(2008/09) Sep 2008

Re: Brazilian waxing

Sorry mummies, off topic...

Wanna ask if we could really go for brazilian waxing and no effect on bb? I'm 21wks le. Wonder if i can go. I remember someone recommend me vivian.

Dmbb
Can we still visit the dentist since we are preggy? I have serious bleeding gums I tink? Whenever I floss, it just bleeds. So by the time I complete flossing for my upper teeth, my whole basin is full with bloody droplets.

sarahmay
yes..i heard disney playhouse has got good stuff, but think i will start him later lah. really dun see hte point now . he is not disadvantaged when it comes to learning lah.

though i must say im one kiasu parent loh, that's the only reason why i was contemplating starting him on tv sometime ago.hahaha..coz i kept thinking my son too slow developmentally...maybe watch some tv might help, all needless worries lah. kekekekeke..but till now, boy has not started on tv yet.

Anyone interested in getting belly bands? I know someone on forum is organising BP but that one I find the colours a bit boring, and prints not v exciting. There is another one that is cheaper from Oz. They are also having specials.
Anyone keen to do BP with me?

http://www.brites.com.au/index.html

flos,
i also wanna get the iq24. wanna get the iqpump too.

jasmine,
i think can do brazilian wax. shdn't be a prob.

goldfish,
yes. still can visit dentist. you shd since your gums are bleeding a lot.

Mrs Yap: Congrats on your princess!! Must be a cute pretty gal!

Ava: You invoke my memory of the brown plasticine guy!! Haha!! But thats not my favourite, me & sis always wake up early sun to catch care bears & smurfs!

bacon&egg: Your avent IQ 24 sterilizer looks like a good deal! What does the package includes? Anyone knows if pigeon steriliser is gd cos I will be using pigeon bottles...

goldfish: yes, it's ok to visit dentist during pregnancy, in fact, it's highly encouraged! but do remember to let ur dentist know u're preggie!

CARSEATS

I am a very firm believer of using carseats perhaps because I was in the States for sometime and I delivered in the US too. In the US, you CANNOT bring the baby home without a carseat. The nurse that accompanied you will see to that. The theory being that if you don't even bother to have a carseat for the new life, you ain't fit to be a parents at all. The firestation over in the US will help parents fit carseat in their cars if they don't know how to.

Carseats must always be fitted in the rear. Even if the infant is rear facing in a carseat fitted in the front passenger seat, the force with which the airbag expand will knock the carseat and pushed it up, suffocating the baby. Keep you baby in a rear facing carseat in the rear seat until he is one years old. My son hated his carseat, and would cry. But we have never for once give in to him, and now, he will guai guai sit in his carseat. Even when we go for 4 hour long roadtrips in the US, we only take him out of the seat when the car is stationary for diaper change/ feeds.

I think giving it and being soft hearted in this sense is not worth it for the risk that might be caused should you car, or other cars bang into yours.

INFANT: Use an infant carseat (it cradles the baby), or a convertible one that allows newborn to be in. You can bring the infant carseat into a taxi and there are nooks along where you can strap the seat belts across the carseat to secure it.

Babies 1 year and aobve till toddlerhood : Keep in front facing seat, or convertible carseat. Keep them in a 5 point harness as long as you can.

We are driving a Honda CRV and will be fitting two carseat in our rear seats when the bb is here. Where our maid will sit.. i dunno. She will have to squeeze in between or stay home, or we have to buy a MPV. We will never give up strapping our children in carseat until they turn 8 years old.

Sorry to those who might have differing views. But if you can spend so much on a car, I don't see why you should save on carseats for your children. I think parents who carry their children in the backseat are silly, and worse are those who carry them in the front passenger seat and even the driver seat (I have seen these)!

I am using Britax Roundabout carseat bought in the US for my firstborn now. Incidentally, I have also written to the papers on the appalling state of things for child safety in Singapore.

Yeah, alabone, but Kiddy Palace is selling Avent IQ24 for $200 before members discount.

I dunno abt the Avent IQpump. Is it good? Why is all the moms in this thread talking abt Medela PIS? Is it better?

Jasmine: I am going to go after my DS on Fri. Just wanna play safe that bb is fine. I've the habit of waxing since 5 yrs ago. But my gynae told me it's rather sensitive down there, so asked me to think twice!! He cringed when I asked him if I could wax! LOL

Dental appt: I think I need to visit the dentist soon. Also spewing bloody foam. I'm taking more calcium tabs. My mom lost a lot of teeth when she had three of us. She told me the teeth crowns were still intact, but when the dentist knocked at the teeth, they were actually hollow! Thanks to the three of us!!

