(2008/09) Sep 2008

sunrays: OK, here's a note abt H&M clothes. The largest size is only up to 18mths and it's amazingly petite (for a Swedish brand), as my hb had told me. He suspects they'll go to waste in 6 mths' time!

thanks for your info abt the emergency exit. I forgot preggers cannot lift the door handle in an emergency situation
*FINGERS CROSSED though*

Another person who kept flying was Shazz right?

Aromatherapy Guide

Essential oils are extracted from plants. They have a soothing effect on the mind and body because of its relaxing or energizing properties. However because of its chemical content some oils should be totally avoided and those which can be used during pregnancy must be mixed with a carrier oil or water in the correct proportion. Avoid essential oils in the first 3 months of pregnancy. Do a patch test on your arm to check for skin reactions. If you have any doubts consult a qualified aromatherapist.

Essential oils to Use

• After the first trimester citrus oils in a burner to uplift moods and for rejuvenation

• From week 24 chamomile oil for relaxation and insomnia

• From week 28 lavender oil for relaxation and insomnia

• In the final weeks neroli oil for insomnia and tension

• Mix 5 drops of essential oil with 25 ml of carrier oil such as jojoba or almond oil

Essentials oils to Avoid

• During pregnancy avoid cajuput, cinnamon leaf, clary sage, fennel, jasmine, lavender to name a few

• Before 28 weeks, myrrh, rosemary, sweet marjoram

• If you have high BP rosemary and thyme

• If you have allergy, asthma or eczema wheatgerm or nut oils

koras
same case for me too..bb can be moving and kicking alot but the moment hb put his hand on tummy, she'll stop,haha!! So far think he only managed to feel her less than 5 times..

storeberry/bbmouse
i am so tempted to get the gal clothes frm jshoppers cos they're irresistable! But I really really bot ALOT of stuff for bb liao.. I'm going broke soon!! I ordered the organiser frm jshoppers but havnt receive it yet...abit ex but i can't find a similar one in SG so far..
1405848.jpg

Sunrays, this organiser looks very useful. Saw it on the website but didn't take a close look. How much is this? It looks foldable and can be carried around. Is that so?

bbmouse, hehe.. ya must ask hubby to be more patient and put his hands on my tummy longer.

storeberry & bbmouse, i'm also planning to order some stuffs from jshoppers. can check with u if you had ordered size 70 for bb clothes? i saw frm the size chart is for 6mths, wondering if the size is really for 6mths or younger cos i see their smallest size is 70?

sunrays, the car organiser looks good. are they still selling in jshoppers? i don't think i saw it on their website.

bbmouse

can zip up to a bag..can hang on stroller too. I've been eyeing it for some time liao then went to look around but can't find similar one. The ones I saw less compartments and pretty ex too, the brand Munchkins i saw at robinsons..selling for $59.90. This organiser i ordered is abt SGD42 i think..

Jessi: For jshopper, as a guide, 70 means the body length of the baby in cm. The month is only an indication. Singapore babies are born between 48cm - 55cm.

Just to add on to the list that aloevera posted:

Oils to avoid during pregnancy include:
Basil, Cedar Wood, Cinnamon, Clary sage (during labor), Clove, Cypress
(after 5 months), Fennel, Hyssop, Jasmine (during labor), Juniper,
Lemongrass, Myrrh, Parsley and Pennyroyal

OILS RECOMMENDED DURING PREGNANCY
The following oils will be comfortable for using during pregnancy. As
always, use caution if you have allergies or a family history of allergies.
If you feel you may be allergic to oil, do a patch test first. Good oils for
pregnancy include:

Bergamot, Chamomile, Cypress (after 5 mos.), Eucalyptus, Frankincense,
Geranium (avoid in early pregnancy), Grapefruit, Lavender. Lemon, Mandarin,
Neroli, Patchouli, Petitgrain, Rosewood, Sandalwood and Tangerine
If you are currently pregnant and have been using any of the essential oils
that need to be avoided, but are not experiencing any bleeding or cramping,
then there most likely is nothing wrong. However, it is strongly encouraged
you to consult your doctor or midwife and discontinue use of the "to be
avoided" essential oils.

