(2008/09) Sep 2008

Next gathering
I should be OK for either date, but hope I wont be too big on 26th!

Hosp bag
Some things no one has mentioned I think: bring some prune juice and leave in the fridge. recommended by someone to me last time cos otherwise may be hard to go poo the first few days.

Also breast pump just in case.

bigtoes: I SAW YOU AT the CLASS!!!!!! You were wearing purple tube dress kind!! seating at the pillar there can lean to the back!!!!!!

I not sure you saw me or not but you got face my direction and I think we did look into each other once :p

I dare not call because I recognised only by your face on your multiply :p :p

I am the one wearing shorts, tummy not big kind one, shoulder length hair :p

Ya The class I felt it was going to fast, at the end of the day I forgot everything!!!! my goodness my hubby only remembered the talking to baby thing, me nothing!!!!!!
Too crowded too, too many people!!!!!! ahahaha :p

Mrs Yap: care to tell who your gynae is? He/she is attached to which hospital?

Is anyone interested in this Size 5 Crocs - Alice? I bought it during my pregnancy earlier this year and only wore once. It looks brand new. Reason I didn't wear is that I also bought birkenstock and prefer birkie to crocs. Willing to let go at $30. PM me for details.
1505298.jpg

Ava: thanks for the reminder about the breast pump! my friends did ask me to bring along and start using it, to tell your body it's time to produce the milk! I also rem buying prune juice for my SIL during her hospital stay.

Just checked with SIL, Raffles Hospital gave a set of His & Hers Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries for both the toilets in her suite when she delivered. They also provided towels, maternity pads, 2 types of hospital gowns. Think will ask for a hospital tour before I decide which room to take. But I don't want to spend $1200 a night at the suite that my SIL stayed at. That can let me stay at St Regis for 2 nights! haha

finally back from the parentcraft.
too many execise a bit forget here and there..
my hubby see that i so tired ask me if i remember what she teach in class a not lol..

I have some additional Brand New milk bottles for sales...
anyone interested, please PM me. Thanks

1) 4 BN Bfree plus bottles (9 floz - 260ml twin pack). Selling at $34 per pack
2) 1 BN Dr Brown natural flow (240ml). Selling at $10
3) 1 BN Pigeon Glass bottle (240ml). Selling at $17
4) 1 BN Pigeon Peristaltic Nipple wide neck bottle (300ml). Selling at $10
5) 2 BN Bfree plus level 2 wide neck teats. Selling at $6
6) 4 BN Avent level 2 teats. Selling at $10

Thinking of taking maternity picture during my 8th month of the pregnancy. ANy recommendation from anyone ? Or have anyone already taken ?

the hairdryer thing is ooh... my gosh!!! I wldn't want to be sticking a hairdryer anywhere near u know where!!!

Flos,
me has the Baby Bjorn Air.
Dun worry, i think Dr Chang will tell u the weight, cos he always tells me the wt when i go and one of my colleagues who went to him when LC Cheng was on leave commented that Dr Chang is v detailed, so should be ok!

Sunrays
Mmmm... Canele sounds really good! I'm hungry already! Keeping my fingers crossed I can make it. Cos I'm trying to confirm dates for my refresher antenatal class with my doula, and one of the dates falls on 26 Jul!

And will get back to u on synergy asap! Thx!

Shazz
the list looks really useful. Will go look at it in detail soon and cross out the items i dun need. Thx!
Was just thinking of packing my bag yesterday before term starts and i get too busy to do anything!

Ava n Shazz
I have heard that if we take the confinement food, we dun need prune juice as our bowel movements will be fine. Cos my doula commented that her clients who ate the confinement food had no pblms gg to the toilet. (And my doula isn't one who really advocates confinement fd, she's the as long as u eat healthy food shld be ok type. Eat salad also ok type, which wld make my MIL freak out!)
It was the case for me even though I was on iron tablets and it was supposed to have made me more constipated... But i dunno, mebbe just a coincidence?

Rachel,
Just found out my SIL is not using the breast pump anymore. Though mind if i ask if breast pump replacement parts are also on discount? If yes I wld like to get. Thx!

Stef, do u know? Thx!

Shazz, that's a very useful and long list of things to pack for the hospital stay. i compared it with the list on thomson medical website, so much diff cos it's just a short list. but it seemed like quite a number of items are not a neccessity, so i guess i will just pack according to my needs.

Gathering
count me in for the next gathering!
i'll be free on both the saturdays.

koras, i also forgotten about the exercises that was taught earlier. they should have done some video and gave us each a dvd to follow at home. hehe..

sunrays and jasmine, think i saw u both in the class just now, sitting right at the back. i only recognise u both cos from your facebook pics. anyway, i went to the class late, was sitting right in the front.

jessi - ya lo true..just now i go bath my hubby make fun say " er u go toilet can do the breast execise liao' i hear le i luff.

er where u sitting at wor in the class.. mi sit near to the toilet there lol

Flos,

Wow, u r getting so many Diaper Bags in one go?? Might want to consider getting some at a later stage depending on your wants/needs.

