(2008/09) Sep 2008

Goldfish
I'm paying $214 inclusive of GST. This price is for only ppl delivering at TMC. I told her i'm wk27, she say so late den i book as most classes already full and scared i might deliver before the lessons end. It is not refundable also if i deliver early.

Big toes: Thanks for making all the arrangements and for recommending such a great restaurant!!! The food was delicious...

Nice meeting up with all of u
I am falling asleep...YAWN...

hi guys, friday afternoon and here i am nursing a miserable flu and cough. sian...

jasmine, when are you starting your prenatal classes? hope you can finish it all before you pop.

shazz, so far only my sis and cousin touched my bump. i think i will also feel weird if strangers touch my tummy but till now no one had ask to touch mine. hehe..

jasmine, are u starting your class this month? i'm also only starting mine this weekend. it only take up 5 weekends, so should be able to complete it before pop. unless miss a class then have to wait till the next month to join the next class for replacement lesson.

thanks for organising the lunch Li May! Excellent choice!I had to concentrate to see where all the conversations were going coz I think I'm very laid back and haven't done nearly as much research as you super moms. Thanks for all the tips!

Thanks Meie for the lift too!

Jessi - I got my Oi Oi in Australia for about SGD 50 less coz it was on 20% sale. So paid roughly about SGD 135 for it.

Limay
Thanks for organising the lunch! The food's great!

To other lunch kaki mummies
It was a fantastic lunch.. with all the eating & yakking! What a great start to the weekend.

Jo & Jaymickey
We didn't take any photos of this gathering, we just plain forgot.

Ok.. off to interviewing my temp gal now.

Wow! Lanolin, that's very affordable. I got the Black and White Woollen Check one which is very "winter" looking...It matches my winter overcoats and boots
It looks like a hand carrier I'd carry onboard the aircraft when I take bb on a Europe trip!! IMO, the bag is nicer with it's not fully stuffed!
1502286.jpg

The other designs Mothercare has are of nylon material. All OIOI bags come with the insulated milk holder, the changing mat, the wets case and the purse. There are many compartments inside the bags, both inside and outside.

1502327.jpg

Hi Jessi / Flos - this is the one I got. I like green and I wanted something that's waterproof (to a certain extent) and a bag which my rather conservative hubs will carry.
I think it's old season so maybe that's why it was on sale!

jasmine & millie, hehe.. so i'll be seeing you both there on sunday
jasmine, yup my class also at AMK hub.

lanolin, oic! then perhaps i get my sis to check out if OIOI having sales in OZ when she's having a flight there.

lanolin

Yes yes! I saw this at MC too!!! I nearly bot the Giraffe print one. Yours should be around $179 thereabouts. So I thot why not get something more "couture" looking instead
Dior-inspired? Chanel-inspired? Look like a Chanel tweed suit!! *quietly wishing*

xuanting: The interior is waterproof, but not the exterior (quite obvious!). I'm thinking of buying a messenger bag for my hb, though he already got one for himself in SH.

Crayonshin: 50 cents per script is too low la. No wonder no one has taken up the offer! Wah! Share your diet secrets! How come only put on 1 kg? Reyes is such a good weight too! So good. Aiyo…my hubby was just telling me to watch my diet so that the baby doesn’t grow too big. Enjoy your RnR in Batam!

Storeberry: Wow! Little berry is doing well too! A mini heavy-weight champion! Very good! And you still don’t look preggers right? Must our bb’s heads be down already? I think mine is but still not in vertex, just breech but head nearer the bottom. Thanks for info on pampers dry.

Alabone: hahah!!! You are sooooo funny! You are one hot mama. As for sex, I’m quite off it. Hahah.

Jaymickey: Thanks for info abt pampers dry.

Lok: Is there really a place called ‘Ang Mo’? Where is it?

Ava: I’m so amazed by your twins. They weigh the same as singletons! Man. I thought mine was big…but I think my baby is actually light. Hehe. As for bird’s nest, it is actually better if you can brew the pao sum together with the bird’s nest cos then you can bu qi. Birds’ nest on its own won’t help bu qi.

Shazz: Eamon is growing well too! My gynae already asked me to cut down my carbos like two months ago… A bit hard for me tho cos I just love those fattening food. Hehe.

Jasmine: Hey! I’m like you … I don’t think I eat or snack that much. Still pretty much 3 meals a day but still can put on 2kg. Hehe. Anyway, as long as our bbs are doing well…who cares!

Goldfish: I think your gynae didn’t say anything because he or she takes into consideration your frame and pre-preg weight. All these factors count. I’m short so I can’t put on that much weight! Hahah.