Aromatherapy Benefits for Pregnancy
Listed below are some of the benefits and therapeutic effects of the
essential oils recommended for use during pregnancy:

Bergamot: Analgesic, antiseptic, antidepressant, uplifting, and refreshing.
Helpful for cystitis during pregnancy.

Chamomile: Antiseptic, analgesic, anti-inflammatory and antispasmodic.
Soothes pain from muscular aches, headaches, toothaches and Indigestion.

Cypress (ok after 5 mos.) Antiseptic, antispasmodic, astringent and
diuretic. Helpful for Varicose veins, hemorrhoids and swollen ankles.

Eucalyptus: Antiseptic, antibiotic, analgesic, anti-inflammatory, antiviral.
Helpful with respiratory congestion.

Frankincense: Antiseptic, astringent, sedative, warming

Geranium (ok after 3 mos.) Antiseptic, antidepressant, astringent,
refreshing, uplifting. Eases aching legs and is good for poor circulation.

Grapefruit: Astringent, digestive aid, lymphatic stimulant. Helps with Water
retention.

Lavender: Antiseptic, antibiotic, analgesic, antidepressant, healing,
Relaxing. Helps soothe aches and pains of pregnancy, encourages cell renewal
and helps with fluid retention.

Lemon: Antiseptic, antibacterial, antifungal, astringent, stimulant, Tonic.
Useful as an inhalant for morning sickness and in Massage for varicose
veins.

Mandarin: Antiseptic, refreshing, tonic, mild relaxant. Can ease fluid
retention in leg and ankle massages.

Neroli: Antiseptic, antidepressant, antispasmodic, anti-inflammatory,
Relaxing. Useful in pregnancy to promote healthy skin cell Regeneration and
for easing nervous tension.

Patchouli: Antiseptic, antidepressant, anti-inflammatory, nerve sedative.
Eases confusion, indecision and apathy.

Petitgrain: Antiseptic, antidepressant, sedative, refreshing, tonic. Helpful
in dealing with pre or postpartum depression.

Rosewood: Antiseptic, sedative

Sandalwood: Antiseptic, anti-inflammatory, antidepressant, sedative. Helpful
for cystitis during pregnancy.

Tangerine: Antispasmodic, lymphatic stimulant, calming, sedative. Helps to
prevent stretch marks.

Tea Tree: Antibiotic, antiseptic, antifungal, antiviral, disinfectant. Can
be used to treat thrush during pregnancy.

Ylang Ylang: Antiseptic, antidepressant, aphrodisiac, sedative, lowers blood
Pressure. Restorative when overworked or tense.

Find more great aromatherapy information at
http://www.essentialaromatherapy.co.uk

jessi
i just went to jshoppers website..think it's out of stock alrdy cos i dun see it too. I juz ordered it on 1st may..It's called 3-Way Baby Bag and the item code is S99702. If you're really keen can email them to check.

so in short, the Clarins Tonic Body Treatment Oil is safe for use after 5 mths. Flos can continue to use in peace! I love the oil too after I tried the samples, but I got so 2 more tubes of Elancyl stretchmark cream, 1 tube from Decleor and 1 bottle of stretchmark oil I got from Israel. So I think those will last me till I pop!

bbmouse, thanks for the explanation on the sizing. so i guess i can order size 70 but bb most probably can only wear it a few months later. hehehe..

sunrays, yup i think it's out of stock cos i'm not able to search for the item code no. already.

sunrays: i'm changing to SQ after checking with my hb's HR. They allow me to take any airlines, so why not take the most reputable one? hehe...

Jasmine Yeo (jasyeo80) - the car seat is $599. So far, the only place I have seen that stocks Britax Meridian in Spore is Baby Kingdom at Kaki Bukit, thou that is in grey, not black. The other option is Britax Royale which is more popular. Think Robinson has that....

Shazz: speak of the devil, u appeared!

"2 more tubes of Elancyl stretchmark cream, 1 tube from Decleor and 1 bottle of stretchmark oil I got from Israel."

How about StriVectin? I used to buy that at CK Tangs for my face. It works wonders on my face. Stretch mark cream too.

Flos

Tat's good to hear!! Take SQ better lah, at least got inflt entertainment..otherwise so boring!! The flt timings for SIN-PVG-SIN also quite varied.. u can have more choices.

