(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos: I just went shopping that day. Bought some baby pants and rompers. Hehe. I’m contemplating if I should go again today.I showed my DH the few pieces I got that day and he told me that I should buy more! Heng! He didn’t scold me. Rather, he surprised me by saying that I can buy more clothes for bb cos bb can wear. Haha. Who says it’s us women who go nuts over shopping? I think if my DH went with me, he would have just splurged on heaps of clothes.
I bought my travel playpen/bassinet in SG last month when I was back. Won’t be buying any big ticket items yet.

Btw, as for your DH being in Shanghai, I think it will be tough on you. But I think you will be strong enough! It is impt that you prepare yourself mentally though. Don’t worry so much abt being hit by post-natal blues. Focus on the positive. Tell yourself you can do it! You’re getting a CL too right? That should help. My DH is only with me for a mx of 3 wks, 1 wk before EDD and 2 wks after birth. Then won’t see him for 6 wks till I move over w bb in Nov. If your DH is stuck in SH, will you consider moving over?

Jaline: 900g at 27w is ok right? Mine is 945 at 26w. But since I see a GP in Macau, they didn’t say anything about whether bb weight is ok or not. For me, I think my bb’s abdominal is HUGE
! Like some beer belly. Haha.

RXMOM: Hugs. I can understand how tiring it is. Plus, you are still working. You are doing very well! Keep it up! “in a sense he's working for the SAF, so he's protecting and serving his family too” ahaha…you are funny! I guess, in a way we have to thank you for sacrificing your time with your hubby for us, Singaporeans!

Mei: Wah! That husband…hmmm goes to show that he doesn’t know tt bbs don’t run on clockwork!

thanks Mei & MrsYap! am actually glad to have some "me" time, to do all the things. had a good sleep cos no one is tugging at the quilt! haha

bigtoes: oh yah, you're travelling this weekend yah? please take good care of yourself and Keiran!

Thanks Lanolin, Shazz, Mrs Yap and SarahMay for your encouragement. Feels better already to be emphthised with.

not strong lah, actually. It's something that I have to deal with. Wat to do right..? Sigh.

shazz
Hehe... we always tempt each other with goodies one...

My mattress is odd sized, so can't use the fitted sheet.. I'll email & check if they sell only the flat sheet or not.

Pampers Dry is having discount now at shop & safe.. from $12.15 to $9.35 for all sizes except newborn.. i grab some.. so go grab if u need it..

Mei: it's ok, mine can be plain, no need to personalise. you can have Devon's name on the pillow and flat sheets

Jaymickey: thanks! you're also stocking up on diapers ah? I haven place my order for nepia yet, so maybe can go grab some Pampers Dry! hehe

Thanks xuanting for the webby!

Janf: Ok will go to the thread & have a look..

Mickey: Thanks for telling me! Playtex is not ziploc kind, you will need the clip to toghten the opening. Seem like the other one is not too bad. Shall give it a try. Do you or other mummies think its necessary to get the breatmilk tray?

Sarah: Yah man, it has been a loong time!! Will update again!

Shazz: I think now we are more emotional now cos of the hormones in us.. Sometimes wehen DH is not home I also feel quite sad..

Mats:
I ahve one big pack of ABC mats that I bought for my nephew the last time. Wonder if it can do the same job as bumper mats? Don't know if I want to spend $$ on the mats...

Mei: Don't tempt us!! Haha!

Yah RX & flos: You are strong woman yah?? Come to the forum to chat so will not feel lonely..

shazz
Can wait till July? My cot & mattress will be delivered then, I'll see the mattress real live then I'll decide on the flat sheet.

I never stock on diapers.. only 2 packs of NB & 2 packs of S. Hubby say no need to stock.. when needed then buy.

i am stocking up S size.. then i bought for my niece as well.. can u imagine i buy 20 packs of pampers.. the shelves are basically empty now.. hahaha..

I only bought 1 pack of nepia to try.. cos if pampers having sales.. the price is abt the same as nepia and pampers is better...

Mei: sure, no hurry for me ... I think it looks pretty nice and the price is reasonable. I need more fitted sheets cos only got 2 sets so far. And I think we're encouraged to change every few days.

