(2008/09) Sep 2008

Cloud: Thanks for the tip for the Pigeon steriliser~! $88 is a good deal right? But do I need to buy a separate food warmer if I intend to freeze my breast milk?

Thanks Lok for the steriliser info!

Sasa & Cloud: I love care bear when I was young!!

Mrs Yap: Think Xiao Yappie really shy!! Always closing her legs!! Did you talk to bb before the scan?

storeberry,

No prob. Some pple end up buying 2, depending on who is the caregiver. E.g. they will leave 1 with the mum or MIL if they are looking after the bb. The other one, of cos, keep at own home.

U mean milk warmer (rather than food warmer) right? There is no real need to buy it. You can always use the primitive method to warm up with hot water. But it is more convenient for me (cos I was taking care of bb alone and no time to keep changing the hot water. Plus when bb is hungry, they can't wait!!!)

storeberry
me very jialat
i always forgot to physco baby before scan
no wonder always dun cooperate
i only briefly "talk" to my baby when i am crossing the bridge towards my gynae's clinic... So noisy i think bb also cannot hear lor.
Think i lack "Tai Jiao"
But i have been listening to Sunday school songs and Mozart. My frd told me to avoid Beethoven cos bb might turn out to be moody like him.. keke

thanks xuanting! but i can feel the pain is abit lesser liao, dunno if i'm too sensitive or wat..

alrite, byebye for today! i'm off now. take care all mtbs and mummies!

http://www.babycenter.ca/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/naturalremedies/stretchmarks/

BELLY BANDS:
Can be worn under pre-preg tees and pants to cover-up belly. Offers some support to weight of tummy...but apparently not much.
Anyone interested is welcomed to join in the Bulk purchase (BP) spree....however, right now I'm reconsidering whether to buy or not. Shazz says she doesn't find it useful..but my other friend who gave birth recently says it is a must-buy. So...dunno yet. Hehe.

BACKACHE: Aiyo...mine hurts too. I use this heat pack that I find quite soothing. Not sure if we can use creams like counterpain though.

hi gals, im having backaches too when i sit too long in ofc.. besides walking to the ladies n back, still ache leh.. duno wat to do so juz use my fist n rub my back lightly..

sarahMay - maybe when i go for my check up this month i go ask my gynae what can we apply to lesser the ache. when i bath i use warm water on the area i feel pain shiok sia.. but for that period of time only

did not post for a while cos had a mini getaway with hubby and was not feeling too well the last 2 days.

I have backache as well and my gynae said it's best not to apply anything. Just have to take precautions like avoid sitting too long at one go, get up and stretch and walk around. Sleeping on sides with legs curled up also helps to alleviate backache.

I asked my massage lady about pre-natal massage and about the backaches, and she told me not to waste money on prenatal massage unless I have very serious water retention or backache. For the latter, she can't use too much strength, but merely glide pass the area, so instead of me feeling shiok, I'll feel frustrated cos that area is not "well massaged".

Those who are not wearing flats, may consider wearing them if you're having backache.

hope the above helps!

Lok: Yes, I meant milk warmer, so actually the primitive method is faster? Cos I don't know if it will warm the milk equally, how do you measure the temp? Sorry, 1st timer so many questions..

Take care aloevera!

Mrs Yap: Must put reminder the next time you go & see your gynae! :p Cos pregnant women memeory not so good...

hi storeberry,
i used the tradition method of warming up milk previously too. it works rather well when milk is not kept in fridge. if it has been kept in fridge or freezer, you will need to change water a couple of times before it warms up to the desired temp. so this time round, i went to buy the avent iq milk warmer. save the hassle. plus there are different modes for milk at room temp, fridge temp and freezer temp.

backache:
same here. my slipped disc is coming back with a vengence... sends spasm like feelings to the back and also sharp pains at the most unexpected times. soon i'll have to go on bedrest i think...

