(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine (piggy_jas)
hey hey.. think i noe who u are..
we were in the same class wor...

Body Temperature
haha.. mine was 36.3. Anyway, i think it's normal coz they were taking our temp on our forehead. usually this method is not so accurate wor.. haha..

Mrs Wong's Class
haha.. tell me abt it.. i cannot remember any of those exercises she tot. oh well.. now i'm beginning to feel if it was a waste of $$ signing up for this class :p

Bangkok
my frens would be visiting this wonderful shopping paradise soon. juz wondering if anyone has anything to share abt things tat can be bot there. Already told her to help me buy the pigeon breasts pads wor.. haha
anything else??</font>

Hi bacon&amp;egg: I ask you before but think you missed my post. Where did you shift to? Still the same neighbourhood?

So many mummies shifting!! I think of my shifting last yr &amp; it quite fun!

Alabone: Just ignore you MIL, no point getting angry over her antics...

abalone, bacon&amp;egg,
wow. so many of u with nasty in-laws. I must be v fortunate. My in-laws are very good and understanding pple. currently staying with them now till my new place is ready. absolutely no complaints abt them.

hi flos,
oh, you don't know me well yet. i DO NOT allow her to rule my house. in this household, there can only be ONE reigning QUEEN and that is MEEEEEE!!!!!!! my hb leaves all arrangement of stuff to me and i like it that way. coz i like that i know where i put my things and when my hb wants anything, i can tell him where to get it. she shift here the second day only, took out my things in the kitchen cabinet and say this expire that expire, why we never throw. then supposedly circle expiry date which when i checked, was manufactured date. super pissed. then take my plastic bags and fold fold then put in dispenser. so i took out everything and make it untidy again. then buy washing detergent and such for us. i told hb i like to do my OWN grocery shopping and told her to stop doing all that coz i DO NOT APPRECIATE one bit.

bacon&amp;eggs,
yup. luckily your hb stood up for you. i also like you. i not happy i make sure that my mil knows it and she better don't do it again. i absolutely detest her!

storeberry,
i cannot ignore it lor. coz she'll think it's li suo dang rang and let it continue. this is my house. NOT HERS.

stef,
lucky you. i haven't completed my horrid mil story. i only started hating her after she allowed my jared boy to swallow screw lor. after that i refuse to let her touch my children. i treat her like invisible in the house and told her to shift out. now i can't wait for her to be out of the house.

by the way, your interior design with haier living is inclusive of reno costs??

avalyn,
yes. mine is a new condo unit, so the wardrobes, flooring, kitchen, toilets are all done up. even air-con is provided. so nothing much left to do except some carpentry works like bay window ledges, shoe cabinet, or those feature walls to make your place look nicer. $25k reasonable ?? i thought it was expensive le.. $25k does not include soft furnishings, lighting and electrical works.

stef&amp;seanbabes
Ahhhh that explains it then...yeah not v reasoable if it excludes all that
as I thought they are expensive! But must be good for u to go back despite the cost

Let me know once the gathering is fixed!

Sasa-de-mouse,
For BKK, I went last month and I din see much ‘best-buy’ bb stuff except bb clothings.
For bb clothings, there isn’t much at platinium mall. You may wanna to try Bo-Bae Market
It is a wholesale area and in selective shops, u can find lots of bb clothes quite cheaply!
I got everything in pkts of 12pcs… baby bibs, mittens and romps etc etc
Bt generally, other than bb clothes, it is quite a bore!

sasa &amp; company: cannot rem those light stretching exercises? How come? If I can, u can too! Let me teach u, and u pay me!!! Hiak Hiak!

steff&amp;sean: Yep, then in your case, $25K IS expensive...But then again, reno is VERY expensive these 2 years. We need to turn back the clock to 2004-5

Back to school and working yes.. quite a lot of paper work and i still steal time to read the news .. keke and visit the forum ...
Count me in for the gathering k

abalone,
actually my in-laws are so nice that i dun mind staying with them for long term.
if not for space constrains, i think i am able to live with them with my 2 kiddies and #3 baby. my MIL is so nice. she knows i love fish and if she knows i'm coming back for dinner, she will fry one whole fish and keep it for me. she even notices the kind of fish which i eat and which i don't.

Flos,
true. nothing is cheap nowadays. everything went up. all the raw materials like plastics, glass, wood, and even glue prices went up. we approached several interior design companies like Orange cube, IntraDesign, etc and v surprised to find that $25k was quite a norm. so in the end chose Haier Living as they were not too far off from the rest in terms of cost, and i really trust their design and quality of work.

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) : thnks, got the payment. how's your new place? where issit?

