(2008/09) Sep 2008

Meie: Thanks. I was at the Fox sale too. But nothing much for boys leh. I only bot 4 pairs of NB socks and 1 romper. The previous sale was much better.

Milky: Pls proceed to make payment. I have sent an email to them to ask abt shipment.

sarahmay, that's how i feel too, and what led me to take the plunge into freelancing before ttc-ing, so that i can establish some contacts and hopefully maintain a small income while staying home fulltime to care for my kid in the near future. in my case, i guess it's the wanting to make up for whatever i'd felt was "lacking" in my own growing up – mine was a working mother who was always busy and hassled and hardly spoke to me. i'm glad my hubby has been very supportive thus far though i haven't managed to take on that many assignments.

hi bbmouse, payment jz made. has emailed u too.
kindly check n cfm..

bbmouse,
i hv jsut ordered the lesportsac tote too.. will make payment tonight..
do u think the shiny black is nice?

Good evening, ladies

COugh improved today..

SarahMay, it is indeed blood with yellowish phelgm.. ok or not har? I am drinking Manuka neat too.. and plenty of water.. ended up want to go loo often and sometime cough till pee a bit out.. yuckie yuckie!!!

Anyone know when its the Robinson Sale opens to public??

flos
that is sad. im a sahm but my hb has been supportive all the way. sometime i am guilty of scolding him and throwing tantrum if i have had a bad day at home, but he will usually keep quiet coz he knows it's not easy to be at home with boy and maid the whole day.

i guess i convinced my hb by showing him different literatures and research done on the impact of sahm on child. kekekeke...that was sly of me...but he was totally convinced and urged me to take no pay and sahm for as long as the child (children now) needs me...

sarahmay
no i bought only four to start wiht, but i started on bumwear when my son was like 6mths. before that was on those traditional ones. but i like bumwear coz those traditional ones i feel is hotter than bumwear.

goldfish
yah yah yah..i know but it';s like wow, fuzzy logic leh. it is supposed to detect the rhythm and strength of your pump then imitate it..then you can sit back and relax liaoz loh. something like that. quite fun lah...kekekeke...just that i dunno any mummies using it you see...

lc, me too! i peed a little in my pants when i sneezed. it was scary. had to go to the toilet to remove my panty liner (was outside then). think it'll be worse after delivery?

l'l cy, is four enough to rotate? do you supplement with disposables or traditional nappies too?

xuanting
yes initially rotated loh. then more confident it is better , so change to bumwear. but now still have some traditional ones lah. just in case mah. think 12 is actually enough.mostly...unless he poos a lot for the day...

aiyo xuanting... how come will pee when sneeze? is it becos of the bb pressing on yr bladder? So far i heard from doc there are cases where the preggy cannot pass urine... nv heard will leak urine when sneeze leh... maybe yr bladder is weak? Think u shd ask yr doc abt it...

Anyone went for the Ben & Jerry's free cone day?
I missed it and lamented over it...
V V V surprised Hubby initiated to buy 2 pints for me!! Usually he disapprove of me eating icecreams... but anyway i am so happy that my cravings are being met.
Choco Chip Cookie Dough is so creamy and yummy
Cherry Garcia got generous amount of cherries
Anyone tempted to buy? keke
1390311.jpg

Hi, xuanting

hahaha.. so I am not the only one... I change panty liner like changing diapers like that for this one week cos the cough is so bad and I have to cough it out hard..

I attended the antenatal course & it's quite common for us to suffer from incontinence due to the weakening of the pelvic muscles. This is caused by the extra weight we are carrying now. Start kiegel exercises as soon as you can, as often as you can to strengthen our pelvic muscles.

Squeeze your pelvic muscles.. how it's done is to imagine you need to pee but you can't find a toilet so you need to control, that's how it should feel like.