hi all, seems like quite a few of us are getting backaches. I guess the best is not to sit around too much and walk around a bit. I think exercise does help. Used to have frequent backaches years ago. Subsequently started to exercise occasionally. Once i become lazy and stop my exercise, my backaches come back again.
Good for us preggies to go for walks & swims so that we can have less backaches & smooth delivery.

bigtoes..thanks for sharing your experience on the oral glucose test...What you described din sound as horrible as what I read over the internet. =)

I am 5 mths preg thro' IVF. Also suffering from terrible backaches.........some nights need to wake up in middle of night to walk around a bit b4 going back to sleep again...........Dr forbid me taking pain-killer tablets or pain-plasters!

Anyone here taking Fish oil supplement? What is the different between Dhaxtra and Natal Care Fish Oil and Neurogain? Dr told me the same thing........but cost vastly different? pls help.....this is important cos for baby's brain development!!I dont want gynea choose what brand based on his profit!!

LC: Glad to hear your cough has improved! My throat acting up again. Yikes! Downing my manuka honey again.

Aloevera: I really think you should still go see a GP and check out what’s wrong. There are still medications that are safe. It is worse for a condition to drag on. Even if you choose not to take medication, still worthwhile getting a professional look you over.

Bigtoes: You dreamt while on GA? Wow! I had a real peaceful sleep the last time I was under GA. What did you dream about?

Bb gender: How come at Wk 18 also can scan wrongly? I hope my bb stays a BOY after trow’s DS! Hehe…cos got the name all ready, and have been calling him by name.

Mrs Yap: Hehe. Maybe your bb is just really shy. Beethoven is ok…not all songs are suitable la. Just like Mozart not all are suitable. Actually Beethoven has some really nice ones like Symphony No. 9. Got Beethoven for babies also. You can try Handel Water Music too.

Koras: Do you sleep on your back or side? Sleeping on sides help alleviate pain.

Alabone: Ouch! Hope your slipped disc doesn’t come back to haunt you!

L’l CY: Aiyo…I think I’m also a bit kiasu too cos I went to start reading quite a bit on bb development and wanted to even buy the prenatal kits and all. But have to tell myself to take it easy. I think your son is v bright cos you are such a dedicated mummy…sure give him all the best experiences and exposure! Also, what did you buy for him tt u can't spend anymore?

RX Mom: You are v right about car seats. I’m with you on this one….but where I’m going to live ,…they don’t have seatbelts on cabs and we can’t buy a car. So…I guess just have to pray for protection each time we take bb out. We will have no choice but to carry bb on the back seat if we do take him out.
Flos: Aprica is a very established brand. Seen it around since I was a kid. Hehe. It is also not that cheap. THo not sure abt prince range. You can try Quinny if you’re looking for a travel sys. It looks quite stylo as well. See a lot of Ang Mo parents using them.

Welcome Mico & Peggie!

DHA Oil supplement: The main thing you can look at is the DHA oil content concentration of each of the brands. Also, the concentration of DHA oil for preggers should be much higher than the EPA Oil content. Hence, not all brands of Fish oil marketed outside might fulfil this requirement. However, there have been some forumers who have shared that their gynaes okayed their choice of purchasing DHA oil supplements from independent pharmacies and labels like Unity and Usana. I can’t quite help you with the brands you mentioned. I’m taking Natal Care Fish Oil cos my gynae carries it. Too lazy to go hunt and double-check with gynae cos I bought once from Nature’s Farm and was told by doc that EPA content was too high, whereas the shop told me was ok.

Brain Development & DHA supplements: Well, there is still no exact medical research that states that DHA oil supplements are vital and necessary during preg to boost brain devt, unlike folic acid. If you take fish everyday already, it shd be sufficient. Fish shd also be the oily type. Also, brain devt doesn’t stop after birth. The majority of your bb’s brain will be developing in the first two to three years of his/her life.

