(2008/09) Sep 2008

cloud: are you a teacher too? I am also thinking when to take maternity leave
but now is how to survive the teaching when I am getting so tired.
Any other teachers out there
any tips?

for me I have to stand between 3-4 hours each lesson barely any seating down time

Ava: I see..She is really kind indeed

My DH and I declined all family loans/goodwill from Day 1. We paid for the entire wedding, honeymoon, property downpayment, renovation, furniture--all thru our own pockets. We're technically debt-free today. hahaha!

The old folks find my DH and I very subversive...
totally beyond their control.

lovebug, yupz i'm teaching in a primary school in the south.. i'm actually holding internal subject head post so more responsibilities but luckily there is someone to 'hold the fort' when i'm gone, i've basically been spending this school hols resting at home to prepare for the remaining term that i have to teach.. luckily i'm getting an NIE trainee so she will take over my maths periods for a few weeks.. i try to take things slowly, what level are you teaching? i teach P2, so not much work to do except for the STELLAR programme, which is a real killer..

Xuanting, u will only got subsidised by the gov when u in 1st place is being refer there by polyclinic, only then get the subsidy. U will treat as private patient if u just walk in and tell them u want to see doctor. Just that it a bit cheaper from other private hospital.

Whoa! Heaps of posts.

Lemon: You can try nature's farm or GNC for raspberry leaf tea. Is it too early to drink that though? Anyway, if you are keen to go natural, have you been doing your kegels too? I've been trying...but find it hard to sustain my kegels for 10 sec while breathing normally. Hehe. Also, can consider using aromatherapy oils to speed up labour. There are certain oils tt u can burn in your room once contractions start. However, not sure if hospitals will allow. I must go check!

Jessi: It could be yeast infection. I get that quite often. And I've checked with my doctor before. She told me preggies are more prone to that due to increased hormonal levels. However, you may want to call your clinic to check. If you also experience an itch, it is highly likely yeast infection. There are different washes, creams to apply for that that your doc can prescribe. Also, an antibiotic pessary can be given if it is a bad case of yeast infection. I had to use that once. But since then, I haven't taken it though doc offered. I just stick to more water and yoghurt.

Lanolin: how many weeks are you now?

BB KICKS: Found this pretty good website about charting bb kicks. Even has a chart you can print out to use.
http://americanpregnancy.org/duringpregnancy/kickcounts.htm

cloud: I am teaching sec level!!!!! but it is home economics! I have to stand 3 hours straight plus monitoring plus moving around to make sure utensils are clean and things like that

i was on 4 months no pay leave because of this pregnancy not stable b4 and just after i returned to school, in less than 1 week I got backache knee ache my goodness
i wondering how to cope until sept!!!!!!!

cloud how many weeks are u in

Hi mummies: sorry to intrude. I'm from April thread.

Desitin Creamy

I am ordering from drugstore tomoro. Any mummies need more of this? If interested, pls transfer to POSB savings: 032- 29853-2 and indicate your nick. (Shipping cost to be advised)
Collection: City hall / Tanah Merah Mrt

Nick:
Qty:
Price: (USD 4.69 * Qty) *1.45
Collection place:

ava, agree with flos that your mom's really nice. mine left me to fend for myself after my a levels but she still speaks like i owe her a great deal. i can only give but not take anything from her cos she's extremely calculative. she used to leave sticky notes on my pc whenever i was a few days late in my "monthly payments". sigh.

flos, i remember nurse chong talking about it. but i wonder what if we already knew like quite way before hand that bb will be premature (eg complications requiring early delivery *touchwood*), can we opt out of the pte hosp and sign up with kkh instead?

shazz, have you received my payment for the bmo items?

Welcome Fave!

Cloud: you are pri sch teacher? Seems like there are quite a few teachers here! I am amazed how teachers are able to cope with the tons of work in school while being pregnant. Admire you girls! Btw, I've got a few questions abt STELLAR i would like to consult you abt if possible. If you dun mind, can I PM you or you PM me...whichever is more convenient for you.

lovebug: yep, bot liao. That Cheong Choon is cheap is subjective lah. If u wanna chalk up credit card points, receive food/shopping vouchers, or too lazy to travel to Chinatown, then go to a leading dept store. u will get good deals there too.

