(2008/09) Sep 2008

massages,
all these talk abt massages make me miss mine. am really in need of one to get rid of all the knots and kinks.

bigtoes,
you've choosen 30 aug for your c sec? did you pick that day for a special reason? mine will be done on 18 sep pending gynae's approval.

jessi
Can just walk-in, the masseuses at Kenko are all trained. Only thing is they tend to be fully booked, especially at peak hours.

Flos
Your posting of this painting makes me miss the Louvre!

<font color="119911">alabone (alabone) - i wanted 28/08/08 for obvious reasons, but then my gyne doesn't do planned surgeries on any other days except for Wed &amp; Sat. 30th Aug is a Sat, and we ended up picking that cos its somewhere around wk 38+ for me.

Mine has been 'approved' by Dr Tan, but we will have to monitor the baby's development closer to the date before finalizing. Hopefully, no more changes, cos I have already booked the airtixt for my CL to come by in early Sept.</font>

Mei: yea, I wanna go to Paris after my bb is old enuff. Sunrays is going in Jan 09. Lucky her!

Hey all, I hv not seen another beautiful wedding picture as Carina Lau's one in recent years. Check this out! (I've to reduce the res)

1577558.jpg

<font color="0077aa">Flos: Yah, who is Eldelynn in FB??? I have asked previously but no one answer?? And when I asked her she said she just want to know more mummies???

Massage nipples is abit eww!!! Usually my own masseuse don't touch the nipples before I was preggy, so strange!

I fell asleep a few times during training even though I slept from 12am - 10am but woke up two times, still feel so tired!</font>

<font color="0077aa">I send her her message before I approve her cos I don't know who she is.. But she reply like so mysterious &amp; seem like a few mummies added her. I didn't cos I don't know who she is!!! Who knows????</font>

thanks, ava.

eldelynn
i just presumed she's someone from this thread when i saw her request cos she's friends with several of us already. no one knows her?

so cute, the little monks. i find bhutanese and tibetan men v good looking leh. they have very honest eyes and nice straight noses. *drool*

Eldelyn??? I also dunno who that is.

Shazzz: Hehe... just curious. But seriously, i eat beef. However, I don't think I shd expect a really big baby cos i was quite small. A 6-pounder range bb. My mum ate beef every single day, lunch and dinner, when she was expecting me. Still...I didn't grow beyond the 7-pound mark. Btw, have u got ur napisan yet? I only see the hot pink packaging of Napisan.

Ava: Those tips you shared are what I do too except tt I didn't pay the osteo for them. hehe. I just kinda found it out myself. The support behid the back really helps!

Flos: I have been having this nagging pain in my left rib, below my boob. Been sleeping on my right a lot more. Is that a REAL pic? Or doctored?

Jessi: You're hitting thebig 3???? You look soo young. Someone mentioned tt u were still a student ...i think i got it wrong. Hehe.

BOOB MASSAGE: A midwife/massage therapist told me that we should start massagin our boobs(not nipples) when showering to help prepare our boobs for nursing. Also she said we can start clearing our ducts when we see some yellowish stuff on our nipples/aerola area. She teaches some antenatal classes at Mt E. But has anyone been told this too at your antenatal classes?

Jaymickey: 800 for 10 sessions is pretty ex lei. Same as the shop I showed u on Sat. But I dun mind finding out more. Can share her contact.

Bigtoes: I end up on my back too! I realised that i keep switching positions throughout the nite. I seem to go thru the left-back-right routine several times each nite. I wake up cos of my backache. Very annoying.

Alabone &amp; L'il CY: How come you know Calvyn? Tiny world.

Alabone; the Ken i was talking abt is a drama teacher...was at the workshop too. I think he isn't the same Ken as the PE teacher in your school.

<font color="0077aa">Limay &amp; Sarah: I always end on my back too!!! The pillow I put behind my back always get shifted, so end of the day no more support!

Don't know what's wrong with me...short fused today! Tonight when I was turning out from my mum's place into the main road, the "kan cheong" taxi behind me horn me. I was so irritated that when I turned out I slow down &amp; stop &amp; waited for him to pass &amp; raise up my hand &amp; ask him what he wants! Aiyooo... can't imagine myself doing that!!