LINKS on BRAIN DEVT: Here are some links on the topic of bb brain devt.

http://www.zerotothree.org/site/PageServer?pagename=key_brain&JServSessionIdr007=7b5qs3hjy2.app13b
http://www.nccic.org/poptopics/brain.html : links to several interesting informative sites

BOOK FROM NLB:
I borrowed this interesting and informative book on raising babies. You can borrow it. Talks abt bb brain devt and needs for the first 3 years. RAISING BABIES by STEVE BIDDULPH

long time no "see"...
I've been coughing for more than a month liao...with lots of phlegm...
cough is so bad that i'm seeing a chest specialist for a check-up this afternoon.

I'm very anxious to know bb's gender too...as i've 2 boys already..really hope that bb3 is a girl. Detail scan on 16/5...still a long time to go...

sarahmay
you staying in macau for good?or where else?

haha..my son is just normal. im just one kanjeong mum.

btw ,are you the one using babyplus?what other prenatal kits?

just spent $700plus buying some books from nat geo series (maths and literacy), sunshine books, and jolly phonics...must curb spending already.Nat geo has got really god stuff, pity their things are so ex.

preggie
cannot even take panadol? thought that is at last safe in pregnancy??you try some light exercises to alleviate the pain?

alabone
better dun joke ah. REST NOW instead of having to bed rest for the later part of your life ok...(choychoychoy though)...

traz
hahah...so you waititng for a girl too? so late havent seen gender maybe is really a girl hor, im oso waiting.

Hi Traz! Welcome back! I hope your check-up this afternoon will give you the all clear! You can't catch a glimpse of bb's gender yet? When is your EDD?

L'l CY: Yup...going to be staying macau for good - or at least these next 2 years. But shuttling between SG and Macau for now until I hit Wk 32 and can't travel. Heading back to SG this evening actually. My DS is at TMC trow! Then coming back to MO next wk.
I didn't buy babyplus. I think Bigtoes uses it. I decided against prenatal kits after doing my research and reflection. Do you use any of them? I construct my own prenatal programme consisting of talking, singing, listening to music, reading, praying... erm, concert, performing arts attendances coming up soon too.I'm thinking of restarting my own dance programme...since I just read yday tt still can dance. Hehe.

SUNSHINE BOOKS & JOLLY PHONICS: Are they still the best in the market? They have been around for a long time. They cost q a bit right? Where did you buy them from? Wow! You spent q a bit, did they give you discount? But it is ALL worth it! Cos you can use it for all your kids.

<font color="119911">mico (prickyone) - welcome. The GTT test is alrite. Just need to take 3 vials of blood!

On backaches - I haven't experienced it yet, so I guess walking has been helping. Try not to sit in one position for too long, &amp; walk as much as ur body allows u to. Like I make it a point to climb all the stairs at the MRT stations &amp; intend to do so as long as I can...seemed to have helped so far.

peggie (1st_peg) - I have been taking 100% pure fish oil since I found out i was preggers. Am using Kordel (u can get this from Robinsons). This is in yellow smooth capsules. Have shown this to my gyne earlier, &amp; she has approved it.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - yes! Remembered by dreams being ultra colorful during GA! No particular topic, but it was more just psychedelic patterns/shapes (this Austin Powers &amp; 1970s color).

l'l CY (lilboymum) - I am the one on BabyPlus. Not sure if any other MTBs here are using it? Unlike SarahMay, I am a much lazier MTB - not talking/singing/reading to my baby cos it seems kinda weird talking to 'myself'

Hi ladies...
Just wanna check...
Since now majority of us have done the Detailed Scan, wat other tests or screening we will be going thru in the next few months? My doc didnt advise other tests except for a gender re-scan next mth.
Think we have a gone a long way...
From NTscan -->Oscar -->Triple Test-->Detailed scan --> ???

Hmm, backaches. I dun hv it... *TOUCH WOOD*

I do get migraines and find it find to wake up in the morning.