Flos,

The carseat that you mentioned can fit into a stroller is a good buy. I have that too. In the US, they call it a travel system. You can transfer the baby from the car to the stroller without having to lift the baby out of the seat and risk waking him/ her up. Can use in taxis too.

sarahmay
those belly bands look nice. i like, but im on self imposed shopping spree now. cannot spend any money. coz just spent too much yesterday on my lil boy.

alabone
you getting the avent isis iq thingy huh??? wow. dual or single?

flos
aprica is ok lah, depending on where you come from ..hahaha..the price range from 800plus to 1000plus for very average ones. the better ones can be a few thousands...

car seats
just got my boy a super big carseat cum booster cum whatever heavy duty one recently. can take weight up to 45kg!!!!!!! the prob is it's so big i doubt we can fit in another person with 2 car seats...die lah...

\hahaha..and whats more we just changed to smaller car. wont be getting an mpv in my lifetime coz i wont dare to drive it...and hb only willing to get a car that i WILL drive

maybe i should change a maid, skinnier one???kekekekek

Hi, Bacon & Egg

Me thinking of that IQ steriliser too.. where do you get it from? 160bucks quite a good price.. I saw one package one fr Robinson at 150bucks with some throw-in stuff like wipes etc but that is not AVent IQ, think its the old model..

Mrs Yap/ Bigtoes

Cos now EDD moves by one week, i am thinking if I need to inform my CL and Massage lady? wat do you think?

Flos - I tried to sleep on the left side and keep reminding myself to do so, ended up last night din sleep well.. hahaha.. baby not much movement than before, and it is ever since I have been coughing.. abt 3 weeks liao.. how i wish my cough will be gone overnight..

RXmom,

Thks for your views. It is clear to me that the car seat is necessary and to me, $ is less impt than safety. Just not sure what is the best way to fit the seats if we don't upsize the car... The thing is we may need to get 2 cars due to logistics (change in work location and picking up kids)..

just to add to what sarahmay said...
actually the american whatever child safety whatver recommends that child be in rear facing position until they hit 10kg. eh, that means my boy is flouting this rule...haiz...but that aside, this is coz when the child is too light, the impact of front facing will rip the head off without anything in front to support.. if the child is rear facing, usually their legs hitting the back seat will absorb much of the impact

something liket hat lah....

i'm a carebear and elmo fan.. but hubby always gives me the 'evil eye' whenever i want to buy the toys.. now with baby got good excuse to buy already.. i've been eyeing the dancing elmo for a long time.. heh heh..

storebearry, i bought the pigeon sterilizer.. $149 (comes with some other pigeon stuff) from taka. you can get it for around $88 from KKH, that's the cheapest i've seen so far.

flos,
very ex ya the steriliser?? i'm not sure abt the IQpump. previously i used the avent manual pump which was good enough. but i pump until hand sng lah... so i thought perhaps this iq thing will be better.

i think the PIS is good coz it pumps double breasts at one time and it's not manual. but i just think that it is so ex. dont think i will invest in that. as such, i already think the iqpump is ex for me. may wanna go find where my manual one is before i go buy another pump. i'm wondering if they just sell the parts for the iqpump...

RXmom,
i agree with you on the importance of car seats. i've also seen how some parents put their young kids in the front passenger seat and yes, there was one time, i actually saw a father driving with his boy sitting on his lap!!! that was really appalling! soooooooooooo dangerous.

LC
maybe u can tell yr CL and Massage lady a range of date like e.g Anything between New Edd to Old Edd. so tat they can have a mental preparation.
But i guess they prob met with many cases of earlier births etc...

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay
The belly bands look nice... but was wondering if it's realli necessary anot leh...

Lok
is the Pigeon steriliser good??

Cloud
hey.. i'm a carebear fan too... hehehe
but i like pooh now too

Wat did the Pigeon steriliser come with?? $88 is cheap leh.. as compared to the Avent de

Mrs Yap
Congrats on ur little princess!!!

