(2008/09) Sep 2008

mickey: think u asked me abt those wall decals. here're the 2 designs what i bot:

1477866.jpg

1477867.gif

Not sure if it's from Oz. The good thing abt this is it's removable, just like those decals used on boutique windows. I didn't get those wallpapers from MOthercare cos I dun want to deface and therefore repaint my walls. I want to change the decal designs every other season as my boy grows old. E.g. For Christmas, he will have Christmassy patterns on the wall and windows.

Pls visit this site for more choices:
http://www.hanzic.com/forwalls/gallery.html

Shocking to see so many posting in one day !

Big Toes,
Not sure i have gotten a gooddeal for babyplus a not. But i paid SGD $228 for it.

Cloud, I saw the KS bag that you posted in Taka Kate Spade. It is going for SGD$400. They have 3 color for that design.

Flos, I check out Kate Spade bag over the weekend and they only carry 3 model which all are not on sales. I am considering one of them as well.

Sunray, Check out the website i given you for the baby bedding set. It is actually promotion period and the 8 pieces set is going for $100 per set only. I gotten two set myself !

XuanMummy, can you update me to the list as well.
Nick: Jojobar
EDD: 4th Sept 2008
Gender of baby: Boy
Hospital: Mt E
Gynae: Dr Yap LK

Bacon & Egg: I had sign up for cordlife. In actual fact, I think should have gone with Stemcord. Cordlife required to extract your blood and test the before they accept. WHile Stemcord believe that you can store your own stemcord even if it come with some deficiency. Most of the friends around me have stored the stem cell just for security purposes. the cost is about 250 per year. Giving it to the public bank is also a very choice as you probably save someone life. This is entirely your personal choice. My hubby and me believe in medical advancment which we think that the stemcell development and research might be able to cure more diseases in the future. Hence we decided to go for it.

Kate Spade - Hey girls, you all can order overseas as well. www.katespade.com.

There was a 25% discount on top of the sale price recently. The march mums went crazy over this.. Shipping cost per hobo is abt $16. We're eyeing 4 Jul that they'll have another promo..

Flos: Thanks.. Hey, the wall borders from the website I posted is repositionable. Won't leave residue on the wall. I've tested it cos we've moved house since, and I hand-carried the wall borders over to the new place.
The decals you showed are for the windows?

Have you driven the 7 at all? Actually I don't like it. It's super under-powered. Can feel so much drag compared with my 320..

mickey: hubby's not too keen on the XC90. He's eyeing the Volkswagen Tiguan, a new model that will be here next year. Think we're likely to adopt a wait and see attitude, wait for baby to be out and re-assess our needs from there.

Hi Shazz: With the increase in COE now, its really more worth it to buy a 2nd hand vehicle.. Its also exciting to buy new things!

Thanks mickey for organising! And sorry for so many emails. Keke..

Ava: Think I will KIV diaper bag 1st. Maybe just use any big bags I have.

I haven't sit down & calculate how much I have spend on bb.. But maybe I never buy the cot & strollers, expenses might be lower..

Hi Mickey,

But the kate spade shopping site do not ship internationally leh. How you get around there ? Can you advise me ?

shazz - that is interesting seeing mi whenever sit on the sofa dan i like to c my stomach lol' cox always lie down he will keep on kicking

lanolin - same as mine .. the last scan is 7th Sept

MICKEY: Can I add in orders for Baby Mall Online too?! Thanks! Let me know if ok to add. Then I will transfer money.

MY TOTAL : USD$28.22 ( SG$40.35/ using SG1 = US$1.43 correct?)

1. 4-Pack Basket Weave Sleep N Play
[SKU 900991040] 3 – 6 months, Neutral Print, $9.99
http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28/products_id/1268/osCsid/5c045796fdab24e0269a3bb44686d177

2. 10-Pack Baby Washcloths
[SKU 05901] Green, $3.99
http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/30_27/products_id/416/osCsid/5c045796fdab24e0269a3bb44686d177

3. 3-Pack Baby Boxer Shorts
[SKU 01603], Red pattern, 6 – 12 months $3.99
http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28_1/products_id/589/osCsid/5c045796fdab24e0269a3bb44686d177

4. Boys' Computer Boxed Baby Booties
[SKU 02146]
3 pairs – Blast off, Car, Smiling star $0.99 X 3 = $2.97
http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/67_68/products_id/78/osCsid/5c045796fdab24e0269a3bb44686d177

