(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mei: how long have you been using the egg washing machine? I'm thinking of getting one but the supplier seems to be discontinuing it, worried if it breaks down, how to get replacement for parts etc.

Ava: How many tubes of Desitins did you use up per mth? I nearly bot it at Guardian last nite, but hesitated cos I already bot the Mustela one which is lighter than Desitin, and highly recommended by some moms I bumped into at KiddyPalace last week.

One mom in another thread said she uses Mustela in the day and Desitin at nite cos the latter is creamier, therefore can last thru the nite. Is that true? Guardian is selling Desitin at $12+ I think.

Medela PIS: I'm in the same position as SarahMay. Half-hearted cos not sure if I'd hv enuff BM leh...After all I can always get it at $660 from Cheong Choon when I need it anytime of the year, not just during GSS rite?

Also, I dun foresee I'll BF more than 3 mths beyond my maternity leave. Not sure if it's worthwhile to invest in such an advanced pump when I dun intend to express BM at the workplace. Saw the PIS picture on the website and it looks really complicated!!

Lok: I'm confused. there are two types of Desitin creams at Guardian. One "overnight" one found OTC; and the other locked up with the pharmacist. Which one is the CREAMY one?

Now that u mentioned, I should charge it to my company too. Those dispensary items...

Mei: What is an egg washing machine. If I dun hv one, do I wash bb's clothes separately in a laundry bag?

Ava: My PT maid is coming over to clean up my place this weekend cos she was fully booked the last, so I doubt I can make it to your abode tomorrow. I'll catch up with u all at the next gathering!! Tks for organising

Flos: How to compare the toxicity of washing detergent compared to the non-biodegradable diapers on our earth? I'm not a greenie ...but speaking of ecological impact, I think pt 1 was more abt disposables creating more landfill than cloth nappies.

As for nappy rash, maybe it is up to indv bb?
However, I read article (must find link) on how pthlates seep into bb's gentalia affecting hormones etc thru disposables.

Another thot: If one is convinced abt virtues of cordblood banking, why not also consider the effects of plastics and pthlates etc on our bbs? Just a thot la. Seems like we cannot keep our bbs in a bubble...so I guess we just decide at the end of the day what we are convinced of and live by those convictions.

RU YI OIL: I LOVE this!!! Dunno how vital it is for bbs....but I use it myself esp when my tummy is upset...and even before when I had menstrual cramps. Hehe.

Ava: Can use cetaphil to bath NBs? Yeah! That is great news for me cos I've so many unused bottles of that!!! Bot them for my face but then i stopped using. Hehe.

CLOTH DIAPER COVERS etc: Actually from the reviews I've read online and here, it seems different ppl find diff brands good. The hunt for the best seems like perhaps a hunt for the holy grail. Hehe. maybe we shd get a few different ones tt have the best reviews from users to try? Tt is what my friend did. L'l CY: is that what u did too before 'swearing by' Bumwear?

hihi mummies , been catching up on the posts for the previous two days .. keke ...
Exciting to meet some mummies tomorrow ..
will be gg alone and will not bring my zac along .. cos too troublesome .. keke .. unless MIL wants to follow me ..
Flos , BF at least 6 mths is good for bb if u have supply ..

Flos - dun need to use baby lotion or moisturiser on NB cos they have a layer of natural oil. By using baby lotion/ moisturiser, the natural oil will be wiped out soon. As for Ru Yi You, can apply if baby is not sensitive to it, can test a bit at the back to see if there is a red patch appearing.. If really need to apply lotion, then apply at joints where there are more movements..

Flos
See you next round...BTW Lanolin is also from our JC (same year)..i've known her since that time.

desitin: can't remember how much we used, probably 1 tube would last more than a month tho...Desitin Creamy is OTC also. the name of the pdt is desitin creamy so the word creamy appears on the box. there's one in the pharmacist locker? didnt know that!

yeah u prob dont need the PIS if u are not continuing bf after 3 months...

bbmouse
Just read from wherever and join back in lah...dunneed to follow one. You not coming to my place tomrw?

Lok
You mentioned it was likely u couldnt come so i didn't count you for the headcount. see u next round!

Qiuling
How old is Zac? My maid can help jaga if u want...she's quite good with kids. Adan is also looking forward to meeting new kids
leave it up to you...

LC
I knew there was a reason i was lazy to apply baby lotion
heheh...

