(2008/09) Sep 2008

wingkei,
the house of traditional massage charge only $320 for 7 seesions for members and it's home visits?? wow that's a good deal! think i sign up as their member and book this 7 days package with them.. thks for the info..

Rachel Lim, yes, I do. We use that as our baby account. But it has been drained and we are keeping what's left for the hospitalisation, etc.

Ava, I do. But he says to ask friends to give us NTUC vouchers instead.
kao_angry.gif

stef&seanbabes, yeah, that's like the cheapest I have found so far.

Oh, and he has been asking me to ask my family to buy the cot for the baby, the pram, etc. And I'm like... we are the parents.... don't you think we should at least get the cot for the baby??

wingkei,
i think ur hubby and u should go for some kind of couselling ? maybe things can be worked out that way. To me and all other mummies here, ur hubby is really one weird character. but we are only hearing one side of the story. so we are in no position to judge anyone. things will get only worse when the baby is born cos expenses will be much higher and also there will be more problems encountered when kids comes into the picture.
I feel that both u and ur hubby need some help in ur relationship. jsut my 2 cents worth..

Lanolin - i can feel baby kicking during the scan.. when my gynae place the equipment on my tummy.

during the scan 1st time see my baby open his mouth lolz.. guess he was yawning away

stef&seanbabes, if things really get worse, I think I will go for counselling. But I think it is impossible to get him to go along too.

sarahmay - i put on 5kg to-date at 28wks. next fri will be going for my 32wks checkup so lets see how much weight i will put on during the past mth keke..

skinny pig - me too hv the rib cage pain and its on my right side.. piercing pain at times but i juz bear wif it.. hopefully will go off aft delivery..

wingkei - tink ur hub needs the counselling, not u! huff!

wingkei,
for the good of ur relationship, try to persuade him to go along with u for counselling. or if possible, work things out between urself if he does not feel comfortable going to a counsellor. your relationship really needs some kind of help. do it before it's too late. both of u will hv a baby to care for in future.

wingkei,
do u know ur hubby's friends well enuff? if u do, maybe u can try to 'share' ur issues wif the buddy and hopefully the buddy can 'brainwash' ur hubby subtly?

i tink ur hubby is one of those who have high ego.. dun listen to zaboh lo :p

listen to buddies nia?

Bacon&Eggs: TMC patients will get the cord spirit for free.

mei/wingkei: I just bot the NTUC cotton/polyester disposable undies!! It's 5 for $3.50.

wingkei: your DH has overspent for the recent trip for his parents lah...so he wants u to shoulder some of the expenses now lor. Now u know why I hated my inlaws for visiting me when I was living overseas. Whenever they came, we would need to take leave and accompany them to travel to neighbouring countries. The booking was always made by my DH and although my inlaws claimed they'd pay him back th tour expenses, my very filial DH would never open his mouth to demand $ back from his parents after the trip. SO thousands and thousands of dollars gone each time they visited us
What can I say? "LL" lor...I bet your inlaws didn't spend as much of your DH's $ as my inlaws did.

Aiya, every household got its own pains and woes...just focus on your pregnancy now and forget about all these unhappy stuffs. Once I'm up and running after my delivery, I'll flex my muscles again
hahah! ENDURE ENDURE ENDURE...

BIGTOES: I'm so thankful that my parentcraft lessons have ended! Dun hv to go to AMKHub anymore.

Doc's Talk on 15 Jul will hv one psychologist and one gynae to speak to u all...

bacon&egg, sarahmay
some hospitals dun give cord spirit anymore. i rem NUH doesnt. there is something from recent scientific research that shows it is not good. cant rem what it says though..so long ago...

can ask your gynae about it though...

<font color="0077aa">Wingkei: See open lor... .like that you will be unhappy forever...