Welcome mico, peggie and traz (never chatted with u before!)!!!

FISH OIL: I'm taking Neurogain.

I agree that Beethoven's songs are not all that 'Pathetique' and melancholic. Mozart has many minor tunes that are equally solemn and dark-sounding!!

Big Toes: I find it really hard to sleep on my left side thru out the nite. Tend to switch positions midway

Shazz: you sure hv wanderlust! How come u r always travelling?!

I hope to travel somewhere too, but wonder if I can tahan the 5-hour flight to SHanghai.

Sarahmay: U r lucky that Macau is only 3h45min from SG and the car ride to your apartment is no more than 30min. Shanghai Pudong airport is soooooo far from where I live--downtown Puxi (inner-most ring). I'm sick of working. Wanna take a holiday!

My DS is on Fri. I hope no surprises on the gender as well...

Bigtoes: So weird....a bit like tripping on drugs! hehe

Flos: Car ride to my apt in Macau is like er less than 5 mins i think. Hahah. In sg, abt 10 mins. So i'm glad at least can see hubby. Why don't u just go for a holiday? I think 5 hours is ok.

Shazz: Where are u going now?

I checking if I still hv spouse ticket with hb's HR now. If yes, I dun mind
Did u get backache whilst travelling on the plane?

Hello.. been busy lately.. so no time to pop in to chit chat.. hope everyone is doing fine.

I went for my 3rd antenatal class yesterday.. the topic was on labour... &amp; we did some relaxation &amp; massage during the class.. it was nice to see all the hubbies in class massaging the wives, a refreshing change.. lol.

I also signed up for aquafitness class at KKH.. it should be pretty fun.

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - think i am getting the hang of sleeping on the left...thou i'm not sure how many hours I actually last in that position!

SarahMay (sarahmay) - hah, going under GA is like tripping on drugs. Some people end up with bad nausea after they wake up thou!

BUTTON FRONT JAMMIES
Mtbs - where can we get decent looking button front pyjamas? I know we need a couple for the hospital stay, so that it is easier to BF, and not too transparent for when visitors come by...I have been on the look out, but the button front types usually have cartoon characters!</font>

Flos: DIdn't get backache from travelling...sitting and typing at computer only., Hehe. Plus tt time I got entire row to myself cos the ticketing staff was nice and blocked out whole row for me. Got to stretch and sleep. My hubby's HR company a bit hopeless...supposed to have my relocation plus home visit ticket ...but still nothing. So paying out of own pocket...cos figured this kind of money worth spending. Need to be w hubby.

Mei: Hello! How much is the aquafitness? If not delivering at KKH, can also go? Where can I find out more info and sign up?

Big Toes: Buton front Jammies. have u tried Women's Secret and La Senza? I wear both brands.

Not sure if Gap Singapore has, but they do in the US. Marks N Spencer has but very expensive.

SarahMay: I do get tired sitting in the office so I move around to the toilet and pantry. Occasionally sneak downstairs to grab a cuppa tea or bag of fruits.

You got the entire row blocked out for u?! In that case, you dun need any spouse ticket lah! I am taking non-budget airlines and flights to SH are invariably full. I dun expect such privileged treatment

What happens if your hubby don't approve of you taking LOA? I am so tempted to take LOA after my 3 months of maternity leave but my husband don't approve at all. I thought leaving my baby to go back to work when she is only 3 months old is not so good... And I also don't know if I can trust my mother-in-law to take good care of my baby.
Isn't it good that a mother wants to take care of her baby herself?

Mummies - I have very bad nightmares, such as killings, chopping of bodies etc.. I also dun know why I am having such dreams. I dun watch horror movies or tv programs, except for the doctor HK show that is on Channel U 10pm.. anyway to avoid such dreams?

