(2008/09) Sep 2008

Crayonshinchan, so true yah? I think last time our our parents really believed and trusted the singapore education but nowadays parents like to send their kids to overseas education!

So happening with so many mummies with exotic background!! Kekek....

Shazz: really cute panda!!

I have already one & half boxes of Playtex (120pcs)so how many box should I get for Lansinoh? Any advice?

wow, so many pieces of Playtex, think you should not but first. See how's your milk supply first and if you direct latch most of the time.

Ok sure, my sister passed her stocks to me lo... Kekeke... Thanks dear!

Am hungry now! aiyo!

My fren emailed me a online book on Supernatual childbirth, very interesting so thot I will email you & sarah the weblink ... Enjoy!

by Jackie Mize? I got the book, it's very good! I like this other book, God's Plan for Pregnancy, by Nerida Walker, very good as well, teach you how to pray for self and baby.

Yes!!!! Yah I finish reading it online! Thot it would be difficult to read online but its sooo good!

The 2nd one I haven't read yet, its Prayer and Promises of Supernatural Childbirth also by Jackie Mize but don't know if the contents is the same.

I think it's the smaller book, it's the same book, but a compact version, with the prayers and bible verses. I may be wrong though. Check it out!

Flos, i think u got the wrong person. i hv not done my 4D scan yet. intending to do on Monday at NUH
the person who has posted her 4D scan on multiply is Bacon&egg.

Bacon&egg, can send me the link of ur multiply again
wish to see the 4D scan video done at NUH before my appt on Monday
thks so much!!

Shazz, OMG!! the Pandas are sooo cute!!!! I dun mind working in a Panda kindergarten!!!

Bigtoes : Your loot bag is here with me today in my office. You can sms me anytime to collect.

Storeberry, Twendy: Baby and maid at IL palce today. So we arrange over weekends to collect ok? Sat lunch time we'll usually at home cos that's when my bb takes her nap after her class.

cloud,
U can go to NUH Main Building - ADC - Anenatal Diagnostic Centre for your 3D scan. Once you enter the main building, keep to your left.

cloud,

Your background is very exotic.

Lanolin,

I feel very singaporean. My daddy probably not. He holds a Dutch passport and decided against applying for EU pass for me when I turned 18 (maybe need to give up Singapore citizenship). In fact, last year, he decided to change his surname cos the ang moh couldn't pronounce "NG". Now I have my biological father with a different surname from me.

flos,

I was there on biz trip. Have a free day in Amsterdam, so went shopping around. Not deliberately going there to get Esprit apparel. I didn't ask abt NUK but tried asking my daddy to look out for Abbott Formula Milk when he goes to source for his groceries from the wholesale supermart(cos they are made in Holland). Not cheaper leh.

sarahmay,

My hubby can read/write Japanese. But his translation is very bad. (always ask him to translate the wording on Jap packaging and it comes out very funny). If u don't mind, I can ask him. PM me?

Lok
Japanese translations always sound funny anyway...you know the english text on those cute jap pencil boxes/notebooks/toys etc...always sounds damn strange so ur hb may not be too far off! Why doesnt the whole family change surname too? A friend of mine just did that a few yrs ago from Wong to Hwang dunno why...

Shazz
Wow those pandas r super cute...esp with so many of them rolling about the floor! Hmmmm should I buy more desitin...?

morning mummies ,
so many " foreigners mummies " in the thread .. keke ... happening ...
Shazz ,
the Pandas are cute .. thought they were soft toys initially till i read the words.
u doing another spree on drugstore.. let me check my stock and see if i need to order more ..

Isabelle & Lok: thanks for the offer! I mainly need help with sounds...think they have heaps of those in Manga. Will PM you two. Thank you!

Koras: How are you doing? Is your appetite better? Seen your gynae yet, and what did he advise you?

Shazz: Sooo cute the pandas! I like! Wonder if they've been affected by the earthquake though.

Storeberry: Eh. I didn't get any email leh...How come ah? Funny!

