(2008/09) Sep 2008

mrs yap ,
just in case .. nowadays parents are like that .. everything is not their children fault... that is y teachers are so stressed up nowadays .. recently , one parent came to the P office everyday to bug him saying that teachers dun take her call .. that is because she keep on bugging the teachers even at night 10 pm refusing to hang up .. trying to tell the teachers what to do with her daughter and that the teachers are not supposed to tell her daughter that she called in .. Wah piang .. and she blames the teachers for her daughter's poor performance in grades .. and complain all the way to MOE for that .. and all teh subject teachers have to write a report ... haha .. so sad to have such parents ....

Dolly
Your hb looks like a very nice chappie...you both look v happy...glad for you!!!

bbmouse
Hmmm, the lesportsac backpack looks quite nice leh...maybe i'll get that!

Ava: Which design is better? Can't decide.. So tough.. One has more pockets but the width is narrower. And looking at the dimensions, I think the right one will be less roomy cos of the pockets.

1389015.jpg
1389016.jpg

been so busy I didnt have chance to login.

Went for my DS yesterday, Thank God my baby's organs are all fully developed, no cleft lips etc. So amazing to see his little heart pumping away. His weight is 385grams at 21 weeks. =) Happy that everything is going well and on track. Gynae didn't comment on my weight gain cos baby is growing so well.

Went to the Mattel sale yesterday, nothing much left. Only got the infant to toddler rocker at $60 and a few rattles, teething toys at $5 each. Alot of toys are dirty and dusty, so have to take time to choose carefully. So I only got those that I'm confident of cleaning, eg, those cloth books, plastic rattles that I can wash and clean well before letting my baby get near it!

mickey
I like the one on the right too...my hb says the bag looks a bit girly for him to carry...so may give this one a miss...

dolly
you so farnee

so sian.. i've already gone for 2 DS already and both failed. the scanner said baby not in good position.. need to go again next week.. i don't like the doctor doing the scanning, seems impatient and does everything chop-chop...

I am in my 20 weeks of pregnancy and this is also my first pregnancy. I would like to check with all the mummies out there whether

1. can we do facial during pregnancy?
2. can we consume Manuka Honey with UMF 20 and above?

cloud...
har? Again?????????????????
I also dun like yr scanner... why cant he jus ask u go walk walk then come back?? why must purposely come back another day???? he thinks u got alot of leaves isit... hai
Very strange leh... wat he mean by not in good position? if the head is facing him, scan the head for the brain lor... if the body is facing him, then scan the heart, lungs etc... if the bottom is facing him scan the gender la... what he means by cannot see?????/

cloud, i also find it very ridiculous?!! do you have to pay for each unsuccessful DS? WAsted leave somemore... did he try to nudge the baby to move?? I really wonder what he means by not a good position??? by the way, where are you doing your scanning?

hi ladies, I'm fr Aug MTB thread.

Just testing response to see if anyone would be keen on car pool (I'm driving) from river valley to one raffles quay (or somewhere nearby). Journey is one way in the mornings. $100 per pax with max 5 pax in car (including me).

Pls PM me if you r keen with:
-where you stay
-where you work
-time that you start wk

just got back from robinson sale..good disc for members. I got a pair of socks, 3 mittens and a Lamanze (spelling) toy for $25.

saw breast pads, bb wipes etc...not sure to buy or not. most of avent products out of stock!!

cloud: I'm baffled too. 2 unsuccessful DS? Which clinic and which gynae are u seeing?

simply: Facial? I've gone for my Clarins Facial at week 18. All's fine. Dun let them massage your back and shoulders. Mine did and bb was disturbed the next 2 days...moving quite a fair bit.

Honey? I drank normal ones from supermarkets when I had cough 2 weeks ago. All's well.

congrats again, dolly! you look v sweet & happy during your rom.

qiuling, i hope you won't get too affected by that student and her parents. please take care of yourself! have you managed to reschedule your detailed scan?

cloud, what position was your bb in? shouldn't there be something to scan no matter what position it is in? hmm...

<font color="119911">sunrays (sunrays) - what is the Classic Pooh 6pc layette set? I am intending to get 2 classic pooh set (9 piece bedding set) online at Baby town for $89 a set...but don't really need the full 9 pieces. If its similar, don't mind getting the one from Mothercare. Its only $18 in BKK?? wow, too bad we went in Dec before we found out I was preggers!

