(2008/09) Sep 2008

Karen (karenz) : my original EDD is 9 Sep, a day ahead of yours. But baby is growing so well that he may be out earlier
will check with gynae on the date again. Anyway, EDD is just a guide, ultimately it all depends on when baby is ready to face the world!

SarahMay: i'm still around, internet connection abit cuckoo ... so I get disconnected easily plus I pop by the forum in between appts with clients, so not that active in posting on some days.

Bigtoes: yes, I've decided to go ahead with donating cord blood to SCB and will be meeting up with their co-ordinator next fri, when I go to Raffles Hospital for checkup. Think their co-ordinator will meet up with me there and go through the form signing etc. I don't think the blood test is required, think it'll be done by gynae on the delivery day itself. Am not too sure about the procdeures too, am waiting for them to call me to confirm our appt.

Yogurt: I love the Marigold Stawberry yoghurt, just got 2 big tubs from Shop & Save, they having promo, 1 tub is $5.60 now. Yummy ... hubby and I loves it!

Storeberry: mine too, sometimes will cough one or two times ... I still get blood in my nose too sometimes ... think it's too dry ... but I need to sleep in air-con! the humidifier helps a little, perhaps u wanna try that

<font color="0077aa">Shazz: I am trying to find a good &amp; reasonable humidifier. Any recommendations?

I am still in a dilemma whether to donate to SCBB or to spend $1200 to bank it privately.. Haiz.. Decisions...</font>

storeberry, pls send my regards to mrs yap. ask her to talk to her baby more. i believe in telepathy b/w mummy &amp; baby. just like how i "willed" my gal to "arrive" on the date i prefered. this time round, will be "psycho-ing" my boy to "arrive" on my prefered date too.

as for the outdoor photo, sorry hor, my hubby not the photography type. i got my fren to do it for me, for free :) and that was for my previous pregnancy 2 yrs ago! it was taken when i'm 33 wks. this time round, think my tummy also abt the same size. we went 3 different locations. wow, i was so energetic the last time.

received a call from clinic today that my report is out. I got Fungal infection.. and its vr common during pregnancy.
If anybody of you got infection..please go to doctor...the apply cream is very effective.. I applied twice then no more itch.

SarahMay..thank for ur recommendation of Mdm Helen Chua for antenatal massage.. I was massage by her yesterday and felt very good (back no more pain)..will call her again nxt week

Hi Storeberry,

Any cordblood bank that u ever think of ? I intend to store it at privat bank..so far, I only heard about stem cord and cordlife...

oh, i had donated to scbb the last time. when i called up this time round, the lady asked if i have received any phone call or mail from them after my gal's birth. i said no. she informed me that most probably my gal's cord blood was not being stored, maybe quantity not enuff :-(

Yun: I am intending to bank with Cordblood if I bank privately. Cos I have the TMC FBI (First Born Incentive card) have $400 discount from Cordlife...
But I haven't decide yet.

glad to know mrs yap is getting better and bb is fine. will still keep her in prayers.

sarahmay,
noooooo... never had any pic of me preggie. only those ugly ones taken randomly lor. i will want the entire family to take pic but i think i wanna do it after delivery. after i lose all the fats (if i ever ever do...) are you donating bb's cord blood to the public bank? i'm thinking of doing that too..

storeberry,
you also in dilemma like me...

oh sarahmay,
who is this mdm helen chua you recommended for antenatal massage???? can i have her no. too?? i'm desperately in need of one!!!! and i can't decide between having the 7 or 10 day package too...

when we go into our third and last leg of the pregnancy, we tend to become very tired like we were in the first trimester. it is not unusual. then we will also get particularly impatient and irritable. and wondering when bb will arrive. hang in there everyone!!! sept is coming soon!!!

storeberry &amp; yan
If you intend to store your cordblood with CordLife, do let me know, PM me.. when I refer you, you get an additional $50 off whatever discounts offered (by TMC, etc).

storeberry
Like shazz, I also got a humidifier during my 1st trimester. Throat was very dry &amp; I got blocked nose.. the humidifier helps a lot.. mine's Novita &amp; costs around $149.

alabone
Yup.. 3rd trimester I tend to get more worrisome &amp; jittery.

mothercare nursing bras,
Flos &amp; Mei,
i got mine yesterday! sizes are running out fast..mostly big sizes left! They are huge! haha.. They have plain ones - black/white, and floral ones (i got those)..really nice. Thanks for the recommendation.

For donation to SCBB, i just did mine last week, just called them up and they will arrange to meet u at ur gynae's clinic.. they are quite efficient, i called around 12+, they met me around 3+ on the same day... They will have a list of questions which u need to fill up on ur medical history.. at the same time, they will require all ur medical reports throughout the pregnancy, can ask the nurse to prepare first.

