(2008/09) Sep 2008

sri leo
lots of reasons: birth timing, faster, no need to go thru labour pain, previous c-section or other ops so natural not possible.

generally...but my frens who opt for c-section say it's worth not hvaing to go thru labour pain...i dont mind labour pain, then next time when they are naughty u can say to kids "you know how long I had to tahan pain to give birth to you???!!!",..assuming u dont tell them you took epidural lah!

hello isabelle, mine is born in 2006. How abt yours?

Re: Banana
Yes, banana can cause constipation. Avoid giving bb too much bananas.

Re: Post natal massage
Any good recommendation? I lost the contact of my previous massage lady.

whahahahaahaha... Ava... tts a gd one.. ya..i plan to tell my kid tt... heee.... I hope i can endure the pain w/o epi.. juz using gas mask.. cz wanna hv the feeling of it.. guess tis will be my one n only child...

hi isabelle..

missk.. for phototaking.. alot of people seems to be going to studio loft. a mtb from another thread went last week too.. this is their website.http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
for SMH members, u can get all the shoots back in cd for $250.

sri: wow.. u r brave to go thru pregnancy n giving birth urself.. i dun think i can ever go thru it myelf..

anyone having weird dream like giving birth to their bbs? for me, i have been having diff kinds of dreams of me having contractions and giving birth in funny situation... even my hb also gotten funny dreams for me giving birth..

as this is my 1st child, i m feeling stressed and apprehensive as EDD draws near.. feeling v ill-prepared.. sigh

ava: keke.. wat u said is true.. my mum used to tell me n bro how much she suffered giving birth to us.. esp for my bro.. she endured like 20+hr of labour + many jabs + forceps to get him out.. dunno y he din go thru C-sec then..

hi Taslyn..

I hv no choice one... since I insist to keep my bb, i hv to go thru all tis alone...
So juz take one step at a time..

Yup..me too.. having weird dreams like i hv difficulty in delivering my bb... another dream I dreamt I deliver to bb boy & mum was so excited.. another dream is tt I dreamt my ex was beside me when i'm abt to deliver.. hehehe... macam macam la...

When is ur EDD?

sri..

at least u gave ur bb a chance to live

no worries, u will be a good mummy..

my edd is 20th sept. but last checkup, the date changed to 5th... that y i stressed now.. but will be going for my checkup again this wed... hopefully bb dun growth too fat else dr say hv to c-sec (which i'm trying to avoid) hehe..

at least ur dream is quite normal.. my dream are like really weird like i go thru 30-40hr of labour. my hb worse, dreamt that i went thru 3 day o labour n when i gave birth, it was a boy who was 21 yo.. faintz..

when's ur edd?

<font color="119911">isabelle (isa_belle) - argh...my massage lady seems to be okie with post C-section delivery massage, so I am hoping she knows what she is doing &amp; I don't end up with a permanent flabby tummy!

I went for my week 34 gyne appnt earlier - and baby Kieran is now 2.4kg! He grew 800gms the last fortnight - and I put on 1kg. Have gained 10kg to date!!

I guess that proves to show how the gyne's weight estimate is really just that - an estimate/guesstimate! 800gms in 2 weeks is alot (I don't have gestational diabetes), think she most probably underestimated at the last appnt &amp; made up the difference this time. My SIL also said that at her last gyne appnt before delivery, baby was suppose to be about 2.5kg at birth, but ended up being 3.1kg! Very agak-agak, so no need to be too concerned if baby seems too heavy or too light...</font>

natural vs c section
it's an experience in your life lah, like getting married or having sex. nothing like it. c section, you can easily have another operation if you wanna experience what it feels like..kekekkeke....

it's part of life's cycle!!!

flos
so you arent taking any photoshoot? yeah, hb's more afrain HIS pictures will be shown (with a preggie nude woman) on cyberspace. his line/field of work quite conservative lah...all ah peks and uncles in it so he was like nonononono....

sri leo
hihi...think many chinese also wants to choose dates for the birth of their children? some dates are not auspicious maybe??

coconut drink...
eh, i assume drink only the water hor? coz the water is good for health but the flesh is high in cholestrol...

thks Taslyn..

whahahahahahaahahaha....funny la ur dream.. My ex did dream of me out of the sudden deliver when he was on duty, den he rush to the hosp.. when he reached hosp den lift on service..he hv to climb the staircase &amp; pushing all the nurses.. he said he feel so nervous &amp; excited... hahahaha...

wah...u mean 5th sept? mine will be 12 sept.. hehehe... whr u going to deliver?

Don ponder too much on ur dreams.. i read at babycentre tt is normal for us to hv such weird dreamz...

Stef&amp;Sean,
What is SCCB cord blood donation ? Is it public bank ? If so, can give me the contact ?
I am interested in donating the blood cord to Public Bank.