Storeberry & Shazz: Nerida's Walker book is great! But often OOS at the Rock bookshop. Read it a lot during my 1st trimester, helped me greatly. Passed it on to a friend. Jackie Mize's book I've read too. Both of them are a bit different in their background. The pocket book SUPERNATURAL GUIDE TO CHILDBIRTH is stuffed full of useful verses and prayers. For both, I esp like the prayers for labour. Hehe. Something i think we need more of as we near the DD!

3D Scans: Seems like many of you are going for the 3D ones. I was thinking of too..but then I think I will not make it in time back to SG to do it. Plus, since we know the gender, hubby says it is the one LAST thing we can keep as a surprise. Hehe.

Ava,

So troublesome to change surname. He changed from NG to GHO. Who in Singapore has this strange surname?? Anyway, now become Mrs Lok, so don't bother anymore...

Oh ya ..
i just remembered I have a photo shot with foto u coming this weekend ... calling them to postponed cos hubby will be back next week ... hmm .. nobody responded yet
Flos ,
I went for facial yesterday .. keke ... so tempted by u .. but only normal hydrating facial cos the therapist do not dare to do anything else on my face .. even the sun block after the treatment so say cannot .. cos have some " ____ peroxide thingy " inside which she mentioned might penetrate skin .. puzzled ... cos been applying sun block all the time since preg ... she used to be a dermatologist ... and i have not been to facial for 4 months already ..
Sunrays ,
Gathering both 12/19th saturday is good .. keep us informed ... think raffles city is a bit cramp ...for big mummies like us

Lok
Lots in Singapore have this strange surname.. that's my hubby's surname.. lol. It's actually GOH, but during registration, it's spelt wrongly.
So, now I am stuck with the strange spelling Mrs. Gho.. lol.

Black berry ,
rice wine .. my mum friend and SIL mum help me make them .. u want the ctc maybe PM me ..
Isabelle ,
ic .. if u finish your paid MCs , then asked Gynae to give u hospitalisation leave lor .. think can too . just speak to gynae

Photo scanning of bb ... for my first born , i did 4d scan at my gynae clinic and he charge 85 dollars per piece of photo .. hmm .. dun thin ki want to waste the money for 2nd bb ... dunno if it is fair a not but saving the money for some other things ..

Full month cakes .. will only think about it when bb is out .. sweetestmoment is good .. gave them for relatives .. and issue bengawan solo vounchers who cannot attend teh full month party .

Mei,

ooops, i thought nobody has this surname. But i still won't change lah.

GATHERING:

So have we decided to change to 26 July (Sat) now? Or still sticking with 19 July (Sat)?

Lok: Let me guess, u r working for Shell, since u said ur office is near to Robertson Walk?

Ava: Why must your fren change their family name? Hwang is soooo Taiwanese. Wong is Honky. And no matter what, I'll not give my kid a Hanyu Pinyin name. What sets Singaporeans/Malaysians/Honkies apart from the mainlanders is our unique and exotic dialect names. Some of my Chinese friends tried to disguise their PRC identities (becos they are working in international consultancy firms) by changing their surname's spelling Li to Lee, Huang to Wong, Fu to Foo or Jin to King on their business cards. I can name u dozens more. So pretentious.

Nor will I give my kid a two-character Chinese name.

The next generation will see lots of skilled Chinese employees vying for regional job positions in the MNCs. For all u know, our future kids based in SG will be reporting to some Chinese bosses (who are born in the 1980's) headquartered in Shanghai or Beijing. I want my kid to retain his Singaporean identity...

Oh yes, I think very far ahead...hehe!

sarahmay - appetite ok la.. still eating like normal. But hor duno why whenever i go down want to buy lunch then i vomit a bit out lo. Gynae appt today 12.15

flos ,
i will give my son a chinese hanyu pinyin name and chinese charaters as well .. 3 charater name .. cos i think it will be good for his chinese lesson next time .. imagine he doesnt have a chinese name for his second language class ?

shazz: sooo cute! I went to visit those cute Pandas last year in Sichuan!!! Oh btw, I conceived my bb in Sichuan after visiting those cubs at the zoo!!! LOL

OK, dun ask me to name my kid after a Panda
muahhah!

