(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">Sri Leo (sri_leo) - some details on BFing storage bags. This is from the lansinoh site -
http://www.lansinoh.com/index.php?src=directory&amp;srctype=display&amp;id=23&amp;view=Products_detail
You can get these storage bags in places like Kiddy Palace, or the baby section of most departmental stores.

And yes, you would be able to retrieve your donation to the private blood bank should it be needed in the future (if not utilized by someone else). If they don't allow it, doubt anyone would want to donate at the first place!</font>

long time no see.. so so many post to catch up ya.

time passes so fast, some of u going to pop in 1 mths time. hee, me still hv 2mths to go

goldfish, use glass bottles from hospital,cheapest source i think ,but u need to get e screw caps. i used to use them. e screw caps cost about $1 for 1 but can recycle. if not buy cheap standard size milk bottles also can, but u still need e screw caps. e cheapest milk bag is avent, but not available in stores now. i also find e other brands expensive, each bag cost about $1 and use once only.

Re: milk bottles
any recommendation? this is e 1 thing i've not purchase cos my #1 only used milk bottles for a few wks and was on pigeon wide neck (that was almost 3 yrs back). what's good nowadays? think need to standy a few, in case its needed thou my plan is direct BF.

goldfish,
for public bank, if u want to use back your own baby's cord blood stored, it comes FOC if the user is the doner him or herself. If the user is the sibling of donor, need to pay a certain amt for the test fees.
anyway, the lady will explain quite a bit to you when u meet up with her.
they are very nice pple. can ask them anything u want.

for EBM Storage, can using plastic milk bottles to store. will not break. infact milk bags (like Avent kind) will tend to tear cos the material is not so thick and milk when frozen is very sharp and can cut thru the milk bag. i used to store my EBM using plastic milk bottles.. I find that's the best and most economical way

goldfish,
yes. i do feel some 'sng' feeling sometimes at the upper part of inner thigh. I think bcos baby's head is down and exerts some pressure there. for my 1st 2 pregnancies, i felt this kind of pressure too especially during the later stage of pregnancy.

Durians:
hee. yesterday I had 6 seeds of durians for dinner
bought the D24 ones at NTUC. one box at $10. Flesh was bitter sweet and creamy, but not thick though.. anyway, it was good

Bigtoes,
So good ah.. you got your HB to do pedi for u.. I think u very fortunate leh.. to get such a thoughtful hubby.. sign.. wanted to do my own pedi too.. but cannot reach.. scared to ask HB to do pedi for me.. he will surely say.. siao ah.. lol

Hi Tasyln,
Welcome.. So which hospital are you giving birth in?? Got a name for ur BB?

Oh yeah, I just went for my Wk 33 check up this morning.. BB Cayden now weight about 2.3kg and guess the same problem came back for me.. Was tested I have an even lower blood count this time round than when I was in my 20th wk.. jialat..
The last time was 9.8.. today is 8.4.. dun know how it counts.. but gyna thought that i would pass.. at least must have a blood count of 10…
Sop sop.. look like I must go eat more burger to have the red meat and iron man..

goldfish..
i oso feel sng sng in my thiighs, knees.. it feels like i just ran a marathon ydae..
guess it is due to the pressure from bb weight

<font color="119911">Momoko (momoko76) - i had a low red blood cell count the last check up at 32 weeks also....was 8+ vs. the last count at the beginning of the pregnancy of 12. You need to have a count of 10-14 to be in the normal range. Anyway, ur gyne didn't prescribe any iron pills? Mine told me to eat more red meat &amp; veggie like spinach, and also put me on iron tablets.

Not sure if the tablets contributed to baby Kieran ballooning 800gm in the last 2 weeks (2.4kg at week 34 now)!</font>

Bigtoes / Momoko - Me too, i was tested with low red blood count of 8+ down from 12+ during my week 20 blood test.. gynae gave me a vitamin pill with higher iron content.. till now, never test me again, so not sure if the iron pills are useful anot..

Hello All the new Mummies on this thread!

So many posts to catch up and I am so drowsy.

