(2008/09) Sep 2008

Wah, alot of you have started washing your baby's clothes...! I think I will only wash them 1 week before my scheduled c-section cos am afriad of all the dust that might be settling on them. Also set up the beddings then too. For those with c-section, dun need to wash so early, cos you are already 2 weeks ahead of your EDD. BB is unlikely to come out that early.

Worse case (of early delivery) while u are in the hospital, can get some one can go wash for you at home. I belive in freshly washed and sunned clothes for baby.

<font color="119911">stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) - yah! My scheduled C section date is at week 38, so hopefully he doesn't come out before that. Its on a Sat, and I am actually intending to work up to that Friday itself!
What is more, I am moderating &amp; presenting in a conference just a couple of days before, so he better not be early cos we aren't really doing any contingency planning should I not be around.

Dr's talk - is anyone else attending the Dr's talk at SCGS tonite?</font>

Hope I'm welcome here. My edd is on 6th sept. (",) But I somehow got this feeling my boy will be a aug baby. But I hope not too early. Gotta spend alot of $$ &amp; not very healthy if the baby is too premature rite?

My twin boys came at 32weeks. But they're considered quite strong &amp; healthy for premmies.

Btw, I'm quite concerned about my weight gain. I seriously gain too much weight for a single baby I feel. At 32weeks now, I've gain 20kg. &amp; my weight gain is quite constant. Around 1.5kg every 2weeks. How. I'm afraid I'll hit the 80kg mark. But luckily I'm slightly taller then average. at 1.66m, so I don't look so fat!! haha

But doc didn't mention it's unhealthy lar. But still, I'm only worrying how am I gonna lose all the post-natal weight man. Hai.

Any of you goes to TLC clinic at TMC?

Hi kel,
Of course u're welcome! LOL...

I go to TLC and so do a few other moms here. I see Paul. and expecting twins this time round! How heavy were your boys at 32 weeks??? did u go to TLC with them as well?

storeberry,
I feel guilty pouring the ramen seasoning over the noodles..so to make myself less guilty, i use normal soy sauce and pepper lor.
At times, I would still pour some of the seasoning in..hee..

Mei,
Good idea...i am thinking to get the changing table from ikea (the white one with storing shelves (not drawers). I think I better go get it this weekend..no much time...so much to do!

btw, what abt the table top for bathing the bb? I think we need a table for bath tub..dont see how we can bath the bb in the bathroom or sink or on the floor...??

Goldfish,
I think i will machine wash..not so "Qin Lao" to hand-wash..but Shazz's suggestion to put them into nets is great...will do that..so that the clothings will last longer..

Hi all, haven't posted for a long time..

weight gain - i've already gained 14kg, used to weigh 54kg (pre-pregnancy), now i'm around 68kg, my height is 1.57m, think i look like humpty dumpty now. anyway i've already planned my exercise regime after i give birth, going to start running (or walking) again and going back to the gym. my friend gained 20kg during her pregnancy (about a year ago) and now she's back to her old skinny self.

back pain - before i got pregnant, i was already suffering from something called iliosacritius, i basically had pain from my back to my left buttock, an MRI showed that i have some degenerated discs which are pressing on my nerves, there's basically no cure for it, i'm supposed to be doing some exercises recommended by a physio to cope with the pain. now that i'm pregnant the pain has gotten worse but i only feel it when i'm lying down on the bed and when i try to get up. i'm hoping that its not going to cause too much of a problem for me when its time to deliver because i don't intend to use any pain relief, going to rely on good old breathing techniques.. when i went for my prenatal classes, the physio there recommended doing pelvic tilts for those suffering from back pain.

baby clothes - i've already washed all of my baby clothes and put them into my new ikea drawer set.. but MIL says should wash them again nearer to my EDD.. actually i don't see a need because they're already clean.

maternity pads - i've bought poise (the largest pack), can't stand the look of those maternity pads.. so humongous..

nursing bras - i went to MC at harbourfront and parkway, couldn't find my size.. think i'm going to order online from iwantmilks..

my bb is really super active now, was in the computer lab earlier on with my pupils and he kept on moving and moving, i'm surprised that my none of my pupils noticed

sunrays - i will transfer the money to you once i've sorted out the problem with my IB

shazz - you think the desitin stuff will arrive before saturday?

Hi ava,

Congrats!! Are you trying for natural birth? My gynae is Paul too. I deliver my twins natural with no epidural. (",) He's a gd gynae, just that he's the cool cool type. Haha. Not those Lor Soh type rite?

How many weeks are you now?