Storeberry &amp; SarahMay: No way am I going to pay $1.2k a night to stay in a hospital! haha ... Think I'll go for the 1 bedded which is about $400/night, good enough for me. My friends even told me, for 1st child, 1 bedded is ok, 2nd child, just go for 2 bedded or even 4 bedded cos your hubby will probably be home sleeping with #1! Everyone told me not to waste money on hospital room, and I totally agree!
like storeberry said, the $$$ can go to my baby's one year supply of diapers and FM!

Alabone: your MIL sounds so careless! mix up manufacturing date with expiry date and the worst is to allow Jared to swallow screws! That's ridiculous! By the way, why is she staying at your place? she shutters from her chldren's place every few mths?

Flos: I remembered you asking how much we've spent on our baby already. I did tallied up my bills ... no, not going to claim from my DS next time. But just for our own info and recording, plus budgeting as well. To date, we've spent $5.9K buying Eamon's stuff. And that's not including all the money paid to the hospital for the gynae package and all the tests etc. Got a shock myself, considering the fact that I definitely missed out alot of the nice clothes we bought for him, cos I can't recall how much they cost. But doing the expense tracker spreadsheet made me want to STOP buying stuff now! haha ...

Shazz,

One of my friends who delivered her no. 2 and stayed in a 2-bedded recommended that I get a 1 bedded. I have already booked my 1-bedded room with Mt A. Maybe she was unfortunate, but the mother sharing her room had many visitors and my friend cannot really rest.

I think 1 bedded is good even for a no 2 delivery, cos when no 1 comes around with daddy and grandparents, he can 'roamed' around more freely without fearing that he's disturbing others. I also think that having a 1 bedded with a rooming in baby will be good, quiet bonding time, before we return home to the 'madness' of looking after 2 kids.

ava and shazz,
yes she did. she's suuuuuuper careless and absolutely dont know how to take care lor. then when my kids were young, she didn't even care for them or hold/carry them. then now jared and nat big, can recognise pple and speak, then she want to play with them. but i dont let my kids play or talk to her. her condo went en bloc so that's why hb tot we shd ask her to move here despite me being against it. anyway, i told her to shift out.

shazz,
yeah. if you tally everything up it does soounds like we've spent so much on bb. and this will continue. but then again, some things can be kept for your no.2or3. i stay in one bedder for all my delivers. don't want anyone to disturb and there will be more privacy.

stef&amp;seanbabes,

Wow, you MIL is really nice. That's why, I always believe that to keep your son close to you when he grows up, it is most important to be nice to your daughter-in-law. I vow to do that next time.. bo bian, now that I have 2 boys... really dun want them to 'run-away' after they get married next time after I loving them so much.

RXmon
agree with u. even for my this #3 baby, i will opt for single bedded. cos in terms of rest and visitors' timing, will not disturb neighbour, and neighbour will not disturb me too
furthermore, i hope my 2 kiddies will stay around me during the day time. if i have a neighbour, i will be worried that my 2 kiddies will be disturbing the neighbour

Also, the price difference between a single bedded and double bedded is not a big difference. so might as well go for the single bedded.

stef,
ya. your mil is really nice. will even check out your likes and dislikes. my mil only cares for her own son. buys the food her son likes to eat and treats me as invisible. so i do the same.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) : good point there! my friend stayed at RH, where I'm gonna deliver. Most of the time, the patients choose 1 bedded, so their 2 bedders usually have 1 patient only. ;)

alabone: good that you're not the easily bullied type, and told her to shift. anyway, she can afford to rent a nice place now that she got a fat bank account from the en bloc. ;)

abalone,
my MIL does not ask what i like or dun like. she just notices the dishes that i eat from the dinner table.
v considerate, sensitive and caring huh.. she knows i like fish like white pomfret, ikan kurau. and fish like selar i dun like. so sometimes she will cook several kinds of fish, and the fish she knows i dun take, she will put in front of my father inlaw who eats any type of fish, and will put the pomfret in front of me.
only me and father inlaw eats fish. rest of family members dun really eat fish.
lucky me huh..

shazz,
yup. i certainly am not the to be bullied kind. she definitely can afford to get her own place lor. dont have to put up at my small place like she said. come here and create havoc and crowd my place only. then bring her old furniture and make my place so cluttered! hb only wanted her to stay here coz the en bloc money will go to him. but i told him i cannot tolerate having her here. anyway, when she passes on, her new place will be hb's anyway and he can then decide wat he wants to do with it.