Qiuling: I also went for my 60min facial cos my credit card gave me a voucher that I must use by end of 08. It's at Wellness Village. I enjoyed it!! It's been April since I last 'cleansed' my visage!!

Lok: Gho is very Indo-Chinese.

steff&sean: OOPS! It was bacon&eggs? I need to recall my multiply password. How come I can access Bigtoes' multiply page but not Bacon's one leh?

Flos
We'd have preferred dialect name too, but we have no idea how to convert chinese names into dialect for the less common characters....so when we got adan's chinese name chosen by geomancer, we were not sure what it would be in dialect, so we stuck with the hanyupinyin...very difficult to explain what his name means to hb's grandma in cantonese cos our attempts to translate make it sound like "one person" instead of "overflowing with benenvolence".

Hi MTBs,
I have 2 packets (220ml each) of Anmum Materna Low Fat UHT milk (Honey Flavoured) to give away. High Folate, high calcium for pregnant mums.
Expiry is 22 Aug 2008.
I think supermarket is selling 3 pax for S$4+.

I am totally lactose-intolerant so giving it away. Got it as part of goodie pack during my gynae visit.
Self collection in Pasir Ris, just PM me / email me [email protected].

qiuling:

Yes, mine must hv a 3-char Chinese name on his NRIC because he needs to network with the Chinese in the future, but his English name will not have that HYPY spelling. If it can be spelt as (e.g. only) Tan Boon Teck, it'd better not be spelt Chen Wen De! That's why I'm trying to avoid.

My DH and I were CL1 students; we will not forget our roots

Ava,

I asked my hubby to read it out phonetically to me in Cantonese. Then i spell it for him, so he has English name/Hanyu Pinyin/Dialect Name + Chinese Character in his BC.

We have the same problem, dunno how to explain J's name in Shanghainese or Hokkein to my grandparents. So he is a nameless (cos they can't pronounce Joshua) great-grandson!

Chinese names

Both my parent in laws are teachers, and my fil is a chinese teacher, and according to him, few people use dialect names anymore. I actually personally find dialect names not that meaningful.... especially when it's not correctly spelt from the dialect... e.g. for 'jie', should it be 'khiat'? 'kiat'? Like so many versions...

Lok
Hmm, maybe I should ask my friends in HK to translate the chinese characters into cantonese then at least we know the right pronunciation...we are guessing at the moment!!

storeberry - can you pls PM me the link to the "supernatural childbirth" book pls?

Shazz- where can you get the God's Plan for Pregnancy book? I would like to read more! Btw - the pandas are very cute. I have a photo of 2 pandas as my profile pic on FB!

Ava - I think some here change it because it is more "cool" sounding. Maybe I should change mine to Wang ... as in Vera Wang. :D :D :D But after reading what Flos wrote, I shouldn't. hahaha...

What's Adan's han yu pin yin name?

Lok - I see I see.

Lok: My DH is a Cantonese too. He'll fix it when the name is finalised upon the bb's birth. I will name him once my bb is born...

That sounds so familiar: English name/Hanyu Pinyin/Dialect Name + Chinese Character. I have all of that on my NRIC! YIKES! Do u know the implication? U will hv that in all your legal documents, Marriage Cert, leaving certs, bank passbooks, passports, overseas official application forms.

Qiuling: Actually, I'm thankful my Chinese name is on my NRIC cos in China, the banks recognise Chinese a/c names and demand Chinese signatures, at least in the early years. These days, they are more lax, they allow u to put your Christian name and dialect name.

Why do u think dialect names are not meaningful? I find Cantonese very meaningful. When u translate Canto to Putonghua, the meaning is lost

That was in the 1980s when the govt encourage parents to use HYPY...Now u hv a few million HYPY names inundating the job market database and surely u want your kid's name to stand out right?