Rachel
Labour pain can be in the form of feeling of wanting to poo. When i was in hosp, the mummy opp me said she had her 1st bb with epi.. this 2nd one she was caught unprepared at home... she was doing laundry when she felt pain... she tot she is going to poo... then she go toilet... scully her bb came out and she delivered in her bathroom... fortunately her bb survived...

coconut water
most people drink the water only... but u want, can eat the flesh also.

sri:
lol... ur dream oso funny... i wonder wat i will dream tonight. just felt the dreams are v weird and since my sleep is disrupted, there are many diff senarios.. my hb say i gila already..

EDD keep changing so i really dunno... see what dr says on wed lor.. i will be delivering at TMC..

btw alot of chinese choose dates for bb for various reasons.. but mainly is due to pantang..
i know of mummies whose EDD in Aug bring fwd go for edd coz pantang (aug is chinese 7th mth) or some fengshui thingy that calculates the "optimum" results that is good for bb and parents, some are due to medical reasons eg fibroids or bb too big, some are to fit with hb schedule...

Hi Flo,
As Jaymickey paid additional $250 for the CD to get back all soft copy hence she is able to upload the photo. As for me, I did not want to buy the CD as not all my pictures turn out well. Hence I have no soft copy to upload and show.

Hi Jaymickey,
I actually saw many of the nude photo on Maryann computer when she demostrate her portfolio to us. That also put me a little bit uncomfortable as who know will walk in looking at our pictures... Nevertheless, if you only take the semi nude one is actually okay, not too expose... So i think we no need to worry.

Hi Bigtoes, notice you are one of the those who like to plan ahead... Any planning for first month celebration ? I am looking for venue, hoping to tap on your research

Taslyn:

Tell Hb its nt gila la.. juz tt we preg women tend to feel exicted, nervous &amp; anxiety... hehehe...

Millie:

recently went for checkup at KK gt tis lady approached me wanna donate or nt my cord blood... I apply oredi...its public banking.. ur going to deliver whr? if KK i tink i gt the contact number..

lilboymom: dunno leh, just not compelled to take the pics...I didn't take a lot of wedding pics either. I didn't even hire a videographer on my actual day. quite bochap...

yah lor! my DH's line of work also pretty 'strait-laced'.

Isabelle: skin tags are like goose bumps.
http://www.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A1Story20080211-49055.html

I tend to agree with u that Malay masseuse tend to be a bit scared to massage those who underwent c-section. My SIL's bump remained big (like 4-5 mths big) after her massage. She continued to hvae that watermelon hanging on her after 10 mths. Luckily, she struck 10mths after her last delivery. Looks like she is not going to lose that huge watermelon any sooner after her second delivery...

Jojo: oic. u can still photoshop those pics u dun like mah...

bigtoes: wow! your bb has grown soooo much!

Ava: aiyo, u sound like my MIL. When she heard my DH would be with me when I deliver, she said to her son, "now you know how long I had to tahan pain to give birth to you" Can't stand her saying that...she is always reminding her children how much hardship she underwent...as if they will forget abt her
My mom also underwent the same labour pains and hardship wat...

<font color="0077aa">Went to see gynae at 6pm just now but he was away for delivery!! So gotta wait till about 7plus.. BB still head up, guess he like to be up &amp; about.. Haha!! Dr asked me to talk to bb to ask him to cooperate.
BB is 2.1kg now, will see dr in another 2 weeks time.

Sri Leo: Now even gynae give me the scan copy also can deciper what is what. All black color one.. Kekek...

Shazz: I am also waddling around too! And my pelvic bone hurts when I get up from bed and chair &amp; also when I tried to wear my shorts or pants!

Flos:"You marinate yourself daily with the oil?!! LOL"

This is so funny!! And for FB, you can actually set privacy settings so that its only available for your frens &amp; not for their network.

Hi Flo,

Too lazy to photoshop lah. Anyway when i recall my wedding pictures... still collecting dust in the drawers... So I do not want to spend so many but just blow up a few that i like to display in the house loh.

storeberry: have you found your CL replacement already? can try PM those mummies who are doing their confinement now or just finishing in the June and July thread

<font color="0077aa">Hi shazz: Thanks for your concern, I called a few recommendations by frens &amp; SIL but majority is fully booked. And Thank goodness, Mrs Yap gave me one &amp; I just confirmed her this afternoon.

Jojobar: My wedding photos are beside my bed, my hubby like to look at it once in a while while in bed.