Jessi: They must be wondering how come you look so young and pretty, but are already pregnant! Take it as a compliment! In macau, I get soooo many stares until I cannot be bothered already. They are not used to preggies dressed in tees and jeans. Two weeks ago, I went to Zhuhai and I was ‘molested’ by one of the shop assistants. She just reached her hands under my tee and started pulling my maternity jeans. Then I got a ‘lecture’ from her about how I’m endangering my bb’s well-being by wearing such ‘tight’ clothes instead of wearing baggy (read ‘ ugly’) maternity clothes.

SarahMay
Ya is weird to put on 2kgs when we don't snack so much. And i sometimes wonder izzit bcos of the durians, ice cream or chocos that i occasionally take.

Target not to grow as much as 10kg. =P

Lanolin, But need to get another "less flashy" diaper bag cos this is SG, not Manhattan! It only matches winter clothing. When I am in my casual tees and jeans & flipflops, this diaper bag WILL look out of place with my Peg Perego!!! LOL

Flos: your diaper bag does indeed looks like something made of Chanel tweed suits! ;)

I was sleepy as well, went for a walk and I ended up getting 2 books from Kino cos I got 20%.

Ended up with:

- Gina Ford's The New Contented Little Baby Book
- Lynn Alexander & Yeong Boon yee's Feed Your Child Right.

Lanolin: your bag is so versatile! no excuse for hubby not to carry! hehe

SarahMay: storeberry looking rather preggy already, her tummy has grown a fair bit since our last gathering.

SarahMay,

Yes, there is really a supermarket chain called "ANG MO". I'm not joking!!

shazz,

I have the Lynn Alexander & Yeong Boon yee's "Feed Your Child Right" book too. The recipes are very interesting. Unfortunately, haven't had time to try it out yet. J either eats out with us, porridge, whatever my MIL cooks or eat fish and chip!

Gathering:
Sounds so fun! I really would like to meet up with u all too. Must try to join the next one --- u all targeting another one in July right??

alabone: Yah man, sometimes I do get abit insecure when especially we have not been doing it for so long...

Sarah: Thanks! bb smallberry is of normal size, gynae told me that bb should head down by 34 weeks. So hopefully by 32 weeks when I go for my next checkup, he would "guai guai" head down!

Shazz: Thanks for the update to Sarah!! But still majority of the weight goes to my face!!

Wow, looks like the mummies enjoyed themselves!! Have a nice weekend!

Lok: I was attracted to it cos it's localised. the rest are ang mo recipes.

Next gathering likely to be in July.

SarahMay, when u coming back?

I called Parentcraft but their classes are all full! Next class available starts on 21 July, too late liao lah. By then I'll be too tired to bother to attend. Shall read up and try to do the exercises on my own instead

Ok.. done with my interview! A great load off my mind, I employed a assistant who'll be working for me on a permanent part-time basis, so I can go on my maternity leave without worries.

Mummies who did not attend the lunch today.. we ordered a LOT of food.. but we did pretty well.. left a bit only. Forgot to take a picture of the feast to show everyone..

shazz
So good that your office is in Bugis, go downstairs, so much shopping!

shazz,

that's the reason why i bought it too. Maybe next time when I transfer the kids to a CC where dinner is not provided, will ask the maid to cook those recipes.

Hi all, I'll be going for a Philips warehouse sale next Tuesday to purchase the Avent food/bottle warmer and the steam steriliser. Anyone interested can join me there. My friend's friend is working there, and could get us 25% discount.

diaper bags:
oh no.. i have already bought 2 diaper bags! think i must stop my shopping splurge.

JuJuBe Be All
1502474.gif

and the SKip hop Dash deluxe in denim
1502475.jpg

steff&sean/shazz: Two is not enough...I'm ordering another one (the black diamond quilted one) from Bebe et Maman which brings in OIOI and JuJuBE baby bags. HAHA! Thereafter I'll just transfer those peripherals provided in the OIOI bags to my normal big bags from Zara or whatever messenger bags out there
Any big waterproof bag with slings can be used a diaper bag I guess.

for Philips warehouse sale, details as follows:

Philips Singapore Showroom Sale

Special staff discounts as follows:
TV, Video and Audio products : 20% discount*
Domestic Appliances and Personal Care products : 40% discount*
AVENT products : 25% discount*#
* Terms and conditions apply
* Discounts are based on Recommended Consumer Price (RCP)
* Not applicable to special promotional price items
#Except -50 Breast Pads, Bottle Trainer Kit & IQ Bot Warmer

Dates:
From now till 27 Jun 08 or while stock last

I'm a Philips staff.. so anyone keen in getting anything ?
btw. i think the IQ bottle warmer dun hv the discount (see above)..

hey ladies, i just bought the baby drawer liners from Crab tree. If you are looking for it , its out of stock at most outlets but available at Tampines Mall. Quick call and reserve if you are keen. the smell not very babyish but likable enough for my DH to buy them

Flos,
why do u want to transfer the preripherals from your new diaper bags to your normal bags? why dun u jsut use the diaper bags as a whole ?

steff&sean: since you are Philips staff, did you get any of the Avent stuff? Any idea if there's any discount for breastpump?