Flos,

It looks like this. All the PD clinics carry this. Don't think I have seen it in pharmacies though.
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=10747&catid=19465

Sarahmay,

Agree with u. Every parent will have different beliefs and convictions. Actually, I work in a petrochem company. My sales manager once told me that Pampers is really strict with their quality control. So if mummies are scared of chemicals, go for the better brands (Pampers and Mamy Poko).

<font color="119911">shazz (shazzerlyn) - when do we need to start bothering about toothpaste anyways? Saw u guys mentioned earlier abt ordering toothpaste &amp; creams.

Flos (flos) - on bathing rituals, I have gotten Cetaphil for bathing, then Destin (original &amp; creamy - creamy is the one in purple box i think - it has a higher concentration of zinc oxide but supposedly smells like cod liver oil) for nappy rash prevention/treatment, plus Johnson &amp; Johnson baby lotion (the night version with camomile) for basic moisturizing. My colleague mentioned that Mustela is useful if the baby is prone to exzema. (Actually, if i didn't know better, I would have just use my normal shampoo/shower gel for the baby...so much hassle getting so many variants! I don't even know what Ru Yi oil is, and didn't hear about "fei chai sui" (for colic) until my hubby mentioned it last week! So blur!)

Ava (avalyn) - hey - thanks again for opening up ur place for the gathering tomorrow

DIAPERS: Am planning to get Mamy poko for newborns (3-8kg) - this one has a shape that takes into consideration the umbilical cord still being attached, and Pampers premium</font>

shazz
Actually the egg washing machine was a white elephant. We changed for it with petrol points last time &amp; never gotten round to using it, so we thought we can dig it out to wash the nappies. Hope it still works... hehe.

Flos
The egg washing machine is a small washing machine... looks like this.

1454032.jpg

You do need to wash off the pee &amp; poo first &amp; soak the nappies before sending to the washing machine for wash. You can wash it in your usual washing machine but I decided to keep it separate due to the detergent used.

Bigtoes
My hospital will provide Pampers NB diapers &amp; I'm getting Mamy Poko (also due to the cut-out for umbilical cord) to try. Heard from my friends these two brands are good.

Ava: Who is Lanolin?!! Lanolin: are u on facebook?

I met this other guy last week at some crappy workshop I attended. He's from the same class as Adam Khoo.

Also OIC? the one locked up with the pharmacist read CREAMY. Think it might be the one u r refering to.

SarahMay: OIC, landfills... Nah, I ain't no greenie either!!! I'm not going to persuade all menstruating women not to cause any more harm to Mother Nature by using ancient CLOTH sanitary napkins, in lieu of those we're using now. KEKKEKE! OK, dun puke...I know it's close to lunch time...

LC: ok, no need to use moisturiser. Maybe in cold countries, there is a need to.

SarahMay - thanks for the warm welcome and the comforting words re size of baby. I told hb that I really don't want a 4 kilo baby! HAHAHA...he (a doc) says I'm being paranoid and the weight is ok so... ok lor!

Wingkei - I'm curious - are you from tkgs???

Ava - oh yah. My brains not working well these days. Actually do any of you take gingko biloba supplements?

Names - have you all decided on them yet?

Thanks for info on breastpump. My sister is still pumping for her almost 2 year old and is a strong advocate so I'm a believer. HAHAHA... hopefully the amount of breastmilk one has is genetically linked so I have a high chance to be like her!

fa la la la la - it's great to have a slow week at work for once.

Desitin cream is going at $10 each at TMC pharmacy, promo still going on. This is the blue one, dunno if it's creamier or the zinc content is higher. saw moms grabbing like mad, but apparently there are still ALOT of stock when i was there last Fri!

Bulk purchase price for Desitin is $9 each, alot of mummies are selling their excess purchase in the WTS forum, can take a look. and also the first toothpaste is selling at $8 from BP, can get from those mums if u want. can save $ and help them to offload their stock. =)

Cloth Nappy
My girl has UTI b4, so i hv learnt my lesson to use cloth in the day and disposable ones at nite. at least their private parts get to "breathe"... imagine if u r wearing diapers ALL day long... ~~~sio sio horrr~~~

Lok: Absolutely agree the need to go for the good brands. Pampers is produced by Procter &amp; Gamble, my former client. I marketed their stuffs, so makes sense I use Pampers. Anyway, saw Mama Poko and love the cartoons and the U-shaped lobang that allows the umbilical cord to stick out for the first couple of weeks. Maybe will try out both??!

