(2008/09) Sep 2008

Lok: aiyo, i dun like that clan...dun even bother to visit some of my aunties/uncles and cousins when my I lived in SH last yr...Siam far far away...

There's another clan from HK hanging around in Europe too, and some of my relatives are married to this HK clan.

Post-tiananmen 1989 got another PRC-clan escaping to europe, and some of my cousins married this group of migrants.

u hv any cousins there? I need to matchmake my unmarried cousins. They are in their early 30's and can't find a partner still. poor things...

PM me if u have any good candidates
LOL

Lok n flos...
OMG
You both sounds familiar...
My parents are in Holland since teenage years.
Last time they thought of keeping us in holland with them but decided that spore education will be better for us. My parents told me they got a Moses basket for baby so far. Mum called recently and told me my dad n her went crazy over baby's clothing while shopping in Holland. What else is good to get in holland?
Yes... i am from that dialect grp too!

Mrs Yap,

wah, found so many same clan in just one thread and i thought our clan is super minority in SG. Everytime I tell pple I'm from Wenzhou and they go "huh"????

Flos,

Don't dare to recommend. Not close to those faraway cousins at all and we are talking abt lifetime happiness here.

Stef&seanbabes, may i know the no. to call fro NUH to check on the 3d/4d scan? if i can make an appt tomorrow, i probably can go there instead of radlink..

Mrs Yap,

Dunno what to buy from Holland. Things are so ex there, especially with the 19% VAT. When I went there for a biz trip, only bought a few pcs of clothes for J (Espirit clearing stock).

Lok
ya lor... scary leh
Indeed v hard to find WZs... somemore i am a 100% WZ. keke. I think our parents will know one another. I think our grandparents will too.

i have double confirm with radlink, their package includes a 15min video, in CD, abt 3 photos, and a detailed report on the baby's measurement etc.. so probably i will go for that instead of the NUH's...

jaymickey,
$220 is still high. i just called NUH again to confirm if the CD is a video CD, the receptionist confirmed it's a video CD. So will probably stick with NUH since they give video CD too..

Video as in a clip showing the actual movement of the bb in the womb captured during the 3D scan...no sure if it is considered a video? It is saved into a CD. I have loaded it unto my multiply..some mtbs had seen it.

btw, the sonographers at NUH are v friendly..Dr Murali, in particular, took her time to capture the best moments into the CD for me. They didnt rush thru the job though there was a long queue outside!

Lok
when you put it that way, then yeah, maybe not so cool... :p At least u've found a merry band of fellow clan mates on the forum

Stroller
I finally have a stroller...getting a 2nd hand Maclaren Rally Twin for $225!!

i've just called NUH to make an appointment for the 3D/4D scan on 7 July. btw, i forgot to ask for the location, bacon&egg where should i go for the scan.

rabbit, the A class ward at KKH costs $1550 (normal delivery for 2 days), estimated bill size is $3,490 ($1,880 can be paid using medisave so must make an initial payment of
$1,690)

flos, ava & lok.. although i'm not from Holland.. i was actually born in Nigeria, Africa and raised in the UK.. i came to Sg in 1989 when i was 11 or 12 years old.. father was originally from HK but he migrated to UK when he was a teenager and he still lives there.. mother is singaporean.. my paternal relatives are all in the US.. father worked in Nigeria for a few years so thats why i was born there.. he also worked in the restaurant line, seems its common for most overseas chinese..

cloud/flos/lok/mrs yap
Yet another one. Cloud, Wow Nigeria...how exotic...! What were ur paretns doing in Nigeria?