A quick check with FTWMs on whether u'd normally obtain MC for your routined scans/visits to the gynae? My frequent sick leaves due to my monthly visits to the gynae has risen my HR's eyebrows lately.

HR says such visits are not a result of my medical condition, and hence should be covered in the form of "excuse chits"...Do you get excuse chits and return to office to work after your check ups?

<font color="119911">cloud (lovelycloud) - am getting my Nepia delivery tomorrow morning. Hope they won't mess up the delivery as well, but will be home whole day cos working from home to wait for them, so not too bad.

lanolin (lanolin) - yah, my gyne - Dr WK Tan - is very conservative. She was the one who said cannot gain more than 2 kg a month, so i have been more consentious of my diet. On baby's weight - Kieran is now 1.13kg. How heavy is yours?

Flos (flos)- u have been taking 1/2 day MCs for ur monthly check ups? I guess I am lucky in the sense that we work flexi hours - as long as u deliver your work, no one really cares how many hours u put in. I usually just arrange for a 5pm appnt, &amp; take off earlier.</font>

Floss: I might pop down there, they have alot of things???? pumps cheaper there? hee trying not to use credit cards :p

Hey gals, what kind of shampoo and bathing things are you all using for ur kids?
any recommendation?

what is this destini creamy about? i kinda blur

bacon&amp;egg: You accepted my invite already? Didn't have time to lgin to multiply..

crayonshinchan: Wow, if record down the expenses, I think its very depressing for the kids leh.. I won't do it lo.. As for education, I think I will provide for local uni, for overseas, like Lok, he gotta to get sponsorship.. Keke..

Quite a few teachers on our thread huh?

bb shampoo &amp; bath:
Lovebug: I am using Sebamed bb shampoo &amp; bubble bath. Recommended by my fren.

Desitin is a nappy rash cream, available at TMC or hospital pharmacy. But its cheaper to buy overseas &amp; size is bigger.

storeberry: thanks!!! for telling me, sebamed got head to toe ones????
Nappy rash cream i bought the pureen one at the fair looks cheap keke

hi lovebug and cloud,
I'm a teacher too!
yep yep, can be tiring standing all day!

lovebug, i was also away the whole of term 1 and a bit of term 2 but on mc. How come ur gynae din give u mc if ur reg was unstable?

What i do is to do 10 min of stretching exercise every morn when i wake up. I find that it hels tremendously. But even then, my legs do get very tired but i generally have little problems climbing up 3 stories twice a day with my laptop. And dun be mistaken, i'm not the fit fit type. I dun exercise or the go gym to do work out kind.

BB shampoo and bath
Me using California Baby pdts cos SLS (sodium laureth sulfate) and paraben free.

cloud
me not planning to start my maternity leave till the day i deliver (unless gynae advises otherwise). Cos my due date is early sept. So most prob i will take 2 mths then go back in nov/dec. Then the remaining 20 working days I will take for next yr jan

sarahmay, email me at [email protected] or msn at [email protected], this is actually my first year doing the STELLAR programme, i will try to answer whatever queries you have.

lovebug, this is my 27th week.. luckily my pregnancy has been smooth so far, no MS or otherwise, one of my colleagues took a few weeks leave because she had severe MS.

i've become a pigeon fan so just bought the new pigeon wash and shampoo..

isabelle, are you teaching primary or secondary? actually i don't stand whole day.. i sit down most of the time, my P is ok with it because she understands that pregnant women get tired easily..

shazz
sorry keep asking u abt the desitin and toothpaste cos mebbe u missed my previous posts and din reply.
Can count me in for next desitin and toothpaste spree? And does the toothpaste brand include Earth's Best?
Thx

cloud
me in sec sch.
I can choose to sit if i want to. But i'm kinda active and i just can't sit for long when teaching. Feels weird to me. Otherwise I'll be so fidgety!
Lucky u, no MS! Mine was BAD...