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) : your MIL is so sweet. Mine is nice too ... but I'm scared of her cos she always bitch to me about my SIL and yet still treat her so nice! It makes me wonder whether she's doing the same to me sometimes! But I've heard from mutual church friends of MIL and myself, that she likes me and thinks I'm a much better DIL than my SIL. ;p

alabone: yes, I totally agree with you! it's a case of having "delayed inheritance" instead of having the cash now. ;) I think your peace and sanity is worth more than the money

abalone,
and even the fruits, she knows that i like grapes, strawberries v much. so when she happens to buy them from the market, she will tell me that she bought these and to help myself to them.

hi stef,
yes. lucky you. very observant of her to know your likes and dislikes. this kind of mil hard to come by leh. not interfering and so kind. i'm sure you'll miss her after you shift out.

shazz,
yes. my MIL is so far one of the best i've seen/heard. the best part is that we hardly communicate, as she speaks mainly in hokkien which i dun understand. And, occassionally in mandarin, but my mandarin is so poor, so sometimes i hv trouble expressing myself. so actually, we dun really communicate
but she's really one very observant and caring lady. she has 3 DIL. another DIL is also staying together with her. she treats us all v well

abalone,
yes i will miss her kind treatment when we shift out. anyway, i will still go back to her place daily for dinner. and i hv decided to hv my confinement at her place cos she cooks v yummy confinement food

you're so blessed stef&amp;seanbabes! she's such a nice MIL, despite the language barrier, she takes so much initiatives and effort to make you feel comfortable and happy staying there.

my MIL will usually cook what her sons loves to eat, not so much for the DIL. her whole life is devoted to making sure her children and hubby is well fed and taken care off. DIL are secondary ... hehe

shazz,
your mil same as my mil then. own son more impt. my mum is like stef's mil. she always makes sure that she cooks something that my hb likes for dinner and what my bro's gf likes when she's ard to eat.

yup. you are right abt the sanity part. she don't move out soon, i wont be alive to see my hb inherit whatever inheritance liao.

aiyooo, i'm scared of gossipy mils esp your kind. you really wonder if they are nice to you genuinely. but if your mutual church friends say she really likes you then must be you treat her nicely too.

you all sound like good dils. unlike me. i'm the dil from hell.

Hi Storeberry,

Thank you for your recommendation. I like the work of Marianne and the package is really reasonable !. Think i will sign up with her
. When are you thinking of taking the pictures ? I read from somewhere that the pictures should be taken in the 8th month of the pregancy... So that will be next month for me as my EDD is 4th Sept 08.

shazz, abalone,
actually my MIL loves to hv her grandchildren ard her. she is rather old, abt 70+. though she is unable to take care of her grandchildren, she loves to see them in the house and making the house so 'noisy'. so hubby tries to make it a point to go back to her place for dinner daily , so that she gets to see my 2 kiddies play and making a mess of her house.
actually i find myself v fortunate to hv such good inlaws and hubby.

jasmine, yup u added me on facebook before. my nick here is quite similar to my name in my facebook.

sasa, i got the Boots milk bags from BKK. it's cheap but i dunno if it's good or not. a box of 40 cost ard 120bhts which is ard sgd$5+. maybe can get 1 or 2 boxes to try out if you will be expressing breastmilk.

Jessi/Jasmine,
I'm the only girl wifout hubby who attended the class yesterday.
Jasmine,
I saw u cos i roughly remember the face on ur facebook. I tink the girl sitting beside u is Vicky, but i dunno her username here.

Jessi,
Where were u sitting ?

I hvn't calculated my total expenses but it should be under $3K. Also, I hvn't added the $ I spent on maternity clothes, vitamins and visits to gynae. I hv just received a few angpows last weekend, so that should help lower the costs.

My TCM, confinement stuffs are all kindly sponsored by parents and in-laws.

I agree it's ok if u can use them for your #2. Otherwise, just sell it on the internet. I am quite surprised to see all kinds of buyers and sellers on SM forum. One was trying to get rid of a bottle of DOM, another selling off a used playpen. Interesting...Is this a Singaporean thing?

Alabone: Doesn't your hb have other siblings who can render her 'refuge' after her enbloc sale? I really hate clutter and old furniture.

sasa de mouse
Haha. I think i won't get to remember unless face to face bahs. Too many mummies le. My memories are getting bad. =(

Millie
Ohh i know who u are. =D good massage from Mrs Wong? U mean Vicky is the one sitted on my right or left?

Flos (flos) : I didn't even include my maternity clothes, bras etc and the bird nest! OMG ... that's another hefty sum ... but I wont factor that in since I'm the one consuming it. ;)

yeah, agree that the cost is like an initial set-up cost, just like a business! haha ... the strollers, beddings, cots, rockers, car seats etc can be used for subsequent children.

On selling stuff: I dun think it's a Singaporean thing. I think it's only for those who're savvy enough to join forums, buy and sell things off auctions. ;)

<font color="0000ff">alabone
wah... seems like u have some bad blood with ur MIL. take care k.. dun let her get on ur nerves else nxt time ur little one would be frustrated too.. treat her as 'invisible' bah..
but letting ur son swallow screws??? OMG!!!!

Goldfish
oh ya.. i heard the clothes there are cheap. but no idea if my fren noes wat to help mi buy leh.. haha.. u noe lah.. clothes are subjective de. and some more the sizing...