LC
Stress incontinence is very common during and after preg. Just carry lots of pantyliners and get the thicker ones..i even had to resort to pads during my recent cough. If really bad, you will leak pee when you cough, sneeze or even when you vomit, anything that puts extra pressure on abdomen and pelvic area. it gets better over time, and as mei says, do keigels to improve muscle strength down below. but dont do keigles when you are actually peeing in the toilet, cos t can cause infection when pee goes back into the body. just do it when watching TV, sitting inMRT etc...pull up, hold for 10 counts, release. do 10-20 times in a day or whenever u remember..

Free cone day
I went with my colleagues...the queue was super long (30 min wait) even at 2.30pm. But they gave me a special "pass" cos preggie to go straight to counter. I felt bad for my colleagues so offered to buy an xtra scoop...the counter girl just gave it to me...so nice
so we all got to share the ice cream

<font color="119911">wow, stress incontinence sounds scary. I thought it was only common after delivery cos of all the strain from pushing...
Ava - wow, 30min queue for a free cone! Sporeans sure do not mind queuing...find that kinda weird. At least you can bypass everyone - one of the benefits of being preggers!

Btw, its a public holiday today - how some some of us are still online? Should be out at one of the many on-going sales! I am stuck at home today cos hubby has his final Masters exams tomorrow, so no shopping for me yet. Just baked a batch of yummy plums/raisins/cashew nut muffins thou!

I am an April 08 mommy and would like to recommend my CL. She comes from a family of confinment nannies so if she is booked up...one of her sisters can follow up .
Her name is "Sing He" and she is from Muar, M'sia. In her 40s. Very responsible and efficient. Great cook and great with my baby.

If you are interested you may call her sister living in Singapore and tell her you are interested in "Sing He". U may tell her you got recommended by "lin tai tai"

Tel: 64437483 / 92447467

mei &amp; ava, thanks for the info. i was a little worried cos i'd only heard of it happening to old ladies and those who've just given birth; thought i might be sagging prematurely down there. whew. will try the kegel exercise. thanks.

thank you for all the well wishes for my father. he was discharged just now and is resting at home. all is well. it was a mild stroke and he was very very lucky. no surgery needed and he needs to be on medication though. thank god!!!

went for my scan on tues and though i mentioned previously i didn't want to know the gender, my gynae still unwittingly told me... she said it seems like i'm expecting a girl! i don't wanna get my hopes high so... just wait for the detailed scan next mth to see how.

regarding confinement bath and all, i bathed with the herbal bath and ginger when i wanna wash hair. it helps to rid wind and prevents headache. my mum would boil the herbal water the night before and leave it to cool. then the next day when i wanna bathe, she'll boil one large kettle of water again to add on to the herbal bath so that there'll be enough. but when i wanna wash hair, she'll boil two coz for washing hair, MUST add GINGER!

crayonshinchan,

I hv a PIS Advanced model bought fr US 2yrs ago. The American breast thing is not true. The size is the same becos I subsequently bought a new set of funnels locally when I lent it to my fren. There's no need to regret, PIS Advanced is a good model (I have not heard anyone complain yet except for the price). If u intend to bf for long, strongly encourage u to invest in a good model.

l’l CY,

I tested the Avent ISIS DUO IQ pump at TMC 2 yrs ago when I had to clear blocked ducts. Still prefer the PIS advanced model as it feels more powerful and somehow due to the shape of the funnel, I leaked onto myself (unlike the PIS).

Gender of bb:
I'm expecting a mickey mouse too. My 2nd boy, so my hubby is bracing himself for chaos in the house. Going for my detailed scan next week. Hopefully the position will be right as I took 3 hrs to complete OSCAR at 13 weeks as bb kept looking down and hence can't measure NT.

Confinement bath:
I bought Confinement shampoo and body wash from Little Dreamers (in Jln Pemimpin), so no need to boil water and herbs etc.
www.littledreamers.com.sg

Xuanting: I think it is a very brave and admirable thing you’ve done – plunging into freelancing before ttc-ing. It’s also great that your hubby is so supportive! I’m sure the assignments will slowly come along. Btw, what kind of freelance projects do you do? If I can I will keep a look-out for you.