<font color="119911">isabelle (isa_belle) - hah, baking bread is simple cos i use the bread maker
Not very economical thou - each loaf ends up costing $15 or so cos of the ingredients, but its more the fun of it...Am more into baking cakes now, but have to cut down on all that fats/sugar!

So you speak some Japanese? I took classes &amp; passed my JLPT3 exams a couple of years back, but am pretty bad with languages generally. Just enough to get by conversationally, but my reading sucks cos I don't have a mandarin background.

shazz (shazzerlyn) - ohhh, the panda photos are way too cute! Would be amazing working there! We went to some panda house place in Beijing in Dec last year, but then most of the pandas were dirty &amp; malnurished

Btw, should I go ahead &amp; order Destin now, or use the 2 small tubes I bought &amp; see if it is suitable for baby? Oh, and the Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags = these are similar to the Medela ones? I think Medela cost $30+?

How come everyone is thinking so far ahead for 1st mth celebrations already? hehe...Think we will most prob just get from the company that has a booth at TMC (near the corner where the Soya bean stall is).</font>

flos,

Yah, it's familiar cos that's the format in my NRIC too. Can't decide so have all lor!! Still remember there was this person in the hotel who commented that this is the longest name he has ever seen! lol

Anyway, at least in Singapore and in most countries, I found out that the so-called Full name per NRIC can usually be limited to English+Dialect Name.

Flos
I got rid of my "birth" hanyupinyin name in my NRIC years ago thru deedpoll. I neevr used hanyu anyway, only dialect. Hated being called by my hanyu name cos i never associated with it...in fact I didnt even respond to it in pri school cos my parents dont speak chinese ...so i didnt know who they were calling!

Lanolin
Adan's Chinese name is Yi Ren.

Ava/Lok: I know what u mean. I wish I could get rid of my HYPY name too. Our pr sch teacher added for all of us cos MOE was encouraging children to use HYPY in the 1980s.

Ava: u drafted and stamped your own deedpoll? LOL

Flos,

My hanyu pinyin name is very meaningful, but because I am not very good with my dialect (teochew), I don't like my dialect name, and do not really see the need for it apart from being the same with the rest then in primary school who need to have dialect names. Contrary to most of you, my hanyu pinyin name comes about before my dialect name.

My FB also dun have a dialect name, we choose a meaningful name for him in hanyu pinyin instead. Both my family and my DH family don't speak dialects at all.

So many panda lovers here ... knew all the mummies will love it. so cute yah!

Quiling: dun forget you still have the tubes from previous spree with me ;)

Limay: Spoke to some mummies and got varied answers. Some used the cream darn fast, like 1 tube per mth or so, some one tube can last them for couple of mths.

Ava: still want some more? your usage is for 2 gals ... so may want to stock up.

BabyMallOnline Spree: Just received notice that the parcel is with vPostUSA, have made payment, so should reach me by next week! Will update via email on collection and spree calculations once I receive the items and sort them out.

RXmom: I am sure all our Putonghua/HYPY names are very meaningful
Mine too
Just that I've been staring at my colleagues' HYPY names &amp; emails, HYPY street names, HYPY brandnames, HYPY shopnames in China for so many years that I want to break free from HYPY!

HYPY was intro by the communist party in the 50's to unify the 56 ethnic groups and 7 main dialect groups in China. I am a Singaporean. I kinda like the sound of Goh Keng Swee, Lee Kuan Yew, Ngiam Tong Dow...hehe

<font color="0000ff">ST forum letter"</font> ---Interesting...

<font color="ff0000">Baby's Room = Diaper Change Room = Nursing Room = Family Room = Not Breastfeeding Room?</font>

On Sunday 22 June 2008 about 1.45 pm, I was breastfeeding my baby in a nursing room in Vivocity.

The sliding door of the room has no locking mechanism, so my husband stood near the door to accompany us inside the room.

After 10mins or so, we heard a knock on the door and my husband answered "Sorry, breastfeeding, needs about 15mins".