I kena house arrest again. Cos yesterday while I was at the flower show, I felt a gush of fluid leaking onto my panty liner. When I went to check, horror or horros - bright red blood!!! Immediately called gynae. Thank goodness was 3+ so she was still open. Had to do CTG and take steroids yday and today. Sigh! Yesterday morning was my 32w5d check-up and everything was fine.

Anyhow, now a bit zombie-fied cos couldn't sleep much. Had several contractions. HAve to continue monitoring. Doc says if one every hour will have to go hospital and stay. ARGH! I don't want!!! So anyway, pls pray for me and bb. Don't want preterm labour!!!

Good news: Bb is 2kg. I put on 600 g in 3 weeks. Everything went to him so he put on 600g in 3 weeks and I zero. Doc says bb is above average for my size. so have to be careful. So no MSW durians for me.

Mrs Yap: How are you doing? Resting at home?

Sasa: You still at home resting? Or free to run about already?

Bigtoes: I met up with SCBB. Whether we use someone else's or retrieve our own, still 26k. No special discount for donors.

SarahMay
OMG what a shock u must've had! Stay in bed dearie! Rest rest rest...! Hope you feel OK?

We seem to be at same stage with same baby weights
mine is also 32w5d and babies around 2kg...I put on 800g in the last 2 weeks and 700g went to them so that was great! even tho i did have more choc and ice cream these weeks than i have in whole pregnancy..!

I’l CY
Wah… ur friend can produce so much milk!!!?? Is she very well-endowed huh though I know there is no relation to qty and size lo.
Bt my nei-nei still look the same as pre-preggie state wor… the sight of it does not give me much motivation liao lo
LOL

Milkmilk
Yah.. I heard can ask for LOTS AND LOTS of milk bottles from hospital.. I wonder issit true or not :p

Stef,
My ‘sng-sng’ feeling seems to be from the ‘mei-mei’ area wor.. strange hoh?

Sarah
Ouch.. I tink u must have scare the hell out of u rite??!!!! I wonder how will I react if I see blood down there… tink I will be ‘frozen’ :S
Yeapyeap, bb sarah will be guai-guai inside u for the time being!!!

Yingflo
IF u ask me, I think EDD buay zun one .. or esp for me since I dunno when was my last period then
LOL
Bt based on gynea scanning machine, the growth of the bb tally with the EDD date lo…

Low Blood Pressure:
I also had the same prob, and doctor just prescribe iron tablets for me to take for the rest of the pregnancy. Fyi, I did ask doctor if that will affect baby directly... no it does not, it's just on the adult and in serious cases, you will feel giddy/faint, etc.. So MTB will still need to take more "pu pin" in order to take care of one's health...

hi mei and shazz,
yeah. i will get second opinion. if this gynae also says no prob then i can set my mind at ease.

l'lcy,
you mean if i go for checkup i shd go to public hospital too? i mean if 'choy' i have to go stay in hospital, i will go to public hospital lor. no money...

sarahmay,
oh dear!!! you must have been really shocked!!! stay in bed and dun get off. will keep you and bb in prayers. oh dear. then your photo shoot has to be on hold liao.

Stef,
Oh.. forget to ask u.. u mentioned plastic bottles can store EBM huh? Frozen milk will not break it mah?
I not beri ‘science’ student lo… so nid ur enlightenment wor

<font color="0000ff">Updates
Juz came back from my routine checkup. Little Max is now 2.5kg @ 33w6d so i'm really very relief already. He's head-down in preparation for natural birth for mi

doc has ordered me to continue my med for another 2 more wks den stop taking le. so i guess it'll be soon tat i'll get to carry my little one

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay
I'm still at home dearie.. haha.. decided not to go back to work le, since it'll juz be a few more wks for mi

OMG!!! wat a scare it muz have been for u. muz realli take care leh.. no more shopping n if possible lotsa bed rest k. dun worry. talk to elisha n tell him mummy's stomach is more comfy so stay inside there for a longer period...

Mrs Yap
how have u been?? haven heard from u for a long time wor.. oh yes.. haven gotten any request for ur addition on MSN leh.. weird hmm..