I moved here from NZ when I was around 5 too and did Primary all the way to uni here (much to my disappointment on hindsight)...but paretns were not in restaurant line...my dad did moonlight in an abbatoir tho while he was studying in NZ! Not quite the same thing...:p

Still have my Kiwi passport and not giving it up for anything! Baby bonus be damned!!!

ava.. my father worked in a restaurant in nigeria. i used to have a british passport but had to give it up otherwise i would have been stateless.. apparently UK is quite strict about citizenship, since i was away from UK for so long, they converted my citizenship to british national overseas (which is like a 2nd class citizen and equal to being stateless) so i decided to convert to singapore citizenship..btw, i don't speak chinese.. in nigeria, i studied in an international school and took french as a 2nd language, i continued to take french when i was in UK and also when i was studying in secondary school here.. but i never really got a chance to practice after secondary school so i've forgotten most of it..

Cloud
Duh didnt read your post properly
hehe..My french is pitiful too now. PITIFUL...i dunno if my chinese or my french is worse...I write to my french pal who i stayed with during my JC exchange programme in english! cos luckily she's an english teacher now!!!

Lucky for me i was born in NZ so my citizenship is not an issue...

Ava, actually i regret not working harder in my French, its actually a nice language to learn but when i was studying at the MOE Language Centre, i had really low morale because i was from a neighbourhood school and most of the other students were from good schools like ACS, RGS, RI and the teachers seemed to favour them more.. in sec 4, i was put in the worst class together with the other neighbourhood kids... i'll never forget this girl from RGS who was put into our class, she kept complaining about how this class was the worst and she didn't want to be in it, eventually she got transferred to another class.

Mrs Yap: really? what a small world!!! what do they do in Holland? But I always dissociate myself from them...dun really like them...

Go get the gouda/edam cheese lah
some windmills, some clogs, some sex toys, some marijuana, some chocos, some Ajax souvenirs, what hv u!!

Lok: u went all the way to Holland to grab Esprit apparels?! How can? U should grab a bottle of Annick Goutal perfume!!! hehehe
What else can I think of but those sweet smelling floral scents...ahhhh

Cloud: Wow Nigeria...A place I've always wanted to go. Last time I had a chance to go there for biz trip but I left the company and went to the Middle East to live with my ah lao...I heard it's a messed up place?!!

So do u get 12 weeks maternity leave since u were born in Nigeria? U shouldn't be teaching PE, u shd be teaching LEP French darling...

Ava: U still holding on to your Kiwi passports? I love Zespri kiwis

Ava: No, your French is very good one lah...dun bluff the rest here!!!!...blabber some french sweet-nothings to us at Canele, won't u!!! LOL

I took elementary french at Alliance francaise but i've forgotten everything, yeah, even if it's only basic french.

Cloud
OK that RGS girl was NOT me! MOELC classrooms sucked big time...they always smelt of sweat. But i understand how it feels to be from neighbourhod school and then thrown amongst the "elite" schools. was from a majorly ulu pri school (cos not eligible for any decent schools since i came to SG just before pri)...and spent most of my first two yrs in RGS crying in the toilet...

steff&sean: I've forgotten my multiply password! DARN! Do u hv facebook? I can't view ur 4D video. Anything that moves is 4D. Still ones are 3D, and those are in prints saved onto your CD.

2D is, needless to say, what u hv been seeing at every visit, incl OSCAR.

Ava: Erm, cloud didn't say u were that R gal, dun worry!!

Must be good lah!!! Otherwise how to do it for A-levels? hehe

Yeh! tomorrow I'll be visiting my dr.

bigtoes
ah a kindred spirit in baking!

Wow! how interesting! Have never baked bread before! Closest was chocolate brioche but have never done it again cos i actually used the heat fr the air con compressor in my balcony to make the dough rise! Now no more compressor so i dunno how to get it warm enough!
Hey i like to bake for my family too! Ok, i confess, it was mostly for my hubby, then bf, cos u know wat they say, the way to a man's heart is thru his stomach! hee hee

Wow, my my, looks like the chinese diaspora has congregated in Sg now!

