(2008/09) Sep 2008

stef&seanbabes, u r so slim! i'm the same height as you but your weight at 28th weeks is still lesser than my pre-pregnancy weight. i feel so fat now. :p

flos & bacon&egg, thanks i will go check out the Mustela and Avent barrier cream.

i took my pregnancy photo yesterday. like the ones i took myself in the mirror more than the ones my hubby took for me.

to all mummies who think i'm slim, actually i'm not slim le.. my bones are v light and i'm small built. i hv fat thighs and i also hv cellulites in those fat thighs..

stef&sean.. nope nope.. my baba means fleshy fleshy..not peranakan.. if i were one, i guess i'd be 0.1tonne liao with all the good food.

Bigtoes, so now i guess u look better in a way..at least everything is proportionate now! haha

stef&seanbabes
Hehe...i think crayon meant she has been "bakbak" all her life, as in fleshy...like me too! both baba and bakbak!

hahah trained by my dad to enjoy my food lah...have i posted before that my hb put on 10 kgs in our first yr of dating cos my dad would stuff him with siew yoke, roast chicken and roast duck when we went back to my place from the NUS hostel on weekends?

preg photos
NOT YET!! i dunno if they will happen!!!

wingkei
Some gynaes have lower tolerance level of weight gain than others. mine doesnt care what i eat...my mom however, told me i could only put on 11 kg with my first born...i went over that tho!

crayonshincahn, ava,
oh.. ahahha.. mistaken wat baba meant.. i understand now.. hee
so funnie. my hokkien is v poor..

shazz - it's funny how u shared ur cooking experience. I have the same feeling when I was cooking some time ago (I don't cook often as the thought of washing up makes both the hubs and I v tired). My tummy is protruding a lot front-wards, I decided to start cooking sideways, turning to my right coz I think the baby is lying head-down more on my left side. HA HA HA HA....

Flos - I also have heartburn -- it's really about eating a little, slowly, not too spicy and sitting up straight after that. Some books say that u should even sleep with more pillows so it doesn't feel as bad. Re traveling on public transport - I know what u mean. I've been really indulgent ... travelling by cab most of the time. Now with also the super siao surcharges, it is getting heavy on the wallet!!! aiks!!!

I've gained 8.5 kilos so far ... I have been snacking on cookies and tau sa pias a lot but at night, I try not to eat ice cream but have fruits instead (partly to ease constipation...eeks!) Have been thinking a lot about durian but so many people have told me to abstain. SIGH....it doesn't help that Sunday Times chose to highlight the durian season yesterday!!! ARGH..... *tormented*

Shazz - I can't go to the gathering this saturday so don't need to bring my loot...I'll collect it from u from bugis soon!
Thanks a lot again.

crayonshinchan - my butt was big, but not THAT big lah. At least now, I am very obviously preggers, no need to fight with people for MRT seats!

yan (bbfam) - share ur photos

Lanolin - durains are going for as cheap as 20cents each!!

stef&sean: MUAAHAHA!! Bak Bak as in Bak Kut Teh, u noe!!!

Lanolin: I just had Indian cuisine for lunch. Tooooo spicy.. need to cut down. I've been travelling by cab to and fro office @ CBD too! can u imagine how broke I am! Need to go on ML soonest possible...

Dun eat durians anymore even though prices have gone down to $0.20 per Sunday Times' report.

Ava: it is quite strange that my DH put on soooo much weight even though he is not by his pregnant wife's side all the time? Thot this only applies to hbs who are accompanying their pregnant wives to binge?!! heehhe!

Hey, you lying down when u are supposed to be working from home?!!! tsk tsk...eat snake, yah?!! hahaha

crayon: u r hitting 80 kg?!!!! WOW-WEE!!! I've never hit 70 in my entire life and it's scary to see that no. on the scales now!

bigtoes, i'll try to upload the photos here tonite.

Lanolin, no wonder yest me n hubby passed balastier n geylang area, ALOT of ppl having durians at the roadside! hubby keep asking me if i wan to go n join in for durian. but i dun have craving for it... he's been trying to entice me to eat durian ever since i'm 5 months preggie.

yes FLOS! rub it in.. ahhaha... WOW WEE some more!! I'd nv hit the big 8 before oso.. like u said liao lor.. bakbak as in bak kit teh!
but more like bui bak now... SIAN..

flos, ava is working from bed la. ha.

peranakan food
i have been craving for nasi padang and perankan food the past week. where can find nice nasi padang and peranakan fare?

yan / limay - yah lor....20 cents per durian leh! I am very gian but must distract myself. Even Flos here is quite clear that we shouldn't be eating durians at this stage. boo hoo hoo...I should start focusing my mind on something else. But what in the world can replace LULIANNNNNN??? ha ha ha

Flos - wah, go into CBD very siong. My cab ride is out of the CBD and it takes only 10 mins and in the morning, it can cost me like SGD 11!!!! (I call cab also la...*guilty*) U know, I took a cab home on day from Orchard to the East ... cost me about SGD 18!!!!!! It's going mad.