Jaymickey: wow! 20 packs! I hope someone was with you, it can be rather heavy! You've got a good point there on price of pampers on promo as compared with Nepia.

storeberry: yes, I figured it's partly due to the hormones, and also the fact that I can't travel with him. this trip is more for business and team building with his agents ... plus it's gonna be so exp if I tag along

shazz - do you plan to stay over at your parents when your hubs is away? Mine's going off like in my 35th week to the US for about 10 days and he keeps asking me to move back to my parent's. I think it's v leh cheh and I don't see the necessity but would like to hear ur views.....

lanolin: no, I'll be staying at my place cos it's so troublesome like you said to shutter here and there. Plus can't imagine how much I have to pay for my car park if I go back to mum's place. ;) I think your hubby is concerned that as you're nearing your EDD, you'll need someone to take care or help you out, in case baby decides to come out earlier. But I think you'll be ok on your own. =) SGP is so small, everyone is just a phone call away! hehe

shazz
Ok, will let you know when I plan to order.

Just had a very fulfilling but unhealthy lunch.. Burger King! Heheh...

Shazz, my colleagues were with me.. so i drove the car over and dump everything into the boot.. go home as the maid to settle.. hahaha

Lok, should be the pampers baby dry (red packaging)... My SIL has been using it and she has no problem with it.. if not absobent, then use in the day.. night time then use a better one.. anyway not good to wear the same one for too long a period..

Storeberry: ABC mats are not the same. Bumper mat is much softer, and I believe the material is anti-bacteria.

No need to get milk tray.

Shazz: Oh.. I'm lost in the threads..

Jaymickey: How much is Pampers NB selling for? Is it at giant? Actually Nepia is not inferior to Pampers. In fact, there are many complains the latter cannot last through the night.

Jaymickey: Just read your update re pampers.. The red packaging is not as good as the premium.. Anyway, as I said, Nepia is not at all inferior to Pampers Premium..

Baby Girl.. is not abt inferior anot.. if Pampers is having discount then is more worth it to buy.. if not, nepia is good.. i intend to let her use for the day and night use probably huggies..

Mickey, Premium is of cos good.. price also different..

Baby Girl (babylovespink2): have you tried GooN diapers before? I saw in another thread that some mummies prefers GooN to Nepia, cos the latter's cutting can be too small for babies with chubby thighs.

Flos: 7 BM storage bottles is not alot! I know of someone who had a few hundred bottles of BM! She had to buy a standalone freezer to store them cos her supply is overwhelming, to the point where she got to give them away! hehe

shazz, my cousin who just had a bb last nov also swears by goo.n. think it's fr japan too. she said can order online and there's free delivery. i'm still trying to find out about the other cloth diaper...

Cloth diapers

Hi mommies, formerly it seems like many were keen to use cloth diapers, but now most of you seems to be planning to use diapers?

For those who used cloth diapers before, can I check how do you use cloth diaper and swaddle the bb at the same time? Do I have to use the waterproof cloth diaper wrap? Would that not be v warm for the baby? Pai seh, I am new to this since my no. 1 used disposable diapers from day 1... but am thinking of going 'green' this time round since it's also good for the bb.

Jaymickey,

Thanks for info!
I'm only interested in Pampers Premium for now. J#1 wears it for like 12 hrs straight (7+ pm to 7+am), so i need all the absorbency.

For J#2 day use, I will stick with Mamypoko until he goes to infantcare (the infantcare center uses Petpet).

RXmom: well, that's just the worst case scenario we've painted. hopefully everything will be in accordance with what's earlier agreed between his HR and him lah.

Yep, I will hv a CL and MIL to take care of me.

When I got married to my expat DH, I couldn't cope...lost my temper overseas all the time cos of his frequent travelling. I actually received counselling from his big bosses and their wives who continually taught me how to be a "dutiful" expat wife and mother...There's a pretty strange Stepford wives community out there...

Lanolin: Got it, but still no recollection...U must hv blossomed over the years! kekekeke! I've not gone for my Clarins facial since late April. I find 1.5h is a bit long but if they'd just place ur legs on a pillow, u shd be fine.