Actually, I hv a few too but bought them gradually as the needs changes.
(1) The 1st one was the hospital diaper bag
(2) then I bought the diaper organizer from Robinsons (so I or my hubby can throw it into any bag)
(3) Progressed to a Limited Edition Allerhand messenger bag (comes with the zipper diaper changing mat) and it's huge
(4) Now using a LeSportsac lookalike (i.e. fake) bag which is small enough for my needs.

I read somewhere the key things to look out for in a diaper bag other than an appealing design are: Waterproof material, lots of compartments to organize the bb stuff and easy access (no complicated zips etc). Preferably lightweight and also consider something more neutral in design so that hubby is willing to carry too.

isa: tks! I hope to get some details from TC CHANG next week...

About bb carriers, I've received mixed feedback from frens. Most of them hardly use their expensive carriers cos they end up carrying the bb in their arms or placing the bb onthe stroller when their arms become tired. I find carriers v. useful if u are on tour.

lok: U hv so many diaper bags too?! My hb has 2 of his own messenger bags which we feel can be used as diaper bags, so we need not get the unisex ones at the time being.

How much is the organiser that u bot from Robs? I heard from some forumers Allerhand straps are not durable. Is yours okso far?

"Hospital Diaper bag" may not be nec in my case. I am thinking of packing a Samsonite cabin bag becos my DH is going to stay overnight with me

THOSE WHO ATTENDED TMC PARENTCRAFT CLASS RECENTLY:

What was your body temperature? Mine was quite low. First lesson: 35.9 degrees C. Hmm... Second lesson: 36 degrees C...
Am I too liang?

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - i am in Korea now
Nice weather but quite bored nonetheless....

lovebug1822 (lovebug1822) - hey, replied ur PM before i saw ur posing. I saw a couple of mommies with smallish tummies - were u one of those who look like u are 4-5 months (and not 7 months preggers)?? Next week come &amp; say hi okie
Anyway the class was quite okie, though not like we will remember &amp; do the exercise &amp; some portions are quite draggy.

Next gathering --- oh, just remembered that our last pre-natal class is on the 19th July, so we can't make it on that Sat afternoon. Can we do it the morning (Sat/Sun) if no mommies have pre-natal classes or the weekend after if SarahMay is still around?

Flos - mine was 35.5 degrees! Even lower than yours. Anyway, i was standing by the lady taking temperature &amp; most people are in the 35.5-36.5 range.</font>

Why are our temps so low????1!! I feel hot all the time, so I was shocked that he told me it's only 35.9! I thot I've been drinking too much cold drinks...

Shazz: $1200 a night for the suite??? Goodness!!! I can buy how many cartons of pampers!!

Jojo: I am thinking of taking the photos as well! I think alot of people are taking from this lady called Marianne but I forgot the studio name..

Limay: What is the weather like in Korea now? I miss the chilli rice cake they sell at the roadstalls!! Yummy!!

Hi Storeberry,
Who is this lady call Marianne ? i have the coupon from the motherfair from dphotofolio. I am still considering as it cost $350 and it does not includes any makeup or basic styling ....
Hence is thinking anyone here can give me some feedback ? The other JJ photography is about $500 and the picture is taken at your home ... Hmm hmm... who are you evaluating and can you share your contacts ?

sarahmay,
hee.. hv been busy looking for interior designer for my new place. finally chosen one after getting some quotes and going down to compare design. finally, we have chosen our previous interior designer from Haier Living. after so much hassel, still chose old one. hiaz.

diaperbags.com
i think someone asked how the diaper bag is being shipped to Singapore. i have a friend staying in the US. so asking her to bring it back for me when she comes back this Aug.
You can also get the bag shipped to Singapore thru VPOST.

Philips staff discount sale:
actually, i'm really not sure what they are selling at the Philips showroom sale. As my office is in Pasir Ris, not at Toa Payoh Philips.
but if u need to ask abt any items, i can help you ask.

26 July Gathering at Canele:
count me in !! i can make it!!
will be bringing along my 2 kiddies.. hope they dun break any cups or plates..

Isabelle: You have a doula? From where? Can share details. Anyway, doulas are generally more Western in their philosophy so of cos confinement food not really a priority. A balanced diet is most impt to them.

Flos: How come your BT is so low? Thot BT for preggers are normally higher than average. Maybe your thermometer isn't functioning properly? Anyway, did you ask Mrs Wong BB or whoever was teaching the class? I'm sure there is nothing to worry about.

