(2008/09) Sep 2008

I think there has been some shift in thinking since our mothers' generation so if u feel strongly about something, pls let them know to avoid misunderstanding. E.gs in my case:
(1) my MIL generation does not believe in breastfeeding. I hv to espouse benefits of bfg.
(2) They like to get bb water (but in the last month, it was reported in the news that there is no need to give bb water and it may in fact affect their development). I think this is not necessary especially if u bfg.
(3) Gripe water -- i don't think it's necessary to give.
(4) BB powder --- same thing, not necessary
(5) No tv for bb
(6) I don't believe in excessive alcohol consumption for confinement becos of bfg--- still remember Mrs Wong saying how mummies avoid alcohol at all cost during pregnancy and yet become alcoholic the moment bb is born. (and this is a very peculiar Chinese practice which we don't see the other cultures practising but does this mean all the rest are suffering during old age?)

Ava: "The Desitin that smells like cod liver oil is the regular one...". So, the non-regular one smells like???

Drypers: My colleague told me Drypers are cheap and good. Her girls grew up with Drypers. No rashes at all.

Bigtoes: I too have become price-conscious (aka aunty), pretty unlike my character. I am a compulsive shopper. But now, I find myself going from supermarket to supermarket, pharmacy to pharmacy to compare prices of diapers and wipes!

Powder? I hope my MIl won't insist on such things. Saw her using that on my heaty and sweaty fat nephew on his damp joints. Yikes. Thos velour puffs.

Don't clean mouth for 3 years?????!!!! Yucks.

What to use to clean NB's mouth? Toothpaste? Or just a damp towel?

aloe: I can't find the expiry dates on the Pigeon baby wipes. Really got expiry dates ah?

lilboymom: OK, I'll try to latch latch & latch. After all I already bot my nipple cream. Must find chance to apply it.

Flos,

Diapers: really depends on a few things. But in general, I think most pple trust pampers and MP.

Diaper cream: The creamy one doesn't hv much smell (it's called fresh scent). The texture of the original also makes it more difficult to apply.

Pigeon wipes: If i didn't remember wrongly, it's 3 yrs from date of manufacture.

NB's mouth: I use sterilized gauze.

Milk Supply: 99% can breastfeed successfully. You just have to latch latch latch and persevere. A good pump is very helpful too.

Baby powder - Agreed with aloevera on the mtd to apply the baby powder. cannot just dust all over, baby is taking those particles into the nose.. Lucky hubby went to attend the class with me and he also learnt from the instructor dun need to dust baby with powder so next time if my stubborn MIL does that, I have additional support. Yesterday, purposely mentioned about water intoxication to hubby and put the article there for him to see.. MIL is a strong advocate of drinking water and hence giving baby with lots of water is no surprise to me.. so better arm myself first..

o ya, has anyone tried using vaseline on your baby's bum? my sil uses it and she swears by it but i haven't heard anyone in singapore mention it before.

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - my colleague also mentioned that Drypers is an okie alternative for day use - about the same pricing/quality as PetPet and Nepia? Not so suitable for overnite use thou, cos more prone to leakages. Mamy poko/pampers are best for that. Anyway better to get just one pack of each type to see which suits the baby 1st?

Lok (lok) - is gripe water for appetite? I was under the impression that it was for colic/wind/indigestion - am most concerned that the baby would cry for hours for no apparent reason &amp; drive me up the wall, so i got a bottle from Watsons just in case.

Pigeon wipes - i bot 2 packs of these (3 per pack) from Watsons. Planning to use this for cleaning the bottom after each poop. In that case, i don't need to use water &amp; cotton wool anymore right?</font>

lanolin

PM u liao;)

Lok: Phew. 3 years. OK, I'll stock up.

Can I use those MaxKool mini towels from KiddyPalace?

Thot newborn babies dun need to clean mouth? Mouth cavity so tiny how to force it open? Poor lil thing, mommy must dig finger in and wipe the gums. Maybe clean his mouth when he turns 3mos?

I'll definitely feed my bb with water. Detoxification. Also cleanses the oral cavity and gets rid of the milky aftertaste.

Bigtoes: I recall u r from TMC too. Do u know which brand we'll get?

I think Gripe water is Ru Yee oil rite? It's to be rubbed on bb's tumtum.

Fei Chai water is for oral intake, if bb refuses to drink milk?

Flos (flos) - Yes, am delivering at TMC. Which brand of diapers? i don't think it is standardized right? Depends on which company is promoting their products at that point in time? Most likely the regular brands - pampers/huggies?