And my SIL's SIL just "tua" me!! She cannot do confinement for me! Jia lat, now frantically trying to find new ones!</font>

yo mummsies!!!

aiyoh, you guys very funny, accept people as friend never check out one huh...kekekke..actually i think she is from december 08 thread. not sure coz went to her fb and saw she is from some december 08 thread..but maybe not SMHF lah...but she sure is young...

sarah
yesyes...i know him but i cannot recall anything about him except we worked with SLO before....

skinny pig
no worries. im a second time mum and i dun even know how to make milk powder!!! as for milk powder section, i always bring hb there to remind him how much i saved him by bfg my son so long!!!

Hi mummies... I am Back!
Really like to thank all of you for your mental support all these while...

In order to let all of u had a better idea of wat happened, the following is an account of the ordeal. BTW i spend 14 days in Hospital

9 july
Was abt to pick up the broom when i sense somethg leaking... to my horror its fresh blood. I was alone at home then n i called my hb who managed to reach home in 5 mins. I called the clinic to page for my gynae but my gynae was on leave. So a female gynae called back instead. Actually I was relieved to know its her who will be seeing me cos i knw her from previous surgery and i know she is a caring and more detailed gynae. When she called back, she asked lots of qs like wat i was doing be4 bleeding, wat i ate and etc... I couldnt ans her cos i was freaking out from the bleeding which is flowing out uncontrollably. I onli knw i told her... I am bleeding badly!!! Then i had contractions and one side of my tummy felt a sharp pain. She ask me to be admitted to Mt A immediately!

When i reach Mt A, she checked my cervix and its half cm dilated. She took out a big pc of blood clot when she did a V check and ordered 2 steriod jabs to mature baby's lungs jus in case its really preterm labour. Its the most painful jab i ever got and the pain lingers ard for abt 2 mins before it subsides. I cant lift my leg even though i tried hard...
Then i was put on Ventolini drip and oral medication to ease the contractions. The drip really helps but it gives me faster heart rate and major water retention on both legs. The next day they took off the drip and send me to normal ward at noon. My hb happily go home by evening thinking i'm alright. Abt 9pm i sense the contractions coming back and I quickly ask the nurse to do CTG for me... CTG shows v freq contractions and I was transfered back to observation ward. When the nurses at the obs ward saw me, they all said... aiyo u notty gal why u come back again... then they ordered me to lie dwn and start poking me with that IV cannula to start the ventolini drip again.. then they start saying my bb is notty etc... I cant take it anymore and i broke into tears. My hand pain plus my heart pain also... cos i dun think Melody is notty. They took blood samples from me and result is ok... they did ultrasound also ok.
The female gynae was v caring and she visit me 3 times a day to check on me... i really feel at ease with her... then on sat night she told me my own gynae will be back on sun morning and he will come see me tml... my heart sank cos i really drag the sight of him. Before she leaves she says i give u 2 weeks hosp leave and u cant leave the hosp for the moment.

Its Sunday morning n comes my own gynae, he saw me and didnt even bother to ask me wat happen... the sec he saw me he says i wan u to be discharged by 12noon n he give me 1 week mc and tats including the 4 days which i already spend in Mt A! So stingy!!! I was still on drip and he did not even put me off drip to monitor my situation be4 sending me back home... I was puzzled but again i TRUST that since he is gynae he shd know... BUT i was wrong.

Sun night 13 july
I reached home in the afternoon.... i felt contractions every 5 mins by evening... i called my gynae n told him wat happened... he sounds v sian and he ask me to go back mt A and he will see me TOMORROW... I was angry wif him for causing me to go in and out of hosp. I told him, I am going to go KKH this time round cos my frd who is a nurse at KKH says they are specialised in preterm babies. Then he says.. OK ask the doc at KK to deliver for u... bye bye. Simply bochup!

I reach KKH and they said they dun have enuff incubator for bb if she really comes out early... so they called SGH... SGH also no vacancy... thats how i ended up in NUH... be4 i leave for NUH they poke me with another IV cannula to put me on drip.. i was send to NUH together with the drip in an ambulance. The medical team attended to me... they are really nice docs, as i didnt chose a specified gynae there, there are a few of them attending to me... i must say they are really attentive and gd... 1 senior registrar and 2 younger gynaes... i feel so at ease with them the lady gynae even come to pat pat my tummy and ask if bb is moving well... The senior registrar came and told me he suspect my placenta shifted causing it to tear and bleed. He send me for another ultrasound and true enuff my placenta is torn at one side. I wonder WHY Mt A's ultrasound scan didnt show it.
I can see the haemorrage on the ultrasound screen myself when NUH did the scan. They increase my medication dosage from 6 hourly to 4 hourly cos i cannot be on Ventolini for too long as it will damage my lungs.
The NUH tried to contact my gynae for my past medical report but he always reply saying he is VERY busy... in the end i call the clinic myself and the nurse says he is v bz to find my report... i was v shocked my this kind of stupid reply... then i said... hey its an emergency, i can deliver anytime! Then she says... aiyah u talk to him yrself.. then she transfer the call... end up she pick up the phone again and says gynae will call me back...
An hr later he called back complaining lots... he says when he wants a report from NUH, he got to fill up a form, PAY A FEE, wait for 2 to 3 wks... and now they got this young chap doc to call him demanding a report from him... then he says ask the senior doc to call him... even the seniors were once his students and bla bla bla.... I was so pissed off and said... u mean u taking revenge thru me?? In the end NUH managed to get the report after 4 days. When i saw the "report" i got a shock... its not even a report lor... its jus a few sentences describing the type of operation and location fibroids... I got 5 but he wrote 4 fibroids... I really give up on him!