Then give u some tags &amp; documents which u need to bring to the delivery suite and pass it to the nurse. the gynae will do the collection of the cord blood once baby is born.. and they will send back to the SCBB's lab to do all the tests.. so if all pass, then SCBB will store it temporary first until 6 - 8 mths later, they will call and find out how's mummy and baby, if everything is okie, then cord blood will be store premanently...

The whole process to sign up for donantion is not more than 30 mins..

For those who wants to do it privately, it can only be kept for an estimate of 15years....

<font color="119911">Jaymickey (jaymickey) - thanks for the update on SCBB.
My gyne appnt is next Monday, so will most prob get them to come by TMC next week.</font>

HI Bigtoes
Yeah.. .i heard abt the F pills wor. Didn’t know it is available in GNC
BT do we start popping it now mah? I typical KS wor!

Skinny-Pig
I did not experience pain near rib bt sometimes I feel pain near my mei-mei below
Bt onie last a second or two nia…

Bigtoes
Yup, the lactation consultant in my antenatal class told me it's very effective in boosting milk supply.

Goldfish
You don't take the pills now.. only after delivery &amp; only if your milk supply is low &amp; needs boosting.

storeberry: your throat is dry? Mine has this "choking" feeling....like something stuck in my throat. I had to drink lots of water to down that thing last night. Woke up 4 times!!! Luckily I slept at 9+pm last nite.

Good to hear that Mrs Yap's condition has stabilised.

Bacon&amp;eggs: Greeat!! U bought the MC nursing bras liao!!! I wonder why they dun bring in other unpadded FASHION nursing bra designs from the UK. U go to M&amp;S website, u will see that they got more designs in UK.

twendy: can one "will" the bb to come on a date one desires? I'm trying not to overeat in order to stay on course

Koras: which hospital r u with? how come u haven't booked a package yet?

Big toes: My mom told me to drink the longan/red dates tea as water throughout the confinement to aid lactation...in addition, of course those fish/papaya soups.

Big Toes: will u be attending next Tues Doc's Talk? Can u help me take down some pointers? I'm not going to attend. Tks!

<font color="0077aa">Bacon&amp;Egg: Oh dear!!! Only left big sizes now?? Wonder if I should drop by or not.. Hmm... You went Habourfront ones?

Flos: Yes, my throat is dry!! Aiyoo. I usually slept at 1am, bad habits die hard!

Limay: I also heard about the F pills!! Should we buy now?

Thanks Mei! Will go do some research on humidifier!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Storeberry
Thanks for the update. Glad Mrs Yap &amp; bb are fine. Send her our well wishes and do tell her we miss her

ohh.. i oso tot the steroids are for strengthening bb's lungs juz in case they pop early. tat was wat my gynae told mi wor.. apart from tat was on Ventolin drip too... guess this is the one tat stops contractions and perhaps dilation bah...

Shopping
wow.. seems like alot of u are still shopping away.. i oso wish to.. but can't leh.. sighz.. haha.. can only dream of it at nite..</font>

storeberry: sizes 40D at harbourfront. try parkway parade.

F pills should be taken after delivery right? Take now will induce early labour or not?!! kekek

I'm soooo sleepy...

Sarahmay: I need to do GTT due to my father. The doc ask anyone in family is having diabiets, told her my father have it, so she ask me to go for the test, even thought my father family history is high blood pressure, not diabiets. Just to play safe, so went for the test.

My sis had this concept, because, bb is squeezed in our tummy with the water bag, so when they came out, the skin tend to be 'rough', so after few days, their skin will smooth.

<font color="0000ff">Flos
oops... got got.. almost done with my shopping le. have posted whatever i got in my FB.. hehe
but u noe lah.. gals are nvr bored and enuff of shopping. but now i'm grounded leh.. cannot walk much

I hv a gd ctc for Dispoable panties which I had been using since preggie
$3.50 per pkt / 7pcs each pkt.
min 1 dozen.
Free delivery.
If u interested, PM me, I give u the ctc.

just back from my gynae check.. mention to him that when urine got smell, he say my urine test show normal.. haha. my baby weight 1.8kg at week 31

<font color="119911">Fenugreek:
Ladies, think we aren't suppose to consume the pills now. I will just buy and keep and take them if necessary (after delivery). Its more to get the supply going when u need it, don't want leakage before delivery.
"It has been found that fenugreek can increase a nursing mother's milk supply within 24 to 72 hours after first taking the herb. Once an adequate level of milk production is reached, most women can discontinue the fenugreek and maintain the milk supply with adequate breast stimulation."