Goldfish
i oso get the sng sng feeling at my V at times de. juz checked with doc juz now. he said it's normal.. coz now bb pressing downwards le. so it's the pressure on the pelvic area. I oso got increase in V discharge wor</font>

Goldfish,
ya.. the sng feeling is near the mei-mei area very close to the upper inner thigh area.
Plastic bottles - u mean those plastic milk bottles right ? like Avent, Nuk, Tollyjoy, Pigeon, etc.. yup.. these kind of plastic milk bottles can be used to store frozen EBM.. will not break.

baby's weight:
wow.. Everyone's baby seems to be of v good size. i thought mine at 2.3kg @ 34 weeks was super liao.. seems like u all even more super.

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) - *pat pat head* Hope you are feeling better already and baby Elisha decides to stay in for another month or so!
I am planning to go to the Flower show at Suntec after work today!

SCBB has no discount for retrieving your own donation? I spoke to the lady ages back - thought there was a $4500 fee for something. Have been intending to contact them to arrange my donation, but procrastinating!</font>

MUMMIES!!!!!

DURIAN SEASON ENDIng SOON!!!! PANIC IN THE STREETS!!!!!! go attack those durians!!! grab what you can!!!!

arghhhhh....

according to reliable sources..aka durian uncles...it will end come august...when the season ends, those durians left wont be yummy anymore...

alabone
dunno leh. think can go poly ask for referral to kkh or nuh?

goldfish
my friend quite small sized and skinny...boobs think only A leh...but think some hyper stimulation thingy lah..not sure of the technical term for it...

bigtoes
come report about the flower exhibittion...might be bringing junior there tomr

sarah
o dear, you better take care....dun go running around!!!

btw, is the flower exhibition good?

Hi Missk,
So far, I have gathering quotation from Marriot, Carlton, Furama, Conrad, Goodwood. All at least $45 minimum.
I am exploring different options loh.

Keke.. now I feel more at peace wif some mama have tis ‘sng-sng’ feeling.
I thot I have done too much exercise in the gym!!!
Anyone still doing some form of exercise or whatsoever? I dunno when is the ‘ideal’ time to stop all form of exercise leh… still haben ‘froze’ my membership yet
:S

Btw, for experienced mama, anyone nearly kena ‘ZI-GONG-XIA-CHUI’? (womb dropping down – loosely translated) Does it happens to pple who are too ‘active’ after delivery huh??

Thanks Stef for ur assurance on the plastic bottles tingie!

Hey Jojo,
You could try the hotel at Swensons Orchard. I cannot remember the hotel name bt i attended a baby shower there. My friend boooked a restaurant at 2nd floor and it is quite small but quite affordable wor. It was a buffet style and food is nt bad!

missk
my first also 2006. R u a june mummy too? Find ur nick familiar. Did go look at the june'06 thread before but never joined.

goldfish
That sng feeling i also had. Once it was so bad in my right leg i could hardly walk, and I couldn't even lift my leg up to put on my pjs!

If u do sit-ups too soon after delivery, u could get womb prolapse (otherwise known as the womb drooping down thing). My gynae told me not to do sit-ups for at least a mth when i went for check up during confinement.
My massage lady also said not to, and she said avoid squatting or being too active. If u have to bathe baby, sit on a stool.
And if u do caesarean, then even longer. My SIL's gynae told her not to do vigorous exercise for at least 6 mths. When her baby was 3 mths old, she went to try on some corsets. Guess what? All that tugging and pulling while she was in the fitting room made her wound bleed! So hold ur horses!

Ava,
hang on in there! Though I can imagine the thot of hanging on for so long with a heavy tummy isn't exactly appealing...

sarahmay,
take care and rest more! That must have been scary!

big toes
wow ur baby has grown alot!

Hi Ava &amp; Goldfish,

Thank you for your suggestion. I will explore the various option. I prefer to have a private function room kind or at least a section of the restaurant is close off for occasion kind.

Think I will keep exploring the options

hi all.. just got the latest motherhood magazines, taka is going to have its baby fair from 7 Aug

i also just received my fitti diaper samples, they're pretty generous, sent me 4 samples and a pamphlet with special offer of $60 for one carton (6 packs) with free delivery. if you're interested in getting samples, send an email to [email protected], need to let them know your address, contact no., child's name and DOB.. i just put the EDD.

jojo, hey maybe u can consider Globetrotters. I just ate there last weekend and they also hold parties. I am sure you are spoilt for choices. Just that need to research now lor

hey isabelle..yah june 2006 mummy but i dun join their thread ...Is your first also a june 2006 bb? I think we might have talked a few times on oct08 thread.