I have been spending quite a bit for baby items &amp; it was good that DH offer to pay for some items but we are not too particular over such things. But I was just commenting to him that most hand me downs I received are from my sis while his brother &amp; sister haven't pass anything to us yet... Even the cot we have to like call &amp; ask him whether we can use it.. So pai sei... :p

Lanolin: I heard so much about the raves of MC nursing bras from Mei &amp; Flos so gotta get them! Kekeke...</font>

Flos : are you starting ur ML before ur EDD? I have about 7 weeks to go till my EDD and Mgmt already freaking out coz they want me to settle everything before I can. HOW CAN?

janf - u only put on 5 kilos?!! WAH! That's quite a feat! In Japan, the ave weight gain for entire pregnancy is 7 kilos (what do they eat???) and I am way pass that. hahaha...

storeberry - ok ok, maybe I go and look at as well.

disposable panties - there a local brand called IMPRESSIONS and they also have disposables. I have seen them at Tangs. Has anyone tried them?

bacon&amp;eggs / floss - what's cord spirit?

morning ladies ,
The fenugreek u mentioned i have purchased a lot for storage already 5 BTLS .. cos my fb i used it and it generate my milk supply . ( think National Day GNC will have offers again )
Disposable undies : where is teh cheapest har ?? cos during teh full month of confinement i will be using it.doesnt matter if it is cotton .. cos will still be wearing maternity pads in teh first two weeks and the rest of the month still have to wear panty liners just in case there is still flow.. kekek .. forget where i stack my disposable from last time .

Sunrays ,
I will pay cash on that day of gathering k ?
Bacon and eggs ,
I dunno about visiting hospitals and man yue .. i just hear said ..but last time I still visit my friend in hospital when i am preg .. just that during confinement the older pple advise us to avoid ..

haha lanolin - coz i hv been puking so much since start of preg and only recent 2mths then the frequency became lesser.. no appetite to eat and no craves so probably tats why put on 5kilos only.. wow!, cant imagine the japs put on 7kilos ONLY?! they cant be eating only sashimi everyday rite?!

talking abt disposable undies, my gfrens also swear by IMPRESSIONS. metro sells it too, think its $4.90 or $5.90 for a pack of 5 and washable. its v comfy. will probably get it next fri aft my checkup.

wingkei: maybe u want to follow my method- your money is your money. hubby's money IS still YOUR money. when go out together, dont bring your purse/money. just put your ic in his wallet. at least that is what i do. so he has to pay all the expenses. heheheheh

anyone has any side effect from epidural? i dont know what is my pain threshold. was thinking to avoid epidural if possible....

Mrs T: My fren told me she had back pain after epi so she keep telling me not to use...

Quiling: I will wait for th National sale to buy fenugreek pills then..

Lanolin: Yes, am starting ML before EDD. I'll be resting at home after National Day
I can't go to work anymore. There are thousand and one things I need to settle at home cos my DH will only be formally be back on 1 Aug and guess wat? we need to scout for car, car seat, and some misc furniture. I need to pack up those bb items I purchase, and all 'nesting' chores need to be done before my EDD, which I still dunno if it'll be earlier or not...

Then all of a sudden, I've some incoming requests and projects for me to handle. Still got one event for me to run before I go on ML...

F-pills. OK, I'll grab some in Aug, my birthday month at GNC

TODAY, METRO is having a one-day sale for its UOB Metro card members...20+5%. Should I go grab the Impressions disposable undies too?!! heheh. The NTUC LARGE size ones appear to be quite small leh

fenugreek....
eih wait wait wait before getting fenugreek leh. some mummies dun respond to fenugreek. i rem there are other types of herbal cures so might wanna scout around before making decision. fenugreek can get after delivery lah, else wasted.

and i rem some mummies mentioned they dun respond to GNC ones...i cant rem why...but dun have to chiong for this herb yet...

<font color="0077aa">UPDATE from Mrs Yap:

Still not able to discharge, transferred back to observation ward again due to frequent contractions. Also back on drip. Pls pray for GOD's mercy to be on her &amp; melody.