5. Thermo-Check Feeding Spoons
[SKU 10057], $1.29
http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/67_69/products_id/785/osCsid/5c045796fdab24e0269a3bb44686d177

6. Swimsuit for Boys
[SKU 06150], Blue – Beach Bum, 6 months, $5.99
http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28_20/products_id/1201/osCsid/5c045796fdab24e0269a3bb44686d177

MUMS with BABIES: how much are infant swimsuits? And what are the prerequisites we shd be looking out for when buying one for bb?

diaperbags.com:
hi gals, i have ordered my skip hop dash deluxe in denim, and they hv given me a $10 discount voucher. If u all hv decided to get from diaperbags.com, u can use this $10 discount code at checkout PP-5353. Minimum purchase is $50.

Good morning mums..

Shazz: My hubby is also not keen on the XC90..

Storeberry: No prob.. Good thing we sort it out together..

SarahMay: Can add in your orders. Pls transfer.

Jojo: Not only does KS not ship internationally, it also doesn't accept international credit cards.
We placed our orders using borderlinx concierge (it's foc as opposed to cwg which charges 5% fee). Then borderlinx will ship the parcel to you in Sing. Borderlinx is a international courier service similar to vpost or cwg. To open an account with borderlinx, you need to have a Citibank credit card. You can register for an account here.
www.borderlinx.com

sarahmay,

Babies can only swim after they are six month old. So you can wait and assess your baby's size closer to that age before getting the swim suit.
They are many types of swim suits out there and it's really your choice and which to get. Some are thick, like wet suits and can probably keep your child warmer in the water, but then again, these are more ex than the normal lycra ones, and they outgrow them quite fast.

Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
5) Mei, Boy, Name = Devon Gho
6) bigtoes, Boy, Name = Kieran Chai
7) Jasyeo80, Girl, EDD 24-09, KKH
8) mrsgan, girl, name = Janelle Gan
9) jaymickey, girl, Name = Janelle Lim
10) Gail (Cloud), boy, Name = Kieran Ee, Gynae: Dr Tan K T
11) lok, boy, name = Jonas
12) nick : bacon&egg
EDD: 6 Sept'08
hospital : NUH
Gynae : Prof PC Wong
13) nick:jgwee, hospital: Mt A, baby's name Matthias Tan
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
16) nick : stef&seanbabes
EDD: 4 Sept'08
hospital : TMC
Gynae : Dr Eunice Chua
baby's name: Sharmaine Ng
17) nick : yan
EDD : 24 Sept'08
Gynae : Dr Adrian Woodworth
18) nick : T_T
EDD : 7 Sept'08
hospital : Mt A
19) nick : lanolin
hosptial : Mt E
Gynae : Dr Selina Chua
20) nick : Janf
EDD : 5 Sep
hosptial : TMC
Gynae : Dr Caroline Khi
21) Ruixiangsmom, boy, name = Ruiheng, Darren

Sarahmay,

J's swimsuit is a white elephant. He has one of those wetsuit type (keeps him warm) which I bought from Kiddypalace and you have to get one of those swim diaper too. Not too ex, probably around $20-30. We seldom bring him for a swim despite the fact that the pool is just below our unit. What a shame!

Latex Mattress:

Agree that babysafe mattress is a good choice. If any mummies intends to get the mattress and customize the size, it's a good idea to buy from Kiddypalace now. The SA wasn't sure when the GSS discount will end but her estimate is ~ mid-June. The customization cost $30. If u buy from Kiddypalace, u get 20% discount off both the mattress and charges.

Shazz, are we going ahead with the skip hop diaperbag spree? i was just wondering whether it would be more beneficial for you and ava to order your bags from diaperbag.com instead because its free shipping to US address and you can use stef&seanbabes discount coupon to get $10 off. for me, i can always ask my friend to buy for me when she goes to NY next month..

Flos
We have the Picnic and I drive it whenever my hb isnt around or doesnt want to drive...it's not that difficult to handle, esp since it is an auto and I've been driving manual all along...it's like not even driving lor...I'm OK with handling higher up cars...in fact i find I can see the road better so I prefer these to normal saloons. Wah, quite a few of u drive Beemers huh??

Millie
The car seat brands recommended by other moms, either seen on this thread and in others:
- Maxi Cosi
- Britax/Safe n Sound
- Graco
- Ingelsina
- Peg Perego infant car seat (if u r getting their strollers)
- Aprica
- Combi

I have the following brand new medala product for sale :

1. Medala storage bottle pack (3 bottles in a box)
- $25.20

2. Medala spare parts, Valves & Membranes - $24.40

3. Medala Nipple Cream (Big tube) - $15.40

Interested, pls email to [email protected]

Juz bought them at the bb fair at expo, with receipt to show. Selling coz my sis have extra for me liao.

