(2008/09) Sep 2008

sunrays
So you're lingering around at home doing online shopping ah? This Saturday I'm going to SpotLight to buy more materials to make more dolls.

Shucks, I feel like buying the bag leh.. never buy anything for myself for such a long time already...

Are you joining us for lunch tomorrow??

Flos
I don't know the model of my KS bag leh.. let me go back & check... mine is the very simple black one.

mickey
I was looking at those hooks.. I don't like the blue ones.. prefer black sleek-looking ones.. & KS diaper bags hooks are really small.. can't fit into the plain grey Mothercare pram clips I bought.. thinking of getting my dad to custom-make a nice hook for me.

Shazz
No lah not exotic at all! Parents are true blue Malaysian Chinese...just happened to be living in NZ when I was born and we moved back to M'sia when i was 5.

Flos
OK NO MORE CODES
hmmm. i'll take the WML discussion offline...lol...Lanolin knows him too and maybe OCH too I think???

mickey: u r absolutely funny! come out and play with cheh chehs!!! Like jekyll and hyde!! muaahahha

ava: no lah, my DH is an expat wkg outside of SG, but not as in those "angmohs" in SG.

millie: overall, it'll be cheaper becos no ERP in China, and for the first couple of yrs, dun need to attend those playgroups I suppose

Mei: The KS pop clinton street collection was on 30% discount as soon as GSS started, but I missed it. i wanna slap myself now...

Ava: thot u an FBC...Ahhh, this Lanolin knows many of my frens, and even relative! *FAINT*
SG is sooo small.

I'm hungry. I'll go look for some food now...

Flos
Hmm.. my bag is not in the KS website... shape is like the abstract dot medium baby bag but it's in black nylon.

Flos
if u chk out the specs of the bag in PPB website, u'll see this
"Valet Stroller Clips—Stroller clips that match the Cake collection feature antique brass clips and Cake signature rivets & a monogrammed flannel organizer pouch."

And of cos many other wonders of the bag...hehe..

Mei aka the Shopping Queen has decided to get one liao...she is getting the mocha berry cream
so u consider and keep me posted.. the state tax is 5.6% if i order online frm Neiman Marcus...so it's abt S$480 (based on xrate of 1.4) but of cos i hope the credit card co's rate can be lower than tat...

millie,

Yes, green and yellow one is correct for Pampers NB. For bigger sizes, it will be green and purple. So long as it's not the Red packaging.

sunrays: last nite I browse thru the Original collection. I think I saw something there which is not that bad either. Can I tell u tonite?

4lbs, that's half of bb's weight.

SGD480 is ok.

u joining us tomorrow? Ur car repaired liao?

Flos
ok...initially i like the Touring Tote frm Original collection cos all the fabric sooo nice too.. u take yr time tonite ya??

I hope to join u ladies tmr..hopefully i can wake up in time cos been sleeping in these days..And also i feel like a walking hippo wif 'cankles'!!! My hb said my ankles went for holiday liao, not coming bck soon... sob!!

Car is not repaired yet cos still waiting for SBS to investigate...tats y i am abit hesistant to go out... Walking hippo wif cankles driving a fugly, dirty & scarred vehicle, aiyoh!!

jaymickey

someone frm SBS juz came by on monday to take pics of my damaged car..apparently the bus driver is not aware at all.. so now they mentioned have to wait at least 1 week for investigations. I am still able to drive my car but it definitely sucks to see it in its condition now....wif all the scratches and dents i can't even be bothered to bring it for car wash...so my poor car is scarred and filthy now...

Hi Shazz,

So you will use the diaper covers and swaddle your baby? I don't intent to use diaper covers if we are at home (just put waterproof mat under baby), but I dunno how to do that if I am to swaddle baby in the early days cos his swaddling blankets will all get wet.. unless I use diaper covers which me make him to warm...

Flos: Migrating over if your hubby is in SH is a great idea cos bb and daddy need to bond! As for playgroups, they are generally for toddlers aged between 18 -36 mths. Playgroups are quite beneficial for toddlers as well as parents. Sure you can find many expats there to start your own!

Shazz: I think you're quite spot on abt more favouring Nepia. I've also read that GooN is not as absorbent as Nepia.

Lok: Mamypoko is v good. More ex than the other brands! Heard nothing but excellent reviews for it. But price a bit steep for me.

Wingkei: How many weeks are you again? I think 5 kg is a good amount to put on though. I also put on 5 in 26w. However, I calculated that I prob only have another max 3 kg for myself till end of term if bb is abt 3kg by then. Hehe. Cos I don't want to put on excessive weight.

Storeberry: So nice of your hubby to make an effort!

Millie: Confinement duration - not sure. I know some ppl do not bath for more than a month! eeks. I cannot. I shall go ask my TMC friend and get back to u about duration. For me 30 days is already very 'xin ku'!

Jaymickey: Is Pampers Dry the one in yellow/green packaging or what? A bit confused already.

PAMPERS PREMIUM: NB & S: How much are they going for normally?