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - I drink my milk cold. Been a habit from young to drink cold milk/juice for breakkie, so don't bother to warm it. For me, the colder the better, even at night! Try not to drink milk with your multivit thou.</font>

bigtoes, just had a proper look at your fb photos. you've really put so much effort into doing up your place! i am impressed! like the happy shade of yellow in your new bb's room.
when will your matching cot be arriving?

xuanting,
not spelling toy..but i am not sure of the brand spelling..hee.. its a bb toy (those rattle toy that is colorful) I bought it to attach to stroller or car seat..to amuse bb when bored.

sarahmay,

I did a bit of read up on bfree.. seems like bornfree is the "real" thing and bfree is sort of like "pirated version. (correct me if I am wrong)But the thing is bfree is def Bisphenol-A free though.

is this the rite bottle? http://www.newbornfree.com/pics/bornfree/index.htm

And did anyone see the advertisement in straits times today? my MIL msg me (again ..hee) to tell me that there's a medela pump going for 220 or something and she wanted to go and buy for me immediately lor! Any idea which model? cos she told me the papers did not give any model.

At first I was alright, taking my own sweet time sourcing and all BUT now I think I am getting very fan! With my MIL msging me everyday abt diff pumps and with me wondering if I am going to make a huge mistake in ordering the PIS from USA.ARRRGGHHH!! very fan leh!!!

<font color="119911">xuanting (xuanting) - thanks!
Actually, the room was previously a guest room with the day bed, &amp; the walls were already yellow on one side, cream on the other! Only changed the blinds cos the pulley for the old bamboo ones were spoilt anyways. Matching cot will be in the same shade of brown as the day bed (not yellow!), but we haven't quite decided which one to buy....The room is small thou, so no space to put an additional changing station/extra cupboards like some mommies are doing.

crayonshinchan - you should just tell your MIL that you are borrowing/buying the pump really cheap from a friend, so she don't need to keep a look out for good deals in the papers! If the Medela advertised was $200, i suppose it would be the single manual pump?

BABY'S MOVEMENT:
Think I feeling alot more movement from the baby now!! He's especially active in the afternoons (like now) &amp; during the evening (9-10+pm). Can't see movement on the surface of my tummy, but more internal flip-flops!</font>

qiuling
sorry, your post caught my attention. you teaching in a JC now? PW? hmmm...can PM me which JC kekeke..sorry i kpo. coz my previous job mah, and so few jc teachers, so might meet people i know heeeeeee...

sarahmay
there are mainly three to four if im not wrong. the prefolds can be used on its own or along the diaper covers. they are just like thsoe traditional ones that think mei mentioned (correct me if im wrong, mei). it's just slightly easier to use. no pins, no velcro for diapers...

then there are those with inserts in the pockets. and that is the one im using. more suitalble for older bbs (three mths onwards).i rem they had one for even younger bbs. should be online too (along with the pockets)...

hope this helps..

Crayonshinchan: I am not sure about the Medela pump, tell your MIL you will settle the breastpump yourself, ask her not to worry. I think she is being overly helpful, don't pek chek ok?

Cloud: Yah, two times DS is really limit liao.. I think the songrapher really not helpful..

crayonshinchan
you have to tell your MIL you are actually paying for the motor. most pumps are designed with motors that last less than a year (yes that is true!!!). many mothers have their motor break down half way through the year and really not worth to buy another one. the only ones with hospital grade motors are medela pis and ameda lactaline.

pumps...sorry this is a bit late.
of course for pumps, different individual are suitable for differnt pumps. but just do a brief comaprison of the two. medela has better adjustment modules on their motors. there are different functions, let down etc for you to fiddle with. so you might finish pumping faster. of course it comes with backpack and cooling units etc.

for ameda lactaline, the tubing of the pumps are designed to prevent cross infection. coz milk sprays into the tubes (you know this when you start pumping) are difficult to remove and if someone else uses it, then cross infection might occur. and ameda has the quietest engine amongst all the pumps. so i got ameda in the end (coz i need to pump in school toilet and of course the quieter the better). ameda is cheaper, but it doesnt come with backpack or chilling unit. to get those, the price will end up the same as medela pis

bigtoes, storeberry,
sigh.. my MIL is very gan jeong alrite..but she treats me and hb like little kids who know nothing at all and that we'll owas get cheated.

She said that if i buy from USA, the pumps will fit american breasts size instead of our size! Had to explain to her that its the nipples not the breast. And she is not very pro breastfeeding oso.

