(2008/09) Sep 2008

I found this Clinic (Redlink Women) at Paragon. They do 3d/4d scan for walk-in patient as well and they are charging like $220 for a full detailed report, photos and a CD for the movements..
I will probably go for that..

Ava,

Yup, has been based there for donkey years now. Has an Asian restaurant there. Is the chef and owner. I always find the excuse that his cooking is more suitable for ang mohs and not for asian tastebuds. Excuse for me not to learn. Hahaha!!!

hi all... gathering on sat is fine with me as long as its after 12 because i need to go for prenatal class in the morning.

does anyone know whether avent sealing discs are really necessary?

those delivering at KKH, will you be choosing A class ward or B1?

blackberry
depends on you
my frd had a bb shower and distribute choz's full mth cakes to all who came.
my neighbour had a bb shower and tats it. No full mth cakes.
Depends on yr budget too.
Cos it can be quite taxing if someone give u a $10 angpow and you give her a $12.90 box of full mth cake. Some companies practice collecting $10 each from colleagues and give as angpow to bb. Imagine u got 30 colleagues who contribute $10 each.

Lok: really?!! Which part of Germany? My entire maternal clan is based in Europe too, some with Asian restaurants like ur daddy's one
I'm born a foodie...

Do u speak German? Can u get cheap NUK products from Germany? Did u see how Germany beat Turkey 3-2 last night at the Euro2008 semi-finals?? THey are in the FINALS!!!! yeh yeh!

Mei: Thanks for the update.

SarahMay is in Macau? Oh.. She actually informed me to bring her loot to my office. I didn't know.. Kekeke..

hahahah Flos you are inundating Lok with your germany questions!!! LOL! wah how come your entire maternal clan is in europe?

ava
cooking and baking r one of my fav hobbies. Sounds so homemakerish yeah? Hee...

Lok
Wow, so cool!

meie/crayon
uhmm... i'm just a novice in baking yah... In fact, I had never iced a cake or piped any icing before this 'project'. If i can make those figurines, i'd open shop already! The figurines r plastic n piglet is a small lil' soft toy. I just made the cake and stuck piglet n frens on! Hee hee. Only the butterfly, flowers n words r made from scratch.
U can use fondant (sugar icing) in place of marzipan i think, but that's super sweet too. My butterfly is made of that and nope, i din try to eat it... Yeek...
I used whipped icing to ice the cake cos i dunno how to put the fondant on the cake nicely... and also like i said, fondant is v sweet.

flos
i'd go for lumbar support anyday if i were u!

big toes
talking abt fat, i did sth real embarassing yest. The receptionist at the GP asked me how many mths i was, and i thot mebbe she cld be preggers too. She was wearing this baby doll thing and she had a bump, so i asked her the same thing and she said she wasn't pregnant! Gosh, i was sooo... embarassed!!!

Goldfish: My Treasure Box red eggs look like plums to me. Not very well-dyed

Where is Choz? Is it yummy?

Jaymickey: I'll do mine at TMC since my gynae is based there.

lemon: Cheong Choon 1.30pm opening hours.

crayon: where is your gynae? 2 pics cost $180 bucks? That's too expensive. I want 4D. Wanna see bb move...

Ava: beats me, since the 1960s my grandparents migrated there to open those F&B outlets.

Lok: when did ur daddy go to Germany?

Oh, I hope Spain can beat Russia tonite.

Flos, i wanted to do at TMC but the slots are all taken up.. now the scan is usually 3d and 4d together.. they will telling me, the best time to do it is at week 28... when the baby is not too big..

Jaymickey, TMC's 4D package (3D photos and 4D video) is $250.xx. I'll do mine at TMC before week 32. It takes approx 2 hours.

3D scan
I did mine week 28. U can try NUH Anenatal Diagnostic Centre. They charged me $100 for 2 CDs and 2 pics (subsidised rate), whole scan took 30 mins.