ON paying/giving money to parents

My parents paid for my uni education and they don't expect me to pay them back so i hope to do the same for my kids. BUt my hubby has diff view. He says if can we will pay, but if cannot then too bad, they will have to work it out themselves... I feel bad abt this cos I feel i shld provide for their studies as this is what i received from my own parents.

But mebbe as a chinese i feel that we should give our parents allowance no matter how little it is, just as a token of appreciation.

shazz
paisei... think i can answer my own question liao cos too many posts i actually missed ur reply. Sorry...
Went to check out the drugstore webbie. No Earth's Best toothpaste

hi gals, as im typing now, the right side of my back pain again.. grr.. later gona lie flat on bed coz wheneva i sit upright, juz feel not right..

xuanting - i bot Tollyjoy Nappy Liners. it comes in a box of 100shts..

meie - the bear u made so cute! gona show my hub the pic later keke..

tink i will take my ML 1wk earlier b4 EDD.. tho i tink staying at home n waiting for D-Day to come is scary..!!

Bigtoes: your Kieran is doing well! Your doc is not that conservative. Mine told me try not to exceed 1.5kg a month! I have been for the past two months. hahaha.

Mei: Where is the bear you made? Can i see it too?

Cloud: Thanks! Will email you soon. Btw, how does pigeon shower stuff for bb smell? I love its packaging for the bb bath stuff. Hehe.

Isabelle: What subjects are you teaching in sec school? I can imagine the marking load to be quite heavy! I hate marking! I hope your MS is long gone!

Janf: Oh dear. Hope your back ache goes away. Perhaps you want to try lying on your side instead of your back cos the bb pressing against your back may aggravate the ache. Get your hubby to gently rub you? Or use a warm towel or heat pack you have? I find the heat pack or warm towel especially helpful for my back aches.

Premmies: Is 37 wks considered a premmie?

cloud (lovelycloud): still can order! email me the order latest by tom with payment at [email protected] cos I want to order before the items go OOS. Already got close to US$200 liao, pending payment from nekodolly

isabelle: i think i'll do another spree in end June or early July. will keep you posted. think can get breast milk storage bags thru drugstore too ;)

xuanting, i bought pigeon diaper liner

sarahmay, the pigeon shower stuff smells quite nice to me.. very babyish.. the new product comes in a nice bottle..

Payment Received for BMO Spree (as at 17 June 845pm)
17 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK xuanting S$31.97
16 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK GAIL S$23.15
16 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK jessi S$19.42
16 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK koras S$9.13
16 Jun 2008 ATR eve S$38.81
16 Jun 2008 ITR I-BANK Ava S$54.82

so many teachers here..
cloud,lovebug.. I was thinking if take leave during the 1wk hols a bit lugi leh.. though i would really love to take leave 2wks before due date.. which is on 6th sept.. first 2 months of ML cannot break rite?

today i went back to school for a while and just climbing up one flight of steps to my classroom was very "chuan" .. haahaha..

RXmom: Got your mobile. Tks! Hope to see u earlier

Bigtoes: I take 1-2 days cos it's usually the time my DH is back. We're flexi too, and won't bother if I meet my KPIs, but just wondering why HR suddenly picks on such nittygritty stuffs now.

lovebug: I think u need to take along with u model nos. cos there at CC, u shop by browsing thru catalogues. U need to be certain of what u want.

BB shampoo &amp; bath: MUSTELA for me

Wah so many teachers...hehe!

isabelle: My case is abit different. I had an operation which then used up the 1 month hospitalisation leave and immediately after the operation I got pregnant so used up the 30 day mc leave and the rest goes to unpaid leave!!! killing me!!!!! and now to go back to work I wonder how to stand standing for long hours. I can't just not go monitor the students especially when it is kitchen it is dangerous!!!!!