Mrs Yap - Mine scan is a mth later after my DS.. Gynae din say have to go for extra scan.. I asked abt Glucose scan and she say not necessary cos I have no family history of diabeties.. but I understand some gynae still make preggies to go thr such scan..

Flos - I have same prob with you, tying to sleep on my left side, ended up these two nights din sleep well.. I just have scheduled for my dental, have to go for general cleaning..I am taking nerogain too but will switch to Natal care Fish oil when I finished my nerogain..

SarahMay - I have been coughing for coming to three weeks liao, still not really going off completely.. just bot another bottleof Manuka honey UMF 20+.. Actually wan to check with you whether drink too muchof Manuka will it harm BB? I took abt twice a day, before 6pm.. wat do you think?

LC
aiyo yr dream so scary...
during my 4mth pregnancy i also had weird nightmares... but i sort of come out of that phase already. I dun think there is anyway to avoid a dream... but i think jus dun let the dream affect u too myuch... jus wake up n treat like nothing happened lor... anyway dreams are not true.

Flos, Bigtoes
i am more comfortable sleeping on my right instead of left.

Mrs. Yap - I din let the dreams affect me, actually.. just feel strange how come I have such horrible dreams.. and it makes me wake up in the middle of night and the quality of sleep is not good..

LC: Yah man, your dream super scary!!! BUt then again pregnant women have all kinds of weird dreams!

Shazz: You going on holidays again??!! Don't make me so envious... kekeke..

Sarahmay: Welcome back!!! I was nervous during DS, cos I was afraid that my mickey become minnie... :p

LC: Eeewe, your dreams are quite bad it seems to me...hv u tried drinking a glass of warm milk before sleeping? How about avoiding tea and brands chicken essence?

Daily, I reach home at 8+pm. I'd rest a while on the sofa by watching light-hearted Taiwanese/HK entertainment programs on TV. Once the heater is ready, I shower. After my shower, I'd pamper myself by rubbing in Clarins Body treatment tonic oil (gosh! I can't stop praising this oil, can i?!) onto my damp skin. It's a "Spa Treat" I look fwd to nightly.

Then I return to the sofa and apply my Clarins Tired Legs emulsion and slowly massaging my tired feet. Next, I would have a fruit portion and a glass of something with my multivits.

I think u should re-fengshui your bedroom. Maybe it's just too dark? Too hot? Try changing your bedsheets and sleeping on the left side, as the moms here have told me?

Mrs Yap/LC: Yes, I think it has to do with my 'crooked' back since puberty. I lean/slouch towards my righthand side more.

SarahMay: My hb's HR just confirmed that I hv a free spouse ticket to be used by this year. I think I'll fly to meet my hb over the vesak day hols!

Wa, Flos.. your night routine sounds so much like mine, especially the tonic oil and the leg emulsion portion.. hahaha.. I should try drinking milk at night to see if I can get good sleep or not.. Re: Fengshui I am not so much into it.. but i feel the room is too hot cos of the heat trapped during afternnoon and we close all windows before sleep (cos we super duper scare of lizards crawling in).. any good solution to reduce the heat? other than on the aircon?

sarahmay
hmm...did you read this shichida book on prenatal education? something like what you are doing, but more. i have the book somewhere. see if i can find it sometime and give you a brief on it...

Bigtoes
hahah...flipped when i read your 'talking to yourself'...

wingkei
dun worry yourself sick over such things really.. trust me, things will work out eventually when the bb comes. before i delivered i never ever wanted to be SAHM. hated the idea. one week after delivery, i wanted to go back to work liao. my hb also adamant that i should go back to work asap, and even suggested going back after 2 mths of maternity..now he is one big advocate of sahms....the change is amazing...so you never know what fatherhood can do to change a man...really, just relax and enjoy the moments now.

LC
wow your dreams are so vivid!!! eh,maybe the doctor show not too good? got chopping bodies scene or not?have you tried music for relaxation and aromatherapy suitable for preggies?