Flos, really? i have to get it done by 2nd July according to the calculation done by the nurse.. and she called to check for me twice.. also dun have.. u called ur gynae or the 4th floor directly?

<font color="0000ff">Cheong Choon
Anyone knows if Cheong Choon is open on Sundays as well??

Flos
hey.. u taking ur 3D / 4D shots? LC Cheng told u abt it ah?? So have u seen him already?? did he measure bb's weight?

Sunrays
how was ur appt ytd??</font>

Preggie pics
Hi all, are there other studios other than the Studio Loft? cos I probably need to do mine earlier and not sure if the Bloom photog is back from maternity leave ths month...?

bacon&amp;eggs: I've not done it yet lah, but I can do it on 10 Jul.

sasa: I'm going tomorrow to see Dr Cheng...The nurse told me to book tomorrow when I'm at TMC.

R u doing yours? Quite cheap what...just take lah, can post on blogs afterwards! hehe

Hi Isabelle, I am looking at ordering cup cakes as well, have you order from cupcake divinity's?

Saw sweetest mm website, the packaging looks nice! But don't know if it taste as nice?

Koras: Think you stock up Pamper S size better cos the first mth I am going to rotate with cloth diapers so might not need so many NB ones.

I just ordered from Nepia! My fren highly recommend this brand, ordered &amp; sharing with my fren:
1 NB size
2 S size
3 M size

Isabelle: The cake looks so yummy &amp; pretty!!! Good job there!

Ava
U can go to Style Bridal. They also take photos for preg ladies, family, food even though is a bridal shop. I'm going for mine end july or early aug.

If you want i can send you their contact. I took my bridal photos from them.

<font color="119911">isabelle (isa_belle) - hehe, quite paiseh then. Once, a colleague asked a client how many months preggers she was &amp; it also turned out that she wasn't expecting!
And yes, your girl's Bday cake is so sweet!
Nice! I bake as well, but nothing fancy - usually just breads with loads of fruits &amp; weird ingredients &amp; cakes for family...

Flos - yes, show us ur 3D photos! I am still undecided if I want to go for the 3/4D scan. How many photos do they provide u with?

Mommies going for the studio shot - so exciting! Have to share with us okie!</font>

isabella, tat cake doesnt look like its made by novice lor.. hahaha..tats why i think cupcakes are really nice to look at but too sweet to eat. Once I ordered a cake for our anniversary.It was all fondant on top with figurines and all, we din even know how to go abt cutting up the cake to eat. hahaa..

Flos, mine's at TMC lor.. same gynae as Sarahmay. Thats why I was turned off by the price for 2 pics only.

Bacon&amp;Eggs, urs is really cheap...

<font color="0000ff">Flos
thanks. shucks.. now i have to psycho hb to go there on sat le, sighz..

haha.. dun think i'll be doing it leh. Dr Cheng didnt talk to me abt it oso wor. let's see if when i see TC Chang nxt will he do the scan for mi.. muahahaha.

hhmm.. cheap mah?
now i trying to save as much as I can.. haha. calculative mummy. Anyway, if i so decide to take it, will surely let u noe de..

sasa: i'll do it on a weekday cos my appts are all on weekdays. dun want to go to TMC specially for this 4D scan.

Dr Cheng didn't talk to me abt it either. Jaymickey mentioned abt the scans here, so I KPO called to enquire and they calculated based on my EDD and said they could squeeze me in!!

$250 is ok wat...I'd rather take bb's photo than to do my own FAT makeover. I feel super heavy. No mood to pose for any photographer!!!

Bigtoes: I've not even gone for it yet...kkeke!! Sure thing, I'll upload them when they're taken
I wonder how large the files are.

Mei: how big are your pic files done at KKH?

blackberryB, i'm not able to PM you as your PM is not enabled.

bacon&amp;egg, your 3D scan is cheap. for the scans at NUH, do u know if they will entertain walk-ins? or non-NUH patients?

jessi,
i think NUH takes non-NUH patients because I overheard patient from other hospital who came for the scan. Walk-in..maybe not. V packed..u could check their rates again cos i am a NUH patient so I get subsidized rates.