Cloud: mine is a not a smooth pregnancy, because of the operation, I was placed on hormone jabs 2 times a week, and hormone pills 3 times a day plus many other meds plus ms kicking in. Depression kicked in also until now I am more alive! but backache and knee ache kicks in!!! horrifying!!!

Floss: Got ya! I will go tell look for the model and then ask them for quotation! Thank you!

hey gals I have a question for you all:

Is confinement really important and necessary?

Both my parents and parents-in-laws are not helping in confinement not even cooking the confinement dishes!

my parents insist on me having a maid instead of a confinement lady... ...

I am really getting extremely frustrated with this issue.

Want to be grandparents and yet zero help from either sides .........

hi mummies ,
Cloud ,
yes i am a teacher too .. My FB i work till the day I delivered.. and this second bb was planning to do it too .. no point staying at home to wait ... predicted EDD is 17th sep ... but think bb will come out earlier like the first one .. hmm .. so likely in sep holidays maternity will start.
Planning to take only two months and return on nov/dec . Then take the third month later next year maybe before the march holidays .

Talking about cost of premature bb . think i post here some time back that my collegue have premature bb and the cost came up to 120k out of which 90 k is subsidised .. so she only fork out the remainder sum .... not sture without subsidy from govt how to pay .. KKH 6 bedder somemore ,

isabelle..
hiyo..long time no see, miss you and little isabelle!! must join us for a playdate soon!

lovebug, cloud and isabelle
i was a teacher too!!!hahahah..many teachers here leh, alabone is one too. but im on NPL now, may go back a few years down the road, but maybe never?kekekekeke...

lovebug, stand for so many hours? so siong?i usually just sit. my subject allows me to do that as it is mostly discussion and stuff...but prior to maternity leave and during preg, was in HQ so a lot a lot of walking!!!!! and i was in grange road and had to climb four flights of stairs to reach office each day!!!! can you imagine, but was garang then..now ah,...forget it!!!

think can take maternity early sept or august, anyway coz eventuall will run into december holz mah. but then you can take the thrid month after hte december hols, so breaking up your maternity leave..not bad too...not around the crazy part of the term?

crayonshin ,
my FB was the most lugi ..cos one and half months of maternity leave is school holidays and i have no duty .. keke ... but nevermind la .. as long as bb and mummy is healthy ..
lovebug ,
confinement according to my mum is v imp .. cos it will affect your body recovery and a lot of other fertility lssues next time ... hmm .. so must die die do confimentment for a whole long month of rest ..

llCY ,
" was a teacher" so planning to join back the force ??? keke .. think i will take NPL next year too ,, then i can also use the ter, " was "

lovebug

if financially ok, y not have a CL &amp; a maid..but get the maid to come over earlier so that after she settled down with normal housework,she can learn from the CL on how to take care of baby like bathing etc? i too personally feel that doing a good confinement is better... :p

lovebug,

oh,by the way, if u really want a CL,tink better look for 1 now..its abit late already...ask ur fren for recommendations better...coz ppl usually book for 'good' 1 way beforehand

angeline: I wish I can do that, but financially not okie
after the major op i did and with the pregnancy consultation already hitting about 3.5k I cant have both CL and maid. Perhaps a maid, so to take care of my dogs and housework. care for the baby learn from me or send that maid to parent craft also!!!!!!! Confinement food get someone to cook?????

ll'Cy: I teach home economics, it is 3 hours straight flat. How to leave the students without walking to their benches to check their progress and spot for dangers?!?!? not possible, very hard for me to seat!!!!!!! even demo has to be done standing

Maternity leave can break up one huh
school holidays is not counted is it?
which means if i am due october, I take sept, oct and half nov maternity, dec is school hols no maternity, then back to jan maternity again???

Qiuling: I agree with that also but having trouble finding help! Easy for grandparents wanna be to say they want grandkids and when it comes they just push and run away! zero help! irritates me!