Oh, i thought gripe water = fei chai sui? This is the sweet-tasting one for oral intake.

Flos
GRIPE WATER
Gripe water is a home remedy for babies with colic, gas, teething pain, reflux or other stomach ailments. Its ingredients vary, and may include alcohol, bicarbonate, ginger, dill, fennel and chamomile. It is typically given to the infant with a dropper in liquid form; a single dose may be 2.5 to 10 ml, depending on the age of the baby, repeated several times daily. Adults may also take gripe water for soothing intestinal pains, gas or other stomach ailments.

RU YEE OIL
Ru Yee Oil is used to prevent and get rid of the wind inside baby body. 0 to 3 months old babies have high tendency to have wind (colic). It is rubbed on babies tummy (like medicated oil) There are 2 types of Ru Yee oil. Black and Yellow type. The black type is too strong for bb. So,, do check with Chinese Sen Sei before purchasing.

Flos,
wat poor baby? imagine the moment the gynae saw our baby, they will insert those tubes into their throat for suction ok... then poor little one will scream for help!! hahaha!!

NB is the "most dirty", tats why they will poo n urinate so much during first couple of mths!

Gripe water is to get rid of those wind for colic babies.

Ru Yi Oil is a type of medicated oil tat's for bb's tummy, to help clalm BB n get rid of the wind as well.

Jo (jgwee) - yup, i signed up for FBI some months back cos i assumed i wanted to bank with CordLife then....now thinking twice about private cord blood banking.

Am going for single bedder and hubby will get the additional bed to spend the nite. Mine is C-section, so most likely will be stuck in TMC for 3 nites. TMC (and i assume all hospitals) have horribly hard beds thou, ended up with butt ache the last time i stayed for my fibriod removal.

Shazz, Jo &amp; Jessi, i have added you on facebook...

LC,

Use cool-boiled water. Also use cool boiled water for cleaning NB's face.

Gripe water:
Never used it for J. Even my MIL says don't use it.

To all SATC fans

Go watch the movie QUICKLY!!! Went wif my girl &amp; gay friends cos i'm sure most of the hubbies would not appreciate this movie. Leave the hubby at home and bask in the pure entertainment that is carrie bradshaw's world!! Great witty one liners, we laughed all way through, the story was great and it just felt like another episode...except this is a rather long episode at 2hrs,20mins but who is complaining??!!

aloe: "imagine the moment the gynae saw our baby, they will insert those tubes into their throat for suction ok... " when is this happening?!!! so scary...I dunno abt that.

Bigtoes: OK, not mama poko rite? I like mama poko designs. Mine also one-bedder. hard beds at TMC? Oh dear...Thot they'd hv good mattresses? My hb will be forced to stay overnite with me too. It's his chance to redeem himself for not spending 1st and 2nd trimesters with bb and me

Wonder if I'll got milk powder samples from TMC? (Gosh, dun I sound aunty already?!)

sunrays: okok, so one can drink, the other cannot drink lah... Strange apothecary stuffs these are...

Welcome Lanolin!!! I was planning to buy Medela PIS and some mummy recommended Ameda Lactacine / in USA its call Ameda Purely Yours. Compared the two &amp; also cos Ameda is cheaper (I think about half the price copared to Medela) &amp; function more or less the same, would prob get my friend in US to buy. I heard its less noisy but Medela has very good reviews also...

Mei: I have the egg machine! I used it to wash my hubby's smelly socks!! Kekek.. Abot troublesome but I don't want to mic his socks with our clothes together. Not sure if I want to use to wash bb's clothes or just dump in the normal machine to wash together.

Just came back from Malaysia, DH brought me to this place near Desaru, wanted to catch the sunrise but its blocked by the clouds! Dar*!

See you all mummies tomorrow at 3pm!!

Hi Flos: I am going to ask if any mummies knows if we can get sample diapers from any webby!! I also auntie liao!

Diapers: I heard PetPet leaks major big time! Friends swear by Drypers - the cheap and good one. though know ppl who don't like Drypers also. Mamy Poko is very ex but u get quality for the price. It's jap so we cannot expect less than cute designs and quality! Hehe.Does anyone know how many packs of NB diapers we need to buy in prep for the first month? HOspitals don't give many do they?

FEEDING BB WATER: From what I've read on BF etc, they say no need to give bbs water even up to 6 months. Then when start weaning can introduce water - true?

DESITIN: Heard this is the best...but again, bb sites say to try to avoid applying nappy rash cream unless necessary as bb's bottoms are sensitive. Again, true? Or is it a SOP must to do it every diaper change?

Wingkei: Long time no see like that! hehe. How are things with your hubby? Getting beter?