<font color="119911">Hey mommies, busy after lunch. Just managed to come back into the forum...i think I ate too much! Going for dinner at Imperial place with some girlfriends at Taka later somemore! Overeating today!
Anyway, glad everyone enjoyed the food
Btw, are there any good sales going on in Orchard for baby stuff? Going to go down earlier to shop before dinner.

SarahMay - we are waiting for u to be back in town (3rd week of July?) for the next gathering! Let us know when, so we can block out the date earlier!</font>

hihi mummies,

it was great meeting everyone for lunch. Glad to have met u ladies in real person! Looking forward to the next gathering!

Thx limay for organising! Food was good!

Mei
Congrats on getting an asst! So now u have peace of mind!

Flos
ur diaper bag looks cool! But yep, guess it won't go with ur PP! So u have an excuse to shop somemore! Yay!
But hmm, might be quite a hassle to transfer studd from one bag to another though...

Me got a blue and brown allerhand (like it cos the one i got has the change mat attached to it. zip down front of bag, flip open mat, and put baby down!) to match my blue maclaren. Then i also got blue baby bjorn to match that and blue blankie too! I like blue. Hee hee...

shazz
thx thx , will go to the NTUC behind the lib to get mamy poko instead! Wow, din know that two NTUCs in such close proximity cld offer them at diff prices!!!

Sunrays
u did ur lashes soooo... beautifully, I kept admiring them!!!
And btw, can let me know how much the synergy is? Cos i loaned Air to my SIL, haha mebbe got excuse to buy new one. So love the white one.

Rachel,
thx for the offer. I'll ask my hubby first then get back to u k? Cos dunno if i shld get a new breast pump. Lent one of my pumps to my SIL and she's still using it so quite paisei to ask for it back...

sarah may
ooh the salesgirl was rude! I hate ppl to touch my baby bump. Exceptions r hubby and my little girl of course.
Even when ppl look, i feel strange, keep thinking if there's something wrong with my clothes or i'm exposing somthing!

rachel,
nope. not getting any avent stuff.. my kids dun drink from avent bottles. also now, i'm into bisphenol A Free bottles after reading so much abt it. so i hv bought the medela bottles. as for the avent pump, i'm not sure if they are selling it. but i can check with them if you are keen.

Flos: if you want to use the normal bags as diaper bags, then you gotta buy the diaper bag organiser from the Bulk Purchase thread I ordered mine! lolz ... yeah, 2 bags still not enough, haha ... excuses for us to shop!

Bigtoes: I'm going to Orchard to meet my gfs for dinner too! Today is Female Power day!

wow
posts r moving so fast!!

Flos,
just commenting that transferrring fr one bag to another seems a hassle and after i clicked post, i see ur post that two diaper bags r not enough! Woah!
I know why, izzit bcos gotta go with ur outfits and bags?

Isabelle, like what stef&amp;sean said, not sure if there's any discount for breast pump...if you do have other stuff that you would like to get, you can join me!

Staf&amp;Sean, no worries, I'm dropping by to purchase the steriliser, and I'll check if there's any discount. If there's discount, then I'll grab it, but if not, I'll have to buy sometime later.

I just came home from Ngee Ann City!

I only got one diaper bag. And i din even dare to tell my hubby the actual price. Told him a price that was half its cost! Hee. If i wanna buy another one now, think I'll never hear the end from him!
But anyway, won't be getting a new one cos then I'll have to think of an excuse to get a new pram/stroller so the whole ensemble matches! Too expensive for me! Haha

more than 1 diaper bag:
i thought one diaper bag was more than enough too. till i saw Flos comment that 2 diaper bags are not enuf
hee.
reason why i bought the skiphop dash denim, cos i've always liked denim, and when i saw it so cheap (S$80 after conversion) on the www.diaperbags.com website, i had to grab it. that was after buying my Jujube Be all from Babetitude at a very low price too (S$138)

Flos - wah! 3 baby bags? Got time to change bags meh? hahaha...I am so lazy, I can't be bothered to even change work bags for months!!!

On a slightly tangential note - I realise the moms I've met all have nice fair skin! May I know what sun block u use?

Has anyone bought the baby whisperer? some say it is a v good book. any ideas?

Hey all girls night out mummies,
enjoy this while it lasts! In future, no such thing cos u'll all be rushing home to see ur baby!

Stef
my hubby will just kill me if i tell him $138 is a low price for a diaper bag. He'll just tell me to use his backpack! Yeek!
I even told him my Baby Bjorn Air was a gift from my mum's fren. And my mum helped me to think of that excuse! Thinking that, he was full of praises abt how good Air was when we went to HK! Haha

But ermm seriously, why is one diaper bag not enough?

lanolin

i am like u. I use the same work bag everyday!!! And all the receipts r like falling out of my fat grubby wallet! I din even dare to take my wallet out just now!