Hi Missk,
Where is globetrotter, I heard about it before but wondering where is it ?
Another baby fair ? hooray, more shopping..but seriously i think i have bought all the necessity leow.
Hi Cloud, I have subscribe to the motherhood mag too but have not receive
look forward to it tomorrow. On the fitti diaper sample, you mean i just send the details to the mail and get the sample ? I am interested in trying out different diaper
Thanks for the lobang.

wow, so many posts to catch up! I'm totally zonked out today after acting as Emcee for one corporate event. Shagged man...I need to go to Kenko real soon...

SarahMay: RU alright?! It sounds scary!!!

Sasa de mouse: LC Cheng told u the weight or it was part of you growth scan? I wonder if he'd tell me this Fri...hmmm...

xuanting: aiyo...what a scare for u it must hv been at the MRT. Was he a Chinese national?

isabelle: how come ur fren was so impatient to wear that binder after 3 mths? For c-section, it's best not to bind so early.

U r like me...I hvn't decided on a name for bb yet!!! But I have shortlisted a few English and Chinese ones liao. Just gotta look at his face and confirm the name.

Ava: r u sick? Me too!!! Last nite I puked 5 times! I must hv 'jinxed' myself by mentioning in this forum that my heartburn has miraculously disappeared! NOT TRUE!!! It's back with a vengeance! All my expensive birdsnest got thrown out!!! OUCH!!! Woke up with raccoon eyes...*-*

IRON TABS: why is everyone told to take iron tabs? I hope my blood count is alright. I take iron tabs daily...

lilboymom: Durian season ending? Thot durians are available all yr round?

EBM storage: I bought lansinoh milk bags and some medela bottles. I still dunno if I'd hv enuff BF. I might end up like one mommy here a few days ago, selling my Mini Electric Pump PLus, who knows??!! kekeke!

cloud: MOtherhood Fair? Not again...Dun think I'd anything to get from the fair...

Jojo: I hv moved 8 times in 6 yrs! I only display my wedding pictures now cos I dun take them everywhere I migrate!! haha.

Manyue: So most of u r going to hold it at the hotels? I think Sentosa is really too far for guests right?...unless they live near Telok Blangah...

bacon&amp;eggs: which pte clubs would u recommend for manyues?

Hi Flo,

I am surprise you can still emcee in third trimester. I was giving presentation yesterday and i was catching my breath for every slides...
Really bad for me... you still have good stamina !

Moved 8 times in 6 years ! my gosh...
I have not decide on baby name yet... think hubby and me are so laidback.... We did not even do research and shortlist name.... we are terrible....

xuanting, that's a scary experience! luckily that guy didn't managed to do anything. in the evening usually i have to walk a distance from the bus stop to home and i'll always be wary of people walking behind me. maybe i'm also paranoid if someone rob me from behind or snatch my bag. :p

SarahMay, omg.. are u ok now? better rest more and don't walk too much anymore.

l'l CY, really durian season ending soon? i went to joo chiat for durian last evening after reading about so many of you had durians. hehe.. but i only had 4 seeds cos i was still feeling very full after dinner.

bb manyue
my colleague did his girl's man yue at the chervon club's function room. it's buffet style catered from the restaurant there. i think it will be cheaper than those hotel's buffet. else maybe can consider like orchid country club etc?

<font color="0077aa">Goldfish: I just met up with the SCBB staff, she told me that if we need to retrieve our bb's stem cells for tranplstation its FOC, (Yes, provided it is still available) it will costs $26K if we get someone else one, US$45k (I think) if retrieve overseas.

Sri Leo: You can buy from the spree thread to buy Playtex milk bags cos its cheaper than lansinoh. Playtex does not have ziplock so its cheaper. But you will need to buy those clips to seal the bags. For glass bottles, will not suggest ypou get too much cos it will take up alot of space in the fridge.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Xuanting, glad that you are ok!! Miust be careful!

Sarah: You &amp; bb will be fine, GOD will protect both of you!

Cloud: I also just received Fitti samples today!