Shazz: Wow! Raffles Hospital suite is like a hotel stay! hehe. I think the money is better saved and spent on a nice holiday instead! I've stayed in their one-bedders before, and I already thot it was pretty nice. So have you decided what kind of ward you're going to take there?

GATHERING: I'm back in SG till I pop from 7 July on. So i'm good for whenever except Sundays, and somewhere central pref or easy to get to cos I dun drive.

Next gathering at Canele ah? Ooohhhhh....evil temptations with ALL the cakes. Must 'diet' now so that I can stuff my face with the sweet treats then! Hahah.

Flos,

Details of the organizer (note this is 2 yr old info, so dunno whether they still have it). For TMC, the hospital diaper bag will be given to u even if u bring a 34" luggage. They pack all the freebies in there mah. Allerhand bag is ok for us. Just a bit bulky and we brushed against the car tyre while trying to squeeze through and kena marks.

Organizer (baby bag) ~ $19.90
This Baby Bag Accessory Kit holds the 4 items that you would find most useful when out with baby. Pick and choose the items you want to include in your bag out with baby. These can vary according to your lifestyle &amp; age of your baby. Also on the length of your outing and hmm... the bag you choose to match your outfit!
o Diaper-Changing Pad: makes any surface suitable for laying your baby down
o Bottle/Food Bag: Keeps food/drinks warm or cold while out. Useful too for transporting expressed breastmilk back from short trips without baby.
o Dirty/Mess Pouch: for separating wet/soiled clothes &amp; diapers from all your clean stuff
o Toiletries Pouch: has 2 pockets to hold diapers, lotions, powder, wipes, etc.

GATHERING:
Canele shld be ok for me too! (which outlet huh?) But if we eat out, I won't bring J. He will create havoc....

stef&amp;Seanbabes - I'm zooming into a place we might be interested to buy.
I might ask for the contact of the interior designer you have! Actually quite siao to manage so many changes at one time man....

Anyone going for mount e antenatal starting july??

Lunch last friday at TP

Hey mommies, so sorry to have missed the lunch and not informed any of you. I have given my phone no to Flos (who has msged me when I was sleeping) but I don't have any of your no. so I can't inform any of you that I couldn't attend.

I decided to take urgent leave that day to accompany my hubby and son before my hubby leave that night.... didn't want to take leave cos I have been taking too many days of leave in the 3 weeks he was around... but what the heck right? afterall, I am not going to see him for 2.5 month. Dun care what my boss will think.

Really, really so sorry...

Sarahmay: I suppose koras and Bigtoes have equally low temps, so there shd be no cause for any concern

Lok: tks, when I'm at Robs, I'll pop by to check out the organiser. I like Allerhand colours!

TMC will give me another diaper bag...ok, i'll stuff it into my small luggage. Can we bring our own laptop in? Dun think they hv Wifi in the hospital though... But I do know they hv a wide selection of cable channels to pick from!!

lanolin: u r moving? thot u r happy with staying still? *pun intended*

Haier Living is along Amoy Street. I just walked past it last week

RXmom: As per my SMS reply to you last Fri, no prob lah! I can fully understand ur feelings. I always called in sick on the day my DH flies off, even though I can jollywell drag myself back to office to work for a half a day.

Next time u will finish those delectable macarons Sunrays' hb makes for u...

RXmum and Flos
Reading your post on taking leaves when hubby flies just makes me laugh... Cos i am one of those who takes leave whenever my hb flies. Even though he usually take a morning flight, i would still take a whole day leave... cos no mood to work liao lor... so i can fully understand how it feels..keke esp now pregnant... sometimes feel like packing my bag to tag along lor..

Flos: Yeah! Nothing to worry about la. But so strange how come all had such low BTs.

Stef &amp; Sean: good that you settled on the ID company. So when will the renos be done? Can't wait to see your cute kiddos!

Preggie: Got ur email! Replied you already!

hi lanolin and preggie,
are you two delivering your bbs at mt E??

very angry with my mil. last night my friend called me at my house phone. i didn't pick up coz my phone in the room is on silent. then my mil picked up and when my friend asked for me, she told my friend to call me on my mobile instead!!!! how dare she even suggest that. then whenever she uses phone, she'll insist on using the house phone coz don't want to waste money using mobile. then if house phone engaged or not working she'll go tell hb to fix. then now she told my friend to call me on my mobile instead! ARGH! i can't wait for her to get out of my house!!!!

lanolin,
you can contact Ivan (HP#:98502654) from Haier Living. he is the boss of the company, so now, he does not really do the designer's job, but he will refer you to one of his designers. tell him Yvonne from Changi Rise and Vitra Condo recommended.
this is their website : www.haierliving.com.
the changi rise unit in their portfolio was my old house

Sarahmay, reno will start once i get my house keys. should be end of this month or latest by next month.
yeah. my kiddies are cute but quite a terror..