Lanolin: Where are you going to deliver?

Hospital: Anyone delivering at Mt A?

Hey ladies...
i got bleeding/spotting again!
Dunno why my womb so weak

Doc says as long as no pain is ok
So i trying to rest more to prevent bleeding again. Anyone knows what to eat to make the womb stronger????

i still deciding bet MT A &amp; TMC..

Mt A rooms just renovated.... beri nice leh...

TMC... parking is a headache...

SarahMay,
I gave birth at Mt A for my first one n this time gg there again. Nice hospital and friendly nurses...

When my gal is still a newborn, we used nepia during daytime n pampers at night. Now she has grown, we changed to NTUC pampers during day n huggies at night. So far all ok...

Hi Mrs Yap: Oh dear, rest well &amp; remember don't carry heavy items!! I will pray for you &amp; melody. And will you be coming for the gathering?

Hi Storeberry - thanks for the welcome!

SarahMay - I'm delivering in Mount E. No choice as my gynae only delivers there. We r very slack parents to be. Bought almost nothing yet, the nursery is still full of rubbish (our stuff) and we haven't signed up for any antenatal classes yet. hahaha...how abotu you?

Do take care Mrs Yap - do u tend to stand to much?

hi storeberry
dunno why spotting seems to be my all time problem. This time round, the blood is mixed with blood clots... afterwhich it clears up and become brown spotting. I wld like to join u guys for the gathering but i doubt my hb would agree to it. He probably ask me to lie on bed.

Diapers:

My advice is not to stock up until u tried it and happy with it. Like I said, different brands fit suit different bbs. Some parents don't even stock up on NB and go straight to S (3kg onwards). Really depends on bodyshape. For me, I will just buy 1 pack of MP NB first..

Millie,

Yes, that's what I meant.

Sarahmay,

Feeding water: that's what i did. Some mummies are afraid their kids will dislike water (cos not introduced to it for 6 mths). Other feed water to avoid constipation (but usually not an issue for breastfed bbs). But no water issue for J (loves water) cos he's a very active boy.

Mrs Yap,

You need to rest more. Don't move around too much.

jay, lanolin
i dun stand alot... i sit most of the time. The bleeding i had last week occur when i was sleeping and i get up at midnight to go toilet then i realise got blood. I rest alot but still like that. This time round i did not see my gynae cos he already told me unless its painful, no need to consult him

mrs yap,
do lie on bed and maybe take some "warming" tonic like pao shen w/black chicken + red dates (for nourishing blood). hope u feel better soon.

bb mouth cleaning,
did a mommy mention to clean bb's mouth with damp cloth soaked with salt water? Would it be too salty for bb? how long do we do that before we can use toothpaste?

lanolin
Added u liao
me quite slack also. my nursery is full of junk...daddy and mommy's clothes, iron board..

mrs yap, think it's best for you not to move around until the spotting clears. but you'll need to see your doc in order to be covered under mc right? if you want to take some tcm to strengthen your womb, then perhaps go for a consultation at a reputable tcm hall to get a prescription? what's right for one may not be right for the other. tcm is a delicate balance. take care k. hugs.

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - i did ask the nurse why the mattress was so hard cos my butt ended up being numb - apparently this is intentional, incase of emergency then they can revive the patient on the bed on the spot/do minor surgery &amp; need not move the patient to the operating theatre! This time round, maybe I will ask for an additional pillow or just lay a towel underneath.

Meanwhile, parking at TMC sucks. I am assuming also that they would give patients a complimentary car park passes for the duration of the stay?

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - take care okie
can always catch up again at another gathering before we all pop!</font>

Mrs Yap: I think you should still call your gynae to check! I mean, it is bleeding. Pls take care of yourself and don't exert yourself! Hugs...Hope the bleeding stops!Don't worry. My friend who just delivered also had unexplained spotting several times into beginning of 3rd trimester. bb is fine! Yours will be too.

Storeberry: Wah! So romantic!!! I must go ask my hubby for a romantic date soon too. Heheh.

Lanolin: You slack? We are slack too. Haha. Not going for antenatal class but need to go library to borrow books on labour etc and learn breathing techniques etc. Cos I don't want to be caught off guard in the labour ward. Hehe.

Jo: You went for the hospital tour already? Do you know if we can request for the newest renovated wards? Hehe.

Jaline: You going there again? Really nice ah? Heard some not so nice stories abt the nurses there from friend who gave birth recently. But then again, TMC and other hospitals also have brusque nurses.

Millie: Added you on FB too.