Flos
wah... we all forum mates.. u "chen huo da jie" ah.. haha.. still wan us to pay u $$ to remind us the exercises...

yeap yeap.. think dr cheng leaving on the 29th i think.. so mayb u'll get to see him b4 he leaves? did he or the nurses tell u tat u will see TC Chang instead?

stef&amp;sean babes
hehe.. u've got a really nice MIL!!!
envy envy!!!

Shazz
wah.. 5.9k.. tats whopping hor.. haha.. wonder how much does my tally up to... :p

Jessi
okok.. thanks. will ask my fren to take note of the milk bags.. hehe

Millie
I think I noe who u are.. hehe

Millie / Jessi / Jasmine(piggy_jas)
ok ok.. to help u all put a face to my nick.. haha... i was the one who was super duper late for the class yesterday... oops

sasa de mouse: oh, mine is before 29th lah, so I'll still see my dear LC Cheng wor...

how abt I videotape myself and post the video on YouTube, then u go and watch me perform the Wong Boh Boi exercises lor. hahaha!

The exercises are always the same rite? twinkle2 lil stars, fling your hands, belly dancing, touch your opp knees, "arch your back like a cat purring", shoulder rotation (2-directional), "wave" your feet, aiyo...

we do that during PE oso what...

Do u find the Powerpoint slides full of typo errors? Tsk tsk. One slide on BMI was a photograph of another powerpoint slide presentation delivered at another seminar, so that particular slide appears lopsided cos photo was taken from an angle! wa kao!

Must feedback to ParentCraft...

storeberry,
i just moved to west coast rd.

Stef,
Like u, i just completed my reno..but i only spent $10K on carpentry and wiring. Curtains, lightings and soft furnishing excluded.

<font color="0000ff">Flos
haha.. seeing LC might be better coz afterall he's ur doc-in-charge mah.. aiyah.. ask him abt bb's weight when he does the scan for u. think he'll be glad to measure it for u..

wah.. u sure u wanna videotape urself n post on YOU-TUBE?? haha.. i wouldn't mind watching if u dare to post wor.. muahahaha....

mayb coz i didnt do any of the exercises so cannot rem lah. wat to do? LC already adviced mi not to do any of the exercises. juz SIT &amp; WATCH!!! aiyoh..

haha.. they are full of typo errors. and i find it abit hard to understand what's she's saying at times oso.. think coz of her accent ah.. </font>

sasa de mouse
I remember a mummy and daddy came in late. HAHA! But can't remember face le. =x

I suggest all sept mummies shld bring an identical item to class this sunday so that we can identify each other. haha.. I'm young but memories are super bad bad badd...

Ava - I have a feeling we're going to make a bid for it this week! It's stressful - trying to find out loans and created some spreadsheets in order to see if we can afford it. D says we're def going into austerity drive mode after this. He's asked me to sell of my bags. HA HA

Flos - we saw this place we really like la - currently renting so we need to one day find a place to permanently settle down.

preggie - u can call up the hosp and ask them to transfer u to the lady who manages the antenatal classes. Can put ur name down and then just go down and make payment. I think it's about SGD 214 for 4 sessions.

abalone - yes I am!!! are you? when is ur EDD?

Thanks Stefandseanbabes!

stef,
my PILs are quite nice..just intefering when u give them too much leeway. Otherwise, my PIL, esp my MIL is v nice. She will also cook stuff that i enjoy..but i cannot tell her it is really nice cos she will cook the same dish for a week until my hubby and my FIL complain..so they always "warn" me not to tell her certain dish is good..haha! She would also fold my clothes and lay them on my bed for me. Frankly, I kinda miss her now that i have shifted out of their place..

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine(piggy_jas)
haha.. tats rite.. that's me!!! sob sob.. canot do any of the exercise wor.. my doc dun allow... sianz!!!

so paiseh lor.. coz was super late for the class.. hahaha</font>

Shazz: Yeah lor. Aiyo I think the 1.2 k is for the fancy toiletries. Buying and bring your own branded toiletries also won't cost so much! Money better spent on bb or something more useful than hospital stay. But having said that, a one or two bedder is good. Just not a four or 6 bedder.

Flos: Not a singaporean thing to sell stuff over the forum. Quite clever actually. As for your exercise video, oh! do post them! That way i can learn too! Hehe.

Wong BB Class: You mean she speaks with an accent? I thought she's Singaporean. I heard her speak before, doesn't sound foreign to me. She is rather friendly too.

Alabone: Hang in there! I'm sure you are not the DIL from hell....you look way too sweet and gentle to be that! I reckon that any sweet DIL will be annoyed with what she does!

BT takings: I think all the thermometers in the A/C room must have been out of whack from over use! 35+ degrees! Unbelievable! But then again, my temp is 36+ only.