LC,
your still coughing until now? how's your left ribcage pain? getting better or worse? i've stopped the cough 2weeks ago, but my ribcage pain is still there, getting worse... the pain is more than i can take, and i m wearing nursing unwired bra to work now. hopefully the pain can go away soon...coz it hinders my daily movement! =(

hi aloevera,
what kinda pain is it at your ribcage? jabbing kind of pain?? coz i had that for my first pregnancy and it didn't go away until i gave birth. super uncomfortable and painful. i keep putting pressure on it my pressing down hard with my fingers. it's just at the breast bone area. is yours the same???

l'l CY,
yeah. i'm thinking of buying the iq thingy. single la. won't be buying the double. will wait until gss then see got good deal or not. scatter brain now leh. can't find my previous pump at all... did i pass it to you huh?? i don't remember so leh... arrrrgh

<font color="119911">LC (faintz) - I haven't informed my CL and massage lady also. My EDD is the 8th Sept, but going to C-section, most prob on 28th Aug (week 38). Going to confirm the date with gyne at the next appnt then i guess i should contact the CL and massage lady. In anycase, ur CL should arrange her jobs with a +/- 2 week window, incase u deliver earlier or later than EDD.

SarahMay (sarahmay) - I am using babyplus 2X a day, for 1 hour each session - once in the morning, &amp; once at nite. The baby is usually more responsive during the nite - think he is quite piggy &amp; still asleep during the morning one!
On to session 4 already, 12 more to go till delivery date!</font>

anyone encounter sitting too long and back start to ache. mine start to ache recently and anyone can recommand any lotion or cream to apply

Sasa, the pigeon package came with a food warmer, breast pads, a bottle and an introductory pack (also with bottles), total price more than $250 but selling for $149. the pharmacy at KKH sells quite a lot of pigeon and medela things, when I went the last time, they were advertising the sterilizer at $88

What is a Belly Band?

LC: Yes, the Robinsons Avent package one is the Analog one, not digital one which is what Bacon&amp;Eggs and I are taling about (IQ24 = digital). There is no IQ24 package at Robinsons. You need to buy separately.

sasa: I think Pigeon is not bad. Like I said some weeks back, my SIL switched from Pigeon to Avent, and my other SIL switched from Avent to Pigeon. It really depends on whether your bb likes the teat or not.

Jasmine: Just ask your gynae lor. He felt painful for me

Car seats are a must in big countries where most cars go at 150kph min. There are more highways than normal roads. I'm appalled by the high accident rates in SG, compared to other bigger countries. Maybe cos the bigger countries dun bother to report on road accidents on the primetime news.

I think experienced CLs should know that the EDD fluctuates. Mine already blocked out her entire Sept month for me. I'll call her immediately when I'm due.

I asked about Aprica cos my SIL is using it. Just wanna kaypoh how much she paid for it. I dunno abt Britex.

Big Toes: Why r u going for c-section. It's by choice or got no choice?

<font color="119911">Flos (flos) - The Britax price range in Spore is about $300-600 (depending on which model).

Am going for C cos i had a fibriod removed from my uterus last year, and there might be risk of rupture of the internal stitches from pushing during natural birth. Also not looking forward to a long labour - the C takes just 40min &amp; somehow, seems less scary to me!</font>

Aloevera - Yes, my cough still around..my colleague sitting opps me, cough like hell and the germs are flying everyhwere.. how to get well? I dun have much rib cage pain liao, thanks to my creator
how come your cough is gone but your rib cage still pain? wan to check with you gynae? and also does your baby move less when you are coughing?

Cloud - For the pigeon sterlisier, can it be used for non-pigeon bottles and Medela pump? Or is it strictly for pigeon pdts?

sasa de mouse,

Generally, other than price, people looked for 2 things when buying sterilizers : how long is the cycle and whether it can fit most bottle size. I can't recall but think Pigeon's cycle is shorter than Avent. It can fit most bottle sizes and shapes. Plus quite affordable. At one stage, the pigeon sterilizer comes with 2 pigeon milk bottles as well.

MTBs,

I don't advise you to buy a lot of bottles in one go. Depends on what your bb prefers. I bought the NUK premium bottles (the wide-necked ones, not the cartoon ones as it's easier to scoop the milk powder) and thankfully J likes it. However, I had a very tough time switching him from the latex teat to the silicon ones (so this time round, I will just go straight to the silicon ones).

Flos - I wanted to ask why Bigtoes want to go for C section too..
I have a fibriod too but not removed.. finger crossed that It will not grow any bigger and fight for space with BB.. And your CL so good.. can book the whole of sept for you..

and oh ya, I went for another gynae to scan to confirm baby gender after the 20th week scan confirmation that differs from my gynae 18th week scan.. Just dun wan ambiguity so spend another 80bocks to confirm...