Actually i think can eat durians lah.. in moderation.. i think i will get some Mao Shan Wang this weekend.
My friend was telling me many of her friends had that when they were pregnant, and the bb turns out fine...

lanolin, we can eat 1 rite??? dun eat too much lo... eat abit can liao. but eating alittle will not satisfy your craving one... hahaha!!!

RXmom / Yan - heh heh...u 2 are my supporters. I shall eat a little. I ate 4 seeds last week. Maybe I have a break this week and eat a little next week. :D

Am going to be in 3 day conf from tomorrow onwards. I'll try to catch up on ur posts when I'm back on Friday!
hope Mrs Yap will be discharged by then and every one keeps on being healthy and happy!

Yummy! We have to avoid durians as they are too sweet but eat a bit is fine. But watch out for heartburns! I love durians but nowadays, I'm resticting myself to TWO seeds a month, not two DURIANS. haha.... So sad.....

<font color="0077aa">UPDATE FROM MRS YAP:
Was discharge yday but at night felt pain again. Went to KKH &amp; was transferred to NUH. Need to be on drip again, can't depend too much on drip cos will affect lungs. Worse case is premature birth. Really in great pain physically &amp; mentally.

EVERYONE, PLS PRAY FOR HER HEALING!!!

Weight gain: Aiyooo.. for me, I put on weight on my face leh!! So irritating!! But I realise I like to snack alot nows, especially potato chips &amp; french fries, all the salty stuffs!

Flos; Yummy durians!! I am having slight sore throat past few days so have to stop my durians intake. My DH just called me yday &amp; told me he bought some good Kampung durians from KL... Tempt me again!

stef&amp;seanbabes: You look so petite!</font>

lanolin: ahhhh, me too...I call a cab every morning!!! I can't take MRT anymore...Very lazy...

Yeah, should I grab a box of durians from Cold Storage later? Bitter-sweet ones...yumyum...

Not so much the sweetness, it's more about the over-heatiness you'll pass on to your bb! Recall my colleagues's pus-oozing skin condition throughout her childhood? DON"T OVEREAT durians!!!!

<font color="0077aa">Durians: I am keeping to four to five seeds a day!! Hahah.... Cos when I open the fridge can smell the durians... Aww...</font>

actually, Mrs Yap. I did eat them with mangosteens

Oh dear, storeberry, please send my warmest regards to Mrs Yap...

RXmom, I'm amazed at my self control nowadays. haha... I think on the good side that it will be easier for me to lose weight later.

Oh dear.. I hope Mrs Yap will be fine!

I think I am the most jia lat over here lor..

Last thurs, I had about 15 seeds of durian at my in law place. Fri night when I reached home around 10pm after night course, too hungry..

I suddenly remembered my hubby brought some durians back from my in law place on thurs night and he has opened them, put them in tupperware box.

So I finished up all the durians in my tupperware box - about 12 seeds of them...
Very shiok and satisfying.

Yest, went to buy a big coconut and finished up all the juice!!!

mei, how much did you spend per person at the rendezvous nasi padang? i haven't been there in ages but i remember it served yummy food! they still have the eggplant with sambal chilli?

mrs yap's edd is 24 sep so she should be just going into her 30th wk now. i hope she'll hang on a few wks more, if not until her edd. is her o&amp;g doc still following up on her since she's now in nuh?

skinny pig: wow...15 seeds is really a lot, yah? which type? Mao Shan Wang?

Can we eat LYCHEES? I saw some China ones at Cold Storage and would like to buy them.

Coconut juice? thot that's for later stage of pregnancy?

Not the mao shan wang one.
It's those kampong durians which my FIL went to pluck personally at Lim chu kang.
My FIL owns a fish rearing farm @ LCK so he knows where's the hot spot to get 'free' kampong durians..

Some quality not very good, but there are some that are really 2 thumbs up!!!!

xuanting
We spent around $75 for 4 pax.. had beef rendang, chicken rendang, curry chicken, sambal egg, sambal brinjal, perkedel, soup ayam, lime juice &amp; chendol dessert. There's a discount for HSBC CC.
Typing down all these food makes me crave for it again.. lol.

Flos
I started on coconut juice already.. I take once a week.

Coconut juice

I started drinking coconut juice 2 weeks back when I was 31 weeks.. Have been drinking them once every 2 weeks.
When I reached 36 weeks, will drink on a weekly basis.

That's what my mum taught me...

oh dear, pray Mrs Yap and Melody will be fine.

Lanolin: hee, I totally forgot about my bump lor, just happily cooking and focused on getting the food yummie ... sure, will meet up with you at Bugis instead. Or you want me to pass it to Ava?

Flos: u r at with with the pictures again! ahhh ... I have to resist the durians ... mao shan wang is my fav! I ate like twice a week before hubby headed out of town then. Then now that baby is on big side and I gained 15kg for 8 mths ... I have to cut that out!

envy those who can eat ... hehe

skinny pigs: I heard pp went to pluck kampong durians from the Yio Chu Kang forests too!