Yesterday, I'd oredi sent a very politically nice and polite msg to tell her not to worry, we'll source on our own. But today she msged me abt robinsons sale again. MIL and DIL issues are sensitive. heeee...

l'l CY,
the ameda lactaline hor, issit hospital grade? heard good reviews abt it oso! haha..and u hor, now adding one more to my list to make me fan oso.. hahhahaa.. one more choice! and i think HB is getting confused with BHA, ameda, medela, avent, pigeon PES blah blah.. hahaaa

i think i really need to decide what I really need and want!

crayonshinchan
hahahahahaha...you mil so cute...i like the part on pumps fitting american sized breasts!!!!!priceless lah...

ameda is hospital grade but i must say the tunings are not as fanciful as medela and the valves spoil quite easily so must buy to replace loh. so far half a year change once. medela valves hardier, but also must be careful when you wash lah, dun lose the parts...medela has the most parts when it comes to breast pumps if im not wrong.

How come no one is taking the avent isis iq duo huh???very cool leh, electronic one!!!!

but i never use it before so dunno...just know it's electronic1!!!

l'l CY.. thanks thanks for ur advice on pumps.

i have decided to get ameda lactaline... after one morning research.

any 1 going to bank wif cordlife?I am an existing client of CordLife. Both the referrer and referee get 1 time $50 off respectively :>
If u need me as referral to get the $50 discount,u can pm or email me
my email:[email protected]

Qiuling

So u wanna stay at home to take care of the kids with hb in SH, which is good I guess.

Interestingly, I read one thread posted by someone whose hb started to lose respect for her after she quit her job to become a SAHM...
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/1388776.html?1209542079#POST4774610

Wonder if it's really that bad for those who've chosen to leave the workforce...

Instead of putting in an effort to doll up in the morning, speak the 'corporate language', exude the aura of 'professionalism', bring in extra dough and contribute to the household income, SAHM now only needs to train maid and run household errands, without makeup and in casual wear.

I wonder which route I'll be taking...

bbmouse
Le Sportsac diaper bag range is not available locally.. I got my friend to help me buy from Japan but she could not find it there too.

I went to the Fox sale with sunrays &amp; we bought quite a bit of stuff.. the sale's not bad.

cloud
Did you do your scan at KK ADC? I did my 3 scans there &amp; I had very very good experience. When I did my OSCAR scan there, my baby was not very cooperative &amp; kept moving about but the doctor was very patient &amp; nice &amp; asked me to walk around &amp; come back. Was it a doctor or sonographer who did the scans for you?

Sunrays, thanks for ur recommendation. I will check out Mothercare in BKK! :p

Yvonne.. too bad, we cannot meet in BKK :S But if u have interesting findings in BKK, drop me a msg leh!

Storeberry, thanks for the author! I will keep a lookout!

l’l CY, I saw the Avent ISIS DUO IQ pump! I totally agree it looks cool leh. But I dun understand the concept leh. First, u pump manually to get the ‘feel’ of it and den it can be automated. So what is so fantastic of it except that u dun haf to do it manually onie rite? But for medela, it has the ‘stimulation’ phase hoh? That is more important issit huh? Anyone knows??

pumps:
i was using the Medela PIS and it's v good.. can hv alot of supply if u diligently express in regular intervals.
for manual breastpumpts, i would advise u not to get if u intend to bf for long..
actualyl depends on how long u intend to bf. if at least a yr, then the PIS is a good investment. if less than 6 months, then any breastpump will do.

the sonographer doctor is from KKH (ultrasound room 4).. luckily they never charge me for that visit.. another sickening thing is that while he is doing the scan, you can't see anything because the bed is facing the other way. he came in about 20 to 30 mins late and spent about 5 mins with each patient.. i was 4th or 5th in the queue and was shocked when it was my turn after only 15 mins.

when i went for the down's syndrome test, my baby was also in the wrong position so the doctor asked me to drink water and go for a walk.. i had to scan 3 times before the baby actually moved...

Bigtoes
Layette is those set of clothings for newborn...not bedding set... I realised i bot the 5pc set... the one i saw in mothercare is 7 or 10pc set but still for $70+ is super ex!! I saw classic pooh bedding set in robinsons and OG i think...$81 or something like tat but there was a label with very fine print stating the prices in SGD and also Ringgit...the price is ringgit is way cheaper than SGD lor...

l'lCY.. ya lar.. I burst into laughter when i saw the american breast thing.. very classic!

any chance that even with pumps, i'll still wont be able to get milk out?

cloud, was it the same person for both times?
My sonographer at TMC was very young and patient. Baby was facing down and she tried to shake him up and tried asking me to turn sideways and all.. Eventually baby woke up and shift to the correct position.