Bigtoes, your gynae advised on C-section? I delivered my twins in Jan 07 via C-section. I won't ever forget the pain from the incision. Took me 4-5 weeks before I recovered from the pain (maybe my pain threshold lower). Had asked my gynae if I could opt for natural this time round, but she only said that we will discuss nearer the EDD
I think about C-section pain, and I worry....

koras, your aches are at the lower back? mine are. really feel like stretching from side to side but i daren't. just got hubby to massage for me last night. i think holding a hot towel against the area will help too.

J&amp;S Mum - The independent gynae confirmed BB is a prince after quite awhile of scan.. My gynae confirmed princess on the 18th week but my detailed scan on 20th week said otherwise..

LC...
i need to re-scan the baby gender too
cos the sonographer says looks like a girl but he says the legs are really closed up tightly. He wants me to go back for re-scan to re-confirm!!
But i take it as its a girl liao and i dun wish otherwise too... Cos i bought pink rompers liao.. haha.

<font color="119911">LC (faintz) - actually, when i went to Dr WK Tan for a pre-natal check up before we tried for babies, she discovered the fibriod (it wasn't causing any pain so i won't have known it existed otherwise.) The fibriod was already about 10cm in length then (100gm). Thou Dr Tan said no problem to carry a baby to term with the fibriod inside, i didn't want to take the risk cos of space constrain, and also cos the fibriod will grow larger (and use up nutrients meant or the baby) from hormonal changes during pregnancy.

J&amp;SMum(AletheaT) (arielyn)- Actually, my pain threshold is very low!
I squirm even from an injection &amp; make a fuss from small bruises! Honestly, the fibriod removal was painless thou. The worst bit of pain was when they inserted the tube into my hand for the GA! After that, it was just <1 hour of colorful dreams, then waking up &amp; moving to the bed. I was off painkillers completely the same afternoon of the surgery &amp; walking by the next day.

Obviously, I don't expect the C-section pain to be comparable, but am hoping that it would be reasonable for my case. Of cos having a good gyne &amp; having my wound heal easily helped as well.

I guess its a totally different experience for each mommy. My sis for one, had natural birth, followed by C, and for her case, she also had a painless C, but quite bad post recovery pain from natural. Another colleague went for emergency C &amp; ended up with bad keloid &amp; 1 month of bedrest!

J&amp;SMum
i had fibroid removal too. I found out the same way as bigtoes and i wanted it removed! Therefore i will be having c-section as well. The pain for me is bearable as well... can walk the next day and after 1 week of bed rest, i was shopping in orchard liao. Hopefully c-section pain is not too much

abalone, no, it's the different kind of pain compared to the pain i had dring last trim...

LC, i also dunno why the pain can worsen n remain after the cough stopped long ago! =( it got really bad tat i cant even turn to my sides during sleep... and i cant breathe too hard or i will feel the ribcage exploded inside me! :"(

aloevera, do you think you might have hurt a muscle or ligament with all the coughing? how long has it been since the cough stopped?

xuanting, i seriously dunno lor... dunno if i wanna see a doc for this pain. coz at my stage, doc cant do much except guessing. no painkiller, no x-ray allowed...etc. sigh...

my nursing bra is not padded so i hv to put in the padding myself. and my girl saw me doing tat, and she took my extra padding and mimicked me!! she was so funnie!! u cant imagine a 21mth-old tod doing tat b4 your eyes!

Xuanting
week 12 - doc says suspected boy cos got thing sticking out
week 16 - doc says cannot see cos the legs close up v tightly
week 20 - doc says looks like a girl and he labelled the baby as a girl but he wants me to go back re-scan the gender at week 24.
I treat it as its a girl liao and i dun wish to hv anymore changes to the gender

aloevera, true, cannot take x-rays now. do be careful with your activities; it must be very painful and uncomfortable. i hope it's nothing serious and will go away soon.

mrs yap, omg... i hope you won't get anymore surprises. your bb very playful; keeps playing the guessing game with mommy!

Mrs Yap - You need to re-scan as well? Hmmmm... i dun like the ambiguity.. a lot of things cannot buy yet.. unless it is white or yellow colour.. me just finger crossed that it wun change again coming the 24th week scan.

Flos - Yup, We are shocked too when the result for 20th week scan said otherwise. The person who did the scan also freaked out when we asked her to really check and really confirm again so she did many times and pointed to hubby (cos I can't see from my lying down position) that there is a birdie.. she later get another doctor to see the film to confirm before she put it in the report.. In fact, we have decided on a gal name on the 18th week when Gynae confirmed.. and mindset tuned to baby gal.. hahaha..but so long baby is healthy and growin well, we are very glad already