I just visited the jshoppers website. They dun have nursery bedding sets? I am trying to find nice bedding sets. Found this website that sells gorgeous tasteful bedding sets, but not sure if it's reliable.

http://www.babymania.com/

Mei: I know, I also have Lumedia. Both will expire after my BF routine...I'm throwing them all away.

Sunrays: Yes, I forgot it's a free ticket. But I'm taking the morning flt out and the afternoon flt home cos, as spoken, got events before and after the trip.

Flos (flos) - yes! The beddings are pretty & so many options, depending on the themes
Wish we had stuff like that in Spore! Would be expensive to ship to Spore thou, cos the bedding set are all very bulky & shipping charges (based on volume) would be phenomenal!

Yeah, I know...looking at those bedding sets and wallpapers, I feel so motherly all of a sudden...But you know, they dun ship internationally unlike jshoppers.com, which is what I just found out.

Sigh...WHO IS GOING TO USA?!!!

Can I join the Sept thread? Have been a silent reader ever since i knew about my pregnacy. I'm now at 20weeks and 4 days and I'm expecting a baby princess

Shazz: Wow, hotel hopping is interesting also!! Keke.. I just spend a night at Holiday Inn Atrium cos my wedding was held there last yr so gotten a suite there. Had a relax time with hubby & went to eat buffet at night!

Hi Grace Toh: Welcome, enjoy your stay here!

Jshoppers:

Sunrays: The organisers look cool! I was thinking whther to get the diaper bag organiser (to be put inside normal bag one) then I can still use my normal bag.. Anyone buying that? I think its $28++..

I bought my bb's tops bigger size, I think one one-yr old or something like that. Didn't buy the rompers cos the boys' one not so nice.

Thinking of buying from babymallonline, bbmouse will you be orgainising anytime soon? Kekeke :p

Flos: StriVectin stuff very exp leh. I dun normally spurlge on skincare and stuff. Am very happy with the vege extract that Elancyl use for their stretchmark cream, doesn't leave a layer like the Clarins Tonic Oil. But I'm a sucker for nice scent, especially geranium. Did the research, it's safe for us to use the tonic oil. =)

storeberry: yes it's pretty fun to hotel hopping. We chose hotels at the higher end cos we don't want to be mistaken as a horny couple who're out for a hot time! lol

Baby Cot + Bedding
I received a hand me down baby cot but the size is rather small, I think my niece outgrew it within 3 mths cos she kept bumping into the side railing. So now I'm thinking if we should buy a bigger cot or just make do with the one that was passed on. Problem is, bed sheets and bumper sets are so expensive! It'll be such a waste to buy 2 sets and use them only for 3 mths yah?

What do you mummies think?

Hi Shazz: I just came bk from Harbourfront Mothercare. They hv limited bedding sets there, and they also cost quite a lot compared to Kiddy Palace...Of course, Mothercare designs are nicer.

mico: but that babymania is really too high-end liao.

Does anyone know where I can get nice bedding sets in Singapore? Maybe I should quit my job and import nice nursery bedding sets to SG.

StriVectin is cheaper at the airport DFS. I am a member of e-space (formerly known as Escentials) at Tangs so it's a bit-bit cheaper, esp if u hv Citibank card. In all honesty, it's quite an amazing facial cream! My stretch marks on my buttocks became less obvious. You need to apply quite a lot. It also made my face very smooth...We mustn't use this during pregnancy though

Btw, DO NOT BUY LUMEDIA, after your pregnancy. Lousy cream...only gives u a rosy glow.

Grace Toh: welcome and pls proceed to the Sept counter and register your particulars with Lim xuanmommy!! hahah! *joking*

completed my detailed scan today. all looks good and doc said i'm having a girl. have an anterior, low placenta though. anyone else have/had it?

eh flos, rosy glow not bad what. how come not good?

congrats! another princess! =) I think cloud has low placenta too.

Not to worry about low placenta, cos at 5 mths it's still too early to be a cause for concern. Perhaps have to take care when having intercourse, no strenous excercise as well.