Alabone: Hows the nacho &amp; cheese? Its yummy &amp; I gotta stop myself! Haha</font>

Thks Bigtoes &amp; I'lCY for the info ...

Storeberry, i tink i'll decide to buy it after bb is born.. who noes if skali nt much breast milk den the milk bags will go to waste... But choi la..hope dere's enough supply of milk for my dear bb...hee...

juz oso come back frm Giant @ turf city.. gt tis grp of foreigner guess frm China/thailand keep walking towards near me.. angry sia..why shld squeeze into me.. gt space wat! I tink they aiming my bag or itchy wanna touch touch me.. purposely like wanna bump into me...

jojo: i'm surprised myself too why my boss didn't bother to find another replacement. quite inconsiderate lor...I had to go to backstage to sit down to rest whenever a speaker takes on the mike.

my DH and I are laidback too! But this runs in my family. All my siblings gave names only after the bb was born. Just wanna put the right name to the face...Some bbs look like a George, others look like a Pierre...hehehe!!

Jessi: can try Tower Club, China Club or ONE 15 degrees Club!

sarah may
must take care... no more flower show for u now... better rest in bed and slow down yr movement. Do yr gynae check why u bleed?
My hospitalisation leave will be ending soon. Not sure if it will be extend by gynae when i visit him this fri. Due to medication i took, i am experiencing faster heatbeat and breathless. For nothing my heart will beat v fast

Sasa de mouse
I pm-ed u my msn addie
I try adding u on msn twice but no response
think its better u add me instead

just to share on EBM storage. i dun think using glass bottles is advisable as a long-term solution, especially if u need to keep recycling them. the glass might chipped &amp; drop into the milk after extended use. secondly, the volume it can stored is so small. how many bottles can you afford to stock up? plus how are you going to stack them up in the freezer?

for me, i definitely use milkbags. at one stage, my freezer contained 100+ bags of milk, arranged in chronological order. i stored up to 250ml per bag &amp; freezed them lying flat, so that easier to stack. it was pretty wasteful, cos i didnt really utilise the stored milk, mostly gave or donated away. but it definitely came in useful when i was sick &amp; need to be on antibiotics, rendering the fresh EBM unsuitable for consumption.

i have not tried using plastic bottles. due to the rate i was storing the EBM, i doubt i can afford to buy that many bottles. anyway, i dun use the frozen EBM for myself, so the bottles wont get to be recycled.

as for donating cord blood to scbb, i did that with my gal. but sad to say, her cord blood was not stored. the coordinator helped me to check - it was due to the low volume collected. this time round, i hope my #2's donation will be successful, so at least there is one single "hope" for both of them to share.

after reading xuanting's posting, now i'm also a bit paranoid. i have to walk my gal to my ILs' place every morning then back home at night, alone with her. if really got a snatch thief, i cannot run after him cos i got to look after my gal. i'm definitely an easy target. oops, must really re-look into this, to tighten up "security".

regarding bm storage...
okok..those thinking of doing it hor, you better pray your lil one will take to bottles hor. my son didnt take to bottles and even one year down the road still refused. have to spoonfeed and even then most of the ebm goes to waste.

im quite relaxed on bm storage now. not even sure if the sister is going to be as stubborn as her bro. if she is, then siao liao...

flos, jessi
that is accodring to durian sellers lah. thing about durian 'season' is the abundance of very good quality fruit. when it is not in season, the fruits are only so so even if you pay a fortune!

hb enjoy buying those really really cheap durians. he thinks it takes skill to choose the good ones outta a pile of junk. but ive gotta hand it to him. yesterday he bought 5 durians for only $10 and some were even better than the MSW i ate at the beginning of the season!!!

but im going to stop durians liaoz. too much not good lo, that's one problem staying so near geylang

jessi
four seeds? that is tasting, not eating durians..kekekekekekek...

l'l CY, oic.. but i think maybe by the time the durian season end, will also be popping soon liao then perhaps don't have the durian cravings anymore. hehehe.. ya four seeds no shiok! but i don't dare to eat too much, scared i will be too full then get heartburn. maybe next week will have it again after my next checkup appointment. geylang so many durian stalls but so difficult to find parking lot!