Any1 here interested in buying the fridge-to-go?

It's a insulated bag for storing breastmilk after w pump it out in the office so tat the milk can last (10 to 12hrs) till we reach home.

I got it at the expo bb fair yest at a bundle set, comes with a extra small bag for storing 1 milk bottle (can last 4 to 5hrs)

I got the set og the big bag + small bag at $60. Tang selling $54 for the big bag & $18 for the small bag.

Selling coz my sis going to pass me her old 1 coz she is weaning her gal soon.

Interested, pls email me :

<font color="0000ff">Braxton Hicks
If what i've been feeling are indeed BHs, den it seems kinda terrible. coz juz ytd alone... think i felt it more than 10 times le. juz feel so crampy n the bottom of my tummy hardens.. it onli relaxes after awhile. scared the hell out of me. even last nite, while sleeping halfway, i felt it too...

how exactly does BHs feel like???

Carlson Baby Wipes
Seems like this is really a good buy. Wonder how much they selling per packet for the Buy 2 Get 1 Free promo.

Online Shopping
Wow.. seems like u mummies are actively shopping online.. hehe
dunno how come but i juz dun feel the urge to get a diaper bag... *scratch head*</font>

sasa
Do monitor those 'contractions'. When I went for my antenatal class, I asked the nurse about it. She told me to monitor the intervals.. not to scare you.. but sometimes it could be 'real' contractions. If yours happens so often, it's best to see your gynae. I had a friend who had it pretty often &amp; her gynae gave her a jab for it.

XuanMummy,
Pls update for me too.
Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
12) nick : bacon&amp;egg
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
16) nick : stef&amp;seanbabes
22) Millie22, boy

Kate Spade baby bags: How come so few designs?

Ava: Alrite, I'll wait till hb is formally back to make a decision on cars. I also drove manual cars in my late teens...I suppose that was the norm during our time?! LOL

Mickey: No, I hv never driven a 7 series b4. For sure I can't cope. I'm hopeless!!!
It doesn't help cos I no longer recognise most roads in SG. I've really lost the mind-map...I need a GPS to guide me around

Storeberry: We intend to get a relatively new second-hand car so cut losses, cos we don't intend to stay in SG for too long. We were told to be on standby for another posting in 1-2 yrs. Possibly to some godforsaken country.

<font color="0000ff">Mei
okok.. will monitor. but how often if it becomes should I sound the alarm? It's really getting abit scary and I still have 2 more weeks to my next appt

sasa: when is your next visit to TMC? Mine is now 3 weeks, not 4 weeks. how abt u?

did u sign up for the TMC 6-lesson antenatal course? I'm almost done with my shopping, so now looking for new things to keep me occupied

thot maybe I shd sign up for the course. is it too late to start now?

Bacon: We ordered when there was 25% add discount. No more now. And becos of the amount, we could only bundle 2 or 3 bags together at most in order not to kenna gst. So we had many batches. Which is the one you wanna order? If there's sale again, I keep you updated.

RXmom, SarahMay, Lok: When my girl was 4plus months, we brought her swimming. We wanted to start young so she won't be afraid of the water. She's quite cool with water now..
Actually the baby is filled with amniotic fluid in our tummy. In my opinion (not tested lah), I believe the baby can still remember how to swim and maybe even breathe in water when they're very younger. But we didn't submerge her into the water lah. Just carry her and let her float around and feel the water only..

Flos: Hahah.. How long have you been out of the country? Actually GPS is quite irritating..

<font color="0000ff">Flos
my nxt appt on the 23rd leh... I'm still seeing Dr Cheng on a monthly basis tats y i'm wondering it's so weird.. dunno how come he nvr give me 3 wks leh...

yeap yeap.. signed up for the class lllooonnnnggg... time ago le.. haha. would be attending the class with Sunrays oso. we both signed up for Mrs Wong's Sunday afternoon class. wanna join us?? but not sure if her class still got vacancy anot leh.. can try calling wor..

sasa de mouse
how many weeks are u in now?