Actually i'm hoping that i'll deliver late august instead of EDD of sept 11 then can start maternity leave earlier, getting a bit tired of school work. i've calculated, my 3 months will actually be used up by december even if i deliver in sept. next year, i'm thinking of taking NPL for maybe one or two months.

hi lovebug, cloud and isabelle,
yeah. l'lcy already told you. i'm also a teacher teaching in sec sch. it's really not easy what will all the standing and walking ard. i know i can sit down in class to teach too if i want to but i just can't sit to teach. am planning to teach until the end of term 3 then take 2 weeks of prenatal leave (after term break) before i go for csec. then next year go on NPL.

lovebug,
if your parents and ILs are not offering any help and you can't get a confinement nanny, maybe you wanna try getting confinement food catered instead? you can try out trial dishes first before you decide. but have to act soon also. then for the rest of the confinement what-nots, if you are gungho enough, probably can handle. for instance the boiling of water to bathe, showering bb and such. best is to have some help of coz. is a maid out of the question?? or perhaps a part timer for that period?

jaline,
you also have same problem as me!!! i have exactly what you describe except that mine affects me when i walk now. gotta remember to ask gynae what's the matter... never b4..

hi alabone:

I am extremely picky with food, thinking whether catering is worth it or not! cant cook is one of the worst thing about me! As for maid, I am thinking of it but i am thinking to solve the current situation having a maid is better or having a confinement lady is better where they can take care the kid?
i dun like the idea of maid man but looks like no choice when go back to work who is going to take care.

gosh a bomb has landed on me
horrifying
keek

maids
maids are good if you are nice and easygoing kind or has other forms of help around to mind the maid (yes mind the maid, not child...)..

for me i cannot stand having maids around the house. even though life is busier now without maid, but im happier and i think my son is settling down better without maid. with maids, i believe the role of primary caregiver is compromised since there are two or three primary caregivers...

i find my son easier to discipline now now that my maid is gone. and he has no one else but me to turn to...he can usually play alone while i go about quick houseowrk after meals etc...so i guess all the hard work is worth it. am planning to go without maid from now on, even when girl comes along.

for mtbs you have to bear in mind some will suffer some form of blues. so having someone else around the house might add to the strain.

lveobugs
that is horrid man..torture...3 hours wihtout rest..ooooo..i would hate that....

think if you calculate well enough, you can start the third month of maternity on a separate month...but im not sure if it fits in with your edd...

NPL
wow!!!so many taking NPL ah???!!! good good!!!! then we can all have tummy time playdates for our bbs!!!!!hahahhahahaha...they cant do much then...

janf: How much did you get the Tollyjoy nappy liners for? I still haven't get this yet...

I get pain on my left backside when I sit on the chair &amp; get up. Anyone has the same pain?

Mei: Great job!! Wow, you did this in one day?

LL'CY: SO you are a SAHM? I wish I can stay at home but think I need my job to be sane &amp; for the income as well..
My fren was telling me to get a maid cos she think my MIL cannot cope with my bb &amp; my nephew. But I still can't get over the fact of having a stranger in the house with problems waiting to be seen...

Mei: that's so adorable! =)

Cloud: I placed orders for babymallonline spree already cos I heard the 20% discount coupon ends on Wed morning! kindly help me apologise to your friend!

storeberry: I got 2 x 100 pcs of Tollyjoy nappy liners from Kiddy Palace at $12.90. I also saw the same promo at JL.

mei,
you really can sewwwwww!

l'lcy,
glad to know you're coping fantastic without your maid. in my case, i'm glad for my maid to do the chores and help with the kid. but i've gotta agree with you on the discipline thing. nat's rather close to her and when nat's scolded, she'll go look for 'auntie' to seek solace. then i have to hold her with me and refuse to let her go...

lovebug,
if that's the case, then engaging a confinement nanny will not solve the prob with food. just that having a CL (a good one) can allow you to rest more coz she can help with the nb. you need to decide pretty soon coz if looking for CL now, most good ones are snapped up already. like i've a friend who's edd is next 13 jan, but she's already engaging a CL.

lovebug1822, home economics must be very interesting to teach! but how come you can't cook? isn't cooking part of the syllabus?

mei, the dolls are lovely! your baby is so lucky!