LC: Great to hear your cough is better! Ho4w do you know it’s blood? Aiyo…poor girl. You must have been coughing a lot for your respiratory tract to bleed! Drink more water. How long have you been coughing? If more than a week or so, should really just go to the doc for a check-up.

L’l CY: You’ve got a great husband too! It’s great that you’ve got a maid too. I’m going to be looking after my bb alone. I dunno if I can manage. Already just being preggers now, I find it soooo hard to do all the domestic stuff. Cannot imagine what might happen when bb comes! Hehe. Thanks for the tips on the cloth diapering! Just want to check…by ‘traditional diapers’ you mean those flat muslin types that you have to fold? Ever tried prefolds?

Mrs Yap: Wow! Your hubby sure is attentive to your needs! So you finished TWO pints?
Leaky urine: I heard that as we preggers go along, there can be a tendency to leak pee. Hehe. I hope that doesn’t mean we become incontinent and need adult diapers!

Bigtoes: Wah! You are such a domestic talent too! I want some of your muffins!!! Yummy!!!
Lok: 3 hours to do OSCAR! Oh my! Thanks for the tip on the confinement shampoo and body wash! Never knew there was such a thing!

Flos: Hey! I found the baby factory outlets in Macau. They are like scattered all over the place. Saw some nice stuff…bought some baby rompers. Still haven’t found all the branded shops yet, but they seem to have a lot of this brand ‘CARTERS’ here. Apparently from the US. Ever heard of it. Anyway, the bb rompers are like only S$1.80 and good cotton, so I just bought some.

SarahMay: Hey, you shd try to organise some sprees for the mums here since you have lobangs of the factory outlets there. Am sure mummies here don't mind paying a bit for the service..

Just an idea.

SarahMay/Lilboymum: I wish I could be a SAHM without losing respect from my DH!!! There were months when I was abroad that I wasn't employed, so I rem those times when I would just wake up at 12noon, ate brunch, went to the gym/pool, watch DVD, shopping, hi-tea , prepare dinner or attend evening functions with hb. Felt soooo "redundant" as a home minister that time...even though I was making money in the stock mkt, I still felt something was lacking...

BABY FACTORY OUTLETS! Oh great u found them in Macau rather than Zhuhai. Yes, I bought a lot of Carters when I was in Guangzhou. I also bought C&amp;A Baby, RL, GAP, etc. btw, You should buy SAMSONITE in Macau cos they've got a factory there. It's cheaper!

I rem purchasing a lot of branded overruns when I was in SOuthern China, like Shenzhen, Shekou and Dongguang. Victoria Secrets panties were going for only S$0.70 per pc! Hugo Boss cashmere tops only for S$16.00! Got a lot of Marc Jacobs, Kookai, MNG, DKNY trenchcoats too...

My hb is currently in Shanghai and he's already bot RMB2,000+ worth of baby clothes of all sizes from H&amp;M Flagship store!!!! I'm thrilled and excited to see my new loots!

RXMom: My mommy just gave me a new LV monogram tote bag large enough to use as diaper bag, so no thanks!!

Mrs Yap: I've 3 pints of Ben&amp;Jerrys in my freezer, do u want to come to my place to have a party?!!! I've lost my sweet-tooth liao

sian...I am not on leave tomorrow. I didn't go to the sales today either, cos I was really hot and sleepy.

Flos.. my parents will be going to China in June.. what are some of the good places to shop in Hong Kong and Shenzhen.. especially for baby clothes.. can ask them to buy clothes for me..

sarah may
aiyo... havent finish the icecream yet...
must take in moderation cannot eat too fast...
too cold la... haha

Flos
I really really dun mind if u like to donate all 3 pints to me... haha
jus now i scoop some for myself n hubby...
he was eating n saying that the icecream dun really taste v good... i was like, hey if u dunno how to appreciate the icecream hor, pls stop eating... dun waste it... pass it to me.