A while later, there was another knock on the door and another, soon we heard this lady banging on the door impatiently.

The loud noise was scaring my baby who was initially enjoying his meal with his eyes half-closed.

My husband has no choice but to open the door slightly to explain to her.

Upon hearing that I was breastfeeding our baby in the nursing room, she immediately shouted loudly

"This is a diaper-changing room, not breastfeeding room!"

The lady's husband even supported her commenting that we were selfish and should not be using this room to feed.

We were stunned, really shocked for words.

My husband replied "Then can you please show me where else can we breastfeed?" and shut the door.

They had no choice but to leave.

For my 6 months of exclusive breastfeeding and making use of the different rooms and facilities available in pro-family shopping malls and even restaurants to breastfeed in Singapore, this is the very first time I heard such an ignorant couple making this sort of comment in public.

If they were to refer to the mall directory and layout, there are many nursing/diaper changing rooms in Vivocity. We were not hogging on the one and only room.

Many friends misunderstood that toilets can be used for breastfeeding, but it is absolutely not recommended due to hygiene reasons, as there is a high level of bacteria (fecal coliform) present.

The diaper changing rooms in shopping malls, places of interests and department stores have many names, baby's room, nursing room, diaper changing room, family room, etc.

Most of these rooms are set up with a seat or a bench to enable breastfeeding mothers to nurse their babies.

I do not see the reason in providing a seat if the room is meant for diaper change only, maybe dad can change baby's diaper while mum can take a seat to rest her feet?

Places such as Tangs and Ikea even provided a comfortable arm chair in private rooms for mothers to use.

The state of the nursing rooms vary greatly, from highly conducive and comfortable to badly maintained, smelly and unbearable (stench from open un-cleared bin), some were even next to smoking areas at the side entrance (I never use that room again).

In this note, I would also like to compliment OG People's Park, Brilliant Restaurant at Chevron and Zhou's Kitchen at Far East Square.

They do not have breastfeeding rooms or facilities but their service to customers were definitely commendable through a simple act of placing a chair in a fitting room in OG, staff changing room in Brilliant Restaurant, an empty private room in Zhou's Kitchen.

All I needed was a seat in small enclosed area.

The quick-witted staff I approached in these places was very friendly and they had definitely contributed to my successful breastfeeding journey.

The World Health Organization recommends a minimum of two years of breastfeeding and exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of baby's life.

Please give all breastfeeding mothers the support they need.

Ms Koh Sok Yee Linda
Jurong West

Flos,

haha, maybe you were just too saturated with all the putonghua.
I like to see dialect names like Lee Kuan Yew, etc, when I am reading the english papers, of course, cos we have been doing that for so long. For these leaders, perhaps it's not so bad, cos there's chinese news too, so we know their chinese name is Li Guang Yao. But sometimes, when I have nothing to do, I will wonder what is my colleagues' 'real' names.. it's like I think if I know their hanyu pinyin name, or chinese character names, it will shed more light on their background, their parents aspirations for them, etc, than when they 'hide' behind a dialect name like, say, e.g. 'sock kheng'. Sock will be Shu, but which shu? 淑 or 舒? And 'kheng' is wat in mandarin? I dunno actually.. :p

Flos
Well, i drafted it but got my colleague to sign and stamp it...hehe! same when i later changed my chinese name altogether!

Flos,

Read the article above..hmm, i think the man and woman should not have shouted at her, but they aren't entirely wrong also.. cos babies can only have their diapers changed in a diaper changing room if it's soiled. But for breastfeeding, it can really be done anywhere just got to do so discretely and with a wrap... my friends can even breastfeed while walking around shopping!

I have a rather stupid question here. Can breastmilk storage bags be used more than once? Or once used, they have to be thrown away? I'm wondering whether to get the Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags. I also have a question similar to Bigtoes. Are these bags similar to the Medela ones? If I'm gonna be using a Medela pump, will I be able to store my milk in the Lansinoh bags? Would I be able to pump my milk directly into the bags? Thanks for any advice.