FLos,
My hubby also not keen to take maternity shot..he prefer to have family portraits after bb is born. Guess we will DIY!

blackberry
dun intend to hv bb shower... but will give full mth cakes onli. For relatives i will give cakes and deliver to their hse... for frds and colleagues, vouchers. I think they prefer to receive vouchers too.

flos,

wah u hv a lot of qns! Nope, i don't speak German cos my parents sent me back from Holland when I'm 6YO to put me through SG's education system. NUK products ---- didn't check or ask my daddy. I'm a supporter of Holland rather than Germany. haha!

My daddy first went to Holland when he's 16. Then he went over to Germany (area called Essen) some 20+ years ago.

Are you Shanghainese? From Wenzhou?

Lok
That's really interesting man..pity you didnt grow up there, would have been interesting (well, it always seems interesting if u are somewhere else, but i guess to some dutch/germans, growing up in SG would be cool too...lol). so you go to germany a lot for hols?

Mickey: I think you didn't get my email or posts. I'm only back in Singapore in July. can't collect before then. Not in town. Call you when I get back after 7 July ok?

Isabelle: nice cake!

been thinking about those 3d/4d scans woh.. but quite expensive.. Hmm..

Flos:
Do you know if choon cheong is open on SAT? and till wat time?

Ava,

I spent my first 6 years in Holland before coming back to SG without my parents. Have been a nomad since then (pass from one relative to another, so kinda sad).

Nope, hardly spend any time in Germany except for a 5-mth work stint back in 2002. But have been to Europe quite a few times for holidays.

bacon&amp;eggs: I dunno why, but I just wanna take a break from taking self-portraits. I took some pics of myself in SH but just thot I look like an aunty!! Hair colour faded, face chubbier, arms flabbier, bespectacled...yikes..No thanks!

Lok: Serious?!!! 6YO? I lived there when I was 4-5YO! I came back for my K2. GASP! spot-on, am indeed half-Shanghainese
my mom grew up in Communist SH in the 50's.

were u born in Germany then? some of my cousins are in Spain, Italy and UK now...they are all married with kids.

Alamak! Holland has lost to the Russians...pathetic...

Since u love Holland so dearly, did u buy BUGABOO prams for your bb? My mom told me not to trouble my aunty who is coming back from The Netherlands in a week's time, cos BUGABOO is already 13kg?
Are u on FACEBOOK?

NUH 3D Scan
i just called to enquire abt the 3D scan at NUH. the charge is $117.70, includes 2 pics + a CD
i think quite a good deal. the receptionist also mentioned alot of TMC doctors also refer their patients to NUH to hv their 3D scan done. I hv booked my appt on Monday 30Jun at 3pm. i'm in my 30 weeks now. the receptionist says should be done from 26 weeks actually. so i'm abit late.

Cloud: I will deliver in KKH. I am thinking to go for class A so that my husband can stay overnight. Hopefully not to expensive.

flos,

I think we belong to the same clan!
Except that I'm 100% shanghainese (both sides --- from Zhejiang, Wenzhou). I am not hardcore lah, still using Combi. Born in Singapore but they brought me over at a very young age (like 1 mth or so).

steff&amp;sean: $117.70 is not for 4D videos eh? TMC's $250 is incl of the video clip(s).

I suspect I'll be too large by 10 Jul. I'm already 28+ wks...Well, try my luck. If they said too late, I'll pass...I just want to pay $250 and lie there to enjoy a 2-hr "bb show"...

Flos,
i dun think the NUH one includes video. (maybe bacon&amp;egg can confirm as she did hers already) but it includes the CD with pics. $250 for TMC is abit on the high side. Will just settle for NUH to get the 3D/4D scan experience as this is probably my last baby