My boys at birth were 1880g &amp; 1800g. Both lungs ok. Quite matured. Twin 2 stayed for 5 or 6days &amp; Twin 1 stayed for 6 or 7days. They're quite lucky lor, don't have to be in incubator. But in NICU as reflex action like sucking not strong yet. Need to be tube-fed.

So your your twins identical too? Boy or girl?

Hi Kel, my weight gain is also a concern too. Everytime my gynae will shake his head and say...hmm, not good, 3kilos in a mth! At 30weeks plus I already gained 14kilos! Think by full term, i might hit a total of 20kilos.

Hi grace, but you're better then me leh. I think at full term I would have gain at least 25kg!!

Can you imagine how much weight goes to us. Haha. Baby=3kg, placenta + water= 4kg.

Then for my case it'll be 25kg - 7kg. I gain 18KGS myself!! OMG!! haha.. But the prob is how to watch our diet. Hungry must eat leh. hai.

So today I slept till lunch time. MEans I skip a meal already. haha. Missed breastfast, still got dinner and maybe supper at 9pm.

Usually I have around 4 - 5 small meals. How about you?

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - yes, am going for the talk later today, will look out for u there
Heard that its quite boring thou....

Weight gain - am up 9kg to date
but think the gain is slowing down cos I only went up by 1kg last month (of which 0.5kg was the baby's weight). Read that from week 36 onwards most mommies' weight will stagnate

Bigtoes, i'll be going for the Dr's talk this evening. seemed like alot people not going?

washing of baby clothes
i think i will only wash my girl's clothes next month cos my EDD is almost end sept. so don't think i want to wash them so early.

sunrays, i had transferred the money to you for sat's gathering.

Grace,

we are in the same boat.....jia lat...i better control my intake now. i dun wan another 20kgs n end up perm w mi, unable 2 shed away.

Hi Bigtoes, lucky you then. My friend gain a total of only 9kg till she deliver. &amp; by the tiem she was discharged, she was back to her pre-pregnancy weight.

Doc's talk? Issit FOC? or you all sign up with TMC's parentcraft?

<font color="0077aa">Kel: Welcome! The Dr's talk is what the mummies signed up for the pre-natal course.

Cloud: Oh dear, better walk more slowly than usual &amp; aviod task that will hurt your back! I also can't find the nursing bras I want at MC, think I will get from MIM.

Alabone: I missed the BP for Nachos cheese.. Look so yummy!

hi mums..

Long time didn't log in here. Haqs anyone starteed planning when to go on ML yet? Anyone planning to work until the very day itself?

kel (optimus_ke) - my SIL gained 8kg at full term and her baby was 3.4kg or so! Nothing left to lose after that...

On the Dr's talk, this is part of the Parent Craft package.
Kym - its from 7-9pm at SCGS, level 2. See u gals then
(not like we will recognize each other, except for bacon&amp;egg).

<font color="0077aa">Harlo, mickey!!! You are back!

I am planning till work till I pop but in between will rest for one day or so... As for the walldecor spree do you reckon it will arrive before we pop? :p</font>

Storeberry: You sent me the orders for walldecor liao? Sorry, no access to email in the office. hen is your EDD? Early or late Sep? If we order this week or next (latest), shd be ok. so now, you must help to lelong the spree so we can get enough orders and go!

nursing bras:
i bought the 2 pkt MC nursing sleep bras at $44 after 20% discount.

mickey,
i plan to start my maternity leave from 4th Aug. my due date is 4 sept. I'm going to quit my job after my maternity leave, so need to start the leave early, so that i can quit earlier. Intend to quit on 3rd Nov, so last day is 2nd Jan

Kel and Linda, Ive 3 main meals and inbetween another 3 small meals, yet my dietician said I'm doing the right thing by having small meals. What she don know was, I eat until my heart content type.

But after I realised that I got GD then i started to control my diet. Had been pricking my finger for the past 2weeks and fax the reading to the clinic, luckily today I got a call from the clinic saying that my sugar level is satifactory and I can stop pricking finger now till the next review with the doc.

Already control my diet but weight still shoot up like nobody business. I'm at 1.68m, before I was 45kg, now already 59.2kg. I don look fat thou but my gynae keeps want me to control my weight gain and every time i see him, he sure shake his head. Make me so confused, every pregnant lady I saw at the clinic all bigger than me leh..yet my gynae seem so concern about my weight gain...

What a nice foot massage at Kenko...hmmm...I feel much much better now.

Ava: Hi! r u back at work? I just read in today's Life that Bradgelina's twins are pretty light. 2.3kg each.

Mei: I was at Ikea last weekend to buy some kitchen furniture, but didn't get the baby changing chest cos I hate the hassle of putting the panels together...I suppose I'll drop by VHive again and see if I could find another chest.