Mei: CUTE EGG!!! How much was that? And where may I find it?

SarahMay: purple box...that means it's the one locked up inside the pharmacist's cabinet.

Ru Yi oil can be found at Guardian OTC. It's to relieve wind from bb's tum tum when he swallows air whilst sucking on the milk bots.

Fei Chai water is to feed bbs who have poor appetite I think. It is supposed to make them guai guai finish their milk.

bigtoes,
we can starting the toothpaste(must be without floride) once they start to teeth. but frm birth, u need to get soft handkie and a cup of warm water with a little pinch of salt, soak the handkie and dry it abit and clean the whole mouth of your BB, including gums, tongue, and upper part of their mouth.

this will help to get rid of the milk stain n odour, and reduce ulcers which some bb will get after 3 or 4 mths without cleaning their mouth at all. once they hv ulcers, they cant drink milk milk n get V cranky! =(

we use this method on my girl she starts to bite our finger! =P

Flos ... er, I was from S4. I think Avalyn mentioned who you are but I don't think we know each other in school!

Yes, I'm on FB! How to "PM" here huh? I can tell u my name...hahaha..so secretive.

aloevera
I like the way you say 'sio sio horrr'.. so funny! &amp; thanks for the tips on cleaning bb's mouth.. I'm totally clueless!

Flos
I don't know where to purchase the egg washing machine as we changed for it with petrol points last time.

aloevera: Where is TMC pharmacy?

First toothpaste got expiration dates or not? Last time I bulk purchased a lot of Sensodyne toothpastes from the Pharmacy during a sale. Then I realised there was an expiration date on each tube! I had to brush more often than usual to beat the deadline!!

My Mustela creams will expire in 2011 I think.

Diapers
Love MamyPoko..but so darned ex...we'll use at night only. day we'll use Drypers.

Bigtoes
No probs...look fwd to seeing u gals...Lanolin will testify that I have big groups over fairly often...

The Desitin that smells like cod liver oil is the regular one...

Lanolin
click on profile button at top bar, then under preferences, uncheck the "do not send me Private Messages..." box...

Just bought the latest edition of Motherhood magazine, got a couple of ads for the Motherhood fair in June. Luckily its school hols now so I can go down to expo early to avoid the crowd..

My neighbour is using PET PET diapers, says its one of the cheapest. Initially I thought of buying the Bumwear cloth diaper but after much thought think I'm going to use disposables for the first few months.. less hassle.

aloevera (loever) : thanks for answerng bigtoes question on my behalf! I'm actually clueless! haha ... I bought mainly cos baby will need it once he starts teething yah? hehe

who else is on facebook? can add me at [email protected] Please send me a message to tell me who you are, cos I have weird people trying to add me on, probably from the fluff forum! ;p

<font color="119911">aloevera (loever) - okie, thanks for the tip on cleaning the baby's mouth
On destin cream, the one at TMC is cheap - I bought mine at Guardian for about $12.60 or something like that.

DIAPERS
cloud (lovelycloud) - I just went by NTUC near my office to check out diapers with my colleague cos I usually get my groceries from Cold Storage &amp; apparently NTUC is alot cheaper for pampers &amp; milk powder...haha, very auntie. Anyway, pricing for PetPet is $8.10 for 46 pieces at NTUC. However, this is for up to 6kg - abit bigger fit, so maybe can get to use during the day when baby is abit bigger (like 3-4 months?)
Other pricing - Mamy Poko new born $18.14 (52 pieces); Pampers NB $16.20 (36 pieces) - both for up to 5kg.

Facebook - ladies, pls add me in: [email protected]
I will send invites as well... Thanks!</font>

Bigtoes
It's true, stuff at NTUC is much cheaper.. not auntie lah, makes more sense.. I also buy my groceries &amp; necessities from NTUC, I even got the Linkcard ok.. lol.

Hah, yah - usually i don't check prices, just buy whatever....my hubby is worse! But thought I'd better take note, esp since these are essentials which we keep needing to get, so the savings would add up! Like I realised that the Infamama I got from Cold Storage was $28+, but selling at NTUC for $22.80! So much difference.

bigtoes,

I'm using petpet for my son now that he's older. I don't even bother with diaper cream nowadays. Petpet's cutting is indeed bigger.