Hey cloud,
i know exaxtly wat u mean. Cos I was in MOELC too and i was not fr one of those elite schools. But I took Jap, not French though that was my original choice. Cos my mum said Jap was better so i just went along. T'was terrible. My whole class was SCGS and RI. I quit in Sec 3 cos i was just too dumb... At least u persevered till Sec 4!!! I only took up Jap again in uni. Got the certs and all, but now I can't even read the instructions on the supermkt items! Talk abt pitiful...
Anyway, took up French after 'A' levels at Alliance. Much easier than Jap but then again, my French sucks too!

Hmm Ava n Cloud,
mebbe we shld all parler en francais one day. Oui? But mebbe we won't even be able to understand each other! Haha

Flos
No lah she didnt of course...but must cover a** first
haha...A levels...dont think many people were masochistic enuf to want to do it at A levels...so i got in lor!

isabelle
haha...i can just imagine the painful french we will be trying to speak...bring your dictionaries!!! I think sunrays hb will throw macarons at us for ruining a beautiful language!

aiyo.. first we have heaps of teachers.. now we have heaps of "foreigners".. haaa.. this is definitely a super happening thread.. hahaha...

seems like our parents really believed and trusted the singapore education ya? hahaa..

such exotic backgrounds! I'm just from the southern hokkien coolie stock! Ha ha ... both parents escaped to Singapore in the 50s coz of cultural revolution etc etc. Urs sounds so much more exciting.

So Flos / Cloud / Lok - do u feel 100% singaporean now?

Ava - the people in ur A level french class all from the atas school! But I know ur teacher was really very nice.

Flos.. yah, nigeria was quite a messed up place, lots of bribery and stuff. i didn't really enjoy living there, always having power and water blackouts, once when i was in a supermarket i heard gunshots coming from outside - the bank next door was being robbed.. it was quite scary. i also remember this incident where i was standing outside my school waiting for my brother and driver when a nigerian boy came up to me, called me stupid and hit me on the head, after that he ran away..

i converted to singaporean a couple of years ago so i get the same treatment as any normal citizen.. so entitled to 12 weeks maternity leave. when i first came to singapore, i was told that i had a strong british accent but i've been influenced too much so now i speak like a normal singaporean with all the 'lahs and lehs'...

ava.. you remember the stinky and scary toilets at MOELC?? and the very small canteen..

isabelle, didn't have a choice i needed a 2nd language for O levels so had to continue french until sec 4.. funnily i was the only candidate sitting for O level French in my school so had the whole hall to myself and there were 4 invigilators. i managed to just pass. during the 6 months before i entered poly i took up elementary japanese, did quite well at it.. but again because of no practice, i've forgotten most of it..

hahah.. you want us to parler francaise ah? i don't think i can have a proper french conversation to save my life.. hahaah

lanolin, apart from the fact that i don't speak chinese which can sometimes be a problem (especially when speaking to those who can't speak English... ), i feel that i have become a singaporean.. facebook has actually helped me to find many of my primary school friends from UK and even Nigeria...

Oh oh! Speaking of foreign language speakers, who here can speak Japanese? I need some help with a Japanese text. Looking of japanese onomatopoeia to describe stuff. Anyone can help?

wow, was out for the day and this thread is so happening with exotic clans dscovery and all!

3D / 4D SCAN:
my gynae told me week 32 is best time, she bluff me manx! perhaps it was because I was alreday 28 weeks plus when I saw her last week and week 32 happens to be our next appt. So excited after viewing the 3D scans of some mummies here.

1st Mth Celebration:
this is a major headache of mine ... my DS will be the 1st grandson and 1st great grandson of my hubby's traditional family, so I doubt we can do away with a celebration. Next is the venue, we had planned to do it in a hotel or club, but because we did not have a house warming after we moved in a most of our relatives have not been to our place and they were asking our parents how come we didnt invite them. So we're likely to bear with it and hold it at our place, get it over and done with!

Food Catering:
I was thinking of Lavish after having the sumsptious spread at Ava's place during our first gathering.

I think there are a few popular caterers in this forum, such as meihao.

Any mummies tried others?

this is soo cute I have to share this!