I think Mrs Yap is very fearful now, lets pray &amp; give her the support she needs!</font>

<font color="119911">l'l CY (lilboymum) - i got the fenugreek from GNC already, its just $20+ and would save hubby the hassle from going out to get it when needed. As it is, he is already saying to leave everything to him (like getting crock pots etc, that the confinement nanny might request to use)...and me being me, I rather be prepared!

Flos - my last parent craft session is tomorrow morning at AMK Hub. Don't mind going the really, thou the sessions aren't exactly the most useful. Guess its the hands on practical sessions we really need, not theory, videos or making believe with a plastic baby.

Oh dear, i hope Mrs Yap will get better really soon!</font>

koras (koras) - i just kept drinking water whenever i feel thirsty.. even before sleep.. though have to keep waking up to go toilet, but its ok.. coz i tink by drinking lots of water, it'll help with water retention..

shazz (shazzerlyn) - icic.. tats gd.. at least u can get to see the baby earlier.. most of my frenz that gave birth recently, were early by 1 to 2 weeks.. i think its quite common..

yun (cutieyunyun) - i juz had fungal infection last 2 weeks.. like wat u say, the apply cream is really effective.. but the bad thing about it is tat i can't use liners anymore..

Mei (meie) - i felt the same too.. my baby seems to be so active.. every 1 to 2 hrs can feel him pushing n moving about.. and normally it lasts for more than 30 mins.. like no need to rest.. sometimes make me quite worried.. don't know is it normal or not..

wingkei - its better for u not to think too much now coz it might eventually affect the baby.. for my case, both me and my husband are earning ard the same.. but he has to pay for the car, so all the baby stuffs, including hospital fees, i'm paying it alone.. i guess communication plays an important part.. hope u and ur husband can talk over it n solve the prob soon.. =)

storeberry (storeberry) - thanks for the update.. will pray for Mrs Yap.. hope she'll be fine soon..

For disposable undies - i recently went to JOhn little. Bought the type for maternity mother type - not bad .. cotton quite comfortable.. will be getting again on MOnday

yun (cutieyunyun),

the gynae ask me not to wear..
coz its preventing air to go in and thus, will keep causing irritation n lead to infection again..
so i stop using it..
quite uncomfortable without it but no choice..

Wow, mei, you know all the deals!! Kekek.. Is the La Senza nursing bras nice?? Nicer than MC ones? Am going suntec tmr!! Will drop by MC &amp; La senza!

storeberry
No lah.. hehe.. went there to buy undies, 5 for $20.. then saw the nursing bras.. but i didn't buy as i don't want padded type. Different from MC ones.. no designs.. just solid colours, comes in nude &amp; baby pink.

Storeberry
Thanks for the constant update on Mrs Yap. Hope to see her back in the forum soon!

Oh.. i tried to call a few massage lady and aiyoh, seems like Sept is the FASTING month for them. Some of them are telling me that they cannot 'confirm' a slot with me loh cos they dun wanna to take up too much appt cos they nid to break fast etc etc.

So u gals better start confirming ur appt if going via private. And for private ones, do remember dun pay alot of deposit wor!!! I read from other threads that some massage lady went MIA after a few sessions :S

Impressions Disposables:

Think I bought this the last time round. Quite comfortable. Didn't buy the maternity ones though, just normal and low waist ones since we are using it post-partum.

FENUGREEK:

Agree with I'llCYmom. Think you can still wait. Some mummies don't respond well. For me, the key is to drink more water and it must be hot water. The heat stimulates the supply. On top of that, load up on protein. If u go to the TMC Parentcraft clinic for lactation problem, they will add protein powder to your drink to stimulate supply. Even when i was warded in TMC 2 yrs ago for the deliery, the milo was "spiked" with protein powder. So in the end, I just buy my own protein from Amway. Much healthier (1/3 of the calories) compared to drinking say milo!