LC: You are back! I still feel that Sept thread more happening!</font>

shazz,
thanks again. yeah i read up on it previously when i had such high blood pressure. will monitor it myself.

l'lcy,
your hb is really one practical man. if you really want to have massage/lipso/meso just go ahead and sign on your supp card first lah. then let him pay for it when he gets the bill!!! by then, hehehehehee, too late for backing out! hahahahhahahahahhahahha!!!!

stef&amp;seanbabes,
my mil buy MSW durians from this make-shift stall outside her fren's medicinal hall. her fren is the "landlord" over this stall mah. so when the fren asked the durian seller to choose good ones for my mil, the ones bought home are really good &amp; value for money. however, i dun have the exact location of this stall.

bigtoes,
when wk tan "measured" my gal's weight during my last appt with her, she predicted 3.2kg. and my gal's birth weight was really 3.2kg, right down to the 3rd decimal place. i have confidence in her "estimation", shouldnt be too far off.

haven't been able to find much time to come in here cos i just took on an assignment. but must quickly warn you guys about something which happened to me last fri!

was on the mrt heading to meet a friend for dinner and when i got to my stop, i "excuse me" my way to the door to get out. this man who was right in front of the door "siammed" to let everyone else before me out, then when it came to me, he looked at me, and decided to get out too.

i thought, how nice, must be because i fat and he wanted to give me more space to move, and that he would get back in once i had waddled out. but no. he waited outside the door for me to get out then walked almost side-by-side with me to the escalator. i felt a little uncomfortable so i deliberately slowed down. wa lau, he slowed down too and when he got to the escalator (damn crowded ok), he didn't get on but sort of stood at the side, like waiting for something like that.

he finally got onto the escalator just as i got to it. i dilly-dallied again and got onto it a few steps after him. he stood sideways and glanced down at me quickly and i thought, can't be interested in me, right? upon reaching the next level, he drifted around before turning right to get to the turnstiles and i decided to turn left, but suddenly, he turned around again and walked behind me!!!

really didn't feel right so i walked sideways to go to the control station (didn't go out) and called the friend i was supposed to meet and told her to meet me at the control instead. the fella, upon seeing me make the phone call next to the control station, promptly disappeared.

i believe what happened was that the fella must've sort of made a last-minute decision to follow me upon seeing how fat and clumsy i am, and perhaps find a chance to quickly grab my bag and run since i probably won't be able to give chase plus i was holding a really easy to grab short-handled tote bag. he's like in his 20s, a skinny indian chap. definitely not my friend or anyone i might've gotten to know anywhere (in fact don't look local). after this incident, it suddenly dawned on me that we, along with the elderly and other less mobile folks, are really easy pickings for anyone looking to commit a snatch theft.

have decided not to carry any hand-held bags when i am out alone; sling bags and backpacks are a better option. do be more alert too ok, everyone. goodnight!

wah Xuanting... which mrt is tt?

recently, my sis exp familiar cases like u.. She was at woodlands MRT..

Btw gd morning to u &amp; all!!

good morning ladies!

Thanks for the comforting words...I'm coping fine...just very tired at times cos i still hv 2 boys to run after...

EDD is 1 Oct but i'm pretty sure bb will report earlier as my other 2 children were born at 38wks.

Wonder if the hosp will allow my sis-in-law to accompany me in the labour ward? It'll be nice to have her around to talk to me while waiting, and also to take photos/video of the first moments. Hb said he wants to witness the birth but i reckon it's pointless. Or maybe i taking it as a form of "punishment" for him.

TRaz,
you must be having quite a terrible time now.
who is going to help you take care of your 3 kids ? Are you going be a single mum to 3 kids? can you forgive hubby one last time ?

xuanting
I'm so glad you are ok... &amp; thanks for alerting us.. guess we are more vulnerable now, easy targets.

Yesterday went for my check-up, Devon's now 2.4kg at 33W3D. He put on 700gms in three weeks. He's already head down &amp; in anterior position.

alabone
hahaha..that is a good one. i should do it...but come to think of it, i dun have any supp card from him leh...

traz
hang in there..im sure you have your reasons for this last resort. it is not easy being a mother to three kids and i admire your resilience in this.im sure your children will grow up and appreciate all that youve done for them!

if you need anyone to talk to or anywhere to vent your frustgration, come in here and 'chat'...

xuanting
luckily you were alert enough. sucky men who target pregnant women!!!

<font color="119911">Jo Jo (jojobar) - hah, don't plan that ahead...on venues for 1st month, I am just going to hold it in my apartment itself, or if there are way too many people, book the private function room at our apartment building. Can't u just have yours at your apartment as well?

twendy (twendy) - u had ur last baby delivered by WK Tan? Hmm....okie, so in that case, her measurements are more accurate than other gynes...

xuanting (xuanting) - wow, thanks for alerting us. Never thought of myself as being 'invalid', but yes - we are definitely easy targets for snatch thieves now

morning ladies,

xuanting,
that was one horrid guy. trying to target a pregnant woman?? thankfully you were so alert! thanks for alerting us too.

l'lcy,
hehe. better dun try it lah. next time he bar me from meeting you.