During my hosp stay, i got 1 dozen pp who advise me KKH is better... so i have booked Dr SF Loh for appt. I heard he is a nice gynae and he is a v bz man too... I hope he is not too bz till bochup like my ex-gynae.

Well this is wat happens in a summary and I hope its not to long and draggy...

Hi Sunray,

I have the same EDD as you - 4th September! Where are you delivering your baby ? I am delivering at Mt E.
I have been constantly feeling heavier due to the growing tummy. In fact, I feel weaker since pregnancy... I used to be strong as horse..now working late is becoming really hard for me. On the good side, at least you and baby are growing.. for me, the consolation is baby is growing... but I am getting weaker... In fact, i have not been putting much weight since pregnancy. Not sure is a blessing in disguise... But my gynae and nurse now become concern as i am in third trimester....

Mrs Yap
Good to see you back...hope u dont have to go thru this ordeal again...! how's everything otherwise? u need to be on full bedrest now? do take care!!!

Mrs Yap,

Welcome back!! Take care! Just put the past behind u and look fwd to the delivery of healthy Melody when the time is right.

Hi Mrs Yap,

I am shock of reading what happen to you.... Gald that you are strong to pull through all this. I will pray for you and your baby

Take Care... By the way, can you let us know who is your gynae ? I think I need to warn others about him... The way he treated you from your account is unprofessional.

Ava Flos Lok
Thanks... I am glad to be back home too
SOOOOOOOO boring in Hosp... basically eat n sleep only...
Now my condition stabilised and I dun think i will be going back to work till i pop... HB forbid. Yup... will put the past behind though i still had nightmare yday... will look forward to first appt with SF Loh

storeberry told me about the get well card and i am looking forward to receive it. I smsed her my address already
Jus saw the photos of gathering at Canele in FB
Canele looks so posh... fine dining wor...
I hv been eating hosp food for past 2 wks and the sight of cakes really makes me drool

hi mrs yap,
really glad to know that you're discharged and resting in hospital. that gynae of yours was really irresponsible. what's his name and where's he from??

like the others said, put all these behind you, rest really well now and look forward to seeing melody! take care ya?

sarahmay,
oh yes! now i remember the ken. he's that short guy right?? nope. he isn't in my school.

hi mrs yap!!!

put the unhappiness behind you...your gynae is yucky.self centred and childish.

melody is a good girl.she stayed guai guai in your womb despite all these crap from your gynae . you can be sure she is a very understanding girl next time!!!

sarahmay: yes, I think that wedding pic was doctored. can't possibly climb the himalayan mountains in Vera Wang to pose with those monks right?

Anyone taken their studio photos yet?

mrs yap, feel so sorry that you have to go through all these. hope all will be well for you after the "shift" to KKH. take care of urself, yah...

Flos
I'm sure they could have rented some helicopter to fly them into the mountains?

I dont think my bloom shots (if DIY) are gonna happen...

<font color="0077aa">I just send out the card today!! Didn't pass by the post box...

Mrs Yap: Glad that you are back home &amp; a nice gynae will be with you, I think that's the most important thing! Take care &amp; GOD bless!</font>

ava: i think the outlines are not well-blended and not very contiguous leh.

how come not going to happen?

r u working still? we can do lunch some time!!!

There is this The Patissier at Mohd Sultan or Ang Siang Hill that bakes full month cakes. I need to check that bakery out. http://thepatissier.com/webtop/Browse/fullmonth.phtml

OK, sleeping time...just had my cordy soup. hope it's digestible.

mrs yap, welcome back! i'm glad your condition has stabilised and that you are now seeing a much better and more caring doc. hope everything will go smoothly from now.