Today we went to order our Baby Cot, got ours from Mothercare. Realised that I'm more or less done with my baby shopping.
After that we just went for an evening swim.

Hi bbmouse: I passed by Normaton pary via AYE today! Aiyo, was so forgetful, only when I am near then I remember about the items! Maybe I can pick up tmr or sun, sms you again. Thanks!

Mrs Yap: I was at United Sq on Wed for the Toy Rus sale &amp; the queue for the free cone day was super long! Think all the office people no need to work, all queuing up for the ice-cream!

Sarahmay: Carters is very popular in USA. Enjoy your shopping in Macau! $1.80 is super cheap!

My cutie nephew is in hospital tonight, had fever at 40.7 degrees!! And he had fits &amp; my sister quickly sent him to hospital, now fever went down to 38degree. Will be praying for his speedy recovery! So worried!

BABY CLOTHES: Oooh! Carters are popular? Great! I shall go hunt them out. Not all are branded stuff la...at least I haven't found all the branded stuff yet. Takes some digging and hunting. Some strange brands tt I've not seen before too.

SAMSONITE: Oh yah! I know where that factory outlet is. Though I was initially dubious abt the authenticity.

SHENZHEN: Not sure exactly where the shops are. But I think Dongguan Men (did I get that right?) is very good for shopping. Walk around and you'll prob see bb stuff.

HONGKONG: There are heaps of baby shops and stuff around. Check out the following link and see if you are keen on any.
http://www.geobaby.com/directory/shopping/baby-shops/

SPREES IN MACAU: Anyone interested? Hehe. I'm coming back here in May and June. But the variety here is really diverse...and being factory outlets, the range is not set. Baby bibs here are SOOOOO cheap and cute! As are other stuff. I shall post some pics of my loot if anyone is keen.

Storeberry: HOpe your nephew gets well soon. Don't worry. He's in good hands.

Alabone: Phew! Glad to hear your dad is better.

ABOUT SAHM
Flos: I'm sure your DH won't lose respect for you la. Actually I can understand how you feel abt being SAHM cos when I first started being self-employed, every few months I would go through that phase where I would feel really useless and tt I'm wasting my life away. And these past few months I've been working even less. It could be really bad if not for my DH and friends who tell me tt I shdn't worry abt money-making etc now cos having a healthy happy baby is more impt. So what I try to do now is to structure my own routine, and create little projects for myself to keep my brains from turning into mush.

Actually, I dunno if I will make a good SAHM cos I am not sure if I can stay at home WHOLE day with bb and cook, clean and wash. Hehe... I really admire those SAHM who do all these! They are like an extinct breed.

SarahMay,

I don't actually intend to buy a lot of bb clothes. That's one of those gifts that friends will usually give and they outgrow pretty fast. So don't spend too much $$. In my case, mickey bb will get to use Kor kor's recycled clothes.

Topic of SAHM:
It depends on your family support and personality. I took 6 mths off after birth of #1 to take care of him. No doubt, we hv very close bonding, it is difficult for me due to the lack of verbal and intellectual exchange (bb talk all the time, can't go out as and when i want etc). The financial freedom that comes with working is something that I will miss too if I become SAHM. So between the choice of FTWM and SAHM, it would be FTWM. I am better able to focus on my son after work.

Having said this, I have seen the kids raised by SAHM. They are doing very well as the mum can really instill discipline and homeschooling the way they want. So kudos to SAHM as they are making wonderful contribution to the future of Singapore (but unfortunately it's not for me.)

SAHM

On the issue on SAHM, how coincidental, cos I was just discussing with my hubby if I should terminate my bond with my company, and become a SAHM. I would still owe my company around $70k if I break my bond after my maternity leave when I would have 1.5 yrs left.

I am very inclined to do that, cos to me, nothing beats being a mommy to your child. that is a mother's first duty, I think. I was on no pay leave for my no 1 (cos hubby on deployment in US) and I get to spend 10 months with my son before I have to go back to work. No doubt life at home with children can be very 'boring' cos of the lack communication with friends, people, etc. It is not easy being a SAHM and I think comparing SAHM and FTWM, it might be harder to be the former.