PANDA KINDERGARTEN
1515101.jpg
1515102.jpg
1515103.jpg

SICHUAN , China
One zoo in southwest China has its hands full with 16 baby pandas.

The Sichuan Wolong Panda Protection and Breed Center is dealing with the results of a breeding boom - 16 pandas have been born. The brood includes five sets of twins. The cubs are weighed and measured every five days.

The heaviest tips the scale at just over 24 pounds, while the lightest weighs about 11 pounds. Once weaned, the panda cubs will attend panda kindergarten. In the meantime, more little ones are expected at the center since 38 giant pandas were artificially impregnated.

sarah may
i dun mind looking at it but i dun think i can help much. Cos my jap is darn lousy...
Just trying my luck ok? If too tough i'll just tell u i can't do it hor... which i have a feeling it will be!

shazz
this is so cute!!!

shazz
So cutteeee!! I love pandas, so adorable!!

Ok.. just now I went to the Zara sale with my hubby & we bought clothes for Devon, a pastel blue & white stripe long-sleeved tee shirt top, a crisp white pair of bermudas, a mandarin collared shirt & a pair of cute denim overalls!

mei: sounds so nice, just what you wanted!
I must resist the temptation! hee, I only bought basic white home wear stuff for Eamon, and 1 baby Gap romper for outings. how's the selection at Liat Towers?

Desitin, First Teeth & Lasinoh Spree from www.drugstore.com, brought to you by shazzerlyn.

Spree is only for mummies in this thread
Exchange Rate: Tagged at 1.41, actual exchange rate to be advised upon receiving credit card statement. Additional amount will be collected later for payment of shipping and local postage.

Spree will be capped at a max of US$200 to avoid paying 7% GST, orders will be taken in on a first come first served basis.

Payment: Please make all payment to DBS Savings 0010062525. For those using IB, pls indicate your nick. For those doing it at the ATM, pls indicate TIME, DATE, REFERENCE NUMBER. Please email your orders, together with payment to [email protected]

Shipping: Free shipping within US with $49 and above purchase. Items will be sent to Boerderlinx. Charges to be divided by the total number of items ordered, according to their weight, counted in units. As this is the first time I'm using Borderlinx, I'm not sure how it'll work out, but seems like their charges may be lower than vPost.

As a guide, shipping for Desitin will be counted as 1 unit, First Teeth 0.5 unit. Lasinoh Storage bag will be weighed against Desitin and be advised later on.

Please take note that if you would like to order other stuff, you can email me to check if it's ok, no bulky and heavy items please, as I would like to keep the shipping calculation simple.

Collection: Weekday at Bugis Junction Office Tower Lobby (10am to 5pm) or via mail, registered and normal, envelope and postage payable by participants. Hope to receive the items before our 2nd gathering, so can pass to the mummies too.

Updates of spree: via emails.

Items for spree:

Desitin Original Diaper Rash Ointment $5.49
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=10751&catid=26108&trx=GFI-0-RVP-12030&trxp1=26108&trxp2=10751&trxp3=1&trxp4=1&btrx=BUY-GFI-0-RVP-12030

Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent $5.79
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=10747&catid=19465&trx=GFI-0-EVGR-49973&trxp1=10782&trxp2=10747&trxp3=1&trxp4=2&btrx=BUY-GFI-0-EVGR-49973

First Teeth A Natural Enzyme Baby Toothpaste $4.49
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=76317&catid=12030

Lasinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags
$5.24
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=72403&catid=26912
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly use this format:

NICK: shazzerlyn
Contact no: XXXX XXXX
Collect Mode: Self-collection at Bugis

Item 1: Desitin Fresh Scent – Hypoallergenic $5.79
Qty: 1

Item 2: Desitin Original Diaper Rash Ointment $5.49
Qty: 1

Total Amt (US$): 5.79 + 5.49 = US11.28
Amt Payable (S$): 11.28 x 1.41 = S$15.90
Payment mode: By Internet banking