Hi Shazz
I think u shld take note tt u posted Cypress (after 5 mos.), in oils to avoid and recommended...so is it recommended or to be avoided??

sunrays, yupz i ordered some tshirts from cafepress but they haven't arrived yet, i'm a bit worried that its gotten lost. when i do receive it, i'll let you know about the quality.

cloud, i've ordered from cafepress before too, and my items didn't arrive even 3wks after the estimated date of arrival so i dropped them a note, and they very kindly re-sent everything at no cost. the second delivery arrived on time. how long have your items been overdue?

xuanting
congrats on yr princess!
Hmm... if not wrong yr edd same as me 24 sept
which hosp u chosing? we might see each other too! our girls can be good friends... keke

thanks, mrs yap, i'll be delivering at tmc. have you decided between tmc and mt a? i was a little lost when i found out that i'll be having a girl cos my tcm doc kept telling me it is v likely a boy so i'd been thinking "heng ah, boy don't need to dress up or match accessories" and i can continue to be sloppy also. but this afternoon, after the detailed scan, i was suddenly seized with the desire to be a pretty mama, so that my girl won't be looking at me and thinking, "why my mommy so suaku and tak-glam one?" suddenly wanted to buy lots of clothes and shoes for myself. crazy right. :p

thanks, shazz.
eh, should be "horny, PREGNANT couple who're out for a hot time!" i can almost imagine the kaypo recepts at the budget hotels giggling and nudging one another as you & hubby turn to go up to your room, if you'd gone to one of them. :p

mico (prickyone): I got this Ocean Wonders™ Mobile with remote control during the recent Mattel sale but its over already. I got it for $30.

Xuanting: Congrats on your princess!!!

Shazz: You are so funny!! Horny couple with pregnant wife? Kekek..

flos, the bedding sets from babymania website looks very nice but will be very expensive to ship to sg.

storeberry, i'm also very tempted to order some stuffs from babymallonline website. their sales items are quite cheap ya.

xuanting, congrats on having a princess! i'm also having low placenta. did your gynae advise you anything about it?

JJParents (jjparents) : cypress is ok to use after 5 mths of pregnancy. =)

xuanting (xuanting) : thankfully, hubby got the concierge to surprise me with a bouquet of flowers cos it was my birthday, so the whole hotel staff at St Regis knows it's my birthday and everywhere I go, they wished me! I was totally overwhelmed by the attention!

thanks, storeberry and jessi.

jessi, my doc only told me to be careful about exercising. prenatal yoga she said is okay. i hear that 95% of low placentas eventually move up so i'm keeping my fingers crossed. mine isn't a complete placenta praevia. how about yours? other things i've just read about include to avoid squatting, carrying heavy things and walking too fast/much.

shazz, your hubby is so sweeeet!!!! happy belated burp-day! hope you had some fabulous meals that day too!

storeberry, too bad i missed the mattel sale. see u ladies get so many things for urself but i have yet to get any yet. My hubby still thinks it's too early to get things.

shazz: ur hubby so nice! St Regis & flowers.. wow..

shazz: i think lots of babies end up sleeping on parents' bed or sarong...
maybe u shldn't buy first. see if your baby will like to sleep in cot before investing in new one.

xuanting
I will be going to Mt A

haha.. u are not alone..
previously when i thot i was having a boy, i didnt have intention to buy lots of clothes or soft toys for him...
The moment i realised its a girl, many many thots came to my mind. I wanted to look glam for my girl too... seriously i dunno if others who are expecting girls will feel this way or not. Somemore straight away after the scan, i drag my Hb to buy clothes for bb girl liao. Then i begin to search online for nice little bibs for my girl. Been looking around to see if i can get any Melody soft toys for her too.
Hey ladies, if u all happen to see MY MELODY soft toys, no matter its big or small, authentic or cheong one, in shopping centre or Pasar malam, pls let me know ok??? Cos i heard its difficult to find.

shazz
I do overnight hotel stays with my hubby too to celebrate anniversaries & birthdays if we are unable to go away for a holiday, just staying in a hotel already feels like a mini vacation.
You should try Scarlet Hotel.. it's a small boutique hotel.. I love the decor! Our favourite is also Sentosa. St Regis.. must be expensive?

jessi
When I went for my DS, it was also highlighted to me that my placenta is low but I can still continue with my activities. Don't worry too much about it so long as it's not placenta previa. This is rather common & will move up as the pregnancy progresses.

Flos
This is a local company.

http://www.cradlenall.com/cradle/content/index.php