Carlson Baby Wipes
I used this before, but I find the smelltoo strong to my liking. But it is cheap though. Quite worth it

XuanMummy,
Pls update for me too.
Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
22) Millie22, boy
23) Mrs Yap, Girl,

XuanMummy,
Pls update for me too.
Update List
==================
1) XuanMummy, Girl
2) Ava, Girls
3) aloevera, Boy
4) Angeline Goh, Girl
14) eve, Boy
15) Yun, BOY
22) Millie22, boy
23) Storm, EDD 29 Sept, Gal

sean&amp;steffbabes
thanks for the recommendation. will check out the webby!

Little Dreamers
im interested to buy the pdts too.

mickey
I agree with you on this 'Actually the baby is filled with amniotic fluid in our tummy. In my opinion (not tested lah), I believe the baby can still remember how to swim and maybe even breathe in water when they're very younger.'

That's why I intend to bring my baby for the baby swimming course when he's 3 months. The shop is located at Harbourfront near Mothercare.

www.babyswimming.com.sg

<font color="0000ff">Mei
yeap.. they are pretty unpredictable. I have absolutely no idea when they would be coming. so i guess i can only monitor bah...

Mrs Yap
I'm 28 wks this thurs le...

<font color="0000ff">Baby Swimming
I've seen this shop conducting bb swimming course at Punggol Plaza too. Apparently the babies juz swim in the tubs leh. with onli a float around their necks i think.. haven seen the real thing.. juz pictures pasted on the shop front..

seems interesting.. hehe</font>

sasa
That's the same shop that I posted.. they have branches at Punggol &amp; Harbourfront.

Hmm.. unpredictable.. then should be ok.. just monitor &amp; see how it goes.

Preggie
When are you putting in your order for Little Dreamers?

Please include my order:
1. Healing Bottom Spray
120ml Prod#: MC0026A S$15.50 (SALE $13.95)

2. Afterbirth Relief Oil
60ml Prod#: MC0024A $12.00 (SALE $10.80)

3. Confinement Massage Oil
65ML Prod#: MC0022A $12.50 (SALE $11.25)

4. Dry Confinement Powder
3.5 (vol) oz Prod#: MC0022 $15.00 (SALE $13.50)

sasa de mouse: when is your first lesson? It'd be nice to join u 2!! I'll call them up first.

Yeah, strange...I said, "so I'll see u in a month's time?" He replied "no, 3 weeks time." I'm currently 26w2d. Maybe cos my cycles were a little off in the first place. My DS was done at week 22 when most of u did urs around week 20.

I dunno what else to buy now. so restless...

sasa/Mei: oh that's called Huaxin. I saw them at Mothercare Harbourfront and Punggol too!! There was someone teaching a couple how to change diapers I think

mickey / mei,

u are probably right abt the bb swimming thing. My J only wants to sit in his float and "beo" zai bo in the pool. If we bring him to the end where there is nobody to beo, he will fuss! When we push the stroller past the pool, he will look here and there too. Not interested to be submerged. Ok in the jacuzzi as well. Think we started too late but never mind, will let him catch up later as we think swimming is definitely a good skill to learn (at least a must for boys).

preggie

I would like to order from Little Dreamers too.

1. Healing Bottom Spray
120ml Prod#: MC0026A S$15.50 (SALE $13.95)

2. Dry Confinement Powder
3.5 (vol) oz Prod#: MC0022 $15.00 (SALE $13.50)

Lok
Your son is hilarious.. oh.. that's true.. I do notice that even baby boys like to 'beo' females.. that day we bumped into a friend &amp; her 5 month old son kept looking at me &amp; not my hubby.. lol. They also prefer females to carry them, probably more 'cushion'..

RXMom, Lok: Thanks for info on swimming. I want to take bb out swimming once he finishes his 6 mths of jabs. Cos i was told tt is the safest and best time to start. I am a water bb...so hope bb will be too. That way, my water-adverse hubby will have to get into the pool too! As for the swimsuit...yeah, was so tempted to buy the cute one on BMO only SG8!!! Two piece...but then thought better of it. Cos I will be in Macau then, and not sure if bb can fit the 6 mths either. Better to take bb out to shop then. Hehe.

Lok: Hmm....your bb starting young hor?!

Flos: I think yours is the non-std 3 wks cos from wk 30 on, it is supposed to be every fortnight till wk 36 when it becomes weekly. So prob trying to get u back on track.

CHECK-UP; Yay! I found a clinic that speaks English, practices Western medicine and does the scan. Though the scan sounds pretty expensive. But oh well...better than nothing la. Hope the check-up turns out well later. If anything, at least my hubby will get to see my bb for the first time.

Mickey: Thanks! Will transfer tonite!