Flos,

Yup, I think it's good if you can move over to SH and be with your hubby. I delivered in the US when my hubby was deployed there, and I quite like the lifestyle... haha, dun need to work, spend time with child, go out with friends, organise baking sessions... though sometimes all doing all the 'tai tai' things can be quite boring, you have at least all the time to be there and nurture your child. A new environment is definitely more refreshing that being in Singapore where it's summer throughout the year. On top of tat, you learn about another culture.

SarahMay, I'm in 28w. Me too, I hope I don't put on more than 10kg for the whole pregnancy. I heard that it will be easier to lose weight then. I'm trying to keep to an increase of 1kg a month.

hi gals, im back frm regular checkup.. minnie is 1.2kg at 28wks! i start to worry if shes heavy altho gynae assured me its within range.. and good thg is shes head down now so hopefully she stays this way till i pop.. and i put on 2kg this mth..

sunrays: can she bring in my KS pop clinton st bag? I fear the Drop Length of the Society Satchel is far too long. It's a pretty 'tall' bag...

millie: I like Air. Wanna hear more opinions abt Air before I decide...urggh

sarahmay: in either country, dad and bb will be together and are able to bond. currently, we're just not sure which country we'll be settling down in.

RXmom: which part of the US were u in? Texas, Arizona, Kansas? Yep, u r rite abt the 4 seasons part. SG is super hot. There, my bb can wear winter jackets and boots!

SarahMay: Pampers premium here are sold at various prices.

Ang Mo Supermarket - $14.95 for NB36
NTUC - $16.20/90 for NB36

Think Flos got her carton at the best price of about $13 plus per pack during the Motherhood Fair

MammyPoko can be quite affordable when NTUC is having sale or promo.

I got 1 pack of NB52 for $17.80, which works out to $0.34/pc from NTUC (using for night cos it's well known to absorb and not leak)

hope that helps! =)

Gals! Remember the 30 over years old blanket that my MIL wanted to pass on to me? Phew! my SIL is hoarding the whole lot of swaddling blankets which she cut and sewn plus the antique piece. So she went to Spotlight and got materials to cut and sew the edges to make more for my baby! hehe ... no hideous looking blanket for my baby! Even my hubby recalls that that blanket is yucky looking! lolz

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) : yes, I'll stll swaddle baby even when using Bumwear. =) My MIL cut and sewn 6 pcs of swaddling blanket for my baby. So even if BumWear leaks and wet the blanket, I have enough for change.

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) : you must be one of the pretty wifes of those pilots at Arizona! I know a few who used to be models/actresses who are now based there =)

shazz: where is Ang Mo Supermarket? AMK Hub?

Mine was $103 for 8 packs, abt $12.80. yeah, close ot $13. Sure will hv excess packs/pads.

RXmom: no wonder u advocate california baby prodts

oh, not that CA and AR are the same states, but u know...the affinity thingie having lived in the wild west...

thx lanolin
will go check that site out

flos,
it's me who bf my bb in baby bjorn air in mtr in HK. I was wearing bf dress. I also covered her with a breastfeeding cover (available at this maternity section at toa payoh kiddy palace). And cos winter time it looked like she was sleeping under a blanket to keep warm! But actually u can do that in Sg too!
I dun like sarong slings. I dun really know how to use and i feel very insecure with it. With bb bjorn I cld walk ard with my hands free.

sarah may
what is are marking parties?

oops sarah may,
I meant what ARE marking parties... hee

what time is the lunch appt tmr? Where is it?
I am working half day tmr and wld love to see u mummies before term begins! Yeek...

Isabelle: Marking parties ah? I get my friends out to some nice cafe...we mark..I buy them food/drink. hehe. That is my own version of a marking party...not much partying involved though. Hehe. but I find it MUCH more fun to be marking with someone else. Though I can only get them to help mark corrections or MCQ type :-(...compo still must mark myself.

Btw, have you seen Bjorn Synergy? It is supposed to combine the best of Active and Air. But it is so much MORE ex...

Shazz: Thanks for info.

Flos: What I meant is that it will be good for you to join your DH in SH if he has to still remain there for a time. Of cos, whatever the location, as long as your whole family is together, sure can bond! ;-)

Janf: Wow! Bb is doing well eh? And you only put on 2 kg? Cool! Hehe. I hope my bb's head will be down too on my next visit.

RXMom: Your hubby still in AZ? Guess you can't break your bond to be with him? living in a temperate zone is quite fun for dressing bb and kids up. hehe.

heee.. shazz n meie.. i've also succumbed and ordered the bumper mat..

SarahMay.. i would always joke that I don mind outsourcing my scripts for marking at the rate of $0.50/script.. haa... but nobody ever seems to be keen..

yesterday just went to the gynae..and this time I had put on 1kg. hip hip hooray! 500g went to me and the other 500g went to baby Reyes.. He's now qabout 1.3kg @ 28days plus and gynae says good weight but a little on the heavy side ;-)

talk to u girls soon.. going to batam for RnR before the school term begins..

Flos / Ava - WML - OCH???? Is OCH's name like mine? I can't figure out WML coz er, I know quite a lot of people leh.