Where may I buy coconuts? How to cut coconuts? I've only started to drink barley cos my MIL says so. It's about time to cool down my body system...

shazz: i'm hungry for durians, wat to do

wow... my hubby cant tempt me with durians... but here, everybody talking about makes me think of having some. anyway i dun eat alot of durian cos not much craving for it. the most share 1 durian with my hubby. then its enough for me, otherwise will feel nauseous le..

Ava: Your extra weight is because of your twins! Anyway, I've seen your photos, you don't look fat at all! So how are your twins doing?

Crayonshin; Don't be silly la! We all have diff body types! So no need to feel frumpy or fat! Just come, eat and be merry!!!

Storeberry: Thanks for the update! So how long does Mrs Yap need to be at the hospital? Hope her gynae is being more sensitive and gentler with her.

Shazz: Yes! Will transfer money asap.If not pass you cash on Sat, can?

Sunrays: Will also try to IB the money to you trow.If not, cash on Sat k? Anyway, the menu sounds really good! Thanks so much for helping us secure such a feast at a bargain!

Momoko: I go to Dr Terrence Yap, Atlas Chiropractic at capitol Building. His nuber is 333 5300 / 5211. First Time consultation incld treatment is $120. Follow-up is $60 - 100. I just went for follow-up today. $80 for like 10 mins. A bit heart pain...but i think still better than massage. He's pretty good in my opinion. back hurts less now. but i just have to be careful. I mentioned i have scoliosis...which is curvature of the spine.It's something that massage ladies won't be able to tell. That is why after my first visit last week, I'm convinced that it is better to spend money on pro doctor than going for massage to treat my aches. He doesn't push products so i like.

Preggie: I PM-ed you again...my mobile number just in case it is easier for us to arrange via sms. You live in Simei is it? I'm a bit blur. can't rber.

Stef&amp;sean: Are you a member with house of traditional javanese massage? Btw, you are very petite. You eat very little! guess you aren't really a foodie. So that is good...cos you won't get greedy like me! Hehe.

Flos: I thot you warned me off B&amp;Js some weeks back. Now you have succumbed to temptation huh? Hehe. What flavour did you polish off this time?
Liang Teh: We shouldn't be drinking liang teh!!! Cos we don't know what herbs go into it. Some herbs shouldn't be drunk by preggies. Just lots of water should be fine.

Durians: I'm SOOOOOO cravin for them! Hope I get to eat my durian puffs from Joo Chiat soon. Flos, the pic you posted makes me feel like buying some. Where is a good place to buy the durian you posted?

Pediatrician: Can we just use anyone at the hospital? Is that cheaper than getting a specific pediatrician to come down? My gynae says that since I dun have a specific one, she is recommending me one from TMC. But I deliver at Mt A. So worried that will add to extra cost. Also, for the first week check-up, must we go back to the SAME pediatrician as the one who checked bb in delivery room?

Hey, u all talking abt weight gain? the gain is from the 1st check till u went or the last weight u remember?
last weight at my wedding is 68kg on jan, on the 1st check is 70kg till now is 73kg. I eat as per normal, not much supper, unless really hungry. my DH comment, no wonder i don't put on a lot of weight, cos I don't eat even when i'm hungry.

right now, office is full of durian smell, and make me got this craving, later get DH buy for me.

Skinny Pig: Your FIL owns fish farm in LCK?!! I used to live in LCK!!! And had a durian plantation! Maybe the durians your FIL picks were from my childhood plantation. Haha. My uncle still has a fish farm, but I think he's moved from LCK to Kranji. Maybe your FIL and my uncle know each other! Haha.

Nasi Padang: Speaking of this, there is a killer one down one of the lanes near Zam Zam. Forget the road name. But it is POWER! Must queue up type! But sedap!

How come Mrs yap is transfer from KKN to NUH? Hope she doing fine.

Now, I still take MRT to work, but instead of walking to MRT station, I took bus there. cos cab fare is really too high. of cos, there is still kind ppl giving up seats to me when I enter the train, of cos there is 1 or 2 times i need to stand all the way. lucky only frm yishun to toa payoh

<font color="0077aa">Flos: The upper part is from Mrs Yap, the rest is me lah!!! Blue blue!!

Jaymickey: I am not sure but I remembered her EDD is 3rd or 4th week of sept... Oh, xuanting had replied you liao. I am not sure if her gynae is with her, didn't ask her...

I haven't start drinking coconuts yet. Must go &amp; buy...</font>

For coconuts juice, normally we should drink them during the last trim right? 30weeks onwards?
How many times a week is advisable ?

SarahMay: prefers you to transfer rather than pass me cash. so transfer to me if you can and email me so i can have a record, scared my piggie preggie brain might forget that you re-paid liao ... haha ... sorry hor, got payments for 2 sprees to keep track of so fund transfer is best way for me to track.

Flos: me tempted sia ... but so long as I avoid the tempting smell ... I can still tahan! hehe

coconut juice: my mum told me to have it once or twice a week after week 37, said not good to have too much also cos it will be too liang for baby