BLACK BEANS: Rber we were talking abt this sometime back. Found out today from TMC friend tt they help to 'bu xue' i.e. for iron! I got a pack of them today...and using them to cook soup.

Bigtoes: so where will our hbs sleep? On some pathetic futon? Sasa told me no free bathtub from TMC.

Mrs Yap: please hv plenty of rest. Last time u mentioned u take bus to work daily. U should take cab now! Is your hb back from US?

Lok: I'll follow your advice. Buy one small pack first.

Hi Mrs Yap,

Just want to share my experience. I had a similar experience when I was in Japan for vacation couple of weeks back. I was freaking out and calling my gynae.
Last week, I had brown discharge as well. In the end, i request for my gyane to do a checkup. The conclusion is that I have some infection and he give me some medication to mitigate the situation. Hence I suggest you go and see your gyane and find out the cause ...

bacon&amp;egg,

yes i mentioned abt the mouth cleaning for our NB. we really use very little salt, it's not for flavouring, it's more for kill the bacteria(which salt is good for tat), and get rid of the milk stain in the mouth.

we can do tat for as long as our BB dun bite, or u can choose to stop once they start teething.

we usually do the mouth washing b4 bathing the BB, then after the bath, feed bb the gripe water and let him/her rest a while b4 BF-ing and then follow by sleep. that's somewat my routine, and it trains the NB well wat to expect on a daily basis. it's impt to let our NB adopt a routine since birth or BB will be very cranky and we do not hv a fixed time to rest or do our own things.

Bigtoes
I think we paid for parking while we stayed there last time...

Mrs Yap
If u r spotting, better rest and we can meet up with you next time...!

Desitin
we applied it at every change, but VERY little.

Flos
Dont freak out about the suctioning of baby...it happens v quickly once baby is out to ensure no fluid in airpipe and lungs etc so baby can CRY. i was glad they did it for adan cos he was not crying when he came out so I was worried...

they dont do it near u anyway and u'll be too busy wondering "what the hell is that coming out of me" (or in my case I said out loud, "why do i feel like I'm pooping") as the placenta comes out to notice the suctioning...

Mrs Yap, i strongly encourage u to pay ur gynae a visit.. my gynae always tell me.. don't feel good, just go and see him.. to make sure everything is okie..

Sarah May...

Ya i went to the tour already... u just put on request loh... ...

tat x i got ask them.. they told mi.. of cos we 1 2 gif u new rooms.. but if all rooms new rooms used up.. no choice.. we got to put u in old rooms .. old rooms NOT NICE...

they oso bring us c the new deluxe single.. wow oso nice leh..

Mrs Yap... please take good care of urself.. c u tmr...

I have facebook too.. [email protected]

My BB has been really active these past few days, keeps moving around. Gave me a hard kick yesterday. Anyone have the same experience?

Ava, actually we stay quite near each other, I'm staying in Boon Keng, would like to join the gathering but not sure whether I can make it tmw.

Hey cloud,
Just come if u can lah.

I had mini earthquake in my belly tis morning...could actually see the top baby moving about from outside.

Facebook
After adding all the forum MTBs i hope I can remember where I know you all from cos all using real names there...lol!

SarahMay,
That time when i stayed Mt A, i had very bad breast engorgement, having high fever n couldn't sleep well. The nurses there took care of me very well, though the breast massage is painful but it help to relieve the engorgement. We were staying at one bedded rm and my hubby sleep in a sofa bed. I still remember that time we can bring back bathtub, pampers and a MT A goodie bag with free vouchers and milk powder etc...

added all the mummies on FB! =) yah, like Ava, I dunno can rem who is who anot! haha ... those with obvious nick I can rem.

Took half day off to have some time alone by myself just now. Hee, but can't help but shop for baby stuff! Got a Philips Baby Monitor SCD 496 with Advent Magic Cup with Handles pack for $159. Got $60 Isetan voucher so decided to get it. =) Wonder what's the difference, there are so many models, I'm confused, so just got what suits my budget lah.

Also did a quick price comparison of Newborn diapers at Isetan Supermarket:

Drypers $7.30 28 pcs - $0.26/pc
Huggies $9.15 24 pcs - $0.38/pc
Pampers $18.30 36 pcs - $0.51/pc
Mammy Poko $13.68 30 pcs - $0.46/pc
Nepia $18.20 60pcs - $0.30/pc

I was strongly recommended Nepia by my colleagues and friends cos it's value for money, soft and absorbent. Will probably use that for day time and Mammy Poko for night.

My niece used about 15-18 pieces of diapers a day when she was an infant.

Any experienced mummy can rem?