SarahMay: If my he is stuck in SH, I'll consider migrating over. They have excellent healthcare svcs for expats there. DH's career is more impt. Plus, it's cheaper to raise a kid in China than in SG, Besides, we're on expat terms, so everything for dependants is insured/claimable.

Do u hv a property in SG? U can consider leasing it out to get some passive income.

shazz: dun cry!!! *HUGS* I went to Club21 last Sat and couldn't find anything on sale. They are slashing the prices further?!!

Mei: Zara got sale, eh? DUN TEMPT ME ANYMORE! I've run out of room!!!

That DH in your class is really ^%!*&@#. I also got one really childish DH who teased his wife all the time. Like when the Nurse told us to "Exhale thru your mouth", he told his wife loudly, "Dear, don't exhale thru your backside hor!". When the BF video was played, he was laughing and giggling all the time. He looked very young. Maybe 25-28 thereabouts. Childish dad-to-be

Mei, my DH also told me there'll be stock for all sizes and brands all year round and asked me to buy when we're more certain of the baby's growth & devt.

Storeberry: Your hb is back from JB?

Ava: You're not a Singaporean? Or you're referring to your DH?

shazz darling: 7 + 1 more I just received from my TMC antenatal course last week are all abt the same size of 125ml (5 nos) and 150ml (3 nos)!!!!! That's quite nuts rite?!

I think I can use them for Heinz Baby Juices or plain water when my son is older

Flos
If those hubbies are young, still can excuse.. but the one in my class... he looks like he's in his mid-thirties, still so ignorant! The class I went to yesterday was a make-up class so I joined another group.. so glad I don't have to see that guy again, if I hear anymore stupid questions, I'll go nuts! Lol.. Anyway, the one in your class made such a lame joke.. what was the wife's reaction??

Lok/RXmom: I won't be using cloth diapers.

I'm sticking to Pampers Premium (NB-S) then as soon as practicable, advance to the purple pack ones Active Baby. My bb room gets quite a fair bit of the morning sun daily, so I'm afraid the diaper wrap will be too warm for his delicate bum.

Flos: you're referring to milk bottles or breast milk storage bottles? Breast Milk storage bottles can't be used for direct feeds unless they're the Advent ones or the special ones from Medela. The normal Medela breast milk storage (those 3 in a box pack ones) bottles cannot be used as a feeding bottle.

Club 21 Sale: think their sale is just about to start, hence the preview is today and tomorrow. But i think I will skip that since hubby gonna get him his 1st mth party clothes in Toronto. I shall save the $$$ for Zara sale next week. Their sale usually starts a week after MNG sale. Watch out for it! ;)

I almost fell off my chair when I read what that husband in your class said! haha ... exhale thru backside! muahahaha

xuanting: sarahmay was the one who brought GooN to my attention. I'm still doing my research on it cos I think there are mixed reviews when it comes to GooN and Nepia, with more favouring Nepia in this forum, in a diaper thread. So I shall try out the one sample that they sent to me.

Anyone who's keen on the sample can PM me, I can refer you! =)

RXmom (ruixiangsmom) : I'll still be using cloth diapers once a week, after baby is about 2 weeks old. But will most likely use disposables most of the time. I bought 4 pcs of Diaper Covers from BumWear and 12 pcs of inserts, enough for half to 3/4 day till it's bedtime. Hmmn, I'm not a green mummy, using it more to let DS's ass breathe a little.

Mei
Tks for the link!! Price is pretty reasonable!! I shall order for Charlotte!! Hehe, great feeling to do shopping frm home..I'm starting to feel bored at home.. i havn't got the DIY doll making book yet..can't wait to start on them but feet swollen..cannot go out!!

Sarah
YES!! He agreed to buy for me liao...he took one look at the website then simply said ok!! last nite he even said buy the Midnite Blackberry color so tat he can carry it too(??!!) But I like the other color 'Mocha Berry Cream Cake' too..cos i like the 2-color contrast..hehe...
1499293.jpg
1499294.jpg

Flos
PPB replied my email liao..
"The total weight of this bag including changing pad, all the straps and wipes case is a little over 4lbs. It is always an idea to remove any of the straps which you may decide not to use as they do add weight. We have so many mommies who adore their Society Satchel and know you will fall in love as soon as you purchase one."