Goldfish is right.
Ramadan in 2008 will start on Monday, the 1st of September and will continue for 30 days until Tuesday, the 30th of September.
sianz...cannot secure a regular masseuse...

wingkei
I really dont understand how ur hubby can prevent you from seeing your family, say cannot buy stuff for them, cannot use aircon for ur sis when she stgays over, etc and then expect them to pay for your baby stufff....it just boggles the mind....is he for real????

Meie
La Senza has nursing bras??? early early dont say!!!! argh!!!

gynae's visit:
visited my gynae yesterday at 32weeks 2days. Sharmaine was at 1.7kg. gynae says will be a small baby. And she is still in breeched position. arghh.. asked gynae if she will do breeched deliveries, and she said yes. then i told her i was borned breeched too
well.. she said at 36 weeks, if baby does not turn, she will help turn the baby.
I also took the haemoglobin test and the blood level was very borderline at 12.

Postnatal Massage:
i think i will go for the House of traditional massage at $320 for 7 sessions (member price), as what wingkei suggested

Just saw that MRs Yap not feeling well.. wat happen?? so sorry never drop by.. hope everything is well for her.. do keep us update storeberry.. u in constant contact with her??
Sunray,
so you are organising for the gathering ah?? Can i still join if last min?? Am still pondering whether to join u all since like wat u mentioned will be the last gathering before we go pop.. will let u know by early this week if i apply leave k??

And yeah.. someone mentioned here also having back problem.. i also have this very sharp sting at a certain position when i sit on the floor or whenever i brush my teeth.. it's at the back left hand side of my back.. any advise??

<font color="0077aa">Hi Momoko!! Yah, Mrs Yap &amp; me have been sms'ing each other. Hope she is well.. I will sms her again.

The gathering is on a sat 3pm onwards, need to take leave?

My pelvis is having this "sng sng" feeling for past 2 days, so uncomfortable!</font>

Ya.. u all know wat line i'm in lah.. car sales.. so in fact wkends are most crucial for me than wkday.. but frankly speaking.. nowaday.. having such a big stomach .. customers see me also scare of me.. sign~.. i still can sell car lah..:p

On the 19th i'm working till 7pm.. after tat still need to go another friend baby 1 year old birthday party.. so many things to do.. and this month everywkend busy attending party.. tonite too..
ah ya.. my back pain really giving me a big problem.. actually was wondering should i bring it up to my gyna the next time i see her.. if not, dun know who to turn to... sop sop

Flos - when is ur EDD again? Are you taking a month off before? Many have asked me why I am choosing to work till I pop!

storeberry - me too actually but I think it is just the increase weight / pressure on the pelvic area that's causing it. Even my knees are starting to be "sng"!!

Karen / Mei - my baby is extremely active after dinner till the time I try to get some sleep (which is usually around 1130pm or so). I think and hope it is actually a GOOD sign that he is active and well. It actually makes it difficult when I try to sleep as I try all sorts of positions (propping cushion under belly to make it better for him) to try to make him more comfy but I haven't yet found something that satisfies the "siew ye". HA HA.

Re drinking water and feeling thirsty - I also discovered that I drink more these days. I think it's good...forces me to get out of the chair and go to the toilet. Did anyone ask their gynae if this phenomenon is normal?

momoko - do u exercise ur back to strengthen it? do you also get it massaged to get more blood circulation? Especially for you who have to stand very long periods of time for your work!

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) : your baby is of good weight for a girl!
easier for you to deliver as well

lanolin: i can't help laughing when I saw you referring to your baby as "siew ye" haha ... try lying on your left side, but with a wedge pillow below you, so it's slightly about 45 degrees when you lie on your back/side.

Nursing Bras
I think the most comfy ones I tried so far is from Moms In Mind. Their biggest cup in my size fits me now, so hopefully my breasts wont be too engorged to fit into them! I like the fact that their nursing bras are non-wired, even for their wired ones, you can remove the wire.
thanks to Ava and Lanolin for recommending MIMs bras to me!