I can't tell for sure that the time spent pay off, but my son is really close to me and friends told me that he's developmentally faster than others cos probably I spent time with him. I don't know about that... but I always feel torn between my work commitment and my family commitment.

Just trying to complete my bond quickly so that I have more options to consider.

Car Seats

Mommies who had gone shopping yesterday, are there any good car seats deals around? Am looking for a britax car seat for my no 1, who will be passing down his Britax Roundabout to no. 2 later when he arrives.

Am thinking if I should get my hubby to ship them back from US if it's too ex here. Am looking at the Britax Marathon, or the Recaro Young Sport...

So tired yesterday and today...must be the heat...need to get car seats too, so as RXmom said...any good deals? Am looking for Britax too.

New pic of tummy taken this morning... think this may be the same outfit I wore in last pic...so can see the difference.

1392501.jpg

<font color="0000ff">wah... i'm so lost in all the posts!!!!

alabone
glad ur dad has been discharged le

Storeberry
aiyoh.. poor thing. seems like alot of illnesses hitting small kids these days ah.. the rampant HFMD, high fever, dengue.. blah blah blah

SarahMay
wah.. so many good deals leh.. eh.. u realli should organise a spree for us.. hehe

Sunrays
I oso wan the classic pooh set.. muahahha. n yes.. now i rem tat i told u i saw the price tag in RM :p

Ava
Nice bump.. hehe

Not able to reply to all posts wor.. juz so lost in it.. too many le

woah ava
your bump is big
cannot imagine u got another 4 mths to go
phew... must be tiring and straining on yr back

This morning i was having backache...
then inside the MRT no one offer their seats...
they we staring at me only... they are fully aware, not reading newspapers or texting on the HP. whats worse is theres 2 elderly carrying heavy plastic bags too... its like 2 elderly and 1 preggy infront of those pp and somemore they we seated under the PLEASE GIVE UP YOUR SEATS TO SOMEONE WHO NEEDS IT MORE THAN U DO!!!!!!!!!

AVA!!!
Ur bump looks so pregnant leh! Mine look like ‘baby fats’ in comparison.

Went to robinson and got the NUK sterilizer and milk bottles set. Do u all tink getting 6pcs of small bottles and 6pcs of big bottles issit a lot mah??
I din realized NUK latex teats cannot be put into sterilizer cos will be sticky
*diao*

Btw, any mama able to advice whether to get a playpen for sleeping or a real wooden cot for sleeping? I dun reallie nid a toddler bed next time cos I got a pull out bed wor.. Anyone can advice?

ava,
robinson has good deal on Britax - 2 models for selection only. I bought the Britax Royale at $350 (usual $486..if i remember correctly).

Marks n Spencer having sale too..bb rompers are worth buying..organic materials at $35 for 3 pcs..

happy shopping!

goldfish,
you can consider a cot (not cot bed if you already have a toddler bed). BB could outgrown playpen faster?? not sure..maybe experienced mommies can advise?

i am planning on getting a cot bed.

storeberry
hope ur nephew gets better...my son has been coughing really badly for the last week or two and fever all ths week...around the 38.5 range...sigh.

Goldfish
You'll need a cot I think, cos even with the pull our bed, baby may roll and hit the bed or roll off and hit the floor cos no rails...unless you r putting the pull out bed against the wall and lots of pillows on the other side. Playpen also cannot change heights and may be too soft to sleep in after 5-6 months.OK for first 3-4 months.

SarahMay: May I know if you're taking Tiger Airways? There is baggage capacity limit, no? You've bot quite a lot of TCM and bb clothes it seems to me!!

The shopping street in Shenzhen is called Dongmen (East Gate). You can take a ferry to Shekou from Macau over the weekend as well.

cloud: I also visit geobaby like SarahMay for HK. For Shenzhen, try Dongmen or Huaqiang Beilu (the main shopping BELT) or MixC Mall (but it's pricey).