I also bot a lot of home organisers for other junks that I want to stow away!

bacon&amp;eggs: I think you can buy a stool from Ikea and sit down to bathe bb in the tub. Standing is another option but I find the rack not very stable leh

Bigtoes: Oh, I almost forgot about the Doc's Talk. Please take down some pointers, ok? Tks!

Baby clothes
I washed mine the minute i got them cos wanted to put them away in drawe. I did the same with my son's stuff last time...i hung them up on the drying pole and they all looked so cute, i started tear-ing...

Kel
Yeah, Paul is def not the lorsor type..i guess thats why the wait to see him is usually not too long, unless he's delivering etc. Another mom on this thread also just transferred to Paul to try for a VBAC

I tried no epi for my first (boy now 4yrs) but after 2 days plus of contractions, i had to give in and had epi and forceps birth.

Wahh, i dunno if i can go natural this time. were ur boys both head down? mine are transverse now...
both are girls (ident)...if u dont mind, how much was ur hosp bill? am super worried about that. I'm 30 weeks now going on 31....not too far off from your delivery time for the twins!!! how old are they now? pics???

Flos
Oooh brangelina twins are out already...hehe must go read celeb goss news...i wnder how much they'll get for their pics! am working from home today, back in office tomrw, from home on thu and then office on fri.

ML
I am working from home 5 days a week next week onwards (as far as poss) except for attending meetings; then ML from mid Aug...unless i feel i need to go on ML sooner.

Stef: Wow! That's less than 1 mth away! Do you have some annual leave to clear as well? If yes, you'll work for even shorter. I plan to go on leave starting on 15 Sep.

Storeberry: I left the hospital from work for my #1. It was quite hectic and I had even planned to have a conc call meeting that evening. Before I was pushed into the OT, I was talking to my colleagues who had called me to call into the meeting! The last person I spoke to was my boss. When I told him I'm at the hospital, he told me to go home and rest and he'll chair the meeting for me. I had to tell him "I'm not going home. I'm going to deliver now!". He repeated "Now?" I said "Yes, now!" Was quite hilarious.

Hi steph&amp;seanbabe,

Your 1st child? For TLC appts, best to go on weekday if possible rite? if not too pack.

I might be going to TLC this sat. Any of you going?? (",)

Hi storeberry, I guess it's the same 1 I went 3yrs++ back. AT SCGS rite. Not very boring lar if you're a 1st time mum. Can learn abit here &amp; there. I actually thought of signing up "refresher course" with parentcraft. But hubby say waste $$. haha. we should know how to handle number 3 mah..

Grace: like what Flos says.. i tink you're a model too. haha. Figure to die for ar.. haha. I can't lose back to 45kg. Previously I was at 1.66m and 45kg. After my twins, my weight fluctuate between 50-53kg. haha. Now already 75 kg!!!! Can cry ar!!!!

Shazz
Thanks for the good suggestion to ‘rinse’ the washing machine before dumping bb clothes! Initially, I receive feedback tat it is not ‘good’ to dump bb clothes in washing machine cos’ it will haf residues of adult detergent etc. I was so ‘turned-off’ loh.. I cannot imagine myself scrubbing bb clothes with a washing board in the toilet lo :S

Btw, have u all experience having BLACK SPOTS on ur own bath towels?? Issit because the towel got stuck in the rim of the interior of the washing machine?

Storeberry
I was told maternity pad is good cos it is thick and provide better cushioning. I wonder how true it is…

mickey,
yes, i hv to clear all my annual leave as well. so after i come back and tender, i will work for abt 3 weeks, then i'm officially a tai-tai from 2 Jan'09

Grace Toh,
looking at ur height and weight, guess u must be very slim before preggie.
even now at 59.2kg, it's not heavy for your height and furthermore being pregnant.

Kel,
this is my 3rd child already!! Eunice chua delivered me for my previous pregnancies too. for TLC, best to go on weekdays la. but i cannot make it on weekdays, so my appts are usually on sats but very early like 845am or 9am. my next appt is on 26th July (34th week).

Ava: It does? Haha..

Not my recommended arrangement definitely. Becos there was no closure, right after delivery, I was still thinking abt work. Didn't have enough time for me to switch off properly. So I'll advise to take off before the EDD.

Flos: Exciting? I won't call it liddat at all. Tramautic maybe.
Yah, it was emergency C-section, no less. Hence the shock of it all. Best to plan everything way in advance.

Stef: I intend to take 2 mths, clear 1mth annual leav, followed by another mth of ML. So I'll take 4 mths in total.
Will be back just before CNY.