Storeberry...
ya thru out the scan i super scared... not becos of gender but rather if the baby is healthy or not... i scared bb got something wrong then i will faint... As for the gender wise, i admit that i did feel a little disappointed... cos all along i hv a stronger feeling for a boy... sort of loving HIM already and then suddenly HE is out.. end up become a girl... Takes quite a while to come to terms. But now i am happy with my girl. Been looking at online purchase girl's dresses and girly stuffs.

Check out my blog... I did something new to my blog look... keke... REMEMBER to add a comment in my baby's blog ok...

Mrs Yap - Me too.. I share your feeling on the gender change.. It also took us awhile to tune our mindset
can I see your blog as well? I have not been updating my blog.. lazy mummy..

sarah may - sleeping side wont really help much..cos my right shoulder is hurting me.. i dont know isnt due to that i might sprain my shoulder or what..

Flos

U really going to SH over the Vesak weekend?? I bot my airtix alrdy, I'm going 16may-20may... taking the overnight flight, departing at 0115hrs, reach SH 0635hrs..start my 1st day there early,haha! Let me knw if u're really going ya?

<font color="119911">Mei (meie) &amp; Flos - thanks! Will check Women's Secret &amp; La Senza for jammies.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - u have a baby blog too? Share the link?

LC (faintz) - like the others mentioned, it is normal to have more vivid dreams when we are preggers...maybe manifestation of your fears/worries etc with the pregnancy, coupled with work stress and what not. We also remember more of our dreams cos pregnant women wake up more frequently during REM (maybe to pee). Just try drinking some warm milk before u sleep (but not with Obimin multivit)? For my case, the last few times, I have been dreaming of my mum, else of fishes! If you want to know what ur dreams may mean (at least for fun)- check out - http://www.dreammoods.com/</font>

Flos: Only budget flies to macau. But still…. I wld appreciate the spouse tickets lor. Anyway, Jetstar has really good service. I told them I’m preggers and asked if there is any free row without anyone near me. I’m going to try my luck later when I fly back to SG. But I might get first row this time and have more leg room instead of whole row. My hubby says he doesn’t like the idea of me lying down on plane. Says it is dangerous. So you going next weekend to SH? Cool!

Mei: Thanks! Shall check it out.

Mrs Yap: I like my right side better too…find that it is less strenuous to get up from the right. However, I try to sleep on left as much as possible cos blood flow to bb is better when we sleep on the left. Can PM your blog addy again pls? Lost the addy.

L’l CY: I haven’t read shichida book. So it is you who has read up on it is it? Dunno much about shichida though. Let me know when u find it and tell me more! Well, actually, I don’t have any theoretical backing for what I’m doing. Just do what I feel like.Hehe. Cos I also dun want to stress my bb from a young age…and stress myself either.

Koras: Shoulder ache? From sitting posture? Why don’t you go to a chiropractor and have it checked?

LC: So morbid your dreams!!!! I’ve been having strange dreams also. V annoying! 3 wks cough? Ok la…shd be recovering already. I coughed like one month! Like itchy throat…drinking lots more water. Erh… what do you mean by drinking too much? Hehe. That time I was coughing v badly, I took like a teaspoon neat thrice a day. Must drink lots of water to avoid getting gestational diabetes I guess. Still got phlegm? Did the TCM prescription help?

Storeberry: I’m still in Macau. Flying back this evening. Trow DS. My dad’s going with me. Too bad my mum can’t go. Hope can video tape scan for my hubby. And I hope no one thinks my dad is my husband…cos he looks rather young and sometimes ppl think he is my brother.

ROUTINE: Wah! You all very disciplined…got
routine. I tried to set up one but fail miserably. Hehe.

just found out that my colleagues managed to buy Dhaxtra from her gynea at S$30 for a box of 30's! her Gynea said cost of dhaxtra has gone down a lot!!!

yes, i do light ex to ease back pain........panadol doesnt really help leh......