i've decided to go see another gynae for second opinion abt my high bp liao. i'm showing more and more symptoms of pre e and my bp is constantly at a high of 147/98. it's crazy. my gynae didn't even ask me to do any blood test.

am down with a cold..boohoo...went to see gynae today for 32/33 week scan. babies are still transverse...boohoo...weights are ok: 1.8 and 2kg. Doc said if they continue being transverse, will need to do C-section..but he said can tahan till 39 weeks...!!!!

xuanting (xuanting): yes, when I walk home from the MRT, I also check around and make sure no one following me etc. As I heard of horror stories where snatch theives target pregnant women as well. In fact, there was one period where I try to walk against the traffic flow, so I can see if any motorists tries to grab my bag, just like in JB and KL. Think we have to be on our guard all the time, whether or not we're preggy anot. So long as we "act alert" they wont dare to do anything. When I travel overseas, I'm also very much aware of my surroundings, so that I won't be a target.

storeberry: that's a relief!

alabone
Everytime I go to see my gynae, my BP shoots up.. it was 160/89 yesterday but after that I took manual reading &amp; it went down to 120/74. I know that I suffer from white coat syndrome where my BP shoots up whenever I go for checkup, but to play safe, my doc still made me do a blood test to rule out pre-e. Better to play safe.. so it's good you are seeing another gynae.

Hi Flo,
We enlarge and display couple of the nice wedding picture on our wooden platform. For the rest, is in the drawer.... So I was thinking to enlarge one maternity picture and put on our wooden platform.. like a different milestone for our life

Hi Bigtoes, we have quite a big group about 60 over pp... hence hubby like to do it outside our home....

HI Stef

For the public cord bank, i tried to absorb the information on ur provided URL
But I cannot seem to find anything regarding if the donor wants to retrieve the cord blood in the future, is it possible?
Would u know?

BTw, issit true that for frozen breastmilk, plastic milk bottles are not encouraged cos it may ‘break’?

Goldfish:

Frm wat i noe.. once u donate ur cord blood, u cant retrieve it... Its totally belong to them.. but if u need it for health purposes (touchwood) &amp; ur blood cord still nt yet being used, u can use urs...

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - for the public bank, yes - u can retrieve the cord blood if required in the future, but there is a cost involved - something like $4500 for your own donation, and $26k if its someone else's (Not sure if i remembered correctly. Other mommies, pls confirm). This is of cos, provided that ur donation has not already been utilized (which is quite a low likelihood cos i think they have only made one match to-date from the 4000+ donations they have).

On freezing BM - best to use storage bags? Can get the medela ones, or cheaper brands (I bought some lansinoh bags thru Shazz during the last spree.)

Hi Bigtoes/Sri
Thanks for ur replies! I am writing to them on tat.. once I got the answers, will post it here

Breastfeeding bags:
I heard abt those.. bt they dun come that cheap rite? Any ‘innovative’ alternatives? Like maybe like glass containers or cups or etc? I know I sound ‘cheapskate’ lah
keke

Oh yah, anyone out there feel abit ‘sore-sore’ down there? It is like majiam u beri long never go running and ur thighs give u those kinda of ‘sore-sore cum ‘sour sour’ feeling?

hahaha... whr gt cheapskate.. me worst.. trying to save up.. buy bb stuff tt gt offer only.. hehehe... n i try to buy 2nd hand stuff..

wat is breastfeeding bag? wats the purpose? I juz get to noe there's diaper bags oso.. wah.. so many terms i learnt since I'm pregnant.. hee..

nvr feel sore lei... u mean like ur muscle tense izzit?

Bfg bags:
I used to use Medela bags and bottles. Sometimes I use Avent bags. On a few occasions, the Avent bottles cracked. So this time, I am not going to use them.

Goldfish, Yes, u can use the glass bottles. In fact, hospitals give them away for free. You may want to try that

Jojo, I didnt know that Hotel Phoenix has closed down! Wah...I am so out of touch with things going on in Singapore. Which hotel r u eyeing at?

alabone
maybe you should approach a public hospital this time round. pre e management can be costly coz it means hospitalisation from now till you deliver with constant poke poke from docs...ctg and what have yous.

frankly, when it comes to management of unforeseen cases, i trust public hospital more. at least more accountability.

sri leo
think she meant breastmilk storage bags lah. to store expressed bm loh.important especially when you go back to work.

bm expressing...
but i used to have a friend who had hyper stimulation or what have yous. she had so much bm that she just put them in those plastic bags that you put sugar cane drinks and coffee. she can produce at least 1 litre everyday..that is the least ok!!!she will bring back usually up to 2-3 litres home from work...poor girl lah...

goldfish
can try avent cups. actually any bags is ok coz you arent going to reuse them anyway. just make sure they are clean and sterilised loh. frankly by the time you return to work, the bb wont need such clean things anymroe lah...