Good luck to you on the upcoming taitai life. I went back and forth umpteenth times debtaing and fighting with myself if I'll enjoy more not working, and I can't stay convinced for long.

goldfish: BLACK SPOTS? that sounds pretty yucky! Algae is it?

Did u use washer tablets to get rid of those grime from the inside of the drum? Or you didn't sun-dry your towels long enough?

stef&amp;sean: r u serious of becoming a tai tai? I'm also thinking of that, i.e. tender when I'm done with the confinement. R u sure you'll be happier if u dun work? I'm not convinced, like mickey.

<font color="0077aa">Mickey: Sounds so funny!! No, haven't send you the orders cos I am not sure whether you plan to start or not... My EDD is 5 Sep...

OK OK LELONG LELONG :p Anyone wants to buy from http://www.walldecorshops.com
Cos I find the wall decors nice &amp; its cheaper than buying from winkplay. Below are some of the pix:</font>

1559311.jpg

1559312.jpg

1559313.jpg
1559314.jpg

If you are interested, can PM mickey? Mickey, how do you want us to post orders? Email?

Item name:
URL:
Size:
Color:
Price US$:

Hi ava,

Mine actually quite unexpected. I felt contractions every 20-30mins then I rush to see paul. But he say it's just uterus tightening. So he prescrible me some pills to loosen the uterus. That was on a sat I remember. Then he kept assuring that everything was fine, blah blah. But on the following thurs early morning at around 5++am. (which is around 4-5days after i see him).

My water bag burst. Babies were head down already. Then too late lor, gotta deliver. He came to check to see if there's enough fluid left so maybe can delay the delivery for a few more days. But can't. Already dilated 4cm I tink. Then quite fast, I delivered at 11am.

My boys now 3yrs 2mths. Size &amp; growth development I would say quite fast for premmies lor. They are the same size as kids their age. So we're really very lucky.

Slight delay in motor skills mainly. They walked at 16mths. But my mum say it's because they're lazy like me. haha.. I walked at 16mths too. Speech wise, teachers from their previous montessori &amp; pre-nusery now commented that they are faster then most kids in the class.

So try not to worry so much ok. If can, try to rest more so baby will grow quickly too.

My total bill size for the twins alone was an additonal 6k++. We didn't have enough medisave so I remember paying this portion in Cash. But i remember us having a slight discount on the nicu stay &amp; baby's doc visit as we have a relative working in TMC.

If not i this if the twins were to stay for a week, bill for the babies alone should be close to 10k. hope this helps.

BTW, (touch wood lar) if your twins come slightly early, you can request paul to go to SGH. Bill mite be cheaper then TMC.

Meanwhile, just don't worry so much, if not will affect the babies. (",) Twins usually will be slightly pre-mature. Maybe 35-6weeks should be alright.

1559317.jpg

Grace,

u hv a good pre preggie figure..so no worry la..
unlike me..1st preggie..puts on 25kgs. gynae took away only 6-7kgs..d rest follows me all d way..haha..no matter whether i exercise or eat less stil same..
Now 2nd preggie..i control my diet..but still weight moving fast..sigh! guess it fated for me to be a FAT FAT mummy..
for d 1st 25kgs puts on..i console myself by telling myself..worth it..cos had a handsome boy..haha..hopefully 2nd 1 wld b same then i can also console myself..haha

Stay home to be tai tai,

I would love to be able to spend more time with my children, but I still have a bond to serve, so am going to take 3 month maternity, 1 month leave, then 3 more months of NPL giving a total of around 7 months. Dun think I will quit to be stay home though like Flos and Mickey, though I love my sons to bits and will want more time with them. I have former experience as a sAHM for 10 months, and as compared, I think it's still good to be working, for the financial freedom (can buy things for myself and my children without having to get from hubby), and also for the mental stimulation.

Having said that, I think best deal for me after I go back to work in Apr is maybe to start part time work... 3 days in the office, and 2 days out. At least for the early part of my no. 2 life
And resume full time work when they need me less.

I am concerned that if I quit, it will be hard to rejoin the work force next time. Somemore at that age, I really dun want to have to prove myself all over again. ;)

Flos, Kel and Stef&amp;seanbabes,

I'm not a model just at the skinny side. Before preggie, I always wanted to gain some kilos but my stubborn body would never willing to take in even 1kg for good. Now, seeing the kilos keeps adding on, I was very pleased at first but gynae don think what I think thou. He will always ask me, "you know how much you put on this round?" then follow by a shaking of head...hahaha

I decided to take 2 weeks off before my due date, really scared when the waterbag burst when I'm outside. Hope my girl be good and stay in my tummy until God's timing then pop. :D