :p</font>

LC faintz
Thanks. I heard from my colleague abt eating Lady's finger. Her theory was Lady fingers very slippery and after u eat, baby will come out v smoothly during natural birth.. cos slippery mah.She didnt mention abt prevention of jaundice. I will be going to NTUC later. Lots of stuff to stock up. I really look so fat now. hai

Flos
Actually during wk 29, the gynae scan bb says its 1.3kg. Then 3 days later i scan again at Mt A, sonographer says 1.5kg. Then afew days later i scan again at NUH, its 1.3kg again.
So now after 3 weeks... its 1.6kg... I almost thot she stopped growing. But nvm, i will continue to nourish her the best i can.

<font color="0077aa">Flos; yah, I was scratching my head too!

Shazz: I saw the shots, very nice &amp; woolala!!! Kekek...

MY DH having been cooking Hashima for me for weeks already! Must hint hint!!

Lanolin: Aiyooo... 10pm then can relax?? Can;t switch off your hp?? :p

I just received Zoe's favourtie playtime music for babies from Abbott!! And I applied the Thomson FBI card so many mths back! Aiyooo...</font>

sasa de mouse
He knows bb engaged already becos the head is down and v low.
Oh ya... Dr Loh says my fibroids location are superficial. Not v serious type and my womb might not rupture even if i deliver natural. Actually natural also good lah... can always opt for epi. C-section v painful de. Esp when coughing n sneezing.

storeberry
I also received the Zoe's CD.
But hor dun u think the first song, MY LOVELY MAMMA sounds abit eerie? eeks...
and theres one song i think its I CRY AND I LAUGH... the bb cries alot... so irritating... opps.... heh

dear mommies.. have been reading this thread on and off.. am 33.5 wks today.. horror of horrors gained 16kg and baby is only 1.6kg!!!

Dear Mrs Yap - have been reading about your case and happy that you have a better gynea now.. was praying for you! Read up that to help baby gain weight is to take extra fish oil/ cod liver oil or the omega pills your gynea gives.. apparently can take more than 1 a day. also good to drink those pregnancy milk like Anmum, coz it has Vit D, which helps baby gain weight.. I blew to 16 coz I was eating alot, plus durians hoping it will go to baby but it did not!!!

For me, it is harder to walk/ stand as my stomach will tighten/ harden. Yesterday even sitting down stomach will harden.. had this in 1st tri and gynea said it is contractions.. for 3rd tri I think it is braxton hicks.. going to see him tis fri.. have been eating pills that gynea gave in 1st tri to relax womb.. hope all ok!

Hi springz
Never see u before on this thread.
Thanks for praying for me

alamak... yr baby also 1.6kg like mine... yrs also a girl? Can be v disheartening right. I gain alot myself too. Nvm... we pray for each other that bb be bigger soon.
My tummy is always hard too.