So how?? Wanna own one?? *evil grin*

As for your qtn abt the state tax, it is abt 2-6% in Arizona..so it still wrks out to be cheaper. My friend's container is coming back in Oct..bb will only be 1mth+ old by then so i reckon she wun nid the carrier yet...u let me knw if u're still keen..

Flos
Oh where's your hb from?

Neither me nor my hb are Singaporean.

Just saw our mutual friends on FB. How do u know WML and OCH - OCH must be from JC days?

Bigtoes, SarahMay,
My gynea said the weight is ok just that bb's head is slightly bigger, same as my #1 case, that's y she said likely c-sect this time again.

Jaymickey: I burst out laughing when I saw u replying to the SAME person!!!

"Baby Girl.. is not abt inferior anot.. if Pampers is having discount then is more worth it to buy.. if not, nepia is good.. i intend to let her use for the day and night use probably huggies..

Mickey, Premium is of cos good.. price also different.."

babylovespink2 is = mickeymouse lah! The former is used for BP spree, rem?!! mickey, rite? LOL

shazz
haha...wanna buy one for yrself too?? All the PPB bags uber chic & trendy!!! Can't tell they are diaper bags at all!! http://www.petuniapicklebottom.com/

"The normal Medela breast milk storage (those 3 in a box pack ones) bottles cannot be used as a feeding bottle."

U gave me a fright...I went to take a look at my Medela milk storage btls and tried to fix the teats on the btl....CAN lah... heng ah...for a while i thought i wasted my $$ buying the medela teats, hehe...

shazz: the Medela storage bottles CAN be used as feeding botles, if u buy their teats, like sunrays said. I hv 3 too, cos I bot the package from Taka.

sunrays: can u hook this society satchel on a Peg Perego? I'm still considering Kate Spade.

Mei: Which Kate Spade model did u get?

Ava: my DH is a 100% Singaporean like me
You are a Malaysian, Indonesian, Thai or French Born Chinese? HHEHEH!!!

Flos, Jaymickey: Yes, same person. Whenever I post at the overseas thread, sometimes I forget to change the username. When that happens, my mar mummy friends will say that bbgirl has come out to play.. Kekkee..

Storeberry: Have not used Goon. Actually Nepia is good for up til M size, after that I use Mamy Poko. It's the absolute best!!

Shazz, Mei, Flos: I remember what I want to tell you girls. There are hooks/hangers which you can affix to the stroller handle that can be used to hang the diaper bag from. These hooks (I got mine from Kiddy Palace) come with velcro fasteners and either boy or girl colors.
This was why I said whether the diaper bag can be hanged from the pram depends not so much on the bag, but whether the pram is heavy and sturdy enough to take on the weight of the bag.

Lok,
I thought Pampers Premium is already phased out ? Shouldn't we buying Pampers NB ? Sorry i'm confused.

Flos,
Why do u say it's cheaper to raise a kid in China ? I hv friends in Suzhou & Shanghai and the playgroup is so ex , like SGD 600-1K at least .

To those mummies wif out DH around,
My hubby is also always travelling and I still stay in my own house alone. Should be manageable unless ur health is not very good in the first place . Try to think more positively lor.

lanolin: My DH is not in S'pore like 3-4days & I am staying alone at our house. My frens is already telling each other to stand by with their hp ON so that if in case anything I can call them.. Keke... But already discuss with DH that he must try & be home everyday from end Aug onwards..

Mickey: Giant promo for Pampers Dry don't have NB so I will be getting S size instead.

Flos: No, Dh still shuttle to & fro from JB, sometimes 2-3 days in S'pore. But he promised to be home at least 5days this week, we shall see... This is the fourth day. :p

Shazz: I got the GOON sample but I forgot what size I requested & there is no size on the diaper leh..

RXmom: just met your PS just now
keke

Ava: Was about to ask how u know WML too. That girl with a dialect name similar to yours I told u before was having a deep crush on WML...I also know WML's ex-gf. he's in stanford now i understand

Who won't know OCH?! He's out of MFA.