How fit are your parents? If they are fit and street-smart, they can take a light bus to Stanley Market which is the haven for bb fashion overruns. Lots of branded bb stuffs there and HK "kwei lows" go there to get the best bargains.

Mrs Yap: Hmm, try to cut down on sweet stuffs, cos I want to maintain my sugar levels!!

Ava: wow! Your twins are growing very well!

About SAHM: I am just toying with the idea of becoming a SAHM...My MIL offered to take care of my bb from Mon-Fri, PROVIDED I HIRE A MAID, and this maid mustn't be an Indo but a Filipino. She suggested that I fetch my bb home with the maid on Fri evenings and spend the weekend with him.

The catch is, my maid won't get to do housework at my place from Mon-Fri, rather she will be asked to clean my MIL's place. Worse, my SIL who is currently a SAHM (she is a freelancer) heads home to my MIL's place with her toddler (6mths) almost every other day for dinner. I'm not comfy leaving the maid that I paid for with my PIL and SIL from Mon-Fri.

My SIL doesn't hv a maid but she drives, meaning she could drive MY maid home to do her household chores without my knowledge whilst I work in the office from Mon-Fri. I also dunno what my SIL's son and my PIL would do to my poor, lonely bb who is left with my inlaws from Mon-Fri.

Perhaps I should just take over my bb myself and sacrifice my income.

Hi Sunrays / Sasa de mouse

Is the classic pooh bedding set u saw? I tried looking for the RM price tag but cannot find leh. mebbe i missed it? but then again, I also won't be going into M'sia anytime soon so not that much diff to me..

1392690.jpg

Hi Bacon&amp;Egg
What is the diff between cot and cot bed huh? Actually I find cot bed like beri zuo-deng liddat as compared to the ‘flimsy’ playpen? But are u guys getting both mah? A cot can be a playpen and playpen be a sleeping area mah? Or issit cot too ‘hard’ to be a playpen cos will be easily bruised?

I paid $650 for infant care (7am-7pm) on weekdays. Original price: $1050.

Ava,
Oh.. playpen cannot change heights one huh? Oppz.. I dunno wor :p

Storeberry: No prob. Can arrange with me again.

SarahMay: Hey, I'll be keen on your spree!
Heheheh.. I stock up clothes up to 18mths when I discovered it was a bb girl for my #1. For didi this time round, I'm much more tame in my shopping. But if got good deals, why not?

SAHM: We've already planned for me to stay at home after I rec the bonus next yr, which will be in Feb. I'm not afraid my hubby will lose respect for me (cos I'm sure he won't), I'm more concerned if I will lose respect for myself and my sanity! Really dunno how I can cope staying at home and not working and have no income.

Goldfish: There are cots which cna be convertible into a toddler's bed. This cot will also have adjustable heights which you can lower as the baby grows. Yes, playpen only has 1 height.

Who else is asking abt cot and cot bed?

RXmom,

That's good. Guess there's never a black &amp; white answer to the SAHM qn. My #1 is close to me, sometimes I find too sticky for my liking as he only wants me and nobody else. It also depends on your personality --- some SAHMs can think of lots of activities to do with their kids and also very diligent with reading/flashcards etc. I don't hv flair in these areas, so better to leave it to the early education experts.

Goldfish,

Cot vs. Playpen

My #1 used bb cot until he's abt 1YO. That's when he starts bumping around unsteadily as he's trying to learn to stand &amp; walk, so even the bumpers don't protect him from bruises as wooden cots are of cos very hard. Then I switch him to playpen (standard cotbed size 28" X 52"). There are certain playpens with adjustable heights (bassinet, one level lower and the lowest one). At 21 mths, he still sleeps in a playpen by himself in his own room. Because the playpen uses netting, it's bouncy and hence, I feel safe to leave him alone in his room as he won't hurt himself, can't climb out and can't wander off in the middle of the night.