Mrs yap,
glad you are back home now. Rest Well and put the unhappy events behind you.

Storeberry, thks for sending out the card

storeberry
Don't feel bad about raising your hand at the taxi driver.. I do that at times too when I meet impatient &amp; irritating drivers on the road... lol.

mrs yap,
so sorry. just read my post to you earlier and realised my typo. i meant NOT in hospital.

weather these days really bad. hot for moments and then rainy. those ladies who are still working, do take care and be careful. remember to have your brolly with you.

going for gynae checkup later today. can't wait to see bb and find out how heavy she is and also, ask doc how many weeks pregnant i am!!! I've absolutely forgotten!!!

xuanting, Bigtoes, Flos, the masseuse massaged our nipples to make it more supple for breastfeeding later on. But she did it so matter-of-factly that I didn't feel embarrassed or anything. Anyway, my eyes are closed and covered so I can pretend nothing's wrong. haha....

shazz, that's strange as I've read books telling us to massage our nipples, we can start even earlier than this, so as to make them supple for breastfeeding later on. My aunt also told me I can start massaging them since I was like 4 or 5 months pregnant.

Lok/Alabone
I guess after two pregnancies, u dont keep as close track anymore
I have my weeks in my PDA calendar...lol that's the only way i keep track!

<font color="0077aa">Meie: Haha... Usually I don't do that, I would just curse &amp; swear behind the wheels, don't know why I was so short fused yday!! Glad to know I am not alone! Haha!!

Alabone: Update us on your bb!! I am only going for check up next mon!

Wingkei: The books I read also says that if you massage your breast will caused early contractions as well.

Confinment lady: Anyone has any good recommendations?? $1800?? Thanks!</font>

alabone,
i note down my weeks on my desk calender and put my gynae monthly visit schedules in my handphone calender. So i remember how many weeks pregnant i am
i'll be going for my 34th week appt this sat

Hopefully Sharmaine will be 2.1kg and head down too..

<font color="0077aa">Jaymickey: I posted yday that my SIL's SIL "tua" me she last min cannot come &amp; help so I am looking for alternatives now. I would prefer recommendations instead of agency cos don;t know how the CL is like. Aiyoo.. like panic lo...

Ava / alabone / Lok: Aiyoo.. 1st pregnancy like me also can forget the number of weeks.. I depend on babycentre email to keep track! Haha</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Yap
Welcome back!! glad tat everything is all rite with u now. So do u have to be on complete bed rest? Is anybody looking after u at home? are u on any medication now?

put the past behind u and look forward to having little Melody in ur arms soon
oh yah.. it'll be good to share ur ex-gynae's name &amp; hospital so we can help pass the word around to condemn him wor, so tat no one else have to go thru all these suffering again</font>

Mrs Yap - welcome back!

wingkei - not sure which is right then. The gyne at the Dr's talk also mentioned that massaging nipples (or having sex) is a surefire way of triggering contractions (esp useful if you are pass your due date).

<font color="0000ff">Wingkei &amp; Bigtoes
oohh, when i complained to my gynae that my breasts were leaking colostrum (oops, dunno spell correctly anot), he did warn mi not to squeeze my nipples too coz it would bring about contractions</font>

Mrs Yap.. welcome back.. and welcome to the KKH gang. My gynae Tan Kim Teng (KT Tan) is not bad, very motherly. You can consider her if you have any problems with the one that you've chosen. She's not the friendly sort but she's very experienced and motherly. I chose her because I've read good reviews about her stitching skills which is very important to me.

Went for my gynae appointment yesterday, BB is around 1.83kg @ 33 weeks, gynae says that he's between small to normal weight. Hubby and I went up to the 8th floor to take a peep at the wards, we only managed to see the room where they keep all the babies.. so cute!!! the boys were dressed in a blue towel and the girls in pink towels. each baby had a packet of pampers NB diapers and johnson &amp; johnson baby wipes.

MrsYap: so glad you're back home! can finally sleep well yah? I understand that when you're in hospital, you're always being monitored and checked upon, so your sleep is never peaceful. Yeah, Meloday is a good gal!
You must be so proud of her that she guai guai stay in you hor. Rest well and dun do anymore housework ok? *hugs*

Massaging of Breasts
a friend of mine told me to start massaging to tell my body it's ready for production of milk when I'm past week 37, so as not to trigger premature contractions. It worked for her and her MS kicked in by the 2nd day. Of course, it triggered her contraction and she delivered just 2 days after she starting massaging. I might try this method only if my baby is very big and I want him out asap without inducing! haha