Flos - u lucky! mom and dad dote on u...hehehe... I'm happy to stay at home by myself. My time in Shanghai trained me to be v independent and I like my own company. So Shazz, I agree - singapore v small lah so I know everything will be fine. been blessed as well since everything has been going smoothly.

storeberry - yup agreed. Starting from Aug, should have hubs around. by that time almost full-termed liao

Flos - I do look a little different in JC. much "jollier" ....hehehehe.....

SarahMay: I just went to Mothercare to try out BBjorn Synergy. I prefer Air cos the back buckles are less complicated, only a criss-cross. The Synergy has an extra hard piece of back support and I find that very hot leh! FFY is having some promo: only $165 I believe. Sunrays is taking orders now but her shipment will only arrive in Oct...

Sunrays: Btw, I stumbled upon OIOI diaper bags in half-opened boxes at Mothercare just now. Some of them weren't tagged with prices yet.

I thot the price was within my budget, so I bought one huge diaper-cum-travel bag on impulse at $182 NETT. It's got many compartments inside and comes with: large padded microfibre change mat, insulated bottle holder- can tahan up to 2 hours, pvc zip top wet purse, pvc OiOi wipes case, black detachable strap...

I'll not order the PPB bag anymore cos my Peg Perego handles are too far apart to loop the Society Satchel handles. Tks!!

Lanolin: no lah, I'm also very jolly looking now! Elephant legs too
I'm sure u know those people!!! haha!

Shazz: OK, I'm not aware there's an Ang Mo sprmkt! Thot only got Sheng Siong...

lanolin: my parents just called earlier to ask me to go over and stay with them but i told them I'm ok on my own. but they still insist that the least is try to go home for dinner. ;p I hardly go back for dinner since I got preggy. my sweet mummy comes over once a week to help me clean my place and she would cook and get my family members to come over and eat as well. But now that I'm home alone, they are afraid I will be lonely, so keep asking me to go over! hehe

we're catch up more tom!

Flos: there are many good and cheap supermarkets in heartlands ... guess u dun live in heartland so never heard of all these neighbourhood supermarkets ;p

Congrats on your OIOI bag! sounds so good! Quick, post picture of the bag to tempt the rest of us! keke

crayonshinchan: yes, I saw your order on the BP thread! hehe ... your baby is good size lah ... think mine will be around the same weight too, going for my gynae appt tom. Enjoy your weekend retreat!

Sarah: Yah man, really appreciate the effort my DH is putting in. Guess my prayers got answered! Pampers dry is the pink color one, its not the premium one.

Flos: yes, post pic!!!

Went to gynae today, all is well, BB is head up though, must talk to bb so that next check up he will head down. Gynae keep asking me & DH whether we have any questions to ask him, so funny but nothing to ask leh.. BB weight @28 weeks 6 days is about 1.3kg.

have a really bad headache and can't sleep... and i think i'm in a cranky mood here.. just cried a bit and it's all because i haven't had sex for like a week. i must sound ridiculous and pathetic to be talking abt this at this hour but i simply have to get it off me!

thx shazz

LUNCH
Is there any mummy i can contact in case I have last min meeting and can't make it? (Though I am so looking forward to lunch!)
Can pm me ur contact? Thx

Gg to work soon!

sarahmay

saw the snergy and it's so on my wish list, BUT i already have the air! HAiz... Drooling at the back support bit cos the Air can be a bit of strain on one's back if u walk ard too much... Still, to pay 100 bucks more for synergy, that's a tad expensive i think...

But Flos,
reading ur comments on synergy makes me feel better abt not having snergy! Hee hee
But u mean synergy is only $165? Or air? Cos I saw snergy at FFY last Fri. No discount on that one. It's still $299.
U bought peg perego? Love that stroller! Keep eyeing it though i already have the maclaren XT. But to bad PP is just too heavy for me to lift! So my dream bubble abt it has burst

sarahmay,

U are absolutely right. It is much cheaper in the heartlands. In this sense, I'm quite lucky. Have both Sheng Siong and Ang Mo within 5 mins drive from my place. (I stay in btw AMK and Bishan).Some of the Chinese medical halls also offer very good deals.

Ur comment abt the 30 yr old blanket reminded me of my own bb pillow. I still keep my own bb pillow, so it's also abt that age. My J#1 absolutely loves it. Keep asking me for it, will always remove the pillow case and use the corner to poke his nose and smell it. Must be the accumulation of mummy's smell over the years that atracts him to it. Now my pillow becomes HIS pillow. *sigh*

Lok
My mum's place also have ang mo and is only less than 5mins walk. What brand of diapers u bought there and how much is it?

I went for my checkup yesterday, put on 2kg this month and bb is weighing 1408g. From 206 to 708 to 1408g. Wow~ she is v fast in growing but alot of ppl commented that my bb bump is small.

Jasmine,

Gee, I don't remember the price leh. J's daddy bought the last batch. They have Mamy Poko and Petpet. Other things that I buy from Ang Mo are like Lactacyd (think it cost $7+ or $8+ vs. something like $10 in normal pharmacy).

Yup, the bb has growth spurts. I have already been told that we can expect bb to double its wt from 740g to abt 1.3 or 1.4kg at 28 wks.