Maybe the next visit, if he tells u that position is not good and u'll need to return again, u tell him that u'll take a walk instead and return in 20mins!

cloud
You should request for another sonographer to do the scans for you. I normally spend a minimum of 15 to 20 minutes for each of my scans. &amp; it's so weird the bed is facing another way.. for all my scans, I can see the screen right in front of me.

sunrays
I also got the layette set from babymallonline.. so cute, got the sleep gown for baby.. the bottom looks like bolster case.

stef&amp;sean.. so if i latch n pump regularly, def will have milk flow rite?

so its still wise to invest in a good pump if i am planning to breastfeed for at least 1yr rite?

And i'll go explain to my MIL abt paying for the motor! I hope she understands and not jump to conclusion that I have to buy the most exp stuff again!

<font color="119911">cloud (lovelycloud) - your baby quite shy yah...but weird that they don't let u lie in a position that u can see the ultrasound screen...hopefully better luck at the next visit!
sunrays (sunrays) - thanks for confirming what layettes are. We aren't so bothered about clothing for now since these are the easiest to get, but might go check out Robinsons/OG foe the bedding set since these are even cheaper than the Baby Town site. Too bad I am also not making a trip to Msia anytime soon...everything is so much cheaper overseas!

crayonshinchan (crayonshinchan) - think the no milk issue happens, hopefully not to too many mommies. Sometimes its just a matter of being persistent during the first few days...but there are many cases of new mommies selling their brand new pumps, so i guess not everyone can BF even if they want to

i jus went for my DS this morning n i'm also expecting a boy! seems like really a lot of boys in this thread. we only got to knw bb's gender today as he always kept his legs closed during my previous gynae visits... can anyone help me to update the table? tks

crayonshinchan, bitgotes,

for breastfeeding, the rule is Demand = Supply. the more u latch and pump, the more u will get.. you will need to be very persistent for the first 6 weeks. after that, the flow will come in but u still need to regularly pump and latch. dun buy formula milk as stand-by/substitutes, cos chances of u using formula milk is there as it's easy to prepare..
yes.. if u want to bf for long, invest in the PIS.. it's really worth it.. you can also use it for ur 2nd / 3rd child like what i'm doing..

for 1st kid, i bf exclusively for 1 yr. for 2nd kid, i exclusively bf for 2 yrs.
now my 3rd kid, intend to bf exclusively for at least 2 yrs too..

Cloud: Huh? Another failed DS? Dun worry I’m sure the next one will be good. Sounds like your bb is quite shy. Hehe. I hope my bb will be awake for my DS next week!!! It’s soooo early in the morning.
Crayonshin: I am not quite sure. Another thread on this forum said that apparently Bfree has been bought over by Bornfree or something. Haha.
Simplylee: Manuka honey – of cos can drink! I do UMF 30 cos I was coughing for a month. However, like with all sweet things, take in moderation… cos we preggies are prone to gestational diabetes. I now take one teaspoon with warm water when I wake up.
L’l CY: Thanks for the info! Did you buy like one entire set when you started? I’m not sure if I should buy a package of diapers or a few different brands and types to try.

Qiuling: Dun stress over your kids and parents...Know it is hard esp with annoying parents!

Flos: I think it is unfortunately for any moms who chose to give up careers to be SAHM to be mistreated by their husbands. Perhaps it was a case of hubby not being supportive in the first place? I'm not a SAHM yet, but I really believe in the benefits of being a SAHM for the children. Have spoken to several women - both Asian and Caucasian - and they tell me that they dun regret it, and that their kids, now grown-up, tell them that they really appreciated having their mums at home. However, this doesn't mean tt there is anything wrong with being a FTWorking Mum either. I think it really depends on the individual couples. Whatever it is, both husband and wife must be on the same page, and be supportive of each other.

Qiuling: oh! I think it is a great and wise decision for you to move over to SH to be closer to your hubby as you raise your family. It will be great for your marriage and for the kids to bond with their dad as well! When are you planning on moving over?

just went to robinson today at orchard branch. so many people and the queue so long. manage to buy the NUK sterllizer(got 4 free milk bottles and bottle brusher), some mitten