So to all mummies, don't stock up on diapers until you have tried the cutting (sometimes can ask for samples via company website or at the supermart). Different brands have different cuts and also depends on your bb's bodyshape (thigh size, butt size etc)

cloth diapering
okok i must qualify maybe it depends on your bb's skin and genes lah. my son has terrible genes to begin with. both me and hb has eczema and we now our son will get it 100% (according to research). so we are very careful with the possiblity of rashes. my nephew on my hb's side used disposables and lived with diaper rash all his diaper years, so bad he has used steroid cream all the while...

bfg
will have supply one lah. just latch latch latch. sling the bb when you go around the house and latch whenever he demands. your milk ss sure a lot one!!!!

Sorry to interrupt. I have the following for sale. So please pm me at [email protected] if interested.

(1) Bath Tub with anti-slip support
(opened but not used)
- Didn't use it as I have 2 other bath tubs at home.
- Bought it 2 months ago at John Little for $29.90. Letting go at $15 (neg)

(2) Swaddle Blanket
(washed but not used)
- This is very good to wrap your baby so they can sleep in secure. Didn't use it as I over bought.
- Bought it at $23.90 from Isetan. Letting go at 2 for $30.

cloth diapers
agree with what sarahmay &amp; the others have mentioned, plus i'm the pleasant girl type so i have no issue with laundering them without a maid. the other v impt thing is that it should also work out cheaper cos i intend to reuse them for no 2 also. hopefully, they'll last that long. mind isn't completely made up but i'm definitely going to check them out next wk.

Flos,

the pharmacy is located near the delifrance outlet in TMC, just after the flight of steps, u wont miss it! =)

yes! wet wipes, toothpaste and diaper cream all will hv expiry dates.

you are all welcome for the mouth-cleaning tip, coz i realise alot of my frenz dunno abt this cleaning method and they always shared with me tat their BB start to reject milk after first few mths...

i even have a mom who did not clean her daughter's mouth for 3yrs!!! aiyo... still complained to me abt her smelly mouth! @___@

i'm also going to use cetaphil to bathe the bb. been using it myself for several years and am quite pleased with it. don't think i'll be using moisturiser either, cos i don't want bb to be hot and sticky or get any sort of heat rash. those things are so nasty. would like to skip powder also since it's likely to clog the pores – what do you think?

Cetaphil,
i hv sensitive skin, but i still find cetaphil dry... =(

BATH GEL
i bought Sebamed for my girl, but after 1yr, she developed allergy for potato, and i cant continue Sebamed anymore. now i hv found another brand which is beta than Sebamed... it's called Esemtam wash lotion. i strongly recommend this product from personal experience!

this is how it looks like:
http://www.allercare.com.sg/products/skin_care.htm

i usually buy the twin pack from watsons for $30, b4 i hv the 5% rebate from POSB everyday card. single pack is abt $18.50..

aloevera
threee yearsss....eeeuuuu!

Bigtoes
Different Cold Storages have different pricing too I think...I believe the CS in those posher areas do mark up their prices.

<font color="119911">xuanting (xuanting) - better not to use powder, thou i am sure the older generations swear by baby powder. My colleague mentioned that her MIL used to douse her son with Johnsons &amp; Johnson baby powder after each nappy change - only ended up exacerbating his asthma! Thats why for our case, i intend to either use nothing after the nappy change, or just apply a thin layer of Destin. Have to remind my MIL on stuff like these (and like not giving the NB water)when we pass the baby over to her after my maternity.

Ava (avalyn) - yah, i guess so! I remembered once this lady in front of me bought some onions (like 3 mid-sized organic ones) for $18 or something from Cold Storage Gourmet!Jason's is even more expensive...</font>

Baby powder

My MIL loves using powder after baby bathe and each diapers changed. She say baby smells nicer.. Didn't know will lead to asthma.. OMG! I can't be telling her you don't use powder..

Baby powder
we can use baby powder but dun dust it all over the face n body la... will cause difficulties in breathing, esp for NB.

correct method:
use our thumb n index finger to pinch the powder and rub it round bb's neck so tat their sweat wont be pricking for them. no need to use powder on their private part pls... diaper is bad enuff, dun "suffocate" further...

thanks, bigtoes. my mom is convinced that it gives babies the cradle cap too. i generally just don't like any sticky or cakey feeling, esp not in our kind of weather.