The pills from GNC: http://www.gnc.com.sg/product/0300038.aspx?category_id=

Flos - yes, i will be going for the Dr's talk next Tues. Will update u on the main points</font>

yun

how much is the rates for the massage? me tinking of doing lei..my backs aching...

koras

i am oso seeing my gynae next week...abit scare man of the bb weight..remember i was saying 1.9kg at 30weeks? hope bb dun grow too much..haha..i just ate 2 buffet recently lei...cham cham..

btw,

any ladies here buying the Medela Swing? not sure if swing good anot lei..I used the mini E during my #1 times but now spoil liao..now looking at 2nd hand swing to buy n try...

Angeline Goh
Sunrays wants to sell her brand new Medela Swing.. she does not have access to the forum now.. she asked me to PM you her contact in case you are interested, so do check out your PM.

hello mtbs/mummies,

my prince weighs 1.749g at week 30. gynae told me he's average! but somehow i feel he's BIG! he gained 700g from the 1kg tat i put on in a mth... scary!!

<font color="119911">wow, looks like everyone's babies are growing well

I am due for my 31w5d checkup on Monday &amp; i am guessing 1.8kg (hubby thinks 2kg) - lets see who is more accurate!
aloevera (loever) - lucky u, at least ur weight gain is effective. Think I am up 1+kg the last month - hoping a fair bit of that went to baby instead of me as well!</font>

Mdm sasa: I sent to yahoo this time. pls check

big toes: u r most helpful
thanks a lot! u can drop me an email @ FB inbox if u dun want to spam this thread with those pointers

jasmine: "My sis had this concept, because, bb is squeezed in our tummy with the water bag, so when they came out, the skin tend to be 'rough', so after few days, their skin will smooth."

really? I thot the dryness is attributed to low amniotic fluid? Low amniotic fluid is dangerous cos it can result in Intrauterine Growth Restriction, such as bbs developing club feet, etc.

Maybe birdsnest helps to improve the skin texture?

mei

thanks..i saw your Pm liao..will sms her abt the price.coz i contacted the 1 who post in this thread a few days ago..she selling hers at $210..so still looking around..i saw her post @ WTS sometimes back...

xuanting, yeah, thinking of getting the House of Traditional Massage since it's only $320 for 7 sessions, that's like $45 per session, cheaper than any other I see. I've had their massage before and it was not bad... So seriously considering... And I think I don't have to worry about not being able to get anyone to massage me at the last min.

Flos: don think too much. It just a casual comment by my sister.i was telling her the weight off bb when she out of sudden got this idea.

storeberry,
the big sizes at MC harbourfront are the D and E cups. I tried B cups (usual size) but too small now..plus i think we need to slot in the breast pad..so C cup will be more suitable.

The plain coloured ones eg. black and white with lace are still available for most sizes. U could ask the MC staff to check other stores for size you want and they can transfer over. I also went to Vivo branch, they dont have much choice.

hello hello everyone ... have been away as work was v bad.

Yoghurt : I take Paul's low fat version and I really like the taste but it might still be too milky for some of you but can try.

Just went to gynae - at 31 W 5 d, baby is 1.986kg and his head is above ave (AHHH!!! but both the parents have big heads so genetically predisposed la).
Also had to do preadmission at hospital and finally saw room charges etc. At least can pay some by medisave!

sarahmay: only used a drop or two of dettol in pail of water. doc said ok. dont use concentrated dettol.

thanks for info on public cord blood bank.
i'll be meeting the coordinator next thurs. apparently, the public bank only stores cord blood for 12 years. and we also need to fork out $ if next time need to use it (touch wood! hopefully that time never comes).

sasa: check your FB inbox. I got question for u!!!

lanolin: where hv u been??!! Where r u birthing?

bacon/storeberry: the MC at Vivo has no fitting room I recall. I think the plain ones are quite nice too
Cup B is simply too small to accommodate those inserts.

BB weight: Yah all the bb seem like a good weight yah? Must be all the good food the mummies are eating!! Kekek...

bacon&amp;egg: Ok so I think I won't go Harbourfront then, I am a "B" now but bra have been tighter now so.. Will ask the SA to help me measure. Thanks!

Hi Lanolin, long time no see!!

<font color="119911">lanolin (lanolin) - my gyne appnt is also at 31w5d! So i guess baby Kieran would be about 2kg also
No wonder his movements are so strong....yah, all the good food, multi-vits etc are contributing to the solid weight. Seems like the Baby Center average weight chart is abit outdated cos all of us are above average vs. the caucasian babies already!</font>