Facial,
One mommy asked abt facial..i went for mine last friday..the beautician exclaimed when was yr last facial?? I told her 6 mths ago! so much to extract..but it was relaxing..i had to ask for 3-4 pillows to put up my feet and underneath my back..occasionally i had to sleep sideway to relieve the ache.. go try it..it feels good to pamper yourself..at least i felt like a woman stepping out of the salon!!

HB travel
Mine had to travel 3 weeks out of a mth..when i stayed with my in-laws..i hated it whenever my hubby had to travel..cos i would locked myself with my dog in the room most of the time..now i have FINALLy moved to my new place..i think worse..cos alot more housework to do esp cleaning poo/pee, feeding dog and myself..sigh..already told my hubby to cut down on travelling if possible..esp the last mth..dont think i can cope with labour and alone! I indulge in cable tv to relieve boredom..also gg for massage and shopping spree!!

bigtoes,
after Mrs Wong's class, i got backache! cos thru the 2.5 hours, need to sit without backing..i was quite lucky to get a seat near the pillar..

lovebug &amp; mei,
I am a mothercare fan too! finally bought the mattress to go with my st ives cot bed..the cot bed is large (looks smaller in the shop) and i am glad i made the st ives choice instead of newbury..

shazz,
finally found my IB key (ransack boxes of stuff last weekend). Will transfer the money to you today. thanks.

sunrays,
outing, i am keen! however i think some of the MTBs here have Mrs Wong's classes on Sat..any other alternative dates?

stef&amp;sean: I clicked on all the pics but still dun see any changi rise unit in their portfolio.

alabone: your MIL is putting up at your place? how unreasonable...

bacon&amp;eggs,
i know how unbearable it can be when hb's not ard and there are tons to do. but then it is also a distraction right? i'm sure you'd prefer to be kept busy with household work instead of having to stay with your ILs!!! LIKE ME NOW!! my mil is putting up in MY HOUSE and i am the one who is locked up in my own room most of the time. i so wish to kick her out soon. absolutely cannot stand her one bit!

flos,
yup. my mil is staying in my house and not letting me use my own phone! then likes to rearrange things in my house according to what she likes and terms it as 'helping us to make things neat!' PUI!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jessi

I can't remember where the mummies sitting already. =X and is only just ytd. Yup, i sitted right at the back, and Mrs Wong even ask me what i ate on Fri which i can't remember at all. I told her the breakfast wrongly too. =X

I can't remember all the exercise too. Even my hb also can't remember. HAHA!

Btw, did i add u in facebook? What's ur nick in facebook i log in and c mayb can refresh memory. Hehe.

alabone: how can u let this happen? u shd be the MATRIARCH of your own household mah... u need to assert yourself! My MIL who used to stay long periods at my overseas aprt would conquer my kitchen and dictate what I buy/cook/store in my fridge. Must put your foot down. Now I'm the Queen

alabone,
yeah, i can fully understand how u feel, though my PIL are nice ppl. When u start to ask them for opinion, they take it as a cue to rule your lives...and start telling you what to do, what not to do! My FIL told me his daughter's hubby only allow his wife to turn on the aircon after 10pm daily and switch it off the moment the room is cool !!! I think it is ridiculous and spoke my piece...guess what! My FIL told me i am the ridiculous one who shower late in the nite!! Luckily my hubby spoke up for me and said thats bcos, there was no aircon for me when i first move in...how to sleep, perspiring, esp for preggies who have high temp!! in a 33 degree room??!! My take on this, dont bother about what they say...just do whatever you like..be nice and polite but firm in what you want. Esp if it is your own house..else...v miserable.

Jasmine, are you the girl who is a vegetarian?
Mrs Wong also asked a girl in my class what she ate? or maybe its a standard question she asks in every class regarding calcium intake..

Flos:
for my changi rise unit, they charged abt $13.5k. but that was in yr 2004. prices were different at that time.
for my new unit Vitra, they will be charging me abt $25k. but i'm doing quite abit of carpentry works like shoe cabinet, storage bed base, baywindow ledge for all rooms..

bacon&amp;egg
My class was on Sunday 12.30pm. I'm not vegetarian but i loves eating vegs. Haha..

I guess she ask this qn in every class.

stef&amp;sanbabes
surprising! $25k does not sound like very much. that includes all soft furnishings as well? Are you doing kitchen and bathrooms too or is your unit basically a new unit so u dont need much work done..How extensive are your renos?

I have for sale a very good condition Maxicosi carseat, green/black, brought at $319 now selling at $250, and a Brand New Beco Butterfly carrier selling at $190. Pls PM me if you are interested.

stef&amp;sean: OK thanks, I'll go back to browse thru in detail. Btw, $25k is very affordable leh!! Your Vitra already comes semi-furnished rite? And you managed to squeeze them for $13.5K during the downturn. GOOD for u!!